South Mission Beach Oceanfront Vacation Rental
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Mission Beach condo description
If you are coming to San Diego and have dreamed about the possibility of having the ocean at your doorsteps, then you should pay close attention to this delightful unit offered to you at a very attractive rate. This nicely furnished ocean front unit with a spectacular view is perfect for a family vacation.
A rather unique and enticing feature of this unit is that the ocean front living room opens out to a large patio area with unobstructed view of the surf. The private patios can be connected when two or more families book the separate units. Enjoy dolphins and whale watching while you relax on the oceanfront patio, or as the sun sets, take a casual stroll on the beach. Abundant opportunity for outdoor enjoyment.
- On floor 1
- 800 sq. ft.
- 3 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Children Welcome
- Limited Accessibility
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- bathtub with shower
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Dishes & Utensils
- Child's Highchair
- Ice Maker
- Coffee Maker
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Towels Provided
- Living Room seats 6
- Parking Off Street
- Hair Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Iron & Board
- Personal Safe, Beach Toys, Boogie Boards, Beach Umbrella
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Outdoor Grill
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Water View
- Beach View
- Ocean View
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Water Skiing
- Surf Fishing
- Sound/Bay Fishing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Pier Fishing
- Jet Skiing
- Roller Blading
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Basketball Court
- Water Parks
- Theme Parks
- Recreation Center
- Live Theater
- Botanical Garden
- Wildlife Viewing
- Whale Watching
- Fitness Center
- Medical Services
- Massage Therapist
- Sight Seeing
- Scenic Drives
- Paddle Boating
- Bird Watching
- Whale Watching, Surfing Dolphins
ReviewsWrite a review
We stayed in one of the Mariner apartments of Violeta and Jack in June this year. What can I say? Location/location/location. The apartment must have one of the most desirable positions in the whole of California. Right on the Beach and with an absolutely superb Patio on which to sit and observe the cyclists, runners and surfers. There is something extremely satisfying to sit and watch others exert themselves. Inspiration versus perspiration! The short walk across the beach to the water’s edge and the superb surf was a great way to get the morning started and the nights dust knocked off. The apartment which had every necessary appliance was well prepared for our stay and was spotlessly clean. The apartment is just a short walk to the various supermarkets and local entertainments and is close to San Diego with all it has to offer. I could not recommend this apartment more highly. Just rent and feel the cool vibes!! Would definitely recommend to anyone. Thanks Violeta and Jack for a great stay
- Guest Gordon A. (Dublin, Ireland)
- Date of stay 06/17/13
- Review Submitted 07/09/13
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children.
This was our first time renting anything other than units provided through major hotel chains. We were not disappointed. Everything that was stated as being provided was there and in working order. The patio was large enough for our family to enjoy breakfast and dinners. The location was perfect; it is the "quieter" side of Mission Beach.
- Guest Kolleen O.
- Date of stay 04/28/13
- Review Submitted 05/07/13
The condo was located just passed the main mission beach entrance. It is very clean and has all the nessesities for a very pleasant stress free stay. The patio faces the beach and just a short walk to the water. Also volleyball nets are close by to play at. Plenty of towels and linens and dishes! Love my stay will stay again!
- Guest clarissa w.
- Date of stay 03/18/13
- Review Submitted 03/25/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, sightseeing, families with young children, girls getaway.
"Great Location" is the best thing I can say about this condo. It is right on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and all of the beach rental stores. The unit itself is definitely "no frills" with outdated decor and minimal linens, towels and such. I did not expect it to be luxurious but it was pretty dingy. The patio is large though and we went to San Diego to be outside anyway. The worst part was that I found dirty dishes in the cupboards--after that I did no cooking inside. And it wasn't until the last morning that I saw them, but there are roaches in the unit. Saw them when we were up really early in the morning to leave to come home. Makes me sick to just write the words...I will not ever rent in this building again. Too bad, the owners were nice and made accomodations for us when they overbooked our first night and we had to arrive at the unit a day late, but we couldn't overcome the drawbacks. There are plenty of other rentals available. Sorry.
