Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This aerial shot shows location & privacy  enjoyed when staying at Amelia.

Great Value, Great Reviews, Great Dock - May Openings [#125881] | View Property

Other Cape San Blas Properties
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$895 - $2,195/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • Spring Break 2014

    Spring Break 2014

    • Guest Sean
    • Date of stay 03/16/14
    • Review Submitted 03/26/14
    Great location, clean property. Nice dock and kayaks a plus. Would recommend placing private property signs on entry road near CSB Road to help thwart curious pedestrians.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love the seclusion.

    Love the seclusion.

    • Guest recently retired (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 02/21/14
    My husband and I are so comfortable in this home by the bay. We had already been to Cape San Blas so had already fallen in love with the area, but this time we also had a peaceful and restful place with total privacy. This home offers all you could want in a rental, with updated appliances, comfortable furnishings and a great selection of cooking utensils. Marcia was also eager to assist if needed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Can't be beat!

    Can't be beat!

    • Guest Happy Campers (NW IL)
    • Date of stay 01/01/14
    • Review Submitted 01/24/14
    This was our third winter stay at Amelia by the Bay, and it was even more enjoyable than the first time now that we’re familiar with the cape and the Port St Joe area. The pictures of the house and the descriptions of the amenities are not the least bit exaggerated. We were very comfortable and Marcia is an excellent hostess. Cape San Blas is ideal for those wanting peace and serenity, and the house is situated perfectly for visitors with children or dogs: safely back from the street behind a buffer of shrubs and trees, a huge secluded yard with no immediate neighbors, plenty of space to explore and enjoy coastal nature. Our dogs made the trek out to the end of the long dock every day, and the morning walk to the beach and back along the shoreline can’t be beat. Too chilly in Jan. to try the kayaks, but summer would offer endless opportunities for fun. We regretted not bringing our bikes this year: the paved bike/walking path now extends the entire length of the cape. We’ve tried several other vacation rentals along the Gulf Coast over the years and Amelia is by far superior – any season. We’ll be back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyed our stay!

    Enjoyed our stay!

    • Guest Uli F.
    • Date of stay 12/25/13
    • Review Submitted 02/22/14
    We stayed at Amelia during the last week in December. The property was exactly as pictured. The beach is only a short walk away and the bay is simply beautiful. We liked that the house sits back from the main road with tress and shrubbery providing lots of privacy. We had a really good time and would definitely stay at Amelia again.

    Recommended for: Pet owners

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy Guests

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Happy Guests

    • Guest Jerry
    • Date of stay 12/10/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/14
    It's beautiful. We are thrilled! Thank you so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable, Secluded, Perfect for Nature Lovers

    Comfortable, Secluded, Perfect for Nature Lovers

    • Guest Jürgen L. (Conneaut Lake, PA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/14
    We were pleased to spend 5 restful weeks at Amelia by the Bay in November 2013. We are a couple of retired professional photographers traveling the world and taking pictures along the way. This was our second visit to Cape San Blas and the best so far, thanks to Marcia and Amelia. Marcia does everything to make it an enjoyable stay. We found the house to be very clean, comfortable, tastefully furnished, with plenty of room to stretch out and relax. It was just the 2 of us, but the house would easily accommodate 6. The Master Bed was a dream and we fully appreciated the large walk-in closet with lots of room to unpack and stow our luggage. The only thing that we lacked was a small desk and chair where we could set up a computer to download our images, but the dining table was plenty big for multiple uses. We used both the front and back decks a lot, and it was wonderful to have breakfast outdoors while relaxing on the Adirondacks. The gas grill was a nice feature and we certainly put it to use grilling fresh fish and shrimp. The location of the house is very private, even though it is close to the main road. Noise is minimal, especially at night. It's a short jog to the beach for a morning run and we loved cycling the cape road. Also a short trip to the park, with its beautiful beach, there is no shortage of scenic spots to watch a sunset. Don't miss the Indian Pass Raw Bar, just a short drive away. We celebrated Thanksgiving at Amelia and were very happy with the kitchen. It is very well stocked with a wide variety of cookware and appliances, utensils and serving pieces. It had everything we needed to prepare an appropriate feast. The favorite part of our stay had to be our daily visits to the private dock on the bay to watch the wildlife and breathe in the sunshine, appreciating and photographing nature. Early morning was beautiful, with eagles, egrets, ducks, and kingfisher. We were mesmerized by the dragonflies in the marsh and found ourselves spending hours watching the richly diverse inhabitants of the shallow bay - rays, crabs of all sizes, and shelled creatures scurrying about in the clear waters. We enjoyed taking advantage of the kayaks and hammock in the pavilion. Evenings on the dock brought a new perspective and magic on a moonlit night. We even had a chance meeting with the resident raccoon! We started missing Amelia the minute we left, and are already talking about making plans for our return. This place is a real find.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fans in FL

