Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
aerial view of Kauai Paradise Inn

3 Acres of Serenity in a Custom Home/ Stream/ Botanical Garden [#111665] | View Property

Kalihiwai
Estate, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$200/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Heaven

    Heaven

    • Guest jarret r. (athabasca)
    • Date of stay 03/11/14
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    First of all Ellen and Jim are such beautiful, well spirited people and they make you feel like family. The house is very large and has everything you could possibly want while staying there. We had our fill of fresh coconuts, grapefruits, strawberry guava, bananas, and all the greens, herbs and vege's from the garden. And of course as many eggs (from healthy natural chickens) as we could use. The place is quiet, and relaxing... birds and bull frogs are the source of most sounds. Easy to get lost here forever...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Private and peaceful vacation retreat

    Private and peaceful vacation retreat

    • Guest Mary H.
    • Date of stay 01/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/09/14
    My husband and I spent 2 weeks in this beautiful home. A recent new build, the house is immaculately clean, nicely finished and furnished, and has a gourmet kitchen. We enjoyed the privacy and quiet with the sounds of the creek and birds surrounding the house. We picked fresh organic salad greens every day for dinner and enjoyed the abundance of fresh fruit, yams and eggs from the property. The nearby beaches are among the best anywhere in Hawaii. For golfers, the municipal course is close enough to play, a reasonable rate and one of the few courses anywhere in Hawaii you can enjoy walking rather than riding in a golf cart. We look forward to returning! Thank you Ellen and Jim

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful vacation retreat!

    wonderful vacation retreat!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/12/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    Dear Ellen & Jim, What a comfortable, welcoming vacation home you have created here on this lovely spot on the north shore. Everything was there to help us enjoy a truly memorable vacation. From visits to the beach to quiet dinners at "home", you supplied everything we needed. It was so special to be greeted with fresh fruit from your garden, and a bottle of wine, even eggs from your own chickens! What a treat! We also can not thank you enough for putting together a little care package for us when both came down with a little flu bug. You two showed us what it means to have the true Aloha spirit of the islands. Hope to see you again, Sally & Bob, MI

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful retreat!

    Wonderful retreat!

    • Guest Samara L.
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 01/07/14
    We stayed for ten days over Christmas and New Years, and had a great time. We traveled with our two daughters, ages 1 and 4. As avid gardeners, the grounds were wonderful to explore. We spent our days catching lizards, playing at the nearby, kid-friendly Anini Beach, walking to a nearby reservoir to bird-watch, and driving to a preserve behind Kapaa for hiking. (This was a much quieter area than the Napali Coastline, and way more kid friendly.) The house was very open, with screened windows everywhere to let in the gentle breezes. The simple lay out and lack of clutter was wonderful for those with young kids who get into everything. The king bed was a treat for the grownups, and our 4 year old love having her own big bed. Every night we were lulled to sleep by the frogs in the stream, and the "nuisance" roosters that Kauai is famed for were hardly a bother at all. Our daughters loved to watch them. We took a flashlight from the cupboard and went out at night to catch toads with the kids. I wish I could share their giggles with you. Truly wonderful. This was exactly what our family needed to reconnect and relax. Our hosts were wonderfully giving, and so charming.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Attentive hosts and a lot of privacy

    Attentive hosts and a lot of privacy

    • Guest Susie G. (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 12/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/24/14
    We spent 6 nights in this beautiful house on Kauai. Ellen was extremely friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. Upon our arrival, we found a beautiful fruit basket on our counter. The house is very clean and spacious. The house is not close to the beach and it is a long drive to visit the canyon, so you absolutely need a car. However, Hanalei Bay, the closest beach, also happens to be the nicest beach on the island (in our opinion). We enjoyed picking herbs and digging out sweet potatoes in Ellen's garden. A great place to stay at while on Kauai.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A truly heaven for family vacation

