Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This Could Be You

Sapphire Beach--a Jewel [#129242] | View Property

Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4
$150 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (31)

Sort by:
  • A little slice of heaven.

    A little slice of heaven.

    • Guest Tami R.
    • Date of stay 02/04/14
    • Review Submitted 02/12/14
    Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina is without a doubt the most gorgeous place we have ever been. The condo is very well-maintained and we really appreciate all the work the owners have put into it. It has a beautifully remodeled kitchen and bathroom. Nice new king size bed, you can leave the sliding door open and let the ocean waves to lull you to sleep. And, of course the balcony that is just yards away from the ocean. There was very nice snorkel equipment in the condo. There is a bar and grill within walking distance and during the day a food truck just up the hill called Off The Grid that serves BBQ. If you want other dining options there is a quaint village called Red Hook a mile down the road with many dining options. This is also where you can catch the ferry to St. John. We rented a car so we took the car barge but you can still ferry over there and then take the bus around St. John. You can easily take the bus right from Sapphire Beach around the island too. The Sapphire Marina offers many options for day sails, dinner cruises, jet ski rental, fishing trips, and more. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone interested in relaxation on the beach.

    Owner response: It always thrills us to hear that our guests have enjoyed our condo as much as we do,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great convenient beach getaway

    Great convenient beach getaway

    • Guest Muriel M.
    • Date of stay 12/21/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    We loved this condo: great location (right on the beach) and great amenities. The condo is very comfortable and was perfect for our family vacation! Great location to get to Red Hook and take the ferry to the other islands. Highly recommend this rental!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It always thrills us to hear that our guests enjoy our bit of paradise as much as we do.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise for sure...

    Paradise for sure...

    • Guest rufae j.
    • Date of stay 04/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/09/13
    Still basking in the glow from a wonderful 10 day stay @ Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina.... Couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The description on the website was totally accurate. The unit is clean,well maintained and recently renovated as well as very very comfortable. The view off the terrace is breathtaking & there's nothing like the sound of the surf to lull you to sleep every night. The beach is right outside & never crowded. The pool is beautiful with a fabulous view of St John & the surrounding smaller islands. Security personnel make regular rounds & are very friendly. The Sapphire Grill halfway up the hill @ Sapphire Villiage served delicious reasonable meals & great Happy Hour cocktails. Don't miss the conch fritters with the mango sauce. Yummy! Marsha, the owner was easily accessible & Jeanne,the resident manager was delightful. Really enjoyed a day trip to St John on the ferry. The beaches there are the best I've ever seen. Coral world & Coki Point were also great. And there are tons of really good restaurants nearby. Especially enjoyed Pesce & Fishtails in Redhook. The one thing I will do differently next year is rent a car,at least for a few days, now that I'm learning my way around the island. I would definitely recommend this island & this rental unit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spring break

    Spring break

    • Guest breakee (Fargo, ND USA)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    My woke up the first morning, walk out on the deck and said, "Just like a postcard". We had a great time. Would go back in an eye blink!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's always great to hear that people enjoy our place as much as we. Remember, returning guests are eligible for a 10% discount.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mellow Maritime Adventure

    Mellow Maritime Adventure

    • Guest bobcat55 (Lookout Mountain, TN USA)
    • Date of stay 11/08/12
    • Review Submitted 11/22/12
    We had a wonderful time at Sapphire Beach. The property was accurately described, very nice.Caretaker very helpful, and the owners were great to deal with. The resort is tired, but it is being fixed up. The pool is really pretty, in an amazing location. Our upscale dinner, at The Old Stone Farmhouse, was remarkable! Also, the very laid-back Latitude 18, had delicious food. We'd go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: It's always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy our bit of paradise as much as we do. Repeat guests always get a 10% discount.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pictures are the real thing!

    Pictures are the real thing!

