Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunrise View

North Shore - Valley Rim View Apartment Hideaway! [#131513] | View Property

Kilauea
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$125 - $145/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (37)

Sort by:
  • Tranquil Retreat

    Tranquil Retreat

    • Guest Elizabeth M.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    This lovely suite has everything you need for a great time on the North Shore of Kauai. We loved the outdoor shower and the reasonable price. The hosts are very helpful in guiding you to great activities and also very accommodating.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Place and Hosts

    Wonderful Place and Hosts

    • Guest Two Hikers (Independence, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/03/13
    • Review Submitted 01/08/14
    This is an excellent place to stay while touring the island. Great northern island location. The place is comfortable, easy to use and has a great bed. The apartment is well-equipped with everything you will ever think you need. The hosts care about your experience and provide everything imaginable to make it the best stay. The living room view is a garden view and very peaceful. Need to go to the beach? They provide chairs and a sun shade. Hiking? They provide walking sticks. Need a ideas for your day? The library shelves are full of guide books and locally authored books. You can't go wrong here, it's a fine tuned vacation property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We won't stay anywhere else!

    We won't stay anywhere else!

    • Guest Skip & Dorcee Smith (La Mirada, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/28/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    This was our 8th stay at the apartment. We won't stay anywhere else and actually plan our trip around dates the apt is available. There is everything you could possibly need to make a stay (ours is two weeks, but hopefully three weeks next year) perfect. The apt is furnished beautifully, the view is gorgeous out over the valley, orchids & gorgeous landscaping wherever you look, spotlessly clean and Karen & Conrad are the perfect hosts.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Frequent Visitor to Kauai

    Frequent Visitor to Kauai

    • Guest Frequent Visitor to Kauai (California)
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 08/05/13
    I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays at Hale O'Kuawa. It's quiet location, beautiful views and peaceful surroundings make it a joy to come home to after a day's adventure. Hosts, Karen and Conrad, are friendly and helpful and make you feel like you are part of the family. Their apartment is comfortably furnished and thoroughly equipped with anything you might possibly need. One can spend hours perusing their book, CD and video libraries. It was such a treat to return home to a vase full of gardenias or a bag of fresh lychee fruit waiting for me on my doorstep. I highly recommend Hale O'Kuawa.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing place to stay with extra amenities!

    Relaxing place to stay with extra amenities!

    • Guest Kitty (Greer , SC)
    • Date of stay 06/05/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    I don't know where to begin... Great view and gardens, great accomodations, fresh flowers inside, many little extra things you forgot from home, coffee ,all the guide books you need, beach towels, chairs, cooler, gas grill, spices for food, daypack, hiking sticks, great information on local attractions, restaurants, great outdoor shower. All good! Owners were very helpful and friendly. We felt like family! Would highly recommend this - hope to go back! Loved snorkeling at Tunnels and Ke'e Beach and sea kayaking the Napali Coast!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • LIke being a guest in a friend's guest house

    LIke being a guest in a friend's guest house

    • Guest Molly (Mt Shasta CA)
    • Date of stay 04/18/13
    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
    My husband and I and his sister stayed 10 days in this wonderful apartment, and felt completely at home. Conrad was a generous host, spending nearly an hour after our arrival orienting us to the place and the area. Everything we could possibly want was provided: beach chairs and towels, citronella candles and comfy chairs for the lanai (where we spent a great deal of time!), maps, a binder with local information, bug repellant, all manner of dishes and cookware, condiments, and much more. And a fabulous outdoor shower, which we used all the time. The photos on the web site really show the place accurately, only it's even better! The place was spotlessly clean. An array of books kept us both informed and entertained in the evenings. The view from the living room window and the lanai couldn't be beat, and we spent a lot of time just gazing over the garden, river canyon, and hillside beyond. From there, we couldn't see any other dwellings, only flowers, trees, mountains, and sky. We highly recommend this cozy vacation rental in a residential neighborhood to anyone wanting to get away from the tourist scene and really feel at home in the local community. Local recommendations: the pizza Bakery in Kalieua, the nearby miniature golf course/botanical garden, the Princeville Botanical Garden, Common Ground restaurant, Annini Beach, the Na Pali trail, Hanalei, and on and on.....

