Oceanfront-Pool-Jacuzzi-Wow! Half Price 2013 Sale! $250
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Hilo house description
A GREAT oceanfront home overlooking the Pacific on top of a bluff. The house is nicely appointed and decorated, full of unique art and books. The kitchen is large, well stocked and has seating for family meals. There is also a library, family room, dining room, and living room perfect for watching movies and entertaining.
There is plenty of outdoor space including a patio/lanai with more seating. There is a 15 foot by 30 foot pool and an eight person Jacuzzi. The outdoor shower is hooked up to 120 gallons of solar hot water. Two 42 inch televisions, high-speed internet access, and lots of kid things. This is a real family home and we welcome those who are looking for a great Hawaiian experience.
It is important for our guests to know what our home is and what it is not. It IS an oceanfront property on the Pacific which offers incredible views. Trade winds and ceiling fans are our cooling system rather than air conditioning. It is NOT a condominium or hotel. There are coqui frogs and on rare occasions, you may see the occasional pest common to the tropics. The house is situated on a 100 foot bluff which is entirely fenced in. Children could climb over it although our three, raised here from birth, never did. Surprisingly, we do not have mosquitoes yet screens are installed in all of the rooms. The salt spray may at times make the indoor environment feel damp. Please look at our reviews and be sure that what we offer is what you are looking for. We will answer all questions honestly and openly as we only want guests that will be comfortable in our home.
Honoli'i is a small area just three minutes outside of Hilo, the county seat for the Big Island of Hawaii. It is the most 'Hawaiian' of all of the larger towns in the State. East Hawaii is mainly an agricultural area with a lot of farming. Sugar has been replaced by exotic fruits, flowers, macadamia nuts, and coffee. If you are looking for a 'local' Hawaiian experience, this is the place!
There is a famous surfing spot with a black sand beach just three minutes from the house and Hilo has lots of local parks and spots for recreation. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kilauea Volcano are 40 minutes away and as of this writing the 20 year old eruptive phase shows no sign of ending. Mauna Kea, at 13,500 feet, is the world's foremost center for astronomy with more than ten of the world's largest telescopes.
Rain measures around 120 inches per year in Hilo so it is verdantly green and there are waterfalls everywhere. Lisha and I have lived all over the world yet have been here 23 years, much longer than anywhere else. It really is a fabulous place. We travel for adventure, relaxation, and to share the world's treasures with our children.
If you want to stay in or near Hilo, be sure to look at the location of the listings you are considering. Many that are listed under Hilo and North Hilo are actually in the Puna District and can be as far as a thirty to forty minute drive from town. Also, do read reviews and use them to give you clues about what might be important to you and also, what an owner has done to address or rectify any perceived shortcomings. Also remember that one disgruntled guest does not define a property.
- 1400 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered
- Clothing Optional/Nude Sunbathing Nearby
- Limited Accessibility
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Linens Provided
- Towels Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- Covered Parking
- Washing Machine
- Music Library:
- Video Library:
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
Pool & Spa
- Hot Tub
- Private Pool
- Deck / Patio
- Lawn / Garden
- Outdoor Grill
- Tourist Attractions
- Sports & Activities
Location & View
- Equestrian Events
- Mountain Biking
- Massage Therapist
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Medical Services
- Surf Fishing
- Pier Fishing
- Basketball Court
- Fitness Center
- Live Theater
- Botanical Garden
- Rain Forests
- Bird Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Scenic Drives
- Whale Watching
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Eco Tourism
ReviewsWrite a review
This house is amazing! We were in Hilo for my daughter's wedding and housed our family of six very comfortably. The decorating is eclectic and the perfect backdrop for my daughter's pre-wedding photos. The manager was very responsive when we had issues with the jacuzzi. The only negative, however, was our problem with rats. The owner was aware of this and responsive to our complaint. We let it go, however, because we took away too many positive memories to ruin it with that one issue. I gave it four stars because it is a one of a kind house in a great location! Sorry for the delayed review and thank you for sharing your house.
