Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Covered porch area for shaded relaxation and snacks.....(this is my unit)

Welcome to the Finest Beachfront/Poolside Condo at Sapphire [#111678] | View Property

Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$200 - $300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (36)

Sort by:
  • John H

    John H

    • Guest John H
    • Date of stay 01/31/14
    • Review Submitted 02/10/14
    Another magnificent week a sapphire. Pete is a terrific owner. And his manager Kathleen is top shelf as well. Brand new bed. A/C just serviced and cleaned. Can wait to go back in July and staying here again of course. Thx again Pete and Kathleen for a great week.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Simply the best!

    Simply the best!

    • Guest Terry (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    Sapphire Beach is where we spent our honeymoon years ago as well a return visit 10 years ago. On our third visit to the island, this is where we wanted to stay again, as this is the best beach overall. On this visit, however, we decided to book through VRBO because this is the only way to really know what you’re going to get. All condos are not equal! After reading a number of reviews we decided on Pete’s unit, as it looked like a no-brainer. And it was. I won’t be redundant by repeating the numerous praises others have left about Pete’s unit here, but will validate them. Call the U.S. for free from the unit? Check. Use his car at a very reasonable rate? Check. Free pickup and drop-off at the airport? Check. (But you must tip Ibu!) Dishes, pots and pans, coffee, spices, oil, and more in the unit? Yes. Wi-fi, beach towels, George Foreman grill? Yep! And Pete is simply a first-class guy! He’s generous, friendly, and cares very much about the quality of your stay. He stays here regularly, so is sharing his home with you. Anything in the unit is yours to use (with the exception of what he's locked away). And it feels like a home, not a hotel room. You are well taken care of by Kathleen and Ibu, both of whom regularly checked in on us. Why would you stay anywhere else? A quick note on the beach and resort, which has gotten some attention lately in online reviews. The public but privately-owned facilities (restaurant, chair rentals, snorkeling rentals, etc.) were temporarily shut down on our visit. Pete has a snorkeling mask in the unit, but if you want full gear at this beach -- and if these facilities are still closed (so inquire) -- bring your own. It was no big deal to us, as we mainly love sitting by the water and just occasionally swimming. The condo association has some beach lounge chairs for residents’ use only. (Pete has two chairs for your use.) The upside of this is that the cruise ships aren’t bringing people here anymore, so the beach is uncrowded. When we return next year, we’ll stay in Pete’s unit again. No brainer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay at Sapphire Beach

    Wonderful stay at Sapphire Beach

    • Guest Kelly M.
    • Date of stay 01/01/14
    • Review Submitted 01/20/14
    We recently returned home from our 7 night stay at Sapphire Beach Resort. Peter was really easy to coordinate with pre-arrival. Kathleen is the on-site manager and stopped by to make sure we had everything we needed. She was able to arrange a pack and play for our 4 month old daughter for our stay and provided a housekeeping mid-stay to freshen up the linens. The condo was very clean and tastefully appointed. There were plenty of pantry basics (oil, vinegar, spices, coffee) available for use and nice kitchen equipment and dishes for those who want to cook meals at home. We took advantage of renting Pete’s car for the stay which was really convenient and we really appreciated the airport pick up/drop off. Our driver, Ibu, was very pleasant, pointing things out of interest and providing directions along the way. The condo also has wi-fi which is nice for those of us who don’t completely want to disconnect from home. We also really liked being on the first floor, it made life easier with the stroller and it was wonderful literally being a couple of steps from the beach. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic vacation spot on St. Thomas!

    Fantastic vacation spot on St. Thomas!

    • Guest Carol S.
    • Date of stay 12/11/13
    • Review Submitted 12/22/13
    We just spent 10 fabulous days on Sapphire Beach and really enjoyed this unit. The location was better than we imagined, just steps from the pool and the beach, and although it was on the ground level we still felt that our privacy was not compromised. The unit was very clean with an updated bath. The updated kitchen was well-stocked with many extras such as spices and nice quality dishes and cookware. The owner, Peter, was very easy to work with and responded quickly to any concern or questions we may have had. Kathleen, the manager, is a pleasure to work with as well! This location is so convenient, just a short distance from the ferry, shopping, and a nice variety of restaurants. Our view of St. John and other islands in the distance presented a beautiful backdrop for relaxation, and the snorkeling was really great right from our own beach! The beach and pool never felt crowded. The marina was close by for day sailing trips and fishing and power boat charters. We definitely rate this vacation 9 out of 10 and would return to this unit and this location without hesitation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unbelievable vacation time.

