Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Bi level fresh water pool

Lowest Priced Oceanfront Condo on Sapphire Beach [#106459ha] | View Property

Pelican Beach
1Bedroom, 1Bathroom, and Sleeps 4/5

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (33)

Sort by:
  • Go!

    Go!

    • Guest Molly F.
    • Date of stay 12/24/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    Our first time using VRBO, our first time at Sapphire Beach, I would do both again in a heart beat. Clean, convenient, private, flexible, big enough for a family of 5, GREAT vibe at the beach, awesome location near Red Hook & St. John ferry and Food Center, laid back. Thanks Tim for sharing your place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Very, very satisfied

    Very, very satisfied

    • Guest Eli R. (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 11/06/13
    • Review Submitted 11/15/13
    Tim's condo on Sapphire Beach was advertised very accurately. The condo is clean, right on the beach with plenty of space for two people. The resort itself has seen better days, but there were three food options within walking distance (one food stand practically on the beach, one BBQ truck up the hill by the entrance, and the Sapphire Restaurant over by the marina - we do not eat here during out stay). Here are some overall thoughts on the condo and the overall experience: - The condo was as clean as could be expected, though the bathroom could use some touching up. Due to the humidity, I expect, there was definitely a mold situation and if we failed to run the A/C, we could definitely smell it. The bed was big and comfortable, the kitchen adequately stocked with cooking implements, and plenty of space for two people overall. I was able to easily converse with Dionne via email with any concerns. The internet worked on and off - definitely not reliable but who really cares when you're ON THE BEACH! - Sapphire Beach itself is gorgeous, though a bit rocky. You can buy beers and snacks from the dive shop or food from the food stand, or have food delivered to you on the beach if you call the right local restaurant. Having the chairs provided by Tim was a HUGE bonus! While construction was going on (it is the offseason), we barely heard it and it was not intrusive. It is sad that there is an empty building right on the beach that should be a restaurant or something, but there is some sort of legal battle going on there. Regardless, Sapphire Beach itself is no-frills beauty. - Getting around was the biggest pain. You can walk to Red Hook and to the ferry from the resort (dangerous at night but fine during the day) which is great, but cabs are outrageously expensive. To get across the island costs $20 or more each time for two people. And hitching is not as easy in St. Thomas as it is in St. John. The proximity to the ferry was awesome, as we spent a lot of time in St. John as well. Red Hook itself is filled with small shops and touristy restaurants, but it's not that big and there's not that much to see there. Be sure to bring traveling money if you stay here unless you plan to stay at the resort the entire time. While we had a kitchen, we never did make it out to the closest grocery store (about 2 miles away) due to transportation issues. Overall, I am totally satisfied with the property, though I would redo the bathroom soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Coming back again !!!

    Coming back again !!!

    • Guest Diane D.
    • Date of stay 10/15/13
    • Review Submitted 11/04/13
    Its just like the picture nice quite clean and cozy my boyfriend and I loved it we spend most of our time on the beach and the balcony. At night we would sit outside the balcony with a glass of wine and you would hear the sound of the beach it was very romantic the beach is beautiful the water is nice and clear when you go snorkeling you can even feed the little fishes there is even a cabana on the beach too if you get hungry and you would need to rent a car to get around the taxi can be little bit expensive. but I must say it was the best 2 weeks vacation we ever had we cant stop talking about it we want to come back again in the near future thank you so much Tim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Loved this condo!!! Excellent location!

    Loved this condo!!! Excellent location!

    • Guest Melinda (Loganville, Ga. )
    • Date of stay 09/14/13
    • Review Submitted 09/30/13
    My friend and I stayed in this unit 2 weeks ago on September 14, 2013' . We absolutely loved the view from the balcony in the mornings drinking our coffee! Nice and clean unit with all the amenities we wanted. I swam with sea turtles and sting rays right there at the beach while snorkeling! The water is clear for snorkeling and seeing a range of tropical fish and yellow coral right at the beach area! I would love to rent this condo again in the near future! Thanks Tim for the vacation of a lifetime experience!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Looking forward to staying here again!

    Looking forward to staying here again!

