Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Magnificent panoramic mountain & Gulf of Nicoya view/rainbows/sunset views

2 Separate Houses on Wooded 7acres Gulf of Nicoya View, Walking Paths [#106066] | View Property

Monteverde
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)
$60/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (29)

Sort by:
  • A perfect start to a 2month vacation in Costa Rica, the best stay we had in country.

    A perfect start to a 2month vacation in Costa Rica, the best stay we had in country.

    • Guest Rick G. (Deadwood South Dakota)
    • Date of stay 01/22/14
    • Review Submitted 04/06/14
    We spent 3 1/2 weeks in the Rainbow House and it was pure delight. The kitchen was well provided with utensils and appliances and Richard even built us a new one. It was a rack for a coffee sock that made the best coffee I have ever drank. I am back in South Dakota drinking a cup of that sock coffee right now. The oven and the stove were the best we had anywhere in Costa Rica during our 2 month stay. We walked a great deal, to Monteverde, to a wonderful bakery about 10 minutes away, to the coffee plantation about 8 minutes away for good coffee and a wonderful view of the Gulf. Our favorite view was at dawn looking over the Nicoya Gulf and Peninsula from the living room of the Rainbow House. We walked all over the property and saw numerous wildlife and birds. The entire stay was the most relaxing of our lives. A cool 64 degrees to a high of 92 made the mornings and night cools and the days warm in the afternoons. We would carry a light jacket on our morning hikes. Our favorite adventure was the train ride in the Cloud Forest and we stayed for lunch after. The day we rode the train Richard arranged the transportation, got us a discount on the fare, and went with us to Monteverde to coordinate the shuttle to the train station. The heavy clouds on the ride covered Arenal Volcano at the top overlook so Richard arranged a trip to another overlook a couple of days later and the volcano was very visible. He went with us that day. We really enjoyed exploring the area and Santa Elena. We found great restaurants, coffee shop with monkeys, grocery stores, pharmacy, bakeries, pizza place, dance bar and restaurant, an orchid farm and Rosewood shop that Richard suggested. The taxi service that Richard recommended was inexpensive and more dependable than the other company. The water in the showers in both bathrooms was hot and plentiful. The washer took a little instruction from Richard to run, but was very dependable. The dryer was mother nature on the top floor clothes lines. The balcony up there had a hammock and an even better view of the Gulf. The only complaint we had in 3 1/2 weeks was ants hit the kitchen, but Richard wiped them out with some chemicals outside at their source. The last day we were there our taxi let us down. We arranged a 4am ride to the bus stop and the driver didn't make it. Richard got up and helped us carry 150lbs of luggage about 200 yards to the stop. We learned to take less next trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place

    Great Place

    • Guest Donald P.
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    This rental is in a great location. We were in the cottage, and enjoyed its privacy and incredible view out to the Nicoya Peninsula. The bed and kitchen were very good with adequate space. All in all a great value. Richard was most helpful in orienting us and making suggestions for restaurants; and he arranged a Curi Concha tour for us with Adrien, who is an excellent guide. We saw a Quetzal and a lot of other exotic birds. Richard showed us the two waterfalls on the property and went out of his way to be helpful. For those of you who have never gone to Monteverde and are planning to drive yourselves, be ready for the extremely rough dirt roads into the area. However, you will eventually get used to this and will even become nostalgic about the remoteness of the place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fun in the Cloud forest

    Fun in the Cloud forest

    • Guest Marjolein & Alex (BC , Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/03/13
    We really enjoyed our stay at the cloud forest cottage. It is very private and the view from the cottage is beautiful. The humming birds in front of the windows are amazing and beautiful to watch. Richard was a great source of information about the local area. The cottage was very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. Would definitely return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

    GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/03/12
    Spent five nights here with our two kids and the views from the sun room were amazing. We sat in there the first morning with our coffee and spotted a variety of birds, butterflies, and hummingbird moths within minutes. Every additional morning was spent in the sun room having coffee and taking in the view. We enjoyed having the kitchen to prepare our evening meals which we sat down for with a wonderful view of the hill side and gulf. Many hours were spent wandering the trails on the cottage grounds were we spotted a variety of birds including the Emerald Toucanet, Toucan, Manakin, and Motmot. Our care taker Richard was very knowledgeable of the area and pointed us in the right direction every time. He even took the time to take us on a night hike which was a great experience. Town is a short drive with a variety of restaurants, shops, and grocery stores that met our needs. Richard was AWESOME and very hospitable taking care of our every need and ensured we had everything we needed for a clean comfortable stay. I highly recommend staying at the Cloud Forest Cottage and WHEN we return we will be sure to check availability for another pleasant stay. Additional info… all the sites we saw in the area was a short drive and the following attractions are all kid friendly and HIGHLY recommended. Our favorite hiking trails were located in in the Ciri Cancha Reserve (recommended by Richard and much better than the Monteverde Reserve) where we saw a variety of birds (to include a hummingbird area that was a great carry in lunch spot), capuchin monkeys, a pit viper, and agoutis. Selvatura Park had an amazing zip line tour and the canopy bridges trail system was amazing. Their humming bird garden is swarming with hundreds of hummers and even Coatis licking up the feeder drippings. And for any Geocaching enthusiasts… there are even a few caches to venture out and seek.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • This is a must for Monteverde!

