Last Minute Deal $750/Week December 2013 Waterfall Vacation Kauai
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:4 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Kapaa bed and breakfast description
Honeymooners love our romantic cabin(partial Kitchen) which sits high above the property and overlooks the gardens and Makaleha Falls.Pick Kauai's best Coffee on the flower farm ,next to the cottage.
King size memory foam bed and comfortable fold out futon couch, in Studio. High vaulted stained wooden beam ceiling with 3 stainless ceiling fans working with the trade-winds breezes will keep you comfortable in the island’s tropical climate. The contemporary cherry wood bathroom has a deep soaking tub/shower surrounded with travertine and ceramic earthtone tiles. If you prefer to eat at home, there is a modern kitchenette for cooking and dining with matching maple-wood cabinets and dining set. Access premium movie channels, 180 TV channels,plus all premium channels, and 100 music channels in the entertainment center. High-speed wireless internet. Washer and dryer are available. The cottage is surrounded with a deck for relaxing and viewing 3 different mountain ranges made popular in the movies. Makaleha (Waterfalls),Mount Waielele (crater) and Kong (used for original King Kong movie ,with Erroll Flynn and Faye Ray)
- On floor 2
- 625 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Bed And Breakfast
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered:
- Limited Accessibility:
- Events Allowed
- Alternative Lifestyle
Bedrooms: 0 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, Beds for 2-4
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- Deep Soaking tubs and showers.
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils:
- Pantry Items:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Air Conditioning:
- Living Room seats 4:
- Linens Provided:
- Covered Parking:
- Parking Off Street:
- Washing Machine:
- Clothes Dryer:
- Fitness Room / Equipment:
- Iron & Board
- Hair Dryer
- Towels Provided
- All Beach gear and outdoor equipment .Quality and Complimentary.Plenty of snorkel gear ,ice chests ,lawn and Beach chairs as well as beach mats and special Beach towels Boogie Boards.Guests are asked to shower off sand at Beach and then once more outside before going inside(sand does major residual damage).Ask me about affordable Car rentals.I am an experienced professional Island activity Guide(20 years)...moreless
- Music Library:
- Mobile Phone:
- Computer Available:
- Free Long Distance:
- Wireless Internet:
- Dialup Access
- Broadband Access
- Water Sports Gear:
- Lawn / Garden:
- Deck / Patio:
- Lanai / Gazebo:
- Outdoor Grill:
- Garden Chairs:
- Tourist Attractions
- Sports & Activities
- Away From It All
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Equestrian Events
- Basketball Court
- Pier Fishing
- Rock Climbing
- Water Skiing
- Surf Fishing
- Hunting Big Game
- Hunting Small Game
- Fly Fishing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Water Tubing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Roller Blading
- Mountain Biking
- Mountain Climbing
- Recreation Center
- Horseback Riding
- Live Theater
- Eco Tourism
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Botanical Garden
- Scenic Drives
- Paddle Boating
- Fitness Center
- Massage Therapist
- Medical Services
- Bird Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Whale Watching
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
ReviewsWrite a review
The hosts left out no details in this place for a beach vacation. There were coolers, beach bag, towels, snorkel gear, etc. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped with nice furniture and appliances. The residence is in a nice rural neighborhood. We loved starting our day on the deck overlooking the mountains. After a long day of hiking or a boat trip or whatever, it was so lovely to come back to our haven. We came in the summer so,we were too warm in our room ( no A.C., just three fans). Hot tub still not repaired. Despite these, we would go back in a heart beat! Thank you to our hosts!
- Guest Ibvt (Jericho, VT, USA)
- Date of stay 07/09/13
- Review Submitted 08/01/13
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers.
Ruth and Hal
Ruth and Hal
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rick and Diane's place. The surroundings are lush with all kinds of fruits growing in their yard. The house is clean and comfortable. The area is quiet and is at the end of the street so there is no traffic. Three of us were there for 3 weeks and found it to be our home away from home. The beach is just a 3 mile drive to Kapa a' where there are also plenty of stores for shopping and groceries.