    • Guest Penni P.
    • Date of stay 07/26/13
    • Review Submitted 08/11/13
    I vacationed here for a week, and then Jamaica the following week. Hindsight I wished I would have been able to stay here for 2 weeks! Exactly as described, except can't put into words how beautiful the location is! Only thing I would add: a guest book on site. Next visit will rent a car: was fearful of driving on the left, with the narrow and winding roads! Highly recommend this condo. Quiet location, comfortable, affordable. Only bad experience I had was being without power for several hours, but it was quickly resolved. I can't wait to stay in your condo again.Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good location, and wonderful view!

    Good location, and wonderful view!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/29/13
    • Review Submitted 06/09/13
    Sapphire is in a great location, convenient to restaurants and bars in red hook. It's located on a beautiful beach. Condo was exactly what we needed. Sapphire as a whole has gone slightly down hill since my last stay several years ago, but it's still nice and would absolutely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful view, great location

    Beautiful view, great location

    • Guest Maureen M. (Charlottesville, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 05/05/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    We had a great time at this condo in Sapphire Beach. The location is awesome, being a few minutes from Red Hook. It's a shame there isn't a sidewalk or path to Red Hook because it's definitely walk-able for active people. But regardless, cabs were always waiting at Sapphire Beach so it was easy to get into Red Hook. The beach was great, and I was pleasantly surprised to find a beach side cabana selling food and drinks with runners serving people on the beach. Didn't expect that and it was great! I never found the pool, so can't comment on that. We took a day boat trip to the British Virgin Islands which left right from Sapphire Marina, so that was extremely convenient. The condo itself was great. Nothing super fancy, but had everything you needed. The king bed was quite nice. And the air conditioning worked great! Tim paying for the beach chair rentals and snorkel gear was a really nice perk. Thank you Tim! We would recommend this condo if you are looking for a comfortable (not necessarily luxurious), reasonably priced, OCEANFRONT condo in a convenient location!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Relaxing stay at Sapphire Beach

    Relaxing stay at Sapphire Beach

    • Guest Jean G.
    • Date of stay 01/15/13
    • Review Submitted 01/31/13
    I formally owned timeshare at Sapphire and have been to the island many times, but haven't been in a few years, so I was interested to see how it has been doing. First, Tim the owner, was excellent to deal with. His condo is on the second floor with gorgeous views of St. John and the B.V.I. Sapphire definitely has gone down in the appearance recently, but to no fault of Tim's, but I spoke with some owners who claim they will be making more improvements. This is good news, as I think Sapphire is one of the nicest beaches on the island. I love being near Red Hook because it has many fine restaurants in town and the area. I like the proximity to St. John and it is worth it to rent a car, so you can drive to the restaurants, (Sapphire does not operate one at this time), and take the car ferry over to St. John. Tim recommended the Breakaway charters which leaves right from the Sapphire marina, and it was one of the best charters I have taken here. If you need luxurious surroundings, then book the nearby Ritz Carlton, or Frenchmans Reef, but I think Tim offers a comfortable place for a great price. It is so nice to be so close to the room, if you need anything while at the beach. His unit includes wifi and many cable channels...and ladies...he has a very nice hairdryer in the room, much nicer than the typical ones you find. i recommend renting Tim's condo for a relaxing time at Sapphire Beach.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • not exactly as described

    not exactly as described

    • Guest terry a.
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    View from the balcony was magnificent. The condo was neat, clean no. And the description was accurate. Amenities were there. Between the stove and counter it was not nice. Condo itself required alot of minor maintainence. Comes complete with pets. My wife just about jumped out of her skin with the "mahogany bugs" to me very large roaches. The Futon is ready for the dump. Very uncomfortable and dirty. Some of the buttons on the microwave did not work, plus it was rusty on the inside. The burners on the stove were not level which made cooking difficult and dangerous. I was burned by spilt liquids while cooking. Cooking utensils left a lot to be desired. As I do all the cooking at home it was challenging to cook on this stove with the utensils provided. The owner did provide internet in the unit after complaining to the rental manager and to Tim himself. Greatly appreciated. The picture of the bi-level pool is very misleading. The bar pictured here is in a poor state of repair. The roof is tattered, essentially gone. The bar itself is not open and has not been for several years we were told. Being in building and reno's myself, it will be cheaper to tear it done than to renovate. The view from the pool however is fantastic. The outside of the buildings need painting, repairs and replacement of some of the railings, ballistrades and patio covers. The grounds are in need of tending and a really good gardener(s). Almost stepped on a fishing lure near this bi-level pool. Staff at the Banana Cabana a beach bar with some food was not very friendly and it was almost a chore to serve us. Even after using all the pleasantries that we were told is required in the Virgin Islands. The beach was very nice and snorkelling was enjoyable. In the front lobby The ceiling has caved in and most of the building is boarded up. It looks like at one point it was a variety store and restaurant in the rear on this structure all closed with roof ragged and torn. The fellas at the dive shop were friendly and very helpful. Some of the snorkelling, lounging equipment was provided by the owner. As for returning or recommending. We would return to the resort not to the Sapphire Beach rentals(red roofs), but to the Sapphire Marina(blue roofs) where the restaurant there is as described, the gardens maintained and roads were paved and pool is clean. It is just a short 5 minute walk down to the beach. We also have pictures but cannot post them. contact me if you would like to see them

