Spectacular Sea Pines 2nd Row 6 Bedroom Ocean Home
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:Contact manager
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Private Homes, Oceanside house description
If you are looking for the very best second row ocean home in Sea Pines, this is it. The home is located at 18 Sandhill Crane in the historic Sea Pines Plantation. It has six large bedrooms, six full baths, one half-bath and an elevator which allows easy access to all floors.
The home is situated on a quiet dead end street and has easy access to the private beach. The ocean is a short easy walk (approximately two to three minutes). This home is the perfect family getaway and ideal for relaxing.
The house has been constructed inversely with the downstairs being comprised of a family room with state of the art home theater (50-inch flat screen plasma TV with DVD player), three large bedrooms (1 king, 1 queen and 1 Day bed with a trundle bed- each also has private full bath and TV) a half-bath and a laundry room with full size front loading washer and dryer. One of the bedrooms has a Jacuzzi tuband large 3 spigot shower. The upstairs has a huge great room with a home theater with 50-inch plasma TV and DVD player. There is also a large dining area which seats 12 and a terrific new kitchen with eating bar and all upgraded appliances including Viking and Sub Zero. This level also has three large bedrooms each with private bath and TV. (1 California King, 1 King and 1 Day bed with a trundle) Additionally there is a second laundry room on this level. There are two balconies with sitting areas, one off of the master bedroom and one off of the great room.
The home has every amenity. It is designer decorated and has all new high end furnishings. In addition to the two home theaters there are six other TVs - three 37-inch flat screen TVs and three 27-inch flat screenTVs. DVD movies that are shown on the home theaters can also be viewed on any of the other TVs. Additionally there is Wireless Internet and also three hard wire ports for computer hook-up. The house has a built in sound system with speakers in most rooms, the pool area and the two balconies. The bedding consists of one california king, two regular kings and one queen. There are also two bedrooms with king trundle beds which can be used as either a king or two twins. A queen sleeper sofa and a single pullout bed are also available for use.
The lot has been professionally landscaped and you will enjoy seeing and smelling several flowering plants. There is a large pool and hot tub which can be heated at additional cost. The pool area offers ample deck space with comfortable lounges and chairs and a gas barbecue grill. There is also an outside gazebo with sitting area. This magnificent home is new to the rental market and ready for your enjoyment.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Pets Not Allowed
- Limited Accessibility
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15, Beds for 12-15
Bathrooms: 6 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Washing Machine:
- Clothes Dryer:
- Air Conditioning
- Parking Off Street
- Covered Parking
- Linens Provided
- Two Home Theaters With 50-inch Flat Screen Plasma TVs
- CD Player
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Hot Tub
- Private Pool
- Jetted Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Water Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Fitness Center
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Miniature Golf
- Live Theater
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
ReviewsWrite a review
Returning guestGuest comment entered by manager
We have been coming to Hilton Head Island for seven years, the last three at 18 Sand Hill Crane. This house is the perfect vacation rental for a large family like ours. The house itself has plenty of room for adults and kids, a wonderful 'inverse' living floor plan with the kitchen and dining room on the second level, and the huge kitchen-dining-living area that we love. The pool is great for the kids, and we use the grill almost every night. The best feature of the house for us is its location, second row, and an easy, safe walk to the beach for the kids; plus it's the best beach we've ever experienced. We've already reserved for next year, we look forward to coming back every year, even though six of us come all the way from Oregon! Highly recommended.
- Guest Hinder
- Date of stay 06/02/12
- Review Submitted 12/01/12
Thanks again!Guest comment entered by manager
We enjoyed the stay at this home as it exceeded out expectations. Thank you for helping with the accomodations.
- Guest Julie
- Date of stay 06/23/12
- Review Submitted 08/01/12
Pittsburgh to HHI
Pittsburgh to HHI
We have been vacationing in Sea Pines for 30 years and we had a great time in your beautiful home! Only complaints are minor... there is no beach view unless you are Superman... and the pool cleaner needs an attitude change. I know he doesnt represent the owners, but he showed up at 2;30 on a 95 degree day and said "ok, everyone evacuate the pool"... i told him he needs to choose a better time to clean a pool and to learn some manners. If he said "do you mind if i take 30 minutes to clean the pool", no one would have cared. Technically the property is 2nd row, but it is more like a 3rd or 4th row walk to the beach. The home also could have been cleaned a little better upon our arrival. Other than that we had a great time and would definitely rent 18 Sandhill Crane again! The sound system was awesome and the kids enjoyed the elevator!
