Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Island Paradise front view with accessible ramp and basketball goal

A Vision of Elegant Vacation Paradise [#114860] | View Property

Avon
House, 8 Bedrooms + Office, 8.5 Baths (Sleeps 2-25)
$1,750 - $5,595/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (30)

Sort by:
  • Thank you for your wonderful hospitality

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you for your wonderful hospitality

    • Guest Creasy/Wright/Swett Families; Greenville, SC
    • Date of stay 05/11/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    Our dad celebrated his 86th birthday while we were on vacation. It was wonderful. It was so helpful to have the elevator for dad and for a family member recovering from a broken foot. The large floor plan allowed us to spread out and truly relax. The views from all the balconies were beautiful and relaxing. The Wright branch of our family lived just a few blocks away from 1960-1964 and it was wonderful to visit after so many years. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! 5 out of 5 stars.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love the house

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Love the house

    • Guest Bell family Vinton, VA
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    We love this house and will re-rent it in the future. 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Well Appionted home.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Well Appionted home.

    • Guest Harvey/Mehlbrech Beach Crew, Richmond, VA
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Well appointed home with a fantastic pool/pool area and amenities. Great for large group - enjoyed by kids and adults alike, with lots to do at the home. Huge rec room by hot tub/pool area made "hanging out" together easy, despite varied interested of folks in the group. Large kitchen and living area, nice sized bedrooms, plenty of deck space. Other than the internt signal leaving much to be desired, we loved is house. We are returning next year to Island Paradise. 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightful and most memorable vacation experience

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Delightful and most memorable vacation experience

    • Guest The Nevius family; Troy Ohio
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Our family ... had a delightful and most memorable vacation experience here at " Island Paradise." The large pool was fantastic! The location was great! We didn't mind the short drive to get to the beautiful beaches.The home is nicely furnished and has wonderful views...especially of the sunset! Everyone really enjoyed having their own private bathroom... and having an elevator was a huge help!! We would rent this home again. 4/5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Seriously, this is a very nice house...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Seriously, this is a very nice house...

    • Guest Beer - Fisher Vacation
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    No, it's not a new ocean sport, it is the gathering of the beer families; 2 from Cleveland and 2 from Pennsylvania and Fisher family from Monroeville, PA. Also uncle Mike joined us from Hamilton, OH. We found joy in this house. We laughed, we cried, and if you listen carefully, you might hear unce John's echoed yell when he trumped hs mother with the queen of hearts. The house was big enough that it seems like we didn't see the teenaged boys for days, but we all managed to eat dinner together every night. If the pool level seems low it could be from the annual "Family Cannonball". We displaced quite a bit of water. The wildlife was a bonus as we saw several deer, some racoons, several little green frogs, a snake, and the ice cream truck driver. Seriously, this is a very nice house and we had a great time. one recommendation, if you go to Ocracoke go early in the morning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family vacation...We will return

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great family vacation...We will return

    • Guest The Monahan's Alex, VA
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Again, great family vacation at Island Paradise! Your wonderful house accomodated all of our children and their families. pool was especially wonderful and all ages enjoyed the water sports and fun equipment in the lower level. We will return. Used the big conference room for puzzles!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a great time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had a great time!

    • Guest Purdy/Pichette; NY/PA
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    We had a great time. There were 20 of us and there was enough room for us to eat and spend time together and also big enough for us to get some personal space as well. The only complaint we had is that the handicapped bedroom and bathroom were not connected to each other - you had to exit the bedroom to get to the bathroom. Other than that it was fantastic and well equipped. We had a great time crabbing for blue crabs - we learned something new! Celebrated the 4th, one of the kids 5th birthday and treated our parents to a vacation for the 55th wedding anniversary. We were able to avoid gaining weight from all the delicious food by climbing the flights of stairs over and over! 5/5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • not well equipt

    not well equipt

    • Guest carolina girl (western pa)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    location of house was good but house was not very well equipt not enough silverware kitchen is to small for large groups electrical problem in one of the bedrooms had to go to local hardware to by mixer as the one at house was broken cable tv issues had to spend time contacting cable provider to much light in liningroom to watch tv parking was interesting not much room when you have four large suv s in the driveway basketball goal was broken. WHEN YOU PAY FOR PRIME SEASON YOU EXPECT PRIME SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HAVE NOT RECIEVED SECURITY DEPOSIT YET WONDERING WHY AS HOUSE WAS LEFT IN MINT CONDITION PROBALLY CLEANER THAN ARRIVAL TEN YEARS VACATIONING AT THE OBX WITHOUT A PROBLEM NOT VERY SATISFIED.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with young children.