    Owner response: I am quite surprised by this guest response. This guest arrived on September 25, and 3 days later sent me an e-mail at 1:30 on September 28, stating the following, after I added the wireless internet to my condo at their request: "Everything else is great! Thanks so much" This guest had contacted both myself and my manager about wanting the internet in my condo and not just having access at the resort. We responded immediately and had the wireless internet installed in my unit. It is now there for all future guests to use. However, he NEVER contacted me or my manager about any other problems or concerns that he wrote about in his review. I don't understand how or why a guest can be there for 3 days, send me an e-mail stating "Everything else is great. Thanks so much" and then write an unhappy review. It is important to myself and to my manager there in St. Thomas, to address any and all issues that may arise when a guest is staying at my condo. However, when a guest doesn't let us know while they are there, we can't help resolve any issues. With all of the positive reviews that are posted from other past guests, I would encourage anyone interested in renting my unit to give me phone call if you have any questions about my unit. With my reasonable rental pricing, this guest was my 30th guest in 2012. Several of these guests had returned in 2012, from renting in prior years. I do my best to make sure that your stay at my condo is a great one. I still don't understand why a person would write this type of a review after the last communication that I had with him, he said: "Everything else is great! Thanks so much."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great price, great view

    Great price, great view

    • Guest Zev W.
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/02/12
    When we had to shift our schedule by two days due to Tropical Storm Isaac, Tim worked with us, and we were still able to stay a full week with no hassle. We loved the complex, especially being able to sit out on the beach or go snorkeling. I loved snorkeling in the coral reefs just off of the dive shop (2 hours per day included with the price of the condo), and the guys in the dive shop were very helpful in giving me tips on snorkeling. I also loved eating my meals on the balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our only complaints were that not all the burners on the stove worked, the oven light didn't come on, and the futon was uncomfortable, however these were relatively small issues. It was a perfect space for a nice romantic getaway for two people at an affordable price.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Vacation

    Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Karyn G.
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    I highly recommend this property and Tim was wonderful to work with. My husband, daughter and I spent a week there. The unit is on second floor right on Sapphire Beach and it is a very short walk around the building out to the beach. The pictures do not do it justice. The view you get to wake up to every morning is wonderful. The snorkeling was great and it was easy to get around to other beaches on the island. We did not use the pool on the property so I cannot comment on that. It was exactly what we were looking for as we wanted some of the amenities of home such as the option to cook. We would definitely stay here again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Beach condo with beautiful view

    Perfect Beach condo with beautiful view

    • Guest Nicole M.
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    My boyfriend and I stayed at the condo and it was perfect, definitely the best vacation we have had! The condo was very clean, bed was comfy, and it had everything one would need. Sapphire beach was beautiful and the drinks the woman sells between buildings B & C are delicious( painkiller and dirty monkey's were our favorite). I called Tim a few times before the trip with questions and he was always very nice and even gave some recommendations on what we should do there.We will definitely rent this condo again and can't wait to go back to St. Thomas, it was absolutely beautiful!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Never wanted to leave!

    Never wanted to leave!