    Unbelievable vacation time.

    • Guest Dawn V.
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/16/13
    We stayed at peter's place and was exactly what he advertised it as. The condo was clean and was most enjoyable as we were able to walk straight to the pool or to the beach and swim and snorkel. This was the most relaxing vacation that we have had in years. The outside of the condo is being renovated and we would love to see the finished product. It was tough to say goodbye to st. Thomas yesterday! We would go back and ask for this condo again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest Kim (Springfield, PA )
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    What an amazing experience and wonderful accomodations. Cannot say enough about how wonderful this Condo was - we loved every minute of our stay. The condo was extremely clean and much better than the pics. Waking up each morning and walking out of the sliding glass doors to the beach/pool/sand/sunshine - it had everything. Snorkeling was great. The staff throughout Sapphire Beach were so wonderful and so friendly. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting to relax and simply enjoy the beauty of the island.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous setting.

    Fabulous setting.

    • Guest 123star (Bolton, CT)
    • Date of stay 03/12/13
    • Review Submitted 03/31/13
    We stayed 1 week in this fully furnished condo, right on the beach. The views were spectacular. The owner provided excellent information prior to our arrival and had resources available for us on arrival. Renting his car made our trip even better. The area is beautiful, safe and very relaxing. We would definitely return for another visit at this location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Long-delayed review for excellent visit

    Long-delayed review for excellent visit

    • Guest New York Honeymooner (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/26/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/13
    My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was perfect! Pete is quick with communication, and keeps a very well-stocked, well-maintained, and clean condo. You can tell he uses the property often himself and it's not just an investment. The local property manager picked us up from the airport and even stopped at the grocery store on the way to the condo so we could get provisions. We used the grill every day of our stay. Pete allows the use of his car (a necessity because of the location) for a very reasonable $25 a day. We would definitely want to stay here if we come back to Sapphire Beach.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The way to relax!

    The way to relax!

    • Guest DT_in_VA (Fairfax Station, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/01/12
    We chose D103 based on the recommendation of friends, and our high expectations were exceeded. FIRST, this condo was clean and very well maintained. You would be hard-pressed to find a nicer kitchen in a rental; the bathroom is awesome; the decorations and color schemes are very nice; the wifi speed is good (and probably as good as you get on St. Thomas); there is a safe to lock away valuables, etc. It is the perfect size for a couple's get-away, and had we brought a small child or two, the same would be true. NEXT, snorkeling Sapphire Bay is amazing--we swam with spotted eagle rays; turtles, and all kinds of beautiful fish. PLUS, this is a great spot because you are so close to lots of fun spots at Red Hook, and with the car associated with the unit, you are read to explore. We are not night-people, but even for us, Red Hook had a great deal to offer, including good food (exception was Molly Malone's--way over-priced for average food); a day sail (highly recommend Rumbaba); and ferry's for a day-trip to St. John. OF NOTE, , timing and weather are obviously key. We booked the last week of August--prime hurricane time--but our luck held, and our weather was beautiful, and we pretty much had Sapphire Bay all to ourselves on days without cruise ships--and even in the mornings and afternoon's of cruise ship visits. In fact, everywhere we went on both St. Thomas and St. John, we pretty much had the bays, cays, and beaches to ourselves; I'd take this and the risk of a hurricane (with trip insurance for the flight, of course) over crowded bays, cays and beaches any day. LASTLY, if someone tells you Sapphire is rundown (we were told this by a well meaning individual), don't be deterred from this unit--D103. There may be some truth to the statement as applied to other units, but not this one. You are not getting a full spa with this property, but you are getting a slice of paradise. We could not have been happier with the quality of the unit and the great price. The property is accurately described and the owner is great and very responsive to calls and emails. We heartily recommend this property--we stayed four nights, and would go back in a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • AWESOME VACATION

    AWESOME VACATION

    • Guest Angie (Houston, Texas )
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    My husband just got back home from the best vacation ever! The condo is just as you see it in the photos. The view from the patio is breath taking. I am so happy I came across Pete's listing. He was vry helpful from my first phone call. He arranged for someone to pick us and take us back to the airport. They even took us to the grocery store on our way in. I have nothing negative to say at all. I am already planning my next trip back!!!! :) Thanks Pete for sharing your condo with us!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place!!

    Great place!!

