Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Supreme Ct. View Townhouse: You don't get any closer than this!

Supreme Court View 2BR Townhouse [#103180] | View Property

Capitol Hill
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$200-$450/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Perfect Locale

    Perfect Locale

    • Guest Bill (El Paso, Texas, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/04/14
    • Review Submitted 04/14/14
    We were very pleased with the rental. Rustic but well maintained. Perfect location for sightseeing on the National mall. CLose to bars, resturants and of course Starbuck's. Loved the neighborhood. Picture perfect. Only one drawback and that is wireless / internet access. But afterall, we're supposed to be on vacation, right?

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection

    Perfection

    • Guest sienna (midwest)
    • Date of stay 07/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/27/13
    Charming, quiet, convenient townhouse. Arrived in sweltering heat/humidity and turned on the AC units...house cooled down quickly! Prepared our meals in well equipped kitchen. The beds were amazing. We walked everywhere from this home...fantastic location! Only frustration might have been the slow draining bathroom sink. A wonderful stay in a wonderful city...thank you for sharing your home.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what we needed

    Just what we needed

    • Guest bucky523 (El Cerrito, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/18/13
    We stayed at this property for 7+ days. We wanted to stay in the Capitol Hill area because of proximity to friends and sights. Two couples traveling, our first impression was that it was not as spacious as we expected and the stairway to the bedrooms was steep and narrow. By the end of the week, the stairway was still steep and narrow but we had adjusted and enjoyed the features of the townhouse. The proximity to restaurants, shopping, Capitol Hill, LOC, Supreme Court, and metro was outstanding. We liked the residential neighborhood also and felt very safe at all times. The downside: the bathroom sink and tub drained slowly which bothered the women in our group.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly recommended

    Highly recommended

    • Guest London (United Kingdom)
    • Date of stay 11/03/12
    • Review Submitted 12/27/12
    This is a lovely property. Very convenient for walking to the main sights and the metro. Especially nice was being able to walk down to eastern market and enjoy the stalls and the restaurants. The house was very comfortable, the heating was excellent and all everything needed was there. I would recommend this property to any of my friends or family traveling to the city. PS - this was my first time in DC and it was wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Always wanted to go to DC

    Always wanted to go to DC

    • Guest Charlie13 (Fort Collins, CO)
    • Date of stay 09/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/25/12
    We had a great time during our visit to Washington DC and this town home was a great location to walk all over DC. We were there for a week and took a taxi only 3 times. The house had everything we needed, only one problem, we couldn't figure out the washer/dryer combo. We needed instructions :) I would recommend this home, and would use it again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming home away from home in DC

    Charming home away from home in DC

    • Guest ultranova (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    My friend and I spent a week in DC staying in the townhouse and we were delighted with our experience. As with anything being paid for "unseen", I had a bit of trepidation when I was arriving in DC on the 8th, but any concerns were immediately allayed upon entering the property. The photos are very current, and all amenities are as described. The townhouse is quaint, quiet, very conveniently located for sightseeing, and private. The townhouse was spotless upon arrival, and everything was in working order (the only fault we could find was that the bathtub and bathroom sink are somewhat slow to drain, but that was a very minor issue). The neighbors were all friendly and personable. We really enjoyed having the back patio - perfect for a nice evening glass of wine and relaxing. Beds were both very comfortable. The location is not only convenient to all the big sites in DC (The Mall, Smithsonian, Capitol, etc), but also within a short walk was a lively commercial strip on Pennsylvania Avenue, and the Eastern Market is also a relatively short stroll away. Union Station and Capitol South Metro stations were both within 5 block walk. The management company was very responsive prior to my visit, but once we arrived there was no reason for us to communicate with them - everything was exactly as we expected. If you like to be on your own, prefer a home to a hotel, and appreciate the charm of older buildings, you should definitely consider this location. It was big enough to accomodate 2 very comfortably - more than 2, and you might be a bit crowded at times because the home is quite compact. I would recommend this townhouse to anyone visiting DC looking for an alternative to a hotel (and the price was easily comparable, if not cheaper, than the average DC hotel room). All around a stellar find that made our first trip to DC that much more memorable and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location

