Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Riverfront Luxury at a Great Price! [#110370] | View Property

Bend
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 8)
$195 - $570 per night (USD)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (43)

Sort by:
  • AHHHHHHmazing!

    AHHHHHHmazing!

    • Guest Teresa (portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 01/26/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    I have stayed here at the "Big River" house several times and have never left feeling anything less than completely satisfied! Just walking in the door feels good. The decor is so tasteful and welcoming. The huge stone fireplace, warm wood cabinetry and floors, oriental rugs everywhere, not to mention the feeling of being away from it all in the woods and only a few minutes, literally, from sun river village if you need anything...It's a treat to just be there. The owner, Ardys, is so accomodating and helpful. When I needed assistance with the TV remote control (because I am a bit techno challenged), she responded immediately with a step by step process in explaining it. And did I mention the bedding? SO comfy! Pretty much the most important thing for me after a long day of skiing! Thank you, Ardys, for an amazing time in your home. Can't wait to visit again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the amazing review. See you next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great location, quiet, comfortable

    Great location, quiet, comfortable

    • Guest Brian (Woodland, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    The house is located a short meandering path from the River. The dock is very private, no one else around has a doc on the river. We spent many afternoons just cooling off on the dock, fished off the dock and caught a few trout. During the evenings SunRiver was just a short drive, we enjoyed the bikings, shopping and restaurant amenities there, but then enjoyed the quiet privacy of the house vs. being right on top of your neighbors at SunRiver the rest of the time. The house was clean, beds were comfortable, kitchen was well appointed. We only had a small family there, but it was big enough for a larger or multiple families.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: Thank you Arwyn and Brian and children. Return soon, because the wilderness quiet restores one from urban noise. Also for sharing precious memories from the Big River time of your life. Warmly, Ardys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Avoid the crowds of Sunriver but still be close enough to enjoy if you want to!

    Avoid the crowds of Sunriver but still be close enough to enjoy if you want to!

    • Guest Tam (Sublimity )
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    Amazing home. Very spacious and comfortable. Awesome location for enjoying many things in Central Oregon. Great place for two families to enjoy. Many places outdoors to relax. Nice amount of shade or sun. The Deshutes River is right along the property. We enjoyed the quick 30 minute float past the house and also the 1.5 hour float above the house. We also loved taking our children to S Twin Lake to picnic and swim. The water temperature was perfect. Lastly, the owner treats you as if you were a friend staying in her home. We were very pleased to work with her. She is a true gem. I found her to be honest and trustworthy when answering all my questions. We will stay again!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Matt, Tammy and children for your great welcoming words for others to review. Guests like you become best friends forever bonded by pondering our wilderness experiences. Welcome back any time. Warmly, Ardys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Family Time

    Family Time

    • Guest Rosecity (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    A wonderful place to get away, yet close enough to Bend for more action and outlet mall shopping if desired. Deer in the yard and hummingbirds await you at this home as well as goldfish in the fountain. Our family had a wonderful time. The kitchen has every imaginable appliance and the master bathroom with a jetted tub is magnificant.I would book this home again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Our guests are family. Jack and I are pleased Big River has become a fun haven wilderness for intimate family moments to reconnect and recharge. Thank you Markeeta Only man builds in squares-cubes. Sit on the dock and PONDER nature the Birdnests One other thing to point out about spirals. This is the shape of absolutely everything. DNA. the way bone structure grows, Galaxies, all plant growth patterns. etc endlessly forever

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Beautiful,peaceful home on the river.

    Beautiful,peaceful home on the river.

    • Guest stix (San Diego CA)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    Fantastic location on the river.Peaceful and serene. Large clean rooms and new appliances! We loved our big river vacation here! It was just close enough to Sunriver to get groceries and have some resort time but the best part was returning to our peaceful retreat AWAY from the hustle and bustle of Sunrivers traffic and many summer visitors! We loved playing on our own private dock and exploring the woods around the house. Otters, Beavers, Deer squirrels and more! Kids had a fantastic time cathing tree frogs and riding bikes. We will return ! Thank You !

