Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of the Mokulua Island just off the World Class Lanikai Beach

Lanikai Estate, 180 Degree Ocean View with Pool, from $695/nt. [#118524] | View Property

Lanikai
House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 14-18)
$795 - $1,400/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Horrible House with DEAD mouse and Live Maggots

    Horrible House with DEAD mouse and Live Maggots

    • Guest Sunjun K. (-)
    • Date of stay 08/02/13
    • Review Submitted 10/17/13
    There was a dead mouse with live maggots crawling under the living room couch. When we call the owner/agent, he said "it's just a dead animal, do worry they are not alive, we will pick it up" Not a word of apology from the owner/agent!

    Owner response: I don't respond to extortion. Yeah, kind of weird way to start a response and it may take awhile to explain. I just want everyone to know how this was handled. Lets start at the beginning. They called and said there was a dead mouse under the couch. We immediately sent the cleaning crew to take care of this matter and they were there within the hour. They cleaned the entire living room as well as the kitchen (which was a wreck) to help make up for things. They admitted to leaving the screen doors open the entire time they were there. However were surprised when a mouse comes in. There are mice in Hawaii the house backs up to a nature preserve. I am not sure if it was poison or beat up from one of the neighbors cats. It doesn't matter how it got there or whose fault it was. We took care of it ASAP. Here is where the interesting part starts. I offered to refund them a night (close to $1,000). However, these guests wanted me to refund the remainder their stay over this mouse. They even went soo far to say they loved the house and everything about it but if I didn't refund them close to $4,000 they were going to leave this review. I tried to make amends to avoid this but I don't respond to extortion. So you tell me was this review worth $4,000.... who knows.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/10

  • Wonderful stay, hope to be back!

    Wonderful stay, hope to be back!

    • Guest Em (Vancouver BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/12/13
    My family and I stayed at the Lanikai house this past May for one week. The house is huge - slept three couples, one baby, and three singles very comfortably. The house has everything - towels, full kitchen, even some pantry basics. GORGEOUS view from the upstairs deck. Had zero issues with the neighbors/noise complaints as per previous reviews from guests - we even hosted a party in the afternoon/early evening and didn't have any problems. The driveway is steep but there is enough room for you to turn around at the top or there is street parking. 5 minute walk to the best beach on the island. 10 minute walk to start of Lanikai pillbox hike for tremendous views. Mark was quick to respond to early concerns when we checked in (BBQ repair, sliding door minor fix). Can't wait to come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Pretty from afar, but upon close inspection...

    Pretty from afar, but upon close inspection...

    • Guest Lbeks (Vancouver, BC)
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/03/13
    Either the pictures were taken a few years back, or the professional who took them did an amazing job doctoring them up. On the surface, everything looked as it should upon our arrival (although the driveway is among the steepest I've ever seen and not for the faint of heart). But as the days wore on, the list of things that were sub-par grew, to the point where we all agreed in the end that this house did not live up to expectations. Overall, the house was poorly cleaned. The floors/rugs had definitely not been swept/vacuumed. While the kitchen was nice and large, it is very poorly stocked and what was in the cupboards was not in good shape. Small appliances were either in poor working condition or non-existent- save the coffee machine which thankfully worked as it should. For a house with 5 bedrooms, you'd expect cooking pots etc and plateware for a large number of guests. Not so. Also, the cupboards themselves were utterly filthy. Generally the whole kitchen felt grimy as a result. The "bar area" was useless, as the barfridge was broken. As for BBQ cooking, we were supplied with a brand new BBQ when we realized that the one that was onsite didnt work (and was being held up with beer cans). It was supplied to us fairly promptly, as was a new propane for the oven/stove, so that was good. The bedroom and bathroom set up was not ideal. There is one bathroom on the main living floor, but this is only accessible through the one bedroom. If you wanted to keep this bedroom private, then you had a flight of stairs to use a toilet. Secondly, the "bedroom" with 2 single beds does not have a door- it is open to the hallway and upstairs living space, so I don't really know that its correct to call it a bedroom. The screen doors all had very poor tracking systems, so everytime you went to open them, it was a 2 hand operation in which you struggled to get the screen open or shut. There were cockroaches seen on multiple occasions. While I am aware in the tropics this is normal, the fact that the house itself was untidy didnt help the feeling that these insects were attracted by the filth. The couches in the main living space must be a couple decades old. They are falling apart and are not particularly comfortable. The beds themselves were comfortable and the linens were clean, although there were some obvious stains on towels and bedsheets which I thought a bit much. On the positive side, the upper deck does have an amazing view, and the neighborhood is very nice.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/10

  • Perfection!

    Perfection!

