Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Looking Back at House from Kayak

Log Home - 310' Waterfront - Close to Bar Harbor [#120323ha] | View Property

Lamoine
4 BR / 3 BA- Sleeps 12
$300 - $343/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (37)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful location!

    Wonderful location!

    • Guest Lydia (Boston, MA.)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    What a beautiful, peaceful and serene spot, right on the water with incredible, ever changing views. We had a large crowd for the holidays and enjoyed the open floor plan, the ability for those cooking to be involved in the conversation with all in the great room. The house is well stocked, very clean, has great together spaces and plenty of privacy as well. Wonderful views of the water from most rooms. We had a great time together and the house was a pleasure in every way. Would love to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Zen Retreat

    Zen Retreat

    • Guest Cory C. (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    Having vacationed in Acadia for most of my life, I was a little skeptical of the distance of the house from the park entrance. However, over the years Bar Harbor has turned into a very touristy town, over run with cheesy motels and hotels that charge you an arm and a leg for mediocre accommodations. It's just too crowded, which is why I am beyond happy we found the log cabin. It reminds me of a time when you could find true peace and quiet on Frenchman's Bay (the large picture windows look out onto a tidal cove leading, as the crow flies, into Bar Harbor) On our visit we got all types of weather, from a misty foggy morning, to clear starry nights, to a bright orange and pink sunrise-- I wish I had brought a canvas to paint!! While we enjoyed relaxing in the cozy great room, cooking, and BBQing, we found ourselves so busy with outdoor activities that we didn't have much time to sit and be lazy. We missed peak foliage by about 2 weeks, but I would come to the cabin in any season! It is truly a diamond in the rough! Thank you for

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • HEAVEN!! My new happy place

    HEAVEN!! My new happy place

    • Guest Erin (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    This house is incredible. When you walk in, it smells like cedar and the logs almost glow in a soft honey color. So cozy. I slept upstairs in the loft and the rest of my friends and family slept in the master bedroom on the first floor or the 3 bedrooms in the basement. I can't believe what a good deal it was for all of us. Favorite parts of the trip were: waking up to the brilliant sunrise each morning (the windows I think were about 7 feet tall and spanned maybe 10 feet, so you just have this incredible view at that hour. I also loved taking walks by myself at dusk. The neighborhood is so quiet and a great break from the hustle of Washington DC. Acadia national park is about 20 minutes away and we went there every day, in addition to down town Bar Harbor which has great restaurants and a movie theater and shops with very "Maine" souvenirs. Overall: a wonderful experience and we're so excited to return next year!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Wonderful Escape

    A Wonderful Escape

    • Guest Lauren C. (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    This house is in one of the most idyllic settings you can imagine. Our family was looking to escape the rat race for a few days and found this home to do the job perfectly! We loved the peace and quiet, and the views over the tidal cove were really wonderful, both at high tide looking out over the glistening water and at low tide watching clam diggers out on the mud flats. The four bedrooms plus loft accommodated us all quite well, and the large open great room enabled everyone to still be "hanging out" together -- even if some of us were cooking while others were reading or playing cards! We found the drive to Acadia to be easy and beautiful, but after two days of visiting the park, we decided we were actually quite content hanging out on our own little scenic property!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun Cabin in a Great Area

    Fun Cabin in a Great Area

    • Guest Jared (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/15/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    We had a great time at the cabin. The property is a little out of the way, but is right on the water (it's a little inlet so it empties out for a few hours a day - cool to see the water coming and going). We spent hours exploring the area and Mt. Desert Island. Really one of the most beautiful places in the world. The cabin slept all of us comfortably and we spent all of our time hanging out in the wide open living room / kitchen area, cooking, enjoying the views, and the great company. Would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • vacationer from Ohio

    vacationer from Ohio

    • Guest Angie_HAC23558 (Cincinnati, Ohio 45232)
    • Date of stay 09/08/12
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    What a great place!!! We had a family reunion here, and everyone loved the place and had a great time. Lovely, quiet, scenic setting with easy access to Acadia Park and Bar Harbor. The house is AMAZING - the 4 bedrooms and the sleeping loft was a great fit for the extended family, and the Great Room and open kitchen made room for everyone to read, eat, check out the views (Eagles!), and watch movies as the mood struck us. This was a perfect vacation for lazy mornings, active afternoons, and cozy evenings for all ages. We will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice location but disappointing property