    Fans in FL

    • Guest Fans in FL (Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/19/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/14
    If you are looking for a relaxing beach vacation in an unbelievably natural & private setting, STOP SEARCHING - You've found it! We stay at this home at least once every year, and it never disappoints. It is always clean, comfortable, well-stocked, and the owner is a joy to work with. All that being said, the main reason we keep coming back is the private location. As native Floridians, we know how rare it is to find a rental that is not completely surrounded by other rentals & hotels. At this house, you literally cannot see any neighbors until you walk all the way out on the pier. Even then, the neighboring piers are a pretty good distance away. The natural setting with pines & palmettos down to the bay is beautiful. It is like having your own little nature preserve complete with stingrays, crabs (blue, horseshoe, hermit), and many species of birds & fish. The screened room & fire pit right on the bay, and included kayaks complete this perfect little hideaway. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved this place!

    Loved this place!

    • Guest Prudence P. (Rome, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 09/28/13
    • Review Submitted 10/03/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed this house! The interior is bright, cheery and clean. The beds were comfortable. The back deck was a great place to sit, grill some meals and dine at the picnic table. Our favorite thing was having our very own little beach area on the bay complete with our own pier and very own screened-in deck. Everyone enjoyed relaxing in the hammock there. Twice we were up early to view awesome sunrises over the bay. And at night the stars were incredible from out on the pier. Had fun building a campfire on the little beach and roasting marshmallows. Caught several crabs from the dock. This property gives you the feel of complete privacy and lots of land. No houses in view out the back. Loved it!!! Hope to be back soon!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful place to stay at CSB - Private, Great Dock, Beautiful Sunrises

    Wonderful place to stay at CSB - Private, Great Dock, Beautiful Sunrises

    • Guest Tracy K. (Corinth, Mississippi)
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    My husband and my parents and I rented Amelia last year and loved it so much we rented it again this year. We absolutely love the house and the location. The pictures, description and reviews cannot begin to describe how lovely this property is. The pier is wonderful. It is just an adventure walking out on the pier and seeing all the wildlife in the bay in the crystal clear water. We've harvested scallop and crab right off the pier and prepared them in the well stocked kitchen for wonderful fresh seafood dinners. It is also a short 3/10 mile to the beach from the house. It takes very little time to walk and even less to drive. The State Park is a short 3 mile jog or bike ride on the bike path or a short scenic drive by car. And if you need some grocery items, the 2 convenience stores on the Cape are less than 5 minutes by car. The house is very comfortable for 4 to 6 adults with plenty of seating in the den and dining area. But the deck and pier, kayaks and close proximity to the beach will limit your time inside! You have everything you need to enjoy your stay whether you enjoy an "active" vacation or just napping in the sun. (or on the couch!) If you are an early riser, you can watch a beautiful sunrise over the bay right from the back deck or wander out to the pier with your coffee to enjoy a different view. When you have spent all day in the sun and surf, the back deck is a nice shady spot to rest at sunset while you grill your fresh catch of the day, or you can take a short walk to the beach and see the sun go down over the ocean. The owner is very helpful and responsive and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Amelia by the Bay is a great place to spend your vacation in Cape San Blas.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous house

