Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Gold at the End of the Rainbow

Oceanfront with Breathtaking Views in the Village of Mendocino [#118096] | View Property

Mendocino
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 2-6)
From $500/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Perfection

    Perfection

    • Guest Tony (Fort Collins Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/19/14
    Perfect in every way. We highly recommend this wonderful home. It has everything you could possibly need. Thank you Ruth we will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing! Words are inadequate!

    Amazing! Words are inadequate!

    • Guest Elizabeth
    • Date of stay 03/06/14
    • Review Submitted 04/16/14
    Our family visited the Headlands House this past March, and we are still talking about how amazing the experience was. The house itself is magnificent. There is a large solarium in the middle that gives you that constant feeling of being a part of the beautiful scenery all around. The bedrooms are GREAT . . . we are floored by how comfortable the beds are and the comfort of the house in general. The kitchen is absolutely wonderful. . .state of the art cooking range/oven, well stocked with cooking supplies, and just beautiful. Even though the photos on the posting are incredible, the house and surroundings are even more beautiful than you can imagine. Its a short walk into town and a short drive to wine tasting, which was great too. The owner was completely great to work with. We loved her! The house was clean and just all around fabulous. The master bedroom has breathtaking views, as does the solarium and living room. There is not a bad place in the house. We fell in love with the house and definitely plan to go back. Our daughter is still talking about it too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for us!

    Perfect for us!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    What a fabulous time we had at “Headlands House”! Just a fantastic property to say the least.  The house is superbly stocked with everything not only needed but wanted. The kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, dishes and all cookware. Pantry was wonderful with spices, foil, napkins, paper towels, coffee, etc. You only needed to bring your food! The linens for the beds and bath were great along with separate hot tub towels.The house was exceptionally clean and well kept. The furnishings arranged nicely in all rooms and grouped well in the living room and solarium to chat, play games or just take in the view. The expansive deck is lovely to watch the ocean and the hot tub on a separate deck with the same gorgeous view! Games, bikes and TV’s in addition more than enough for everyone's interests. A short walk takes you to the town of Mendocino for shopping and lunch. In addition, Ruth was wonderful to work with on the rental. We all had a wonderful time and plan to return next October as a group!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location on the coast!

    Great location on the coast!

    • Guest Goldie (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/01/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    This place is fabulous! The view is breathtaking. It was perfect for group of 3 couples traveling up the northwestern coast. Very spacious & the kitchen had everything you could possibly need & then some! We enjoyed being able to walk to the small town of Mendocino after spending so much time in the car. We were lucky enough to see whales! Would highly recommend this house for any group!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Our favorite vacation home

    Our favorite vacation home

    • Guest mendolover (Dallas,TX)
    • Date of stay 06/30/13
    • Review Submitted 08/04/13
    For the 3rd consecutive summer we have spent a week at Headlands House, and, as usual, it did not fail to delight. Some upgrades had been done over the last year, although they were hardly needed. The house is more than comfortable, the view is magnificent and the location is perfect. We were able to walk into town and avoid searching for a parking place, especially to watch the 4th of July Parade, which delighted all of us, including our 4 year-old grandson. The house was spotless and the kitchen is perfect, although with all the great restaurants in the area, we only used it for breakfast. We would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Diane

    Diane

    • Guest Diane (California)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    The home was even better than described. The kitchen is well stocked; the bedrooms are very comfortable and, imagine laying in bed with a view of the California coast. There are many wonderful spaces for lounging, reading talking or just watching the water. We went for lovely walks in the headlands and drank champagne on the deck in the eve as the sun set.Once you've stayed here, it will be hard to consider any other place! The owner is very nice and prompt in responses, there is pleanty to do in the area especially for outdoor activities. We will return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful vacation home in every way!

    Wonderful vacation home in every way!