    • Guest kellen l.
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 09/25/12
    Our trip to St. Thomas was amazing. The condo was wonderful and well maintained with beautiful views only steps from the beach. I have snorkeled many times and have never had a better experience than right outside of the condo. 2 hours per day of rented snorkel gear is provided with the condo, and you won't see the turtles and stingrays anywhere else like you will off of Sapphire beach. Tim provided great recommendations on restaurants and activities. The BVI cruise through Breakaway charters was a great time! The condo is in a great location with the conveniences of Red Hook only minutes away. Make sure to eat at Coco Blue while you are there! My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay and are already planning our 2013 vacation with Tim. I would recommend this unit to any couple looking for a relaxed, no worries vacation.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments about my condo on Sapphire Beach. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to having you as a guest next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Book this place!!!

    Book this place!!!

    • Guest Preston E.
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/24/12
    The description of the unit was exactly what I walked into when I arrived at Sapphire Beach. Working with Tim ahead of time was perfect. He was extremly helpful in making sure that the unit was ready for me when I got there! Being able to bypass the "front desk" at any place is an absolute pleasure! When I book trips from now on I will always try to book through the owners themselves because it does reduce the headache of travel. Having Tim's personal cell number before leaving was just another added security to my peace of mind. And the list of recommendations of things to do was a true treasure map! The unit was very clean and the updated appliances worked extremely well! (Beer was always cold!) I highly advise any one looking to book a trip to the Virgin Islands to STRONGLY consider staying in this unit! The value is unmatched anywhere else on the island. And not to mention you will be staying in the most beautiful location! The second floor is 100% the way to go! You're not tracking sand into your bedroom all day and the third floor is just too far from the beach! ;) I would have no problem recommending this property to ANYONE who is looking for an amazing get-away! There are no "hidden charges" when dealing with Tim and that is exactly what I was looking for! It truly seems as though this is his personal retreat from the daily grind and is simply offering for people to enjoy the luxury with him, not to make a living off of vacationers! So in summary I just want to say thanks again to Tim and rest assured that this IS the place you want to spend your hard earned vacation dollars! :) YES it is the "Lowest Priced" condo on sapphire beach but that doesn't mean you have to sacrifice anything in terms of luxury! I sure hope this review was helpful if you're considering! Go ahead, it's beautiful! :) And I have to mention that the best snorkeling on St. Thomas is right out your back door! Go around the point to the right of the hotel and you'll see a different world in coral land! To swim with the turtles just go down to the beach and swim out to the left they are there every day feeding on the grass! :) Have fun and don't think twice about this one! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Couldn't have been better!!!

    Couldn't have been better!!!

    • Guest Debbie L.
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/24/12
    The description of the unit was exactly what I walked into when I arrived at Sapphire Beach. Working with Tim ahead of time was perfect. He was extremly helpful in making sure that the unit was ready for me when I got there! Being able to bypass the "front desk" at any place is an absolute pleasure! When I book trips from now on I will always try to book through the owners themselves because it does reduce the headache of travel. Having Tim's personal cell number before leaving was just another added security to my peace of mind. And the list of recommendations of things to do was a true treasure map! The unit was very clean and the updated appliances worked extremely well! (Beer was always cold!) I highly advise any one looking to book a trip to the Virgin Islands to STRONGLY consider staying in this unit! The value is unmatched anywhere else on the island. And not to mention you will be staying in the most beautiful location! The second floor is 100% the way to go! You're not tracking sand into your bedroom all day and the third floor is just too far from the beach! ;) I would have no problem recommending this property to ANYONE who is looking for an amazing get-away! There are no "hidden charges" when dealing with Tim and that is exactly what I was looking for! It truly seems as though this is his personal retreat from the daily grind and is simply offering for people to enjoy the luxury with him, not to make a living off of vacationers! So in summary I just want to say thanks again to Tim and rest assured that this IS the place you want to spend your hard earned vacation dollars! :) YES it is the "Lowest Priced" condo on sapphire beach but that doesn't mean you have to saccrifice anything in terms of luxury! I sure hope this review was helpful if you're considering! Go ahead, it's beautiful! :) And I have to mention that the best snorkeling on St. Thomas is right out your back door! Go around the point to the right of the hotel and you'll see a different world in coral land! To swim with the turtles just go down to the beach and swim out to the left they are there every day feeding on the grass! :) Have fun and don't think twice about this one! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • August 27 - September 5

