Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of villa from the ocean side and lower gardens

Extreme Rate Reduction - Oceanfront Villa - Exclusive Beach [#107580] | View Property

Huatulco
Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 2-8)
$1,610 - $8,050/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful Villa - awesome time!

    Beautiful Villa - awesome time!

    • Guest Lois
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/30/14
    Quinta Alegria is fantastic! My husband and I along with our two adult daughters (20 & 22) had an incredible time while staying at Quinta Alegria. The view of the infinity edge pool out to the ocean from the outdoor living room was breathtaking. We spent each morning leisurely drinking coffee in this tranquil beautiful setting. We have traveled to many beach resorts in Mexico on both the Caribbean and Pacific and stayed in villas, condos, all inclusive and non all inclusive hotels and feel that Quinta Alegria has the best view of anywhere we have ever stayed. We went on outings each day, but we made sure to be back at Quinta Alegria at the end of each day to see the sun set – seven days and we never missed one! We went to the beach that is walking distance of the villa twice – it was a little bit of a climb, but the beach was beautiful and the ocean very swimmable. We also visited other local beaches. Amazingly, every taxi cab fare to/from the villa was about $4 US and when we called for one they would be at the villa in 5 minutes. We didn’t opt for a cook because we love the restaurants in La Crucecita/Santa Cruz. Monte, the owner of Quinta Alegria, was a fantastic host and we really enjoyed meeting him. The the housekeeper and gardener were great as well - they made sure everything was perfect. The villa and grounds were immaculate! We are counting the days until we can stay there again. It was the perfect vacation for us - we relaxed, watched the spectacular birds and scenery, and had great family time playing games in the outdoor dining room each evening while listening to the ocean. Couldn't ask for more!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Incredible Experience!!!

    Incredible Experience!!!

    • Guest Mike G (Minneapolis)
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/14/13
    Over the last 20 years or so, my wife and I have visited a broad range of vacation areas throughout Mexico including Cabo, Manzanillo, Cancun/Cozumel, Mazatlan, Ixtapa and Puerto Vallarta. We have experienced all-inclusives, regular resort/hotel packages and private residences -- but nothing quite compares to Quinta Alegria and our experience. Perched on a high rocky bluff, the view is absolutely breathtaking and impossible to capture in a picture. Quinta Alegria is part of a beautiful, quiet gated community which is great for early morning walks. We were joined with another couple and we could have easily added another because the scale of the property insures privacy and escape if you want it. Monte, the owner and his staff met us upon our arrival, whisked us to our rooms, and within 30 minutes we were by the pool, listening to the surf crash below with a cold beer and cigar. The anxiety of travel, work, expectations were gone. All the shopping had been done and the best was yet to come -- the fabulous authentic Mexican dishes from Rosa, who was our cook for the week. We planned to go out 2 to 3 times for dinner -- we didn't go once. Monte, Rosa, and the staff are the kindest, most helpful and knowledgeable people you could ask for. They are right there if you need help and invisible if you don't need them. While it sounds crazy, one of the highlights for me of any trip to Mexico was Monte accompanying me into town, taking me to the mercado as we picked out the freshest food, from stall-to-stall, and then to a local stand for tacos and back to the relaxing seclusion of Quinta Alegria. It took a couple hours but had the impact of a full day tour. Monte and his staff would make a lesser property a wonderful experience. We miss them and we will go back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Spoiled Rotten

    Spoiled Rotten

    • Guest Dougie (Minnetrista Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/11/13
    My wife and I have traveled extensively in Mexico always renting homes. Over the past number of years we have never had a more enjoyable stay than we did at Quinta Alegria. This spotless home has a commanding view of the ocean with soaring seabirds so close you can them. The culinary staff is next to none with service to match. We were fortunate too to have the gratis guide services of the owner who would lead us to town and introduce us to the best places to buy fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood. It was truely an exceptional experience. Once there you will not want to leave as you become part of their family and they will spoil you rotten.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous home. Very relaxing

    Fabulous home. Very relaxing

    • Guest Libby (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/16/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    My husband and I along with another couple throughly enjoyed Quinta Allegria. We were greeted upon our arrival by the owner and staff. All of our needs had been taken care of in advance of arrival. They had done grocery shopping and stocked the bar for us. All we had to do was change into our swim suits and relax. The home is very inviting. the views are spectacular. For anyone who wishes to exercise the community is a good area to run, walk, or enjoy a swim in the ocean at the beach near by. Rosa was our cook for the week. She prepared three meals a day and snacks for us. We enjoyed her authentic Mexican dishes as well as she was very happy to prepare anything we requested. Monte, the owner of the home served as our on call tour guide. His willingness to help and knowlege of the area were priceless. He saved us a lot of time by directing us to local beaches, the mercado and shopping area. The home is more beautiful than the pictures. The views of the bay ,breathtaking. The home is very well maintained and provided us all of the creature comforts we desired. We have renteded many homes throughout Mexico and this one is definately one we will return too. Overall a great experience and very relaxing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best 3 week vacation ever!!