    Nice location but disappointing property

    • Guest familyroadtrip5 (North Granby, CT)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 09/14/12
    Our family has rented vacation homes for over ten years and has always had very positive experiences. Unfortunately, this year was an exception. The location of this log home was very nice and peaceful on Raccoon Cove. Other than the challenge of the tides, it was a lovely, quiet place. Unfortunately, however, this potentially beautiful home with its extensive wood, open floor plan and numerous windows, was not maintained as one would expect of a rental property. Upon our arrival, it was clear that either the owner or previous renters had a dog as a large hole was dug near the front steps. The planters next to the front door had wilted, dried out flowers, and the flower beds were poorly maintained. The interior of the home wasn't as clean as it should have been ~ the floors were clearly not mopped in a long time; windows had dog nose and paw prints; furniture was covered with slip covers with stains; towels and sheets had stains; and fans were extremely dirty. To add to the mix, the outside grill was barely functional and our more technically savvy family members worked to get that functioning properly; the exterior of the home had blue tarp covering what appeared to be entry points for leaks; and we found several of the folding canvas chairs on the master BR deck to be broken. If that's not enough, an issue arose our first night there with the septic system, which backed up into the downstairs bathroom. The owner and caretaker were made aware and couldn't get a plumber to respond until Monday morning. Aside from the extremely unpleasant situation this caused for our family members who were sleeping in the downstairs bedrooms, it caused significant inconvenience for our entire family. The problem was resolved on Monday afternoon but due to lack of communication between the owner, caretaker and plumber, we arrived back after a day out to find that the bathroom had not been cleaned. To deal with this and get it done, one of our family members cleaned that mess so that we could just put the issue behind us. To her credit, the caretaker was very pleasant and willing to help as needed but much of this was beyond her control. When addressing this with the owner and requesting a refund for the two nights when the septic system had failed, he responded quite defensively, blaming the problem on the previous renters, and only refunding one night, prorated to the people "affected" in that area. Our recommendation ~ look at other options.

    Owner response: Out of over 450 guests we have had in our house, this is the 2nd other than complimentary response in over 7 years. Guests are instructed and encouraged when their reservation is confirmed, to notify us immediately of any problems they encounter when they get to the house. This guest did not communicate until now, more than one month after he was there. If we are unaware of problems we can not fix them. The only valid objection was regarding the landscaping which we have since rectified. The other complaints are just not true or were attended to immediately. The cleaners wash and clean compulsively. We inspect every towel and sheet. The plumber responded in less than 24 hours from the time we were notified and replaced the pump, that had a rag / towel wrapped around it - which had been carelessly flushed. The house is in top condition for guests when they arrive. We respond immediately to any problems but have had very few. We travel a great deal and would rate this house well above the average vacation rental of equal caliber. We are attentive and conscientious owners and take great pride in our soon to be retirement home. We have always had gracious and respectful guests and have always been very pleased to have them in our home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/6

  • Highly recommend your beautiful log home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Highly recommend your beautiful log home

    • Guest Diane
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/26/12
    Jeff and family, I would highly recommend your beautiful log home. There were twelve people in our group, ages 10-80, and the house was designed to give everyone the space they needed. Everyday we took a different day trip that filled our lives with new experiences and wonderful memories. We discovered local restaurants with amazing food, toured historical sites, enjoyed the magnificent scenery, went blueberry picking, hiked,explored the small towns and of course tried the ice cream ,lobster, whoopie pies and blueberry pie! In the evening when we came back to the house , we planned the next day around your kitchen counter, played games at the table and then collapsed into one of the many beds. Our Maine trip will be one that we will talk about forever and your house will be a part of our wonderful memories. Thanks Diane / From Virginia