    August 27 - September 5

    • Guest Kimberly F.
    • Date of stay 08/27/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    We have been to the VI's before and to Sapphire Beach, so we knew exactly what to expect. This is a very laid back environment and not a resort at all, which is what we wanted. The unit itself was just fine for our family of 4 and we enjoyed the large patio. We were given such a great deal, that we have absolutely no complaints. Tim Lacey was very responsive and was eager to answer questions. I don't know who the Alan is that people dealt with below, but I believe that ownership must have changed since then. Sapphire Beach is one of the best beaches on St. Thomas, especially if you like to search for sea life. We saw turtles, sting rays, reef squid, peacock flounders and other typical reef fish such as parrot fish, etc. Sapphire Beach is also very close to Red Hook and acts as a good base to visit other VI islands, which we took advantage of. Great stay and may utilize again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • August Vacation 8-5-10 to 8-19-10

    August Vacation 8-5-10 to 8-19-10

    • Guest Pat (Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/24/10
    Our vacation was great....we were on in my opinion...the best beach in St Thomas. Very usual for us to just hang out and use beach at condo everyday, but after trying several on the island, we decided we had the best right in front of us! On the down side....the condo was "tired"...needs updating...couch horrible and uncomfortable, no BBQ as advised on web site, and no outside patio table and chairs to enjoy our beautiful view. If you are looking for a budget condo with an awesome beach and view....this it for you....if you are looking for a 5 star resort,, this is not for you. Unfortunately the bar and restaurant are closed...updating needed here also. But free standing "Banana Cabana" great for burgers and frozen drinks or beer.It's too bad owner hasn't taken better care of this condo...it could be a real beauty. Despite all the negatives....we had a wonderful vacation and returned home tanned and relaxed. This is a great island for relaxing and shopping.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Any reasonable condo association prohibits open fires in the units or on the balconies. That is why we have the BBQ grille at the edge of my building. She seemed to enjoy its convenience. I've had one family returning every year since 2003, who thanked me for the new couch [ this February, 2010 ]. I guess I can't please every back [ and backside ] in creation. I assume she enjoyed the brand new bathroom fixtures, the new refrigerator, oven, king-sized bed, ceiling fans, big screen TV, and room safe. There are two lounge chairs and a small table on the balcony. The only things "tired" in the unit are my fingers, for having to type my response to her comments. She paid $79 per night for this ocean-front unit. I'm sorry that no butler and maid are included in the price. Then she gave it 4 out of 5 stars? And called it"good" ? I guess I should be grateful she found it good ! If anyone wants to buy this unit, the price is $180,000. I will finance it, and include a lifetime supply of Maalox !! All the best - Alan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10

  • Alright

    Alright

    • Guest Hest0405 (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 05/11/10
    • Review Submitted 06/14/10
    The location is five stars. Sapphire Beach is beautiful. The condo is about 2 and half stars. It worked and was clean. Yes I monitored this weekly up until my trip for new reviews and noticed that whenever a negative review got posted within a week and a half it had disappeared....SHADY. What the point of being able to post reviews if the person can get them erased?

    Owner response: I own several units, and help my neighbors rent their units also. The negative review which has been removed referred to a unit owned by a neighbor. It did not apply to the units I own. I told my neighbor about her property's problems, and will not rent it for her until she updates her unit. I'm happy that everything in my unit ' worked and was clean '. I intend to keep it that way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/7

  • Recent Stay Feb 13 thru 16 2010.

    Recent Stay Feb 13 thru 16 2010.

    • Guest Kuhner (Atlanta )
    • Date of stay 02/13/10
    • Review Submitted 02/21/10
    We just returned from STT, a super stay at Sapphire Beach Resort. Last minute booking with Alan R, set us up in a lower unit, ( a must if you have young kids) that had the most awesome view! Great people, great food, great diving (just two of us on the whole boat!) We will come back again and stay with Alan at a property on Sapphire! Don't miss St. John during your stay. A 6 dollar ferry ride to super beaches!!! Sam was a super help as well!! Good luck with the driving lessons Sam!!!!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Christmas 2009

