Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to My 6 Bedroom, 5.5 Bath Home on a Salt Water Canal

6 Bed Home on Canal-Boats-Weddings-Sleeps 20! [#13200] | View Property

Private Homes
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths (Sleeps 18-22)
$6,500.00/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Wedding on the Beach

    Wedding on the Beach

    • Guest Life's a Beach (Dallas, Tx)
    • Date of stay 08/29/13
    • Review Submitted 12/10/13
    We had planned a destination wedding and lucked upon this home. We are from Dallas, Tx so we did not have a chance to see this house first hand before committing to it. Going solely off of the pictures online and the fact that this house has an attached boat house and lawn capable of holding 50 people, we went head first into planning our big day. This house supplied us with plenty of room to accommodate our huge family and gave plenty of room for the kids to run around. The distance to the beach was about a 5 minute walk and the atmosphere at night around the dock was amazing once the lights were set up. All in all, everything was pretty much as described to us and through all the chaos that comes with planning a wedding, we are able to consider it a success and a day we will always remember. For those going to Destin and wish to get in the water, I would recommend going earlier in the summer when the water is much clearer and the waves are less choppy.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The perfect getaway.

    The perfect getaway.

    • Guest b2b (miami, florida)
    • Date of stay 07/18/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    After staying at this palatial home with my crew and guests, I would not stay anywhere else. This home housed my entire crew and guests with our boat right outside for the perfect stay and shoot. We had 12 people staying in the home and we still had all of the privacy we wanted due to the layout of the home, with 6 bedrooms and a completely secluded top floor. When coupled the with the private catering for 12 on the lawn.....it just clinched the deal. Wow! Thanks so much for having us....we cant wait to come back. Bass 2 Billfsih

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Can't wait to see us on NBC TV on Bass 2 Billfish!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place for Family Gathering

    Great Place for Family Gathering

    • Guest RobW (Katy, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/06/13
    • Review Submitted 06/18/13
    This property lived up to the pictures and descriptions. The size and layout is outstanding and the furnishings are current and quite comfortable. Great for allowing different family members to do their own activities and not be on top of each other - we even baked a surprise birthday cake in the upstairs apartment. We had a great time and even had plenty to do on rainy days with the canal and very large deck. My mother and children were in heaven as they could throw a poles in the water in one moment and walk to the beach in the next. Our first time in Destin, but certainly will be at the top of my list when we go back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Home, Quiet & Convenient

    Great Home, Quiet & Convenient

    • Guest Robin B.
    • Date of stay 04/05/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    Our group (19) stayed here in April for our annual Birthday Beach/Reunion trip and thrilled at what a great location and house/apartment this is. This property is nicely and warmly decorated in addition to being very spacious. The owner was really accommodating when it came to any needs we had. We wanted a place away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Destin, but still close enough to enjoy all its activities. We definitely lucked out with this rental property being right on the canal – a short water taxi or kayak paddle across the canals! We loved the quiet neighborhood and amazing deck/enclosed patio. The owner was extremely quick and responsive to our emails, phone calls, and text. We would definitely suggest this place for a large group. As an added bonus we were able to rent their pontoon for a visit to Crab Island!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful tropical landscaping and waterfront!

    Beautiful tropical landscaping and waterfront!

    • Guest Pam (tallahassee, fl, usa)
    • Date of stay 09/27/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    Our family selected “the heart of Destin” home after several weeks of searching for the perfect home for lodging and entertaining for a very special occasion. The canal home was actually the first home we looked at and it set the standard. We found some beautiful places, but none compare to “the heart of Destin” and all it has to offer. The main house’s living area is huge and open, overlooking the boathouse and canal, with a very large kitchen. The bedrooms are large and beds comfortable. The upstairs apartment is such a bonus for separating those who are early to bed and early to rise from those of us who …are not! Although the home sleeps 22+ we chose to go smaller with only 12 in our party in order to give the bride and groom-to-be a quiet retreat from the crowds and activities of a busy wedding weekend…well, except for the BRUNCH held in their honor AT the canal home, oh, and yes, the REHEARSAL DINNER was there, too! So much for getting away from the crowd, but there was lots of room and it never seemed crowed! Our guests were so complimentary of the home and grounds. Both events were held outdoors but had the weather not been beautiful the screened boat house would have been perfect for both. The late-morning brunch was lovely in the beautifully landscaped tropical backyard overlooking the canal, and the dinner was absolutely magical and unforgettable in that same setting at night! Sally was very helpful from start to finish – she even mailed my grandson’s left-behind football to us! Sally also recommended a brilliant guitarist to play at the dinner. Chris Alvarado was the perfect addition to make this very special occasion even more memorable. The wedding weekend was fabulous, exceptional, delightful and fun! Mission accomplished. Thanks for everything Sally!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am so pleased that my home was a great setting for making memories that will last a lifetime for another family! We have so many great memories and it is such fun to see other families have such a great time in a beautiful setting! Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful, Clean, Spacious