    A truly heaven for family vacation

    • Guest Joe (san diego)
    • Date of stay 11/16/13
    • Review Submitted 11/30/13
    We spent 9 wonderful days at this gorgeous house. The location is perfect for us. It is only 10 minute drive from Princeville, Kilauea, horse back rides, and our favorite beach - Anini beach. The house was very clean and stocked with everything we needed for the vacation. We loved the well equipped kitchen with the top of line appliances. The owners are super friendly. They provided fresh tropical fruits from their garden: coconut, banana, papaya, pineapple, lychee, breadfruit, starfruit, longan, and many fresh vegetables. They also gave us fresh eggs everyday. My 8 year old daughter loved feeding the chicken and picking the eggs. We will definitely go back to this place for our next vacation on Kauai.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect, Paradise

    Perfect, Paradise

    • Guest Lizzie T. (Petersburg, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    For us Kauai Paradise Inn was perfect. It is restful, quiet, and so very CLEAN! This very well thought out vacation rental feels private and sits in a spot of great beauty (so grand that photos can not do it justice). Jim and Ellen quietly make you feel the whole place is all yours, but are there if you need them. They are very down-to-earth and warm. We celebrated my daughter's 7th birthday there and it could not have been better. I would recommend this place to anyone who values calm, quiet, serene beauty and doesn't mind a short drive to the beaches, the lighthouse, farmer's market, etc. We did the Princeville Ranch Waterfall Horseback Ride and, even with a good rain, loved every minute.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Truly Paradise... like the Garden of Eden

    Truly Paradise... like the Garden of Eden

    • Guest Justin D.
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 10/09/13
    Words can truly not describe the natural beauty surrounding Kauai Paradise Inn, and pictures don't fully capture it, but everything explained in the description is not exaggerated. Our expectations were far exceeded in our stay there last week. Jim and Ellen go above and beyond to make their guests feel at home, yet they are wonderful about giving you privacy. The house is spacious, beautifully designed and built by Jim (a very talented man) and Ellen (beautiful inside and out) has a lovely way of leaving very special touches around and keeping it clean. We enjoyed the organic tropical fruit growing right there on the property as well as the eggs that the friendly (domestic) free range chickens provide. It is located just enough off the beaten track to be peaceful and quiet and close enough to be able to make a quick trip to the corner store or beach. A few of our highlights were snorkelling with sea turtles early one morning, enjoying a great 2 mile hike to a beach, and we took a helicopter tour of the island. As we drove around we observed that the diversity of Kauai is phenomenal. Jim and Ellen are very knowledgable of the island and make fantastic suggestions and recommendations. Our favourite part of the island is the North Shore, where Kauai Paradise Inn is situated. We went to celebrate our 10th anniversary, just the two of us, and it was the perfect place. We hope to make another visit to Kauai in the next year or two and take our two young kids with us next time. Kauai Paradise Inn is perfect for a family and we hope to stay there again. Thank you Jim and Ellen. You two blessed us immensely.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise like!

    Paradise like!

    • Guest Brigitte (Vienna,Austria,Europe)
    • Date of stay 08/01/13
    • Review Submitted 12/07/13
    My family and I stayed in this wonderfull house for 5 days. Allready the detailed description how to arrive showed us the circumspecting way of the owners. The photos don´t promise to much, the property is absolutely clean and we felt as beenig in a friends house. Ellen was so helpfull and warmhearted that we even wanted to extend our stay but due to the flight it was unfortunatelly not possible. We will never forget this wonderfull place and it´s ownwer Ellen! Hopefully coming back one day!!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Instant relaxation - like coming home again

