Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Gion Apartments - Sleek and Modern, Excellent Location [#105639] | View Property

Kyoto
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$115 - $140/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (148)

Sort by:
  • Second Visit Same Great Stay

    Second Visit Same Great Stay

    • Guest Harriet and Clive (Sydney Australia)
    • Date of stay 06/07/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    Really good apartments and quite roomy. We are International travelers for many years and have stayed in all manner of places from 5 star to "cheap charlies" - we would call this tops - we loved our stay - the apartment was clean, neat with comfortable beds, cosy living area, fantastic bathroom and good kitchenette. The location could not have been better - in the heart of Kyoto which is also a wonderful city with such a great deal to do. Within a10 minutes everything was available from bank, post office, mini-market etc walking through the cutest lane ways. To quote Arnie Schwarzenegger and General MacArthur - we will be back/ we will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A fantastic apartment in a great location

    A fantastic apartment in a great location

    • Guest Eugene (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 08/11/11
    This is a comfortable, well-kept, spotlessly clean and convenient apartment in central Kyoto. We were really happy there and wouldn’t think twice about staying in the apartment again. The location was ideal for us. It’s the only area of Kyoto that’s within walking distance of the eastern temples, downtown, and the train station at the same time. That keeps the whole city feeling connected, and it was important for us for taking daytrips by train to Osaka and Nara. We had easy access to public transportation within Kyoto, but didn’t have to rely on it and usually just walked. On the other hand, the building is on a little side street in a pleasant residential neighborhood, and we felt like we were really living in the city, not in a generic touristy area or clump of hotels. The apartment is thoughtfully laid out. Sliding screen doors give the option of having it be one large space or closing off the sleeping area. The kitchen is fully equipped, the toilet and bath/shower have separate entrances, the mattresses were great for sleeping and had clean, crisp white bedding, and our unit had a nice balcony. Being able to cook for ourselves made a big difference, especially with a supermarket nearby, and the washer and dryer were good to have. The apartment is a little on the smaller side, but not cramped the way accommodations in Japan often are. We easily fit in a third person for part of our stay. The customer service was great from start to finish. Curtis and his associate Junko answered every question, sent us user-friendly maps and directions that made it easy to find and get into the apartment, and had a bunch of maps and useful information waiting for us there. They were professional but also more than professional. One of us left an ipod and a pair of nice studio headphones there, and they found them, kept them for a friend of ours to pick up for us, shipped them to us when he didn’t make it to pick them up, and when the package was blocked by Japanese customs because of the battery in the ipod, Curtis brought it to the US in his own luggage for us. That’s part of what got me to write this review. This a great place to stay anyway, but Curtis goes out of his way to keep it that way. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Kyoto apartments- a great stay!

    Kyoto apartments- a great stay!

    • Guest Decoratingdiva (Canada and New Caledonia)
    • Date of stay 05/23/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    We found this place on the internet, but by coincidence, one of our neighbours had also stayed in this very apartment a few months previous, so she had highly recommended it to us. She stayed here with her husband and two small children. We came as husband and wife, with our 24 year-old son. It is not large enough for 4. We stayed here for 11 days and found the apartment to be well-equipped and very clean, as this is important to me. There were no disappointments. It is compact, as is all things in Japan, but definitely all that we could need, including the washing machine, which was very handy to have on a holiday. My husband loved the heated toilet seat! LOL! The location is also very convenient for shopping and transportation, and on the days that we decided to walk to the central Kyoto train station, it took us 30 minutes to get there. The neighbourhood is quiet and there are many convenience stores on the main street from which we could buy milk and juice. For larger groceries, we walked to the supermarket nearby, or bought food in the basement of the main department stores such as iSetan, at the central train station. It is not easy to find restaurants that are vegetarian such as we needed, so we had to do all the cooking at the apartment. One nearby Nepalese restaurant was closed when we went there one evening, and they keep irregular hours, so we had to give up the idea of eating out. I know there is a vegetarian place near downtown, but when evening came, we'd be too tired to trek elsewhere. For the 3 of us, taxis cost less than taking a bus to get to certain short distances, but we do recommend buying the all-day bus pass, as well as the JR Japan rail pass for Kansai (which must be bought outside the country before you arrive). It costs less than the one-way ticket from Osaka airport to Kyoto. The owner, Curtis supplied us with a notebook filled with tips, how to operate the appliances, where to go, where to buy food, where to eat out, etc. Very helpful and it made our trip so much easier, especially for people who can't understand Japanese. Curtis is polite and answered all our questions promptly. Curtis even supplied us with a great guide book, Lonely Planet's "Japan". The rates are reasonable compared to staying in a ryokan or a hotel. Other travellers that we met during a walking tour did not have as good accommodations and price as we did. Over all, we would definitely stay here again & would highly recommend this place to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Attractive and Functional