- Guest Ruth (Ohio)
- Date of stay 02/11/13
- Review Submitted 04/08/13
Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
home away home
home away home
We had a very pleasant experience while stayed at the waterfall property. The hosts, Rick and Diane was hospitable and accomodating, very friendly and down to earth people. They offered a wealth of information about what to do and visit. We felt never before so welcomed! The location was easy to get in and get out, close to restaurants and about 15 minutes to the beach. The home was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable and everything worked well. They even helped us out with renting us a car. Lot's of fruit to sample from the backyard.We had an opportunity to see a magnificent rainbow due to having a great view from the balcony overlooking the mountains. We will be back for sure if we going to visiting kauai again, Mahalo
- Guest earthly touch (los angeles)
- Date of stay 03/20/13
- Review Submitted 04/01/13
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.
This was our first VRBO experience and were not quite sure what to expect. We stayed in the studio which met most of our expectations with a few exceptions. The hosts were friendly and accommodating and seemed eager to make our stay enjoyable. The property/grounds were beautiful, private, and quiet (with the exception of the island roosters that liked to crow at 4am. Don't worry, you get used to it). The view from the lanai was beautiful. The property was a 10 minute drive to the beach and centrally located to allow for easy day trips to different parts of the island. The Studio was very clean, the bed comfortable, and many little conveniences were available including beach towels, chairs, beach bags, toiletries and the like. The kitchen offered a microwave, small fridge (couldn't fit too much, but enough), plenty of dishes and cooking utensils and two hot plates in lieu of a stove (which worked just fine for us because a grill was also available). It was spacious enough for 2 adults and had a futon type couch which would probably only be comfortable for a small child. Washer/dryer were available and nice to have, TV, plenty of books, and internet available. Bicycles were available (we did not use) as were boogie boards, snorkel gear (some in poor condition), beach chairs and kayaks (we would've liked to use the latter but did not have a way to get them to the beach or water entry, which we thought would be closer to the property than it was). We rented a car from the owners friend Steve which was a huge disappointment. The vehicle was barely safe to drive and we ended up returning it and just renting from Dollar Car rental which was just as affordable. We recommend just using a regular car rental place and save yourself the aggravation. Unfortunately the hot tub was broken the entire week we were there. The owners were quite apologetic, but were unable to get it repaired. So overall, an enjoyable stay on a beautiful property less the car rental issues, the broken hot tub, and inability to kayak from the property. We recommend the helicopter tour early in your trip to learn the lay of the island, a visit to Hanalei, and Poipu Beach, and kayaking at least once. The coffee plantation self tour was weak and the Smith Family Luau a little cheesy (though most others appeared to enjoy it).
- Guest hot2travel (Arizona)
- Date of stay 03/05/13
- Review Submitted 03/22/13
Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you for the review, and letting me know about the car you rented from Steve. I was not aware of any of that, and I will never use him again. Matt is my 1st choice and his cars are really nice. However he was booked until, April. I have currently been renting out my SUV, everybody loves it. However, it is a little more than I have time to do, picking people up from the airport, unless it is a Friday or Saturday. Those are my days off, and I love picking up people on my days off. Also, if you're checking in at 3 o'clock or more, then I can swing by and pick you up on the way home from work any day. I have pulled the spot and bicycles and kayaks, off of the website. For the price we charge, we go way over the top already. I dislike to have that stuff available, for guests. I just finished with tech support on the spa, and found that it is probably my heating element. So, I will be buying a new one, soon. We have guests in both units, but as usual, people don't really usually end up using the Jacuzzi, because of all of the beaches in rivers and all that. I had no idea that people thought we're on a river. We are not on a river. Today, my guests loaded up the kayaks onto my Mercury Mountaineer racks, and went kayaking. In most cases, I recommend a good deal that I can get them at the Hawaiian Village, so the Guests don't have to haul kayaks. These folks, however are very outgoing and he is good with things like cars and such. So he will save about $50 by using my kayaks, But he had to load them and strap them down, with my tie-downs. For $50 or $60, I would rather just go to the Hawaiian village and and let them hold the kayak while I just sit down in it. Then the secret Falls is just a very short distance from there, and you don't have to do that very strenuous last half of a mile against the wind, on your way back from the kayak trip. thank you again for the honest review. I really needed to know about that car with Steve. I certainly don't need any bad press because I'm referring people, as an extra convenience. I am staying booked up for 4 months in advance anyway, so I think we are offering a super lot of things to go along with a very nice cottage, looking at the rainbows. Thank you once again. I talked to Steve and he said he knew something was wrong and tried to rectify with some cash back.I had no idea of all of this.So,from now on if I cannot rent my SUV and Matt is all full ,I will not offer .I have yet another ,but will not chance it.