    Fabulous house

    • Guest Tom (Ft. Thomas, KY)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    We spent a week here and loved it! Marsha even called us on the 2nd day just to see how we were and if things were okay. How's that for customer service! The home & property exceeded our expectations. We made good use of the screened pavilion, the boat dock and the fish cleaning station. We brought down our boat and put in at Eagle Harbor in St. Joseph Bay Peninsula State Park. It was only about a 3 or 4 mile ride down to the private dock. It was great having our boat right out back to use any time. The only thing that would have been nice to have was a broom & dust pan or a vacuum so we could periodically clean the floors.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Best view of sunset, bay and woods, not a better dock nearby!

    Best view of sunset, bay and woods, not a better dock nearby!

    • Guest Gigi (Nashville, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    Three generations enjoyed this property during the rainiest week in FL history! Would return with same conditions tomorrow if possible! Have you been to CSB before OR your spouse likes the beach but you love the lake/mountains?--this is for you! Took golf cart (can also rent) so teenagers could drive grandparents to the beach or screen porch.Rented 8 person Sundance boat for a week solid from Mark Wefing's near Apalach--he delivers! Cone Heads to go menu for lunch and cook your own fresh caught scallops for dinner on new gas grill. Horseback riding with Broke-A-Toe over the top! AC works awesome. Mattresses better than home. W/D fast and great. Owner Marsha cares that your stay is perfect and even provides beachtowels, kayaks/oars/life jackets, hammock, dvds, puzzles and even crock pot. Deer, Blue Herons, racoons, blue crabs and all sea life absolutely amazing at Amelia By The Bay. The property has been updated bigtime! Something for everyone unless, of course, you like traffic and waterparks!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My family and I loved it!

    My family and I loved it!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    My family and I stayed for a week and didn't want to go back home. If you like privacy this is the place to be. Fishing was good and we loved the kayaks! We had been to The Cape several times but never stayed on the bay. It was the best experience we've had since going to the Cape.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Friends from Bell Buckle, TN

    Friends from Bell Buckle, TN

    • Guest Blessed (Bell Buckle, TN)
    • Date of stay 03/29/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    We had a wonderful time. Very nice weather. Very nice area. Peaceful, and I did not want to leave. This is a great rental, best of both...beach/bay. If beach surf was too rough, then we played in bay. The house is nice. Pictures show a "newer house" than actuality. Only reason for four stars...tired wicker furniture, master bedroom mattress hurt our backs, coffee maker old and needs replaced, empty laundry detergent bottle, empty dishwasher bottle, no garbage bags, and water from faucets is salty. WE TOTALLY ENJOYED OURSELVES!! I do not think we will return to this rental due to price, but OWNER IS GREAT, and allowed us to pay in three installments prior to stay. Thank You...we could not ask for a more peaceful and safe area. Locals great also.Very helpful. Check out St.Patricks seafood market for best deals on fresh seafood. Across from Post Office

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fans in FL

    Fans in FL

    • Guest Beck (FL)
    • Date of stay 11/02/12
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    Well, it has taken quite a while to get my review in, but that is largely because we've stayed at this place several times, and it is tough to come up with new & interesting ways to say that it is THE BOMB! I love it, my husband loves it, and our dog loves it! If you appreciate privacy and nature (and believe me, as a native Floridian, I can tell you that neither is easy to come by on the coast of FL), this is the place for you. Owner, Dave, is super-nice & just as laid back as his rental home. Oh, and though it is not exclusive to this rental, fantastic seafood abounds. Can’t wait for our next visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peaceful Natural Setting

