Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunrise @ Lummi Island; 120 feet of waterfront

Private Beach Home at Water's Edge--Enjoy! [#116655] | View Property

Lummi Island
House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$190 - $295/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • A Great Group Destination

    A Great Group Destination

    • Guest Karen M.
    • Date of stay 11/28/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    My friends and I have been renting cabins for Thanksgiving weekend around the Pacific Northwest for 10 years now and this is by far one of the best! We had a group of 7 and the accommodations were very spacious and comfortable for a large group. The pictures on Verbo don't do this beautiful getaway justice! The owners were also very accommodating and easy to work with and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking gear for an extravagant meal. We would definitely return! Thank you Sunrise!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: You left a copy of your Thanksgiving Menu behind and Mel and I knew we had some gourmet cooks. We make an effort to have what our guests need and are close enough to quickly provide it--whether something in the kitchen or extra linens. Thank you for your review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • from Portland

    from Portland

    • Guest Mare (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/06/13
    we really enjoyed the home, the island experience, the generosity of the owners, the view--there was just the right amount of walking and resting. we would return in a minute. we stayed for 4 days which was perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: ...and we hope that you will come again. Dry dock is a favorite time of mine--quieter and more relaxing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful and comfortable vacation house for our young family!

    Wonderful and comfortable vacation house for our young family!

    • Guest Ben H. (Vancouver, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 10/04/13
    We absolutely loved our stay here -- being "off the beaten track" for a week was perfect for our family to reconnect and relax. Our kids (ages 4 years and 18 months) had a great time exploring the tidepools and the beach and my husband and I enjoyed the breathtaking views! Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to get away from it all and relax.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you. September is a beautiful month and the ferry maintenance schedule providing a "passenger-only ferry" didn't slow your family down. We hope that you can come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great getaway

    Great getaway

    • Guest Betty M.
    • Date of stay 07/29/13
    • Review Submitted 09/27/13
    We were here for three great nights with our two young kids and a family friend and her two young kids. The kids loved getting up every morning and exploring the beach. They could go looking for crabs all day long. Every day we went to the cafe under the Willows Inn for great coffee and snacks. The house itself is fantastic and very comfortable. You can tell a lot of great memories have been created there. We would love to go back. Getting to Lummi was very easy as well.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Betty. All kids love the beach and what lives there. My grandson loves the crabs and the starfish. We hope that you will come again to our special place on Lummi Island. Louise

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nature and Comfort - Finely Served at Water's Edge

    Nature and Comfort - Finely Served at Water's Edge

    • Guest Marianna (Surrey, B.C.)
    • Date of stay 07/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/06/13
    We spent a rejuvenating 3 nights at your beautiful, well-equipped beach-front property. Upon first entering, all you heard from all 8 of us, was a chorus of "Ooo's" and "Ahhh's". You have done an excellent job of decorating, incorporating the modern with the antique; part of the fun was uncovering your interesting pieces of art. There was more than enough room so that, like the tide, we could come together, and go apart, without ever feeling like we were tripping over one another. This is a place to love - clean, comfortable, quiet and restful. It's a quick, easy get-away from the Vancouver area. We had great fish and chips at the Beach Store Cafe! Almost worth a drive in and of itself! Thanks for opening your doors and your hearts to share this fabulous property (and history) with the public!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you. We are always so pleased when our guests share their experiences at our family retreat. There is lots of history. My grandparents built Sunrise and we did some remodeling when we became the owners. Our family loves this special spot on Lummi Island, and we are pleased to share it with you. We hope that you can come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Getaway Weekend! Relaxing and restorative

    Perfect Getaway Weekend! Relaxing and restorative

    • Guest Val B.
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 06/20/13
    Your beautiful waterfront home provided the perfect retreat for three sisters and a teenage daughter/niece who all needed some time together away from the world. From the moment we got off the ferry we knew we were in a special place and started to relax. We were greeted cheerfully by Louise who answered all our questions. A beautiful bouquet of flowers from your lovely garden provided a welcoming touch as we entered the house. The house and location are even better than what we imagined from the photos. Everything was spotless and well-maintained. We slept very well in the comfortable beds and quiet country air, only the sound of the waves lapping the shore lulled us to sleep. We enjoyed the Saturday market, exploring the beaches and reading/napping in the sun.Your well-equpped kitchen allowed us to cook and enjoy several memorable meals together. We enjoyed S'mores by the fire pit as we watched the fireworks from the Stommish celebration. And, as you know, we completely lost track of time, spending our last morning relaxing on the beach and before we knew it, it was time to return to the real world! We will be back as soon as we can for as long as we can. Thanks for the lovely long weekend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. Do come again! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay--it is our favorite place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Magical Place......................