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful apartment on north shore of Kauai

    Wonderful apartment on north shore of Kauai

    • Guest Marcy (Barnstable MA (Cape Cod))
    • Date of stay 04/08/13
    • Review Submitted 05/08/13
    Karen and Conrad have put a great deal of thought, care and taste into the furnishing and appointment of this adorable apartment at the rear of their house. Everything has been provided for a comfortable stay, including a breathtaking view of forest and mountains from the cute little porch. The peace and quiet is absolute. The outdoor shower is wonderful. The location of this north shore apartment for two is terrific, about a mile from the lighthouse and bird sanctuary, as well as convenient to the Nepali Coast, Princeville, and all the north shore beaches. We recommend this lodging highly.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Exactly what we were looking for!

    Exactly what we were looking for!

    • Guest Patrick L.
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    Our stay in the downstairs apartment of Karen and Conrad's house was absolutely wonderful. From the start, Karen was extremely helpful and welcoming. The accomodations themselves were comfortable, the decorations tasteful, and the view spectacular, looking down over Karen and Conrad's gardens into a ravine where you could hear unseen water rushing toward the sea--and then looking up towards the spectacular mountains in the distance. Kilauea is a small town but seemed to have some nice places to eat--we had a wonderful time having lunch at Common Grounds, which is a restaurant on an organic farm near by. The lighthouse with all its bird life was spectacular. All in all, it was a wonderful, restful, fun, beautiful experience and the perfect end to our time in Hawaii. We highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Idyllic spot!

    Idyllic spot!

    • Guest l&d (California)
    • Date of stay 03/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/27/13
    This is a lovely, convenient, and well-equipped spot for exploring the north and east side of Kauai. In addition to looking out on an amazing view, the apartment is roomy, private, and complete with many amenities including a kitchen, washer-dryer, stereo/TV, and useful extras such as a cooler and hiking poles (essential for those muddy trails). There's also a bookcase stocked with local travel guides and a binder full of excellent beach, food, and activity recommendations written by Karen. And there's an outdoor shower (with hot water), which is really nice after a swim or hike. The location in Kilauea town is not far from Hanalei and lots of north shore destinations including the Na Pali Coast, Kilauea Lighthouse, many beaches and hiking trails. The town itself is low-key and charming. Karen and Conrad were wonderful hosts and we'd highly recommend staying with them.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy Traveller

    Happy Traveller

    • Guest Happy Traveller (London, Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 02/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/27/13
    Karen and Conrad are wonderful hosts. The apartment was lovely, lots of nice touches. Kitchen is well stocked with nice outdoor barbecue. View is exceptional. Karen and Conrad provide detailed information in a nice binder with everything you need to know to have a great trip in Kauai, they also have numerous travel books and other resources available to plan your vacation. They really have taken care of every detail from beach chairs, coolers, sun umbrella, to hiking sticks, even daily local newspaper delivery.We really enjoyed our time here. The location is perfect as well, particularly to see the North Shore.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place, Amazing view

    Great Place, Amazing view

    • Guest Tom (Ottawa, Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/04/13
    Wonderfully accommodating hosts, excellent view from the front window, one cute little gecko. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The longer the stay the better. Beware the bakery. You won't want to use the kitchen.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Perfect Kauai Home

    A Perfect Kauai Home

    • Guest Geri (Denver, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/15/12
    • Review Submitted 10/29/12
    Karen and Conrad provided the perfect Kauai getaway. Wonderful hosts that gave excellent tips that fit our interests (birding, restaurants, nature tours and beautiful island sites). The pictures on the web site are accurate and show the beauty of the apartment. It was always a joy to return "home." The tropical environment was everywhere the moment you put foot on the 1st stepping stone to walk to our front door. The North Shore was beautiful and this location was easy driving. We recommend without qualification and hope to return. A BIG Thank you to Karen and Conrad.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Most awesome accomodations, hospitaility and view!

    Most awesome accomodations, hospitaility and view!