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

  • A wonderful house

    A wonderful house

    • Guest Anthony and Jeanne (Rye, New York)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 12/12/11
    This beautiful and spacious home is a tranquil yet convenient log cabin on Racoon Cove along Lamoine Beach. It is only about a 40 minute drive to Acadia National Park and about 8 miles to Ellsworth that has nice grocery and clothing stores. The log cabin offers both peace and quiet as well as family fun. The entire family, including children, can Kayak (note--Kayaks can be rented three miles away on Shore Road and are delivered on site) safely in the calm waters of Racoon Cove, bike ride the country roads, enjoy family meals or read a good novel. Within the cabin, there are all modern and working conveniences (except TV-a wonderful thing to lose for a week), furnished and spacious rooms, and a balcony outside the lovely master bedrroom. Between the other three bedrooms with plenty of beds and a large loft, there was plenty of room for our large family. I loved the open and beautiful kitchen with breakfast bar. We visited with nearby relatives, and with another family that we know (they stayed in a neighboring town) kayaked many mornings and then hiked and biked the carriage trails in Acadia, swam at Sand Beach, walked around the top of Cadillac Mountain, visited the water slide park, bowled, went shopping, tried various restaurants, cooked and shared family meals and fun. It was one of our most wonderful, memorable and relaxing vacations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/6

  • Enjoyed our stay in this log home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Enjoyed our stay in this log home

    • Guest Chris C.
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 09/10/11
    Comments: We had a great time in Maine and enjoyed our stay in this log home. The property was easy to find and pretty much just as described online. It is in a quiet peaceful area along the coast, with easy access to Acadia, Bar Harbor and Ellsworth. The location on the cove is simply beautiful! The house was clean and comfortable for our family of eight. We had a very pleasant stay and we would certainly consider coming back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/5

  • We loved our week at Raccoon Cove.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We loved our week at Raccoon Cove.

    • Guest Ben T, Sandy Hook CT
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    The house was spacious, clean and comfortable, had everything we needed close at hand, yet simple, rustic and charming. Just the right combination for our much anticipated Maine vacation. My favorite of many highlights was rising at 6 am every day (never have been able to sleep in the morning), grabbing a cup of coffee and a book, and watching the mist rise and the sun emerge over Raccoon Cove. There were bald eagles nesting during our visit, as well as loons, cormorants, osprey eagles, and many other signs of life. Lobster boats slowly and calmly chugging in the far distance completed the scene. What a fantastic experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Debbie A
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    We all loved your house. It was perfect for our two families. The kids loved swimming in the cove and we were all facinated by how far out the tide goes at low tide. The drive to Acadia was close enough to go to every day and it was fabulous!! The homemade ice cream stands are everywhere and we tried many of them! Of course, the lobster stands were everywhere too. We all had a wonderful vacation. Debbie A, Columbus, OH

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The "T" Family
    • Date of stay 07/03/09
    • Review Submitted 07/02/09
    "We enjoyed our stay at your beautiful log house. The scenery is beautiful and we definitely enjoyed the fact that it was very quiet and peaceful. We would like to come back again." The "T" Family July 3, 2009 P.S. - "Marlboro Beach is the best place to go clamming."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/06/08
    We had a wonderful week in Lamoine. The house was absolutely beautiful and it slept all 14 of us VERY comfortably. (We were 3 families, with kids ages 2-9.) We loved being close to Acadia and Bar Harbor, but it was not smack in the middle of all the touristy stuff. I would highly recommend this vacation site.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/6