- Guest Shannon T.
- Date of stay 10/20/12
- Review Submitted 11/12/12
Owner response: This rental was for two adults for six days. At no time during their stay did they make a single request or complaint, despite full time, onsite, maintenance and management personal. They even extended their stay for an additional day. The unit is a two bedroom with a queen sofa bed with linens and towels for six people. We do not understand “minimal, towels and such” with only two occupants. Renters come with all kinds of individual tastes so the comments about frills and decor are subjective and the first we have ever heard any such comment. Prior to renting they saw the photographs on Homeaway. We use a professional pest service. We have three vacation units in the building. Next summer (June July August September) we are fully booked except for an occasional week that a unit is available. Eighty percent of our renters are repeaters. We are sorry this couple’s expectations were not met.
Loved every minute! Came to town to visit my college-aged kids, and they were able to stay here with me, coming and going to their classes and work as needed, with enough space they all could do class/computer work as needed. It provided a wonderful opportunity for us to be together as a family vice a hotel situation. Owner Violetta was helpful and booking was a breeze. We found the place very clean, beachy-comfortable and simple, easy to keep clean. A plus for me was the master bedroom on the ocean for a wonderful night's sleep, and a large patio, BBQ, table and chairs for entertaining. Beach toys are provided with sand chairs in the outdoor locker. There is also a place you can safely lock your own bikes inside the stairwell, as well as a hot/cold shower just inside the gated entrance. This is an older unit with basics of everything you need, along with comfortable clean mattresses in the bedrooms (always my concern). A parking spot just adjacent made unloading a breeze, and the owners notified us we could use additional parking when the unit was vacated. Otherwise, public parking is a short walk, it was never a problem. A market is just around the corner also. The Cinco de Mayo weekend was busy on the boardwalk, but this location didn't suffer from the larger rowdy parties found up and down the walk. The area was quiet by about 10pm with passers-by enjoying their stroll. The volleyball courts are far enough away their noise was not intrusive. The nieghboring renters were pleasant, they have been "regulars" yearly coming to the beach from Arizona. In fact, the population on this part of the beach seems to be mostly relaxed and happy baby-boomers. We had a blast, family times at the coaster, morning/evening surfing, skateboarding on the boardwalk, waking to the sights and sound of the ocean, mornings on the uncrowded strand, dinners in the setting sun -- definitely what you think of when you hear "California" lifestyle. Can hardly wait to make return plans.
- Guest FatAnnie (Virginia)
- Date of stay 05/04/12
- Review Submitted 05/10/12
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway.
Location, location, location
Location, location, location
You can't get a better location than this. There's something amazing about sitting on the patio and stepping out onto the boardwalk adjacent to the beach. The house was clean and comfortable for our stay. The owners are nice and even packed and shipped the clothes we forgot in the dresser. We'd definitely stay here again.
- Guest fatboymjl (Phoenix, AZ)
- Date of stay 11/10/11
- Review Submitted 11/22/11
Our Recent Stay
Our Recent Stay
We just returned home to Phoenix after spending an absolutley fantastic week in your unit. Both Paul and I as well as the two boys had a wonderful stay. Our unit was immaculately clean and extremely accommodating. Our entire ride home was "when are we going back"! We look forward to returning one day soon and just wanted to let you both know that you made our week at the beach an unforgettable time! You will be hearing from us again down the road and look forward to seeing you soon. Take care and enjoy your beautiful ocean front views!
- Guest Cheryl and Paul (Phoenix, AZ)
- Date of stay 10/11/08
- Review Submitted 10/22/08
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.
Thank you for an excellent time!
Thank you for an excellent time!
Our grandsons and us very much enjoyed our 6 nights in our unit . On the first morning down by the water's edge our 9 yr grandson got this ecstatic look on his face and cried out "five more days of this!" We found the unit quite comfortable and clean. We appreciate the beach items and well-stocked kitchen. As we will likely return to unit A next year, if available when we return to San Diego, we are leaving the deposit for a 2009 rental.