    This is a must for Monteverde!

    • Guest Bo (Newport, OR)
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We spent two weeks in what we now call "our lil casita." If you want to truly experience this area, this is the place to stay. The house is very cozy and had everything we needed for an extended stay. We say more wildlife on the property than all of the parks we hiked combined. Richard is a great host and he took us on a night hike and spotted a three toed sloth! It's just far enough from town center to have some privacy, but close enough to stroll into town everyday. If we go back I know exactly where we'll be staying! Thanks again Richard! Bo & Cass Whiteside

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Service/Great View/Great Value! Edward+Ilona

    Great Service/Great View/Great Value! Edward+Ilona

    • Guest EK17 (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    We stayed for 2 nights in the Rainbow House and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Richard was huge help with setting up a night walk/zip lining and suggesting restaurants worth checking out in the area. He was also nice enough to take us on a walking tour of his property which was truly enjoyable. The house itself was very clean and had all the necessary accessories we needed. If I make my way back to the area I will be staying here! The view was to die for!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Fabulous Experience

    A Fabulous Experience

    • Guest Dawn and Steve (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/13/11
    My family thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, beauty and peace in the Rainbow Cottage. Richard, the caretaker, couldn't have been more helpful! He took us on a nature adventure hike and recommended nearby activities, including the zip line, the Cloud Forest hike, the neighboring coffee tour, and the wood shop down the street (complete with a resident sloth, orchid garden, and bananas for the picking). Though we were close to Santa Helena, we felt like we were miles away. There was so much to see right there on the property, including views with plenty of birds.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Plenty of Pura Vida

    Plenty of Pura Vida

    • Guest Scotia (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
    • Date of stay 02/16/11
    • Review Submitted 02/26/11
    We recently spent two nights at this cottage in the cloud forest. The amazing view out the window was the first thing we noticed when we walked in the door; we watched humming birds, rainbows and clouds drift by that window throughout our stay. We loved the area and found the location great for the activities we wanted to do but secluded enough to be quiet and relaxing. Richard was very helpful, he set up a night hike for us which we could walk to (saw lots of creatures) and also arranged a discount at Selvatura where we did the hanging bridges and ziplining (both awesome). He also took the time to guide us on a very enjoyable walk along the river on the cottage property. The cottage is very well maintained and clean. We really liked the wooden furniture and carved door - lots of character! Slept very well in the comfortable beds and the two bedrooms were perfect for our family of four. Great value for money and we highly recommend this cottage and the Monteverde area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great spot, helpful manager, but cold!

    Great spot, helpful manager, but cold!

    • Guest Susan Hall (Morrison, CO)
    • Date of stay 12/23/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/11
    We spent 4 nights at the cottage over Christmas, 2010. There are 2 bedrooms, comfortable for a family of 4 with teenagers. The bathroom is kind of spread out over the whole house - sink between the bedrooms, and on the other side of the house separate rooms for the toilet and shower. The TV comes with tons of movies, which was great after a day of local activities. Richard, the onsite manager is truly helpful, arranged a discount at Selvatura where we spent a day zip-lining and a day walking over the hanging bridges (both great activities - highly recommended). We also spent a day walking through the Monteverde preserve, which was a disappointment - we saw more animals in the hummingbird coffee shop at the base than the rest of the preserve. Perhaps we should have hired a guide. The coffee tour at Don Juan was overpriced - an hour or so of describing the coffee growing and making process for $25 - nice to know about I kind of thought it should be free as you load up on their coffee at the end (quite good). Be prepared for cold however, the house is not heated, and to actually close it up you need to shut off the lovely view. Nor are there any laundry facilities so we ended up hanging our wet clothing on the back of the fridge to dry which didn't work well. The cottage could have used some comfortable chairs as well - there were wooden benches and plastic chairs, none real comfy. But, if you are prepared for these inconveniences, this is a lovely spot and Richard is a gem, and during our stay we inherited a house cat who entirely charmed our daughters. Be aware there is no gas for sale in Monteverde so fill up on your way there. The grocery store in town just next to the rainforest cafe is good - the Don Juan restaurant noisy with poor lighting but great steak.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • If You're Going to Monteverde, This is the Place to Stay