    • Guest Bear & Doreen (Atlantic Beach, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/07/12
    • Review Submitted 12/02/12
    The pictures and reviews we found online about your property while making our decision stay in Kauai, doesn't give one the true experience of staying at such an incredible place! Not only did we have excellent hosts, fresh flowers, fruit, awesome views and local information, Conrad and Karen provided the most comfortable environment anyone could ask for! Your home is like a home away from home and one that is truly comforting. The fact that you had so many things we needed but didn't have to pack, along with more than adequate space and ammenities made it feel even more like home. We can't wait to visit again! Look forward to seeing you soon!! Mike(aka Bear) Barrett & Doreen Fields

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely hosts, great value

    Lovely hosts, great value

    • Guest klagman (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 05/21/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    Karen & Conrad have a lovely home in residential Kilauea, a convenient base for exploring the North Shore. Lots of extra details are attended to from a thoughtful welcome gift to travel packs and bug spray. Very minor inconveniences include access.. not an issue for us, but possibly for older travelers or families with very young kids/strollers and glitchy wireless... again, not a huge deal unless you need to work on vacation. Overall, an incredible value and a property we absolutely recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet Paradise

    Quiet Paradise

    • Guest Mags (Woodinville, WA/ USA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/18/12
    What a beautiful secluded getaway. The apartment was lovely. Karen and Conrad were perfect hosts and had thought of everything we needed to enjoy our vacation. The fresh flowers everyday were a treat. Kilauea was well situated to visit all the island.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay at Hale O Kuawa

    Great stay at Hale O Kuawa

    • Guest Sandra/Jess (Arlington, Tx)
    • Date of stay 04/18/12
    • Review Submitted 05/21/12
    Hale O Kuawa is great for relaxing and ideal area for exploring all of Kaua'i. It was nice to be able to cook meals on the grill at night. This was our second stay on Hale O Kuawa and if we return to Kaua'i we will make it a third stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Kilauea Lodging

    Excellent Kilauea Lodging

    • Guest Traveler (New York State)
    • Date of stay 03/06/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    Karen and Conrad offer a wonderful quite private rental unit. Everything in the rental is clean and works well. They provide all sorts of extras such as beach mats and towels, books and maps on Kauai, dining and shopping suggestions, etc... to help you during your stay. Kilauea is a good location from which to tour the northern half of Kauai. I highly recommend this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a Gem!

    What a Gem!

    • Guest D & N (Victoria, British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 02/11/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    Dear Karen & Conrad, Thank you so much for your hospitality! Your place has exceeded our expectations – the web photos didn’t justify the beauty of the place at all. We really enjoyed our stay, your company and everything that beautiful Kauai can offer. Many thanks for inviting us for joining you for dinner one night – we had such a blast in your company! To fellow-travellers: the place is extremely comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated, equipped with everything you could imagine and more. There was even a welcome basket on our arrival with Hawaiian treats and fruit! Karen – you are so kind and thoughtful! As far as location goes, it was also perfect – a short walk (about 10 minutes) and you are in Kilauea town where you can find a fish market, excellent bakery and coffee shops, health food store, restaurant and much more. It was our second visit to Kauai and we knew where exactly we wanted to be on the North Shore. Highlights of the trip: Tunnels beach, Kalihiwai beach (this one was our favourite for boogie-boarding and hanging around and it was within a short (less than 5 minutes) and an easy drive), Waimea Canyon, the Garden Café at Common Grounds (the food was so delicious, fresh and organic and again it was just a short drive), the Kilauea Fish Market as well as the Kilauea Bakery & Coffee shop. They make great pizza at the Bakery, too. And of course, buying fresh produce and fruit at the local farmers` market was such a fabulous experience. Anyway, when ever we visit Kauai in future, we would love to stay at this beautiful place as well as see Karen and Conrad again. We had fun time! Mahalo Karen and Conrad for everything!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kilauea Stay

    Kilauea Stay

    • Guest Mary Z. (Olympia, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/05/12
    • Review Submitted 03/01/12
    Clean, bright, and nicely appointed. Well equipped. Central location for visiting North Shore and Kilauea Area and even close to Kapaa. Very private. Nice Hosts.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Phenomenal

    Phenomenal

    • Guest Yan (London)
    • Date of stay 01/28/12
    • Review Submitted 02/13/12
    Hello, Our holidays at Karen & Conrad were unforgettable. They were able to share with us their experience from the island as well as the phenomenal fishing stories! I truly enjoyed the place and would highly recommend it to anyone. North Shore is perfect and Kauai is fabulous. Plan at least 5 days. Cheers, Yan

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautifully landscaped with gracious hosts and all the comforts of home.

    Beautifully landscaped with gracious hosts and all the comforts of home.

