Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front: Home has fenced in front yard, large porch

1916 Bungalow Historic Wilmington & Near Wrightsville Beach [#130066] | View Property

Wilmington
2 queen bedrooms, 1 bath, queen and single foldout, sleeps 7 (3 couples + 1)
$105 - $140/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (70)

Sort by:
  • Relaxing spring break

    Relaxing spring break

    • Guest Nat
    • Date of stay 03/31/14
    • Review Submitted 04/17/14
    Me and my friends decided we wanted to run away from the party crowded destinations for spring break. This house was perfect for us, the neighborhood is super nice. The location is amazing, it took 5 minutes to go downtown and it had several grocery stores and everything we needed within 10 minutes drive. Everything is very clean and fresh. Beds are comfortable and the back porch is amazing for relaxing and star gazing.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • perfect place to stay in Wilmington

    perfect place to stay in Wilmington

    • Guest Steve S. (Guilford, CT)
    • Date of stay 03/24/14
    • Review Submitted 03/27/14
    The house was better than expected! The pictures do not do it justice, it is much bigger than I had thought. We will stay here again for our next visit to Wilmington in some years down the road. Only thing that would have made the house better would have been a more comfortable couch. It felt worn out. Other than that the house exceeded our expectations! We would have loved to stay longer, had a wonderful time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • you will feel right at home in this house

    you will feel right at home in this house

    • Guest sallybee (Cleveland, OH)
    • Date of stay 03/14/14
    • Review Submitted 03/20/14
    The description of this adorable house was accurate. It was described exactly as it is. The house is very clean, organized, and nicely decorated. There is everything you need here in this house. If you text homeowner he responds promptly. Homeowner very efficient and organized. We had our 2 Goldens with us and they had a ball here. Backyard extends into side yard into the front yard and this makes for happy dogs. They made friends with kids in the neighborhood. very friendly neighborhood, nice people. House close to historic district and to the Battleship. Took a little longer to get to Wrightsville Beach. We would definitely come back here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great get away for people and pets

    great get away for people and pets

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/08/14
    We had a wonderful stay. We were able to walk to the market a few blocks away for supplies. Our dog loved sitting on the porches. Thank you for a great get away spot.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An amazing hidden gem

    An amazing hidden gem

    • Guest John S.
    • Date of stay 02/20/14
    • Review Submitted 03/06/14
    An excellent, well equipped property, ideally located in a safe neighbourhood. The interior furnishings are superb, with a kitchen made for gourmet cooks. The fenced in yard is ideal for travellers with pets and the owner was most helpful, with almost instant responses to e-mail questions. We would have no hesitation in recommending this property to friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great property in a perfect location!

    Great property in a perfect location!

    • Guest Melissa N Jeff S. (Opelika, AL)
    • Date of stay 12/29/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/14
    Property is as described and photos are accurate. We enjoyed our stay very much. Home sits in a location that is perfect to get to all the things Wilmington has to offer. Would definitely recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Much cozier inside than I would have thought.

    Much cozier inside than I would have thought.

    • Guest Patty G.
    • Date of stay 11/24/13
    • Review Submitted 12/04/13
    Everything was terrific! The pictures are accurate, but the inside of the house really is cuter and cozier than expected. When we arrived it was an extremely cold day. I waited about a day to see if it warmed up and contacted the owner via text. Within minutes he had adjusted the thermostat and the place started warming up. I only mention that - not as a flaw - but as a kudo that the owner was extremely responsive to me reaching out to him. We made arrangements with a linen service and that worked out beautifully. The house was clean and I would certainly recommend this to a friend. One of the reasons we chose this house was the fenced in yard and pet privileges as we were bringing our two dogs. I'm so glad I didn't consider staying in a hotel. It was just my husband, me, and the two dogs, but this provided us with a spacious place to sprawl out after running around all day.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Outstanding location