  • Remote setting, water view, amenities few

    Remote setting, water view, amenities few

    • Guest Outdoor family (CT)
    • Date of stay 07/05/08
    • Review Submitted 07/15/08
    Unusual light and airly log home in remote location offered us a nice home-base for day trips and kayaking in Frenchman's Bay, but don't expect many other amenities. The home, while relatively new, could have used a cleaning (abundant dog hair, dust, sand, corner cobwebs and dirt, oven caked with blackend spillovers, kitchen floor hadn't been mopped in awhile). If you're seeking absolute quitet, this is the place (no TV reception or cable, no internet, CD player advertised, but is really a DVD therefore sound is scratchy, DVD player works - bring movies). Bathrooms were clean and ample and so were bedrooms. Sheets and some towels provided. Dining table for 6 with 3 bar stools. Large gas grill was nice. 4 canvas outdoor chairs with small deck off master bedroom (would have liked to see better outdoor furniture options). All 3 sliding doors were not functioning properly (2 totally jammed and inoperable and locks broken, so couldn't exit out lower level). No A/C (although you don't need it at night), but with sliding doors jammed, couldn't have the benefit of outdoor air. Living room seating for 4 max.- just one sofa and one chair (chair had water stains halfway up the sides as though it had been in a flood - white sofa was rather stained and worn). View was very nice, but tidal change empties water out of entire cove leading up to house, so be prepared if you plan to launch kayak from there. The house itself was beautiful, just doesn't seem as though it has been maintained or equipped as well as it deserves to be. I wish I could write a more positive review. With a little work, the house could be an excellent destination. For the price and location, and compared with other homes we've rented, we expected more.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Unfortunately, since we do allow pets, it is virtually impossible to not have any signs of prior pets in residence. Our cleaning service does its best to remedy the situation between rental periods. Most folks will understand this and I would dispute "...abundant dog hair..." If there is a cleanliness issue, I should be contacted immediately and it will be rectified. Doesn't make sense to brood about it and have it distract from your vacation. The caretaker's phone number is available, as is my cell. Linens provided are based on the number of guests arriving provided by the guest themselves. Difficult to see how there would be a shortage, as implied here. My apologies to these folks if there were a miscount, but additional supplies could have been provided by the local caretaker, if brought to her attention. Dining arrangements are advertised clearly, and there is also a recently added fold-down table in kitchen which can be used in conjunction with dining table for additional services, along with 4 folding chairs in pantry. A complete inventory list is provided in the documentation and is available to all renters prior to their arrival. Outdoor seating is as advertised. Pictures of property are accurate, you just have to look at them. There is no large deck with outdoor seating implied or depicted. Sliding doors can be "sticky" if there is humidity, or sand / dirt in the tracks. Most times they are fine and they all will operate. Living room seating is as pictured and advertised, there is nothing hidden or over emphasized. Many guests will rearrange furniture or bring a futon from the loft to the living room. Unfortunately, I cannot predict seating requirements and most guests have not had issues. And yes, we have had water damage that affected one chair on the sides and back, but it does not detract from the comfort of the living room or the view, to the best of my knowledge. As for the "tidal changes", the property is advertised "...with 310 feet of saltwater tidal water frontage on Raccoon Cove. If there are any questions in your mind as to what this means, please contact me. Tidal waterfrontage changes every 6 hours or so, and there's nothing I can do about it! There is a tide clock in the kitchen which will give a fairly accurate prediction of the incoming and outgoing tides. It is unfortunate for anyone to not be comfortable on their vacation and any issue, situation, or discomfort can, and should, be addressed immediately.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/28/08
    My family and I had never been to Maine so when we arrived at this beautiful log cabin for our family reunion we knew we picked the perfect spot. The cabin is prefectly nestled in this beautiful cove and I was impressed to see how well it fit the natural surrounding yet had all the comforts of home, clean and spacious. It has large windows to view all the nature around you and they open if you wish to get a breeze. It is centrally located, which accomadated all our interests: sea kayaking, hiking, mountain climbing, sailing, moose hunting (camera), antiquing, GREAT food, horse back riding, bird watching, whale watching, harbor seals and so much more. We saw wildlife everyday! The house is privately located and quiet except for the sound of wind blowing through the trees and birds calling (eagles, woodpeckers, gulls, American Gold Finch) around the property. Blue berries are up the road for picking and a goat farm with fresh french cheese is right around the corner! Oh Man! Combine that with the Lobster and clam chowder... Shops are plentiful and nearby along the quaint rolling roads through the hills. The cabin was big enough to congregate as a group or sneek off and read a book. Watching the tides go in and out is AMAZING! All the people we met were friendly and helpful. Jeff's web page for planning our trip was an excellent tool. My family and I recommend this house highly for YOUR next vacation. Who knew Maine to be such a wonderful place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/6