    Attractive and Functional

    • Guest SEC (Athens Georgia)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 06/02/11
    This apartment was planned with care. It is thoughtfully furnished for both style and convenience. The location, on a small, mostly residential street in the center of the city is hard to beat. I would stay here again, and recommend it without hesitation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ideal Kyoto stay

    ideal Kyoto stay

    • Guest Tony F. (Melbourne, Australia)
    • Date of stay 05/17/11
    • Review Submitted 06/20/11
    Both of us would like to agree with all the other positive comments. We stayed 9 nights and had a fantastic experience. The local area is great and a good base for seeing Kyoto. Although one could never go hungry (even prepared food from the local supermarket is excellent) the very efficient kitchen was handy to have. Everything else about the apartment worked just as you would like it to. Thanks Curtis and we hope to be back soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The best place in Kyoto

    The best place in Kyoto

    • Guest Denis (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    Super quiet and clean, hypermodern (talking bath, electric w.c.), the best location possible, near the river path and greath temples. We return next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Kyoto base and beautiful apartments

    Excellent Kyoto base and beautiful apartments

    • Guest MKO (Vancouver, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/27/11
    These apartments are wonderfully maintained and in a great location. Quiet, clean, modern, and comfortable. Close to a good running / bike path along the river, as well as within comfortable walking distance of temples, restaurants, shopping, post office, and grocery store. I've stayed twice now, once with my husband and once on a recent trip with my parents and brother -- the apartments were a big hit with everyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • JJR Ohio USA

    JJR Ohio USA

    • Guest Joe (Ohio, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 06/17/11
    We were very impressed with the Gion Apartments. The location was ideal. The apartment was very clean. It slept 3 adults comfortably. The kitchen was very useful. We cooked our breakfast each morning. The bathroom and the shower room were clean and the water was hot.. The washer and dryer worked perfectly. The building is very secure, not that we needed security. The apartment location was convenient to bus and subway and train stations. The post office is at the end of the street about a block away from the apartment where one can find an international ATM. We found neigborhood convenient marts within walking distance and resturaunts also. We even found a big and tall mens store just a few blocks away. We were very lucky to have spent our time during the peak cherry blossom. This added so much more to our Kyoto experience. Curtice and his staff were very friendly and infomative, We would stay at this apartment again. Without question, the Gion Apartment was a center piece to our most enjoyable trip to Kyoto.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gion Apartment Return Stay

    Gion Apartment Return Stay

    • Guest Tassie Tourists (Tasmania)
    • Date of stay 02/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/26/11
    We were wrapped to again be able to stay in Gion apartment during our recent trip to Kyoto. It was lovely returning to a familiar place! Curtis was again very easy to deal with and very accommodating. Two days before we left home we changed travel plans so we could visit Kyoto. Curtis was able to confirm our accommodation and send the required information before we left home. Gion Apartments are a great base to see Kyoto from. They are comfortable and have all the kitchen equipment you need. Thank you again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very dirty flat and unprofessional owner

    Very dirty flat and unprofessional owner

    • Guest Alessandra C.
    • Date of stay 12/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/02/11
    In summury: once arrived we found this flat dirty, smelly pillows, linen and matresses soaked with sweat, kitchen closets and plates were dirty, dust everywhere, you could see everywhere (on doors,closets etc.) the finghertips of previous guests, the washing/dryer machine was full of hair and lint of previous guests. These words are enought: pictures speak for themselves. Even if from the first day we asked for cleaning, the owner didn't care and was only able to take time. In fact we paid all in advance (and in the contract it was written: "the apartement will be professionally cleaned").The owner lives in Usa and has a clerk in Kyoto. The only thing his clerk did was able to do was: take the dirtiest pillow, put it in the closet (ready for next guests?!?) and replace it with a less dirty pillow taken from the same closet. We stayed there 6 days and he should have all the time to clean the flat or, at least, provided us clean pillows and linen. At the end we had to clean the house and buy new linen: what a bad experience!