    • Guest sescola
    • Date of stay 03/07/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/14
    I cannot say enough of this property. We stayed here with our family in April 2012, and it was one of the most memorable vacations we have had. Our children had plenty of space to play. The architecture of the home blends into the nature of Hawaii, and the views-OUTSTANDING. We were happy to stay peacefully in and still experienced all Hawaii has to offer because of the views. The beach is beautiful and there are many strolls that can be taken right from the property. The home was clean and beautifully decorated. This is a one of a kind property that will make your vacation go from ordinary to extraordinary. The Streckenbachs.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beach Wedding

    Beach Wedding

    • Guest Mr. Bach (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    We planned a wedding at Lanikai beach for valentines day. We wanted my wife's family and mine to be able to stay together and be close to the beach. This house was beautiful and had everything to accommodate what we were looking for. Perfect for large family's with kids of all ages. Walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and to Kailua town if you want to shop or got out for dinner. Has all the dishware and grill to cook at home if you in the mood to stay in. They had beach gear for us already so we didn't need to buy or bring anything. The neighborhood is very family oriented and safe at all hours if you like morning runs or after dinner walks. Beautiful view of the sunrise every morning from the huge lanai. This place was an awesome choice to bring our family's together for our special day, and the owners were very accommodating to our needs. Our family is definately going to stay here again in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Awesome Property

    Awesome Property

    • Guest Steve (Oceanside CA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    Excellent property with fantastic views in a quiet neighborhood and close proximity to the beach makes this a great stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD, FANTASTIC VIEWS, BEACH ACCESS, & CLOSE SHOPPING

    SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD, FANTASTIC VIEWS, BEACH ACCESS, & CLOSE SHOPPING

    • Guest DK (LAYTON, UTAH)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/14/12
    THIS HOUSE IS AMAZING. WE LEFT THE DOORS & WINDOWS OPEN THE WHOLE TIME. SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD AND INCREDIBLE VIEWS. HIKING WITHIN 5 MINUTES, BEACH WITHIN 5 MINUTES, RESTAURANT WITHIN 5 MINITES, SHOPPING WITHIN 10. ALL THIS AND YOU DON'T FEEL LIKE YOU ARE IN AN OVER-RUN TOURIST TOWN OF HONOLULU. THIS IS THE AREA I WOULD BUY A HOME. THE PROPERTY MANAGER IS VERY ACCOMMODATING AND KEPT IN TOUCH THE WHOLE TRIP. WE WOULD DEFINATELY RENT THIS HOME AGAIN & RENT FROM THE MANAGER. THIS HOUSE WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The view

    The view

    • Guest Michelle (Corvallis Oregon)
    • Date of stay 04/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/17/12
    This home is great. So much room. So quiet. You feel like you are far away from traffic and people. Up on a hill the view is rare the best view you can imagine and than better. So much balcony space and very private. The breeze went through the house and kept it at the perfect tempeture. No air condition need for this place. The bedrooms are huge and has everything you need. There are windows thoughout the whole front of the house so you see the view from everywhere. Furnishings are great. Lots of space for lounging we had 10 people we could have had many more comfortably.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Beautiful home, worst service.

    Beautiful home, worst service.

    • Guest Charlene (San Jose)
    • Date of stay 12/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/26/11
    The view of the house was very beautiful. We stayed there for 6 nights and the rooms accommodated everyone; HOWEVER, the refrigerator did not work, the living room TV did not work, there were faulty locks upstairs in the rooms, and some of the fans did not work. We had noise complaints every night from the neighbors because the community does not agree with the realtor renting this home every week to new families. When we called the realtor to fix the refrigerator, TV, fans, etc., he simply ignored our requests and was not professional throughout the whole week. He tried evicting us with out refunding our money and even the police said it wasn't our vacation home who was making all the noise. He's rude, and I DO NOT RECOMMEND RENTING THIS HOME!!!!

    Owner response: The facts about Charlene and her family. Yes, this is a peaceful quiet community and an amazing house. This group was very very loud and the police were called multiple times. I gave the group a warning that if the police were called again they would be asked to leave. This is something I have NEVER had to do in the 6 years we have rented the property. There were people outside yelling, screaming, vomiting until 4 in the morning according to the neighbors. When I gave them a warning to keep it down they repeatedly threatened physical violence (also a first). So when they called to say the TV wasn't working I certainly had no intentions of going over there. Afterward I came to learn they threatened one of my neighbors as well when he politely asked them to keep the noise down. On the morning they were scheduled to check out they were blowing air horns just to give the neighbors a nice send off. Our cleaning crew arrived to find that there were over 20 people staying in the house and some of the furniture was damaged. I charged their credit card $900 for the additional guests and damages which is also something I have NEVER had to do. When I notified them of this they came back to the house and were looking to fight again. They Police were called and then asked them to take up the charges with their credit card company. Then the police asked them to leave. They filed a dispute with the credit card company and then were nice enough to leave this story. Had I asked them to leave early they would've received a refund for the remaining days. The TV worked before they checked in and has since been replaced....why it stopped working, we don't know. I have my suspicions but they certainly weren't charged for it. IF you have any questions for me after reading this please don't hesitate to ask.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/11