    A Magical Place......................

    • Guest Denise (Langley, BC)
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/21/13
    This was hands down; the most wonderful family holiday we have ever had! Lummi Island and the Sunrise house were simply fantastic and my two young boys had tears in their eyes when we had to leave. I don't even know how to describe the magic that can happen when everyone lets go of their schedules and electronics and really focuses on eachother and their surroundings. We spent our time beachcombing and skipping stones; playing soccer in the yard, having laughs around the fire, hiking some of the trails on the island, and simply enjoying our time together and slowing down the pace. The house had everything we needed and it was great to go to a place that accomodated our young children; with baby gates, highchair and playpen already there and a safe environment for them to explore.We hope to make Lummi Island our annual May long weekend destination! Thank you so much for giving us this very special moment together,

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Sunrise. Your boys shared in the same experience my kids and grandson had at the beach and me too. It is a magical place! ...starfish, crabs to catch under the rocks, smores, walks on the beach....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mother - Daughter vacation

    Mother - Daughter vacation

    • Guest Liz (Spokane)
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/09/13
    We spent a wonderful relaxing week in your house. View was spectacular and set-up of the house was perfect for us. Kitchen was extremely well stocked for any type of dinner we wanted to make. We all hope that we may return. Took some great pictures of Mt. Baker sunrises. Mel & Louise made sure that we had everything we needed. Saw eagles everyday. No whales but did not expect to see any at that time of year. If you want beauty, quiet and comfort, this is the place for you to vacation. Liz & daughters

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review of your stay at Sunrise. How wonderful to spend time away with your grown daughters. We are glad you found a special place here. We also hope that you can come again. Louise and Mel

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what the doctor ordered

    Just what the doctor ordered

    • Guest Huge (Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/02/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/13
    The pictures we had looked at online prior to booking Sunrise do not do it justice! The decor of the home, the water view, the walks in the forest all combined to make it an unforgettable experience. Of course the blues skies during the day and moonlight across the water at night didn't hurt either. We really appreciated that Mel & Louise came by shortly after our arrival to introduce themselves and ensure that we were happily settled in.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We saw you walking the road with your dogs--taking advantage of every opportunity to enjoy the Island.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Beachfront Home

    Perfect Beachfront Home

    • Guest Ben (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/10/13
    After two visits to Sunrise, my family has determined that this home is our regular retreat from our busy, fast-paced lives in the city. Our first visit in Spring 2012 found us playing in the yard and combing beach for clams & starfish with our toddler during the day and sitting for hours on the deck or by the fire pit at night, sipping wine while enjoying the beauty and tranquility of Hale Passage. The house was so great that we booked the property again for the New Year's holiday with additional family. The second visit gave us a beautiful light snowfall, breathtaking sunrises, and stunning views of Mt. Baker and Cascade mountain range. It was the perfect way to ring in 2013. The property itself is a hidden gem of the San Juan Islands. As others have written, the property is a piece of the owners' family history, and their pride in it shows in the property's high-end finishes, beautiful landscaping, meticulous cleanliness, and many "homey" comforts. It is open and spacious, yet cozy; extremely comfortable; perfect for either a romantic getaway or a large family gathering; and in general, extraordinarily relaxing. Additionally, the owners Louise & Mel Kolstad are genuinely nice people. They are wonderfully pleasant and are easily accessible to make sure that your stay at Sunrise is enjoyable and memorable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review; it made Mel and me feel good about what we do to keep Sunrise up to our standards. We have shared your experiences as has our family. It is our favorite place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Uncomparable view, beautiful and spacious home