    Beautiful, Clean, Spacious

    • Guest Terry (Alton, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 08/07/12
    We had a great time in Destin. The house was absolutely fantastic. So glad we rented it, will definitely be back. We put 22 people in the house and had room to spare. The outdoor area really gives a lot of extra usable space. Tom and Sally were great to deal with and the house was in great overall condition. A perfect location, just a short walk to the beach. Having the boat accessible to rent is a great addition to a wonderful rental. The bedrooms were all huge, with real beds. Most rentals are filled with twins and bunks, this house is full of King and Queen beds. Having the extra kitchen upstairs was also very nice. Thanks Sally for a wonderful time, we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Dream Wedding house/vacation

    Dream Wedding house/vacation

    • Guest Amy (La Vergne, TN )
    • Date of stay 06/08/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    THIS HOUSE IS AMAZING! SALLY IS AMAZING!! I rented this house for my wedding & vacation with my family. I was on a budget and this house met my EVERY need. It rained on my wedding day & I thought my wedding would be ruined... BUT because the house was so spacious inside and out, we were able to hold the ceremony on the deck looking over the canal. IT TURNED OUT PERFECT!!! We decorated the covered boat deck and partied the night away. My entire family was able to sleep comfortably. My daughter is 5 and still talking about the beach house. We will definitely be back and look forward to spending more vacations in the "heart of destin". Thank you Sally!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wedding Weekend

    Wedding Weekend

    • Guest laladotdot (Athens,TN)
    • Date of stay 05/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    My parents rented Sally's home for my wedding weekend(this was our second stay at her house, so we already knew how awesome it was!) There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably in a bed, and we never felt like we were crowded. We used the back deck for my rehearsal dinner and the deck and back yard for the reception.It was a very short walk to beautiful beach access Sally was very helpful in coordinating the events of my weekend, she even cooked some wonderful gumbo for 25 people one night! My dad rented her pontoon boat for the weekend and we had a blast on it! It is a very nice boat and we got to enjoy crab island everyday, as well as AJ's at night! The guys (big and little) enjoyed fishing off of the boat dock, there were TONS of fish! I would say if you don't rent this house you are missing out!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • October 1, 2011 Wedding

    October 1, 2011 Wedding

    • Guest Cindy Jean (Prattville, AL)
    • Date of stay 09/29/11
    • Review Submitted 10/31/11
    My family stayed at this house for my wedding weekend of October 1, 2011. It was perfect for us. We had the ceremony on the beach, which was a short walk from the house. The reception was held at the house. We had a band set up on the back lawn and the tables were set up in the boat house, which was enclosed. We had so many compliments on the house and set up, and I don't think we could have found a better location. The amenities were great! The caterer cooked everything in the huge kitchen. There were plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for my extended family to stay together. The value was great also. If you plan to have a wedding or large party here, be aware that you will need to have a parking plan. The driveway will only hold about 8 cars, but we were able to carpool everyone there and it was not that big of a deal. I would recommend this house to anyone having a small (50-60 guest) wedding. I hope that we will be able to return to this house so we can add to our happy memories!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Nice area with jetskies

    Nice area with jetskies

    • Guest happy customer (Georgia, Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/23/11
    This property is very convenient for boating. The ocean is five min walk able distance. The house is very spacious and clean. Just to sit in a huge balcony was breathtaking. One caution for pet owners would be that carpets are very light in color and very clean, you will be charged for every spot you leave behind. Be careful, or clean after yourself!!! Overall experience was amazing.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wedding Week

    Wedding Week

    • Guest Sherry (Toledo)
    • Date of stay 07/08/11
    • Review Submitted 07/16/11
    This house is amazing!!! We rented this house for my wedding week & it was absolutely perfect! My family of 20 all slept here, it had plenty of room for everyone to sleep & large enough to where it never once felt crowded. Sally & Tom are terrific they helped us out so much from caterers, hair stylists, restaurants and much more! I can't express how happy i was with this place! The outside is BEAUTIFUL we had our reception in the back yard and it turned out great! I would highly recommend this house to anyone! Thank You Tom & Sally for everything...Kevin is already planning our next trip :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House