Unit is tired in need of an upgrade
Unit is tired in need of an upgrade
First, when I confirmed our reservation it was double booked. Rick did find other accomation for the other couple. The bed was advertised as tempurpedic, which it is not. It is an old king size with additional foam on top. Entire property needs updating. Barbecue rusted, front glass portion not there, therefore does not work well. Kitchen is poorly stocked, lack of dishes, one med pot, 2small frying pans. Toaster oven was broken and was replaced while we were there, also new fridge was purchased. Futon uncomfortable, no proper seating for meals. Plug for tub does not work. Internet is poor if people staying in other rental. Lack of privacy as attached to renters home. Had discharge date wrong and woke us up early to remind us of discharge time on wrong day. Just feel better options available.
- Guest Happy Traveller (London, Ontario Canada)
- Date of stay 01/27/13
- Review Submitted 02/16/13
Owner response: I guess I should not have mentioned, the accidental double booking, as it had no effect on these tenants. Yes I did find accommodations, for the other couple, and was so sorry about my mistake. Those tenants were very forgiving, and found a similar accommodation.. I was not aware at the time, the tempur-pedic is a brand name. So I changed that, to relect the memory foam mattress pad, from Cosco that cost about $300 at the time. I compared the thickness, to the memory foam part of my brand-name memory foam mattress, it was thicker. I looked at the construction of all these beds, and decided a nice king bed with that much of a memory foam mattress, should be even better in the bed that cost me, almost $2000 at the time. Never has anyone,had anything but good to say about that bed, or the futon. It Is the type, that has springs within the mattress. As for the barbecue, I let them know they could use, the almost brand-new red Sears barbecue. I also let them know, that the barbecue up on the deck works just fine. If it didn't, I wouldn't have it there. I apologize for the hot tub, which is kicking the breaker at the plug. I am waiting for my electrician to come over and fix it. I could not figure out, myself how to fix that. These tenants, did say they were not planning on using it, anyway, so I don't know why this write up. Everyone has been happy with the amount of dishes and pots and pans. When I was e-mailed ,by Judy that the toaster oven quit working( that has never happened before) I picked up a very nice one at Costco on the way home. I also bought a brand-new large refrigerator. The one in the Cottage was finding it fit a lot better into the decor. Again, no one has complained about the size of the refrigerator, I just decided to buy the bigger one and found that it does not fit, correctly. These tenants seemed to be happy, that I bought the refrigerator, for them to use. Our house is not connected to the cottage, but is close. Close to the half of the house that we don't normally use, only when we have family come and visit( rarely). I was not aware, that my wife came a day early to let them know what time to check out, so she could clean. I don't believe it was, really early in the morning. Also, the Internet, was down just temporarily. I encourage, all inquiries to read the rest of the reviews. I have never asked for review. These are all reviews that people took the time, to write. The unit is not tired ,and looks just like the pictures.
Beautiful & affordable!
Beautiful & affordable!
Waterfall Vacation Kauai is beautiful and affordable. My wife and I had an excellent time on our honeymoon. Kauai is gorgeous and the location of Waterfall Vacation is nice because it is right around halfway between the north and south/west ends of the main road on the island. This means you can access everything on the island within short drives.
- Guest Jason (Indiana)
- Date of stay 09/23/12
- Review Submitted 10/08/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
We stayed at Rick and Dianne's studio apartment for 4 days in May 2012 and it was everything we were looking for. The place was immaculately clean and had lots of additional comforts for a vacation stay such as coffee and tea and a cooler which came in very handy for toting picnics to the beach. The location is very peaceful with nice views and the vegetation is lush and interesting. Nights were cool for sleeping with ceiling fans and no need for airconditioning. We choose this place for it's great location to explore all of Kauai and could drive easily to the south beaches and to the north for hiking and stunning views. Rick and Dianne were very gracious hosts and made sure to ask if there was anything they could do for us that would make our stay more enjoyable. There wasn't, they had thought of everything.
- Guest Karen (Baltimore)
- Date of stay 05/21/12
- Review Submitted 06/29/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, people with disabilities, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway.