    Best 3 week vacation ever!!

    • Guest Larry (Saskatoon)
    • Date of stay 01/03/12
    • Review Submitted 03/05/12
    We spent 3 fabulous weeks at Quinta Alegria from January 3 – 24th, 2012. We weren’t really sure what to expect as this was the first time we have not gone to an all-inclusive resort in Huatulco, but this holiday was by far the best & way better than the all-inclusive resorts we have gone to in the past. As well, overall cost for our trip was about the same or even a little less than doing an all-inclusive resort. The food was, OMG, amazing! When I tell people about our holiday, I describe our cook Rosa like my Grandmother only Mexican………fabulous home cooked meals, feeds you till you burst, yummy Mexican cuisine, but if you want something Canadian like hotdogs or peanut butter, all you have to do is ask. AND I could go on forever about her guacamole……..to die for!! Sure beats the bland cold food served by the buckets full at an all inclusive. The rooms were great, each one is different so if you go with a group, you may fight over the nicest one, but they were all good with fans, air conditioning & an amazing view!! As well, even though this is a house/villa, the rooms were still cleaned daily which was great. The pool is fabulous, really it just couldn’t be bad with that amazing view & Rosa & Rolando serving you margaritas whenever you want, but for those who have concerns about the sanitary side of pools, rest assured as Rolando is extremely diligent about keeping it cleaned and testing the water & adding chemicals as needed. The owner, Monte, is a really down to earth nice guy who goes out of his way to help out his guests. He was fabulous! He was extremely helpful and went out of his way to answer any questions we had, help us with translations, help us with tours, suggestions of things to do, transportation, booking Spa appointments (they actually came to the villa & gave massages right there – awesome!!). He also took us to a couple of those “out of the way restaurants” that you would never find on your own which was a lot of fun. Most of all it was great to just hang out with Monte & share stories, he really was like one of our family. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about Quinta Alegria and I highly recommend it to all my fellow Canadians & others. The worst thing about the trip was having to leave to come home & do my own cooking again! Man, I really miss Rosa!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Above and beyond

    Above and beyond

    • Guest David (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/04/11
    My girlfriend and I stayed at Quinta Alegria at the end of February, 2011 and as soon as we arrived we were planning our return. The home is beautiful and the view when you walk in the front door is simply stunning. Birds soar over the cliffs, and you awake every morning to fresh breezes and a glittering sunrise. The surrounding vicinity is also very beautiful and we spent many hours at the area beaches and sights, but we found ourselves spending lots of time around the house each day just because the setting was so idyllic. After a long day spent at the beach, it's hard to beat sipping a Margarita while lounging in the pool as yet another spectacular sunset unfolds before your eyes. What makes the place really special, however, is the hospitality of Monte the owner, Rosa the chef and Rolando the grounds keeper. They made us feel completely at home as soon as we arrived and went out of their way to make sure that we got the most out of our visit. Rosa's cooking is simply fantastic. Every meal was delicious and some of our favorite times were spent at the dinner table with Monte and Rosa as we shared stories and knew we were among friends. After we got back home, we realized that we had left a prized purchase behind, either in a taxi or in our rental car. When Monte learned of this, he did a bunch of leg work and eventually tracked our stuff down at the local car rental agency. What's more, he arranged for it to come back to Canada with another of his regular guests. This is the kind of "above and beyond" effort that you can expect at Quinta Alegria.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • What a fabulous vacation

    What a fabulous vacation

    • Guest Steve (Northbrook, IL)
    • Date of stay 11/06/10
    • Review Submitted 12/12/10
    My wife and I, along with 3 other couples, rented this beautiful villa for a week. it was everything as advertised. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rosa, the cook and house manager, went way over board to make sure that she and the staff met our every need, and then some. Working with Monte, the owner, before our visit was easy. He was very accessible and helpful. He even called twice while we were there to be sure that all was well and that we were enjoying ourselves. We will definitely go back, and we highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Stunning Views, Gorgeous Sunsets and a Wonderful Staff

