Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Spacious Living Room

Magical Mapuana with Ocean View [#113583] | View Property

Kealakekua
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 3)
$95 - $100/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Gerda Fochs

    Gerda Fochs

    • Guest Lorana
    • Date of stay 03/21/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    WE Love to stay in your Appartement , In this beautifull place.Thank you with much Aloha. We come again, maybe soon and Hope to See you again. Much Blessings Gerda

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Expect something different

    Expect something different

    • Guest Nik M.
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    It is a spacious place with a great terrace overlooking trees and the coast. During night you listen to sound of nature. If you are into spiritual designs and syncretic items you will love this place. However, the flat was not fully clean.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Magic

    Beautiful Magic

    • Guest world traveler (Old Lyme, Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 10/19/13
    • Review Submitted 10/28/13
    I loved waking up in the morning in this sweet smelling paradise, the sound of the birds also waking up made me feel very close to nature. Of course papayas and coffee on the large lanai before the short drive to a wonderful snorkling spot and later, lunch at one of the many delicious local restaurants. By nightfall I was ready to spend some time indoors with my yoga mat, artbooks and music then to sleep again under the stars in on the spacious sleeping porch.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • a place with spirit

    a place with spirit

    • Guest Sylvie (Switzerland)
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/01/13
    Mapulani is a cosy place with a beautiful lanai overviewing the trees and the ocean, but more than that it is a place that has some spirit. As soon as i reached there i loved it with this special feeling of being in a tree house. I staid there twice 6 weeks and i will love to come again. It is a magical place that keeps the heart open and joy flowing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Convenient and charming

    Convenient and charming

    • Guest Madeleine E. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/28/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    Thank you for this lovely place. What a wonderful feeling when I walked in! It is cozy, warm, and brings feelings of peace and happiness. I loved the flowering plants and trees and the views from the deck are incredible. Very calm and serene place. And I loved that it is so close to my favorite snorkeling spot. Mahalo. I'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Not as aspected. Nice apartment, but noisy surroundings.

    Not as aspected. Nice apartment, but noisy surroundings.

    • Guest Dolfijn (Nederland)
    • Date of stay 12/30/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    Aloha, I spend 4 weeks in the apartment. The reason I chose for the place was that it mentions that the place is located in a peaceful place. Well, the apartment lies on the top-floor of a three-storey building. I didn’t know that, you cannot see that on the pictures. All together you live in this building with 4 other tenants, who live here permanently. The bedroom is at the front from the house and the kitchens from the neighbors below you are also. So, many times you can enjoy the smell of their food, in the bedroom and your living room. The walls are very thin and you can hear the other tenants doing the dishes and talk on the phone and enjoy their music. Around the apartment are also houses and from there you have enough entertainment occasionally. Then you have the sound of the road. Napoopoo Road is a road which can be quite busy. You hear the cars coming from far away. In the first two weeks of my stay it happened that there was the noise of very loud machinery. After the first two weeks it happened still occasionally. Especially tree cutting noise was again more often. So, if you want a “peaceful” place I would not recommend this. The apartment is great. It is very nice decorated, has a lot of space and a great view. At night you can watch the stars from your bed and in the morning you can see the sunrise and you can enjoy a beautiful sunset. So, if you ‘re okay with all I mentioned above, it is a great place to be. It is a 7 minute drive to Kealakekua Bay and about 15 minutes to Two Steps ( Honaunau ). And if you’re out all day, it is of course less disturbing. I know this is a very long review, but I feel I had to mention those things, because I am sure there are people out there like me who like to know the pros and cons of this place. I will not return here.

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Owner response: Aloha Maria, I am glad to hear that you thought the apartment was great, very spacious and well decorated. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the sunrise, sunsets and the views of the stars from the bedroom. I am sad to hear that you had other issues with the property and I wish that you would have contacted me and let me know at the time. I truly care about the experience of our guests and would always respond to any problems. The machinery noise was unfortunate, it is by no means something that happens very often. Occasionally, since we are in a rural area people in the surrounding properties do need to do some maintenance but normally this a very quiet area. At night there are virtually no cars on the road. I have never had this kind of complaint before so I was genuinely surprised at your review. I would be happy to discuss it further with you. Aloha, Sandia

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • magical garden haven

    Guest comment entered by owner

    magical garden haven

    • Guest Francine and Cynthis
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    There are no words to describe your wonderful place. What a start of our Big Island vacation. A wonderful view, sunrise and sunsets. The smell of the flowers and the island breeze. We ail be back soon.Mahalo for everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Magical Garden Haven!

    A Magical Garden Haven!

    • Guest JoanieMac (Del mar, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    Aloha! I have had the opportunity to stay at the Magical Garden Treehouse 8 times in the past four years! I wont stay anywhere else. It is off the beaten path, comfortable, clean, quiet and safe! It is close to Kealakekua Bay where the dolphins come most mornings and a great place to unwind after a fun filled day on the Big Island of Hawaii. If you are looking for peace, serenity and all the comforts of home in this casual,laid back environment then this is the place for you. I highly recommend this sacred haven! I will be returning for my 9th visit this April! Yes! Blessings and much Aloha! JoanieMac .