    • Guest lauren s.
    • Date of stay 12/11/11
    • Review Submitted 12/21/11
    What a wonderful place to stay in St. Thomas! My boyfriend and I couldn't have asked for a better place. First, the condo is perfect. Peter sets up a beautiful condo that is clean and well equipped. Every morning, we had breakfast on the patio looking out to the ocean. The kitchen is all new with all the appliances you need to cook during your stay. Also, the cleaning ladies come in every day and refresh your towels which is great. Although Sapphire resort was a bit quiet, the beach was amazing. We walked down toward the snorkle gear and it was great and had the perfect amount of people on it (not too crowded not to quite). Peter arranges a great deal where you get free lounge chairs, snorkel gear and floats for the water (which is amazing). At first I was worried there was no food places near the beach for during the day; however I was wrongly mistaken. Two different restaurants have constant waiters on the beach taking food and drink orders, which I loved. The condo is in a great location. Very close to the ferry and center of town. Duffy's love shack is a must especially on Wednesdays- Ladies drink free! Also, I highly recommend taking the ferry to St Johns. During our stay we also took the Bad Kittie boat which is full day adventure with an open bar going to 4 different British virgin islands. it was AMAZING!!! You get to go to Virgin Gorda, the Bathes, and Jose Van Dyke which is a great little island. It really is a great way to do some island hopping! If you are looking for restaurants outside of Red Hook, we went to a great one at the Marriott called Havana Blue overlooking the beach. Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better trip!! Peter really sets up a great atmosphere for vacationers. The condo is clean, nicely decorated and in a safe location. Also, Peter does a great job in leaving a lot of information/magazines in order for vacationers to gain info. on whats the best things to do during your stay. Not to mention- Sam, who picks you up from the airport is EXTREMELY Helpful and nice! He is the best! Definitely stay here if you want to have a relaxing yet fun vacation in your own private condo right on the beach!! Thanks again Pete!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful location

    Wonderful location

    • Guest Sparky (Crystal Lake, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    Sorry it took so long, we stayed at your condo during Thanksgiving 2011, Your place worked out splendid. The location was perfect. We enjoyed being able to sit on the lanai and just watch the boats come in and out of the harbor and to see the lights of St. John every night. There was everything we needed in the condo, and it was great having the car, we did allot of exploring. The beach area was only a short walk away and the snorkeling was fabulous. We were amazed at seeing all the turtles and eagle rays right on our beach. If we ever come to St. Thomas again we would absolutely try to get this condo again. Thank you for making your place so comfortable Diane & Bob

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sapphire Beach

    Sapphire Beach

    • Guest Brent (Wichita, KS USA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    Pete: My wife and I just returned from St. Thomas and would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay in your condo. It met and exceeded all we expected. Sam was very curtious and a wealth of information regarding the island. The use of your rental car is an absolute must with the many adventures into Red Hook for the nightlife. The beach is great for snorkeling as well as simply laying around and soaking up the sun with a full glass of our favorite beverage. The resort itself could use a little TLC and I am sure that is in the works but the condo space was perfect. Recommedations to future occupants would be the Horizon II boat excursion is a must do. The ferry to St. John is a piece of cake given the location and one of our favorite nights was dinner at Pools and Pavilions, a short 5 min drive from the condo. Red Hook is great for nighlife with a number of good restaurants as well. Overall, I would give our vacation a 9 out of 10 with the only downfall being the travel back to the mainland. Thank you again and I look forward to coming back very soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Postcard Perfect

    Postcard Perfect

    • Guest Ron (Ont., Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/22/11
    • Review Submitted 11/02/11
    My wife and I just returned from 8 days in paradise. This condo was all and more than stated on the web site. Siting on the patio having coffee you think you are looking at a postcard. Thank you Pete you helped make our 30th annv. a memory of a lifetime.We are sure to be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Condo - Great Location

