Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View/Sundeck

4000 Square Foot Luxury Beachfront Villa with Infinity Pool [#113482] | View Property

San Juan Del Sur
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 4 Baths (Sleeps 10)
From $220/nt or $1500-$3000/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • spectacular views, high adventure

    spectacular views, high adventure

    • Guest Kate L (Dallas, Texas, United States)
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/20/14
    Without a doubt, the house and surrounding views are spectacular. And Veronica, Jose and Lester treated us like family ... they really made sure we were well taken care of. We had delicious meals, and Veronica was extremely accommodating for any special meal requests (which we appreciated with two young kids). The pros: rugged beauty, plenty of hiking opportunities, phenomenal sunsets and views of Costa Rica across the bay, lots of downtime for relaxing, fishing trip (including an escort by a pod of 10+ dolphins and successful catch of white tuna), fresh lobster and seafood prepared nightly by Veronica, delicious traditional breakfasts, turtle watching on the private beach and a bonfire. The cons: As others have stated, the house is very remote and on very bumpy dirt roads. If you are an adventurous sort, this is a great experience; but if you like more creature comforts, you might consider somewhere less remote. The biggest drawback for us was the military stop that we had to go through on the road to and from the house each time we left to explore other nearby areas. We were consistently hassled, and it was an unsettling experience, to say the least.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unacceptable- More like Survivor than a Vacation

    Unacceptable- More like Survivor than a Vacation

    • Guest Sabrina C.
    • Date of stay 12/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/14
    There were major issues we were not made aware of that would have influenced our decision to stay at this property. We feel these issues were a significant misrepresentation and were undisclosed. The home is literally infested with ants, bugs, insects, spiders, wasps and even rodents from time to time. One night we walked in to the main part of the house where we found feces on the floor from some animal. Every night before we could get into bed we had to literally sweep the bugs off our beds (inside out). When we awoke from sleep, we had to do the same. We couldn't walk around with our bare feet because of bugs on the floors. Rosa did sweep the floors most days, but only in the mornings, so by the end of the day the floors were covered with living and dead insects and ants. We don't live like that in our homes and certainly didn't expect to on our only vacation of the year. Unfortunately, housekeeping was only a once-a-day occurrence. The AC in the upstairs bedroom was barely acceptable (had to keep running 24/7) and did not work for 3 of the days we were there. It was fixed but then began leaking condensation on the bed underneath and further compounded the bug issues. Our sheets were changed 1 time during the stay, and that on the preceding last night of our vacation. The home did not initially have a TV or DVD player as had been promised and for which we planned by bringing a collection of disks to view. When we asked the owners specifically about these items via email they replied “YES. DVD PLAYER AND TV ARE WORKING”. When we arrived there wasn't even a TV nonetheless a DVD player in the home. We are particular about the food we eat and how it is prepared. For the most part the staff tried best they could with the supplies available to them to prepare something edible for us to eat. While we appreciate the attempts made to introduce us to the native foods, we did not enjoy the way it was prepared. No disrespect to the young woman who 'cooked', she is a 22 year old girl, with no formal training in food preparation- definitely NOT A PRIVATE CHEF. Most everything was questionable quality and did not have enjoyable flavor. We endured it as long as we could. We took to drinking rather than eating. Quality of meat is suspect at best and is not handled in a way that we believe would be healthy for human consumption. This is not a vacation and don't recommend this to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing place!

    Amazing place!

    • Guest Cat (Montreal)
    • Date of stay 02/20/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    My family and I stayed at villa paraiso for one entire month. We have two young children (1 and 3 three at the time) and they just loved it. The view of Costa Rica from the house is absolutely priceless. We would spend our days walking on the beach, and really relaxing. The house is super comfortable, every bedroom has a private bathroom, the kitchen is well equipped and there are toys for children including everything they need to play on the beach. The staff is very nice and helpful and can cook for you whenever you want….We had so much time on our hands, we decided to bake our own bread and cook most of the time! Access to the beach is quite challenging and I would definitely not recommend this place for people with low mobility. The road to get to the house is also quite a challenge and not for everyone, you need a 4X4 vehicle to get there and the 30Km from the house to San Juan del Sur take about one hour. There are lovely beaches to go to in the area including Playa Coco and the surfing beaches near San Juan and of course, lots of fishing to do – we went with a local fisherman and that was really cool – we saw dolphins in the sunset….again, priceless! To buy food, go to Rivas, the supermarket there is very good compared to the one in San Juan.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa de los Suenos