    Uncomparable view, beautiful and spacious home

    • Guest Paola (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/31/12
    For the last 13 years, my family has vacationed with dear friends in locations across Washington and British Columbia. Sunrise was -- by far -- the most comfortable and beautiful place we have ever stayed. The view is indescribable -- we joked that having Mt. Baker in the distance and the water out front with the sailboats and tugboats going by was like a painting! My husband and I woke up to see sunrise and it was stunning -- the sun came up behind the mountain amidst the sounds of herons and other birds at the shore. It made for an exquisitely tranquil beginning to the day. A note for groups: sometimes they tell you that a home will sleep a certain number and you get there and it is disappointingly cramped. Not so here. Our group numbered eight (and a dog!). We easily fit around the dining table and there was a bed for everyone. The house also features two balconies, a yard, a fire circle seating area, and an extensive area of private waterfront beach. You will not feel cramped here as you sit and read or play. The photos are great but they cannot do this home justice. The owner was communicative from the very beginning. The rental process was very smooth and efficient. The house has been in her family for five generations and that is evident in the personality of the home (lots of family pictures) and in its care. It is beautifully appointed, impeccably clean and comfortable. The yard and beach area are fantastic! They have provided lots of information about what to do on the Island. They live right across the street and are very available. I pondered not writing a review so that we can selfishly keep this gem to ourselves. Ha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: You sound like family--everything that you mentioned is what we love about Sunrise. It was built by my grandparents in 1945 with some remodeling since. It is a perfect place for those who are daily in the "fast lane" to relax, hear the eagles and sea birds, absorb the sights and smells of the beach and tides, to unwind. Thank you for your review.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • College Grad week w/Family

    College Grad week w/Family

    • Guest nwnut (Bothell, WA Snohomish County)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    We wanted a home and not just a bunch of hotel rooms for our family to come together and celebrate our Daughters WWU graduation. We found sunrise on-line and contacted Louise about coming for a preview and fell in love with the cottage and the view! We signed our contact and paid our deposit rthat day and started making plans for our week @ LUMMI. Everyone was thrilled with the beach combing, ottors, heron, eagles that visited us daily but the best part was when we got a call from Louise telling us there was a Orca sighting on the other side of the island and off we went. We not only got to see the Orcas we got to chat with other Islanders and visiting Islanders about the wonder of Lummi Island thank You Louise and Mel Bonus: I've never seen such a well stock kitchen in a rental and the dishwather was an added bonus.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. If I hear there are Orcas, I try to contact our guests. Fortunately, you responded to the call. Lummi Island is a great place and Sunrise is our special retreat that we are pleased to share.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Most wonderful getaway

    Most wonderful getaway

    • Guest Brynn C.
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 02/26/12
    We had the most wonderful getaway at this house. It is literally on the beach, on sweet little Lummi Island. The house is big and open and light filled. There is a water view everywhere you look. It was immaculate and so well organized. The beds were so comfortable. There is a huge tub in the upstairs bathroom looking out over the water. There are 3 bedrooms, all with Queens, and a loft room with bunk beds. We were 3 Moms and 5 kids under 10, and it was great for us. The owners are so attentive and quick with correspondence. Can't wait to go back.

    Owner response: Thank you; we hope that you will return soon. We are especially pleased to share our special spot on Lummi Island with those who love the beach and salty air. Kids love the beach--and that's where yours were when we met.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Views, Beautiful People

    Beautiful Views, Beautiful People

    • Guest melissa (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 01/08/12
    Mel and Louise, Thanks for sharing your wonderful home with us. We had such a relaxing (well needed) weekend. We rang in the new year w/ beautiful scenery, caught up on sleep and went for a lovely walk. Both of our sunrises were spectacular—breathtaking! Got to spend our morning watching the heron sit and ponder. We will be back. Thank you Thank you. The listing description was accurate , you actually are more surprised when you get there by its beauty. The property was clean and extremely well maintained. The owners were very helpful in answering questions and concerns. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives (already have) and would recommend taking hikes around the friendly island (everyone waves to you!)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. Each season brings a new "beauty." The trail hikes are wonderful. I especially enjoy riding my bike around the 7 miles of road with mostly water views--absolutely beautiful! My very favorite is walking the beach looking for shells, beach glass and agates. We hope that you will come again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Tranquil waterfront setting with superb view