    Peaceful Natural Setting

    • Guest KayMaeS (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    We loved the beauty of the natural setting of Amelia by the Bay. This was our 2nd trip to Cape San Blas and both times have chosen to stay on the bay side for this very reason. Our two dogs frolicked almost as much there as they did at the beach. I spent a couple of afternoons reading (and napping) on the hammock in the screened in room down by the bay. I will say that is the LONGEST pier I have ever seen and it took me a while getting used to walking the distance with no railings (even though the bay is very shallow)! We walked to the beach every day-- cutting through a residential neighborhood (hope that was okay) and rode bikes a lot on the bike paths up and down the cape. As for the house itself: the bed in the master BR was very comfortable but I wish the LR furniture was more "loungeable" (if that's a word). I can't imagine where others would sit if there had been more than the two of us (it's a 3 BR house).... and it would've been great to have a lounge chair on one of the decks, as well (several of the plastic chairs are broken)... other than that, loved our vacation. Thanks.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fall Break

    Fall Break

    • Guest Matt (Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    We had an awesome Fall Break week at Amelia by the Bay. The dock worked great for our boat (18 foot G-W), and the fishing was very good...trout, flounder and sea bass. My kids enjoyed campfires on the bay side as well as at the beach. The house was clean and well-appointed. The private location is rare and appreciated! It was a short walk to the beach....water was still warm enough. We couldn't have asked for a better property or a better week for our family....we will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just Amazing!

    Just Amazing!

    • Guest Mike (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/26/12
    We stayed here for one week this year, after several previous vacations in the area. The house and dock make for an incredible experience and the owners are so nice. One night the water was actually glowing with phosphorescence and without the dock we would never have had such an amazing swim. Beach access was easy and there is no question in my mind that bayside beats out beachfront. My one issue that the kayaks were not fully equipped with decent oars and there were two not three, but the owner assured me he would address that issue. So if kayaks are important just ask and I'm sure he will accommodate. Just loved the house. We have spent a lot of time in the area and this was the best.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly recommend! Great place for a large family!

    Highly recommend! Great place for a large family!

    • Guest Erin (Tallapoosa, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Amelia by the Bay was a great location for our family vacation. We had never been to the Cape and were looking for something relaxing. We found a second home at Amelia. Here you have the best of both worlds. My father-in-law and brother-in-law enjoyed being able to finish in the bay, while the rest of us were across the road at the beach. This was our first family vacation with our 9 month old daughter. She loved playing in the sand at the beach and lounging in her float in the warmer bay water while we snorkeled around her. While the baby took a nap with grandma in the hammock in the convenient, screened-in pavilion, we were able to kayak further out and snorkel in the knee deep water. After making the 6 hour drive home, I quickly realized I had left my makeup bag in the master bathroom. My husband quickly called the owner to ask if he could pay him to ship it back. The owner had already packaged and shipped my makeup bag before we had even made it home. I was truly thankful for his generosity. We have already started checking our calendars for a Spring Break trip next year back at Amelia by the Bay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing and fun quiet nature retreat

    Relaxing and fun quiet nature retreat

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/16/12
    We will definitely return to this rental. The home sits on a large piece of property, so you avoid having neighbors, and instead immerse yourself in the natural setting. The house was clean. I was initially worried because the property is listed as pet friendly, and we do not have a dog. Sometimes, these rentals are a bit too dog friendly at the expense of the people. This was not the case here. Everything was clean and comfortable. We did bring our flats boat, which worked fine with the dock, but deep draft vessels may have an issue because the tidal fluctuation combined with wind effects can result in low water (less than 1 foot). As I said, we had no problem, and this was perfect for us and our daughter to explore the aquarium clear waters of St. Joe Bay. We saw bald eagles, woodpeckers, cardinals, and more every day. We also spotted ducks and loons while we were fishing. Our daughter even earned a design your own marine biology girl scout badge during our stay. Sea urchins, starfish, hermit crabs, horseshoe crabs, tulip snails, lightning whelks, crown conchs, stingrays, sharks, seaturtles, sand dollars, blue crabs, ..... It was great. This was probably our 5th trip to this area, but our first time at this property. My only hesitation in writing this review is that it may encourage more people to visit making it harder for me to get the dates I want! The property managers were attentive as well. We had to call them due to smoke detectors beeping and they came and happily fixed the problem for us. As I said, we will be back. FYI for other visitors - the best grocery store is the Piggly Wiggly in Port St. Joe. On the cape, the Trading Post has quick essentials, good ice cream and pizza. In Appalachicola, our favorite restaurant was the Owl Cafe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beck