    Instant relaxation - like coming home again

    • Guest Ellen (Aptos, Calif.)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    Last year my husband and I and another couple stayed at the house for a week to celebrate and heal after my completion of chemo. I chose this place because it sounded so peaceful and healing and I couldn't have been more right. Ellen and Jim were wonderful. Close by if needed, offering the fruits and veggies and eggs from their three acre property but never intrusive. We went back again this year for ten days by ourselves and realized that I have never been more relaxed quicker than coming back to this special place. The house is beautiful, the kitchen is amazing, the king bed was incredible....we want one! We loved the location as others have mentioned and walked most mornings, did some work on our lap tops with the fast wifi so we wouldn't feel too guilty having such a great time...and then went to a beach or Hanalei every day. We loved the croaking of the frog in the stream and the birds waking us up in the morning and, we're going back next year...but longer! All of the reviews here are right on. It's that amazing. Thanks Ellen and Jim. See you next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I didn't know I'd love the hills so much

    I didn't know I'd love the hills so much

    • Guest Michael (United States)
    • Date of stay 04/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/16/13
    Kahiliwai Ridge (near Kilauea and Princeville) is a hidden gem. Ellen and Jim have created an amazingly crafted home on a lot of acreage. So many comparably priced places are smaller and too close to other houses. You'll feel like your miles away from everyone because for the most part you are! The home is beautifully finished and furnished. There and few if any roosters, and year-round fresh vegetables from the garden and seasonally available eggs from the owners' hens. Jim and Ellen live nearby...but not too close. You will feel all alone but have any home-related requests or tourist information very close by. My wife and I brought our four year-old daughter and we found the arrangements to be very kid-friendly. Close to Kahiliwai, Secret, and Anini Beaches. Only a little further to gorgeous Hanalei and Haena. It really is a perfect location. We're definitely coming back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Kauai Paradise indeed

    A Kauai Paradise indeed

    • Guest Sue and Jerry (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/14/13
    The photos don't do this wonderful house justice as noted by many other visitors. Ellen and Jim are outstanding hosts and have created the perfect vacation space. Picking herbs and fresh greens for dinner from the garden, enjoying the wonderful free range eggs from Ellen's 'girls', picking and juicing fresh oranges, tangerines and lemons and grilling fresh fish on the back terrace while watching the sunset made us feel we were indeed in paradise. Although we toured the island we looked forward to returning to the lovely house each night to cook and grill. The garden Geikos and Chameleons were beautiful and fun to watch as well and the frog chorus at night made our first night at home seem too quiet.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We always enjoy meeting our guests and sharing our little piece of heaven.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a wonderful slice of heaven

    What a wonderful slice of heaven

    • Guest Ashlee (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/17/12
    • Review Submitted 07/25/12
    I almost hesitated to review Kauai Paradise Inn because I don't want it to be booked the next time I want to visit! :) Kalihiwai Ridge (area where the home is located) is beautiful and Ellen and Jim's property is just gorgeous! You will need a car to get there and get around if you want to leave Kauai Paradise Inn (which you may not even want to do). I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the property and picking fresh fruit and veggies from the garden...what a treat! The home was in great condition, and Ellen does such a nice job of keeping the place clean and well-stocked. Beyond the home and grounds, Ellen and Jim are such wonderful people and made our stay that much more special. A big mahalo for such a relaxing and enjoyable stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jim and I enjoy creating a positive, beautiful environment for our guests. We were very happy to have met you and introduce you to the gardens. I look forward to seeing you in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A truly serene place to retreat