    Owner response: I'm sorry for the discomfort caused you during your stay with us last year. Cleanliness is one of our highest priorities, and in addition to regularly replacing pillows and mattresses, we inspect each unit regularly to make sure the cleaners are doing their job, particularly since this incident. I hope from looking at other feedback comments, you can see that we have a very good reputation for cleanliness and quick response to customer needs. I’m very sorry that wasn’t the case for your stay. We really do care about each and every guest. -Curtis

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest M.A. (Israel)
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/27/10
    It is the second time I'm staying at this property. Since last time Curtis have added a small dinner table and big water heater + coffee filter machine + coffee grinder. Apartment is being well maintained and very clean. The only small thing we missed in it was a broom (however the vacuum was there). I'd recommend to add few hooks in the entrance area to hang light coat and bag.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent!!!!

    Excellent!!!!

    • Guest Anna44 (SAN FRANCISCO)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 11/29/10
    This is my second time and stay in one of the Curtis's Gion apartment. This apartment is perfect for two people. Great location, walking distant to Kiyomizu-Dera temple. I love Kyoto and love to stay there again in next year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great apartment, great location

    Great apartment, great location

    • Guest Jordan (London, UK)
    • Date of stay 08/12/10
    • Review Submitted 09/01/10
    My partner and I had a wonderful time at the Gion apartment, where we stayed for a week in the middle of August. In those hot summer months it's a fantastically cool and spacious apartment (I was amazed at the size, for Japan!) The help and instructions from the owner were perfect for finding the apartment (a short taxi ride from Kyoto station), and 'check in' was very straightforward. Having been in Japan for a fortnight moving from hotel to hotel, it was nice to have a place that felt like home for a week. It's really close to some great attractions such as Kiomizudera and the Sanjusangendo temples (neither of which are more than a half an hour walk away, and both of which are spectacular) and the walk to the Gion 'entertainment district' is very short too. Perhaps the best spot is walking up the west bank of the river, full of nice restaurants and shops. I'd particularly recommend 'efish', which is just over the bridge west of the apartment. I don't think the apartment could be better located, or more thoughtfully put together. I wouldn't hestiate to recommend the Gion apartment to anyone.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • ALL AROUND EXCELLENT!

    ALL AROUND EXCELLENT!

    • Guest Brigit (Colorado, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    My family stayed for 5 weeks in one of Curtis' Kyoto Modern Apartments and echo each and every one of the positive reviews written in comments. Great location, Curtis is the best of the best, clean/modern, quiet....really.....great...great...great stay! Would go back in a heartbeat to the apartment and Kyoto.....fabulous time. Curtis' professional and courteous nature is exemplary!! Thank you for being so kind in all our transactions and taking the time to travel back to the temple to purchase and mail to me the one last souvenir I forgot to bring home! Thank was so very, very kind of you!! Thank you!!! Your'e the best!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Really good Kyoto base

    Really good Kyoto base

    • Guest ladyy (melbourne australia)
    • Date of stay 06/15/10
    • Review Submitted 06/24/10
    These apartments are exactly as described. They are well equipped with everything you need including a good range of cooking utensils and everything works. They are spotlessly clean. You are close to many of the main attractions and it is possible to walk to many places. the metro is nearby and easy to use. We very much appreciated the excellent 'book of the house' which provided all those important details like where to buy groceries or find an English language newspaper. I would highly recommend these well priced apartments.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Gion Apartments a real find.

    Gion Apartments a real find.