    Great location

    • Guest goseedotravels (Minneapolis)
    • Date of stay 07/03/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    We stayed here over the 4th of July. We found the Capitol South metro close. Eastern Market is a good place to shop nearby. We had Peapod deliver groceries so we were stocked for our time in town. We prefer to eat in - everything we needed was provided in terms of pots/pans plus saran wrap, paper towels. The only thing missing are kleenex boxes! The house is quaint and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Be sure to call your congress person to arrange a Capitol tour and a tour of the dome - ask for both, wear comfy shoes, get a SmartTrip metro card and have FUN! Highlights of our trip were the Marine barracks parade, Library of Congress, Newseum, Smithsonian Natural History museum, Moonlight Old Town Trolley Tour and Udvar Hazy space and flight museum (by Dulles). The White House visitor center and old post office are less than stellar.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SUPREME Court View

    SUPREME Court View

    • Guest Kansas Travelers (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 05/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/09/12
    Everything in this B & B is as advertised! There are no hidden "surprises" that can ruin a vacation. All the amenities are provided, including shower gels and soaps, a hair dryer and band-aids in the medicine cabinet! It is clean and welcoming to all, even when plans fall through and we got this place at the last minute (after we were already in DC). There is a grocery store about 3 blocks away, so you can get everything you need to be able to fix meals while there. Metro, Union Station, restaurants and Capitol are all within 5-6 blocks. It is an amazing place that we have already recommended to friends and family. The next time we go to DC, we will stay there again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for our needs

    Perfect for our needs

    • Guest Lauren (NH)
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/04/12
    Family of four (including two teenagers) found this to be a great location. The two metro stations gave us access to the best lines to get around town. We arrived on Amtrak and walked from Union Station easily at 9pm. It was great to come home and unwind at the end of the day without being crammed in a hotel room. Don't miss the Folger Shakespeare Library right around the corner or the Eastern Market to pick up fresh food. Linens were a nice quality. Kitchen was simple but well outfitted. Bathroom plumbing was a little challenging, but not a deterrent. If you are eating meals at home, make sure you know where the markets are as there is no neighborhood info in the townhouse (there is one just 2 blocks away). My 12 an 15 year old who are not city smart were fine walking in this neighborhood on their own. We would definitely come back and may have to because you just can't get to all DC has to offer in a few days.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay and see D.C.

    Great place to stay and see D.C.

    • Guest Cougarfan (Pullman, WA., USA)
    • Date of stay 11/11/11
    • Review Submitted 11/21/11
    This beautful home was perfect for staying and seeing Washington D.C.. It is nicely furnished, has a kitchen, and is located right next to the Supreme Court. I would highly recommend staying here when in town.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good choice

    Good choice

    • Guest Susan C. (Somerville, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/30/10
    • Review Submitted 11/09/10
    My husband and I enjoyed this townhosue. It's charming, as in antiqueish (sp.?). Convenient, clean, comfortable. Definitely need to add Wi-Fi! Washer & dryer were a godsend - pack light! We walked to most places though Capitol South Metro closeby. Head to Barrack's Row/8th Avenue for a quick meal - or better yet shop for fresh food at Eastern Market. "Tune Inn" had a great burger and fries. Would stay there again, if they add wi-fi.... (Also - not keen on the watersaver shower head.)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great location

    great location

    • Guest ggintruckee S. (Truckee, CA )
    • Date of stay 10/05/10
    • Review Submitted 10/17/10
    What a cute place, great location. Union Station and Capitol South Metro were short walks away. And everything else on the mall is a nice walk or a short bus ride. Eastern Market is also a short walk and has some great markets...go on a weekend for sure to see the amazing artists and their wears. We love to cook in and that is why we chose a place with a kicthen...The kitchen needed help. A good cleaning and more items to cook with. There were a pots with out lids, we used cookie sheets for lids. There were tons of baking type pans. The stove is small, the size I grew up so that was more than fine. The house could use a good overall cleaning. The wood blinds and windows had not been cleaned in a very long time. The beds were very comfortable, firm but not stiff as a board, a good nights sleep is always a bonus. Our dad had a hard time with the stairs in the middle of the night to use the restroom. Also would highly recommend the owners to add Wi-fi or come kind of internet access which is key now days to have for those of us who do not have a iphone or similar product to use. Research public transportation before going, that is where wi-fi would have been the most helpful...as that was a hard one to figure out. We would stay here again if there were more than just the usual two of us traveling.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our DC vacation townhouse

    Our DC vacation townhouse

    • Guest Amy (Belleville, Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 07/03/10
    We found this property was the perfect location for our DC trip. You can walk to the Capitol, Library of Congress, the botanical gardens, the Supremem Court Justice and the metro, to name a few. We enjoyed coming back to the townhouse getting cleaned up after a day of touring and being able to find great food right inthe neighborhood. We enjoyed "The Good Stuff Eatery", "White Tiger" and an italian pizza joint. The owners were incredibly thourough and tmely about answering all my questions prior to our coming out. The property was clean and had all the necessities. Our children (10 and 12) loved the charming Shabby Chic interior The only disappointment was the back patio was really too small to sit out as a family of four. I would recommend this property to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great Location and well worth the money ...