    A truly serene place to retreat

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/12
    I don't even know where to begin to describe the experience I had in Hawaii staying at this "cottage." First, this isn't a cottage. It's the size of my house, and yet somehow it retains a very homey feel. I was always hesitant to leave for the day but excited to know that I could return at night. We were most excited about the kitchen (I love to cook!) and used the bbq extensively. As a head's up, while the kitchen is amazing, if you're an avid cook don't expect to find all your usual favorite kitchen gadgets. Ellen has provided the basics, though! The master bedroom was darling. I personally loved the tub the most. My husband I took turns holding the sprayer for the other person to have a "waterfall" shower in the tub. It was so relaxing and the sounds of the birds and frogs outside made it heavenly. The master bed was super comfortable. I slept better in Hawaii than I do at home. :) The property is stunning. Ellen and Jim do an amazing job maintaining it. I have photos from the property that I may blow up and frame. It's got a gorgeous pond with dripping waterfalls, birds, frogs, and, of course, mosquitos. Bathe in that mosquito repellant. Ellen has a washer and dryer and all the linens you'll need. She also has boogie boards, snorkel goggles, beach chairs, a beach umbrella, beach mats, and more. Ask her about specifics. :) Ellen and Jim are super respectful of privacy and yet at the same time will come out to chat if you're interested in knowing more about the grounds, Hawaii, themselves, etc. Oh, and I forgot to mention that one of my favorite parts of this place was the huge screened in lanai/porch that connects the two properties. We ate breakfast there every day. Our biggest concern when we were choosing a place to stay was whether this place would be too far from the beaches. Here are our thoughts. It's 20 min to Hanalei, which is the best beach we visited. So beautiful, great for swimming, good for kids and adults. While 20 min sounds like a long time, it didn't feel that way at all, especially when it meant returning at the end of the day to this gorgeous home. It's 5 minutes to the trail head leading to Secret Beach, which is gorgeous but no good for swimming. It's about 5-10 minutes from Anini beach, which is great for kids. You're 20 min from Kapa'a (which we didn't visit), 45 min from Lihue (and costco!), and 90-120 min from Wimea Canyon. Thanks so much to Ellen and Jim who shared their space and kittens with us. :) We loved it!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Paula and Brent, Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We love having guests come and experience the home, property and Kauai. We are truly grateful for the guests we host and the life we live on our beautiful Kauai. Mahalo, Ellen and JIm

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

    I'd give it 6 stars if I could!

    • Guest Debbie (Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 01/01/12
    • Review Submitted 01/16/12
    I really cannot say enough about this fantastic place to stay on Kauai. My college-age son and I have been to Kauai three times during the past 3 ½ years, and we have stayed in a total of 5 different places. This is, by FAR, the best place we have stayed, and it is an excellent value. The home is impeccable and so calm and relaxing. There was not a speck of dirt anywhere! The grounds are unbelievably gorgeous. Everything we needed was provided—a vast array of cooking utensils in the heavenly kitchen, a generous supply of linens, beach equipment, laundry detergent, bug spray, sunscreen—everything! Having the bedrooms on opposite sides of the house and having a bathroom for each of us gave my son and me our privacy and ability to spread out without getting in each other’s way. Jim and Ellen were very cheerful and helpful and encouraged us to call on them for anything. It is obvious that Jim and Ellen love this home and love Kauai. We hope to be able to stay here again on our next visit to Kauai; I would book right now if I just knew when we were coming back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another wonderful stay -- 2nd time

    Another wonderful stay -- 2nd time

    • Guest Texas Mom (Houston, Texas and Bellingham, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/05/11
    • Review Submitted 12/13/11
    This is my 2nd time at this wonderful B&B. Once again, I have found it such a warm and welcoming experience being here with my daughter and little dog. Ellen & Jim have established an organic garden and continued to share in their bounties of fruit and veggies. Even though we had lots of rain one week, this is just such a relaxing place conducive to reading and quiet naps. I highly recommend this B&B. Having WiFi was a must for me, and that was no problem. The large kitchen allowed us to cook and enjoy the local fare. Farmers markets are closely situated as is Anini Beach. I'll deifinitely be back

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • New Mexico couple and elderly Mom