    Casa de los Suenos

    • Guest Martin (Nashville, TN, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    Our family of five stayed at Casa de los Sueños DEC 22-29. This home is located in a beautifully remote area about 6 km from the Costa Rica border. The house features loads of space, nice grounds and pool, with friendly and very helpful staff. Veronica and her helpers do an amazing job. Alberto (Jose and Veronica’s nephew) keeps the pool spotless twice per day. The road to the house is steep, bumpy and rutted- kind of fun in a 4WD, but time consuming. Even though we stayed at the casa during the "dry" season, we had rain on 6 of 7 nights (unusual for the area), making the road slick and difficult even with a 4WD vehicle. A high-clearance (you cross two streams to get to the casa) 4 wheel drive vehicle was a must. The location was lovely and peaceful. The views of Costa Rica across the Bahia de Salinas are amazing. If you head towards the village of El Pochote, one can catch nice views of volcanoes Orosi and Rincon de la Vieja in Costa Rica. Bath towels were fluffy and abundant. The bed linens were also very good quality. The kitchen was disappointing. Though billed as fully equipped, it wasn’t. The twin ovens were not working, so for Christmas dinner we made do with a toaster oven for cooking. There was no microwave, no dishwasher,no garbage disposal. The clothes washer and dryer were not operating properly. For short periods we had no bathing water in the house. Be aware that you will probably experience electricity outages. Be prepared by buying matches and making sure you know where the electric lanterns / flashlights are at night. There were candles in the house, but no matches. There is no DVD player in the house, but there was a nice selection of DVDs. Access to the nice private crescent-shaped beach below and just north of the house was both hazardous and inconvenient. A non-stainless steel (!) stairway to the beach is completely rusted through and impassable. This necessitates one having to take the path to the south, invading the privacy of the residents of the adjacent house. Be aware that several of the wooden steps on that path are loose and hazardous. Fun activities were plentiful- horseback trip to CR (Alberto expertly guided), fishing with Joey, surfing, turtle hatches at Playa La Flor. Try baked goods at "Pan de Vida" in SJDS! Puesta del Sol restaurant in Coco excellent.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Fantastic Spring Break

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic Spring Break

    • Guest Melissa, Houston TX
    • Date of stay 03/10/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    We had a fantastic Spring Break trip to Nicaragua. We all miss Veronica and the slower pace of life. Veronica and the entire staff made our adventure very relaxing and enjoyable. Your house is lovely and we hope to return at some point. Our biggest disappointment was the Tsunami impacted fishing trip. We did not see one fish or even get a nibble for the four hours we were out on Sancho. Thanks again for everything and keep us posted on updates or specials you have at Costa Paraiso. All the best, Melissa

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Amazing Trip

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing Trip

    • Guest Camille, Boston, MA
    • Date of stay 01/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    Hi Julie, We had an absolutely amazing trip. Veronica was amazing and we had a great time fishing and riding. We've been to a lot of places but your house was without a doubt the coolest. I hope we make it back at some point. good luck with the development! Camille

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Natalie Angel (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 10/19/09
    • Review Submitted 10/19/09
    We had the most amazing experience. The most incredible views, outstanding accommodations, superior hospitality, and the food, top notch! We were in hog heaven and it was hard to leave, however we left fat and happy. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly paradise... I can't wait to go back

