Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Living Room

Maui Banyan 2 BR *Excellent Ocean Views Top Floor/Remodeled [#111086] | View Property

Maui Banyan
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$165/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • Well equipped, comfortable and a good location

    Well equipped, comfortable and a good location

    • Guest Joan G. (Newbury Park CA)
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    Our family stayed in this unit for 8 days. I was a little apprehensive that the unit was managed by a rental agency in the sate where the owner lived. In the event of a problem with the unit, I thought this might complicate things. In fact there was a problem. When we arrived late in the evening, the unit had not been cleaned since the last guest. I called the number I was given, which at that hour was an answering service. To make a long story short, through an oversight, the cleaning service had not been scheduled. I was told the cleaners would come the next day, but they did not. In any event, by the end of that day I had the place pretty much cleaned up. The owner then emailed me with profuse apologies, and offered satisfactory compensation for my trouble. So while I would have rather the unit been clean upon arrival, the owner was responsive and wanted to make things right. He does have a local handyman that can fix any other problem. The unit itself is very well equipped with about every kitchen gadget you could want, and plenty of dishes. One closet was stacked with a large quantity of towels that came in handy for going to the beach, pool, etc. All the towels combined with the washer/dryer were a great convenience. Another closet had coolers, beach chairs, sand toys, beach toys, etc. The beds were comfortable. I appreciated the two memory foam bed pillows. I have neck problems, and I use one at home. The Internet service was good, both wired and wireless. The unit is on the 4th floor, facing toward the pool, and there is an elevator. It was very quiet. There are shopping carts and luggage carts downstairs to help bring your things to your unit. There is a partial view of the ocean from the lanai. Kamaole II beach is right across the street. That beach was pretty good for snorkeling, and we did see some Green Sea Turtles there. There are lifeguards and restrooms. I like the Kihei location. It is pretty centrally located on Maui for heading all over the island. Our dive boat left from the Kihei boat ramp, 5 minutes away. Kihei also has supermarkets and inexpensive restaurants, unlike some of the resort sections of the island. Our favorite inexpensive places to eat in Kihei with amazing food were 808 Deli for breakfast or lunch (very close to the Maui Banyan), and Coconut’s Fish Cafe for lunch or dinner. Overall I was very satisfied with both the unit and the owner, and I would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comfortable & Just as expected

    Comfortable & Just as expected

    • Guest Family of Four (Washington)
    • Date of stay 11/11/12
    • Review Submitted 11/24/12
    If/when we return to Maui, we will stay here again. Condo had almost everything we needed to feel at home and have a great 11 night stay--we ate in the condo quite a bit and it had everything we needed to make the meals we planned. Unit was comfortable and the owner was very easy to work with and the call center made it convenient when we did have a question. The property was conveniently located for our vacation. Only drawbacks were that the pool nearest to the unit was under construction the whole time we were there--however, the other pool was close, it certainly wasn't crowded, and construction isn't the owner's fault! :) The AC units didn't cool the unit down much, but we slept fine and adjusted to the temps in the unit--it did feel a bit warm when we would come back from our nightly walk, however. Overall, great condo, great vacation. We would (and have already) recommended the unit to friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Stay for our Family

    Perfect Stay for our Family

    • Guest K&D (Abbotsford, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/06/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    We stayed for 10 days in this great condo. The condo itself was very spacious and was perfect for our large family. Our first impression was that the condo was clean. There was tile floor throughout the main living area and the decor was tasteful with nice colours in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were clean and equipped with a hair dryer, shampoo, body wash and plenty of towels. The new washer and dryer were convenient and worked great. The beds were comfy and the linens were good quality. One of the reasons we chose this condo was the unique bed configuration with two queens in the very large extra bedroom which allowed for more sleeping space. The kitchen was well stocked with good quality cooking utensils and gadgets. Day trips were made easier after discovering beach chairs and toys, snorkels, coolers, and a small stroller to use in one of the closets. From the larger balcony (lanai), you have a distant view of the ocean, a big grassy area, lots of trees and birds and one of the pools. The grounds were beautiful, tidy and very well kept. The kids enjoyed the pools and having BBQ's poolside. The parking was easily accessible as the lot was just out the door of our building. The condo is located directly across the street from Kamaole Beach 2 and walking distance to lots of shops and restaurants. We had the best sushi at Sansei Seafood Restaurant and Kalama Park had a fun play area for kids. Kamaole Beach 2 & 3 are close together and perfect for families with young children. One morning we watched a dolphin jump and spin out of the water a few hundred yards from shore. There are lots of beaches to explore, but our favourite was Big Beach with big waves, lots of sand to play in and yummy fish tacos to eat. We couldn't have asked for more, as this condo was a comfy home to come back to after a day of exploring this beautiful island.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Place to Stay