    New Mexico couple and elderly Mom

    • Guest MarDom (Gallup, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 11/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/19/12
    Our stay at the Kauai Paradise Inn was all that we had hoped for and more. The description of the home and the surrounding property was right on. The home was very clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. It seems that just about anything we could have needed in a kitchen was provided for. My 85 year old mom, who was unable to accompany us on some of our frequent jaunts around Kauai felt very safe and comfortable in the home during the times when we were gone. It was a great feeling to have this comfortable place as a home base for all the various activities we participated in on Kauai. The grounds themselves were beautifully maintained, and always imparted a feeling of serenity...even on the rainy days. The close proximity of the North shore was a plus, but, we developed a fondness for Kalihiwai Bay,and the beach there also. Ellen and Jim proved themselves to be very friendly, gracious, generous, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. We were also very appreciative of the bounty that they shared with us, including fresh eggs, fruit from the property, and also produce from the garden. Bikes were available for us to use to check out the area. We so enjoyed our stay at the Inn, and would definitely recommend it to just about any kind of family situation with all age groups.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Gorgeous, peaceful oasis

    Gorgeous, peaceful oasis

    • Guest Katarina (Oakland, California)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/27/11
    Ellen and Jim's property and gardens are amazing, and I could actually feel my spirit being refilled as I walked around the grounds in the mornings and evenings. My favorite part was leaving the windows wide open at night and waking up to the sound of birds, crickets, frogs, and (very distant) roosters. Quite different from the staged Hawaii you get at resorts. 5-minute drive to Kalihiwai beach, which has a swimmable freshwater lagoon where the river meets the ocean. 5-minute drive to Anini beach, which is beautiful and shallow. Less than 10-min. drive to the Kilauea Lighthouse wildlife refuge, where we saw spinner dolphins, endangered birds, and an unforgettable view of the coast. Half-hour drive to Ke'e Beach, Tunnels Beach, Limahuli Garden, and the end of the road, where the trail starts for back-country hikes along the Na Pali coast. Ke'e Beach was our favorite, thanks to a reef that creates a protected bay with very gentle water during the summer. You will definitely need a car here, unless your plan is to hang out in the gardens and enjoy the grounds, or go horseback riding. (Silver Falls Ranch is about a mile from the house -- we almost signed up for a trail ride, but in the end opted for another day at the beach.) Be prepared for a few mosquitoes. Probably unavoidable. Ellen and Jim were great -- friendly and helpful. We could have spent another month exploring the area and resting in this beautiful house. I would love to return to this place someday.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Katarina and Family, What a beautiful review. Thank you so much. Jim and I are so happy to have this piece of heaven on earth and share the experience with others. We are uplifted by all the positive comments and were very happy to have you in the home and in the gardens! Best, Ellen and Jim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace and Inspiration in Paradise

    Peace and Inspiration in Paradise

    • Guest Debby (Lake Forest, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/04/11
    • Review Submitted 07/19/11
    My husband and I just spent five nights at Kauai Paradise Inn and I have to say that there is no way for the photos to show how spectacular this property really is. The grounds are stunningly beautiful. We are writers and needed to get away to write without interruption. We found the privacy we sought and we also renewed our romance of 35 years. What a romantic place. Our hosts, Ellen and Jim, were truly hospitable, personal, and available to help with any need we had and to offer a guided tour of the botanical garden. Orchids bloom from trees, many types of fruit are grown on site, and a stream with a waterfall meanders through the grounds. Ellen was very helpful in answering any questions I had before we arrived. Kauai Paradise Inn is located in a very posh neighborhood, tons of room between properties, and owners take pride in keeping up the entire area to look not only welcoming, but gorgeous. We woke up every morning to the sounds of birds singing, and watched the rising sun illuminate the clouds, and the mountains. What a view! I couldn't get enough of it. Every bit of the property was immaculately clean. Linens saluted in the linen closet, beach and picnic equipment were clean and ready to go, a selection of books, games, and DVDs were available. They have a flat screen TV and a sound system, but we never turned it on. We were too relaxed as we enjoyed the quiet and privacy of the place. Kilauea Town has a great fish market with delicious fish plates for lunch, there are upscale boutiques, and a very good health food store and bakery. This side of the island is lush and green. We visited in July, and rain showers came through pretty quickly, which, along with tradewinds, kept the home and entire area cool and comfortable. Ellen invited us to help ourselves from her organic garden and we enjoyed fresh salad, vegetables, and eggs from her chickens. We even had a few light blue colored eggs - delicious! We cooked almost all of our food ourselves in the very well equipped gourmet kitchen. All of the activities of the North Shore of Kauai, including beaches, snorkeling, hiking, and Hanalei are within ten to fifteen minutes away. A few more minutes bring you to the end of the road and the Kalalau trail. We cannot recommend Kauai Paradise Inn highly enough. As it is all on one level it is mostly accessible for people with limited mobility. This would be a beautiful wedding site. Kids will love discovering the frogs at the stream. Thanks, Ellen and Jim.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha, Thank you for your positive feed back. When we hear such glowing reviews, we feel happy that we are so blessed to have this serenity and beauty to share. We look forward to seeing you again! A hui hou, Ellen and Jimmy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A piece of paradise