    Owner response: We usually stock the house at the beginning of each season, including adding/updating silverware, dinnerware, glasses, pots and pans as needed. However, as the season progresses, some items either get lost, damaged, broken, or misplaced (ex. kids throwing silverware away with food). But we have a rental management company available to replenish any shortages. Unfortunately, we could not make the kitchen any bigger logistically. But we believe it is adequate for the size of the house and larger than many houses of similar size in the area. Our rental mangement company is available and ready to assist in resolving any problems, including cable, electrical, equipment, etc. We also have a maintenance person available. We encourage all our guests to call for assistance instead of spending their valuable vacation time trying to resolve issues. The lighting issue can be rectified by closing the blinds, or turning off some of the lights. The house was built with a lot of windows to allow great view of the area even when inside. We were at the house in August and the driveway comfortably accomodated 2 10-passenger Sprinter vans, a Ford Explorer SUV, and a Toyota Tundra full size pick up truck with some space left. With regard to the broken basketball goal, we did not hear from other guests that it was broken and did not see it broken when we were there in August. But our rental managers and maintenance person are always on hand to assist and repair any damages. It takes a minimum of 45 days after you check out for the rental management company to return SD, provided there was no significant damage to the house. FYI, we will eliminate the need for Sd in 2012. We try our best to rectify all the issues as quikly as possible. We encourage our guests to promptly report issues to our rental management company. We will continue to strive to provide the best positive experience to all our future guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This home is perfect...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This home is perfect...

    • Guest Anderson family, Winchester, VA
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    this home is perfect for a large family expecially with little kids, lots to do and close to the beach. 4/5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great family vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great family vacation

    • Guest The Pichettes/Purdy's upstate NY/PA
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Great family vacation to celebrate parents 55th anniversary. Sammy turned 5 & celebrated 4th of July. 19 family members- lots of food, drink + fun! The many treks up + down the stairs helped keep off pounds that would've been gained otherwise. thighs & calves are now firm. Loved the house - couldn't have asked for a better place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic and WELL EQUIPPED

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fantastic and WELL EQUIPPED

    • Guest kIm
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Purdy/Pichette; NY/PA 2011-07-09 We had a great time. There were 20 of us and there was enough room for us to eat and spend time together and also big enough for us to get some personal space as well. The only complaint we had is that the handicapped bedroom and bathroom were not connected to each other - you had to exit the bedroom to get to the bathroom. Other than that it was fantastic and well equipped. We had a great time crabbing for blue crabs - we learned something new! Celebrated the 4th, one of the kids 5th birthday and treated our parents to a vacation for the 55th wedding anniversary. We were able to avoid gaining weight from all the delicious food by climbing the flights of stairs over and over! 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Location and views galore!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Location and views galore!

    • Guest Susinskas family; Pennsylvania
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    Island Paradise is a very large spacious home that can accommodate a large family group. Even with a large group, you never feel crowded! Pleanty of areas within the home to call your own. the views from the top decks have to be one of the best on the Island, breathtaking to say the least. the home is in a great location for biking, exercise, walking, etc... nice quiet neighborhood. i usually come to Hatteras twice a year and this was my 24th year vacationing in Hatteras. I rarely stay at the same home twice. I would rank this home on my top five out of almost forty plus homes I've stayed. Location...Location and views galore! 5/5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for large family

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect for large family

    • Guest Anderson
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Anderson Family Winchester, VA 2011-07-02 this home is perfect for a large family especially with little kids, lots to do and close to the beach. 4/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest review left at the house

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Guest review left at the house

    • Guest aspel
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    This week has been great, this house's amazing. It held 4 families plus kids! Beach everyday plus sunburn! As soon as I get back I'm going to basic training! Had a great time wish I had this house

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Large Spacious home for large family group

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Large Spacious home for large family group

    • Guest Susinskas
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Susinskas family; Pennsylvania 2011-06-25 Island Paradise is a very large spacious home that can accommodate a large family group. Even with a large group, you never feel crowded! Plenty of areas within the home to call your own. The views from the top decks have to be one of the best on the Island, breathtaking to say the least. The home is in a great location for biking, excersise, walking etc... Nice quiet neighboorhood. I usually come to Hatteras twice a year and this was my 24th year vacationing in Hatteras. I rarely stay at the same home twice. I would rank this home on my top five out of almost fourty plus homes I've stayed in. Location...Location and views galore

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place to relax

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great place to relax

    • Guest Arlene D. Keyport, NJ
    • Date of stay 05/14/11
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    I stayed in Island Paradise for 2 weeks last year and this year we are staying 3 weeks! It is a great place to relax and play with family and friends! 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely fabulous!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Absolutely fabulous!