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Garden Haven

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Garden Haven

    • Guest Jasmine
    • Date of stay 12/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    Thank you for this incredible experience. I love the place, every corner is so beautiful! The bed is so comfortable and the view is amazing. I'll recommend it to all my friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical garden haven

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Magical garden haven

    • Guest Joel
    • Date of stay 11/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/09/13
    We've had the loveliest stay here in your beautiful space, Sandia. Thank you so much for having us. The deck,swings and views are incredible-reminds me of lazy summer mornings sitting on swings with my grandmother. Waking up to the sun rising over the mountain with all the gorgeous flora and fauna around can't be topped. We will certainly miss this place from our apartment in S.F. Hope to visit again sooner than later. Sincere gratitude.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A home away from home in paradise

    A home away from home in paradise

    • Guest Sunset Morning (Medford ,Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    A real Hawaii experience.... If your looking to actually escape and have the hustle and bustle, catch your breath in this lovely spot. Located almost exactly half way between the grocery store and the beach it's convenient and clean. Great Sunset and ocean views. The trip before I stayed here I spent a week at the Manago Hotel which is a great spot, but this was by far a more enjoyable stay. Nice kitchen, comfortable beds, good parking and best of all it really feels like a home, not some resort. Very Aloha!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Garden Haven

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Garden Haven

    • Guest John, Cecilia, Mark
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/04/13
    Look no further.... If you want solitude, peace and quiet. This is the right place. Thank you for a wonderful stay- A home away from home

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sweet!

    Sweet!

    • Guest jamil (san luis obispo, ca)
    • Date of stay 05/18/12
    • Review Submitted 06/03/12
    Wonderful, spacious, quiet artistic space amongst lush, tropical surroundings that all reminded me of Bali. Romantic atmosphere, warm and tastefully furnished with lots of artwork. I felt very much at home here.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very nice stay

    Very nice stay

    • Guest taro (Vancouver, Canada)
    • Date of stay 04/15/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    When we entered the apartment, we loved it. So cozy, beautiful, spacy, quiet, just very nice. We stayed 4 nights but we wish we could have stayed longer. Even it is so quiet and rustic feeling, it is very conviniently located, close to super market and many restaurants. If we come back to Big island, we will return there for sure.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely View

    Lovely View

    • Guest Ginger (Maui)
    • Date of stay 11/08/11
    • Review Submitted 11/15/11
    We loved our stay here at the Garden Haven! It was magical and comfortable,quiet and inviting for us throughout our stay! We felt at home here! Every morning up early to see the ocean view and watch the stars at night-we didn't want to leave! The location was perfect for our swimming adventures and kayaking! We will be back and we recommend it. The owner is so nice and helpful---what a deal!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • MAGICAL GARDEN AND TREEHOUSE HAVEN!!!!

    MAGICAL GARDEN AND TREEHOUSE HAVEN!!!!

    • Guest JoanieMac (Del mar, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/20/11
    Imagine returning home after a wild dolphin swim, to a magical, mystical, peaceful treehouse to unwind. This space is truly spectacular with a lanai that wraps around the entire front of the house with an ocean/sunset view!!!! You can literally lie in bed and watch the sunrise! Sandia is a fantastic host! Her place is immaculate, serene, comfortable with a unique style and presence of it's own. This will be my fourth stay in Sandias tropical treehouse hideaway in less than 2yrs! If you enjoy staying off the beaten path, desiring tranquility and surrounded by the harmonious melodies of nature----then this is the place for you. Blessings on your journey!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • peaceful haven

    peaceful haven

    • Guest Lisa (Austria)
    • Date of stay 10/29/11
    • Review Submitted 11/19/11
    Wonderful, serene and spacious haven amidst tropical trees, plants and flowers. Lovely artwork and furnishing. 10 minutes from a beautiful Hawaiian bay. Thank you - I have stayed here many times and will return many times.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Karin
    • Date of stay 03/03/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    Mahalo,dear Sandia. The magical garden haven is truly a place in our hearts. Everyday here is a present for us. We will never forget what Big Island has offered us. We hope we may come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ginny
    • Date of stay 02/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    Mahalo for sharing your most peaceful and beautiful sacred space. You have created a powerful healing vortex. Thank you for this gift and I hope to come back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Morgan
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    Third time here . What a wonderful peaceful space. Lulled to sleep by guitars and love songs and woken up by the sounds of nature.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Evelyn
    • Date of stay 12/01/10
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    Thank you so much for this wonderful space. I felt so much peace and space for myself to do whatever feels right for me. I received a feeling of just "to be". I'm sure its not the last time on Hawaii.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kirsten
    • Date of stay 02/05/10
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    We had a wonderful time ,snorkeling,whale watching, swimming with dolphins and having a quiet home base to rest in. We hope to come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]