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Liza and Gabe, Big River home was built with the careful "Hands of God" to enjoy our wildeness setting on the Big Deschutes river front. Our artisan house has become a dream catcher for many families now. Thank You for your insights and sharing precious memories. Love and laughter, Ardys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Great Big River House Stay

    Great Big River House Stay

    • Guest Love to Travel (Portland, Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/12
    • Review Submitted 09/07/12
    My friends and I had a great time staying at the Big River house. Located close to Sunriver and Mt. Bachelor, we had plenty of room for everyone and enjoyed all the amenities. House was clean, well maintained, and wheelchair accessible on the main floor. I loved the open floor plan and the kitchen was fantastic.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Luxury Accommodations for Outdoor Enthusiasts!

    Luxury Accommodations for Outdoor Enthusiasts!

    • Guest Karen (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 01/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    The house is gorgeous, and so very comfortable! It has everything you could want or desire. The kitchen has enough pots, pans, and gadgets, that even a chef would be ecstatic! The plush master bed and jacuzzi bath are an especially nice treat after a long day of skiing, mountain biking, or climbing. The Mount Bachelor ski resort is only a 15 min. car ride away! Even if the weather doesn't cooperate, you can stare out the wrap around windows as you curl up next to the fire with a good book. We had no problems with the house whatsoever, and everything is very well maintained. We definitely hope to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Dear Karen, Thank you for your descriptive generous review words, It helps future guests believe in other's R&R experiences. We love and need R & R to recharge our natural "CHI" batteries. Warmly, Ardys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • great family vacation

    great family vacation

    • Guest Lance McCord (Edmond, Ok)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/14/11
    Just spent a week here, with 8 adults, plenty of room and great open space to gather. We floated the river off the dock, water was of course cold at the beginning, but temps in afternoon were 80's , so warmed you up fast. Fly fished the Deschutze's and Fall river which was close and accessible. All in all, had a great time and would definitely come back. Caretaker next door was big help- we had taken the canoe with us on one float trip , but the van was not big enough to carry it back. He volunteered to drive down with his trailer to haul back.....thanks so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Beautiful House and the river was great

    Beautiful House and the river was great

    • Guest Doug (Lake Oswego)
    • Date of stay 08/04/11
    • Review Submitted 08/09/11
    We just spent three days here and the place was perfect. We floated and canoed the river and sipped our beers and wine on the wrap around porch. There were deer in the yard in the morning and the stars were incredible at night. There were plenty of games for the kids to enjoy. We will stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Wish we could have stayed all summer!

    Wish we could have stayed all summer!

    • Guest Emily (Northbrook, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/12/11
    My family enjoyed every minute were stayed in this beautiful, comfortable house. Highlights included having coffee on the dock in the morning. So serene! The river is magnificent, tranquil and beautiful. Also, sitting outside and enjoying the magnificent night sky was a highlight for my teenagers. With zero light pollution and no noise, it was breathtaking. At this high elevation, it seems that you can reach out and touch thousands of bright stars. This setting provided a perfect place to begin and end the day. The house itself is so clean and comfortable. The beautiful design and thoughtful details in the woodwork, tile, granite, the porch and so much more are luxurious and so perfect for the setting. Our children loved playing in the secret playroom where they thought their older cousins couldn't find them. My only disappointment was that we couldn't stay much longer. Our time in your home was a treasure! We enjoyed exploring the Newberry Crater area including the big obsidian flow and Paulina Creek's water slides. There are so many beautiful places to explore.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Our second stay was just as wonderful as the firt

    Our second stay was just as wonderful as the firt

    • Guest Lisa (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/03/11
    My family and I just returned from our second annual stay at this wonderful wilderness retreat. As with our first trip to Fall River, we enjoyed every minute of our trip. It's a lovely property with stunning views, a private dock everyone will enjoy and a large porch for relaxing on lazy afternoons. The owner is very attentive and goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. We made some wonderful memories here and hope to return someday soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Riverside Dream