    • Guest Gippslander (Australia)
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 05/24/10
    I was delighted with my May 2010 stay at the Gion apartments. The location between the forested hills and the river, station and bus stops was excellent as was the ambience of the area ( lots of temples, small shops & businesses plus being the pottery locality). The visually attractive apartment was bigger than what I had been led to believe, was secure, very clean and contained numerous unanticipated "extras", e.g. washing detergent powder & pegs, umbrellas. We three appreciated being able to close the sliding doors between the beds and the living area, for privacy. There was plenty of warm bedding and the heating system A/C worked well. Every appliance was well designed and the hot bath was good for aching muscles and bidet toilet was fun. It was good being able to hang and dry our washing in the fresh air. The kitchen was much better than the one I have at home…I can recommend the nearby Lawson chain store rather than the supermarket, it was a lot cheaper. Having the Post Office handy was another advantage for both accessing the ATM and getting stamps for postcards. I am recommending Gion Apartments to others who are interested in going to Kyoto. Would go back there any day. Robyn / Australia.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Kyoto Stay

    Kyoto Stay

    • Guest nickinkyoto (wake forest, nc)
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 05/23/10
    After spending a week at a crowded hotel in Tokyo it was so nice to unwind at the Gion Apartment. When we arrived there was a mix up with the lock box but we called Junko on her cell and she was there in 15 minutes. The apartments were clean and organized, providing everything that you would need for your stay in Kyoto. The location was excellent, a short walk up the road into the Gion section of town. Taxis were always driving by so we never had to wait to get a cab. I would highly recommend this location to anyone from a couple to a family.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent location and amenities

    Excellent location and amenities

    • Guest Robyn from Australia (Australia)
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 05/23/10
    I was delighted with my May 2010 stay at the Gion apartments. The location between the forested hills and the river, near station and bus stops was excellent as was the ambience of the area ( lots of small shops & businesses plus being the pottery locality). The apartment was bigger than what I had been led to believe, was secure, very clean and contained numerous unanticipated "extras", e.g. washing detergent powder & pegs, umbrellas. We three appreciated being able to close the sliding doors between the beds and the living area, for privacy. There was plenty of warm bedding and the heating system A/C worked well. Every appliance was well designed and the hot bath was good for aching muscles and bidet toilet was fun. The kitchen was much better than the one I have at home…I can recommend the nearby Lawson chain store (on Gojo Dori before the bridge) rather than the supermarket, it was a lot cheaper. Having the Post Office handy was another advantage for both accessing the ATM and getting stamps for postcards. I am recommending Gion Apartments to others who are interested in going to Kyoto. Would go back there any day.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kyoto in April

    Kyoto in April

    • Guest Jim from Ontario (Ottawa, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/11/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    This comfortable studio apartment was our base to enjoy Kyoto in mid-April. The unit is well located - close to convenience stores, restaurants, a supermarket, the post office, the Keihan Gojo station, and a short walk across the bridge to the nearest bus stop. We like the user-friendly check-in and check-out process, the very helpful information package, and the comfortable beds. The unit was well provisioned and generally clean, although the bath tub could stand some scrubbing. The kitchen facilities allowed us to prepare our usual light breakfasts, and home-style dinners consisting of heated take-out food paired with simply cooked vegetables or salads. As a side note, we were very impressed with the variety of take-out food - and its price - available in the supermarket, the food floors of the department stores, and some restaurants along Kawaramachi. We certainly would rent the studio again in any future visit to Kyoto.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Home Sweet Home