    • Guest Kathleen D. (-)
    • Date of stay 06/17/13
    • Review Submitted 12/13/13
    We have stayed at the Headlands House the past 2 years. And we absolutely love it. The owner is wonderful to work with. The house has everything you could imagine and one of the most beautiful solariums and decks I have ever enjoyed. The views are the best. The only thing - the house is so great, we don't want to leave! We plan to come back every year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful and relaxing

    Wonderful and relaxing

    • Guest Fig345 (Louisiana)
    • Date of stay 06/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    We had an excellent weekend here. A beautiful and comfortable house. Views of the sunset from the deck were breathtaking. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We Will Be Back!

    We Will Be Back!

    • Guest Care (Howell, MI)
    • Date of stay 01/20/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    This week that our adult daughters, son in law, and our granddaughters spent at the Headlands House was spectacular. This home is so inviting, acommodating, and in such a beautiful space on this Earth it made us happy each morning to be there, walk to town, spot whales and dolphins from the deck, and witness a beautiful rainbow on our last day. Ruth, as many have noted, is kind and easy to work with, but this site on VRBO shows what you get. It is clean and entirely equipped for all of your needs. An evening spent in the hot tub with all the deck lights off and the stars and moon above with the sound of the pounding surf as the sound track was magical.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • post holiday refresher

    post holiday refresher

    • Guest JR (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/02/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    From the moment my family (4 adults and a teenager) stepped into this incredible home, we were transfixed by the views and delighted by our surroundings. This home is magical. Comfortable, great location, roomy, with everything possible to encourage relaxation. I hope to hve the opportunity to stay there again soon!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Holiday... Wonderful Home!

    Wonderful Holiday... Wonderful Home!

    • Guest CC (Folsom, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    One of the best decisions ever was to spend the Christmas holiday with friends and family at the Headlands House! It was a great week, filled with all types of weather; which provided opportunity to enjoy time in front of the fire, enjoying the atrium and relaxing on the deck. The views are spectacular! The house is everything you see in the photos and more... We’ve rented several vacation homes over the years; none have come so well stocked, furnished and thoughtfully arranged. We’d highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Holiday... Wonderful Home!

    Wonderful Holiday... Wonderful Home!

    • Guest CC (Folsom, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/13
    One of the best decisions ever was to spend the Christmas holiday with friends and family at the Headlands House! It was a great week, filled with all types of weather; which provided opportunity to enjoy time in front of the fire, enjoying the atrium and relaxing on the deck. The views are spectacular! The house is everything you see in the photos and more... We’ve rented several vacation homes over the years; none have come so well stocked, furnished and thoughtfully arranged. We’d highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • loved it

    loved it

    • Guest Dee (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 07/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in the fabulous house last year. We had sunch a wonderful stay that we returned this year with family from Missouri. Again, the stay was heavenly. The house is extremely well supplied, the ocean view is too breathtaking to be described and the owner is an angel to work with. Would I recommend this house? 100 times out of 100!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house!

    Great house!

    • Guest beach lover (Burlingame, Ca)
    • Date of stay 07/08/12
    • Review Submitted 08/29/12
    My family has stayed in Mendocino every summer for the past six years. This was our favorite house by far. The views are great and the house is very comfortable. There are not many houses in Mendocino that are right on the water and only a short walk into town. Everything was as good or better than in the description. The owner was a pleasure to work with. I would definitely recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best house in Mendocino

    Best house in Mendocino

    • Guest Mr. Enlightenment.Com (Menlo Park, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/05/12
    We've rented a dozen different houses in Mendo, and this is, by far, the best. The Solarium is amazing, and the fact that you can walk to town, or walk pretty much right into the Headlands park, is fantastic, especially if you are like us and have 5 people but only 1 car. Headlands House, as it is called, is well furnished and the kitchen is great. The only minor complaints we have are the beds are a bit soft, the couches are the kind you always slip off of, and the TV in the main living room area could stand a size upgrade. But these are minor complaints given the fantastic experiences we always have here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect family get-away

    Perfect family get-away

    • Guest mendolover (Dallas,TX)
    • Date of stay 08/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    Headlands House and the location were perfect. We were traveling with a toddler and the house was very child-friendly. the beds were comfortable, the kitchen had everything one could want. The house was spotless and well cared for. The owner was quite helpful. Most importantly, the view was incredible. The pictures don't lie. Go and you won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • One of the best vacations ever taken!