    Wonderful Place to Stay

    • Guest Sharon (Vancouver BC)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/21/12
    My husband and 2 teenage daughters loved this condo. The building was well maintained with beautiful grounds (my daughter said that even the parking garage is beautiful). The flowers and palm trees were phenominal! There are 2 pools and we frequented one of them. It was very well maintained and clean. There was always someone around straightening up chairs. The condo is located in a fantastic area. We loved the beach directly across from the condo....great for swimming and we did some snorkeling. There were lifeguards and the beach was not very crowded....just perfect! The condo unit was very nice and quiet. It was spacious and looked newly renovated (kitchen and 2 showers). The kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly need and more. There is a large island and a large dining room table (plenty of chairs and stools) The living room had very comfortable furniture for TV viewing. There are 3 flat screens in the unit. We watched TV very little as the weather was fantastic and we spent most of our time outdoors. My favourite feature was the washer/dryer in one of the bathrooms (very convenient) Restaurants and shops are just a short walk from the condo. We rented a car to explore the rest of the island. Very easy to get around and cannot get lost. The island is not that big. Very beautiful island and a wonderful vacation. Not sure why the main picture is of the couch.....the views from the balconies were spectacular! I read that someone was not happy with the view as you do not see much of the ocean.....but we all thought the view was breathtaking. Would definitely recommend and we will definitely rebook when we return to Maui....hopefully soon!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Spectacular Stay

    Spectacular Stay

    • Guest Deborah (Tigard, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful home away from home condo for 7 nights, with a stunning pool/ocean and a garden view. There was a comfy couch and two very comfortable recliner/rocking chairs, three TV’s with cable use (went mostly unused, with the exception of watching the visitor channel 7 while we got ready for dinner), two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen with a nice sized center island that was very useful (lots of storage, washer/dryer, king size bed in the master and two queen size bed in the second bedroom). Everything was immaculately clean when we arrived to the condo. The grounds of the condo are filled with beautiful tropical flowers and water features, including two pools, two jet spas and two tennis courts. The condo is in an awesome location. Right across the street is Kamaole Beach II, which has fine sand and calm waters but it can be a bit windy in the afternoon. We often made our way down to the beaches in Wailea (>10 min drive away) or Makena (15 min) because the beaches are a bit more sheltered from the wind. The condo is within walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants. Most of them have great deals for happy hour (usually 3-6pm). We will definitely return to the Maui Banyan!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Biggest complaint ~ NOT CLEAN!!!!

    Biggest complaint ~ NOT CLEAN!!!!

    • Guest rcbc (Hillsboro OR)
    • Date of stay 09/21/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    Upon arrival, our first disappointment was to find that we were at the very end of the complex, meaning quite a ways from the beach. Next was finding the condo was not clean! The floor was dirty and sticky, there were dried "spit" marks in the bathroom sinks, and furniture dusty. We had to go back to the store to get cleaning supplies! The unit was not as updated as the description and pictures implied - the screen in the master bedroom kept coming off the track and couldn't open or close the glass door. The bed in the master was angled making it tight to go in and out of the bathroom, and no second nightstand as shown in the pictures. The blinds in the 2nd bedroom were broken. The master bath sink and shower didn't drain well. The air conditioners could not be used if anyone was sitting out on the lanai as it was blasting out heat. The direct view off the balcony was of the garbage and construction trailer/equip. The view to the left was of the mountains, a very partial view to the right is of the ocean. As far as the positive, the unit was well stocked with towels, beach towels, kitchen necessities.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Wonderful Maui - Getaway

    Wonderful Maui - Getaway

    • Guest Wayne (Lake Oswego, OR)
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    This beautiful unit is very tastefully decorated, comfortable, calming and cozy. The views are absolutely breathtaking. We plan to return every year and want to give the owners a big thank you for sharing their wonderful get-away.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Satisfied from Vancouver

