Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach

You sent a message to this owner.

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.


This property does not have a published calendar. Contact the owner for availability.

  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Avon By The Sea cottage description

This Victorian Seashore cottage has been standing 1000 ft. from the Atlantic Ocean since approx. 1880. It has all the modern amenities and was totally redecorated within the last 2 years. One of its most enjoyable features is the patio and side yard adjacent to the newly installed french doors of the dining room. The front porch is surrounded by lush plantings to give a cozy feeling while curled up with a book as the rest of the world passes by. The first floor has a bright living room (with TV and home theater system), a newly redone and well equipped kitchen (microwave oven, coffeemaker, etc.), a comfortable dining room with large french doors opening onto the side yard, and a full bath. Up the stairway is a very bright, roomy master bedroom (w/ king-size bed that can be separated into 2 searate twins), a half bath, a 2nd bedroom w/ double bed and a mid-bedroom with a captain's twin bed. There is also a large outdoor shower, a charcoal grill, washer/dryer, and air-conditioning.

This cottage has a homey, comfortable feeling, like the old seashore homes had in an earlier time. The little town of Avon is full of architectural gems and has a wonderfully old-fashioned boardwalk where people jog, stroll, or sit and watch the ocean from early morning until night but is not busy with commercial establishments or hustle and bustle. All forms of water sports (surfing, boating, and fishing) are available as are nearby golfing, tennis, live music, theater, and fine dining. In this family-oriented town the beach is white sand and very clean with an excellent surf. A pretty lake with swans defines one end of Avon while the Shark River defines the other end. It's a 5 block walk inland to town and minutes drive to larger shopping centers.

Property Type

  • Cottage
  • 650 sq. ft.

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental


      • Children Welcome
      • Pets Not Allowed
      • Non Smoking Only

      Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6

      Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bathroom


      • Radio
      • Satellite / Cable
      • Television
      • CD Player
      • Stereo
      • VCR
      • DVD Player


      • Family
      • Historic

      Leisure Activities

      • Horseback Riding
      • Walking
      • Antiquing

      Location Type

      • Near The Ocean
      • Beach

      sports and adventure activities

      • Swimming
      • Water Skiing
      • Sailing
      • Deepsea Fishing
      • Golf
      • Surfing
      • Roller Blading
      • Cycling
      • Tennis
      • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
      • Fishing
      • Wind-Surfing

      Arrival Day

          • Saturday


              • Dining Area


              • Washing Machine
              • Air Conditioning
              • Heating
              • Clothes Dryer
              • Iron & Board


              • Microwave
              • Oven
              • Refrigerator
              • Toaster
              • Freezer
              • Grill
              • Coffee Maker
              • Cooking Utensils


                  • Outdoor Grill


                  Write a review
                  • Perfect Vacation Spot

                    Perfect Vacation Spot

                    • Guest Amy Sara C. (Brooklyn, NY)
                    • Date of stay 08/14/13
                    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
                    We just got back from a four-night stay at this lovely beach house. It was our first house rental and was a delightful experience. The house is exactly as pictured: gorgeous landscaping outside and a cheerful decor inside. It is small—650 square feet—but well designed and worked well for our group of two adults and three children, ages 2, 3, and 9. The outdoor space off the kitchen helped make it more spacious. The location is perfect, just a block from the beach on a quiet street. The owners were quite accommodating. They left out some toddler toys since they knew we had kids, and were flexible with out check-in/check-out times and were always happy to answer questions. Although there is no parking included with the house, we had no trouble finding street parking, even in the middle of the day. The kitchen was fully equipped, and even had such extras as a basket of lobster picks and crackers. A very comfortable, pretty house that made for an ideal family vacation.

                    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Disappointed


                    • Guest Elaine D.
                    • Date of stay 07/30/11
                    • Review Submitted 09/17/11
                    Very misleading and a poor value for the cost. Very little provided- we were charged for electricity, internet access and we had to buy our own toilet paper. I have had better service in a cheap hotel by a highway and this was considerably more money than that. The location was great but overall the experience was disappointing.

                    Owner response: We had been unaware of this review until recently since we have always gotten such positive verbal reports on the property (for 12 years), so never thought to look at this section. It is quite a puzzling review because when we spoke to this individual while she was in the cottage, the response was entirely positive; they loved the place, the decor, the location, how clean it was, no problems or complaints at all. It was apparently a month later when she saw the electric charge ($13.05) that this burst of fury occurred but she chose not to contact us, complain, or ask for any resolution. It seems deeply sad and unfair that someone can smear another's unblemished reputation and not even mention any complaints so one has no chance to resolve this issue.. Further confusion results from the fact that all charges are reviewed and agreed to before the stay ( and in print in the contract that she signed). Again why wouldn't she have mentioned any objection at that time or when we called to find out how the stay was going? We could easily handle the very minimal electric charge by raising the rent of everyone by that amount but have resisted doing so because it seems unfair to charge everyone the same amount when some people leave the AC on with windows/doors open and others are so careful and considerate, so we go to the extra trouble of having the meter checked at beginning and end of each visit. Regarding the toilet paper and comparison to a cheap hotel. Well, a rental home is NOT a hotel (we also don't supply bed linens, towels, or room service) and since people are told what is supplied and what is not, this is the first time anyone EVER confused us with a hotel. Although most rental homes don't supply paper goods, I actually do make a point of leaving extras at the beginning of the season that I think would be helpful (i.e. dish soap, paper towels, scrubbies, clingwrap, toilet paper) but have no control of what is available or whether people replace it by late July when this person rented. Our cleaners do an excellent job but it would be unrealistic to expect them to do shopping during the Sat. change-over. So, I guess if someone wants to smear another without ever talking to them directly or, in fact, praises the place over the phone while here but writes something of this sort online, this lady has succeeded but I hope this explanation will allow people to decide if her complaints make any sense.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 19/21

                  $5000/month,  $1,600/wk (June)
                  $9800/month,  $2,800/wk (July) 
                  $9800/month,  $2,800/wk (August)
                  September 2009 and beyond - Contact us for rates

                  Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                  Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more

                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.



                  This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

                  • Nearest Airport: Newark at 45 Miles
                  • Nearest Beach: beach at 300 Metres

                  Owner info

                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english



                  • Cottage front porch and side yard with patio

                    Cottage front porch and side yard with patio

                  • View from dining area toward pation side yard

                    View from dining area toward pation side yard

                  • Living room

                    Living room

                  • View from front bedroom toward rear bedroom

                    View from front bedroom toward rear bedroom

                  • Frontal view of cottage with private  porch

                    Frontal view of cottage with private porch

                  • Patio off dining area

                    Patio off dining area

                  • Front bedroom, upstairs

                    Front bedroom, upstairs


                  2 Bedroom / 1.5 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 6

                  Contact owner for availability
                  Email owner

                  908 464-0486

                  Speaks: english
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

                  Get it now