    Christmas 2009

    • Guest JohnnyR (Old Lyme, CT USA)
    • Date of stay 12/25/09
    • Review Submitted 01/08/10
    Booked Alan's place at the last minute and arrived Christmas Day. He was very helpful and responsive in rushing through the financial aspects with just a couple of days notice. Absolutely great location, both in terms of the resort itself and where the unit is located. Ground floor, on the beach, right around corner from the grill, close to the pool. You can rent snorkel equipment from the dive shack for $5 one hour or $10 per day. We were there only 4 nights so didn't get off property much, just wanted to relax and enjoy the beach which is spectacular. The kitchen is small but servicable and we cooked in all but one night. If you arrange ahead of time Sam the manager will pick you up at the airport for only slightly more than a taxi ride and you can stop to pick up ice, groceries and refreshments. The island taxis will take you to Redhook for a dollar. There is a grocery there and a bunch of resturants, predictably expensive but OK for a change of pace. You will have to take a regular taxi back for about $4 per person as the island taxis only go (as i understand) clockwise around the island. Already looking forward to our next visit!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Contact information

    Contact information

    • Guest Casandra G. (Detroit, MI)
    • Date of stay 12/13/09
    • Review Submitted 12/14/09
    Hi, I was wondering if anyone has any additional contact info for Alan. I have been trying to reach him for a few wks. We were in the middle of booking this condo w/him, and lost contact w/him. Thank you very much for your help. Casandra

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/5

  • Sapphire Beach Dec.2009

    Sapphire Beach Dec.2009

    • Guest Builderradio (Ky)
    • Date of stay 11/28/09
    • Review Submitted 12/14/09
    We really enjoyed our stay in Alan's condo, he was very helpful in providing services and answering our questions. We came to relax and enjoy the beautiful view...beach, boats and snorkeling. We fixed most of our meals in the condo...there are no amenities,just a beach bar. We took a cab to Red Hook for supplies, and only rented a car one day of our stay. If you want a quiet place to relax, this is it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Paradise & A room with a view!

    Paradise & A room with a view!

    • Guest pop gun (pa)
    • Date of stay 10/21/09
    • Review Submitted 11/06/09
    This was the best vacation ever! Alan's room was right on the beach, clean and comfortable. We came prepared to make use of the condo with the cooking facilities and ate breakfast every morning after snorkeling 20 feet from our porch upon waking up. The view and beach were so beautiful it was hard to leave to discover the rest of the island. Easy ride to Red Hook to enjoy the evening and catch ferry to St. John. Sam our manager was very helpful. Island taxi's are great and cheap. Do not pay the $5 for a private taxi, you'll miss the island experience. Kim, our beach waitress was great with helpful info. Security was awesome and friendly. Talked with a tourist visiting who was staying at a Marriot and paying 2x's the price with a 10 minute bus ride to the beach with no cooking facilities. If you are looking to have a great time, relax, enjoy the atmosphere, see iguanas walking around, swim in water warmer than a bath, take a dip in a pool with the mose beautiful view and be left alone without big crouds...then this is the place for you. My husband and I were on our 1st honeymoon after being married with kids for the past few years and this was the perfect place to reconnect, laugh, smile and have fun. Anyone that stays at this resort and complains should have thought about going to the Ritz Carleton instead. You are renting a condo with a kitchen...that means you will have to make a few of your own meals... or travel to get to a restaurant. Knowing this before hand , you can come prepared to have a great time. We will definitely come back and will even bring the kids next time. Thank you Alan for a great place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Million Dollar View!

    A Million Dollar View!