- Guest Susan (Fairbanks, AK)
- Date of stay 12/20/12
- Review Submitted 11/15/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Owner response: It's never too late for a review, Susan! Glad you had a good time and that the wedding went well. I'm glad Melanie and her team were able to address the issues. As you can see from the more recent responses I have made, we contracted with Terminex to eliminate the rodents while we were on homeleave this past summer. Hawaii being in the tropics means they are still out there, but hopefully very few and far between at 47 Honolii.... Have a great holiday season. Aloha, Brian
I would come back in a minute, perfect view you can sit for hours and enjoy watching cruise ships coming in and out, Dolphins dancing in front of you, relax, read a book. Eat breakfast as the sun comes up. Plenty of room, My husband and I were so lucky to have three of our grown children and a great friend from Arkansas join us, plus my niece and her husband live on the island and were able to visit daily. Had everything in the house we needed, went to the market, cooked and BBQ ever night. Close to the small town of Hilo, had a great day at the Market place on Saturday, everything you could want for. Hopefully we will be back soon. Thank you!
- Guest Robin R. (Upland,CA)
- Date of stay 10/10/13
- Review Submitted 10/18/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.
Owner response: You're welcome Robin. Thank you for taking the time to make such unabashed and complimentary statements about our family home. We are starting another winter in far away Germany and think of the view from our lanai almost every day. One of the things that keeps us going, in addition to great schools, excellent bratwurst, and being in the dead center of Europe for exploration, is that good people like you get to enjoy Hawaii nei. AlohaQ
One-Month Holiday on the Ocean
One-Month Holiday on the Ocean
My family and I had a wonderful, one-month stay at this four-bedroom home directly on the ocean. There were eight of us, six adults and two children (ages 9 and 5). It is a very comfortable home with plenty of seating in the living room, at the dinner table, in the kitchen for breakfast, on the back patio facing the ocean, and by the swimming pool. The pool is 35-feet long, big enough for play and swimming. Before we arrived, we were concerned about three things: First, we thought that the home might not be so nice as the photos. It's actually nicer. Second, we weren't sure if Hilo was the right location for a vacation on the Big Island. In fact, Hilo is a very beautiful area of this beautiful island and a good home base from which to venture to other attractions on the island. Highlights included touring the area by helicopter, zip-lining, kayaking, snorkeling, and diving to ocean bottom by submarine. Third, we thought the rain might diminish our enjoyment of the vacation. Not so. Although it rained just about daily, most of the rain was overnight, and the skies usually cleared by 8:00-10:00 each morning. In the 31 days we were in Hilo, there was only one bad-weather day. Only minor issues arose during our stay, and they were resolved promptly by those managing the property. I highly recommend this home, and we hope to return.
- Guest Barry (Shanghai, China)
- Date of stay 08/01/13
- Review Submitted 09/19/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Barry, you and your family were great guests. Staying for a month is always a test of how good a property is and it seems we did well! It was great meeting you when you arrived during one of our ten minute tropical downpours and a bit embarrassing that Randall and I were still fixing the dishwasher at the last moment! Happily, everything worked out well for you and while you were enjoying our home we had a great time in Kona during the last week of our home leave! Hope to see you somewhere in the World in the not to distant future. Mahalo! Brian and Family
We had a fantastic 4 night stay in this beautiful house. It is well equipped, spacious and has phenomenal views. The outdoor shower is fab - you have to use it, I never showered inside! The pool and spa were just perfect. The no security side of things took a while to get used to, especially when elsewhere in Hawaii, security is promoted by accommodation management, however we were sensible with our belongings and generally felt safe. If we were back in Hawaii, I would stay again.... for longer this time!
- Guest Nikki P.
- Date of stay 09/04/13
- Review Submitted 09/17/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Nikki Glad you had a great time albeit too short. I know it feels odd not having to lock everything up tight when you go out. Nonetheless it sounded like you grew to enjoy the security that exists in our little paradise. Please do come back and stay with us again. We love having return guests that know just what we have to offer. With fond Aloha, Brian
Perfectly romantic and amazing views
Perfectly romantic and amazing views
My husband and I rented this vacation home for our small and intimate wedding. It turned out to be an absolutely perfect setting. With around 40 people, including children and a hired caterer, it was just the right venue for our event. The house was fantastic with every corner of it being used for something...The kitchen was perfect for entertaining guests and the caterer even made use of the grill provided to cook some fabulous food for everyone. Everything we could have needed was available. The lanai was just right for wine/appetizer tables and even as a dance floor later that evening...The kids were able to make use of the pool and Jacuzzi and thoroughly enjoyed themselves as well... As preparations were being made the day before, I went to the house for the first time to make sure prior cleaning, etc would not be needed. To my amazement, Nothing needed to be done. I was thrilled!!!!! Bedroom accommodations were perfect for a peaceful and restful night and I Loved the showers!!!!!!! I would definitely recommend this home to friends and family and plan on returning next year for our anniversary.