    Truly paradise... I can't wait to go back

    • Guest T.Y. (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/05/09
    • Review Submitted 12/15/09
    This property is incredible and the strip of oceanfront like no other place in the world! The photos don't do it justice. The view of the ocean and the northern coast of Costa Rica is breathtaking and this villa takes advantage of the view throughout the house. The staff took care of our every need... I am still dreaming about the fresh lobster dinners and pina coladas by the pool. The fishing was great too. They picked us up right in front of the house... we brought home dinner and the staff cooked it up for us. The owners have really thought of everything and the house is well appointed. The home is extremely child friendly too. Our only regret was that we didn't bring more friends to share this place with. The property has several houses and would be fun to go with more families. Next time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest April Lee
    • Date of stay 07/21/08
    • Review Submitted 07/20/08
    We had a great time. The house is beautiful. The staff and food were wonderful. We love them all. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the monkeys in the wild. We had a great time surfing, on the zip line, and visiting Coco Beach...fishing and riding left a little to be desired, but that's how I feel about both of those activities here at home. We were definitely ready to get back to our spoiled ways and off the bumpy dirt road, but it was an experience I don't think any of us will forget...Thanks again for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Dawn Orr
    • Date of stay 05/17/08
    • Review Submitted 05/16/08
    We had an unbelievable time in Nicaragua. I so enjoyed getting to know your staff. The houses are out of this world nice ..not to mention their beautiful setting. We had a great guide for our scuba trip. I do think Scuba Shack is a good recommendation for scuba lovers. The trip was run very professionally. We had an excellent time on our Sancho fishing trip. You certainly have done a great job of connecting with good people in Nica to provide your services. I am sure that is a challenge. Very impressed!! We have been busy spreading the word hear at home. I know Shannon's parents/ Bryan's parents are now interested in a voyage. We have all sorts of friends and co-workers coming out of the woodwork asking about the trip. We are excited to give them literature we snagged at the office in San Juan Del Sur. We are ready to book our next trip now!!!! Fun was had by all. You should both be so proud of your accomplishments there. It is truly amazing what you have been able to implement.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Shannon Sherfick
    • Date of stay 05/17/08
    • Review Submitted 05/16/08
    We had the best vacation of our lives!! It is always hard to find a perfect balance for my husband and I b/c he is a busy body and I like to relax by the pool. This trip was the perfect mix of both. Great house, beautiful country, fun excursions, fabulous food, and especially wonderful staff. They were all so great. I cannot tell you enough how much we loved all the girls, and our personal driver, Manuel. We were all trying to figure out a way to pack them and bring them home with us. I have no complaints!! I also enjoyed the adventurous ride from Managua to San Juan. Manuel did an awesome job!! By the way, we did bring back a few Nicaragian hermit crabs. They loved the ride home in a Pringles can. They are all living happily now, with my 3 kids that cannot get enough of them. :) We will most definatly book another trip. Possibly with our kids????

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kathryn Hohenrieder (Ross, CA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/08
    • Review Submitted 03/09/08
    We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The house was beautifully decorated and the views from the property were stunning. (We’ve never seen such beautiful sunsets!) It was the perfect spot for our family. We relaxed by the pool, searched for seashells on the private beach, kayaked, and hiked around the property. The staff was fantastic. We didn’t lift a finger the entire time we were there – they did all the cooking, cleaning, laundry and even helped with our three small children. It was a unique and wonderful vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Susan52 (Hawthorne, California)
    • Date of stay 03/07/08
    • Review Submitted 03/07/08
    I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful vacation! The house was beautiful yet very comfortable and the views were amazing. A big “thank you” to your staff too. They took care of everything and we didn’t lift a finger the whole week. Not to mention that the meals Veronica cooked were super. I’m still dreaming about the fresh lobster we ate at sunset on the upstairs veranda! And the Wahoo we caught on the boat one day she prepared wonderfully. The fishing was great of course. Your boat captains’ Vladimir and Jonathan knew all the right spots and in one afternoon we reeled in way more than we could ever eat between the Wahoo, Dorados, Jacks and Bonitas. The best part for me was watching the whales breach and the dolphins swim alongside the boat doing tricks for us, jumping and flipping—I have never seen anything like it! Another nice surprise was the quiet waters and going for hours without seeing another boat. We also had a great time riding horseback through the hills and walking down the beach to a nearby fishing village and simply doing nothing but floating in the infinity pool and watching the ocean. We will absolutely be coming back again this year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Amie3 (Fairfax, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/28/08
    • Review Submitted 02/28/08
    This house was the perfect vacation spot for our family! We were really able to "get away from it all" and truly relax. First off, the house is gorgeous both inside and out, with plenty of room to spread out. The staff members were wonderful - our meals were delicious and they were really helpful with our two small children. We loved the fishing trips that were arranged, and the staff went above and beyond to be sure we saw everything we wanted to in the beautiful bay. We also caught plenty of fish. We're looking forward to going back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kim18 (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/15/07
    • Review Submitted 01/15/07
    This house is a well decorated treasure tucked into the dry rain forest on cliffs overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Much of the furniture and fittings in the house are made from local stone and wood. The food is marvelous: fresh shrimp, local fish, medallions of beef..often served on an upper terrace by candlelight. From the two-tired pool, the sunset view rivals that of the French Riviera with the coastline of Costa Rica in the distance and the open Pacific, framed by trees and rock. There are stunning sights from the many terraces..and even from the river rock-lined showers. The sound of the waves in always with you..as well as the parrots calls. The staff, location, house and food are all first class..a super vacation spot and a great value for the price. In addition, the staff will setup fishing in the company boat, horseback riding, volcano tours, etc.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest George8 (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 01/08/07
    • Review Submitted 01/08/07
    Wonderful full service accomodations in a paradise setting. A few days of luxury in a remote setting capped off by some fabulous deep sea fishing. A local staff happily attending to your every need. A wonderful vacation experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]