    Riverside Dream

    • Guest Flyfishgirl (Portland)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 07/30/11
    If you love nature and being close to the river, you'll love this home! We celebrated my birthday with family and friends over the 4th of July holiday. The home is very comfortable and nicely appointed. The kitchen is wonderful to cook in and the layout is great for entertaining. Each morning, we walked to the river for coffee and to watch the morning wildlife as the sun camp up. We saw deer swimming and many birds and squirrels. We had lots of fun fishing right from the dock and taking the canoe for a spin. We also set up our easels and painted oils and water colors from the dock of the river scene. This property is quiet and offers privacy. There is a lot of activities to do in the area as well. We went on a flyfishing trip and also rented at boat and went wake boarding. The owner is great to deal with and very accomodating. This is the second time we rented this place. The last time was in late Fall which was also very beautiful. This is a great home for anyone looking to gather with family or just a long weekend getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Incredible Big River Wilderness setting provides the backdrop for win win connections unique to your family and friends; who in living, walk life's journey in their own way. Invest in shared memories as your life story unfolds. Each of you has a different part of the story to tell as the river flows by. Ponder in the lovely house, on the porch or on the dock, the place where your talent and desires meet.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest Mamo (Beaverton)
    • Date of stay 06/24/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    AMAZING experience for my family, most importantly my grandkids, with memories for all that will last a life time. The "home" was so welcoming and warm. We felt like we were at home. Such a beautiful place to relax and enjoy spending family time together. I loved the open floor plan, with antiques. Every accomodations you could ask for. I have not met the owner but could tell by the decor that she is a warm and welcoming person. The beds, linens and furniture are so comfortable. I loved the river next to the house. The doc was well used by all. Spent a lot of time on the wrap around porch in the mornings and evenings. The owner was available anytime for questions or concerns. I will return to this paradise and would highly recommend this haven to all. Thanks again for sharing your home to our family!! Boles family

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Tasteful, practical, this place is a 10...

    Tasteful, practical, this place is a 10...

    • Guest Steve (Los Altos, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/30/11
    We've stayed at this property three times now. This is a newer property, and it was clearly built with a lot of care and with high-end appointments. The location is great (although for me it's especially great since it's so close to my parent's house). It's right next to the river and it's an easy drive to Sunriver as well--but it has a much more secluded feel than anyplace in Sunriver itself. We've stayed there during the winter, and the house works great with a lot of snow, with a nice big garage. One great bonus is the fully equipped kitchen: you could put on a full Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner here with no problem. The owner is very attentive and very nice. She really is very careful to make sure everything is perfect with the property. I would definitely recommend this place for anybody looking for a nice place to stay in this area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Wonderful vacation

    Wonderful vacation

    • Guest Visitor from Orange County (Irvine, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/22/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/10
    My family, including two teen girls and their grandparents, just returned from a wonderful vacation at this home. We found it to be spacious and comfortable, especially the divine bed in the master bedroom! We enjoyed the dock, the river, and the wildlife. The area is very beautiful, with a lot of outdoorsy things to do. Bend and Sunriver offer more opportunities for fun. We would definitely return, especially because of Ardyss' warm hospitality.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Heavenly Stay

    Heavenly Stay

    • Guest Lisa (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/15/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    My family and I just returned from a week's stay and if we could, we would repack our bags and quickly head back to this wonderful home. We loved every minute of our stay. The large wrap around decks, spacious gourmet kitchen, high-beamed ceilings, soaking tub, wall of windows facing a beautiful meadow and river -- really make this house stand out from vacation homes I've rented over the years. It is the perfect place to just relax, unwind and enjoy quality time with your family. The location of the house is close to everything (down the road from Sun River and Mt. Bachelor and a short drive to all that Bend has to offer( yet it feels very private so at times you feel as though you have Fall River all to yourselves. We can't wait to come back! Our heartfelt thanks to the generous, thoughtful owner and the property's kind caretaker for making us feel so very welcome and for making our stay at Fall River so wonderful. We made some wonderful family memories here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Everything that was promised C & J (Brisbane Australia) & D & M (Melbourne Australia)

    Everything that was promised C & J (Brisbane Australia) & D & M (Melbourne Australia)