    Outstanding location

    • Guest John
    • Date of stay 10/07/13
    • Review Submitted 10/23/13
    Your bungalow was an excellent choice for our visit to the Wilmington area. Loved the neighborhood and enjoyed walks each day to see how your neighbors have restored their homes, very friendly folks. Appreciate that you allow pets and your fenced in area is perfect. Thanks again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Charming Bungalow

    Charming Bungalow

    • Guest pleased (Mebane, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/06/13
    Very charming home. We really enjoyed walking our dogs in this historic neighborhood. We found the house nicely appointed and clean. The owners were very nice to work with and helpful. My only critic is that we enjoy cooking while we are on vacation and the kitchen was not as well appointed as we would have liked. Only two wine glasses, two pots, and no serving plates or bowls. Other than that, it was a very nice place to vacation and we just loved the fact that we could bring our dogs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Jennifer B.
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/28/13
    I am a huge One Tree Hill fan, so this house was perfect. Not only was it clean, it was also in a great location. The price was perfect, I rented the property for 5 days and it was significantly cheaper than renting a house at the Jersey shore for a week (which is only 1.5 hours away from where I live). All amenities were provided, and the neighborhood is quiet. The house really was a big part of a nice relaxing vacation, different from any other trip I have been on. I had read the reviews prior to deciding to rent, and the property was true to all of them. I highly suggest this rental!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Relaxing "home away from home!"

    Relaxing "home away from home!"

    • Guest DKing (Sanford, NC USA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    We recently stayed in this house with our two shelties and it was perfect. It was because of the fenced in yards that we chose this house. Even if we don't have our dogs with us it would be a great vacation home and such a nice feeling immediately walking in through the front door. We enjoyed the closeness to the river front and not too far from the beach. The hammock in the backyard was a pleasant surprise and many wonderful hours were spent laying and just being lazy. Thank you for letting us share your beautiful home and we look forward to visiting again in the near future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Relaxing 5 Days

    Relaxing 5 Days

    • Guest Logan W.
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    A friend and I decided to get out of town for 5 days around New Years. We found this little bungalow and it was perfect. The weather was up and down for our stay but the house was so comfortable it really didn't matter. We did a little sightseeing, went to the beach another day and lounged in the house the rest of the time. I agree with the other reviews, the pictures of this house do it no justice. I was a lot larger than the photos show. The property was very clean and maintained. The manager was very helpful in answering questions. We went to Front Street Brewery for New Year's Eve which was a lot of fun; low-key but fun. The brewed beer is good and I'm not a Icehouse/Budweiser person. We also ate at Dock Street Oyster Bar for lunch one day. The seafood is great but there's too much cheese on the food to beware. Riverboat Landing has really good seafood. I was impressed and it takes a lot to impress me with fish meals. I definitely want to go back to Wilmington when it is warmer but this bungalow is perfect for relaxing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful home to stay in

    Wonderful home to stay in

    • Guest Lynn (New York City)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 12/30/12
    My husband and I came down from NYC for 5 days in Wilmington and we absolutely loved this charming bungalow which is on an equally charming street. My sister and her husband joined us for 2 nights and we spent a lot of time sitting on the porch with our coffee watching the world go by, playing trivial pursuit, and just hanging out. It's very roomy with a large kitchen that includes a small table, the two bedrooms are almost equal in size which is always nice for two couples, and the home was an extremely pleasant place to come at the end of our days. The home was very clean, the owners very responsive - all that we could have asked her. I highly recommend staying here if you are coming to the Wilmington area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Beautiful Bungalow

    Beautiful Bungalow

    • Guest Vicky T.
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/12/12
    We truly enjoyed our stay in this cute home. Clean, Spacious, comfortable, with high quality towels & linens provided - we were sorry we were only there for 2 nights! Great spot out of the usual beach/tourist/crowded areas - but walking distance to downtown - and within close distance to beach by car - we would stay here again & highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area. Thanks for making our stay a pleasant one!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great little place to stay in Wilmington