    Home Sweet Home

    • Guest Mr Bear (Sydney, Australia)
    • Date of stay 04/01/10
    • Review Submitted 04/15/10
    We stayed (family of 3) during Cherry Blossom Season and found this apartment to be well within reach of the train station, the bus stop and very close to the start of the longest and most breathtaking scenic walking tour we had ever experienced in our life! The apartment felt like a medium sized hotel room and was close enough in reality to the pictures on the net. Just remember that photos on the net are taken with a wide angle lens so you have to lower you expectation a little for how big you might perceive the place to be. You even get a water heater that talks to you and tells you when you are running low on hot water. The apartment was very clean and the amenities provided were more than sufficient for the duration of the stay. The bedding for the third person is good and provides enough comfort for sleeping on the floor. It was also good to have the free internet with cable provided. WASHING MACHINE: I must point out at this stage that it would be wise not to place too many items in the washer/dryer at once as it is made for much smaller washing loads! Best to only put a couple of shirts and some underwear in at one time and set it for the wash/dry cycle overnight as it takes about 4.5 hours to wash and dry. Your clothes will be a little crushed but the mini sized iron is superb. On arrival we found the folder with information about the area good and there were directions to the local supermarket. This place is great and we made some very simple Japanese dinners but getting some prepared Sashimi, tempura etc. We even made a salad and wok fried up some chicken and prepackaged veggies. You can also pick up fresh fruit at very reasonable prices. Although the supermarket is not that far away, if you want something even closer then just step out the front gate, go right up to the main road (about 15 meters) and then right again. Walk down for about 100m and you will find Circle K + 7 Eleven + Lawsons 100 Yen shop. The choice at these places it not as great though and there is very minimal fresh produce. We would recommend this place to anyone wanting a 'real' Kyoto experience and will one day return to our little oasis in Gi-on.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Enjoyable ' pied à terre' in Kyoto

    Enjoyable ' pied à terre' in Kyoto

    • Guest albert50 (Netherlands)
    • Date of stay 03/31/10
    • Review Submitted 05/02/10
    We really enjoyed our stay at this appartment. The booking process was easy, and included a prompt and friendly contact with Curtis and Junko. Getting to the appartment also was easy because they helped us in getting into contact with the taxi company from the airport. The appartment was spacious and light, clean, it was quiet too, we heard no noise from the street. We stayed at the appartment for a month. It felt like home for us, with it’s fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. The washer/dryer combo was ideal. And with our bikes we could easily cover the whole city to all sides easily in day trips, while the central places and the GION area is easily covered by foot. The instructions in the apartment where to find the nearby supermarket were also convenient. We definitely recommend this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • very pleasant stay

    very pleasant stay

    • Guest ghiletfab (nice, france)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 05/01/10
    We stayed 8 nights in gion apartment. Everything was up to ours expectation. Unit is great, exactly as advertised. Perfect for a great stay in kyoto : close grocery, ceramic shop, bus, and walking distance from kyomizu-dera. 20' walking from gion corner. Kitchen is fully equipped (microwave that toast !!) we made every day breakfast, beds are very confortable (but my only little criticims is don' t have king size bed but only twins beds). If we come back in kyoto i will stay again in gion apartement. Nous sommes restés 8 nuits a gion apartement. Tout a été vraiment parfait. l'appartement est tel qu'il a été decrit dans l'annonce. il se trouve tout proche de plusieurs superettes (7/11), de magasins de céramique, ainsi que des arrets de bus et station de metro. Le fameux kyomizu-dera se trouve à 10min a pieds et le gion corner à 20min.La cuisiine est bien équipée (il y a même un micro onde toasteur!!) les lits sont confortables, (s'il y avait une petite critique a faire ce serait de ne pas avoir eut un lit king size mais des lit jumeaux). Une chose est sure, si nous devions revenir à kyoto nous reviendrons à gion apartment.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Rented at the beginning of cherry blossom season