    Beck

    • Guest Beck (FL)
    • Date of stay 11/10/11
    • Review Submitted 12/05/11
    My husband, dog, and I have stayed at Amelia by the Bay a few times now, and love it. It is always clean & well-stocked, and the owner is very helpful & easy to work with. Being native Floridians, we both love the real Florida bay setting with the pines and palmettos. The screen room on the bay is our favorite. We can watch the dog play in the water while drinking beer & listening to reggae from the comfort of the hammock in the screen room. There are not many places left in Florida where you can expect this much privacy on the water. It is a true gem. There included kayaks are a very nice treat. We can't wait to go back again!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous vacation rental for whole family

    Fabulous vacation rental for whole family

    • Guest Sophia (East coast)
    • Date of stay 11/09/11
    • Review Submitted 11/20/11
    This is a great place to vacation with your family and pets. It is private with easy access to both the bay and the beach. I'm quite picky so I was very happy to find the place very clean, the linens new, and for a vacation rental the kitchen well-organized. (I understood why when INSTEAD of a threat of incurring extra charges for not unpacking the dishwasher, the instructions requested that when you leave, "turn on the dishwasher -- no need to unload the dishes -- we will do that for you." I liked the fish cleaning sink on the dock and the fact that the "screen room," which overlooks the bay, has water and electric,

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Writers Paradise

    Writers Paradise

    • Guest Mark Twain (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    If only I could have stayed longer, I would have finished my Great American novel -- or not. What a great place: private, clean, comfortable, secluded, safe. The dock is great for fishing or just hanging out. The owners also made available kayaks and life vests which really added to our fun. My favorite part of the property is the screened porch that overlooks the bay and gives you a sense of being right outdoors surrounded by the woods. I spent hours lying in the hammock, thinking about that book :-) With electric and water you have the option of blending Strawberry Daquiri's or plugging in your laptop. I chose the former but next time I will stay longer and maybe, just maybe, I'll take the lap top down there...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great get away!

    Great get away!

    • Guest Mountain Hiker, Mandy (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    A great stay in one of my favorite spots. The property is well-situated with easy access to the bay for sunrise watching the sunrise, going fishing, kayaking etc., and a short walk across the street to the magnificent beach. The house was clean, fresh and quite spacious with lots of little touches that create a home away from home. The new manager is REALLY friendly and went out of her way to make sure that I had everything I needed. No question, I will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • The dock was really nice

    The dock was really nice

    • Guest nana (Columbus, GA)
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/24/11
    The dock and the beds were nice. The sink leaked and someone had a bucket under the sink to catch the water. One of the bathroom toilets didnt flush and you had to lift the back and flush it. There was sand on the floor when we got there and we had to wash all the bathroom carpets because they had not been cleaned at all. The whole house had a mold smell. We were disappointed in the house. I guess we were used to paying more and getting a nicer house. It was too far to walk to the beach when it was hot and the bugs eat you up going to the dock. The best feature of all was the dock. If you fished all the time and stayed out of the house most of the time it would be better. I left a day early because of the dirty cushions on the couches and the overall situation. The master bathroom had the most mold smell.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Owner response: We are glad you loved our dock but very unhappy that our cleaning company let us down. We have since changed companies and are happy to say that the home is spotless, has recent new upgrades, and is better than ever. We do thank you for taking the time to detail the problems you had and would love for you to come back and stay with us again. David Harrell