    Great Condo - Great Location

    • Guest Scuba-Doo (Rockford, MI USA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    Wow! Condo was clean & well-equipped. One of the few with a 2nd TV in the bedroom (we like to fall asleep to it). Bed was very comfortable. Living area is very usable & comfy too. The free land-line saved us a lot of money since verizon was going to charge $2 a minute. The condo's wi-fi & tv channels were a plus. We were able to watch our local teams while other guests had to go somewhere else. The condo's location was perfect for us. My husband prefers the pool, while I want to snorkel & float in the blue carribean sea. Both were just steps away from the back slider. The resort itself is in need of some repairs: for instance the pool bar/grill isn't open; but no worries since this is one of the closest condos to the pool & you have (hopefully) stocked your refrigerator. The condo has a nice cuisinart blender by the way. Water is safe & drinkable. We had the 3 T's: fresh towels, TP and trash emptied every day. Not true for the other folks we met. I think the maids would have done more had we asked. As far as tipping them; there are different maids each day so don't wait until the end. The snorkeling and beach are fantastic. Long beach, nice for a good walk. Lots of iguanas but not many shells. I saw an eagle ray, turtles and countless fish/coral right off the beach on both sides of the reef. The guys at the dive-in are friendly & will tell you where the best spots are. There are 5-6 ft Tarpon that hang out in the marine next door. We'd see them everytime we walked to the bar/grill up the hill. We took a day trip with capt Tom from "Pocket Yatchs". He was very knowledgable & took us to some great, private spots for snorkeling. Be sure to take your passport or birth certificate with a raised seal. We wished we had because everyone seems to go to the BVI. We went to St Johns. Very clean & cute & well worth a visit. I dove with Red Hook dive company. Nice & friendly. We spoke with many people who return to this resort over & over again. One of the reasons is that many areas of the island do not get a breeze & it's too hot to be out. Pete's place is a perfect location for getting a nice breeze right off the point. Pete was awesome & very attentive. He really wants his guest to have a good time. We rented his car which is definitely the way to go. His is a better car than some of the ones offered by Budget and the convenience can't be beat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • whatta getaway!!!!

    whatta getaway!!!!

    • Guest 25yrstogether (Knoxville, tn)
    • Date of stay 10/04/11
    • Review Submitted 10/10/11
    Just returned from Pete's place on the beach. What an unbelievable getaway! My husband and I just spent 5 days there and I can't say enough about the accomodations. The condo is very nicely appointed and perfect for a couple. The resort is not as well maintained as the condo itself, but we did not even have to deal with anyone from the resort. Sam met us at the airport right on time. Snorkeling was good at sapphire beach with lots of sea turtles and stingrays. The Dive in guys we easy to work with and we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We also drove Petes car and that is the way to go because you are not paying for taxis. We took the car to St. John for the day to snorkel at Trunk Bay and Waterlemon Cay. Two more excellent snorkeling spots. More sea turtles, starfish, rays, and an octopus. The best part of the trip was being able to walk from the beach to the refrig for refreshment and it taking about 2 minutes.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great time at this condo!!!

    Great time at this condo!!!

    • Guest Tereza (Pardubice,Czech rep.,EU)
    • Date of stay 07/10/11
    • Review Submitted 07/19/11
    It was unforgetable trip to paradise. Condo is very nice with all we needed from towels ,thru sleeping well, great kitchen [ I appreciated as woman] to patio with seating and grill.. Car from Pete is great choice,You can travel all around the island or to StJohn as we did. Sam made a lot for us. Guys at Dive in were also good, we had all comfort. Snorkeling was great at the Sapphire beach. We also saw lot of turtles right across the Dive in on the grass.We visited Lattitude18 ....super....food [fresh fish],live music. If we will ever return to USVI we will certainly call Pete!! ") Thanks again Pete and Sam.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • More than we expected!

    More than we expected!

    • Guest Deb (Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/23/11
    • Review Submitted 07/04/11
    Just returned home from a week here as we celebrated our daughter's wedding on Magens Bay. Wished we could have stayed longer. The condo is nicely updated throughout. Very comfortable and location is perfect. Step off the patio and you are only feet from the beautiful pool and beach. Pete is very assessible and so easy to work with! Thanks Pete!!! Sam, our contact took care of us from the start. I must advise you that he runs on "Island Time" - Once ya get here you will know what that means. Wish I were back on Island Time. We had a car and ferried it to St. John. Highly recommend this~ Snorkled on Maho Bay - saw two stingrays and a huge turtle, amazing! Great place for little ones as the surf is pretty calm. Took an excurrision to the BVI - adventure of a lifetime ! One suggestion, food is VERY expensive - when we come back I will pack and check a suitcase and take what dry goods and frozen food I can. We ate breakfast and either lunch or dinner at the condo. This worked perfect for us. We ate a several places in Redhook and would recommend them all. Fish Tails, Island Time Pub (great pizza) and Pesce's (this is where we had our wedding reception - amazing). All is all this was a perfect place to us to come for our daughters big day. We WILL come back again, next time without kids. Thank you again Pete! Can't think of a more beautiful place to be! The condo is exactly as described - I promise you won't be disappointed! Except for when it's time to come home....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best on St. Thomas