    • Guest Frequent Kaua'i visitor (Vancouver, British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 08/30/11
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    The listing was accurate regarding the location. Photos accurately reflect the rental's appearance and amenities. Property immaculate and well-maintained. Gorgeously landscaped. Very peaceful and tranquil. Wonderful view. Owners very gracious and helpful. Thoughtful touches in rental accommodation. Very comfortable. Would definitely recommend property to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Parfait !!!

    Parfait !!!

    • Guest Delphine (Paris, France)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/11/11
    Our stay was delightful, Conrad and Karen are wonderful hosts, you will find everything you need (and much more!) in this very convenient apartment ! We recommand the place to anyone who would like to visit the north shore of Kauai !

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Retreat with Lush Landscaping, Outdoor Shower, and Fabulous Hostess

    Relaxing Retreat with Lush Landscaping, Outdoor Shower, and Fabulous Hostess

    • Guest Carole (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 12/03/11
    We highly recommend staying here and look forward to returning. The lack of a full kitchen is no issue. Very clean and nice amenities. The outdoor shower is phenomenal! Enjoyed the sunrises and landscaping. And our hostess Karen was great.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a beautiful, tranquil setting!

    What a beautiful, tranquil setting!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/17/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    Hale O Kuawa was even more beautiful and immaculate than we expected from the description and photos. We were on Kauai for a wedding and to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of our one-bedroom "home away from home" so much, we ended up spending a lot more time there than we had planned. A special touch was the fresh fragrant Plumeria, Bird of Paradise and Tahitian Ginger flowers placed in the rooms. Our favorite thing was the big, roomy, cutely decorated, warm, outdoor shower. Karen and Conrad were great hosts and fun to talk with. We highly recommend Hale O Kuawa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful, Charming and Perfect accomodation!!

    Beautiful, Charming and Perfect accomodation!!

    • Guest Vartika (California)
    • Date of stay 01/26/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/11
    We had a wonderful stay at Karen & Conrad's BEAUTIFUL place. It had everything we needed. Fully equipped kitchen, Beach and hiking accessories, Good library collection (specially Kauai information guides, they were very helpful to us). Great cds and dvds collection. We are very thankful for their hospitality and the information provided about the island. We would highly recommend this paradise. Mahalo Karen & Conrod for everything. Hope to see you again :)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great first visit to Kauai!

    Great first visit to Kauai!

    • Guest betsy13 (montana)
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
    Thanks so much to Karen and Conrad for a swell first visit to Kauai! We had never been to this gogeous island before and somehow lucked out with four sunny days! The apartment is wonderful, lots of room and comfort, but nothing beats the view off the lanai...it feels like the edge of the earth, and you are surrounded by gorgeous lush foliage! Karen was super helpful, the apartment was accurately described, the rate more than fair, and the extra amenities excellent. They provided everything you might need for a Kauai adventure and more! Be sure to step out at night and catch a huge whiff of their flowering fragrant bush and watch all the many bright stars...the combo was unbelievable! We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • ~ We Highly Reccomend this Very Clean, Comfy & Convenient Slice of Heaven ~

    ~ We Highly Reccomend this Very Clean, Comfy & Convenient Slice of Heaven ~

    • Guest ~ Fred & Britny ~ (Wasilla, AK )
    • Date of stay 10/02/10
    • Review Submitted 12/03/10
    Choosing the right place to stay while we were on our first vacation together in Kauai was difficult, but it won't be next time, because we know exactly where we'll be staying and that's at Hale 'O Kuawa! The beautiful property is in a great location on our favorite part of the island, the apartment is very clean and comfy and Conrad and Karen were so friendly, offering and accommodating everything we could possibly need or want while staying there. They were very knowledgeable and helpful with tips and info. on where to go and what to do. They went above and beyond our expectations and really made our trip so much more enjoyable. Visits from Pie the Cat while sitting on the patio overlooking the gorgeous view were great! Thank you Conrad and Karen for making our visit to your home a relaxing and unforgettable one! We hope to return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love this amazing North Kauai Retreat!

    Love this amazing North Kauai Retreat!