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Nature at it's best

    Nature at it's best

    • Guest Anne (Georgia)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/17/11
    This property is on a huge piece of very private land and is wonderful for families that love nature. We have two Great Danes and the layout of the house and the lot where perfect for them. The dogs and the kids had alot of freedom to run back and forth from the bay safely because the house and bay trail are set back from the road. You feel like you are in your own little world while at Amelia by the Bay. The screen house was one of the best parts being right on the bay and a little distance from the house makes it very private and wonderfully peaceful. Reading in the hammock hanging in the screen house while the kids played in the bay was a little bit of heaven, I could watch the kids and still have a little peace and quiet for mom. The dock is very long and makes an awesome place to hangout, fish, or snorkel from. Our family found some really neat shells and saw a ton of wildlife while snorkeling in the bay. Also be sure to watch the sunrise from the end of the dock, I did this one morning and it was breath taking. The beauty of nature is everywhere you look and the bike path is right in front of the driveway to this home. The public beach access is a short walk or an easy bike ride away and the store is also an easy bike ride away which was very convenient. We had several very nice dinners on the back deck. We have stayed in many homes on Cape San Blas and this was our favorite one. The kayaks being included was also a huge benefit. We got to kayak everyday and saved about $130 because we usually have to rent a kayak. Amelia by the Bay has it all. Great location... Great layout... Great bargin for the money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice Vacation

    Nice Vacation

    • Guest Patrick (Dawsonville, Ga)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/15/11
    We had a nice stay ( 10 Days). The only thing that I would like to see changed is the path to the screen house and the dock needs to be cleared a little better and a little lighting on the way down would be nice. My wife and daughter happened across a 2 1/2 to 3 foot Florida Cottonmouth on thier way from the dock to the house on the second day. To say the least it was a very scary encounter and unfortunately kept my wife on edge about walking down there because of the narrowness of the trail. Other than that the end of the dock and the surrounding waters provided for some spectacular scenes that I was fortunate enough to photograph. We had fresh bay scallops for dinner every other night and caught our share of Specks out in the bay, The kayaks were used daily by myself and my children. We brought 2 of our own, so there was plenty to go around and what a treat it was to kayak out to the clear areas (about 1/2 mile) and still be in clear water that you could stand in an see your feet. The evenings were spent watching storms boil up over Port St. Joe and move off toward the cape. Low tide in the evening was a spectacular site as the surrounding waters were as flat as glass as far as the eye could see providing a mirror image fo the sky. My wife and I kept referring to the end of the dock as "the end of the pier at the edge of the world". It was quite possibly the most peaceful place on the planet. Even when a huge storm blew across from PSJ with winds that I estimated at 50-60 mph we just sat there in awe at the power of nature and how beautiful something so violent could be in the right setting. The end of the dock is the PERFCET setting. You can gain a whole new perspective on how tiny you are in relation to the rest of the universe just by sitting and experiencing what the end of the dock has to offer. We have been comming to CSB and PSJ for 14 years and this was the firsst time we have stayed on the bay-side. Most definately it will not be our last and certainly not our last at Amelia By The Bay. There is not another dock like it on the entire bay and it is where our vacation was made. Take your camera with you when you go. The most rank amateur photographer can take some spectacular shots to take home. I did.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great location bay side with gulf access, too!

    Great location bay side with gulf access, too!

    • Guest William R. (Covington, GA)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 07/03/11
    We had a great time and the owners were very kind when we told them it was our 25th anniversary. We were able to stay for 8 nights and invited another couple down for a few days to celebrate their anniversary with us. Each time we took the dogs out for a walk we had to make our way out to the end of the dock to view the wonderfully clear water and all the different creatures. There was a bit of a problem with cleaning and maintenance that was not being taken care of by the managers. We spent at least 4 hours cleaning to bring it up to acceptable. A toilet seat was cracked (so it pinched), items left under the beds that were not vacuumed, leaking sink that had a pot to catch the water, toilet roll holder left on the floor with a new roll of paper, dirty tubs that cleaner with bleach cleaned right up, dust on all the blinds, refrigerator and some of the electronic equipment. It was a hot week so the AC had a very hard time keeping the house at 78 during the day. After doing some repairs ourselves and calling the manager to tell them about the toilet seat (which was not repaired during our stay) we had a great time on the bay and in the gulf. Scallop season began and we had a lot of fun collecting them around the dock and doing a bit of fishing and bringing in a few keepers. Don't even think of coming here without picking up some of the fresh shrimp available on the road to the Cape. Beware, you will never want frozen shrimp again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: As the owner we were very sorry to hear there was a problem with the cleaning. It was taken care of as soon as we were alerted and the cleaning company has assured us it will not happen again. We are so sorry that you experienced problems with the cleaning. This is a great home and property with the privacy. We have since changed the management company and are happy to report that the home is spotless and better than ever.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful and relaxing