- Guest newlyweds (foresthill, california)
- Date of stay 07/20/13
- Review Submitted 08/07/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing, girls getaway, age 55+, tourists without a car, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Although 47 Honolii is usually not available for weddings and other events, when asked by our dear friends David and Amber we couldn't refuse, especially because we were going to be home for the big day! It was indeed a fabulous, sunny, tropical perfect Hawaii day surpassed only by the beauty of the bride and the strength of the bond forged. We can't wait for the anniversary celebrations! Aloha! Brian, Lisha, Clarissa, Randall and Winston
Huge Disappointment- still not fixed, RUN!
Huge Disappointment- still not fixed, RUN!
Well, for one thing, it was very musty smelling and dirty. There were giant cockroaches, giant rats, tons of frogs- inside and outside. Several windows don't have screens (notably the bedroom off the carport and the living room with the TV), and some that are screened had holes or gaps. The rain gutters are falling off the house outside the master bedroom, so sleeping was nearly impossible (due to noise). The kitchen was filthy and greasy (everything has a sticky grease film on it, shelves, counters, walls), and the one and only frying pan, cookie sheet and sauce pan to be used were all really old, rusty, and dirty. Very few kitchen utensils- but what were we supposed to do- go buy a spatula, fry pan and a cookie sheet for three days? The pool is years overdue for maintenance- just look at the pool deck and plaster! Oh, no skimmer in pool, maybe that's why the water is green? I realize security doesn't seem to be an issue for the owners, but we have young children, and were uncomfortable not locking up at night. The doors were all very rusty and difficult to lock (not to mention flimsy) and half the windows don't lock. Speaking of security, the backyard fence is downright dangerous. It's being held together with zip ties! You should definitely not rent to families with young children, the fence is a death trap with that cliff. We could have sworn the advertisement promised air conditioning, but when we looked it up after we arrived, it does not say the house has A/C, but it was HOT, and due to the screen issues mentioned above, we couldn't exactly leave the windows open without screens to cool it off. The kids had a hard time sleeping due to the lack of air, especially in that carport bedroom. Apparently it was our error, but we passed over several other properties in favor of this one because we thought it said there was A/C. BBQ was rusty, disgusting, bordering on unusable. Outdoor shower and tub- are you kidding me? They have plants growing in the tub, and two bait stations for rodents next to the shower (much needed bait stations I must say, but still not a draw to use the shower with rats running along the walls). Towels needed to be updated, they are all old and fraying. Bikes totally rusted out. If you like, we took photos of almost everything (except the rats, they were too fast for us to photograph) I am sorry to come across as so negative, and I didn't want to write all this in the guest book, but yes, we're not hap
- Guest Heidi B.
- Date of stay 06/15/13
- Review Submitted 07/20/13
Owner response: Here's an example of a unreasonable guest. After staying three nights we ask our Manager to follow up with them after they leave a cryptic one line note in our guest book saying they were unhappy. When we recieve their reply by email, we then respond with an offer of compensation for their dissatisfaction, which is refused, after which we then explain that we are stationed overseas and are heading home for the month of July to beautify the family homestead. We made it clear that their comments had been noted and appreciated, mean spirited as they were. We hear nothing more until midway through our efforts they post their email comments to us as you read above, knowing full well that we are working hard on improvements. I sent her pictures showing the work underway, told her about the Terminex contract, and encouraged her to consider the severity of her words when contrasted with so many other positive reviews. All to no avail. Some people are just that way. As with all such vitriolic commentaries, they tend to reveal what the real issue was. In this case, they wanted air conditioning and failed to read our listing properly. Even if some of their comments have a kernel of truth, they grossly exaggerate the severity of the issues. We trust you will read all our reviews and come to your own conclusions. Today is July 27th and all our hard work and efforts are nearly done. 47 Honolii is as special today as it has ever been and we encourage you to delight in all that it offers. We head back to Germany in a few days for a second two year tour and look look forward to sharing our place in paradise wih many more lucky souls. Aloha! Brian Update! Today is August 1st and we just welcomed our guests who booked for the entire month. They are very pleased and commented on how everything looks better than the pictures!