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Outdoor family (CT)
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/12/08
    Our family enjoyed our stay at this beautiful log home. Very private location with nice views of the cove. Good for kayaking, but watch the drastic tide change or else you will be draging your kayak back to the house for several hundred yards! Gas grill was a nice feature to cook family meals.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/07/08
    We enjoyed a wonderful week of fresh air, sunshine, and beautiful breezes. The young children loved Lamoine Beach. Our family loved Bar Harbor but it was nice to come home to the peace and quiet of Lamoine each day. The views over Racoon Cove are spectacular. The large pots in the well-equipped kitchen are perfect for steaming lobsters and clams. We hope to have another family vacation on Pasture Way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/01/08
    • Review Submitted 05/12/08
    Great place to stay in Acadia area. Close to everything; far enough away from the crowds.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jim S. (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/16/07
    We stayed at the house in Oct 2007, and had a great week. We were 10 people, and enjoyed the close proximity to Acadia. We found so much to do on Acadia that we spent most of our time there. The sunrises and the tide changes viewed through the front windows was a highlight. We cooked and ate many meals in the modern and well equipped kitchen, and all the services we needed were in nearby Ellsworth. A very enjoyable and successful extended family vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/8

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Duncan and Michele (England)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 10/15/07
    Thank you for letting us share your beautiful home, alas we could only stay for a few days but if we are in the area again we would certainly love to revisit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bill
    • Date of stay 08/22/07
    • Review Submitted 08/21/07
    Jeff, We had a wonderful 2 weeks. Your home fit our family's needs. It was special to sit and read either in front of the open windows or out in the Adirondack chairs. Rain or shine, we had a wonderful time in your home. Thanks- Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill and Nancy (Pittsfield, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/21/07
    Dear Jeff, Your log home fit the needs of our family perfectly. There was plenty of room to give each age group their own space yet get together for meals. We enjoyed the breeze through the windows while reading at night and the views while sitting in chairs above the cove. Your home was located within easy reach of all that Acadia had to offer. If you have a "to do" list, I would suggest additional "great room" furniture so all guests could gather. An optional to use radio and/or wifi connection would greatly help on getting weather and event updates.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Beth & Earl Corey (Concord, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/12/07
    Dear Chris & Jeff, Thank you for sharing your "piece of heaven' with us. We loved every minute of our stay. Your home is beautiful with plenty of room for everyone. We managed to pack each day with a different adventure, rain or shine. We enjoyed coming home in the evening to relax with a kayak ride around Raccoon Cove, or just sit out on the Adirondak chairs and enjoy the view. It was perfect! The fact that we were not ready to come home says it all. We are already planning when we can come again. Thank you! Earl, Beth, & boys

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Kathy & Dean Weikel (Lancaster, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/13/06
    We had a lovely week in the log home. Kayaking on the cove around high tide was wonderful (tide info is listed on the kitchen calendar) and fishing at Lamoine State Park was exciting. We even found starfish clinging to the rocks there. Thanks for all the great communication and answering all our questions.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest JIM FLANAGAN (WARMINSTER,PA.)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/04/06
    DEAR JEFF, WE HAD A GREAT TIME AT YOUR HOUSE. NICE SIZE GREAT ROOM WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS.THE LOCATION OF THE HOUSE WAS VERY PRIVATE YET CLOSE TO ALL THE ATTRACTIONS IN THE AREA. I WOULD DEFINITLY RENT YOUR HOME AGAIN. THANKS FOR ANSWERING ALL ARE EMAIL QUESTION. THANKS, JIM AND ROSE FLANAGAN