    A piece of paradise

    • Guest Rich, Marilyn and Sonja (Seattle, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/23/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    This was truly paradise for us. It was everything we came to Kauai for; quiet, surrounded by lovely flowers, birds, a lovely house in an open, garden-like setting. Fresh fruit and flowers greeted us as we walked in the door. We just set our luggage down to take pictures before we messed it up. Impeccable, functional, relaxed with lovely art and decor. Fresh greens from the garden complimented all our meals. Just walking around the grounds was beautiful; color everywhere, orchids in the trees, egrets, pond and stream, all washed away the tensions of everyday life back home. Jim and Ellen couldn't have been nicer. They are invisible, making it truly feel like your house. We sought them out for island info. Short drives to all the northern island beaches, hikes and attractions. Coming back from a day of boogie boarding and cooking some fresh fish on the grill was devine. We are already talking about how we can return as soon as possible. We've recommended it to any and everyone we've talked to. We've visited all the islands, with a variety of accommodations, and this is our favorite by far.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Richard and Family! We are so happy to hear these positive responses to the property and home. Our passion for creating a sanctuary are obviously showing! We are so fortunate to have so many wonderful folks visit and share this perfect, special place. Thank you for comimg to Kauai and choosing us for your accommodations! Best, Ellen And Jim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Family Vacation Spot, ever!

    Best Family Vacation Spot, ever!

    • Guest Isabelle (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    We had a perfect family vacation at Ellen and Jim's gorgeous Inn. With three young boys and overly busy lives, the idea of pure relaxation usually feels like a distant fantasy. And if the parents are relaxing the kids are bored. Not here-- Kauai Paradise Inn surpassed our expectations and even the VRBO description. The lovely property was a perfect exploration site for our kids, and the house a luxurious nest for all of us. The photos don't do this home justice because what makes this place so special is that you can immerse in the beauty of the island-- from the fragrant tropical blooms outside your window, to being lulled to restful sleep by the chorus of sweet frogs in the river below-- before you even take the quick trip to one of the many wonderful beaches on earth. The fully equipped home had everything we could imagine needing for a wonderful vacation. For the more adventurous, there is kayaking, ziplining, snorkling, hiking, golfing and boating nearby. Wonderful restaurants line the coast. But the best part was feeling at home immediately-- and of course, never wanting to leave. We can't wait until we can return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Aloha Isabelle And Family, I was just thinking about you all these last few days! Thank you for choosing Kauai Paradise Inn! I was so happy to have met you and your inspirational boys. I have harvested beautiful potatoes and yams. We found a giant horned caterpillar that took 3 weeks to emerge for his chrysalis! We indentified him as a spotted hawk moth. They love sweet potatoes! I tried one of our newest fruiting coconuts yesterday. Yum. Your positive reviewis very appreciated. Thank you. A hui hou, Ellen and Jim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection !!

    Perfection !!