    Rented at the beginning of cherry blossom season

    • Guest John from Philly (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/23/10
    • Review Submitted 03/27/10
    This is a great unit, exactly as advertised: new, spotless, perfect for a week's stay. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is fully-equipped and really convenient: we made breakfast here, and brought back take out from several places that we could heat up. If you want to do more serious cooking (no real baking though) you will not have a problem. There is a microwave that toasts ( a new experience for us, from the US). My only criticism is that it is a bit bland: one of those 1000¥ kimono from the flea market mounted on the wall would have made the difference between just another modern apartment, and a place that said "hey! you're in Kyoto!" There is a toilet room with that ne plus ultra of Japan, an electronic toilet seat that warms, washes and dries. The separate bath/laundry has a shower and soaking tub that fills with hot water and then heats further if you wish, after talking to you (sorry I don't understand Japanese). The unit is close to Kyomizu-dera, and a neighborhood of shops specializing in Kyoto ceramics. It is a healty walk to Kyoto Station or Gion proper (it is a little, if forgivable stretch to call this unit a Gion address.) Nevertheless, I would rent here again in an flash. There is a 7-11 a block away, a convenience for us from the US whose ATM cards don't work everywhere. Abut us: I like comfort, but don't need luxury. I like autonomy and am much happier in an apartment set-up than a place where I have to vacate for the staff to come in and do their thing. Since we are not particular about doing basic domestic tasks, this works perfectly for us.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Olga11 (-)
    • Date of stay 03/15/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/10
    We stayed in the Apartment for 1 week. It is very calm, clean and fully equipped with small kitchen, TV, and Internet access. The location is perfect, in walking distance to all the interesting sights in eastern Kyoto. In just 10 minutes you can walk to the famous Hanamikochi street. We can surely recommend this place. Junko was also very friendly and helped us with some advice.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Yvon Brassard (Outremont (Qu?bec), CANADA)
    • Date of stay 03/14/10
    • Review Submitted 03/14/10
    We spent one week in Kyoto last February and we really enjoyed our stay at Gion apartment. Very clean, quiet, and equiped enough to cook. Good location, near a metro station and other facilities. We won't hesitate to recommand that place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/12/10
    • Review Submitted 03/12/10
    I recently stayed solo at Gion Apartments for over a week. Very quiet, clean, comforable, and convenient living space. Appreciated washer and dryer as this was my second week in Kyoto. Don't miss the National Treasures in the temple complex en route to the grocery store (see map in apartment). One of the reasons I was interested in this particular apartment was mention in previous comments re many ceramics stores nearby. This is accurate and I have the pottery to show for it! One note: the only place my U.S. Cirrus ATM card worked was at main post office, where I could withdraw up to my card limit, i.e., equivalent of USD 300. Nice walk. I hope to return to this apartment soon--much more to see in and around Kyoto.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest L Joseph (-)
    • Date of stay 03/11/10
    • Review Submitted 03/11/10
    Our stay in Gion Apartments has now got me thinking about using serviced apartments rather than hotels as is our wont. Having said that, I am not sure if there are too many serviced apartments like this out there. To start with, the location is great - in Gion, 10 minutes walk from the subway, 15 minutes walk to the Kiyomizu Dera temple, 15 minute walk to Gion Corner. The apartment is just right sized for upto 2 adults and 2 kids or 3 adults. Impeccably clean with parquette floors which make walking with socks even in cold weather not an ordeal, well laid out, kichenette stocked with everything you would want for a meal. There is a Japan Rough Guide along with a booklet of instructions to facilities in the room (ours did not have the English translation of the A/c but that seemed to be a bug as it apparently is normally added to the booklet - we ended up pressing various buttons daily before getting it right). Communication before our travels was timely and quick and the self check in is easy. As we were in transit, Ayako very kindly accommodated our Takyubin service as well. Definitely a must stay place again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Conrad & Kylie (Brisbane, Australia)
    • Date of stay 01/07/10
    • Review Submitted 01/07/10
    We had a wonderful stay in Kyoto and really enjoyed the comfort and convenience of the Gion apartments. It was, we felt, the perfect location to stay in Kyoto, and the apartment itself was fantastic! Clean and cozy, with all the modern conveniences you would need. (Loved the bath & toilet - high tech!). An easy walk into the main area of Gion, approx 10-15min and plenty of places to eat are close by. Self check in and out was super easy and as others have mentioned here, you can tell the kind of people Curtis and Ayako are just by their emails....Friendly & Helpful :) Thanks so much to you both! We look forward to returning to Japan sometime in the future and we will definately looking to stay at the Gion apartments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest matilda kent (Somerset, UK)
    • Date of stay 01/06/10
    • Review Submitted 01/06/10
    This is the second time we've stayed in one of Curtis's apartments, and yet again we were not disappointed. This time we stayed for a week for our son's wedding which was held in Kyoto. We had everything we needed and the location was perfect and dead easy to get to sites of interest, shops etc. His descriptions are accurate so we felt confident in booking again. I recommend this apartment, but hope that it is free when we next return to Kyoto!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/30/09
    • Review Submitted 12/30/09
    We stayed at the Gion apartment for a week in November 2009. We absolutely loved it. Its location was conveniently close to a subway stop and we thought it was centrally located. We really enjoyed walking through the Gion neighborhood. The apartment itself was very clean and modern. It had everything we needed and it quickly felt like home. It was a great place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. My wife and I have done a fair amount of traveling and we felt like we got a great deal and we were way more comfortable staying here for seven nights than we would have been in a hotel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/21/09
    • Review Submitted 11/21/09
    The apartment was much nicer than I expected. Everything was immaculate, the bathroom is quite large for a studio apartment, and everything was smartly laid out. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed for cooking. The location is terrific, just a 5 minute walk to the Gojozaka bus stop. Kyoto has a fantastic bus system which calls out stops in Japanese and English, and the No. 100 bus stops at many of the major sites. I would highly recommend staying at this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ruti1 (Israel)
    • Date of stay 11/18/09
    • Review Submitted 11/18/09
    we enjoyed very much staying in the apartment, great location, very comfortable, very clean and had all the amenities we required. Curtis and Ayako were very helpfull we highly recommend this place