    Great little place to stay in Wilmington

    • Guest M (Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 07/30/12
    My family enjoyed staying in this bungalow during our trip to Wilmington. I have stayed in a lot of vacation rentals and this house was the cleanest by far. The most impressive thing were the linens, particularly bath towels. They were very clean and new looking rather than dingy. Loved the front porch! The only downside was I had thought the back yard was more of a grassy area for kids to run around while we were hanging at the house taking a break from touristing. If you are looking for a place to stay that's not far from downtown and a short drive to the beach I would recommend staying here.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Rental

    Wonderful Rental

    • Guest Lisa B.
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/14/12
    The bungalow was so much more than we expected it to be. So clean and beautifully decorated. I didn't want to leave, SO much better than a hotel. The neighborhood is quiet and eclectic. A great place to walk with the dogs. I would highly recommend staying here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful stay

    Wonderful stay

    • Guest Liz (Columbia)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 08/01/12
    My family and I spent the week of July 4th at the house and we had a wonderful time. We were able to visit the beaches by day and other landmarks in the evenings. It was a perfect week of just enjoying each other and not having to be rushed by schedules. We especially liked that it was not very far from most of the places we visited but far enough that we had peace and quiet when we sought it. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us! The Jamisons

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful stay - Did not want to leave!

    Wonderful stay - Did not want to leave!

    • Guest Mandy (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 06/26/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    This charming bungalow was clean, beautifully decorated, with comfortable beds, a great front porch, and in an exceptionally friendly neighborhood. You can walk many places from the bungalow and can reach anything else driving 10 to 15 minutes, including Wrightsville or Carolina Beach. We especially enjoyed walking in the historic part of the city, the Bellamy Mansion tour, Airlie Gardens, hiking at the Carolina Beach State Park (saw lots of Venus Fly Traps in the woods), and the City Stage/Cameron Art Museum production "The All Night Strut". As far as eating goes Elijah's stood out - so nice to eat right on the Cape Fear river. Also the White Front restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced though only open for breakfast and lunch. All in all a perfect vacation. Next time I will take my dog as Wilmington is a very dog friendly place and I know he would have loved the yard and Wallace park, which is beautiful and a very short walk from the bungalow.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Review on Rental 166483

    Review on Rental 166483

    • Guest Crystal W.
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/25/12
    The description we recieved before was accurate -- in fact we were pleasently suprised at the actual size of the house. We arrived to find the house very clean and in perfect order. Coming from the mountains in western Carolina we found the pace at Wilmington to be a bit hectic. It was nice at the end of the day to be able to retreat to such a comfortable and cozy place. The house being centrally located made it extremely easy for us to get around. We had a great time and all the neighbours were open and friendly. Without any hesitation, we would glady recommend this rental to anyone.... Thanks for everything Jeff, Crystal and Boudreaux our Rat Terrier

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing Spring Break

    Relaxing Spring Break

    • Guest Steve, Denise, and kids (Currituck County, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/12/12
    • Review Submitted 04/22/12
    We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is centrally located to "everything" and you can get anywhere in Wilmington or Wrightsville Beach within 15 minutes. We took the kids to the USS North Carolina Battleship, several events at UNCW, including a baseball game, a day at Wrightsville Beach, and downtown to the river front for the Azalea Festival. Unfortunately, all of the azalea blooms had already fallen. There isn't anywhere prettier than Wilmington when the azaleas are in full bloom!! The house was very clean, comfortable, and well furnished.... Perfect for a quick "get-away". The owners were very flexible, allowing us an early check-in and a late check-out. That was very helpful for us.... Thanks. Thank You

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Welcome retreat

    Welcome retreat

    • Guest m m.
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/03/12
    The bungalow was indeed charming and exactly as advertised. Check in and check out could not have been easier. Internet access was easily assessible with excellent service - not spotty or slow. We received immediate response from question regarding TV settings resulting in instant resolution of the issue. The house was clean, lots of room to spread out, neighborhood quiet and friendly and everything within walking distance. The park down the street is great for little ones. I wished we could have stayed longer. Really, a vacation gem.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect for Us