    • Guest Teri (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/05/10
    Our family has traveled to Kauai four times in the past 12 years. We have always stayed at the Schmidt's beautiful place. The location is amazing. The beach is minutes away. We love the feel of being in a neighborhood. You feel like you are in the jungle with the mango trees outside the apartment. The view is breathtaking. Their place has everything you need. We prepare almost all of our meals using the appliances they have furnished and the gas grill. We take all of our showers in the outside shower. We think of this place as our second home. We would come here every year if we could. We not only miss the island of Kauai but also this special place the Schmidts have shared with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • home away from home only better

    home away from home only better

    • Guest FigArtist from CA (SF Bay area)
    • Date of stay 08/31/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    Karen and Conrad were awesome hosts. I had all the comforts of home without any of the other stuff that goes along with that :) The apartment was lovely and had EVERYTHING anyone could ever need. the library is wonderful. They made my stay MORE than convenient/comfortable (walking sticks, outdoor sink, even butcher paper to cover the tables for my artwork) and the coffee was wonderful. I *would* refer others but we don't want this secret to get out in case I can't get booked back in. :) j/k

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect!

    Absolutely Perfect!

    • Guest Kiel & Bexs (Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/29/10
    I want to start off by thanking Conrad and Karen again for our great stay in Kilauea. Their property is ridiculously beautiful with perfectly manicured grounds. The unit was spacious and extremely clean. It was well stocked with all the "extras" ie. Condiments in the fridge, beach towels, coolers and gear. Even sunburn spray.... All the things you would hate to buy for a short stay. I also wanted to mention the wonderful job they do as hosts. Their knowledge of the island will definitely come in handy. It was a perfect combination of privacy and on-hand local knowledge. Karen has prepared a "owners manual" for Kauai, amazing detail from places to eat, shop, swim, snorkel, etc. Kilauea is great little town, that has a convenient northern location. If I am lucky enough to be able to return.... I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all. Mahalo,

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stay away from the tourist fray!

    Stay away from the tourist fray!

    • Guest Palapala (Grand Junction Colorado)
    • Date of stay 04/23/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    We ABSOLUTELY LOVE staying at Hale O' Kuawa! There are so many great things to say, but here's the most important. I am a discerning traveler (okay, so my husband says "picky"!) and the bed and the noise level are the two things that will make or break a place of lodging for me. We just finished our 4th time staying here in 10 years. I wanted a place of peace and quiet where I knew the drill and knew the bed would be great. So I convinced my hubby to return to Kilauea. And, it was STILL fantastic. The apartment is wonderfully decorated with great spaces in the bedroom and living areas. The view is incredible - can't see anyone else from the bedroom or the dining room. We love the quiet neighborhood and love waking up each morning to the singing of the birds (and a rooster, here or there). Wonderful to have a washer & dryer right there and even an extra shower outside. Great collection of books to take to the beach and also there are beach chairs, hiking sticks, coolers, backpacks...everything you need to explore. Karen and Conrad are always gracious and welcoming. They maintain their sweet and happy personalities through it all. True hospitality - just like we experienced in Japan! The price is unbelievable for the quality you encounter - in fact, one could spend the same amount of money on food for two for the day if you had to eat out - but, there is a nice pullman kitchen and a barbeque grill on the lanai. We love the location of Kilauea - it has such a nice town feel and not over-run by tourists. I know - we're tourists, too, but we like to pretend we're not part of the crowd. It's close to great and peaceful beaches with snorkeling and hiking within 1/2 to 10 miles. Nice eateries right in the town of Kilauea. The Kilauea ice cream and video store serves the BEST ice cream on the planet, I'm sure of it - I had a least 6 cones during our 10 day stay. Check out the Chocolate Coconut Macadamia Nut in a waffle cone and tell Dan you read it on this site. The seared ahi wrap at The Fish Market was ono (delicious!) and the pizza at the bakery was very tasty, too. Also, the Island Soap and Candle Works near the bakery has the most fantastic Creamy Coconut lotion and pineapple candles (piña colada, anyone?). Be sure to purchase your fill while there, because the shipping is expensive and your minimum order has to be over $40 or so. Be sure to check out the Hindu Monastery and see the granite temple with gold trimmings. Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic Place

