Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Dining room deck with view or eat inside if you prefer!

Oceanfront Villas-Infinity Pool--Solitude Plus Jungle Nature [#110138] | View Property

San Francisco (San Pancho)
Villa, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 12-14)
$75-$500/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (24)

Sort by:
  • Jungle retreat - the "real" Mexico!!!

    Jungle retreat - the "real" Mexico!!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    Beautiful retreat! Jungle setting with all the modern amenities - this is the Mexico I love! GORGEOUS secluded beaches. The pool is awesome, the kitchen great to cook in. San Pancho is a lovely town and just down the hill (10 min drive) with wonderful and affordable restaurants and very quaint atmosphere. The road up to Villa Susana was fine in a sedan, but that will depend on rainfall. Highly recommended

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First time in Mexico - Great experience

    First time in Mexico - Great experience

    • Guest Sue (Washington State)
    • Date of stay 11/04/13
    • Review Submitted 11/19/13
    Had a great time! A wonderfully secluded place with modern amenities making my stay comfortable (hot shower a must for me). Nearby San Pancho is a nice little town with very friendly people. Beautiful views from the villas and a short walk down stairs to the ocean beach with warm water. The pool up by the villas was refreshing. Sunsets were gorgeous! A fantastic experience. The description was accurate. The property was clean and well-maintained. The owner was available to answer any questions. I loved the restaurants in San Pancho...authentic local food.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Week of Paradise!

    A Week of Paradise!

    • Guest Jim (Seattle, WA/USA)
    • Date of stay 01/09/11
    • Review Submitted 02/18/11
    We (my wife, our 24-year old son and I) spent a week in Villas Susana in January, 2011. We had the place to ourselves and had a great time. We rented a compact car for our vacation, and considering the fact that the condition of the road depends on how the rainy season affected it, I would recommend a larger vehicle. (The road had a huge pothole that we had to skirt around slowly while we were there--it might be much better for you.) The place is way out in the jungle and took us about 15-20 minutes to get to. It's ideal for chilling out and relaxing; not so great as a base for exploring from. Definitely pick up provisions on your way out. We got to see whales, tejones (you'll learn what they are when you get there), lots of birds, butterflys and tiny lizards. There are a couple of local dogs who like to come around. If you like dogs, they'll be back more often; if you ignore them, not so much. We had no problems with the local wildlife. In fact we saw almost no one. The pool guy came by while we were there a couple times, but if we didn't go looking for people, we'd have seen almost no one else. The wi-fi allowed me to upload vacation pictures every day (and metaphorically stick my tongue out at those poor souls back in rainy Washington). If I had wanted to I could have even done some work, but I neither wanted nor needed to. The pictures are accurate, but until you get there, you won't realize how nice it is to be living in separate palapa buildings, nor how isolated you can feel in your own little place. Relaxing in the common building (Sunflower; kitchen and dining) in the evening was great. If you're looking for isolated romance and relaxation, this is your spot.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect mix of jungle and comfortable ammenities

    Perfect mix of jungle and comfortable ammenities

    • Guest Kathy (Seattle, Wa.)
    • Date of stay 11/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/18/10
    We had the opportunity to stay at the villas for 5 nights and had a great time. The lodging was comfortable and the views amazing. The property was very well maintained and the owners are incredibly accomodating. We felt like we had a personalized vacation. San Pancho is a great town with lots to see and you can find anything you need. The local beaches are beautiful and many small towns around for additional sight seeing. The photos do not do justice to the views. You have to see it to believe it. A favorite of mine was listening to the waves crashing on the rocks well below the property. The power is awe inspiring. I would recommend this to people who want the opportunity to stay in the jungle and still enjoy indoor plumbing, shower, bed, cooking facilities and the internet.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Immersion in Mexico