    Perfect for Us

    • Guest Carol W.
    • Date of stay 02/11/12
    • Review Submitted 02/20/12
    This is indeed a beautiful bungalow! Exactly as advertised. Very comfortable and beautiful inside and a joy to return to after exploring Wilmington. The neighborhood is lovely. We walked to the park and the coffee shop across from it. Also enjoyed the neighborhood diner...all thanks to the thoughtful online map provided by the owner. The location was very good...close to downtown and the beaches, shops, groceries, everything. The bed was comfy, the towels plush, the kitchen sparkling. Internet fast and easy. Our two golden retrievers also loved the house and fenced in yard in a pooch friendly neighborhood. We would stay here again in a heart beat. Check in and out were easy. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Vacation Home!

    Wonderful Vacation Home!

    • Guest Anna K.
    • Date of stay 12/31/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    I stayed over the New Years Eve holiday at this cute Bungalow. We absolutely loved the home! The beds had really nice linens and were extremely comfy! The home was very clean and spacious for a two bedroom home. The interior of the home was lovely, the furniture and decorations were very classy. The backyard is very cute with a nice tall fence and a large deck. The tile in the bathroom and kitchen look great. It is obvious that the owners have spend alot of time and money making the home look so beautiful and inviting. I highly recommend this home to anyone interested in renting a cute place to stay in downtown Wilmington.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Home

    Great Home

    • Guest Carol (pineville, nc)
    • Date of stay 12/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    The house was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean and comfortable. The only suggestion I would have is a few more pots and serving utensils but most people probably don't cook as much on vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanksgiving retreat

    Thanksgiving retreat

    • Guest T. L. Pants (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/04/11
    This is a great place. The owners were very communicative and willing to allow us to check in early. The location is cool- people in the neighborhood were friendly. We even saw a few One Tree Hill tourists take some photos of the featured house down the street. Everything was as described and we could not have asked for an easier transaction or more relaxing stay in Wilmington. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great getaway!

    Great getaway!

    • Guest Lisa S.
    • Date of stay 11/11/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    This house was perfect for our stay in Wilmington for our niece's wedding. We looked for a rental instead of a hotel because we travel with our dog. The neighborhood was perfect for walking him. We loved the open living area and big kitchen, along with the comfortable bed! The house was clean, well-decorated, and safe. I love Arts and Crafts homes, and this original had beautiful windows, wood floors, and woodwork. The modern kitchen, bathroom, and heating/cooling system were definite advantages, too. Of course, all old homes (especially in humid areas) smell a little musty. Also, the living room television did not receive a signal. These were the only negatives, though, and I feel nit-picky even mentioning them. This is a wonderful house.

    Owner response: Hello Lisa...thanks so much for writing such a thorough review! I am REALLY sorry to hear about the smell of the house and the TV. As we put in our notes to people who rent, I really wish you would have notified us. If Time Warner Cable isn't working for some reason, that is an easy fix for us to handle, as you should have been getting a large selection of TV channels...its one of our largest monthly expenses with the home actually. As for the smell, that is odd...the Wilmington area has certainly had a larger than normal rainfall this year and yes, the house is approaching 100 years old, but the whole house has been remodeled with new insulation, air ducts, doors, ceilings, floors in places and is often cleaned multiple times a week depending on the renting schedule. Unless you just so happen to be there just before we have the air filters changed, which are doing very regularly, I can't imagine what else it might be; that is about the only thing I can think of. Either way, we would have been happy to have the cleaning service out to take care of the situation, as we really do strive and go out of our way to have all 5 star reviews of the home. Either way, thanks for the review and we do hope you will visit us again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fall Excursion

