Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Entrance to Villa Mashek

Las Terrenas Paradise [#108931] | View Property

Las Terrenas
Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 9)
$200 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Perfect family vacation spot

    Perfect family vacation spot

    • Guest Sarah Churchill (Divonne-les-Bains, France)
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/17/14
    We stayed at Villa Mashek for 10 days after Christmas and it exceeded our expectations despite other glowing reviews on VRBO. Villa Mashek, on a beautiful spot overlooking the ocean, is very well arranged - our family of 5 (kids aged 16, 13, and 9) were very comfortable in the house with 3 bedrooms (each with en suite baths). The house has a great collection of books, family games, DVDs - making it easy just to stay put and relax. We succeeded to lap up the tranquillity and peace. A truly spectacular beach is very accessible (15 min walk downhill). The lively town of Las Terrenas was also fun once you negotiate the traffic of motorbikes and quads. We took full advantage of local tour operators (Flora Tours was great) to explore the waterfall, national park and more remote beaches. Villa Mashek is also well looked after by the on-site caretaker who also cooks (which is nice because the kitchen takes some getting used to). All in all, a wonderful spot for a family vacation and we highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Second Time Visitor

    Second Time Visitor

    • Guest Robert (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/17/13
    • Review Submitted 10/07/13
    This was the second time my wife and I and her parents came home to this wonderful world on the hillside. You never get tired of the view, the pool and the smell of fresh air. The bedrooms are all wonderful but the Master is a dream. Lay in bed and look out overtop palms to the sea in the distance. The house has everything you need including internet for those who need to stay connected. The local town is charming and the beaches spectacular. The owners are a pleasure to deal with and obviously love their home. Look forward to returning next year or sooner!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven

    Heaven

    • Guest Clara (New York state)
    • Date of stay 06/28/13
    • Review Submitted 07/05/13
    The minute I arrived with my boyfriend at Jan and Scott's villa, I fell in love with the Dominican Republic all over again. We had not come to Las Terrenas since the new airport and highways opened: it is so easy now to travel from New York. This was the perfect romantic getaway: tranquility, peace and beauty. The view is absolutely stunning, the house charming with a perfect spot for every moment of the day, Bienvenida and Rafael are so kind and helpful and the location ideal if you want to be close to town -a short 10mn drive-, or the beach -a 15mn-walk-, while at the same time being isolated, as if in your own little heaven. Next time we come, I am not looking for any other place than his paradise villa!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome

    Awesome

    • Guest imarcano (Miami)
    • Date of stay 05/26/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    We stood at the villa for 3 nights and it is the best place I've ever rented (we rent at least twice a year around the world). We were 8 members of our family and the villa is spacious enough that you don't feel crowed at all....but the best is the breath taking view from the moment you enter the from door. The rooms were very comfortable and the town of Las Terrenas is great for when you don't want to cook or to obtain a tour to many interesting places that surrond the area. Thanks to Scott and Jan for having this great place and thanks to Bienvenida and Rafael for taking care of us during our stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • April 2013 Visit

    April 2013 Visit

    • Guest Miss P (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/27/13
    • Review Submitted 05/19/13
    Our family spent a week in April at Villa Mashek, and after our great experience we plan to spend more time there in the future. This is a beautiful house that is intelligently designed for the tropics. We were one family, but the place is perfectly suited for two families; the split wings on either side of the pool ensure privacy. The place is well kept, clean and spacious, and the kitchen large and well equipped. The pool is great, the 180 view is amazing at any time of day. The outdoor living room is large and comfy with cross ventilation- no need to be enclosed in this climate. For those who freak out at lizards or frogs (and the occasional mosquito)- you really shouldn't be traveling anywhere except an all inclusive resort anyway. The caretakers are wonderful people- to really get to know them some Spanish would be nice, but they will understand you. Bienvenida is a good cook, and Rafael her husband is the resident security/handyman. The best beach in Samana, Playa Coson, is a hike down the hill, about 15-20 minutes by foot, okay for those in relatively good shape, but tired kids will be unhappy on the way back up the hill. I would strongly suggest having a Quad or small car (check "SixT" car rental at El Catey Airport) for this place, as it is fun to go into Las Terrenas for restos/groceries/shopping/dancing, and this place is a bit far for regular motoconcho rides. We are reluctant to recommend this place too highly, as we want to guarantee our own spot in the future, but there we go. Really, just a wonderful place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing View

    Amazing View

    • Guest Anya (Santo Domingo)
    • Date of stay 12/09/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    The view from the house and the house itself is absolutely amazing. It is true that pictures don't do justice to this place. We stayed for a few days in December and just loved the outside feel of the house and the cool December air in the evenings. The owners were very responsive and helpful. The property is clean and has a welcoming feel. We would recommend it to all of our friends.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Next to heaven