    • Guest DS (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 10/09/12
    My husband and I just returned from a trip to St. Thomas and St. John. The area is beautiful and uncrowded in the off season. Some shops/restaurants are closed at this time of year, but what is open was great. Sapphire Beach is wonderful and even after driving around the island, it was the place we would have selected to stay. The beach is picture perfect. We like to snorkel and found that the reef on sapphire was perfect for our daily swim. Tons of fish, eagle rays, bat rays, turtles and squid were swimming about. It was incredible to wake up each morning to that stunning beach view and be able to walk out your door to reach the beach. The property is well maintained and we felt very secure in being able to leave our valuables in the condo. The condo itself has been nicely remodeled and has all the conveniences needed for time at the beach. The chair/snorkel rental being included in the price of the rental was really nice. We were able pack a pic nic lunch with the cooler chest that was provided and explore other beaches on the island. Wifi worked great for being able to send pictures home and check email. Overall it was a great place to rent! Our favorite pick for dinner out of the nights we spent there was Pesce in Red Hook which had wonderful food and service.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It's always wonderful to hear our guests enjoyed our condo as much as we do.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very nice relaxing place!

    Very nice relaxing place!

    • Guest Rebecca C.
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/08/12
    Very nice place! We enjoyed it thoroughly! Close to the water and snorkeling. Just walk out the door and into the water. Beautiful, calm waters! We liked having a kitchen so we could prepare our own breakfast and lunch and then drive into town for dinner. This side of the island is the quiet side- away from the busy tourist shops. We loved it. We'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Spring vacation

    Spring vacation

    • Guest saz (Buffalo, New York )
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 04/19/11
    We just returned from a seven night ,eight day stay at Sapphire Beach . All I can say is that we hated to leave ! This condo is immaculate , nicely updated and the owners take pride in their property . It is every bit as wonderful as is stated in the description . We felt right at home here . Sam was waiting at the airport as promised and was there to take us back right on time . He is a charming wonderful person ,so glad we got the chance to know him this second trip to Sapphire ! We love this place and thank Marsha for sharing and answering all our questions . We are already planning our next trip back to this condo ! The beach is perfect and the snorkeling is great . Very close to Redhook . We rent a car and there is always a place to park in front of the building . Thank you again , can't wait to come back . Loved the new chair and the afghan on sofa ! I used it every night to curl up and read my book . I hope everyone enjoys and appreciates your place as much as we do ,

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is always wonderful to hear that our guests appreciate our condo, amenities provided, and our manager, Sam. We recently added the new chair as the originals are fine for awhile, but get a little uncomfortable by the end of a two hour movie.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A week in the sun!

    A week in the sun!

    • Guest Beach Girl (Royal Oak, MI)
    • Date of stay 02/16/11
    • Review Submitted 03/08/11
    Loved it! A beautiful condo, excellent customer service (the attention to detail was remarkable), gorgeous weather, who could ask for anything more! It was terrific to be a 3 minute Safari ride (local taxi) to Red Hook and the ferry to St. John. We had the best of both islands. Be sure to try the CocoBlue (Red Hook) restaurant (was Lotus). Great food and great service.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Our guests experience is always of utmost importance to ourselves and our property manager. It is always wonderful to hear that our efforts are appreciated.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quiet and Relaxing

    Quiet and Relaxing

    • Guest saz (Buffalo, New York )
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 01/20/11
    My husband and I took a birthday trip to St. Thomas in October of 2010. we stayed at this wonderful condo at Sapphire beach . We were very pleased!! Sam was waiting for us at the airport as promised and stopped for us to get groceries on our way to the condo. It was very nicely decorated and furniture including bed very very comfortable. We enjoyed ourselves so much we booked it again for this coming April, only this time we are staying longer ! Thank you for sharing your piece of heaven with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay Sapphire Beach Condo's