Hilo - Ocean view
Hilo - Ocean view
Our family of 6 stayed here for one week. The house is rather old, but fairly accurate in the on-line description. It is very eclectic, with many little nick-nacks, so careful with very young children. Due to its ocean location and age, there was a constant musty smell, but once you got past that the home was everything as described. The pool and Jacuzzi were great for the kids. The view is spectacular, pods of dolphins daily and the location was great for exploring the West side to the Big Island. The owners suggested there were plenty of bikes, there were 2 adult bikes, and none of the snorkel gear is usable because it is so old. The games supplied in the game room were also outdated and missing a lot of pieces. So make sure you bring your own entertainment for kids. The information given prior to arriving needs to be updated, time in and out, days that the pool guy arrives etc... but otherwise very easy entrance and exit. Thank you for the lodging, we had a wonderful visit.
- Guest Shannon (Arizona)
- Date of stay 06/24/13
- Review Submitted 07/05/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, girls getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Thanks for your comments, Shannon. For the entire month of July our family has been on home leave after two and a half years away and we agree that the house needed a lot of TLC. We removed all the carpet and decided to paint the floors in that area which eliminated the musty odor. Half of the interior and exterior have been repainted including the kitchen and new curtains, towels, kitchen utensils, and a host of other upgrades has returned 47 Honolii to the way it is was supposed to be. We're really happy that despite some shortcomings you still found the beauty and serenity of our Home and Hilo, the real treasure. Aloha, the Crawfords
an awesome time...Guest comment entered by owner
an awesome time...
We had an awesome time and really enjoyed the hot tub - because it was very chilly out but we also liked the pool on hot days. The thing I like about this house is the views, it is Amazing! I cant help to look at the ocean! The outside shower is also amazing. I just love the nature in it! I really dont wanna leave Hilo! Thanks for the wonderful stay :D MAHALO!
- Guest Santos / Kali Family
- Date of stay 04/08/13
- Review Submitted 04/28/13
We had a wonderful time...Guest comment entered by owner
We had a wonderful time...
We had a wonderful time staying in your home. We loved the books and fantastic ocean views. The whales were jumping, tail slapping, and blowing air. The kids enjoyed building with blocks and legos. We hope to get back to the Big Island. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
- Guest Shelley, Adam, Noah, and Anya
- Date of stay 03/23/13
- Review Submitted 04/28/13
The house was perfect...Guest comment entered by owner
The house was perfect...
The house was perfect for our group of seniors (one married couple and four single ladies). We saw loads of whales from the backyard deck. This would definitely be our first choice if we make it back to Hawaii in the future. The house felt like a museum with all the glassware, furniture, etc. - Very interesting house! Very Nice!!!
- Guest Ron Konieczynski
- Date of stay 03/13/13
- Review Submitted 04/28/13
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
Apr 19 - Apr 26, 2014
8 night min stay
- Cleaning Fee: $150 + tax
- Tax Rate 12.42%
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Hilo at 6 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Honoli'i Beach Park at 0.5 Miles
Year Purchased: 2000
About the owner: Camp Crawford is a movable feast! We set up our home for maximum fun and enjoyment. Right now home base is Frankfurt, Germany where Brian and Lisha work for the U.S. State Department and Clarissa, Winston and Randall are completing their International Baccalaureate Diplomas at Frankfurt International School.
Why the Owner Chose Hilo:
This is one of our Hawaii homes and is complimented by a place in Hermanus, just outside of Cape Town, South Afria. Incidentally they are nearly perfect antipodean points....
The Unique Benefits at this House:
Fabulous ocean vistas, sounds of the sea, and the Big Island to explore...
- Primary: +49 1707887081
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Garden, Pool and Spa!
The Jacuzzi awaits.
All Stainless Kitchen with everything you need to create Pacific Rim Cuisine!
Master Bedroom - This is the PLACE to wake up in the morning!
Bedroom # 3
Looking back at the Honoli'i Surf spot and Hilo Bay
The Outdoor Shower Garden!
Dining Room for Ten
Covered outdoor laundry area
Game and Study Room
Your choice of reading material in the Library
Easy relaxation in the Living Room with Music and a Large Plasma
The other half of the Living Room with the lanai in the background.
The Lanai with a big table, umbrella and BBQ
Bedroom # 2
Bedroom # 4
Lanai looking back to Hilo
View from outdoor shower
Bathroom with shower. There is another small bathroom with shower. No bathtub.
Kitchen table and library
Sunset backlighting the clouds.....
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2007.
Date last modified - Thursday, November 21, 2013
4 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Get a rental quote, then book it!
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.