    Peaceful and relaxing

    • Guest Juanita (Ethridge, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/29/11
    This place is fantastic!! We have stayed several different places from Mexico Beach down to Indian Pass but this was just exactly what we needed. It is quiet and peaceful. The bay was exactly right for our grandchildren ages 10, 7, 4, and 2. We all had a great time swimming and fishing in the bay. There is plenty of room for a family of 8. We enjoyed sitting in the screen house on the bay. Beautiful is not the word for the sunrises over the bay, breathtaking is a little closer. Took home may wonderful memories from this place. I would reccommend this place for anyone wanting to get away from the fast, crazy pace of the places just a short drive away, you know the ones I mean!! We are already making plans to come back to Amelia on the Bay next year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome stay at Amelia by the Bay

    Awesome stay at Amelia by the Bay

    • Guest Elaine S. (Boston, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/23/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    Our family (including the dog) enjoyed a wonderful weeks stay at Amelia by the Bay. The home exceeded our expectations and was as lovely as the pictures represented. The fishing in the bay was some of the best we have ever experienced on vacation. Consistently caught our limit of trout each day and also caught flounder, and spanish mackeral. The bay water is so crystal clear! It was easy to dock the boat here to be ready to hop in for a fishing trip. We actually didn't have to go far from the dock to catch fish. Port Saint Joe was a short drive and we enjoyed the shops and dining there. It was also good to have the stores on the Cape if we had to make a quick trip. The beach was a short walk down the bike trail and was as beautiful as the bay. This is a place we would recommend to friends and family. We hope to come back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Delightful! Exactly as described!

    Delightful! Exactly as described!

    • Guest Happy Campers (NW IL)
    • Date of stay 01/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/29/11
    There's absolutely nothing about Amelia By The Bay NOT to like. The property lives up to its description in every way. Perfect place for well-behaved pets, and kids - from tots to teenagers. A two block walk along the paved bike path to the public beach access for runs along the gulf shoreline every morning was great exercise for our dogs and us. The spacious secluded yard has plenty of room for them - and children - to wander around in safe surroundings. The house is lovely, with pretty much everything we needed; the screenhouse and long pier out into the huge bay are even better than the photos. Two small general stores nearby supplied basic groceries, fishing supplies, and souvenirs when we didn't feel like driving into Port St. Joe. We took several bike rides north along that 2-lane path to the state park, where we explored the nature trail there. We hope to come back when the weather is warm enough to try out the kayaks provided. Add the wide sugar-sand gulf beach, the friendly natives, and the helpful local couple who manage the property for the owners, and we discovered the ideal vacation spot for families or anyone who wants to unwind in peace and quiet, and enjoy seaside nature at its best. You won't regret taking advantage of the owners' generosity in sharing their dream haven.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Screenhouse is awesome!

    Screenhouse is awesome!

    • Guest Sammy, Chris, Kellie, Derek, Moe, and Joe (Youngstown, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/01/09
    • Review Submitted 07/10/10
    We had an awesome week here in July, 2009. The location of this house is convenient to both the bay and the gulf, making it a great choice for families. We enjoyed fishing off the dock and playing board games in the screenhouse. Each evening, we walked to the beach at nearby Cape Palms Park. This is a great place to spend the lazy days of summer! Even our dachshunds had a great time!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]