    One of the best vacations ever taken!

    • Guest Jan (Lookout Mountain, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/29/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    Our party of six (3 couples) fell in love with this house as well as the surrounding villege of Mendocino.The view of the Pacific Ocean from the deck was absolutely breathtaking! The house is a treasure and offers all the amenities one would need and more. I have tried to describe to friends back home in the south this amazing town with its abundance of flowers (calla lillies grow everywhere) and its near perfect yearly temperture. We are already discussing coming back and spending more time at this beautiful residence! Three months after our visit, I discovered I was missing one of my favorite pieces of jewelry. I suspected I may have left it at the house and contacted the owner, Ruth. She found it and had it returned to me. I am so lucky and realize this sort of thing never happens when traveling. She is an absolute angel!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our Favorite Place to Stay in the Mendocino Area

    Our Favorite Place to Stay in the Mendocino Area

    • Guest Jerry H. (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/06/11
    We have been visiting the Mendocino area for over 25 years and the Headlands House is undoubtedly our favorite place to stay. The home is a well-maintained quality home, and appointed with just about everything you could want or need. The location is superb. The views are unbeatable. Downtown Mendocino is within walking distance and the Mendocino Headlands State Park is at your backdoor. The Solarium is a terrific feature with plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the view in any kind of weather. The pictures on the website are true to form.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Return Visit

    Return Visit

    • Guest Susan (Citrus Heights CA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/10
    • Review Submitted 12/07/10
    I must say, we stayed here last year and it only has gotten better. The descriptions are spot on and you just don't realize how great it is until you get there and the WOW comes off your lips. The attention to the amenities available, especially the kitchen are superb. Needless to say you have the most breathtaking view of the headlands and ocean and it is so relaxing. There is really nothing else to want for in this home. We are looking forward to being back in May of 2011 and also November.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Home - Great Location

    Wonderful Home - Great Location

    • Guest Dale P. (Naples, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 10/02/10
    My husband and I stayed at Headlands for a week and it was wonderful. The house has every thing you could think of for a week or a lifetime stay. The views were spectacular. You are right on the Headlands with an unobstructed view! The park is a stroll down the street and we walked from the house into town for coffee every morning. For a small town there are an amazing number of great California restaurants from burgers to gourmet. Coffee houses, shopping, weekly open markets and curio shops will keep you busy and on the go. The town of Mendocino is small and compact which we enjoyed more than some of the spralling communities along the cost. Ruth and her staff were wonderful to work with and we would highly recommend anyone looking for a great home in the area to consider Headlands. You won't be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Patrick Molder (Marysville, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 12/09/09
    • Review Submitted 12/09/09
    Wonderful home. Our company from England was impressed and so were we. Ruth was so kind and helpful. Would love to visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Edith Porro (Windsor Ca)
    • Date of stay 11/05/09
    • Review Submitted 11/05/09
    A wonderful weekend getaway. Our ho.e away from home was clean,comfortable and a spectacular view.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/02/09
    • Review Submitted 11/02/09
    This is one of the most well appointed homes we have ever rented on the coast. When we walked in there was the "wow" coming from all of us...the view is wonderful, you will never feel cramped.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/16/09
    • Review Submitted 09/16/09
    We had an absolutely incredible time. We wish we could have stayed longer. The location is spectacular and the design of the home allows you to enjoy the breath-taking view, have space to gather and also to have privacy. We look forward to returning some day soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/10/09
    • Review Submitted 07/10/09
    Amazing views, beautiful home with every amenity one could desire, plenty of room for three couples, and the fabulous solarium... WOW!! We can't wait to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]