    If You're Going to Monteverde, This is the Place to Stay

    • Guest Kristy (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 09/02/10
    • Review Submitted 09/14/10
    My mother and I recently stayed in the small cottage on the property for five days. The cottage is absolutely charming. The views from the sunroom and the master bedroom are splendid - unbeatable. If you're going to Monteverde, this is the place to stay. The cottage was the perfect fit us. It had everything we needed plus a great shower and a stockpile of movies - much appreciated after a long day of sightseeing. Another great extra is the trails around the property, making it really convenient to go animal spotting. But what really made our stay in Monteverde was Richard. He's better than a concierge! Even in rainy season, we were pleasantly surprised that we had plenty of time to do all of our activities plus some extras. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Hideaway

    Wonderful Hideaway

    • Guest Steve (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/27/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    We spent a few nights at this cottage in late July. It was a highlight of our Costa Rica trip. I will not repeat all of the things other reviewers have said, though they are true. We enjoyed the fact that it was hidden away in the woods, so quiet! It is a great place for wildlife watching. Between that and the ever changing view out the big dining room window, we had trouble pulling ourselves away for other adventures. We did get out for some though. We had an excellent guide as we explored at Monteverde Reserve. We did the full package at Selvatura. We had fun and Richard even arranged for us to get a discount. We enjoyed our horseback ride nearby. Janice had recommended a Spanish restaurant that is nearby. We loved the food and the experience. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Stunning Property And What A View

    Stunning Property And What A View

    • Guest MikeS (Providence, RI)
    • Date of stay 04/06/10
    • Review Submitted 06/24/10
    My wife and I spent a month in Costa Rica, and stayed here for a few nights. This was by far the most complete casita we stayed in during out visit. Fully equipped kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge, etc... The best views you can imagine in CR. Two spotless bedrooms, one with a queen and one with 2 singles, a huge shower, and a separate toilet. Great grounds to walk on, a lovely garden with chairs in the backyard, a small tv with great dvd selections, and more... You really do feel like you are with nature in this location. We saw plenty of cool mammals (forgot them all by now! Nearly 2 months later), heard coyotes, and walked through great farmland. At the end of Richard's street, which is a 5 minute walk, there was a nice shop with groceries and a great bakery. There is a night tour 5 minutes up the road as well. Although it is possible to walk into town, we didn't because it is a dusty dirt road that is hilly into town. Would probably take 30 minutes (at least) to walk in. But, the best part is that the taxi to and from town is 2 bucks. Their is a phone in the casita, and you can call the taxi whenever you want. They are very fast and convenient. Saves you a lot of money compared to renting a car. Richard is great, gives you all the information you need. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