    Satisfied from Vancouver

    • Guest Tans are fading (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We found a "home away from home" in Kihei, Maui. It was our first time ever to Maui, and we were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. We brought our 2 teenagers, so this spacious two bedroom really fit the bill. The unit was clean, and nicely decorated. The 2 lanais were great, and we loved being on the quiet top floor. Was fun to discover all the "treasures", including the well-stocked kitchen and things for the beach (chairs, boogie boards and coolers). Especially loved the fresh, white towels....and plenty of them! Loved having our own laundry facilities....we'll pack half as much next time. The Weber barbeques were great and we used them most nights....didn't even want to eat out. The two queen beds in the second bedroom were great for our two teenagers, and the master bed was comfortable. Loved the flat screen T.V.'s.....3 in all....more than we have at home! Can't say enough about our trip. We loved the proximity to Kam II beach, as well as the general location of Kihei (20 mins. from airport, 5 mins. north of Wailea). The weather was fabulous...not a drop of rain in 12 days, though that was not the case in the northern part of Maui. Enjoyed a snorkel tour to Molokini and the bike tour down Haleakala. Best part was relaxing on the beaches...Big Beach a favourite - just 10 mins. south for the kids. Would love to come back...but see this unit is booked into 2012, and now I understand why. We'll definitely be coming back to Maui one day (without the kids!)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice place!

    Nice place!

    • Guest Jan (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/26/11
    • Review Submitted 03/09/11
    Our first trip to Maui could have not been better. We rented this condo and were a bit uneasy until we opened the front door. The condo was beautifuly decorated and super comfortable! I disagree with the other post that the view was terrible, it was great. While it's not ocean-front, it does offer sweeping views of the Hawaiian seas, and yes, you do get a view of Molokini filtered through the trees. The kitchen was appointed well, and the master bed was SUPER comfortable. We will be back again, and again. Thank you for letting us use your home away from home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Great location to walk across street to beach - unfortunate contruction site vs. true beach view

    Great location to walk across street to beach - unfortunate contruction site vs. true beach view

    • Guest Monique (Port Ludlow, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/23/10
    • Review Submitted 12/13/10
    I would not recommend this unit to someone interested in a great view. "Ocean View: The unit has a great view of Molokini, Kaho'olawe and Haleakala." I do not concur with this statement since there is a partial ocean view at best from the balcony. The sin of omission is the construction trailer and empty lot with weeds that is the real view from the living room and the lanai. Of the 3 reviews, 2 are anonymous which should have been a "heads up" that this was not the ideal location for a 12 day stay. The current photo does not depict the black plastic leather sectional within the unit. Housekeeping standards sub-optimal with a complete re-cleaning of the tile floors required and bleach cycle of washing machine which has a mold ingrained into the metal. The sliding glass door latch unfortunately "latched" as were were outside on the lanai for coffee requiring plea to a neighbor to call maintenance to rescue us. Unfortunate experience with no response from owner in regard to partial refund for sub-par experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

  • - A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

    - A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

    • Guest dj (Oregon Coast)
    • Date of stay 10/28/10
    • Review Submitted 03/22/11
    My family and I have stayed at this spacious condo 3 times now and each time our experience is just as wonderful as our first visit! Weather traveling with our younger boys or our adult children, the condo has all that we need, plus! Fully remodeled throughout, we feel so spoiled to be staying at this condo! We sleep great on the plush beds and with our most recent stay, we found all new furniture in the living room as an added bonus! Located just across the street from our favorite beach, Kam III, it's also close to restaurants and shopping. While at the condo, we find it quiet and relaxing. There's plenty to entertain us while indoors at the condo and we enjoy strolling the grounds at the Maui Banyan to see all of the beautiful and lush landscaping. We love waking up to the Native Birds, watching the brilliant sky awakening as the sun comes up while having fresh, local fruit and coffee on the lanai. Weather spending time at the pool or enjoying the many wonderful outdoor adventures on Maui, our days are filled with happiness and delight! We always look forward to evening meals cooked out on the grill and served poolside. Family fun and romantic all at once! We are so grateful that the owner's of this condo have opened up their home for other's to enjoy. It is truly a wonderful place to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Property

    Great Property

    • Guest Joan (Wenatchee WA)
    • Date of stay 10/15/10
    • Review Submitted 12/21/10
    This condo was very comforable and cozy. It has a full size kitchen stocked with everything one might need to make meals, bake or mix up some cocktails. Everything in this condo has been updated so it's very clean and new. The bedrooms each have their own bathroom which is nice and private. There are two pools at this property and when we were staying there, neither was overly crowded. A few days we decided to go across the street to the beach which took just a few minutes. We used a couple of the chairs and big umbrellas that are kept in the closet. We noticed there were play things for kids and snorkle gear as well. We walked to restaurants a few times and a couple nights walked down the street for some ice cream. We would recommend this condo and we plan to go back on our next visit to Maui.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • # 111086

    # 111086

    • Guest TJPP (Springfield, Mo)
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 03/27/10
    We stayed at this condo Feb. 18th for 5 nights and it was wonderful. The unit was everything that we had expected and more from the web listing. We had stayed at the Maui Banyan 2 years ago and loved the location. We hope to stay in this same unit in 2 years when we visit Maui again. We loved the beds and all of the updated ammenities of the unit. The Margarita maker makes delicious Pina Colada's too. The utensils and cookware was awsome compared to some units we have stayed in. There were beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, and etc. for our use. We even bought chairs and left them there to add to the others. The beach across the street is awsome and and the shopping and restaurants close by are great. Fred's is a must and the Sansei sushi and seafood just a few blocks away was a must also. Half price on Sun. eve. What else can I say except the four of us loved it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Perfect Retreat!