    Our stay Sapphire Beach Condo's

    • Guest Minnetta (New Orleans, La USA)
    • Date of stay 05/16/10
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    We had a wonderful time while in St. Thomas, the property was well maintainded and in a great location to the beach. We spent many hours under the trees on beach chairs enjoying the view of the water. The snorkling was very good, and equipment was provided free. The pool was lovely and also a great view. The condo, C206 was comfortable and in good working order, the second floor was convenient to the beach, there was a snack stand for drinks and burgers. My advice is rent a car, the taxi's are very expensive and the money spent on the few trips would have paid for the car, round trip to town is $20.00 per person. The staff was helpful and friendly, plenty of security all the time.We had a great meal at The East End Cafe in Red Hook,Glady's in downtown off Main St. and Shelia's Hut,outdoor dining on picnic tables in St.John, the best bargain on the trip. Minnetta

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Drew and Danielle (Arlington TX)
    • Date of stay 03/04/10
    • Review Submitted 03/04/10
    Wow! It's tough to describe how much we enjoyed our first time in St. Thomas staying at Marsha's C206. The room was exactly as described, and on the incredible Sapphire Beach with superb balcony views. This location is very close to Red Hook with lots to do- as well as the ferrys to St. John so it makes a good home base for exploring. It would be very easy to spend all of your time just on this one beach, but we found ourselves all over St. Thomas and St. John as the week went on. Everyone was friendly, locals and tourists alike. Met lots of great people on Sapphire beach and everywhere else. Just leave the attitude at home and slow things down a bit and you'll be sure to have a great time. And, yes.....Sam was awesome! Love ya man! I would recommend Sapphire Beach (and C206) to anyone. Thanks again Marsha! (Trip dates: Feb 24 - Mar 01)

    Owner response: It's always great to hear someone enjoyed our condo as much as we do.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest BBostan (Boston MA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/10
    • Review Submitted 03/02/10
    We rented directly from the owner. Her unit is very well equipped. Great location. Sapphire Beach is the best beach in St Thomas, we visited many. Convenient to get to Red Hook with plenty of places to eat. We rented a car through Budget right at the resort, saves money on taxis as they are per person per way. The unit is had a comfy (but squeaky on one side) king bed. There is a pull out couch, and an air mattress. We have two boys 15 and 12 so we used the air mattress on the floor, which there was plenty of room for and that saved many arguments with them sleeping together. The cooler came in handy for packing lunches. We took the car ferry over to St John two days and visited beaches there, a must do! The snorkeling at Sapphire is wonderful. The use of the lounge chairs is included along with snorkel gear but we bring our own snorkel gear so we did not use theirs. Overall the unit is PERFECT. The manager of the unit is wonderful you have a gem there owner. The only negative (which is not really) is there was no welcome basket as stated, the floors could of been cleaner, if you walked with socks on they got black on the bottom, so after showering you just put on socks. The towels did come daily all thou the times varied each day. We did not receive a mid-week tidy. We asked for beach towels but never got them, thankfully I packed a couple so we made do but would have been nice to get them. These small issues were not a big deal at all the Unit is wonderful and I would definately stay again, our family had a wonderful time! Thanks!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Owner response: I am so happy to hear that our guests had such a wonderful time. The small issues mentioned have been addressed. If something is not exactly as promised please contact my manager or myself immediately so that we can correct the situation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

    • Guest Debbie111 (Vienna, VA)
    • Date of stay 02/09/10
    • Review Submitted 02/09/10
    Marsha was very accommodating in booking us at the last minute for a desperately needed vacation. The condo is right on the beach front with wonderful views of the water. It is also one of the closest buildings to the pool, which has very nice views. The balcony was nice to sit on and eat breakfast before heading to the beach. The dive shop had our information so getting free lounge chairs and snorkels everyday was no problem. The condo has a well-appointed kitchen, comfortable bed, TV with lots of cable channels, and air conditioning. We enjoyed our stay in the unit. It's a nice unit in a fantastic location. Sapphire Beach is great for sitting and relaxing, swimming, and most especially for snorkeling.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Mark Davis1 (Independence,Missouri)
    • Date of stay 01/05/10
    • Review Submitted 01/05/10
    Dear Marsha, As promised a lovely condo. We felt at home and treated the property as such careful to leave it as we found it. The condo looked exactly like the pictures. The beach however,did not. It was much much better than the pictures! Sam came to our rescue several times. What a nice guy. We did not take your advice on NOT using Budget rental. We had a confirmation for a car at the airport, waited 2 hours for a car only to be told they had no cars available. By chance while at the airport I spoke with a man who "had a car" - so we took a taxi to Redhook and met a man "with a car". At this point we scared to death, had some language problems...and then Sam showed up like the Lone Ranger. All was good. He said this is the same person that Marsah uses when in town. I belive the company name was ALL AROUND. Kind of funny company - we filling out some info but nothing about how we were going to pay. They gave us the keys and off we were following Sam. Only two things on the negitive - there was no welcome basket, and towel service was every other day. No midweek tidy either, but that was not necessay. But to rate the condo, the location on the beach, the maintenance of the entire building, the pool, the view - A++. I would highly recommmend. Also - some of the locals are friendly and some are not so friendly. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening generally gives a good response in return. Thank you Marsha! Will do again one day.

