Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of House from the water

Oceanfront - Kealakekua Bay-Dolphin Retreat [#120417] | View Property

Kealakekua Bay
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$625/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Two weeks of Heaven

    Two weeks of Heaven

    • Guest Bob (Flagstaff, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 02/06/12
    • Review Submitted 02/19/12
    My wife had just retired after 36 years in an incredibly stressful job. We agreed, whatever she wanted for her retirement trip. My job was to plan the transportation, first class seats. Her job was to plan where we would stay. First Class hardly does this place justice. We had a few snafus upon arrival, but each concern was immediately and professionally dealt with along with a call from the owner to make sure we were happy. We had friends and family join us for a few days - to a week from the Mainland, while at the same time having some quiet nights alone. We were blessed with spending 14 nights at this wonderful home. From snorkeling to sightseeing, to just hanging around the house, the time was great. My bride is sitting out on the front lawn as I type this. She is wishing she could stay another week. If you want the night life, head north to Kona. If you want the good life, stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Aloha! The Dolphin Retreat!!

    Aloha! The Dolphin Retreat!!

    • Guest Beth (Ada, MI)
    • Date of stay 04/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/15/11
    We spent 8 glorious days at the Dolphin Retreat in April. It is everything and more that we thought it would be!! The dolphins arrived each morning in the bay, the water is blue and clear, the sunsets are perfection! We kayaked to the Captain Cook Monument and snorkeled the waters there. Some of the best snorkeling ever. The house is beautiful, private, and a great place for relaxing and enjoying. We had dinners on the Lanai and watched the sunset. We also made the trip to Volcano National Park, should not be missed, snorkeled at Two Step, saw tons of beautiful fish, sea turtles, and swam with the dolphins in the bay. This is a beautiful property where you can create memories your family will never forget!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • PERFECT FAMILY GETAWAY!

    PERFECT FAMILY GETAWAY!

    • Guest kt (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 02/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/28/11
    We are currently at the Dolphin Retreat and leave in two days. This house is perfect for families, 2 couples or anyone who loves the ocean. In our case, the grandparents are upstairs in one room, the aunt in another and then our family with two small children are downstairs. The pictures do not do justice. The beach to swim with dolphins is about 1 block away. The kayak launch is next door. We played catch in the backyard and ate lunch on the grass. We (including our 6 year old) snorkled with the dolphins. What an adventure! Down the road we swam with turtles and played on a rocky beach. The kitchen is perfectly stocked and we ate dinner each night with an amazing view. I cannot say enough great things about this home. I hope you have as much fun as we did.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Learning to paddle on Kealakekua Bay