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anne (Newcastle, NSW, Australia)
    • Date of stay 11/02/09
    • Review Submitted 11/01/09
    My husband stayed at the Gion Apartments mid October. We were both impressed with the quality and presentation and size of the apartment. The pictures on the website lived up to expectation. It was great to know we had our apartment to come home to after our long days of sightseeing. So much better than staying in an hotel.The location was handy to all that we wanted - PO for ATM, convenience stores for quick pick up of necessities, subway lines and several temple complexes. All communication with Curtis was professional but friendly a pleasure to deal with. All in all a wonderful experience in a wonderful city. My only suggestion would be to include a dining table for meals.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Arjun (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 10/28/09
    • Review Submitted 10/28/09
    My wife and I had a great stay in the Gion apartment. It's located a 10-minute walk south of Gion Corner. The facilities are modern and comfortable, and the building is quiet. Self check-in makes it easy to get your key. Great communications from Curtis and Ayako-- highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kristine10 (Oxford, UK)
    • Date of stay 10/26/09
    • Review Submitted 10/26/09
    Great apartment in excellent location in Gion/Kyoto. We stayed there with our two little kids (2+5) in July 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable and everything there that we needed. We will definitely stay there again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Brett13 (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/19/09
    We would highly recommend this apartment. It is very comfortable and in a great location. We loved the apartment, the location, and most of all, we loved our visit to Kyoto and the rest of Japan. Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. This trip will leave us with incredible memories, and we hope to visit Japan again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/13/09
    • Review Submitted 10/12/09
    We really enjoyed our stay at the apartment - it was a perfect base for exploring Kyoto - Gion is fantastic. We also enjoyed the Japanese talking bath! We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Kyoto and we will recommend it to our friends!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/27/09
    • Review Submitted 09/27/09
    I don't want to duplicate previous comments other than to say that I look forward to staying in apartment again next time I visit Kyoto. I have suggested that friends/family consider staying in the apartment should they visit Kyoto.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Eamon Horan (Dublin, Ireland)
    • Date of stay 08/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/25/09
    Wonderful apartment for our stay in Kyoto. My wife and I stayed here with our two children, aged 3 and eight months for two weeks and found it a great home base. The apartment is very well finished and with some amazing mod-cons (like the talking bath). Size-wise it's compact but the space is sufficient and efficiently used. We stayed in August so the heat in Kyoto was stifling so the air-con was always a 'welcome home' treat. Location is excellent and I highly recommend visiting the stunning nearby temples in the evening, after all the tour buses have left, and you can truly enjoy the zen spirit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jake8 (-)
    • Date of stay 08/09/09
    • Review Submitted 08/09/09
    These apartments are a great base for any Kyoto trip. Clean, includes critical AC for the summer, and conveniently located. Plus there is a ramenya right around the corner... Curtis and Ayako were very helpful, our party would definitely use this place again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Krista10 (Toronto, ON)
    • Date of stay 08/05/09
    • Review Submitted 08/05/09
    Stayed at the Gion Apartments during our trip to Kyoto and found it was everything we were looking for. Was easy to stay in with out 8 month old infant, and accessible to all the major sites we were interested in seeing. Would definitely stay here again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/26/09
    • Review Submitted 07/26/09
    Stayed during Gion Matsuri and loved it. We were able to walk to the parade and the location was extremely convenient for access to bus/subway. We also stayed in Takayama, Matsumoto, Tokyo, Osaka and Hakone. All nice accommodations but the Gion Apartment was our favorite place to stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jasmine 1 (Virginia, United States)