    Owner response: This is the second time I've been told the welcome basket is missing. Sometimes the maids are busy and simply forget. If the basket is missing when you arrive please call Sam so he can set things right. The maids do trash pickup almost daily. If you are in need of towels please let them know. We are trying to go greener so we no longer provide daily service except by request.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • If you want relaxation, stay here!

    If you want relaxation, stay here!

    • Guest Andrea H. (Arlington, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/04/09
    • Review Submitted 07/16/09
    We had a lovely time at this condo. It is on one of the most beautiful beaches on St. Thomas and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. Your close to the water, the Dive shop has chairs, floats, and even wind surfers you can use for free, and the location is great. You can hear the waves from the condo, and you're only a 5 minute ride from red hook or a 2 minute walk from the Marina. The condo had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The cooler that was provided was very handy on more than one occasion, and the bed was very comfortable. My husband and I would definitely stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love hearing our guests had a great time and found everything they needed in our condo. We provide free rentals of beach loungers, snorkel gear and floats. There should have been a charge for the wind surfer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Family Vacation

    Family Vacation

    • Guest Pamela from Virginia (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 06/23/09
    • Review Submitted 07/05/09
    If you are looking for a great beach, beautiful apartment and wonderful people this is the place for you!! The apartment is clean and exactly as shown, The views are unbelievable and the snorkeling is the best on the island. Peace and quiet, but Redhook is right around the corner if you want to 'do the town'. Take the day cruise right from the Sapphire marina and enjoy a fun day sailing to St. John, snorkeling, and all the food you can eat. You return right to your apartment! Outstanding experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are always striving to provide our guests with a great experience. It's gratifying to hear that our efforts paid off.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Dreaning of Going Back

    Dreaning of Going Back

    • Guest Tosa1 (Wauwatosa, WI, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/15/09
    • Review Submitted 01/31/10
    We stayed at Marsha's condo last June '09 and had a fantastic time! Our teenage daughter loved the sunbathing, and we all loved the snorkeling, petting sea turtles, jet skiing, fishing (my husband, especially), and sight seeing on St. John. We brought our snorkel gear to St. John and explored remote beaches and reefs. We didn't bring enough water. Backpacks are a must to pack in your suitcase! The condo is clean and well maintained. It was just the right size for the 3 of us. You can't beat the view and quietness. If you're looking for a party time, this isn't the place. Groceries are expensive, but cooking is still more economical than eating out. We enjoyed the food and ambiance at Roberts and The Blue Moon Cafe. We definitely want to return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We love hearing our guests enjoyed their stay. Eating out 3 meals a day does get expensive. Our updated kitchen has everything needed to prepare some meals right there. You can dine at our bistro table on the deck while enjoying the view. I agree with the guests, Sapphire is very quiet and relaxing. The party is just over a mile away in Red Hook when and if you want it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dave Morse (Keene, NH)
    • Date of stay 04/25/09
    • Review Submitted 04/25/09
    C206 was everything that Marsha described. Everything worked and Sam, the local property manager, was very helpful & pleasant. Marsha was very responsive when we set-up the reservation and asked questions before we left for St. Thomas. Sapphire Beach is amazing. The snorkeling off the beach was fantastic as we saw sting rays, barracuda, squid, and hundreds of reef fish. The beach was in good shape as was the pool. The dive shop ran the snorkeling gear, beach chair rentals, and drink sales. One drawback is that the beach grill was open only for lunch and was the only place to get a meal on the beach. Clearly there use to be others but they were boarded up. A 5 minute hike up the hill put us in "The Grapevine Grill" at Sapphire Village. This was a good eatery and bar. But hey, these are condos and have full kitchens. We decided to buy groceries in Red Hook and have breakfast and lunch on the balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Hmm.. cheaper and a more pleasant view. We ate dinner out each night. I liked Red Hook which had eateries, groceries, and the ferry to St. John (must do!). Go enjoy having a condo on Sapphire Beach but think about what you want to do for your meals.

