Cottage: 3005 Palmetto Blvd.
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Ask Owner
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Edisto Beach house description
Three bedroom two bath cottage at Edisto! This cottage is one of the earlier homes with original tongue-and-groove paneling in some rooms. The home has been updated with new appliances, ceiling fans in all rooms, and central heat/air.
One bedroom has a queen bed and another has a set of twins and a full-sized crib. The third bedroom is small with a day-bed and a twin trundle that when pulled out takes up much of the room. It's a great room for kids but two adults have slept there many times.
The dining room has a table for six. The front porch which is enclosed has a card/game table for four. In addition, on this porch are four rockers, beach chairs, and toys and games. There is quite a collection of children's books about the beach and ocean, and puzzles and games, as well.
Under the house is a wagon with many beach toys. Beach access is very convenient and the wagon can pull children or beach games such as bocce or paddle ball. The incredible bike trail is just a few steps away. Two adult bikes with a baby/child two seater Trek trailer are included.
- Vacation Rental
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8, Beds for 6-8
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Clothes Dryer
- Air Conditioning
- Washing Machine
- Video Library
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
ReviewsWrite a review
A little slice of heaven
A little slice of heaven
Our family spent the month of June at this quaint little house and loved every minute of it. The house was cozy, comfortable, clean and represented the old beach cottages that once prevailed at this quiet little beach. You will not find all of the luxurious amenities offered at the large new homes on the beach, but what you will find is charm and comfort and the atmosphere to make wonderful memories.
- Guest Nancye (Columbia, SC)
- Date of stay 06/02/12
- Review Submitted 06/29/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, romantic getaway, families with teenagers.
Great 1st family vacation
Great 1st family vacation
My husband and myself took our 8 month old son to Edisto for our 1st family vacation. This is the 1st time we ever rented a beach house and it was wonderful. The house was perfect for us and we had plenty of room we never used. The owners were extremely nice and willing to answer any questions. I highly recommend this cottage. We hope to go back and continue to make happy memories.
- Guest Brandi (East TN)
- Date of stay 09/23/11
- Review Submitted 09/30/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, families with young children, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Yes, this is an older beach house, with the need of an enormous amount of TLC and rountine maintenance. During our week of vacationing we cleaned all the celing fans, which were turning in the wrong direction and caked with accumulated dust. The filter in the family room was like wise. We also hosed the filter off and replaced it behind the chair that is blocking the vent of any circulation. The list goes on. I did notify the owner in the form of a letter when returning our keys, but no response. Apparently, once you rent it and they receive your money, they do not care. I would recommend making your payment with ample time to receive the keys to the house. Our check was cashed and no keys received until I started making frantic calls the day before, only to be told one of the owners family member's was in the hospital and the keys were never mailed, but our check somehow was cashed!
- Guest Very disappointing! (Athens, Georgia)
- Date of stay 06/18/11
- Review Submitted 09/01/11
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, families with young children.
Owner response: I am so sorry that the renter was dissatisfied. My husband fought a brave and tough fight with an aggressive form of lymphoma which he lost last week. We have been in the hospital many, many days over the last sixteen months, including a long stay for a bone marrow transplant. Hopefully, I will be able to take better care of the beach house with much time on my hands now.
Edisto beach regular
Edisto beach regular
I don't know what 'weary traveler' is talking about but my family loves the place! Yeah this place needs TLC but what do you expect its an older home if you want a perfect house rent one of the really expensive places. You can't get any better price for what this house has. So if your debating wether you want to rent this place or not definately rent it but know this the place is NOT brand new so don't expect everything to be perfect, besides who has money these days to repair a house to look brand new all I have to say is we love the place and as for the heat inside the house cut the fans on! That's why they provide fans is so the house can stay cool, and close all the curtins during the hottest part of the day, its common sense people! Not only that its really close to the beach like walking distance close and if you look close enough you can see the ocean from the kitchen doors. Again don't hesitate to rent here we have great memories with this place we stay at least once here every year.
- Guest edisto beach bum (SC)
- Date of stay 09/18/10
- Review Submitted 03/21/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, families with young children, pet owners, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers.
comfort and simplicity
comfort and simplicity
I have enjoyed bringing my family to this precious beach house for several years... it is like stepping back in time to an era when things didn 't have to be new or brand name. The photos accurately reflect the comfort and simplicity this home affords. My grandchildren enjoy playing in the huge backyard and on the enclosed front porch. The floors, , walls, and ceilings are covered with beautiful heart of pine. The comfort and simplicity of this home call us to return again and again. : )
- Guest beach lover (cayce,sc)
- Date of stay 09/03/10
- Review Submitted 03/20/11
Recommended for: Sightseeing, girls getaway, families with young children, adventure seekers, age 55+.
It is apparant the the photographs taken in these photos were taken some time ago, they were very misleading! The house is a cute little cottage, but needs A LOT of TLC! The tile floors in the kitchen are breaking apart, the vinyl on the porch and in the other part of the house is bustling up. On extremely hot days, the house is extremely hot! There is a note on the wall that states that the air cannot be set below 76 degrees. The temp in the house registered at 85 degrees everyday we were there, which didnt help very much when the temp outside reached over 100. The lawn needed serious landscaping. The grass was very high in the backyard, and the shrubs around the house are very grown over. There are bicycles out back, but they have been sitting in the backyard and were extremely rusted over. Also, the wagon is underneath house, but because of all of the shells, buckets, and other items strown around the back of the house, it was not accessable. Also, we were a bit afraid to go underneath the house to get the wagon (not to mention the backyard), after we saw a medium sized crocodile crawl underneath the house. We had three small children and from the description the house sounded perfect, needless to say, the children were not able to go outside and were actually afraid to fall asleep at night in the house. We ended up leaving two days before our departure because of the uneasiness of the atmosphere in the home (very creepy). We were very disappointed after looking so forward to this vacation for so long. We also encountered a variety of insects inside of the house. House would be a nice little getaway if it were updated and taken care of. It needs a lot of work!
- Guest Weary Traveler (Lexington, SC)
- Date of stay 07/17/10
- Review Submitted 07/23/10
Owner response: I was very disappointed when I read this review . This renter did not notify us about any problems. We always try to address any needs/concerns our renters bring to our attention. We have had many repeat, satisfied customers.
Jun-Aug ........... $850/wk. Saturday to Saturday Sep-Oct; Mar-May .. $500/wk ..(Friday to Friday or Sunday to Sunday) $100/nt. Nov-Feb ........... $300/wk ..(Fri.to Fri. or Sun. to Sun.) $ 75/nt. (The arrival/departure date is changed during fall/winter/spring so that week-ends are available.) Linens not included. Cleaning Fee: $75.00
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner for more information.
- Primary: (803) 755-7229 (South Carolina, USA)
- Secondary: (864) 576-4279 (South Carolina, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2007.
Date last modified - Friday, May 24, 2013
3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.