    • Guest Walton and Anne (Eagle River, Alaska)
    • Date of stay 02/20/11
    • Review Submitted 04/17/11
    To escape the Alaska winters we travel every year for approximately a month somewhere warm. It has often been Hawaii or somewhere overseas; so we have experienced all kinds of places. We came across the Kauai Paradise Inn by luck and had our fingers crossed that it would be available. We were ecstatic when we found that it was available and booked it right away. Upon our arrival we were awe struck !! The pictures do not do it justice; it is even nicer! I must say, it was the perfect getaway; from the impeccable elegance of the home, to the dependable cooling Trade Winds of the afternoon, to the scenery, to the fresh flowers placed throughout the house, to the peaceful evenings (and mornings -no roosters); we can honestly say it was perfect !!. If you have concerns about the length of drive to the beaches etc……we went surfing every day and were at the beach in less than 15 minutes, max!! After enjoying the beaches all day, we actually looked forward to going back to the house to cook a great meal in the gourmet kitchen or outside on the grill! The serenity you enjoy while sitting outside, grilling fresh fish, among the lush landscape, watching the sunset, with nobody else around …Oh yes…it far outweighs any location you can hope to find anywhere else on Kauai (or any other island for that matter). Often after dinner we strolled thru the grounds and enjoyed the end of another great day. It is, THAT spectacular, and would highly recommend it!! There are fresh fruit stands just down the road, a great local market for fresh fish, wine, and amenities. It truly felt like home and was hard to say good bye. We will be back. Next time we will be bringing our friends or family to share this place with them! If this place is available – BOOK IT, YOU WILL NOT regret it !!! Walton and Anne – Eagle River, Alaska

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Anne and Walt. It was nice meet you and have you enjoy warmth and Kauai's beauty!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Paradise Found

    Paradise Found

    • Guest karen from Texas (Houston TX)
    • Date of stay 12/04/10
    • Review Submitted 12/10/10
    My daughter and I have had a wonderful time here at Paradise Inn. The description was accurate as were the photos. Ellen, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Her chickens provided us with fresh eggs daily and we feasted on the bananas growing on property. I would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a trip to Kauai. Since we were away from lots of activity, the quiet allowed us to hear the stream flowing on the property at night. Our beds were so comfy giving us restful nights ready for all the activities planned during the day. My only regret is not being able to bring my little dog who is quiet and well behaved. Otherwise, What a great find! !

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Deb and Courtney
    • Date of stay 09/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    Wow! Eight days went too fast! Even though we never had a chance to get to know you, your stories and how thismost amazing home came to be.... at least from you, personally, we got a feel of who you are from the stories in the guest book, from the detail, the care and the precision Jim has put into this home. The love and thoughtfulness from you, Ellen in each room, each cupboard. We fell in love with this home, reconnected with "real life" and became strong again. Thank you for letting us be here. Kauai is magical and we will definately be back. God Bless, Deb

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Roger and Carolyn
    • Date of stay 04/27/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    We are a new couple! Thanks to both of you from us for your gracious hospitality and beautiful home.. for our wedding! Your advice regarding Fern Jones was right on the mark and she exceeded our expectations for the traditional Hawaiian wedding. Cindy Marvin was a treasure of chef and as a new friend. Obviously, as others before us say, we absolutely despise the idea of leaving. But we are called home. We will be back. Aloha and Love to both of you. Roger and Carolyn

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Cathy and Margot
    • Date of stay 03/19/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    Dear Ellen and Jim, Thank you for a wonderful stay and your wonderful hospitality. We loved it all... your beautiful home, the lovely fruit, a magnificent yard, all the birds, the peaceful surroundings... and that was just here at your place. Kauai is magical. Kindest Regards, Cathy and Margot

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Frazier and Elyssa
    • Date of stay 09/13/09
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    Ellen and Jim, We were so happy to have met the people behind such a beautiful home! Your kindness and flexibility that facilitated our stay will always be remembered with great fondness. We will be your greatest promoters back in California as the "best place on Kauai" for any kind of vacation trip to what is surely our favorite place in the world. Good luck with all your future plans and we intend to see you again as soon as possible. Frazier and Elyssa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]