    Fall Excursion

    • Guest Joe (AZ)
    • Date of stay 10/08/11
    • Review Submitted 10/17/11
    The property was very clean and comfortable. My first visit to NC and this place was perfect. Had a great time.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • So perfect I wanted to make this house my souvenir

    So perfect I wanted to make this house my souvenir

    • Guest Lauren H.
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    This property exceeded by expectations! The house was very spacious and clean. The interior was beautiful with lovely hardwood floors, tons of natural light, and a functional kitchen. We had a full lineup of cable channels as well as well-stocked bookcases. My English Bulldog enjoyed having a yard to play in and taking walks throughout this safe, friendly neighborhood. We were within minutes of multiple beaches and downtown attractions. Wilmington is a great city and this house was the perfect end to busy days sightseeing and swimming along the coastline. For what you receive, this house is the perfect price! Very pet and family friendly! The owners also provide excellent communication and directions. I would definitely stay here again. In fact, if I could have plucked this house and taken it home with me, I would have. It was beautiful!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great House

    Great House

    • Guest Eva B.
    • Date of stay 08/05/11
    • Review Submitted 08/19/11
    My girlfriends and I stayed at this house for a weekend getaway. We fell in love with the town of Wilmington and absolutely adored this well put together home. The beach was about a 15 minute drive. The only down fall was the one bathroom for the whole household. I would recommend this house to anyone who wants their own space and a "homey" feel while on vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • one tree hill vacation

    one tree hill vacation

    • Guest Mary N. (West Palm Beach, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/05/11
    my daughter and sons and their wives came to wilmington to go on the one tree hill tour last week (july 29th -aug 2nd ) and we got lucky and met 3 of the cast members while staying at this house, it was actually more beautiful than the pictures shows it to be and very clean,it is so much nicer than staying in a hotel and very quiet and peaceful,also it is very easy to get around town, and the lady who watches the house next door was very friendly and helpful ,i would definately stay here again ! beautiful home!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • wonderful house!!

    wonderful house!!

    • Guest 'Heels (USA)
    • Date of stay 07/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/17/11
    Our family just returned home and loved your house! The pictures do not do justice--so much room, and great location. Our dogs loved the huge back deck and front porch. The kids enjoyed the office area for their toys and having room to spread out. Thanks so much!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming historic home, beautifully renovated and comfortable

    Charming historic home, beautifully renovated and comfortable

    • Guest Sunshine (Durham)
    • Date of stay 06/09/11
    • Review Submitted 06/16/11
    We loved this charming historic home. It was close to downtown Wilmington and not very far from Wrightsville Beach, where we spent most of our time. It was beautifully renovated and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this rental and hope to go back. Reservations were prompt and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • More than we expected

    More than we expected

    • Guest Jonathan (Charlotte NC)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/25/11
    We rented this charming home May 20-21 2011, so that we could attend the annual Soccer tournament in Wilmington. Typically we rent a hotel for our family of 5 and it tends to be quite crowded. We rented this home based on the reviews posted by others, so in many ways we hoped that the home matched the many positive reviews. We must say that the home exceeded our expectations. This home was so well decorated, and provided all the amenties and more you look for in renting a home. The best part were the friendly neighbors. Folks walking down the sidewalk stopped to chat, and we even spent time with the next door neighbor sitting on her porch talking about her life in the entertainment world. This home is fantastic and we plan to rent again next year when we return for the annual soccer tournament.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Better than a hotel!

    Better than a hotel!

    • Guest MrsPortman32511 (Lexington, KY)
    • Date of stay 03/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    I just wanted to add more to my review.... The neighborhood is very quiet, it gets a bit of thru traffic, but nothing bothersome. The neighbors are extremely friendly and we always felt safe. The parking is on the street but we never had a problem finding a space close to the home. We got rained in a few days and there was plenty to do while we waited out the storms. Theres a massive array of books (specifically A Walk To Remember and Nights in Rodanthe. 2 Nicholas Sparks books adapted into films that were filmed in Wilmington!), high-speed internet access, cable, dvd player, vhs player with provided VHS tapes and dvds! My husband and I had the most relaxing time in this beautiful home and didn't want to leave! It's cheaper than a hotel and a much better option. I highly reccommend this home and can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Much better than a hotel!