    • Guest Faith W. (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 10/17/09
    • Review Submitted 10/30/09
    We just returned from our stay at Alan's condo, and had a wonderful experience. It had by far the best view of any place we've previously stayed in the Caribbean. We enjoyed snorkeling the reef right out in front nearly every day, and appreciated the shade of the sea grapes along the beautiful beach. We found the grounds very well maintained, and the beach was cleaned every day. Yes, the beach bar is not opened, but we really didn't miss it. We'd rather have our own happy hour on our balcony, enjoying the magnificent view. We could tell the interior had some recent improvements like new tile in the kitchen and bathroom. Though the number of dishes and glasses was a little on the sparse side, we managed just fine. We debated prior to our arrival on whether or not we'd rent a car while on St. Thomas. It turned out that we didn't and we managed just fine. We made good use of the Safari taxis ($1 per person - $2 if you go a longer distance like into Charlotte Amalie). They run every 5 minutes or so from the road right out in front of Sapphire Beach. Just be prepared for a steep hike up the driveway. A couple of times we walked back to Sapphire from Red Hook, which is only 0.4 miles away, but be careful since there's no shoulder for part of the way and the roads are narrow, curvy and hilly. We'd definitely suggest you not walk it at night! We also took regular taxis when we needed to - $4 per person to get home from Red Hook. We did a couple of day trips over to St. John to explore the reefs there. We caught the 6:30 a.m. ferry and both days we had the beaches and reefs all to ourselves! We snorkeled at Trunk Bay, Leinster Bay/Watermelon Cay, and Saloman Bay, and they were all fantastic. Alan's property manager, Sam, was very gracious and friendly. We appreciated him taking us for a stop at the main grocery store, Plaza Extra, prior to bringing us to the condo. When we needed additional groceries, we used the Marina Market in Red Hook, which had a good selection of items. Check out Happy Hour at Duffy's Love Shack in Red Hook from 4-6 pm - you can't beat $1.50 drinks! We very much enjoyed our week at Alan's place at Sapphire Beach, and would love to stay there again the next time we're on St. Thomas.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great condo... great price

    Great condo... great price

    • Guest pike827 (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/03/09
    • Review Submitted 10/11/09
    My wife and I traveled with another couple recently and rented both units. The condos were great with exceptional views of Sapphire Beach and neighboring islands. One unit was a little more updated than the other, but both were in great shape. Sapphire Beach is located on the east end of the island away from all of the crowds found in town. Redhook is very close by and has a lot of great places for dining and entertainment. We enjoyed staying in these units and will definitely be booking another trip with Alan again very soon. I would recommend these units to anyone looking for a great price in a great location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great family vacation

    Great family vacation

    • Guest bethyinblue (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 08/22/09
    • Review Submitted 02/10/10
    We stayed in the condo for a week in August 2009 with our 2 children (8 & 3) absolutely loved loved it....condo was neat, clean and spacious for 4 people however it was quite outdated. the views were amazing and the beach and pool area great. The location was perfect close to nearby RedHook were we ate most nights. We rented a car a few days to explore the island. Would absolutely return for a great vacation!!! thanks especially to Sam who picked us up and also drove us into town one night! he was quite excessiable especially when the water main broke and we had no water!!! thanks again

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

  • what a nice place

    what a nice place

    • Guest medic358 (cassopolis,mi usa)
    • Date of stay 02/25/09
    • Review Submitted 04/19/09
    Alan was great!!! Mywife and I had a great time.The condo was very clean and what a veiw,I hope to go back next year at the same time.The only down fall was had to go to Redhook for food,Dinning out,nightlife,rent a car if you go.I enjoyed staying on beach all day.Thank you so very much Alan we will be back jay&Lisa

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Jay and Lisa. Lunch and drinks are available daily at the outdoor grill, steps away at the end of our B building. [10 AM to 5 PM ] Supper is also steps away [ and will be delivered to your room, if you wish ] up the hill at the Seagrape restaurant. I look forward to your next visit. Alan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Improvements!

    Wonderful Improvements!

    • Guest clc1298 (Lawrence, KS USA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/08
    • Review Submitted 01/24/09
    I rated this 4 stars based on this visit vs. previous 3 visits. My assesment of Sapphire Beach and our unit was wonderful. I cannot begin to tell you the wonderful feeling we had just upon entering the unit. It was SO clean and fresh!!! All of the furniture had been cleaned. I am not sure if the chair had been replaced or just recovered, but what a difference!! a new rug, refrigerator, mattress, towels, linens AND Beach Towels!! We had fresh towels, both bath and beach everyday along with general cleaning and trash emptied! The new manager and his wife were absolutely wonderful! so gracious and accommodating. Also, the beach was cleaned DAILY and the folks with Antilles were actually very pleasant, unlike in the past! There was beach waitstaff from the Grapevine with delivery.....how wonderful is that? Of course, being the time of year that we vacation, none of the bars were open as others stated were open during their visits, but no big deal for us....and last, but not least the deck restoration (not done as of that time) was looking to be absolutely beautiful when complete. I would say that at least 50% of all decks were in the process of restoration or complete and looking brand new! This visit was a delight. It was obvious that finally, owners are taking a new pride, interest and responsibility to the upkeep of these units. Actually, I could not wait to get back and let the owner know what a great job his new manager has done! It truly was an uplifting visit. There are still a few things that need to be done to our unit such as a new sliding door, but with the strides they are making, I expect this will be done soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/8

  • We will be back!