    Stunning Views, Gorgeous Sunsets and a Wonderful Staff

    • Guest Houston (Highland Village, Texas)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/23/10
    Quinta Alegria meets all expectations from the moment you walk through the front door. The view is the first thing that captures your imagination, and you know from that point forward that your vacation planning has paid off. Quinta Alegria began to meet my expectations long before my wife and I arrived for our 16 day honeymoon stay. Monte, Quinta Alegria's owner, made sure that every request was handled promptly and with style, even though he was in Colombia at the time. Everything from fresh flowers to chef services and massages at the villa were taken care of just as I had requested. Dona Rosa, our hostess while we were there, made the trip a delight. She is always smiling and , if you speak Spanish, tells great stories with all the attendant animation. Dona Rosa was our chef while we were at Quinta Alegria, and we were so happy to have made that choice. There are no tables at which to dine that are better than those at the villa. Our meal was always attended by a gorgeous sunset and that ever enrapturing view. Dona Rosa's cooking is superb and always fresh. We had one dish twice only because it was by request. Her Enchiladas Suissa, hand-made lasagne and seafood dishes were fantastic, and she puts effort into her plating that makes for not only good food, but an excellent presentation as well. Rolando, the grounds keeper, is a genuinely nice guy that is always ready to help or share stories about his village. We enjoyed his company immensely. My wife loves cold coconut water, and all she had to do was mention it in passing one day. After that, Rolando made sure that she was never out, and took great pains to harvest, open and refrigerate her coconut nectar. Thank you to Monte, Rosa and Rolando for giving us a wonderful honeymoon that we will remember forever. We can't wait to get back to see our friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise found

    Paradise found

    • Guest KellyT (Calgary, AB. Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/05/10
    • Review Submitted 04/23/10
    My wife and I and two additoinal couples spent 3 weeks at Quinta Alegria February 2010. This was perhaps the vey best holiday I have had. The pictures posted on the VRBO site do not do this location justice. It is located on the point overlooking Tangolunda Bay and has the best sunsets I have ever witnessed. The taxi transport is simple and inexpensive, the on-site staff are freindly and helpful, the owner (Monte) is engaging and an excellent host. I would go back in a heart beat. Highly recommended!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Joseph R. Williams (Spokane, Washington)
    • Date of stay 11/23/09
    • Review Submitted 11/23/09
    I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for one of the best vacations I’ve been on. Recently, my wife and I had the opportunity to stay at Quinta Alegria. It was absolutely a fantastic experience … the attached picture says it all. The house, the location, and service was phenomenal. I especially want you to know what a pleasure it was to deal with your staff. Rosa and Nicholas were outstanding and made the vacation very special … although you probably know this already. Lindsay and I are counting down the days to our next opportunity to stay at Quinta Alegria … which will hopefully be soon. In the meantime, I’m hopeful that I’ve sparked some interested in my fellow coworkers to give Quinta Alegria a try. It sounds like there may already be some interest. Thank you again for the wonderful experience. I trust you will share my comments with Rosa and Nicholas, and the rest of your staff. I’m sure we’ll be in touch in the near future. Thanks again. Joseph R. Williams

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Graham Jack (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 03/11/09
    • Review Submitted 03/11/09
    Everyone has in their mind a picture of an ideal vacation. If you want to turn that into reality then go to Hautulco and stay at Quinta Alegria. OUr host, Monte and house manager, Rosita helped smooth out any edges and did so many little things that moved our experience from great to extraordinary. The beauty of the villa is barely captured in the website pictures, but you can't feel the warmth of the sun or smell the fragrance from all the flowers planted on the property. My advice, GO, GO, GO.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/25/09
    • Review Submitted 01/25/09
    Wow! 10 out of 10!!!I have been talking non-stop for the past 3 month about our stay.I knew the area well enough to know this was the best real estate in Huatulco. However, I had no idea it was going to be as fabulous as it was. There were 5 of us and a 2 ½ year old.When we arrived and were greeted by Rosa and the rest of staff – I felt famous; Let me just say, the view is something out of this world. We paid an extra fee for Rosa’s cooking services, which in my opinion, was the best decision that we could have made.We have a toddler, so Rosa cooked incredible authentic meals for the adults, and spaghetti or other kid friendly meals for our 2 ½ year old. We ate everything she served us, insanely good – including breakfasts of your choice! We spent about 10 days down there, and no-one, not even our 2 ½ year, ever got sick or even an upset stomach – I attest much of this to Rosa. The infrastructure down there is also near first world.The house is great – big, amazing flow, surround sound you can hook your ipod into, pool table, and the coolest lounging area with a view you have seen. The pool was also decadent. There was also about 5,000 of grass that was great for an early morning stretch or a walk with Margarita in hand. Did I mention that Rosa and the staff would make Margaritas every evening for us!!!! Awesome.Monte dialed us into a fishing boat with captain, a panga. We caught 9 Dorado, each around 30 lbs. We kept a couple, and gave the rest to the captain, his crew and Rosa and her staff. I will go back again. I hope to see everyone back down there this coming summer. Give it a go, you will not regret renting this house.Alex