    Tranquil waterfront setting with superb view

    • Guest Annie (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/02/12
    Very clean and comfortable cottage on the water, thoughtfully outfitted with everything we needed for a relaxing weekend over the winter holidays. We loved the soaking tub with a panoramic view of the bay, and the cozy gas fireplace. The photos are accurate: it's a lovely spot. The owners are friendly and helpful. Our family enjoyed exploring the island and the hike we took, even in drizzly weather. Be sure to wake up in time for the spectacular sunrises!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. We feel good about sharing our beach home when our guests enjoy it as you have.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thanksgiving Retreat

    Thanksgiving Retreat

    • Guest Mare (Maple Valley, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 12/15/11
    We spent 4 wonderful nights here for our Thanksgiving weekend with our 2 sons, daughter-in-laws, grandson, and 2 dogs. The home worked out perfectly for us - plenty of room, very warm, up-to-date appliances, and windows everywhere to enjoy the view of the water and cascades with Mt. Baker peeking out every once in awhile. The owners are very nice and helpful. They even supplied a roasting pan and meat thermometer for our turkey. We were lucky to be here for a minus tide and were outside on the beach every night with flashlights to observe the various sea life. One night my son and I walked all the way to the ferry dock and back. The island has a lot to offer, we hiked up a mountain, through a preserve, along the Church beach, spent one evening at the cafe to hear some local musicians, and visited the glass and pottery studios. This is a wonderful home to spend a vacation with your family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review and your willingness to send it two times so it would be posted. Your family took good advantage of all your time here. In the winter we try to get out on the low tide flats at night too--there is another at Christmas. Come back--it is wonderful in the summer too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stunning views, peaceful retreat

    Stunning views, peaceful retreat

    • Guest Lissybell (Graham, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/23/11
    My family and I stayed at this lovely Lummi Island home for a week. The home was clean and had a well-equipped kitchen and new appliances. Lovely grounds with flowers. The Mt. Baker views were beautiful. The trails and nature walks were peaceful and quiet. The owners even lent us a couple of bicycles. The Beach Store Cafe/Restaurant in town had good food and great atmosphere. The beaches are not great for dog walking as they are rocky, but you can look for shells and rocks, and do some crabbing (crab pots supplied on the property as well). The people on the Island are super friendly and helpful. Many artists here on the Island as well. If you enjoy nature, art, peace and quiet and views that make you sigh with sunrises that are exquisite, you won't go wrong with this beach home. The owners even brought us cookies and clean towels when needed. We had a blast here and would definitely consider staying at this home again. We would recommend this home to anyone.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our special place on Lummi Island. You took advantage of what our Island offers. We do hope you will come again. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Complete Relaxation

    Complete Relaxation

    • Guest Tim & Shelley (Walla Walla,WA)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/13/11
    Incredibly relaxing place to stay. Enjoyed the beach/tide flats (picked some clams) and the fire pit (made s'mores several times). The house is full of light, well-equipped and definitely adds to the feeling of relaxation that comes with Lummi Island. The fridge is huge, the tub upstairs was a delight. We ate dinner on the deck every night. Super home, highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review. You didn't even mention the kayaks. We hope that you can come again to enjoy the beach and the bounty of the tide flat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Special Place

    Special Place

    • Guest rich (Lake Oswego, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 07/06/11
    This is a special place for us so this could be considered a biased review. 50+ years ago my wife Nancy and I spent part of our honeymoon here. At that time, it was a basic, primitive one room cabin that my grandparents had built for a summer place. I had spent parts of several summers here as a youngster with my grandparents and cousins and wished that I lived closer so that I could visit more often. This year (June, 2011) we were fortunate to return with 3 other couples we have known for most of those 50+ years and we had a fabulous time. Sunrise is no longer a primitive cabin. My cousin Louise and her husband Mel have transformed that cabin to a “Street of Dreams” quality home. First class appliances, cabinets and beautiful tile floors. Unsurpassed views through surround windows and we didn’t have to light a kerosene lantern. This is a paradise without palm trees and well worth a visit. Rich and Nancy Dorr Lake Oswego Oregon

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: Thanks, Rich. Grandma and Grandpa Sargent would be so pleased that you came and brought your friends. We're pleased too. Come again and bring your buddies too. Mel and I spent part of our honeymoon here too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect family get away!