    Owner response: The "beach grill" Banana Cabana is now serving light breakfast. They have fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, juice and coffee. I'm thankful they are providing this option. Guests arriving late and driving themselves from the airport may not make a grocery stop.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Vacation

    Great Vacation

    • Guest G&ND (Sharpsburg, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/14/09
    • Review Submitted 04/16/09
    We stayed at the condo in March 2009 and absolutely loved it. The location is excellent, right on a great beach that has excellent snorkeling. Red Hook is a very convenient 2-minute drive and there's a grocery store 2 minutes farther down the road. We took the ferry from Red Hook to St John and spent a day there hiking and snorkeling. The included use of beach chairs was also appreciated. My only complaint would be that wireless internet availability is listed as an amenity however there is a charge via an independent provider and service was horrible, being available only about 50% of the time even after several calls to the company. They did refund half of the fee though after I complained. Bottom line is that when we decide to head back to St Thomas we will definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I'm always pleased to hear that my guests had a good time. To address the Internet issue, Internet is available. I provide many amenities at no charge to my guests, this is not one of them. As my guest mentioned, reception is not great. Should reception improve in the future I will most likely contract for this service year round and advertise it as an amenity that I provide free to guests. For now, ask. A few months a year I contract as it's less costly for me to contract for 6 months than 5 weeks in September and then again for a few weeks in January. So depending on my scheduled visits, free Internet may be available. Otherwise, I always suggest guests rent an Internet card from my manager. The reception isn't much better, but the cost is more reasonable. Internet, like most things in the islands, is slower than on the mainland. And, after all, slowing down is great reason to vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Anne
    • Date of stay 02/28/09
    • Review Submitted 02/27/09
    Wonderful family vacation Date Submitted: February 28, 2009 Date of Stay: February 2009 Sapphire Beach is beautiful, and the condo is great. Since many of the other reviewers were couples, I'll provide the "traveling with kids" perspective. We have two children, 8 and 10. The air mattress in the living room was fine for them--they loved to lie there and watch the ocean! The condo is just as described and shown in the pictures--very clean, and everything in working order. The view is EXACTLY as described, and can't be beat! Marsha provides nice extras like DVD's, a cooler with ice packs for picnics, and of course the use of snorkeling equipment and beach chairs from the local dive shop is a great benefit. If you like to snorkel, the rental costs could really add up otherwise. Speaking of snorkeling--Sapphire is a very good place for this, whether you are a beginner or experienced. We saw tons of fish, a green turtle--even a little moray eel! For those who prefer the pool, it is lovely. There's a separate shallow pool (3 feet) for little ones, and then a five foot pool, right on the ocean. I would recommend renting a car for at least part of your stay, Budget rental is right on the premises. Red Hook is walking distance (not even a mile) but the roads are narrow and not really walker-friendly. The other option is taxis, which are expensive. The best thing about Sapphire is that it is very quiet--no nearby bars or restaurants going at all hours. You can easily get to Red Hook if that's what you like, but if you want to fall asleep listening to the waves on the shore and the wind in the palms . . . this is your place! Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway, Families with Young Children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful family vacation