    • Guest Durham
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Durham Family, Four Oaks, NC 11/27/2010 This home is absolutely fabulous! The views are spectacular. Even in November, we found ourselves drawn to the decks. The kitchen was great--well furnished with generously sized pots and pans. Bedrooms/Baths were very spacious. We would certainly rent this home again. 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great House!

    • Guest Bell
    • Date of stay 09/18/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Bell Family; Vinton Va 09/25/2010 Great house. 2nd time stayting there. Rent this house!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved home and pool

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Loved home and pool

    • Guest Monahans
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Monahans, Alexandria, Va. 08/07/2010 Family with parents, 5 sibs and spouses and 9 grandchildren ages 22 months-14yrs loved this home and pool. All want to return for our annual beach week vacation. Wonderful rec area, comfortable beds, great views from decks. 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Island Paradise is Paradise

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Island Paradise is Paradise

    • Guest Steinmetz
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Steinmetz Family, Eau Claire, WI 07/24/2010 Island Paradise is exactly that - Paradise! Our entire family (all 21 of us) spent a week here in July of 2010. The house met our needs in every aspect. Large enough to be together or spaces for alone time. The pool/hot tub were large enough for 11 grandchildren to enjoy from ages 2 to 19. The game room kept the children entertained when they reached exhaustion level (all though there are rated M X-box games) from the pool & the ocean. We had an amazing time and would recommend this house to anyone! The area beaches were wonderful. We particularly loved one of the beaches in Hatteras but also enjoyed watching the dolphins jumping all afternoon at the Avon Pier. 5/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely Property

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lovely Property

    • Guest Lyons
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Lyons Family; Frisco, TX 07/17/2010 This is an absolutely lovely property which was perfect for our small family reunion of 17. The kids enjoyed having their own bunk room to share and the game room provided hours of entertainment, in addition to the spacious pool. Easy access to the beach is provided at the oceanside Club Hatteras pool, and is only minutes away by car. The elevator was essential for one of our disabled family members, and made it easy to move luggage and groceries. Great kitchen and dining space. Outstanding views from every deck, and surprising abundance of wildlife including deer, foxes, geese, herons, crabs, etc., and fantastic choral performances provided nightly by the frogs! Island Paradise is a great place to stay and has made our Outer Banks vacation a most memorable one!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Love basement, pool and location

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Love basement, pool and location

    • Guest Cory
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    cory fleming 07/12/2010 i love the base ment and the pool and the location. 5/5.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful home! Awesome setting!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful home! Awesome setting!!

    • Guest Cindy
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    05/23/2010 The view from this house is the BEST there is in Avon. The pictures do not do this house justice. An absolutely beautiful home in an awesome setting. 5 of 5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Home

    • Guest Mike.
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Mike, Alexandria, VA. 01/01/2010 5/5 Great home. Enjoyed my stay for the second year and will return next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Outstanding

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Outstanding

    • Guest Foster
    • Date of stay 01/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Foster Famly, West Chester, PA 01/01/2010 This vacation home is outstanding!! If you want to have a great family get-away, Island Paradise is the place for you. The home provides everything that you need to enjoy your vacation. Just bring yourselves and enjoy what it has to offer. 5 of 5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good house for a large number of people

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Good house for a large number of people

    • Guest Zimmerman
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Zimmerman family and friends. Penna. 12/12/2009 Good house for a large number of people. This the second time we booked it for December fishing trips with the family men. 3/5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exceeded Expectations

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Exceeded Expectations

    • Guest Kroeger
    • Date of stay 07/18/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    The Kroeger, Cincinnati, OH 01/01/2010 The Island Paradise house exceeded all our expectations. We would recommend this house to anyone. It was beautiful. You could see the sound and the ocean from almost every deck. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have experienced. 5 out of 5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great House for a Large Group

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great House for a Large Group

    • Guest Jim
    • Date of stay 07/04/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Jim, MA 20090425 4 out of 5 Great house for a large family (group). The bedrooms and bath are all very nice, with quality furnishings. The kitchen is large, but fairly basic. The large pool and gas grill is fantastic. The house is 2/3 of the way down Silver Sands Court, toward the end of the cul de sac. It's not too far of a walk to the windsurfing/kiteboarding launch, until you forget something at the house and need to walk back for it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly recommend

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Highly recommend

    • Guest Shondel
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    The Shondel 01/01/2010 Loved the house; it had everything we wanted and needed. We had a wide age range in our group and the house provided enough space and activities for everyone. We highly recommend and will rent this home again! 5 out of 5

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Home

    • Guest Mike S.
    • Date of stay 05/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/04/11
    Mike, Alexandria, VA. 01/01/2010 Great home. Enjoyed my stay for the second year and will return next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]