    • Guest Laura165 (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/06/09
    • Review Submitted 10/06/09
    Hi Mark! My colleagues and I had a wonderful time at the Lanikai Estate. The view was wonderful, the house was beautiful, and the location was excellent. Thank you also for being very attentive to our needs and responsive to our requests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Cheri10 (Blairsville, PA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/09
    • Review Submitted 09/16/09
    This house was PERFECT for our group of 11 that visited Oahu from August 1 - 8, 2009. The house was huge, not a bit cramped with so many of us sharing this space. We spent most of our time in the kitchen or on one of the decks outside enjoying the views of the ocean. The kids (3 of them) loved the little splash pool and it was nice that it was there for them to enjoy when we weren't at the beach. The view from this house is worth it, but it is a bit of a walk to the ocean. You have to walk down the hill and then about a mile north to get to public beach access that puts you on the wide stretch of beach. The walk back is a little more challanging, since it's all uphill! You can certainly take your car down to make things easier, but we personally enjoyed walking back and forth. Great exercise! Waikiki and Honolulu are just a short drive away, but this house is in a quiet neighborhood that is not prone to tons of "tourists". After driving around the island, we were so glad we booked a home in the Lanikai Beach area. This is very well-maintained home and near a very nice "family" beach area. After seeing other beaches and neighborhoods on Oahu ~ we realized we made a great choice when we booked this home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/10/09
    • Review Submitted 07/10/09
    This property was fantastic! It was even prettier than the photos and the view from the upstairs living room was breathtaking. The owner was very responsive to any questions we had and we had a fantastic stay. There is a huge pantry and a large fridge so it accommodates a large group nicely. I would definitely recommend it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Joyce Brown (Bakersfield, California)
    • Date of stay 06/11/09
    • Review Submitted 06/11/09
    This is a beautiful 5-bedroom home with an outstanding view of the mountains and the ocean. The entrance-way greets you with wide open arms that take you into the living room where our family came together to regroup after day of sight-seeing and shows. After a day of excitement, hunger is quelled with goodies that's stored in the huge pantry next to a huge refrigerator. Washing dishes was a delight as I looked out into the sunset from the kitchen window. Before nightfall, I would hurry to cool my heels in the backyard's plunge pool. In the mornings, I wanted to sleep in on the comfortable bed but I would wake up to watch the beautiful sunrise at 5:30 AM from the upstairs wrap-around balcony.The bedrooms are beautifully detailed with Hawaiian motifs. No detail was spared. This house is truly a gathering place of the senses. Of all the houses we've rented this is the best! P.S. Kudos to the Interior Decorator!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/26/09
    • Review Submitted 05/26/09
    Loved the priceless view of the beach!!! We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Lankai Estate.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 02/02/09
    I wanted to write and say Thank you! From get go...Mark was VERY helpful in making this holiday happen for us. This is a marvelous home for family reunions. Beautiful ocean view...when cleaning dishes or having coffee on the deck,or grilling. We were in walking distance to Lanika beach. God Bless, Erica Martens We will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/26/08
    We just returned from a lovely stay at the house in Lanikai, it was probably one of the best vacations we've had! The place was absolutely wonderful, so relaxing and very comfortable and we all had our private space. There were 3 couples staying at the house and we commented how comfortable all the beds were. We typically rent houses or condos when we vacation and the beds generally seem to be the weak point but not at this house. And the views...what can I say, just INCREDIBLE!! The pictures on the the website are very nice but in person it is spectacular. The Lord truly blessed us. Thank you Mark!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/25/08
    This was the most beautiful house we have ever stayed at. We had four couples and we were all very comfortable. We look forward to the day we can return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/20/08
    Simply an amazing house. We stayed on the beach in Lanikai on our last visit and enjoyed this house much more as it was up on the hillside and was much more private. Very quiet and tranquil neighborhood. Thank you for the discount and booking the dolphin trip for us. We definatly know what you meant when you said "It is a trip that everyone will love and remember" Can't wait to come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/03/08
    The house was absolutely beautiful. The views of the sunrises from the lanai were stunning. Very roomy, (we had 12 guests)and comfortabe. Kitchen was well stocked. The kids loved the boogie boards, and we used the snorkel gear every day. Definately take advantage of Lanikai beach. Very beautiful. The Mai Tai's at Buzz's were awesome! Would like to have had more linens, and pillows. Otherwise, our stay was perfect.

    Owner response: She forgot to mention that her nephew proposed on Lanikai Beach :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Deborah P (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/12/08
    We visited the house with our extended family. The downstairs master suite worked perfectly for my parents. My brother and children and my family each enjoyed our private space and the seperate entrances to every bedroom lent privacy to all our comings and goings. Everything we needed was waiting for us and the snorkels, fins, and all the other beach equipment was a nice extra. The views were fantastic and the quiet privacy of the hillside was just perfect for our family gathering. Beach a short walk. Everything was beautiful. Will look forward to our next stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Dave Bober (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/15/07
    This house worked perfectly for our large group. We had two families with children and everyone had their own space and was able to get away from one another at times. The house is exquisite and was so clean when we moved in and had everything we need whether it was cooking utensils or toys to take to the beach. There are breath taking views from every room in the house especially on the second floor. I wish I had a view of the ocean from the sink while I was doing the dishes back home. The beach is just a short walk or an even shorter drive away. It was easy to see why it is truly a world class beach. We were glad to be up on the hillside where we got a wonderful breeze and the community was much quieter up there.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]