- Guest Joe (Pittsburgh)
- Date of stay 07/21/12
- Review Submitted 07/30/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
Manager response: I am so glad that our guests enjoyed their stay. In response to their review we spoke with both the pool company and the cleaning company. The pool company agreed to have a stern talk with their employee about his comments and attitude. The owner of the cleaning company apologized regarding the cleanliness not being totally up to par and assured us this would not occur in the future. There once was an ocean view but the tree in front has grown substantially and the ocean is now barely visible. You do know that you are very close to the beach. We have removed the ocean view statement from our ad. I was baffled about the comments about the walking distance to the beach. I have made the walk myself and it seems very close to me. Also I have never had a guest mention it before. I think that this particular guest may have walked in the wrong direction accessing the beach from the other end of the street. I did ask someone to go to the 18 Sand Hill Crane property, leisurely walk from the house to the beach and time how long it took them. The report I received back was 2 minutes and 47 seconds.
Our family had a great vacation staying in this property. We found the house clean and as pictured, if not better. Everything was in working order. The house was well appointed and very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and proximity to the beach. We had perfect weather, so much of our time was spent outdoors. We had a couple of minor requests from the management team, who responded quickly and appropriately. We would definately consider returning. One of the best places we've stayed in Hilton Head.
- Guest Lynn (Southeastern, PA)
- Date of stay 05/05/12
- Review Submitted 06/05/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Our family of 6 adults and 4 children stayed at 18 Sandhill Crane in March 2012. Everything written about below has been brought to the attention of the owner through email and pictures. What's Very Right About This House: Location. The Elevator. Clean- the cleaning people for the interior did great. With the exception of a moldy shower curtain (a new one was provided for us to hang) and dusty light fixtures, the inside was nicely clean for our stay. Ample Space- large bedrooms and multiple living areas allow everyone to have plenty of room to sit and read a book, watch tv, or surf the web. Modern Kitchen- had everything we needed. We didn't use it to cook in, though. Proximity to the Beach- easy 2-3 minute walk behind one other house to the beach path. There is no ocean view from the house (unless you count the view through the entry door of the oceanfront home across the street). Nice sea breezes do reach the pool area. The Pool Area- great space! We enjoyed the sound system out there. Areas That Need Improvement: Customer Service- the calls the agency did return were delayed and responses somewhat brusque. We had legitimate reasons to call (mentioned below), yet they acted as if we were a bother. With the problems we encountered, a bit of graciousness would have gone a long way. Maintenance Issues- water damage has caused the ceiling in the upstairs living area to buckle quite extensively. This same water leak is causing unsightly damage to the balcony over the pool area. The Pool Area- while the pool is large, it was debris-filled upon our arrival, and the net used for skimming was broken. Much of the outdoor patio furniture is moldy and unusable. Interior Maintenance- the house needs paint touch-ups all over, downstairs bedroom carpets cleaned, and missing bathroom tiles replaced. Security deposit return delayed by a week. Why? What's Very Wrong With this House: The Hot Tub- still NOT WORKING. The Sept. '11 review noted this as well. The 3rd-floor Master Bath- the jacuzzi tub is NOT WORKING, nor is the temperature control for the elaborate shower. A repairman was sent out. He said there was no power going to the jacuzzi's switch and that the shower was broken. A separate electrician and plumber would be required. We chose to decline the fix because, honestly, who wants to do the "be available between 9am to 4pm" thing while on vacation?? We sure didn't. All in all, close to 5-star. Just ask if necessary repairs have been made before renting.
- Guest Georgia Folks (NE Georgia)
- Date of stay 03/31/12
- Review Submitted 04/14/12
Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with young children, families with teenagers.
Manager response: We offer the following comments on the guest’s VRBO review for property 113234. -We had 2 licensed contractors take a look at the ceiling in the living room prior to the guests stay. They assured us that although the problem needs to be taken care of, it would not adversely affect a guest’s stay and posed no danger or hazard. The water stain from the balcony was caused by water running off the balcony during major rainstorms. There is no leak. -The guest contacted our office on Sunday and we were closed. She did not call the emergency number but left a voice message on our office voicemail that we did not get until Monday. We responded to her first thing Monday morning. A new shower curtain and pool skimmer were provided. -There is only 1 cushion in the pool area that needs to be covered. It is a large chaise lounge and the cover has to be custom made. It is on order. -We never told the guests that they had to be there from 9-4PM . That was something they came up with. Guest are never told that they have to sit and wait for a repairman. We send someone out from our office to meet and stay with the repairman until the work is done. -The pool company cleaned the pool early Saturday (the day of check-in). It was a windy day and when that happens leaves and other debris is blown into the pool. A skimmer is provided to help keep the pool clean. At that time we were unaware of the skimmer being broken. -The hot tub/spa has, and continues to work fine. The guest was informed by our staff that it was necessary to pay for hot tub/spa heat and what the cost was. This was also stated in the lease agreement and mentioned at the time the property was booked. The guest declined to have spa heat turned on and consequently that is why it was not heating. -Guests are told before their arrival that the refundable security deposit is mailed on the Friday after they check-out. For these guests that was delayed by a few days because they contacted us and stated that they had forgotten an item at the house and asked us to mail it to them. The cost for packaging and mailing was to be deducted from their security deposit. This has been done and the balance of the deposit returned to the guest.