    Best on St. Thomas

    • Guest Texas (Cypress, Texas/USA)
    • Date of stay 06/12/11
    • Review Submitted 06/20/11
    My husband and I just got back from St. thomas..celebrated 15th anniv. there....let me say that we drove the entire island and found NO BETTER PLACE TO STAY than on Sapphire Beach..and Pete's condo is exactly like the pictures show!!....there's something to be said about WALKING OUT ONTO THE BEACH every day!! snorkeling is fantastic here, views are the best on the island, the beach is clean and the Banana Cabana will take care of your drink orders and food while you enjoy the sun..you never have to move!....Sam took care of us and was a pleasure to meet....this really is NO HASSLE vacationing!! promptly picked us up at airport, had the keys to Pete's car, gave us pointers on where to go and what to do, and then gave us a ride back to airport when it was time to leave.....We THOROUGHLY enjoyed Pete's suggested place to hang out at Latitude 18......went there 4 times....food was FANTASTIC, locals and wait staff a true joy to meet.....local bands lots of fun!!....also highly recommend BVI tour on Bad Kitty....highlight of our trip that day!!..this truly is the quieter and more scenic side of the island, so DON'T HESITATE to book your trip here!! Red Hook is a minutes drive away with great bars, restaurants and some shopping...the ferry is RIGHT THERE so you are close to any island hopping you wish to do...>St. John is fabulous and we spent some time over there as well...fabulous beaches and Cruz Bay has places not to be missed! Quiet Mon Pub with bartender Kenny!!!.....We can't say enough about our trip...would go again in a heartbeat!! Thanks Pete and Sam for making it so memorable!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect vacation!

    Perfect vacation!

    • Guest Sam (Nyc)
    • Date of stay 02/05/11
    • Review Submitted 02/13/11
    Pete, Plan on hearing from us next year... We will be back! Your condo is fabulous and by far nicer than the other units we saw while there. You were an absolute pleasure to rent from and Sam is awsome... The "unoffical mayor" of St. Thomas. :-). I would recommend your condo to anyone interested in visiting St. Thomas! Thanks, Samantha & Mike.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best vacation of our life!!!

    Best vacation of our life!!!

    • Guest cdeleon (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    My boyfriend and I just got back from our trip staying at Sapphire :) We fell in love with the unit from the moment we saw it and the view couldn't of been more perfect. After driving around on the island and seeing some of the other places to stay...and I can tell you without a doubt this unit is hands down one of the best!!! Everything you need is there from the pool, beach bar, and snorking....it is the polace to stay and we can't wait to go back again!!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing & Peaceful

    Relaxing & Peaceful

    • Guest Sharon (Cape Cod, MA)
    • Date of stay 11/27/10
    • Review Submitted 01/23/11
    My husband and I were looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation and that's exactly what we had here. Right from the start we knew we would love this place. Sam and his lovely wife Mona were waiting for us at the airport, Mona stopped so we could pick up some groceries for our first night. The beach and pool were ideal, waking up to the sound of the waves and stepping into the sand in the morning is my idea of a great vacation. The fact that Pete includes the car is a big plus, no car rental hassles. If your looking for peace and quiet on the beach or by the pool this is the place for you. Pete is fantastic to work with, he was right he has every spice/herb you could possibly want if you are cooking in, plenty of utensils, pots, pans etc. We met some very nice people while here and it turns out his neighbors live in the town adjacent to our daughter, small world. You won't be disappointed if you spend your vacation here. Thanks again Pete for everything. Sharon & Peter

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • AWESOME OCEANVIEW - BEAUTIFUL BEACH'S - INCREDIBLE PLACE TO STAY - THIS IS IT!!!

    AWESOME OCEANVIEW - BEAUTIFUL BEACH'S - INCREDIBLE PLACE TO STAY - THIS IS IT!!!

    • Guest Crazy About Pete's Place :) (Gettysburg, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/08/10
    WHERE DO I START...........I FELL IN LOVE WITH YOUR PLACE IT WAS PERFECT FOR US - EVERYONE I MET WAS SO KIND AND POLITE - SAM WAS SO ACCOMMODATING AND GREAT!! - THERE ISN'T ANOTHER PLACE LIKE YOUR PLACE ANY WHERE IT IS TRULY PARADISE IN STT - THANK YOU AGAIN FOR EVERYTHING!!! - HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOUR PLACE TO ANY ONE!!! LIN

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AWESOME OCEANVIEW - BEAUTIFUL BEACH'S - INCREDIBLE PLACE TO STAY - THIS IS IT!!!