    Next to heaven

    • Guest Bill (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
    The vista of the ocean over thousands of palm trees when you open the front door and look through the living room over the infinity pool is breath-taking. Heavenly. The bedrooms open to the ocean view yet not to each other so privacy and comfort meet. We loved the beach in the late afternoons and some nightlife in Las Terrenas thereafter. A great location for a lovely stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful vacation home

    A wonderful vacation home

    • Guest Andrea (Silver Spring, MD)
    • Date of stay 12/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/11
    We spent Christmas week at Villa Mashek and had a fantastic time. It is a gorgeous villa in a beautiful setting. The housekeeper and caretaker, as well as the owners, are pleasant and helpful. The house is is stunning, with everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We have traveled a lot, and this was one of the nicest places we ever rented. The town of Las Terrenas is a great place to visit and the people were very friendly. The beaches are beautiful and completely uncrowded.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Simply delightful!

    Simply delightful!

    • Guest Mary H. (Riverside CT, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    Villa Mashek is a wonderful place for a holiday....Scott and Jan have designed a lovely home that features a delightful blend of nature and creature comforts. The view from the open-air living room is truly a feast for the eyes and a balm for the spirit. An easy10 min drive (a sturdy-ish car recommended in the rainy season!) delivers you to Playa Coson, one of the loveliest beaches we have ever visited -- very quiet, the coastline there is still relatively undeveloped, pristine sand, crystalline water, shaded by palms, a couple nice restaurants...our sons are teenagers so the pool and steep hillside at the house were no concern, would advise waiting to visit Villa Mashek if your children are still small....we were well looked after by the domestic staff, Bien and Merona. This home offers a holiday of rejuvenation with beautiful sunsets, heavenly hours in the sea, peaceful evenings under the fans, the songs of crickets and frogs through the night....simply delightful!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just amazing!!!

    Just amazing!!!

    • Guest Aleksandra (Philadelphia, Pa USA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    I have stayed here with my fiance for 5 nights and I so wish we could have stayed longer! The villa is so beautiful. Everything about it is just perfect, the setting with wonderful views, the master bedroom, the whole design and decor, the amazing pool! We couldn't get enough of it! The caretaker Moreno and the maid Bien were wonderful and very helpful. Las Terrenas Is a great, fun town with amazing beaches and authentic culture. Thank you Scott and Jan! Aleksandra

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful house and location

    Beautiful house and location

    • Guest Marleny (Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    We stayed at Villa Mashek this past July, 2010 and had an great time. The house is beautiful, the people were great. The house has spectacular views, I wished we had more time to enjoy the house. When you 're on vacation you want to see the country you're visiting so you got to get out, but it's the kind of place that you want to just sit around and enjoy. This house is not meant for people that are not in touch with nature. In the morning before our kids got up, we would sit on the couch and watch the birds and butterflies fly through the house. Bien (the cleaning lady) was very nice and helpful. I definately recommend it and hope to go back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest David
    • Date of stay 04/03/09
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    in this remarkable space, you have created a harmonious melding of nature and man. The open vista gazing from the hilltop down to the azure sea below itself reinforced by the infinity pool is positively brilliant. I have been seeking this setting my entire adult life. I cannot imagine a more peaceful and positive way to start the day than in quiet contemplation gazing westward from here. I will carry this scene home with me as a delicious memory. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jerry, Audrey, Isabella
    • Date of stay 12/30/08
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    It is not often that everyone wants to stay longer- but this was that once! We all are not happy about leaving the tranquility of this oasis and returning to our lives in the city. We will return! Hopefully soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Shannon
    • Date of stay 07/22/08
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    We were in awe from the moment we walked through the door. Everything from the design of the house to the amazing view has us regretting our departure. What an amazing place to create memories. ( The online pictures do not do this place justice.)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jon, Juli, Gregg, Mercy
    • Date of stay 06/30/07
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    Thanks for planting such a beautiful place up here for us to stay. Everything was great, everyone was so courteous and helpful, we had a blast. As two families with 4 kids between us, one can't imagine anything else that would be so relaxing for the adults and fun for the kids. We have 4 waterlogged little ones!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Todd and Connie
    • Date of stay 05/20/07
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    We couldn't have chosen a better place to rest, relax and take in the beautiful views to enjoy time with out friends. The home is spectacular and Bien (the maid) is absolutely wonderful. The beaches are just as beautiful as one could have imagined. We look forward to coming back sometime in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Maya
    • Date of stay 03/14/07
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    Every morning after waking up and seeing a wonderful view, I still cannot comprehend such beauty. It is hard to believe such a magnificent place exists and that I am lucky enough to have visited it. The dream of mine of riding a horse on the beach through the surf came true here, and I will cherish the memory forever. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Herb
    • Date of stay 03/11/07
    • Review Submitted 04/03/10
    Arriving at twilight only teased us with the waiting beauty of morning. Money can't buy this experience. I have never had a better "bird's eye view". Thank you for your vision, and sharing it with others. We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]