    Much better than a hotel!

    • Guest MrsPortman32511 (Lexington, KY)
    • Date of stay 03/24/11
    • Review Submitted 03/30/11
    This house is so beautiful! My husband and I loved every second of staying here. The floorplan is spacious, the interior is updated and beautiful, and the beds are comfortable! We even got to enjoy the hammock out back before it started to rain. We got married in the gazebo on Fort Fisher beach with 11 of our closest friends and family. We came back to the house and had a Chick-Fil-A catered lunch and cake cutting ceremony. Everyone fit perfectly and comfortably in the house and we had a great time. Thanks for opening up this home to us and letting us enjoy it for 6 relaxing days! We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Wilmington :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Absolutely cute!!!

    Absolutely cute!!!

    • Guest Langley (Fayetteville, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/25/11
    We were there for the long weekend. We loved the house. It was absolutely cute!! It's very spacious and clean. It was only about 15 mins from the beach. We had a great time. Would definitely come back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest southerngirl (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 02/11/11
    • Review Submitted 02/15/11
    We were in town for a soccer clinic at UNCW. The bungalow was perfect and was only 3 1/2 miles from campus. The area is quiet and clean and we will definitely try to come back. Would love to spend more time in Wilmington in the warmer months.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great getaway!

    Great getaway!

    • Guest Jo (Shippensburg, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 11/20/10
    • Review Submitted 11/26/10
    We were in town to take our son on a Monday afternoon admissions visit to University of NC Wilmington. Since we were travelling a long distance, we decided it would be nice to make weekend getaway out of it, and so rented this house from Saturday to Tuesday. Everything was very nice, clean and welcoming. We felt right at home. The dog loved the yard and the park, and we even took a walk with one of your neighbors up to the park with her dog and the two dogs got a bit of playtime in. The teenagers loved the internet access! The selection of books was awesome, but since we were having such a good time sightseeing, I didn't get to finish any! Maybe next trip. The owners were very accomodating, allowing us to check in a bit early so we were able to settle the dog in and still make a 2pm tour at Screen Gem studios. They were also was quick to respond when we needed an extra night's stay while we were there. I guess the only suggestion I would have is that it would be nice to have a VCR in the living room, so that you can play the tapes from the bedroom on the larger TV for all to watch. My boys wanted to watch your Star Wars video, but they ended up watching it themselves on the small TV in the bedroom, since there wasn't a VCR player in the living room. As far as restaurants go, the Pizza from Slice of Life is yummy and we had a nice dinner at Fishhouse Grill, which is dog friendly if you eat outside. We were fortunate that we had awesome weather to enjoy that with our kids and dog. Turns out, UNCW is a beautiful campus! I don't know which college my son will choose, but after visiting *I* want to go there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great stay!

    Great stay!

    • Guest Michelle (Charlotte)
    • Date of stay 11/12/10
    • Review Submitted 11/17/10
    My family, including dogs, had a wonderful stay at this home. It is an old house, but the decor is updated and everything is perfectly clean. Parking is on the street, but we never had a problem finding a space. We felt very safe in this neighborhood and the neighbors are quite friendly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Outstanding Property

    Outstanding Property

    • Guest Bobby (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/26/10
    We recently spent the weekend in this lovely property and would highly recommend it to others. It is charming, comfortable, and has a great deal of character. The house is located on a fantastic block. We would certainly consider renting it again in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • OMG! Fantastic Rental

    OMG! Fantastic Rental

    • Guest mic (Saginaw, MI )
    • Date of stay 10/10/10
    • Review Submitted 10/20/10
    Description was accurate. Good activities, restaurant, attraction information provided. Would highly recommend ! Very nice - thinking of retiring in Wilmington someday.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing House for a Girls Week