    Perfect Retreat!

    • Guest Hannah (Everett, Wa)
    • Date of stay 01/25/10
    • Review Submitted 03/24/11
    My husband and I took our first trip to Maui in Janaury of 2010. We stayed at this condo, and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to spend our vacation! The condo was so beautiful! It had everything we needed for our vacation. We prepared most of our meals in the kitchen. The complex had two pools and beautiful park areas. The condo was remodeled, and we could tell the owners remodeled and took care of this place with care and love! The proximity to town and the beach was perfect! We were in walking distance to everything we wanted to do within the town. I highly recommend this condo and wouldn't stay anywhere else! This was the perfect retreat for relaxing and enjoying our vacation. We could live in this condo! We did not want to leave!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/20/09
    • Review Submitted 04/20/09
    We stayed at the Maui Banyan from March 2 to Apr 2/09 in unit Q407 and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful. The grounds at the Maui Banyan are immaculate. Staff are continuously planting and/or trimming trees, weeding gardens, etc. There are 2 very nice pools with hot tubs, lounge chairs, covered area with table and chairs, sink and washrooms. There were several Weber BBQ's in the pool area for the use of guests and were cleaned daily. (My husband now wants to buy a Weber BBQ). The Maui Banyan is directly across the street from Kamaole II beach and Kamaole III is just next door. We spent many days at the beach -- not only were Kam II and III beaches within a few minute walk, but you could stretch out in the sun or cozy up under a nice shade tree, the snorkelling and swimming were good and you could make use of the park BBQ’s and picnic tables. The Maui Banyan is also close to many restaurants and grocery stores.Unit Q407 has all of the essentials and then some. A very well equipped kitchen – kitchen-aid mixer, coffee maker, margarita mixer, blender....spices, and plenty of dish towels. There were plenty of pots and pans, casserole dishes, plastic bowls, glasses, dishes, etc. I was delighted to see that the pots and pans, small appliances and utensils were of a very good quality since we usually prepare most of our own meals. The unit was very clean and has been upgraded - the kitchen has granite countertops and tile floors, the bathrooms also have tile floors and very nicely upgraded showers. Having 2 bathrooms for 4 people was definitely a bonus. Each bedroom has an air conditioner, but we did not use them very often -- the ceiling fans, along with the breeze usually cooled the unit sufficiently. We really enjoyed the sounds of the birds each morning (well, most mornings) - it was wonderful. The views from the lanai were spectacular - we actually saw whales breach in the ocean and the view of Haleakala was great. We would definitely stay in this unit again and will be recommending it to all of our friends. Thanks Joe - for letting us use your wonderful condo. Best, Ottawa, Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/28/07
    • Review Submitted 11/28/07
    Maui Banyan Unit Q407November 2007We just returned from a 2 week stay in this unit and I have to say it was fabulous…even exceeding our expectations. First off, the Maui Banyan complex in itself is a treat….not a brand new building, but very solidly built, quiet and impeccably clean. It is so conveniently located, and the Kamaole Beach Park II is literally just steps away. The grounds are beautiful too, and the pool is gorgeous and immaculate. The unit that we rented (Q407) has just been remodeled and redecorated. The pictures really don’t do it justice. Some of the things that I really appreciated were the new large appliances, the Kitchen-Aid small appliances, the beautiful tile floors, the stacking washer and dryer, the enormous showers with tumbled mosaic tile and rainfall shower heads and just the overall “urban chic” décor. The views are also spectacular. You can look out over the ocean, or up to the hill country and Haleakala, and if you peek through the right palm fronds you can also see Molokini. We really enjoyed sipping our Margaritas and watching the famous Maui sunsets from the deck every night.Did I mention the beds? To be honest, that was the one thing I was worried about because our bed at home is super comfy, but again this exceeded our expectations. The owners have thoughtfully provided Vera Wang mattresses and we slept like a dream. This unit is very large…we had our 2 teenage sons with us and had loads of room. I give it a 10 out of 10 and we look forward to staying there again sometime in the near future. In fact, disregard all that I just said above….it might get too busy and I won’t be able to book any time there!Aloha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]