    Immersion in Mexico

    • Guest Nancy (Freeland, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/17/10
    On various trips to Mexico I've stayed in tents on the beach, palapa roofed inns and high end tourist hotels. All have something to recommend them, none is ever completely satisfactory. For me the tent came closest. Now I've found the perfect place, Villas Susana, which combines the best of all three into one luxuriously rustic experience. With ocean views from every room, terrace and pathway I never had to look away from the sea. Whales spouted every day I was there, sometimes playing offshore in groups of four or five for half an hour. Avocados and bananas picked fresh from the jungle and shrimp caught by local fishermen featured in most of our meals. The comfortable rooms are open to the air, the views and the sound of the surf and the jungle. Admittedly, the different night sounds can take a little getting used to, but they're also endlessly intriguing and entertaining. Siesta beside the pool is great for catching up on any lost sleep. The neighborhood offers snorkeling beaches, kayaking and jungle hikes. Two miles or so of dirt road take you to San Pancho for shopping, more beach activities, restaurants - including one that serves amazing Nutella and banana crepes - and a polo club. Most of all, instead of staying in a hotel room that's much the same as any hotel room in any city in the world, staying at Villas Susana made me feel like I was really in Mexico. I loved staying at Villas Susana!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabuloso!!

    Fabuloso!!

    • Guest MO (Ventura, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/01/10
    INCREDIBLE best describes this place!! A girls trip that made everlasting memories!! Its like being in a luxury treehouse perched above the ocean with breathtaking views. Just getting to the villas is an experience alone, like a Disneyland jungle ride, but its Real!! You are out there and town is a 15 minute jungle ride away, but stock up on supplies and its the ultimate "chill-out" vacation. (But not to panic because you still have internet!!) We thoroughly enjoyed morning hikes through the jungle, deserted ocean beaches, and the infinity pool is amazing!! I recommend a kayaking trip with the neighbors from Tailwind Jungle Lodge...it was super fun. The outdoor kitchen and grill is perfect for making delicious meals and taking advantage of the fresh seafood and produce that San Pancho has to offer. The pictures cannot capture what this place is really like. The owners were very helpful in answering our questions and concerns. I would highly recommend this place in a heartbeat but only to the adventurous at heart!! No high-heels allowed!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest nancy 18 (Isanti, MN U.S.)
    • Date of stay 03/09/10
    • Review Submitted 03/09/10
    Just returned from an Excellent seven days at Villa Susana. The clean ocean air and sound of the surf against the rocks was fantastic, as were the incredible views of the ocean and sunsets. Whale watching was also great fun. The infinity pool was great for cooling off in the warm afternoon sun. Dinner at the Polo club in town while watching the polo game, bird watch hiking, boogie boarding, and swimming in the ocean were just a few of the activities we enjoyed while there. Susan’s facilities are well taken care of, clean, and private. We had no problem with wildlife, despite all of the buildings be ‘open air’.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/08/10
    • Review Submitted 03/08/10
    On our way in to Puero Vallarta for an extended stay, we had the opportunity to stay in these lovely villas for a couple of days. The setting is amazing! The pictures simply don't do it justice. It was the perfect place to stop over after a long drive south.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Setting but Remote