    Amazing House for a Girls Week

    • Guest Canadian_OTH_fans (London, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/04/10
    • Review Submitted 09/13/10
    I stayed at the house in early September with three other girls. We drove down from Canada for the week and had an amazing time in Wilmington. The house really exceeded our expectations and we were thrilled that it was even larger than it appears in the photos on this site! It had all of the ammenities we needed and it was great to come back to a house at the end of a day of site-seeing, rather than a hotel. The house is beautifully decorated with all of the modern conveniences (dishwasher! washer & dryer! tv with dvd player!). Thanks so much! I'd love to come and stay there again some day.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Place to Call HOME on Vacation

    A Great Place to Call HOME on Vacation

    • Guest Amanda W. (Knoxville, TN)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/29/10
    As has been mentioned before, the pictures do not do this home any justice. It's an absolutely gorgeous place to stay. For those bringing dogs, the entire yard (front and back) is fenced so you can feel comfortable letting your pups roam - our husky loved it! Downtown and the beaches are so close and very easy to get to. PROS - just about everything! The linens were great, the towels were so soft, the home was just so beautiful, with many little details to make it feel more like home than a vacation house, and clean! It's so much nicer coming back to this place than it would be to come back to a hotel. Having the washer/dryer was VERY convenient, as well as all the cookware/dishes in the kitchen! Not only the neighbors, but the general neighborhood/area is full of friendly people who will say hi, even if they are just walking by while you're on the front porch. CONS - the TV channels worked fine, but they are very limited and there were only 3 or 4 outdated DVD's available. We used Redbox and Blockbuster a few times, but it would have been nice to have more channels for our nights in. Also, having to keep the thermostat set @ 75 was a bummer for us, we like our house very cool, so the temperature was a little uncomfortable for us during the middle of the day. We found the bed in the master a little too firm, so we used the second bedroom the rest of the time and that bed is very comfortable. Oh, and having to LEAVE was a definite CON!!! :o) Overall we had an absolutely great experience in this home and really, really enjoyed our stay. This was mine and my husband's belated honeymoon, and we really had a great time. It's a wonderful place you have here, thank you for opening your lovely home to us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Hello Amanda...thanks so much for the comments and glad you had a wonderful time! We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to write such a thorough set of comments and we certainly hope you will come back to visit in the future. In your comments, we did want to take the time to address a couple of items. Regarding the movies, you are correct in that we do not provide a lot of DVDs. Its not something we promote as a feature of the home...its more of a bonus/perk. There are, however, a number of VHS movies in the Blue Bedroom in the cabinet that can be viewed on the small TV in that room. As for the TV, there are roughly 30 Channels Time Warner provides for the package we have at the house. You can check on their Website for the current listing for Wilmington, NC (sorry...HomeAway will not allow us to post a link in comments). What we can say is that about a year about they re-arranged their offerring and dropped some channels - the Basic Cable we had is now called Broadcast Cable. And right now, there is a fight over them carrying ESPN and ABC...it seems to be a never ending drama with Cable TV these days. So, all we can really do is try to keep people informed about what to expect...and that, at least for now, is around 30 channels. If you did not get 30, then perhaps someone has changed the setting on the TV to not use the Cable input as the source, which seems to happen often (for some odd reason). We do provide instructions in the home for people on how to re-enable it though. Thanks again for taking the time and we hope to see you again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family of 3 and dog with only good things to say!

    Family of 3 and dog with only good things to say!