    AWESOME OCEANVIEW - BEAUTIFUL BEACH'S - INCREDIBLE PLACE TO STAY - THIS IS IT!!!

    • Guest Crazy About Pete's Place :) (Gettysburg, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 11/08/10
    WHERE DO I START...........I FELL IN LOVE WITH YOUR PLACE IT WAS PERFECT FOR US - EVERYONE I MET WAS SO KIND AND POLITE - SAM WAS SO ACCOMMODATING AND GREAT!! - THERE ISN'T ANOTHER PLACE LIKE YOUR PLACE ANY WHERE IT IS TRULY PARADISE IN STT - THANK YOU AGAIN FOR EVERYTHING!!! - HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOUR PLACE TO ANY ONE!!! LIN

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best vacation EVER

    Best vacation EVER

    • Guest glad we took friend's advise (Knoxville TN)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 02/20/11
    THE most relaxing & best vacation my husband & I have EVER taken. Paradise found…breakfast on the patio every morning staring at that crystal blue Caribbean water & then that perfect piece of beach everyday on a lounge chair from the dive shop compliments of Pete. Our awesome beach wait staff would bring us drinks/frozen concoctions or lunch right on the beach; so we didn’t have to move from our chairs all day. For dinner we visited some of the fav local spots: Latitude 18, Molly Malone’s, Big Bambooz burger joint & Duffy’s. Red Hook is literally minutes away; shopping, restaurants, the ferry (that we took over to St John for snorkeling in Turtle Bay; a MUST). Visit the Beach Bar in town while you’re in St. John. We met so many friendly locals as well as other couples who have been coming back to the islands for years and now own condos there. After talking to several others staying on Sapphire Beach, apparently we got one of the best condo owners and managers..Pete & Sam. Pete provides way more amenities than other condo owners or the resort itself; the car was a definite plus. Sounds like we were very lucky. Thanks Pete! We were already planning our return trip before we ever left. Everyone back home was SO jealous of our pictures. We will DEFINITELY be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heaven at Sapphire Beach

    Heaven at Sapphire Beach

    • Guest CeeWeezeeCee (Southeast)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    We just returned from Pete's place at Sapphire Beach. Believe me when I say that Pete provides the best available. This was 1 of the most enjoyable trips we have ever taken. There for 10 days and leaving was very difficult. We expecially liked the ability to prepare dinner (almost every night). Eating in was a true relaxation after a hard day of snorkeling, swimming and hangin on the beach. The amenities provided by the Dive In at the facility are fantastic. We have every intention of returning next summer - I have no problem with making Pete's place at Sapphire Beach a tradition. To anyone going - ENJOY!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pirate Tour 2010

    Pirate Tour 2010

    • Guest Mandi (Knoxville, TN USA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/15/10
    Pete... This was the best vacation I have ever been on! Your condo is beautiful!!! I went with several other people and viewed 5 other condo's during our stay and by far this was the nicest...Pete....plan on me being back next year! You will be hearing from me soon! I would recommend this unit to anyone looking to stay at Sapphire....it is truly a dream! By the way...loved Lattitude 18!!! I will send you some pics soon! Thanks for everything!!! You have been a pleasure to work with!!! Thank you for everything!!! Mandi

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

    • Guest Steve and Sally Larson (Duluth, MN 55803)
    • Date of stay 12/16/09
    • Review Submitted 12/16/09
    We have just returned from Pete's lovely Condo at Sapphire Beach. We had never used VRBO before and were apprehensive to do so. We were so fortunate to have stayed here for 10 day and really get the feel for the island. We are in our 60's and needed the convenience of being greeted by Mona and brought to the Condo after traveling 2500 miles. The first look out the door to the ocean is exactly what Pete had described. We loved walking out of the Condo to the pool to relax or just go left and walk the beach. There is so much to do in St. Thomas and St. John. We rented his truck and went everywhere. You get used to driving on the left immediately and we almost thought it was easier at times. The Condo was more than we expected. I usually would not cook on vacations but with the nice kitchen facilities Pete has with ALL the spices and any cooking supplies you would need we had several nice dinners just relaxing with a bottle of wine. We had never used an electric grill before and it was great! So many nice restaurants very close...The Agave Terrace Restaurant just a couple miles away on the side of the mountain has a wonderful view at night. Robert's fine dining where you can wear shorts to dinner had great entertainment at the bar. The Wyndam had a nice dinner and a casino where my husband won $400 one night. We will be repeat guests as this Condo is the best we have ever experienced with snorkeling right our your door and the pool to relax at as well. The Red Hook area was so nice to go have a Margarita with enchiladas for a quick bite or Latitude 18 and chat with Kevin. So much to do and we have our list for our next visit of the places we didn't have time for in 10 days! Sam was so kind to take us to the airport on our return. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. Steve and Sally Larson

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing!!!