    Great Location and well worth the money ...

    • Guest Jimmy&Christel (Springtown, TX, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/10
    • Review Submitted 05/13/10
    We had a great experience staying in this townhouse. Very economical when you consider the fully furnished kitchen and laundry facility inside the home. First I want to state the cons just to get them out of the way. Not a deal breaker and I will stay there again, but need to point them out anyway. 1) There were dirty towels on the floor when I arrived; therefore we changed the sheets on the bed just to make sure that we were sleeping on clean sheets. The place appeared to be clean, but I wasn't 100% sure. 2) The beds were not the most comfortable in the world. I have slept on worse in major hotel chains, but I am funny when it comes to beds. I think hotels/VRBO's should be built around the bed, not an afterthought. 3) No hairdryer Now for the Pros, there are too many to list, but I will do my best. 1) As stated two Metro stops within walking distance, and once you figure out the Metro the entire city is opened up to you. 2) Very safe location, 24-hour Federal Guards all around 2nd street for the Federal Buildings so it is a safe walk from Union Station at all hours. 3) Well equipped, everything you need is already there (except hair dryer) and a complete laundry facility. They even brought in Detergent & Bleach. So you can pack light and save on the check bag fees. 4) For me having the bedrooms upstairs was perfect. I had to work during the day, but my wife and her friend could stay up late and watch TV without disturbing me. 5) The quaint atmosphere, I cannot stress enough how great the townhouse & surrounding areas were so much more appealing than staying in a hotel. The neighbors were super friendly. Like I said I could go on and on about the accommodations, but I am limited to the number of characters. This place was great, and I can honestly tell you that I will stay here again. And I will recommend this to my co-workers as we travel to DC on a fairly regular basis. I also would like to recommend filling your grocery order online and have them delivered. So for about the cost of a cab ride your groceries will be delivered in a two-hour window of your choice and you do not have to hassle with it. I also recommend that you take a cab to and from the airport (DCA) Its only about $14 and it beats lugging your luggage from the Metro, it may only be 3 blocks, but they are huge blocks. I highly recommend staying at this townhouse, hope this helps in your decision.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Stacie Sherman (-)
    • Date of stay 12/07/09
    • Review Submitted 12/07/09
    This townhouse has a great location. You are close to Capital Mall, the subway, Union Station and Eastern Market. It is only about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. The unit is furnished nicely and is clean. It is on a quiet little alleyway less than a block from the back of the Supreme Court. Much nicer than staying at a hotel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Karl (Hoersching, Austria)
    • Date of stay 09/01/09
    • Review Submitted 09/01/09
    We stayed at this place and enjoyed it very much. We found everything as described. The neighbourhood is good and you are only a short walk away from the Supreme Court, the Library of Congress and the Capitol. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Renee ter Haar (Netherland)
    • Date of stay 05/06/09
    • Review Submitted 05/06/09
    My sister and I stayed for 5 nights in this townhouse . It is perfect, it is much better than a hotel. It is a cosy little house, convenient, well equipped, clean, with perfect beds. (Though we were only with the two of us, it is large enough for 4 persons.) The location is ideal, quiet and centrally located, just a 5 minutes walk from the capitol. And at Pennsylvania Ave (SE), which is a 10 min. walk, there are some nice bars and restaurant and a grocery store (and a Starbucks). We love Washington DC and we had a wonderful time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Mary McInnis (-)
    • Date of stay 06/26/08
    • Review Submitted 06/26/08
    This unit is in a great location. With easy access to the Capitol South and Union Station Metro stops, getting around Washington D.C. was a breeze. The unit itself is clean, charming and quiet. The owners have provided comfortable cotton linens and down comforters for the beds and nice thick towels for the bathroom. We loved our time in the apartment and in the city. We are lookin forward to our return visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]