    • Date of stay 07/21/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/09
    Our family rented 2 apartments. Wonderful and spacious apartments with all the conveniences of home! Very convenient to have self check-in and check out. The location was convenient to restaurants (several block walk) and food markets. We also felt it was a great location to visit many temples on our itinerary. Would highly recommend!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Suzan2 (Toronto, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 07/13/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    Highly recommended. As many of the previous comments stated, this place provided easy access to subway, buses and points of interest. Very clean, safe and well supplied with everything that you could possibly need. I would certainly stay here again at my next opportunity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/21/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/09
    Highly recomended! Great location, very easy to find. Human sizes of spaces and beds ( important for Japan). We was two adults and we enjoyed it a lot. More comfortable than hotel for this price. Everything is very practical and functional.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Steve Bivall (Wasaga Beach, ON)
    • Date of stay 05/27/09
    • Review Submitted 05/27/09
    What a great place to stay in Kyoto! My wife and I stayed here for 8 days recently and we could not have chosen a better experience. Close to Gion, temples, transportation and restaurants. The description on VRBO is accurate and Curtis made the process proceed smoothly. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rob24 (Germany, Rhein-Main)
    • Date of stay 05/25/09
    • Review Submitted 05/25/09
    Simply perfect ! Especially if you are looking for flexibility, this is it. Equipped with everything you need, it is also ideally located; step outside, and you will see one taxi following the next, using that shortcut to Gion district. Bus and subway station also within easy reach. Massage, convenient stores or nice pottery shops nearby, you can also try some 'oishii' Japanese food restaurants, such as the one just at the Kyomizu-bus stop. If you get your Japan Rail-pass, this is your ideal hub to explore Kyoto or whole Japan! We will come back, that's for sure - and a special thanks to Curtis and Ayako !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sandy Yamane (Honolulu, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 04/28/09
    • Review Submitted 04/27/09
    My husband and I recently returned from a wonderful week in Kyoto! The Gion apartment was an amazing find, exceeded our expectations, and was everything positive as described in all the other comments. It was convenient, secure, quiet, remarkably clean, and very spacious with all the necessities. We could even do our laundry in our unit at no additional cost! It was our home away from home and a great place to return to at the end of each long day of exploring and experiencing Kyoto! In fact, we enjoyed it so much that we are already planning a return trip in December to "share" Kyoto with our young adult children! Curtis and Ayako are wonderful professionals to work with, always delivering prompt, efficient, and courteous service with a "smile" I could feel through all the email messages exchanged between us! Arigato, Curtis-san and Ayako-san! I'm looking forward to working with you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Phillip (Portland, Oregon USA)
    • Date of stay 04/26/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/09
    Wonderful Apartment, great location and professional management/communication with Owner. I stayed in one apartment mid March through mid April for 4 weeks and it was everything I needed. I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Julie 7 (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 04/23/09
    • Review Submitted 04/22/09
    We had a wonderful stay. The apartment far exceeded our expectations. We stayed with our almost 2 year old son and found the apartment to be a great fit for our family. It was an amazing location--close to many restaurants, shopping and sites. We also appreciated the convenience of being able to rent bikes. Curtis was very helpful and assisted with all of our needs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 2 of 3 Previous [ 1 | 2 | 3 ] Next