Diane and Rick were excellent, helpful hosts during my three week stay at their beautiful cottage. Thank you so much. The cottage was immaculate and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable at the end of a long day on the beautiful island.
- Guest kate (east hampton, ny)
- Date of stay 03/05/12
- Review Submitted 03/27/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you so very much Kate, we really appreciate your review. Rick and Dianne Salyer PS Dianne just about idolizes you.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Cottage. We stayed there for eight days and Rick and Dianne went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and give us tips about the area. The Cottage was clean and beautiful, and we loved the location being close to the little town of Kapaa. As others have said you do get nice views of several waterfalls on the nearby mountains. Thanks Again!
- Guest Brad (Akron, Ohio)
- Date of stay 11/12/11
- Review Submitted 11/23/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Husband and I had a wonderful stay!
Husband and I had a wonderful stay!
Just wanted to say thank you to Rick and Dianne for a wonderful stay!!! The property is beautiful and any amenity you could hope for is provided!!! My husband and I did not want to stay in a hotel, and this fit the bill perfectly-we would definitely stay there again! Rick and Dianne are very knowledgeable about the area and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable! My favorite part was being able to step outside the door and see the stunning mountains and waterfalls (they even provide binoculars)!! Do not hesitate to stay in this great place!!!
- Guest Meghan (California)
- Date of stay 10/26/11
- Review Submitted 11/12/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
4 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Please notate your dates and any particulars we have mentioned,on your PayPal payment,under notes to merchant.
- Cleaning Fee: $95
- Pet Fee: $15
- Taxes Included
100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Lihue at 10 Miles
- Nearest Train: Kilohana Plantation (sugar cane historical) at 7 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: Kuhio Hwy at 3 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Kealia Beach/ Lydgate Park and snorkel pond at 3 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: Olympic & Eastside Cafe /KauaiPasta/Bullshed/Dukes at 3.5 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Wailua Golf/Kauai Lagoons at 6 Miles
- Nearest Restaurant: East Side Cafe/Olympic cafe at 3.5 Miles
Year Purchased: 2004
About the owner: Rick and Dianne have lived on Kauai for 20+ years and know almost everyone on the Garden Island ,who have lived here for quite some years.Previously an activities director and presently Realtor (Rick) and retired Social Worker (Dianne).
Why the Owner Chose Kapaa:
I built the Cottage and Hale with my house,because of the lush vegetation ,waterfall views and Cool Trade-wind breezes.Also,the location is exactly midway on the Island .Formerly the pineapple plantation ,with much history,hiking (Kapahi Falls) and sightseeing.Pig hunting trails ,minutes away.
The Unique Benefits at this Bed And Breakfast:
Mostly the Island ,but picture taking and fruit and coffee picking You are welcome to cut your own Tropical Flower Bouquet.Soon to have pond with water features and fish,
- Primary: (808)634-5892 Alternate phone:808-632-0111
- Secondary: (808) 634-5892 (Hawaii, USA) 7am to 4 pm Sun - Thurs (call cell instead)
- Tertiary: +1 808-632-0111 7am to 4 pm Sun - Thurs (call cell instead)
Upcountry Kauai at it's Best
Your efficiency kitchen and queen futon, for a guest.
Multiples of rare Flora species
looking back down the custom Masonary Drive to see the park, with picnic bench.
you from the front door cottage, in the afternoon.
Sunsets ,and Sunrises on Kauai ,are awe- inspiring
a picture taken when Areca palms were babies.Now close to 20 foot tall.
Hale ,before the tropical flowers.Now 6 ft tall
This is the Hale,with tropical plants and ferns for privacy,yet an open view .
Comfort and seclusion in your Studio Cottage/ kitchenette!.Coffee trees behind.
Hawaiin Pico Garden,fronts the Cottage
One of the many parklike settings, that provide to privacy and beauty
Scooter is on duty
The Land of thousands of waterfalls.
Taken from drive to Hale/ privacy.
Kealia Beach ,,just 3 miles down Kauaihau Road.
Monk Seal /Mom and Baby are a very common sight on the east shore. No touch.
Gather some Hawaiian rock salt, at the salt ponds.
He's losing the race. He does much better in water, while you're snorkeling.
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2006.
Date last modified - Tuesday, December 03, 2013
0 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.