    The perfect family get away!

    • Guest Phil (Duvall, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/16/11
    Our family visited Sunrise for a weekend getaway and it was the perfect place for us. Incredible views, right on the water, extremely quiet. There was plenty of space for our whole family and even our small dog. Lummi Island is great too- their is a small grocery store and everyone is super friendly. I brought my bike and had a great ride around the island, and the owners even offered to let us borrow their bikes which was extremely nice. I would highly recommend Sunrise to anyone- I we already have to many of our friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Phil. We are so close to Seattle and Vancouver, BC, that we get a number of guests wanting an easy-accessible get-away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Sunrise is nestled in a beautiful location and we were glad to share it with you and your family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Getaway for Re-Connecting to What Really Matters

    The Perfect Getaway for Re-Connecting to What Really Matters

    • Guest Diane (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 10/13/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/10
    This is a special retreat for the soul. A chance to replenish, relax and be in touch with yourself, your family and the gifts of nature. To awaken each day to the sun rise over Mt Baker from the upper deck with your morning coffee was a start to a perfect day. We saw eagles fly over within 15 feet of us, the majestic herons, deer, loons, and the daily run of the otters on their search for food and again towards dusk on their way home! The house has every amenity and then some with yummy throw blankets for warmth, a bathtub for two that faced the lights of Bellingham and Hale Passage, and an outdoor firepit with wood while you watch the moon rise over the water. All of the Islanders that we met were great people - generous, unpretentious and welcoming. The Whatcom Chief ferry delivers you to a slice of heaven away from the maddening crowd! Truly, we felt cleansed and peaceful and well taken care of by Mel and Louise. We are committed to returning to Lummi Island and to this very spot. Diane and David

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are pleased that we can share a beautiful slice of life on Lummi Island with you. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful water views!!

    Wonderful water views!!

    • Guest Jacquey (Calgary,AB Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 10/23/10
    Returned for a second year. Love the location. Could sit & watch the water all day long!The house is very warm & inviting.its well equipped with a BBQ outside the door..Loved the ability to more or less live on the main floor. Weather wasn't warm enough to spend time on the deck though it was nice to sit in the sun by the water one day. It was October after all!!! Very helpful owners who obviously love their area!! Thanks again for a great visit!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your review, Jacquey I'm glad you liked the downstairs bedroom; it has a good view of the water. I missed seeing you this year, but next year I should be more mobile. We hope we will see you then.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • WOW! and then some.

    WOW! and then some.

    • Guest Karen (Vancouver)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/05/10
    The panoramic views of the water were so relaxing and the fact that everything seemed so private made us feel like we were on a deserted island. It was exactly what we were all looking for in our much needed break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life in the city. The house was so warm and comfortable -- we loved looking at the pictures and reading about the house's history. The attention to detail to help make our stay more enjoyable was very evident as was someone's very obvious eye for colour and decor. Soaking in the tub while watching marine wildlife in the water was truly amazing -- and stepping out onto warm ceramic tiles spoiled us even more. From BBQ'ing on the wraparound deck to having a fire in the firepit at the water's edge, every activity gave us an opportunity to soak in nature's beauty around us -- the bald eagles soaring above, the otters frollicking in the ocean, the deer by the roadside -- everything was so, so perfect. We are really looking forward to being able to visit again -- we have found our own version of paradise. Sincerely, Karen from Vancouver

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you, Karen. We are so pleased you enjoyed our special place. We hope that you will return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful place for a family retreat!

    Beautiful place for a family retreat!