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Nancy Hagaman (Cypress TX)
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/26/06
    The house is beautiful and very remote. If you want to be close to everything but feel "away from it all" this is the place. Excellent views. The house is very clean and roomy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill Dobberteen (Holland, MI)
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/25/06
    Excellent view from the living room--overlooks racoon bay, spacious kitchen and, three baths--no waiting! We could drive to the Harbor front at Bar Harbor in 20 minutes. Ellsworth grocery store in 8. (plus there is a little store about 4 miles away as well. We were able to launch the Kayak a couple of times (high tide) and it is really fun to walk about at low tide. This is a place you can set up base camp and have some fun!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Marsha_HAC57680 (,CT)
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/21/06
    We had a great time at your beautiful home. It will always be special to our family for the setting and that it was out first vacation with our new granddaughters! The accomodations were perfect in every way. It has been a pleasure to arrange this with you. We will tell family and friends about your home. Many thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Cindy Michaelis (Clarendon Hills, IL)
    • Date of stay 09/01/05
    • Review Submitted 09/01/05
    The log home is magnificent! My family loved the beauty of the setting, the simplicity of design, the openness of the the layout, the cleanliness of the home and the spaciousness of the rooms. We couldn't have been happier. As a matter of fact, it was hard to leave! Thank you for sharing your dream with us. It helped to make the wedding weekend just perfect. All the best, Cindy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Maria Redpath (Ottawa, ON Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/27/05
    A wonderful home away from home, with plenty of room to relax with old friends and still give the children their own space too. The location is beautiful and peaceful and the colours over Raccoon Cove at sunset are breathtaking. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Holly_HAC35674 (Aston, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/19/05
    In over 10 years of visits to Maine to enjoy the beauty of the whales and Acadia National Park, no hotel room could match to the home-away-from-home of this log home. My friends and I were able to enjoy each others' company more because we were able to relax in such a serene location instead of the usual hotel room. The house was phenomenal, the location was priceless, and the experience was incredible. I highly recommend this log home to all who seek Maine as a place of refuge from their hectic life. May Peace be with all who vacation there! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Dawn E. Peet (Kennett Square, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/11/05
    I just returned from a week's stay in this log home and the beauty of both the home and area took me a little closer to Heaven. God's glory surrounded us in the views and peace that I felt drinking my coffee and reflecting on all the gifts I saw in the sunrise over Raccoon Cove. Thank you for that opportunity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest K. Bowling (Danville, Va)
    • Date of stay 08/01/05
    • Review Submitted 08/06/05
    Thanks for the opportunity to enjoy your home. We had a family gathering and were very happy with the space and layout of the cabin. I highly recommend this rental to anyone wanting to enjoy the Maine coast and its wonders with family and friends. Along with being right on the coastline, it is very close to many Maine parks and attractions such as Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. I know you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest [e-mailed to owner]
    • Date of stay 07/17/05
    • Review Submitted 07/16/05
    We had a really nice time. Your home and the setting are quite lovely. Thank you for sharing it all with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest O.M. Kwon (Albany, NY)
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/24/05
    Thank you for letting us rent your lovely house. We really enjoyed our vacation in Maine. Acadia National Park was a lot of fun. The house is near by the Acadia National Park. It does not take long time to go there. My friends highly loved this place. It is fully equipped with kitchen appratus. Cadillac Mountain was also very beautiful. We enjoyed great time at seawall and sand beach with our children. We started off not knowing how to eat lobster and now we ate so many, I think those are the best lobster in the world. The children liked walking the beach area near by your house and collecting shells. It was wonderful time for our friends. We hope to visit there one more time in the future. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Angie_HAC23558 (Cincinnati, Ohio 45232)
    • Date of stay 02/01/05
    • Review Submitted 02/01/05
    Great property, great location. Access to lots of fun/interesting stuff, but quiet, restful, beautiful! Wonderful home base for an active vacation or a refuge from crowds and schedules (or both). Highly recommended!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]