    • Guest Tina (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia)
    • Date of stay 06/10/10
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    This property was everything that had been promised & exactly as the photos portrayed. The house was sparkling clean & warm when we arrived on a cool day. We stayed for 3 nights and would have loved to stay longer. We were able to relax after being on the road for a week and were excited to be able to sit on the dock & watch the river flow past. We all felt like we were sitting in the middle of the wilderness. Ardys is an amazingly helpful host...right down to sending us updates on what would be happening locally during the time we were going to be staying in her vacation home, and ringing after our arrival to make sure everything was as we had expected. The Sisters rodeo was on during our visit and we were thrilled to be able to attend our first American Rodeo!! Bend is a beautiful city and very much worth visiting. We recommend a visit to the Descutes Brewery and also to Pilot Butte for a fantastic 360 deg view of the surrounding area and the gorgeous Cascade mountains. We would recommend this property to our friends who will be travelling to the States in the future & in fact, we hope to return ourselves within the next few years.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Tina for your kind words. We love Aussies! You were such amazing five star guests, Polite, Smart, Warm and Funny Please come back anytime for a huge discount. I am so happy you were able to enjoy the laid back Oregon atmosphere and paradise wilderness at Big River. Always consider this one of your beautiful homes away from home on this amazing planet. Love and laughter, Ardys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Mr. jj (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/01/10
    • Review Submitted 02/28/10
    My girlfrind and I, along with our daughters and a daughter's friend, stayed at this magnificent house on the Deschutes river this last December '09 just after Christmas and had a fantastic time. The home was gorgeous and very comfortable for all who came. The area is a mecca for outdoor activities and we enjoyed ourselves by cross country and downhill skiing and tubing at nearby Mt. Bachelor. We also enjoyed the local town of Bend where we shopped at the outlet mall and enjoyed the local cuisine. Very Impressive!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Gabriel6 (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/26/10
    • Review Submitted 02/26/10
    There is so much to do in Central Oregon, Wild West Rodeos, exploring historic sites, lava tubes, skiing, fishing golfing, sitting on the dock, canoeing, hiking, bike trails, horseback riding, and on and on....Driving into Sun River Lodge with the holiday lights illuminated casting lights on the new fallen snow, set the mood for a great stay at this VRBO property. Just three miles past Sunriver heading on South Century Drive, we arrived at a winter wonderland. The setting for this VRBO Big River Luxury home was wonderful. The Cascade mountains location offered gorgeous views; it was so peaceful and serene. Only 18 miles from Skiing and snowboarding at MT Bachelor on fresh powder snow, sledding with the iditerod sled dogs, gave us our own family Olympic experience. One of my favorite activities was the dock on the river with a glass of wine, relaxing after a day of activity around Fall River. With expansive open spaces and beautiful trees, the Big River area was an ideal place for snowshoeing and other winter activities. This vacation home was very beautifully and comfortably furnished. I and my family enjoyed the relaxed living area with gorgeous stone wood burning (gas starter) fireplace, TV, beautiful dining eating area, game table, and kitchen all together in one great high beam room surrounded with 360 window view onto this wilderness setting. Deer ambled by, geese flew in formation honking, critters and the ecology was mindful. The Granite and integrated wood cabinets in the kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed for family meals. I sat in the comfy reclining leather chair by the fireplace, watching TV and ‘surfing’ my laptop. The wireless high speed Internet had a lot of bandwidth which allowed me to get some work done. The bedrooms were plentiful with very comfortable beds and enough bathrooms for everyone in our family. We loved the main-level master bedroom’s Jacuzzi tub. This was our private getaway while upstairs the cubs each had a room of their very own.This Dansky family would highly recommend the Fall River area. It’s close to Sunriver, Bend, yet peaceful and secluded as the Big Deschutes River runs directly behind the house. We loved our winter holiday stay but any season would be a great time to visit. Summer would be a wonderful time to return for hiking, star gazing and fly fishing. As the owner says, staying at Big River really gives you the ‘luxury house in the wilderness woods’ feeling.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Eric Mason (Salem oregon USA )
    • Date of stay 01/21/10
    • Review Submitted 01/20/10
    If there is a heaven on earth this is it! I have to say this is one of the finest vacation homes I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. Rustic, yet refined, close to Sunriver, yet feels like you're in the middle of nowhere!!! BEAUTIFUL! I went in the dead of winter with my children yet it was inviting, warm, and restful. The kids played games, we sat on the dock in the December sun, and we ran around in the snow when it fell several days later. Truly a unique property with all of the amenities you'd expect in a four-star hotel. It's the kind of place that you can hold a group meeting and feel like you've really been on vacation. But when the kids took off we actually got quite a bit of work done. That's the kind of place this is. Create your own vacation, work-away from home, or restful retreat away from the clatter of life. Ardys is the greatest when it comes to solving any problems and truly--we felt cared for during the week we were there. A FEW THINGS: HUGE Porch, GREAT Soaking Tub, BEAUTIFUL Granite counter tops, and when you're sitting on the river---you think you're in the middle of the Three Sisters Wilderness!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Just An Amazing Place!

    Just An Amazing Place!