A Fun Week at the Beach
A Fun Week at the Beach
Great large comfy home with phenomenal location to the beach. Accommodated 4 couples very comfortably with rooms to spare. Surprisingly, neither beach chairs, towels nor umbrellas were provided. When we called the property manager to inquire about these, she essentially told us that the owners have had problems with theft in the past, so that was the reason for no beach supplies. We had lots of trouble with the spa; repairman was called daily for 4 days and we were finally reimbursed our money to heat the spa ($128). The kitchen/dining room/family room were outstanding and that is where we relaxed most of the time. The kitchen had "top of the line" appliances but was not well stocked at all and pans have seen better days. No condiments at all were provided. Outdoor grille had deteriorated and was not up to the standards of the rest of the house. We did not use it and were disappointed. The outdoor fireplace also did not work - another disappointment. House was clean upon arrival but this property has some maintenance issues that need to be addressed on the inside of the house (painting, carpeting stains, etc.). Very narrow driveway makes it difficult to maneuver around.
- Guest Nancy (Alpharetta)
- Date of stay 09/17/11
- Review Submitted 10/18/11
Recommended for: Age 55+.
Manager response: I apologize for any misunderstanding, but we have never had a theft issue with anything at this property and this must have been a miscommunication. We do not provide beach chairs, towels, etc. As stated in the lease... Beach Towels and Equipment: Please bring your own, these are not provided. If a previous guest leaves chairs, etc., and they are in good shape, we do leave them at the house for other guest to use. I apologize for any inconvenience with the hot tub. The circuit breaker had been hit by lightning and needed to be replaced. As stated in the lease?If unforeseen mechanical problems interfere with the heating of pools or hot tubs/spas, any unused portion of the deposit will be refunded but the rental rate cannot be adjusted. This is the 1st I have heard about the kitchen not being stocked well or the pans in bad shape. We do take inventory before the Summer season, but sometimes things do get misplaced, broken or damaged. I will take care of this right away. We do not provide condiments due to health and sanitary reasons. The grill is less than a year old and does have a problem with the grease pan. I have been communicating with the manufacturer about this problem. We have placed a temporary pan under the grill until this problem can be resolved. If the outdoor fireplace gets wet, there are problems getting it to light. This has been an ongoing issue and is the main reason we no longer advertise it. The carpets are cleaned before/after the Summer season. They do get a lot of traffic during the Summer and are due a cleaning. The driveway allows one car to enter or exit the side of the house at a time. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Family vacation August 28 to September 4, 2010
Family vacation August 28 to September 4, 2010
This elegant, but comfortable home is actually more lovely than the pictures. It was well maintained and so close to the beach. The 6 bedrooms are each accompanied by a beautifully tiled bathroom and walk in closets. The home theaters worked well and the family room/living room each had lots of comfortable seating. Words cannot describe the gourmet kitchen. The layout of the house gave each person privacy, but allowed lots of space for family fun. The outdoor space around the pool had plenty of seating and lounges. The large table. sofa, and fireplace begged to be enjoyed with a glass of wine (or cooking smores as a family). I would recommend this home without reservation to anyone. We were a family of 2 grandparents, 3 adult children with 2 spouses, and 3 preschooler grandchildren. I hope to return!
- Guest Sharon (Ellicott City, MD)
- Date of stay 08/28/10
- Review Submitted 09/04/10
Recommended for: Girls getaway, people with disabilities, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Mar 17-May 04,2012* .......$5025/week. *Easter Week $6525 May 5-May 18 .......$5025/week May 19-May 25 $5525 May 26-June 08 $6525 Week Jun 09-Aug 17 (Prime Summer) .. $7725/week Aug 18-Aug 31. .. $6225/week Sept 01-Sept 14 $5525 Sep 15-Oct.26 ................. $4025/week. Oct.27-March12 ............$3525/week. Christmas/Thanksgiving $5025. Pool and Hot Tub Heat Are Available at Additional Cost. Please add 11% sales tax * A Refundable Damage Deposit is Required.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This manager accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Primary: (518) 210-8860 (New York, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Front of House
Great Room with Home Theater
Master Bedroom with Jacuzzi Tub and large Three Spigot Shower
Dining Room In the process of changing furniture to allow seating for 12
Bedroom Designed for children as well as adults
Family Room with Home Theater
Pool and Hot Tub
Family Room 2
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2006.
Date last modified - Monday, December 09, 2013
6 Bedroom / 6.5 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.