    Beautiful Setting but Remote

    • Guest Rhoanoah (West Coast)
    • Date of stay 03/06/10
    • Review Submitted 03/25/10
    We just stayed two weeks at this property and there were things we liked and things we just weren't prepared for. First of all, the setting is truly exceptional! However, there is not wireless internet access as stated in the ad. This trip required me to be connected and we therefore had to drive to San Pancho on the 2.5 mile jungle road every day which takes 15 to 20 minutes because the road condition is very poor. Be sure to rent a 4-wheel drive or high-clearance vehicle! The beach close to the house is really rocky and the closest one that is acceptable for sunning or swimming is quite a long hike and you have to climb through barbed wire fencing to get there. I would recommend this property for vacationers that really want a remote and natural retreat and don't mind sharing a kitchen with other guests. If you like the night life, just know that there is a long bumpy road between you and any services. Also, due to the fact that the villas are open air, it is really important that you close the mosquito netting around the beds (which are extremely hard). One of our friends that joined us later in the trip was not careful to close the netting completely and he got eaten alive! He ended up leaving a day early because he was just not comfortable with the mosquito bites and hard beds. We look back fondly at this trip and feel like we had two weeks of luxury camping. Next time I would take a foam pad and extra pillows to make it more comfortable. The best part was the views and gorgeous jungle setting! Great for hikers and nature lovers but for those looking for comfort and easy access to towns, you may want to be more prepared than we were.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm not sure what vehicle these guests were driving, but the ones before them did fine on the jungle road in a 7-passenger mini-van sometimes loaded down with 8 people. They scraped on all the speed bumps in town, but had no problem getting to the villas. I don't believe guests need a 4-wheel drive vehicle except during the rainy season (July-October), as the cheapest rental car should be able to make it during the dry season. The wi-fi internet was up and running as of the 6th of April--brand new modem installed which hopefully should last for a few more years!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Luann3 (Oak Grove, MN, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/02/10
    • Review Submitted 03/02/10
    Susan, I loved the solitude, the wonderful weather, the colors of the water and whale watching. Bird watching and the turtle release were great as were the beaches. Thanks for a great time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Diana20 (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 05/05/09
    • Review Submitted 05/05/09
    This place is amazing. The pictures on the site do not do it justice! We saw whales, birds, crazy fish, empty beaches... Thanks Susan for such a wonderful stay - we will definitely be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Karen & Joe
    • Date of stay 03/08/09
    • Review Submitted 03/07/09
    Hello Susan- We just wanted to drop you a line to say thank you again for a fantastic stay at your place and allowing us to share a slice of paradise. We hope to return sometime. Karen and Joe