    We will be back!

    • Guest Randy & Nic (Rancho Cucamonga, CA US)
    • Date of stay 08/12/08
    • Review Submitted 08/22/08
    Alan was great! very helpful! We rented both of Alan's condos side by side. We never even closed off the patios so we could run from room to room. Sam the manager was so nice, he was there every day to make sure we had everything...what a great guy, took us to and from the airport and filled us with info. Views just like pictured! Way more worth than the price paid. We went for our honeymoon and we will be returning! Thank you so much for such a great trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I'll do all I can to make sure that my manager continues to upgrade and improve the units. The remotes will have batteries, the light bulbs will function, and new linens will be in use regularly. I look forward to your return, and will give you an even better deal !! Thanks again. Alan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 21/23

  • Sapphire Beach Resort - St. Thomas, VI

    Sapphire Beach Resort - St. Thomas, VI

    • Guest Larry/Susan (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 08/05/08
    The description of the property was not accurate - no dishwasher, free beach chairs were the heavy metal chairs on 2nd floor balcony. Resort amenities were non-existent. Bar & rest room at pool were boarded up as was the restaurant at the beach. You had to leave the resort for any entertainment and pay bus/taxi fare which was not cheap. The beach/view were beautiful; too bad the amenities were not. Updating on condo had begun, but needed a lot of work. Bed linens/towels/rugs were old and stained. There was a musty/mildew smell when you entered the condo. Batteries were missing from remotes, light bulbs broken off in light fixtures and there was a listing of phone numbers within the resort, but no phone. We were extremely disappointed and will not be returning to Sapphire Beach Resort. We went to St. John twice and loved it. Megan's Bay is beautiful, but crowded on cruise days. We spent a great deal of time in Red Hook and had good meals. Duffy's Love Shack - fun place, good bar food. Molly Malone's the same as Duffy's. Great meals at East End Cafe and The Cellar. Great shopping in Charlotte Amalie. We never made it there, but Gladys Cafe is supposed to be good for breakfast/lunch. We drove through Frenchtown and would have loved to have eaten at Craig & Sally's. We had a great time on our trip and made the best of everything, but not a great experience at Sapphire Beach Resort.

    Owner response: I am always grateful to renters for their frank and helpful comments. My last visit there was April, 2007, when a dishwasher was in place. I have a new manager on site,[ within the last month ] and he is aware of these issues, and has assured me that he will do all he can to fix them. I cannot understand the issues between the condo association and the owner of the bar and restaurant. It is too bad that such a gorgeous location has such a needless dispute. It affects all of us owners. Believe me, I will fix the light bulbs and the remote controls, and will have new linens and towels immediately. Thank you for the helpful comments. Alan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10

  • Sappire Beach

    Sappire Beach

    • Guest JOJO41 (Yellville Ar)
    • Date of stay 05/01/08
    • Review Submitted 05/19/08
    Nice room, beautiful view, good maid service. Sam (property manager) picked us up from the airport, showed us around and was so very helpful. Hope to return next year

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/13

  • Sapphire Beach

    Sapphire Beach

    • Guest Likes to Cook (Baltimore MD)
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/04/08
    This condo was wonderful. The view was gorgeous. Snorkeling was great. I definitely would recommend you stay here. If there was anything to say negative, the place may not be perfect if you want to do any cooking. Two of the burners on the stove didn't work, we had to buy some frying pans, since none were available and there were other cooking essentials (like a colander) that wasn't available. Besides that, definitely stay here.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/12

  • Sapphire Beach Condo

    Sapphire Beach Condo

    • Guest David & Diane (Moncure NC )
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/15/07
    First off, Alan the owner described the condo exactly as it is. Not a high end resort, but a nice clean condo,everthing we needed was there.No problems with anything, If you have small kids or you are looking to have a quiet getaway this place is for you. One thing, if you are expecting everything to be new, or daily maid service stay away,This is a condo, do it yourself when or how you want.We stayed for 8 days an really enjoyed thank's Alan we will be back. David an Diane.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 36/38



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]