    • Guest SC Parent (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 09/30/10
    We had a fantastic time at Sunrise. We were also very excited about the accessibility features of the home (level entrace from the garage to the main floor bedroom, kitchen, living room and deck) and hope to bring our parents there sometime. We enjoyed beautiful views and tasty fresh salmon. The gas grill is a great compliment and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking and dining items. While we were just two couples and one baby, it will very comfortably accommodate a much larger group (as the 3 bedrooms + one bunk bed will attest). Just like a weekend on Lummi should be!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! Sunrise is a special place and we hope you can come back and bring your parents.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Lummi Experience

    The Lummi Experience

    • Guest MT Visitors (Helena, MT)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/09/10
    We had only a short time--just 5 days, but it was great. Our hostess ordered good weather for us--but any kind of weather would have been acceptable! Gracious, friendly owners! Beautiful and peaceful home! What more could we ask of a vacation! We would not hesitate to stay here again. Only glitch: Car ferry was in drydock unexpectedly early, so had to hand carry everything with us on the ferry.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you. We do hope that you can come to Sunrise @ Lummi Island again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful!!!!

    Beautiful!!!!

    • Guest Oma (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    I came up with two of my grandchildren (ages 7 and 8) and had a fabulous time. We walked the beach and tide flats and picked up lots of "treasures." We will definitely come back. The view is spectacular, the house is clean and comfortable--a great place to relax and enjoy the beach.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We do hope you will return, and it is a great place for all ages.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Scott Dorr
    • Date of stay 07/19/09
    • Review Submitted 07/18/09
    By Scott Dorr and Family (Happy Valley, OR) What can I say? The setting is magnificent with seascapes, natural beauty, and abundant wildlife. Sunrise Cottage has everything you need for a vacation home, but most impressive are the windows that provide unsurpassed vistas to the North, East and South around the clock. If you like to relax or read, comb the beaches, explore Lummi Island, Watch for eagles and herons, walk the flats at minus low tides, search for crabs, roast marsh mellows, or just interact with family and friends, then this vacation spot is where you need to be! You and your kids will love it!! The owners, Mel and Louise, are very friendly and accommodating. It is evident they care about you and desire that you have a memorable vacation experience. Be sure to bring a camera.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Michele
    • Date of stay 06/05/09
    • Review Submitted 06/04/09
    This is the nicest rental property I've ever had. The house looks new, beautiful wooden walls, heated tile floors, luxurious bedding. The furnishings are very nice; not hand-me-downs, but purchased for the house including some great antiques. The kitchen is stocked with necessary items; sugar, salt, etc., and any utensil or pot you could need. The views are fantastic - water, mountains, eagles, birds galore. The Island is laid back. The garden is spectacular; I'm so jealous of the gorgeous flowers beds!! And to top it off, the owners are wonderful. I almost hate to write such a great review, I don't want this place to be booked forever, because we plan on going back as soon as we can. Thank you Louise and Mel, for providing such a lovely house for others to use. Michele--Morrow, OH

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Tom & Tammy (Deming Washington)
    • Date of stay 03/25/09
    • Review Submitted 03/25/09
    We had an AWESOMELY relaxing time at this neat little tucked away jewel by the water. The views were amazing and even though we picked a blustery time of year to go, we were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves crashing ever so sweetly on the shore. The greatest part is we were able to take our dogs along. They are like our children so it was special for us to have them come too. I think we all did a lot of sleeping! Thank you Louise and Mel for sharing this spectacular place with others. It has everything you need for a restful time away from the hubbub of bizzy life. We'll be back! Tom and Tammy

    Owner response: Thank you! We are pleased to read your comments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Carlanna (Kent, WA )
    • Date of stay 02/25/07
    • Review Submitted 02/24/07
    I first visited this home when I was 8 days old, I don't remember that trip, but in the 32 years since then, I have stayed many times. I spent my summer days there in my childhood and fell in love with it (as well as the owners :) and am happy to pass my love of Lummi onto my son - who is now 9. We both love the place! There is nothing better than walking the beach, relaxing on the deck, and spending time with family and friends. I promise you will love it as much as we do!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Owner
    • Date of stay 02/23/07
    • Review Submitted 02/22/07
    This is the second year we have made our special family beach retreat available to rent. We have had guests from all over the United States. Our children enjoyed swimming, water skiing, biking, and beach combing as they grew. My favorite biking is the 7-mile loop on the north end of the Island which follows the water with beautiful views. This is a place of wonderful family memories through four generations. We are pleased to share our family retreat with you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]