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/29/09
    • Review Submitted 01/28/09
    We stayed here from Thanksgiving to Dec 2, and it has to be one of the most incredible places I have ever stayed. By far, the best vacation I've had in a while! Waking up to ocean surf, watching whales from the deck and lounging by the pool watching shooting stars. It doesn't get much better than that! We will definitely be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Betty S. (Frankfort, KY)
    • Date of stay 12/05/08
    • Review Submitted 12/05/08
    5 December 2008 We just got back a few days ago from our 6-night stay at Villas Susana. The weather was perfect, the site sublime. From our perch above the Pacific, we watched whales breach, frigate birds soar, and pelicans diving for fish...and that was just before breakfast! We've never had a more relaxing, peaceful vacation and will definitely be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kim & Jim (Snohomish, Washington)
    • Date of stay 11/20/08
    • Review Submitted 11/20/08
    Wow...what a spectacular getaway!! We were only able to stay for the weekend but hopefully next time can stay longer as there is just too much to do and see. Taking the jungle walk to explore the area and the hidden beaches was quite an experience. We also learned to boogie board at a local beach along with visiting the baby sea turtle hatchlings. Unfortunately we weren't able to play domino's this time...maybe next year!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest celeste maier (port angeles, wa)
    • Date of stay 11/18/08
    • Review Submitted 11/18/08
    Our six night stay at Villas Susana was quite the dream vacation. The abundance of private beaches, beautiful jungle walks, friendly neighbors, was matched only by the comfort and peacefulness of this darling hide-away. Very relaxing, with the infinity pool and deck as well as an unbeatable view. It's also close to fun little towns, where we watched a Polo game, soccer game, and baby sea turtles ready to start their amazing journey to the sea. At the town beaches we tried body surfing and also watched some surfers showing their moves. We had lots to do, and could have spent many more weeks just doing nothing. Being able to use the kitchen kept food costs down, and all the games and puzzles available made for great entertainment. We were very content, and hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ron & Cindy (-)
    • Date of stay 05/05/08
    • Review Submitted 05/05/08
    Comment Text: We stayed for 3 days at Casa Susana this month and had a great time. It's the place to go to see the ultimate sunset, best done while dog paddling at the edge of the infinity pool. There are several long beach and/or jungle walks close by. Lots of privacy and natural beauty to drink in and slow you down enough so you can really enjoy being on vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Chloa Ulrich (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/02/08
    • Review Submitted 05/02/08
    Our family thoroughly enjoyed the nine nights we stayed at Villas Susana in February. I heartily recommend this peaceful, jungle getaway. The children loved the pool and walks to neighboring beaches. We loved the views, solitude and watching for wildlife. I was especially attracted to the artful simpicity of the garden pathways and villa structures. We found San Pancho fun to visit, but were were greatful to retreat back to nature. We are probably the only folks to stay at Villas Susana who chose not to rent a car. While our excursions to neighboring villages were certainly day-long adventures, we enjoyed our treks to town and taking the local buses. Next time we come, we will compromise and rent a car for half the trip. At the beginning of our stay, we overlapped with other guests at the end of their stay. They were truly lovely people, with whom we shared food, hikes and stories for 2 days. We could have spent more money to secure the whole place to ourselves, but I felt confident that anyone who would be attracted to vacationing at Villas Susana, would most likely be my kind of person. Turns out I was right!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ben & Nancy
    • Date of stay 04/07/08
    • Review Submitted 04/06/08
    I'm taking a moment to thank you for the time we spent in your amazing place. our busy lives came to a stop there. We spent several evenings just the two of us, cooking, talking. Once we had cleared all the conversations regarding our work, kids, lives, aspirations etc, all we were left with was the calm , relaxed pace of the place which in hindsight will likely have changed the course of our lives. Although we are back in the same world as before, we are now somewhat reluctant to get carried away and will endeavour to never forget the other sides of life, of ourselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Debbie37 (Saginaw, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 01/05/08
    • Review Submitted 01/05/08
    This is an amazing place!! Our family enjoyed living in the most pristine and enthralling surroundings. We rated this vacation as one of our top experiences! In addition to the incredible jungle environment, we lived with the most spectacular views and sounds of the Pacific Ocean, and enjoyed the idyllic private beach. Nearby San Pancho is charming, and amazingly reasonable for meals and old Mexico experiences. This is truly an incredible adventure!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Carmen, Patric, McKenna and Brian (Stanwood, WA)
    • Date of stay 07/23/07
    • Review Submitted 07/23/07
    Our family had a wonderful time visiting Villas Susana! The views are amazing! Our children played at the private beach/cove; swimming, snorkeling and sand castle building to their hearts content. They were never bored. There was something for everyone here.....surfing, birding, shopping, beach combing and fishing. And, the best part, after a long day of playing in the sun, the waves lulled us to sleep at night!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/28/07
    • Review Submitted 05/28/07
    The pictures on the website do not do Villas Susana justice. The villas are in the jungle, perched above the ocean, a short walk down to a rock framed beach. Lying in bed, we could hear waves lapping against the shore and parrots flying overhead. A deserted swimming beach, where we were picked up for fishing, is a short walk away. The living room/kitchen/dining room villa is large, comfortable and functional with a fantastic view. This is a pet friendly place - we took our six month old puppy and had a fun and easy time with her. This is a very special place where we felt immersed in and part of the gorgeous setting. We,too, would highly recommend staying here.

    Owner response: These guests also enjoyed the chartered fishing, not once, but three trips! We always welcome pets and children, although puppies and toddlers need careful watch.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Joanna2 (Vail, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/06/07
    • Review Submitted 05/06/07
    We had a great time at Villa Susana. It's such a nice spot to get away from city life. The accomidations are all better than described and the beaches are deserted unlike neighboring Sayulita. Everyone we came across was friendly and we would highly recomend staying here.

    Owner response: I helped them make charter fishing arrangements. They were picked up at our beach and 5 minutes later had a 6 foot sail fish caught!!! Pretty exciting!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ron
    • Date of stay 03/20/07
    • Review Submitted 03/19/07
    Ron came up each morning with a huge smile on his face and just exclaimed: "This is TRULY PARADISE". He extended his stay, and would have done that twice, except the villas were already rented.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]