    Amazing!!!

    • Guest Amy (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/21/09
    • Review Submitted 06/30/10
    My husband and I stayed at this unit in August 2009 for a week. We had an amazing time! The unit is extremely clean and Pete is wonderful and very helpful at giving tips for first-time tavelers to the V.I. Sapphire Beach is the place to stay! Snorkel right off the beach. We saw sea turtles, spiny lobsters (which my husband kept trying to catch! lol!), and an array of beautiful fish. This unit faces the pool/beach and has a gorgeous view. This unit comes with everything you need to cook (pots/pans, spices, etc.) your own meals or grill on the patio while enjoying the gorgeous view. One night we bought fresh fish from a charter that had just come in at the marina and it turned out amazing on the grill (provided also by Pete in this unit). The bed in this unit is also very comfortable!!! We also rented Pete's truck for the week which allowed us to venture out to Coki Beach, Bolongo Bay (they have a nice beach bar with great food and drinks!), and to Kmart for supplies. We also took the sailboat/snorkel trip that leaves right out of the marina at Sapphire (which I highly recommend). We ate at Agave one night which has a beautiful view. So much to do at Sapphire that you really do not need a vehicle. Thank you Pete for your hospitality and for sharing your piece of heaven with us! We will defintely return to Sapphire Beach!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Brian35 (-)
    • Date of stay 09/27/08
    • Review Submitted 09/27/08
    My wife & I stayed at Pete's place in mid September 2008. If you want a nice place for 2 right on the water this is it! You wlak right out of the unit onto the beach and the two level pool is a stones throw away. The interior is nicely done, not the Ritz, but very tasteful and comfortable. Pete made sure everything was right and Sam and Mona helped with getting to and from the airport and getting provision once on the island. The scenery is amazing. as is the snorkeling. We snorkeled a few other spots but the best was right at the point that is 50 steps from this unit. We rented the truck and drove all over St. Thomas and St. John (allow more time to ferry yoour car to St. John than you think). If you just want to experience St. John take the people ferry and walk around the port area on St. John. There are many small shops and street vendors. It is unlike anything we have ever seen. Shopping in Charlotte Amalie is really fun. Lots of small alleys with many shops to explore. This was one of the best vacations we have taken. It is a combination of the nice unit, it's proximity to the beach pool, and snorkeling and the fun stuf to do on the island. We would rent this unit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Ed Gettemeier (St. Louis MO)
    • Date of stay 08/02/08
    • Review Submitted 08/02/08
    I asked my wife if she would like to post a comment regarding our recent stay and the following is her account:My husband and I just returned on July 28th from a 12 day stay at Pete’s place at Sapphire. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and chose St. Thomas because we were married on a beach on St. Thomas while on a cruise. We had never used “VRBO” so we were a little apprehensive. We specifically wanted to be able to walk out of a unit onto a beach and have a beautiful view. Pete’s place was all that and more. The “more” is why we loved, and will definitely return to this condo. We mentioned to Pete that we liked to grill and he told us that unfortunately gas and/or charcoal isn’t permitted at the complex. However, much to our surprise, when we arrived there was a brand new George Foreman Grill on the patio. Included in Pete’s condo package is airport pick-up and drop-off by Pete’s friend Sam. Sam offered suggestions on places to eat, places to see and things to do. Sam instantly made us feel welcome and over our 12 day stay he became our friend. The Condo was tastefully decorated, very clean and had everything we needed. The beautiful pictures on VRBO do not due this unit justice. We stepped out of the condo onto the sandy beach. The pool (just steps from the patio) sits at the base of a point that affords a view of the ocean from three sides. It was awesome!Pete had told us that the beach had good snorkeling, but that was understated. The snorkeling was great! On our second day, we saw giant sea turtles, stingrays, squid, and beautiful fish, including Parrot fish. Every day was a new adventure. I snorkeled every single day and never got tired of it. One day I even got close enough to pet one of the Sea Turtles. A couple of our neighbors even saw a small nurse shark.We rented Pete’s Mazda Pick up truck too as part of the deal, which was perfect to get around the Island. We took a Ferry to Saint John’s one day. Another day, we explored several other beaches on St. Thomas.. but our favorite was Sapphire – It had everything.Pete called and checked on us midway through our stay to ask if everything was going well. Pete’s communication and attention throughout the entire process (before, during and after) was extraordinary. Our neighbors in the nearby units were all envious. I’m sure there are other nice units there, but the few that we looked at did not compare to Pete’s. The bathroom and kitche