    Wonderful family vacation

    • Guest ALW401 (Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 02/19/09
    • Review Submitted 02/28/09
    Sapphire Beach is beautiful, and the condo is great. Since many of the other reviewers were couples, I'll provide the "traveling with kids" perspective. We have two children, 8 and 10. The air mattress in the living room was fine for them--they loved to lie there and watch the ocean! The condo is just as described and shown in the pictures--very clean, and everything in working order. The view is EXACTLY as described, and can't be beat! Marsha provides nice extras like DVD's, a cooler with ice packs for picnics, and of course the use of snorkeling equipment and beach chairs from the local dive shop is a great benefit. If you like to snorkel, the rental costs could really add up otherwise. Speaking of snorkeling--Sapphire is a very good place for this, whether you are a beginner or experienced. We saw tons of fish, a green turtle--even a little moray eel! For those who prefer the pool, it is lovely. There's a separate shallow pool (3 feet) for little ones, and then a five foot pool, right on the ocean. I would recommend renting a car for at least part of your stay, Budget rental is right on the premises. Red Hook is walking distance (not even a mile) but the roads are narrow and not really walker-friendly. The other option is taxis, which are expensive. The best thing about Sapphire is that it is very quiet--no nearby bars or restaurants going at all hours. You can easily get to Red Hook if that's what you like, but if you want to fall asleep listening to the waves on the shore and the wind in the palms . . . this is your place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • How we spent our 40th Anniversary!

    How we spent our 40th Anniversary!

    • Guest 2 Silver Foxes (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 07/03/08
    • Review Submitted 07/16/08
    If you want a quiet, peaceful getaway with no plane or highway noise this is the place to be. We had a hard time convincing ourselves to visit other beaches because this one was so perfect. We had a wonderful time and the accomodations in the condo were exactly as expected per the pictures on the website. We especially appreciated the comfy, king-size bed--by far the best we have ever had on all our vactions thru the years. The proximity of the condo to the beach was what we were hoping for, and, the ease of access to such a perfect, beautiful sandy walk-out beach with nearby reef snorkeling couldn't have been any better. The water was warm, clear and calm most of the time. I know it sounds trite, but the view off of the deck of St. Johns island, the palm trees and beautiful beach was really like a postcard. Because it was our anniversay, the owners arranged for a completely unexpected welcoming gift of champagne and the anniversary greetings--what a nice touch! The rental rate included trips to and from the airport as well as "free" use of beach lounge chairs (otherwise $7 per day each) and snorkeling gear $ by the hour. The owner also included tax in the price. All these things need to be considered when comparing the price among units; some are lower, but do not include the add-ons that this unit had. There is a car rental station in the hotel lobby and a restaurant about 2 blocks away. We took taxi, ferry, and open-air local bus/ van transportation everywhere and didn't miss not having a car. All duty-free shopping is on the south side of the island. We are already planning a return trip and next time hopefully with friends since we had a wonderful time!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • great condo and view

    great condo and view

    • Guest Bruce B. (nashville, tn)
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/26/08
    Highly recommend this condo. The view is fabulous, the accomodations are great, porch/deck is so relaxing, and transportation to and from airport and some other trips, especially to restaurants and ferry at Red Hook, are included with very nice and helpful islander as driver/guide as well as daily beach chairs. Close to lots of restaurants, loved East End Cafe (italian) and Molly's (irish), Coral World, ferry to St. John. Condo is clean and well maintained with daily towel service. Make sure to try parasailing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: We try to make our guests stay as relaxing as possible and it's always rewarding to hear they had such a wonderful time. I must note here that airport pickup and drop-off is included, any other trips depend on my manager's schedule. Taxi's and rental cars are available right at Sapphire.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An Unbelievable Place with an Incredible View!