    Learning to paddle on Kealakekua Bay

    • Guest SUP Fan (san clemente, ca)
    • Date of stay 09/30/10
    • Review Submitted 10/25/10
    The Dolphin Retreat was an amazing place to stay. The kitchen is so well outfitted it made cooking a pleasure. Having a cocktail, sitting on the lanai or waterfront deck and then watching the sunset was one of the highlights of our vacation. Of course being right on the water makes everything very special. We rented standup paddleboards from Kona Boys the second day of our visit and had so much fun with them that we kept them all week. We were out paddling on the bay most mornings. It was worth getting up early to see and swim with the dolphins, that really was magical. The Captain Cook Monument was a short paddle away and we were overwhelmed with the variety of tropical fish right at the shores edge. Everything was exactly as stated and we would recommend this rental highly!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ed, Gayle S. & Family, Sausalito, CA
    • Date of stay 01/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This was our first vacation with our adult children and their wonderful mates and jwe couldn’t have stayed at a better place!! We have laughed a lot, enjoyed just about every meal outside on the Lanai. Have watched whales, dolphins, glorious sunsets, fabulous breezes and always the constant sound of the waves. I love the design of the house…we have lived with the doors open. Gary was helpful and had 6 kayaks delivered so we could go out whenever we wanted. We are all kind of sad to be leaving paradise and we’re already talking about our next vacations together at the Dolphin Retreat. Mahalo, mahalo, mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Al & Arlene D., Port Jefferson, NY
    • Date of stay 01/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    The view from this house is incredible and most relaxing. We have been to Hawaii many times and this has been the best. Mahalo!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest , Lloyd & Mary H., Minneapolis, MN
    • Date of stay 01/02/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This is the most beautiful house we have ever been in! The open view of the gorgeous turquoise water gets more beautiful every day. And swimming among the dolphins was, of course, the most ecstatic experience imaginable! Our second time here and hopefully many more to come!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kara & Wesley G., Bonita, CA
    • Date of stay 12/17/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Mahalo for making this place possible. It is the perfect location. Easy to enter the Bay to swim snorkel or kayak. We enjoyed the comfort of the home…the lanai especially. Our guests, Chris and Ann, stayed downstairs which was both homey and convenient for them….they are real early risers. We had such a good time and definitely will return again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Cindy & Gary J., Santa Rosa, CA
    • Date of stay 12/04/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Our family spent a wonderful 10 days. This house and view was paradise. Lanai was our favorite place…sunsets out of this world! Having your recreation place right out in your backyard was wonderful. Our family enjoyed having a kayak. We enjoyed watching the dolphins. We hope some of us or all of us can come back. Celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John & Heather, Philadelphia, PA
    • Date of stay 11/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This place definitely exceeded our expectations. The attack Geckos kept the bugs under control. Heather really enjoyed the birds and plants. The dolphins visited almost daily and we even saw a whale tail last night! Really enjoyed snorkeling with the Sea Turtles at Honaunau. Being able to do laundry was a major benefit. Everybody at the kayak launch looked to see who were those lucky people in that way cool house. The book “Big Island Revealed” was the perfect guide. We will always remember our morning coffee on the Lanai. This has to be the best location in all of Hawaii!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest ! Bill & Jenny C., Bellevue, WA
    • Date of stay 10/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    We began the day watching the full moon set into the sea and the starry host evaporated. Singing birds and the scent of plumeria wafting through Lanai doors heralded Sunrise. An enchanting beginning to a wonderful vacation. We kayaked to the monument and retraced Capt. Cook’s death. Snorkeling in the inlet there were so many colorful fish. Bill golfed and Mom and I explored tide pools. We grilled fish for lunch each day. Memories to last a lifetime! Mahalo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest ichael L., Phoenix, AZ
    • Date of stay 09/13/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This is paradise! Not much more to ask for in a vacation. Beautiful home, great area. I’m sure our extra big family will be coming here for years. The Hawaiian music topped it off. Once again, a great stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Carol K., Divide, CO
    • Date of stay 07/28/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This is the third time in this magical house and fourth time at the Bay. Being in the energy of this area, feeling the depth of my heart in connecting with the dolphins is an amazing experience. This is day four swimming with the dolphins. I am in deep gratitude for their presence. If you are honored by being with them send them love and light. Mahalo,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jim & Joan S., Fairfax, VA
    • Date of stay 07/05/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    We’re here to celebrate our son’s birthday and we couldn’t have found a more perfect place. You anticipated every need, from games for the grandchildren to wonderful music, magazines, books, beach towels, birds and fish and the kayak. We’d love to come back some day…. maybe for our 60th Anniversary if we’re still around. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for an absolutely fantastic time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marcia, Don & Family, Darnestown, MD
    • Date of stay 05/22/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This is such a gorgeous house! Perfectly situated and an exquisite view. The house is full of wonderful breezes and peaceful energies. We love it and are looking forward to our next visit here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Barbara, Long Beach, CA
    • Date of stay 04/25/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Dolphin Retreat is a wonderful home. I loved the proximity to the Bay and the view and the dolphins. A great experience for all 8 of us! Aloha and Mahalo

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest . The Hausel and Evans Families, Medford, OR
    • Date of stay 02/16/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    We enjoyed so much of this visit…the dolphins, snorkeling at Capt. Cook, Volcano Park, Place of Refuge and especially scuba, snorkel and turtles at Honaunau. The luau at Royal Kona Resort was fun…$60 on line price versus $75 by phone. The premium for best seating was worth it as they held a table. Free maitais and great buffet.... and then, of course, Dolphin Retreat itself. Beautiful, private, stunning view and location. It has been unbelievable. Thanks to Gary and Bob for arranging the kayaks and Doug for his help. We certainly plan to come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rachel W., Seattle, WA
    • Date of stay 01/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    This was my first trip to the Big Island. Staying here was amazing. Swimming with the dolphins was unforgettable. Plus, seeing the lava flow into the ocean at night, I felt like I was in a National Geographic special. Love this place. Thanks a million.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]