    • Guest DFWM (Vancouver, Washington)
    • Date of stay 08/09/09
    • Review Submitted 08/16/09
    My husband, daughter and son-in-law and I just returned from a great vacation at this beautiful home. Everything about this gorgeous home and setting exceeded our expectations. Ardys is a very gracious hostess and makes sure everything is in working order. She is very responsive if any needs arise and will take care of anything one would ask of her. This place is HEAVEN!! Thank you again, Ardys, for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Joanna20 (Portand Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/02/09
    • Review Submitted 07/02/09
    My family and I have not had a vacation in many years. We have worked so hard at growing our business, we finally realized we needed a break but did not want to travel too far. So we found Ardys' beautiful home and knew it was a great place for the whole family. We had a great week there as there are many things to do (my son loves to fish!) We came back rested and refreshed. Many thanks to Ardys' for letting us use her beautiful retreat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Leslie Boyer (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/23/09
    • Review Submitted 05/23/09
    My husband and I drove in from Denver for our first wedding anniversary and it was the PERFECT getaway! The house was absolutely beautiful, very private, comfortable and had great amenities (grill, fireplace, fully stocked kitchen etc.). It was so relaxing and the weather was perfect! We also really enjoyed the river/dock being literally right behind the house. We are already looking forward to going back next year!!! Thanks so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

    • Guest Daria Navarro Ruark (Lake Forest, Ca)
    • Date of stay 09/02/08
    • Review Submitted 09/02/08
    What a wonderful home!! Ardyss provides everything you could ever expect to find at a luxury hotel with the added benefit of being in a gorgeous environment...inside and out. Sit outside and watch the family of deer roam by in the early morning and evening...or sit inside with the family and enjoy a home cooked meal, a movie on the large screen TV, or play a game or two. Floating down the river was a hit with both the young and the young at heart. To make it easier Ardyss has rafts, tubes and even a canoe. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return! A special thank you to Carson the caretaker for all of his advice and assistance. Thank you Ardyss! Scott, Daria and Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/25/08
    We were looking for a place that was close by and that would have plenty of sunshine. What we found was a little piece of heaven! The home was spectacular with its large kitchen island, high- beamed ceiling, the wrap around deck and the feeling that you were the only house on the river.The house was completely ready for our enjoyment. It had everything from a fully stocked kitchen to river toys to a large screen TV. The dock on the river was a big plus. We were able to enjoy the day just watching the river go by. The second morning we were having breakfast on the deck when two deer wandered right through the yard no more than a few yards away. It is a beautiful home. One that will definitely be on our to do list again.Thanks again for the time spent in your little piece of paradise!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/16/08
    My sister and my family each drove about 4 hours to meet at this ideal family vacation home. We were thrilled to find a few kids toys and movies too. Our kids enjoyed fishing from the dock and the long driveway to ride their bikes. The house is just as described and the river is perfect for calm floats. We wish we could have stayed longer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/10/08
    What a beautiful place to soak in the peaceful side of Nature. Take breakfast to the dock and gaze into the forest across the serenely flowing river. Sunny morning in July. Loved your standing stone garden, too--your own mini stonehenge!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/29/08
    The best vacation thanks to Ardys, the best host ever, and her wonderful caretaker Carson Culp. The house is amazing, we could not expect for more. The pictures do not do justice to the house, when you first enter the only raction is WOW! We loved every moment in the house and in the area of Bend, Sunriver and Sisters. There is so much to do that even though we were there for 9 days it felt like we could stay there for much more. We launched the canoe twice with the help of Carson who took us to State Rec road and we did the 2 hour float. It was very relaxing. You do not not need anything besides your clothes when you come to Ardys' vacation home, everything you can only dream of was already thought of well in advance by Ardys. Ardys you are the best. Thank you for a great experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/15/08
    We really had awonderful vacation in your beautiful home. The bed in the Master Bedroom is so comfortable it makes it hard to get up.Four of us used the tubes and life jackets that you have in the garage and floated in the river from your dock to the bridge. It took us about 35 minutes and we had another person in our party party pick us up. Wow this was fun and very relaxing. Everything in the house is top notch and I would not hesitate to recomment it to anyone for summer or winter. Thanks for the wonderful time. Sharon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/24/08
    We stayed for a week in August, and again in February of this year. The house is spacious and beautiful. The windows throughout draw your eye to the lovely wooded/meadow outside. The dock on the river was the focus of our stay, for a peaceful happy hour, star gazing, fishing or for launching the canoe. This winter we skiied at Mt. Bachelor which is a wonderful resort with nice people and features, and great snow! We loved it. Ardys is so lovely and helpful. Highly recommended! We hope to come back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/7