    An Unbelievable Place with an Incredible View!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/04/08
    I have traveled extensively over the Carribean and Mexico and found my trip to Sappire Beach to be the best of them all. Simply put the views of the islands and they deep blue water from the condo were to say the least incredible! The location is on the uncrowded side of the island and 1/2 mile from Red Hook. Red Hook has some beautiful shops and great restaurnats and bars and is home to the ferry's that will take you anywhere ( like beautiful St John's) Sam the property manager who will pick you up from the airport is an extremely nice man who is accommodating to what ever your need are! In fact all the people at the resort were very nice ( after all they live there so its easy to be nice). The resort was well maintained and with several restaurants and bars you didn't really need to go anywhere. Marsha (the owner) was great to deal with and her condo was in great condition and with all the amenities including a welcoming bottle of rum and coke awaiting your arrival!! Overall I will be back and I highly reccomend Sapphire Beach to anyone..Mike

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We strive to make your trip all that you hope for when staying in paradise. We want our guests to relax and enjoy their vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/22/08
    AFTER BOOKING THE CONDO WITH MARSHA I WAS SUPRISED AT SOME OF THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS POSTED ON THE INTERNET ABOUT SAPPHIRE BEACH. I HAVE TRAVELED EXTENSIVELY AND CAN ASSURE YOU THAT THIS WAS ONE OF THE MOST INCREDIBLE PLACES I HAVE BEEN TO. STARTING FROM WHEN SAM PICKS YOU UP FROM THE AIRPORT UNTIL HE DROPS YOU OFF YOUR STAY SHOULD BE NOTHING BUT MAGICAL. SOME OF THE MOST FANTASTIC VIEWS RIGHT FROM THE CONDO, THE BEAUTIFUL BEACH AND OF COURSE THE WEATHER! I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO MY RETURN TRIP TO SAPPHIRE BEACH AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND MARSHA'S CONDO AND SAPPIRE BEACH TO ANYONE!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/10/08
    Just wanted to let you know that the place was beautiful and that we loved the accommodations. Everything we needed was either in the unit or on site. The view from the balcony was spectacular, and it was only steps to the ocean. We never did see or hear from Sam, but contacting Marsha was easy. I would definitely stay there again!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/08
    • Review Submitted 02/06/08
    We had plenty of room for 3 adults and 1 child, much more so than a standard motel room. Views from the balcony can't be beat. Just a few steps to the beautiful, calm sea. Condo is clean and well kept; with comfortable bed and sofa. Most importantly, Marsha is easily accessible by phone or e-mail and always responded to my questions promptly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Janet & Doug
    • Date of stay 08/09/07
    • Review Submitted 08/08/07
    Marsha, We had a very nice vacation. The weather was great and our stay was comfortable. Sapphire Beach is beautiful and having lounge chairs available was great. Sam was very hospitable picking us up from the airport as well as giving us the opportunity to buy some groceries before taking us to the resort even though it was becoming late evening when we arrived. Thank you for sharing your condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Julie
    • Date of stay 07/16/07
    • Review Submitted 07/15/07
    Hi Marsha! First of all Sam was wonderful! He waited for us even though our plane was late and car rental took forever, and then escorted us all the way back to the condo! I don't think we would have found it if we hadn't followed him. I was expecting maid service on the 4th day, so it was a pleasant suprise to have fresh towels daily. We had free chair and snorkel use for the week. Thank you! I think this would be a good thing to boast in your online ad. I think some guests must have had to pay for chairs etc. We liked the place enough to pick up a realty magazine to see how much owning a condo a Saphire would cost, that probably says a lot. Lastly we have a restaurant suggestion, Las Braisas (sp) in Frechtown. We had our best meal and drink at this little place. It's only been open for few months, but the food is amazing! Thank you,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Teresa
    • Date of stay 06/27/07
    • Review Submitted 06/26/07
    Marsha, We had a great time in St. Thomas. It was so beautiful! The wedding on Tortolla was prefect. The only problem I had was not being smart enough to pack a carry-on bag with a change of clothes and a swimsuit. Our luggage was a day behind us, and not being able to swim that first day was torture. We are really hoping we get to go back soon. Thank you for letting us rent your condo!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]