    • Guest RICHARD & WENDY1 (newton)
    • Date of stay 02/28/10
    • Review Submitted 02/28/10
    We stayed in the cottage for 13 nights in Nov/Dec 2009 and it was amazing. Richard is a really great guy, and we laughed a lot. Cannot fault the place and will return one day soon. ere are few people that go to the trouble this guy did, The cottage is spotless. The area is spot on and you can easily walk to town. We love wildlife and saw plenty, including coyotes in the garden. Birds were plentiful and his enthusiasm just cannot be beaten.All in all a must stay, and great price!Well done Richard!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest San Patten & David Lieske (Sackville, NB, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/25/09
    • Review Submitted 12/25/09
    This little cabin was great value. We loved the view, the location, the cleanliness and the amenities. The only improvement would have been wireless internet. The manager, Richard, was a treat to meet and he was very hospitable. We loved the area, and highly recommend the night walk at Santa Maria reserve, the Don Juan coffee tour, and an early morning guided walk of Monteverde Reserve.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Gilberts1 (Orange, California)
    • Date of stay 07/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/09
    We stayed in the three bedroom, 2 bath house (after cottage got booked!) It was very nice. The property was just what we were looking for...the walks around there were just amazing. Thanks a million!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Edward Bank (Grafton, VT)
    • Date of stay 05/06/09
    • Review Submitted 05/06/09
    We just returned from Costa Rica and this house was one of the highlights. A delightful intimate cabin/ house with a fantastic view on a great property. Probably the best value in Monteverde. Great place to chill out, walk the grounds, enjoy la Pura Vida. Richard was a wonderful host and don't forget to check out the bakery on the main road.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Gordon Charlton (Tamarac, Florida)
    • Date of stay 09/29/08
    • Review Submitted 09/29/08
    my wife and i spent a wonderful week at the cottage.richard and margarita were excellent hosts offering helpful hints on local points of interest.we both felt relaxed and content after our stay.we would definately return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest fatduck (Fremont, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/08/08
    • Review Submitted 09/08/08
    Comfortable and secluded cottage but not too far from town. Cottage caretaker is very friendly and helpful. Saw lots of birds around the cottage. Canopy tour at Selvatura was awesome!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jimmy & Amy MacDonald (Breckenridge, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 06/09/08
    • Review Submitted 06/09/08
    We stayed in this cottage in May 2008 and had a wonderful visit! The cottage had everything we needed and was very comfortable, with great views. Richard & Margarita were so welcoming! Richard (Duke) gave us a tour of the town (Santa Elena), took us on a fun hike around the property & shared so much knowledge! Margarita has a quaint spa for massage, nails & hair -she's very good! We loved our time with the family and hated to leave! We'd recommend this cottage to all our friends! Don't miss the Original Canopy Tour, Frog Pond & Don Juan Coffee Tour while you're there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest karlene johnson (-)
    • Date of stay 05/30/08
    • Review Submitted 05/30/08
    This is a great place to stay while visiting Monteverde. It is private and quiet (except for the coyotes) yet close to everything. The house is convenient and very clean and the view is terrific. the hosts are gracious and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/15/08
    • Review Submitted 02/15/08
    Just spent 2 nights here. This is the most amazing place with an unbelievable price...the views from the back porch are incredible, the wildlife fascinating, the house so well equipped (we ate every meal here)and Richard's help and knowledge very much appreciated. It was above and beyond the best place we stayed in the 2 plus weeks we were in Costa Rica.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Joel Patenaude (Montclair, NJ)
    • Date of stay 01/07/08
    • Review Submitted 01/07/08
    This cottage is the best deal in Costa Rica. My family of two adults and 3 kids (ages 10, 11 and 12) stayed here for 5 nights bracketing Christmas 2007. It is new, sparkling clean, has all the modern conveniences and a GREAT view. Richard and Margarita were terrific hosts -- going above and beyond to make our stay everything we hoped it would be. Our kids played with their daughter and cousins. You can walk to a soccer field in 2 minutes, a coffee tour place with really good coffee in 5 minutes, a bakery in 10 minutes, a small store in 12. Santa Elena has everything you need in terms of restaurants, supermarkets, tourist stuff and is close but not too close - a 10 minute drive. Monteverde and especially Selvatura were very worthwhile. Ten thumbs up!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mark Anderson2 (Albuquerque, NM)
    • Date of stay 11/23/07
    • Review Submitted 11/23/07
    What a fantastic place to stay in Monte Verde! Dickie went out of his way to ensure we had activities arranged and took us there if we were unsure of the way. We could not have done as much as we did without his guidance. The accomodations were clean and to US standards with unlimited hot showers and a fantastic view. The walk through the property was beautiful and the gorge was just enough of a challenge to give us something to talk about for years to come.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/11/07
    • Review Submitted 09/11/07
    Stayed here August 21-23, 2007. This cottage was in a beautiful setting, giving us the opportunity to see lots of wildlife right on the property. Everything was very clean, and the beds were excellent with good privacy between the 2 bedrooms. The hosts were very outgoing and welcoming.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest d woodson (bradenton fl)
    • Date of stay 06/28/07
    • Review Submitted 06/28/07
    The views from this property are the best in the area! This is a very relaxing, peaceful spot filled with an incredible variety of vegetation and wildlife, particularly birds. The nearby town of Santa Elena offers great restaurants and friendly people. Also there is plenty to discover in the cloud forest reserve nearby. This cottage is a terrific spot to stay while visiting Monteverde.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jim & Chris1 (Salt Lake City, UT)
    • Date of stay 04/21/07
    • Review Submitted 04/21/07
    Awesome view. Enjoyed a beautiful evening watching thunder storm from the enclosed patio overlooking the Gulf of Nicoya. Incredible host on property. We intend to return for an extended stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sherry38 (Pasadena, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/13/07
    • Review Submitted 04/13/07
    We stayed here March 27-29, 2007. The owners/caretakers were the most gracious hosts and were very helpful wtih planning local touring, hiking, etc. They know a lot of people and personally escorted us on the coffee plantation and through an orchid garden, as well as sharing a barbeque dinner with us. We highly recommend this VRBO.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest ll carlton (Bradenton, Fl)
    • Date of stay 03/06/07
    • Review Submitted 03/06/07
    The air is clean, the views breath taking and calming, the people most gracious.Village with supermarket close by..Accomodation spotless and a Massage Therapist on the property! Owner also has info on a great personal guide should you so desire.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest B & J Quam (AnnaMaria, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/01/06
    • Review Submitted 11/01/06
    We saw the property just before it was advertised as a rental. The views are magnificent - from all directions. Great (reasonable) restaurants in town. Taxi's are very inexpensive. The "Rica's" are the friendliest people. Lots to do, all of it fun!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]