    Fantastic Place

    • Guest Brian_ (Denver)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 05/26/10
    My girlfriend and I stayed here our first night in Kauai. We came to hike the Kalalau Trail and this property was a good midpoint between the airport and the trailhead. We couldn't have been more pleased with the apartment or the owners. Both Karen and her husband were exceedingly nice and gracious. We traveled with luggage that we were not going to take backpacking and did not want to leave at the trailhead due to theft concerns. Karen was nice enough to allow us to keep the luggage at her place while we backpacked. It was safe and secure when we came back. Thanks! As for the apartment itself, I was really surprised. I wasn't expecting much, but this place was great. Huge book selection to read over, lots of movies to watch if for some reason you want to be in your room instead of outside in the beautiful Hawaii countryside, comfy and large beds, clean bathroom, kitchen to cook in, good view, basically everything I would have wanted. I would live there if given a choice. Price seemed pretty reasonable to me too. In short, don't hesitate to book here. You'll thoroughly enjoy it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Accommodation

    Awesome Accommodation

    • Guest PP (Canmore Alberta Canada )
    • Date of stay 02/23/10
    • Review Submitted 06/17/10
    We loved our stay! Our only problem was that we booked late and couldn't stay longer. This very comfortable apartment has everything... fabulous hosts, great views, loads of space for 2, all amenities, incredible views, solitude, guide books and island info... We loved the outdoor shower! The apartment is in a quiet neighbourhood and is very close to all that the north coast has to offer. We're keen adventurers and will return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Garey-Lea & Bob
    • Date of stay 09/22/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/10
    Quiet calm retreat. This was the second visit we had made to Hale O Kuawa in Kilauea. The setting is serene and overlooks the Kilauea Stream valley. Karen's gardens are beautiful. The bedroom is comfy with plenty of closet and bureau space. The living room has a good TV and radio CD player. The kitchen has everything you need to cook breakfast with a two burner stove and a full size refrigerator. The lanai has a grill and frequent visits from Pie, the cat. The bathroom is fully stocked with towels for home and for the beach and a washer dryer. Karen and Conrad have also left coolers, beach mats and beach chairs for you. The use of the outdoor shower makes the whole tropical effect more special. We are looking forward to our next visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Skip & Dorcee
    • Date of stay 09/11/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/10
    We love it here! We have stayed at Hale O Kuawa every year for the past 4 years. That you should tell you have much we love it here. The apartment is perfect – comfortable, clean, quiet, it has everything you could possibly need and the view is better than in the photos! Karen & Conrad are wonderful hosts – since they live on-island, they can give you specifics on restaurants, hikes or places to fish (Conrad loves to fish). You just can’t go wrong in staying here!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bill & Jane
    • Date of stay 01/07/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/10
    Truly a Taste of Paradise! How can I begin to adequately express how warm and friendly and beautiful our experience at Hale O Kuawa was for so many years, staying in your lovely vacation rental, which was truly our home for Jan., Feb., March and part of April from 2000 to 2009. We arrived to find fresh flowers, green plants and gorgeous orchids throughout the beautifully decorated apartment and always found delicious welcoming surprises in the refrigerator! Everything needed for a day at the beach or a trek in the mountains was there; beach chairs, umbrella, beach mat, coolers, water bottles, etc., it was all there to use. Karen and Conrad, you took us under your wings and told us about and EVEN took us to so many points of interest! And you let us know when you found information about anything interesting taking place on the island; a great help when we were new to Kauai. There were always new interesting and informative books about various aspects of Hawaiian culture and history added to the library each year and a wonderful selection of Hawaiian CD"s, as well as a large collection of video cassettes. And a special delight was using the lovely outdoor shower, even though there was a complete indoor bathroom. What a convenience it was to have a washer and dryer! There was a convenient kitchen with full refrigerator, microwave oven, large toaster convection oven and sturdy two burner stove top plus appliances for every cooking convenience. Once we found Hale O Kuawa, we looked no farther; it was the perfect place to relax in the privacy of the lovely yard overlooking the Kilauea Canyon and perhaps cook something on the grill on the lanai. It is only because of serious family illness that we are not there this year. Karen and Conrad, thank you for soooooo many lovely memories of our time spent with you in beautiful Hale O Kuawa. We love you, Bill and Jane :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gernd & Irene
    • Date of stay 10/18/88
    • Review Submitted 04/29/10
    Four days in paradise. We will never forget this place with it’s beautiful flowers and red-colored sun rises. Thank you so much – Karen & Conrad – for providing us with a home far away from home and your hospitality as well. Mahalo & Aloha, Gernd & Irene Gelnhansen, Germany

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]