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest randy and kelly balliett_HAC102029 (portland, or)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/17/07
    We rented this beautiful home in July and we had an absolutely marvelous time!! The weather was perfect, the home spectacular with all it's amenities; gourmet kitchen, upscale decor, wrap around porch and grill for amazing dinners every night! Our hostess was nothing but charming and accomodating on every question and need! This is a perfect spot and home for any family/friends gathering! And we give it a "double green" positive!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/7

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Eric Simantel_HAC101101 (Tigard, OR)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/12/07
    There is no better place to enjoy a gin and tonic on a sunny summer day than on Ardy's dock right on the Deshute's River. ;-) And don't forget to bring your fly rod! The place is big enough to comfortably sleep 7, and relaxation is abundant every where on the property. It is a great place to forget work, and remember old family stories. We can't wait to rent it next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jason Sjobeck_HAC86649 (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 05/01/07
    • Review Submitted 05/14/07
    Gorgeous house, gorgeous location, close to skiing Bachelor, loved our stay there, looking forward to next time. Thank you so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/07
    • Review Submitted 04/11/07
    Ardys, Thank you so much for opening your home for all of us whom love to travel. This home was amazing and just the perfect location to get away to. Your home is definately a place to return to and we had so much fun playing games, cooking, the river, and just the peace and quiet. Our children went skiing which was very close. We couldn't thank you enough. I am so happy we were able to find your home to stay at. Any of you who are looking for a place to stay THIS IS IT!!!! Thank you Ardys!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest B. Lantow_HAC77158 (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/22/07
    Nice location - view out kitchen goes out and across the Deschutes River. This is a newer home that is beautifully decorated, yet comfortable to stay in. Our family of six fit in perfectly. Easy commute to Bachelor. Very quiet.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/07/07
    WoW!! What a beautiful home in a prime location. Close to great fishing and golf and perfect for just relaxing. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Carolyn A. Martin_HAC75398 (Clackamas, OR)
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/04/07
    Breath-taking architecture, idyllic forest and river setting, comfortable, cozy accommodations. Easy access to Sunriver and ski resorts. So much to do; so many ways to relax. The perfect get-away! We LOVED it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/7

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/04/07
    Absolutely the most beautiful home! The pictures, although lovely, do not reflect reality! Very private - yet close to Sunriver, Bend, and Mt. Bachelor. Our family had a fantastic time, playing in the snow, shopping in Sunriver and Bend, and skiing at Mt. Bachelor. Thank you Ardys!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest janet corson_HAC72720 (medford, oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/08/07
    This home is a relaxing beasutiful place to stay. Plenty of room and the river is wonderful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest RV Squires_HAC72723 (Scottsdale, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/08/07
    Peace on Earth! Unsurpassed beauty, serenity and convenience. spacious home with all amenities just add your own fun for a Divine time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest alex reverman_HAC72725 (Bend, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/08/07
    Fabulous getaway for every recreational desire. fish, gold, sun Raft, ski, enjoy yourself. Very comfortable home.

    Owner response: Alex meant GOLF not gold, yet it is a golden place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jean Peterson_HAC71861 (West Linn, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 01/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/02/07
    What a beautiful place to stay for New Years Eve. It's not far from Sunriver yet feels private on the deschutes river. We felt like we were in our own home. Owner is very sweet and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. We hope to stay again this summer.

    Owner response: What a pleasure to be able to share this beautiful home in a wilderness site with guests who are warm, polite, smart and funny. VRBO is a great service because, Without You There's No Us. Warmly, Ardys Reverman

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Nancy Kelley_HAC69768 (Gresham, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 11/01/06
    • Review Submitted 11/28/06
    This is a very beautiful, inviting and comfortable home! The picture does not do it justice. The setting is peaceful and fairly private, yet, you are minutes from shopping, ski slopes, a desert museum and movie theatres. You will love your experience at Big River.

    Owner response: It is my great pleasure to share this inviting home with your family and friends and allows you to enjoy cherished memories for a lifetime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

    During this stay the property was under previous ownership or management.



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]