- Guest Bill & Rosa (New York)
- Date of stay 09/23/08
- Review Submitted 10/10/08
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.
Very Poorly Maintained Establishment
Very Poorly Maintained Establishment
This condo is infested with dirt, mold, cockroaches, and flies. The refrigerator, grill, bathroom sink, and garbage disposal do not work. The patio gate doesn't close and there are carpet spikes sticking up everywhere. If a comfortable, well-maintained, and safe condo are important for you, seek lodging elsewhere. It was a horrible and gross experience and even if this rental was free, it wouldn't be worth it to stay here.
- Guest Desertmom (Southwest)
- Date of stay 09/04/08
- Review Submitted 09/17/08
Owner response: This renter wanted to stay “if this rental was free.” Two hours after they check-in, they called to say the refrigerator was not freezing. We live upstairs so we immediately went down to check. We were greeted at the door by the renter whose first statement was “you have ruined our vacation.” She then said they should not have to pay for their vacation. We offered to refund their monies if they wanted to leave but they said they wanted to stay but not pay for it. After that they said we should pay her $300 for food that would spoil (beer in the refrigerator). Being a new refrigerator, (4 months) we called Home Depot to request repair. However within a couple of hours the refrigerator was working properly and continued to do so for the remainder of their stay and ever since. The technician came the next morning and said there was nothing wrong with the refrigerator. The disposal which was working in the morning when the unit was cleaned had a small piece of plastic in it; much like comes with grocery items. It was cleared in a couple of minutes. Their barbeque had one of the three burners out but the renter used another not more than four feet away. Their barbeque was fixed the next morning. The next morning complaning that their vacation was ruined; they had to buy their own beach towels (never offered in our website), we offered again to refund their rent if they wanted to leave. They said they wanted to stay but asked for at least $150 refund (which we also declined). They completed their stay with no further complaints and seem to have a great time. We have had vacation rentals for over 30 years. Ninety percent of our renters in the summer are return renters, some for 10 years. The two renters adjacent to this renter have been with us for 4 years in a row.
10/2- 11/23/13..$200/night.. $1200/wk ----- 11/24 -11/30... $250/night... $1500/wk 12/1-12/18... $200/night.... $1200/wk -----12/19- 1/3/14... $300/night... $1800/wk 1/3-3/30/14 ..$250/night... $1400/wk ----- 3/31-4/27..... $300/night... $1700/wk 4/27 - 5/22 ..$250/night ....$1400/wk ----- 5/22 - 6/1 ... $350/night... $1700/wk June 23-Aug 18...7 nights only - SATURDAY TO SATURDAY ..... $2700/week 8/ 18- 10/1 ..$350/night.....$2000/wk ------ 10/2-11/22.....$250/night .. $1400/wk 11/22 -11/30..$350/night.... $1700/wk ------ 11/30 -12/18...$250/night .. $1400/wk 12/18 -1/3/15 ...$350/night.. $2000/wk
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: San Diego International Airport at 8 Miles
- Nearest Ferry: Coronado at 10 Miles
- Nearest Train: Amtrak at 9 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: I-5, I-8 at 2 Miles
- Nearest Beach: So. Mission Beach at Mission Beach
- Nearest Barpub: Pennant, Beachcomber at 200 Metres
- Nearest Golf: Torrey Pines at 12 Miles
OUR OCEAN FRONT BUILDING
PATIO ON THE BOARDWALK FACING OCEAN
LIVING ROOM WITH QUEEN SOFA BED
ANOTHER VIEW OF DINING AREA
BATHROOM WITH TUB AND SHOWER
OUR LOCATION IN SOUTH MISSION BEACH
ANOTHER VIEW OF PATIO
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
PATIO WITH BBQ AND OUTSIDE SHOWER
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2007.
Date last modified - Tuesday, October 08, 2013
2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.