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Vicky3 (Saint Johns, FL)
    • Date of stay 02/27/08
    • Review Submitted 02/27/08
    My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in Peter's condo for 4 nights in February. It was too short! The condo is exactly as it's described -- totally renovated, lovely decor, and all the amenities. Sam picked us up at the airport and waited at the grocery as we picked up some necessities. We enjoyed listening to him describe the island and he gave us great ideas for dinner and side trips. The view from the porch is awesome and we enjoyed relaxing on the patio, drinks in hand! The only problem with the whole trip was that it was too short! We can't wait to return to the USVI and would not hesitate to rent this unit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Daniel or Nadean L. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/17/08
    • Review Submitted 01/17/08
    We spent Thanksgiving at Pete's place on Sapphire beach and it was the most beautiful place we have been to in the carribean. The place has been compeletly updated with the nicest of taste. Pickup from the airport and Sam are a nice personal touch! Can't wait to go back - Thanks for the memories Dan & Nadean

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kathy Komis (Miami, FL)
    • Date of stay 12/07/07
    • Review Submitted 12/07/07
    December 7, 2007 We just got back to Florida from five days in Pete's sweet condo. He has done a great job updating his place with a great bathroom, wonderful kitchen, and all the amenities. From the front door, every morning I walked out with a cup of coffee to the beach where I sat and gazed at a magnificent view. There is a quiet bar where you can have drinks and/or lunch by the pool. There is great snorkeling and swimming right out the front door. The area is great because the ferries are two minutes away and Red Hook has a good grocery store and almost anything you need. If you want to cook, Pete's kitchen is ready with spices and oils. Pete set everything up with Mona and Sam who are the two most wonderful people imaginable. We felt like we had known them forever. I strongly urge anyone interested in a relaxing, beautiful vacation to rent this condo. The only bad thing was leaving, but we will go back -- hopefully very soon. Kathy Komis Miami, Florida Hugh Baker Marathon, Florida

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Gayle Beckmann (Bridgeton, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/30/07
    • Review Submitted 06/30/07
    Let me start by saying that my husband and I celebrated our annivesary here. We are in our middle 40's. The best advise that I can give anyone who is looking for paradise is to rent this beautiful condo. Pete, the owner, will most graciously provide you with absolutely no worries for however long you choose to stay. Pete will make you feel like this is your new home. It is a beautiful condo on the ground floor. We were 20 steps to the pool and 50 steps to the real water. We found everything at Sapphire to be wonderful. The fact that restaurant and bar aren't open is a HUGE plus. Not only does it make for a quiet, serene setting, but those places are open to the public and I can't imagine how crowded it would have been. Our vote is KEEP THE RESTAURANT and BAR CLOSED!! Beware--- not all condo's are like Pete's. His is remodeled and is gorgeous. We saw others that were rentable thru the resort and they were awful. Pete has hired a fabulous island couple, Sam and Mona, to take care of you while you are down there. They were incredibly helpful to us. I carried my cell phone with me when we ventured out and if we had questions, or got lost, all I had to do was call Sam and he always answered and pointed us in the right directions. He met us for drinks one night at Duffy's and he was just a joy to be with. Would we come back??? Just counting the days when I can go back "home" to my beautiful place in St. Thomas.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kerri1 (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/26/07
    • Review Submitted 06/26/07
    We stayed at this condo for one week and were very pleased with it. It is a really nice condo, plenty of space, beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The bathroom has the most beautiful tile work. The kitchen, the bathroom, and even the furniture and decor all were brand new. It has a deck off the kitchen, then right off the deck is both the ocean and the pool. We rented a car while we were there. It was great to have and be able to drive around and see the island but this condo was so close to Red Hook that we probably could have done without one. There is tons of restaurants in Red Hook and great bars, also the ferry is there if you want to island hop. I really enjoyed this condo at Sapphire and would definately go back. I was in some of the other units while I was there and this one was much nicer and newer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]