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest marie angelini (La Jolla, CA )
    • Date of stay 02/15/08
    • Review Submitted 02/15/08
    My first visit to Quinta Allegria in Huatulco was in Feb 2007 with two of my closest friends from Incline Village, NV. I knew as soon as i entered the courtyard that i would be in paradise for the next 8-9 days. The view was breath taking, of course. We immediately changed into our swimming attire, grabbed some margaritas and started the afternoon at the beach below exploring and relaxing. The next 7 days was pure heaven, daily sunsets while relaxing in the pool, in house massages, pool table, evening barbecues, just to name a few. The town was close by and Monte, our friend and host was there to chaffeur us around. Rosa, the housekeeper, was like our "mom" who we all wanted to take back home. I highly recommend a vacation at this villa, whether it be a family, romantic, business, or to de-stress is an opportunity of a lifetime ! I'm ready to go back and would love it to be an annual trip !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kimberly6 (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/30/08
    • Review Submitted 01/30/08
    Time slows down and let's your soul take over in this magnificent villa. That's what happened for us. Every breath was a postcard moment and we couldn't pause long enough to take it in. We felt pampered, nurtured and reinvigorated. It was one of the best vacations ever. If you're looking for luxury and a soul-captivating experience, I highly recommend Quinta Alegria.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/31/07
    • Review Submitted 12/30/07
    Quinta Alegria is stunningly beautiful. The home itself is exquisite and the location is incomparable: high enough up on a bluff for refreshing afternoon breezes, close enough to the water to hear the surging Pacific Ocean below. A family-friendly, tranquil, and unbelievably picturesque beach is a lazy 3 minute walk down the street. Huatulco town is close by but far enough away so that the only sounds at night around Quinta Alegria are the chirping of geckos and waves on rocks. My wife and I have visited most recently with our now three year old son but first visited before he was born. I can say from experience that this is the kind of place that is ideal for many types of travel: romantic for two, groups of adults, families with kids, you name it. I could not say enough about Rosa and the staff at Quinta Alegria so I will just say that they are some of the most humble, helpful, and caring people I have ever known. Every need and more was addressed, promptly. We felt that we were purely on vacation as all "chores" were done for us. It was very difficult to leave; we will certainly return as soon and as often as possible.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dodie & Ron Walters (Brentwod, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/07
    • Review Submitted 12/30/07
    This place is so awesome,the views and the house are spectacular. We loved staying here, all the bedrooms have a great view. Breakfast was fresh fruits bought locally. The town has great resturants which are a short taxi ride away. Taxis are very reasonable. We would recommend this house for couples/families/weddings, actually anyone whho loves great sunsets and beautiful views along with luxurious accommodations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Lori15 (Gardnerville, NV)
    • Date of stay 12/28/07
    • Review Submitted 12/28/07
    WHAT A TREAT! I have vacationed twice in Huatulco and stayed at Quinta Alegria both times. I had the BEST vacation. The pictures do not do justice for the remarkable view or sunsets. Had a blast deep sea fishing and snorkeling.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Terri9 (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 12/19/07
    • Review Submitted 12/19/07
    Huatulco is a beautiful traditional Mexican town. Still not over populated with tourists. The people are freindly and the town is clean with lots of great local fare. U have spent the past 3 years visting Hualtulco and the past 2 years staying at Quinta Alegria. The house is perfect. Each of the 4 guest rooms have a private sitting area and bathroom. The pool looks out over the BEST view in Huatulco. Sunset is breathtaking!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/16/07
    • Review Submitted 12/16/07
    Have visited many accommodations in the Huatulco area and this is one of finest. Magnificent views across one of the most beautiful bays in Huatulco. This is truly a private luxury resort with both maid service and cook, Rosa. Hope to visit many more times. This estate is has all the amenities - excellent rooms with baths, private patios, pool, BBQ and outside lounging areas. Easy access to a wonderful locals small town, marina, (10 minutes) easy drive or taxi ride. Enjoyed golf at nearby course/country club and tennis facility. Lots to do in the area - beaches, hiking, fishing, boating, shopping, restaurants, environment opportunities, and more. Owner and staff accommodate your every need. Have recommended Quinta Aleraia many times to friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Christine8 (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/15/07
    • Review Submitted 06/15/07
    My family and I stayed at this wonderful home over Thanksgiving last year. The house and view are even more beautiful than the photos. Upon walking in the front door we immediately relaxed and our vacation began. Monte, the owner, was there; he is charming and gracious. Rosa, the house manager/house keeper/cook, was delightful. We had such a lovely time we came back the following January for just over a week! We look forward to another vacation, or two, at Quinta Alegria this fall when our long Portland winter sets in.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]