    • Guest Lori (Raleigh)
    • Date of stay 06/16/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    This was our family's first trip to the beach and we couldn't be happier with our choice of lodging. This home was lovely and more than true to the pics. It was clean and offered any ammenity we could have wanted. What a treat to have linens provided as well! Our dog had ample room to run and roam and was particularly keen on the neighboring dogs. Our daughter loved the porch swing and we also enjoyed the neighborhood park. The only shortcoming was the limited number of television channels. Apparently, given prior postings, this was a corrected problem but we only got perhaps 12 channels. Without doubt we intend to be back next summer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review! We are glad you and your family had some a fantastic time! As for the TV...argghh...we are very sorry. We know that must be annoying. I believe we are going to have to leave instructions for how to reset/reprogram. Perhaps it is resetting when the power goes out. And for our future renters, if this happens to you then please give us a call if you are unable to figure out how to reset the TV to pull from its Cable input and rescan for channels, and we will try to walk you through it over the phone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest chester (Fayetteville, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/07/10
    • Review Submitted 06/19/10
    All I can say is this was the most charming and beautiful home. Very comfortable, CLEAN and spacious. Excellent location, friendly neighbors. And if you like Thai food recommend Indochine on 7 Wayne Drive-the neighbor informed us of this place-excellent.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • home away from home!

    home away from home!

    • Guest amandanc (Hillsborough, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/18/10
    • Review Submitted 05/21/10
    Thank you for sharing your home. We had a wonderful time and the house could not have been more perfect! It was the perfect size for our family and child friendly as well. Close enough to town and our favorite beaches. We were very impressed with how clean it was as well! When we returned home my 2 year old daughter awoke after sleeping in the car, realized we were home and cried "I want my red house!" ~ the ultimate compliment. We can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Stay In Wilmington

    Great Stay In Wilmington

    • Guest JEKAUFM (Boynton Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/29/10
    • Review Submitted 05/08/10
    We had such a fantastic stay in Wilmington and this house was a big reason why. The house is extremely clean, nicely furnished and convenient to downtown. It has such a warm feel that it doesn't seem like a rental property and more like someone's home. We rented a crib for our son and the owners went out of their way to help accomodate the delivery with a 3rd party company. We were a little disappointed with the lack of TV channels but there were many videos available to choose from. We would absolutely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks SO much for the wonderful review - we truly try our very best to accommodate any needs and challenges our guests may have, so they can focus on having a fantastic holiday and break while in Wilmington. As for the TV, there is a little humor there. We actually came down and stayed at the home right after you family left and found the same thing - something didn't seem right, because we were only seeing about 12 channels. After looking at the settings on the TV, we found that someone had switch the input type (it wasn't on "cable") and had the TV rescan for channels - the end result, is that only about 1/3 of the channels we get were accessible. It took me about 10 minutes to figure out what was going on, but its all fixed now. Sorry about the inconvenience - we are adding the "please do not change the TV settings" to our list of house guidelines :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Place to Stay in Wilmington!

    Perfect Place to Stay in Wilmington!

    • Guest PamelaZ (Chesapeake, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 04/03/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/10
    Our family of 4 recently rented this lovely house. This house was in a great location - 1.4mile walk to water - was clean and nicely decorated. WIFI was available and easy to use. Kitchen had all the necessary equipment for dining in or eating take out. Nice washer/dryer room - comfortable beds - good shower - plenty of light - and great porch for reading and a glass of wine. My husband remarked that he spoke more to the neighbors here then to our new neighbors back at home!. Wilmington was a great town to visit - we walked to town several times and found the walk pleasant and not too strenuous. Went to Sepentarium (fun), the Haunted Pub Crawl (great fun), and poked around a lot downtown. Would definitely recommend Wilmington and this house to anyone. Hope we can return again someday soon.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Christen1 (Charlottesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 03/18/10
    • Review Submitted 03/18/10
    We have stayed at this home the past two years in mid-July - it's the perfect retreat, great for dogs, ideal location - close to downtown, very friendly neighborhood. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Martha Dow (Groton, CT)
    • Date of stay 02/23/10
    • Review Submitted 02/23/10
    This cottage is fantastic. The home has been carefully restored and filled with comfortable furniture and beds. The kitchen is fully equipped and updated. We didn't want to leave!! Close to historic Wilmington and short drive to beaches. A wonderful place to relax and unwind.Thanks so much for sharing your home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next