    Great House

    • Guest Fred (Atlanta)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/23/11
    The location and design of the house is great. The boat access was great for us. We rented a boat and brought our own jet skis. We left the jet skis in the water all week. Very little boat traffic. They also have a location to park trailers. That is huge. The House had every thing we needed...lots of room and all the kitchen stuff. I highly recommend this place.to any large family or group.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wedding week with family

    Wedding week with family

    • Guest Tiffany R. (Hudson, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    This house was perfect for hosting our families for the week of our wedding. It is very spacious and beautiful. Everyone really enjoyed themselves. We were able to use the beach access at the house for our wedding and it turned out perfect. The beaches are gorgeous and were not really crowded. The deck was perfect for the small informal reception we had afterwards. The house has everything you need. Checking in and out was easy. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others! Thanks Sally!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wedding Week with family

    Wedding Week with family

    • Guest Tiffany R. (Hudson, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/19/11
    • Review Submitted 07/25/11
    This house was perfect for hosting our families for the week for our wedding. Everyone really enjoyed themselves and the house is very spacious and beautiful. We were able to use the beach access at the house for the sunset ceremony and everything turned out perfect. The beaches were gorgeous and not really crowded. The deck on the house was perfect for the small informal reception afterwards. Everything we needed was there. Checking in and out was very easy. I would definitely stay here again and would definitely recommend to others! Thanks Sally!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful location for a Rehearsal Dinner Party

    Beautiful location for a Rehearsal Dinner Party

    • Guest BoricuaBride (Long Beach, MS)
    • Date of stay 06/09/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    I would highly recommend this home to anyone interested. It was absolutely amazing. My family and I rented the whole house to stay during my wedding week and also was used as the rehearsal dinner location. I hosted close to 50 people for the party and everyone had a blast and plenty of room to salsa, merengue, or any other dance. I am definitly planning on coming back!!! Thanks Sally, your home was fantastic.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Good Ole Boys Reunion

    Good Ole Boys Reunion

    • Guest greg (Gulfport, MS, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 06/05/11
    Awesome House!! Best weekend ever!! Sally had so many great lighting features, boat space, supplies galore! Can't think of one thing about this place I would change! The dock was deep enough for 2..27+ foot boats to dock at with no troubles! The covered deck was amazing! We went to AJ's one night then decided we had more fun on our own deck than going out! The extra parking for the boat trailers was awesome! We put in @ Joes Bayou then went dropped trailers off @ the property then straight to the house! We never once worried that the trailers or extra vehicles were unsafe! Thanks Sally!! We will be back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorial Day Weekend....Crab Island Blowout.....Good Ole Boys/Girls Reunion

    Memorial Day Weekend....Crab Island Blowout.....Good Ole Boys/Girls Reunion

    • Guest Allison (Gulfport, MS, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 06/05/11
    Our group has come for this same weekend 7 years in a row, and this is by far the best home we've ever stayed in. We will definitely be back to this home year after year!! No needs or wants and definitely zero complaints!! ! We had a group of 21 @ Sally's beautiful home!! Everyone had a comfortable place to sleep; we had plenty of room for our food, festivities and music!! You really never could tell we had a houseful until we loaded up on the 2 boats (which still was comfortable). Annually, our previous enlisted friends all meet up for one adults only weekend/reunion. We had friends from MS, NY, MO, AL, TX, LA, AK, NE, IA, and Nepal. Thanks so much Sally!! We will always be back and appreciative!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Love this house!!!!

    Love this house!!!!

    • Guest Pebs98 (Oxford, MS)
    • Date of stay 05/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/23/11
    Thanks so much. We had a great girls weekend and the house is perfect!!! Easy check in and out and fully loaded kitchen. The outside is just as amazing as the inside. Love, love, love this house and the beach is just down the street.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Wedding Weekend

    Perfect Wedding Weekend

    • Guest Mandy (Gainesville)
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/27/11
    This spacious harbor home provided the perfect accommodations for my wedding party. My guests relaxed and enjoyed a fun wedding weekend with individual rooms, large kitchen fully stocked, a very beautiful all wood boathouse, and mature tropical landscaping to provide the perfect backdrop for photos. I found that this home has everything to create a romantic setting for a wedding on the Destin Harbor. My husband and I had a beach ceremony on Norriego cross walk and returned to the decorated boathouse for the reception. We decorated with draped material in the open rafters, candles placed around boat house windows offering panoramic views to the canal, and large bar and outdoor kitchen provided the perfect setting for food and drinks. This home is tastefully decorated with every amenity that one may desire. Holiday Isle neighborhood offers walking paths to the beach and is just minutes away from shopping, restaurants, and attractions. It is a fantastic property in which my husband and I can return to and remember where our lives began in the coming years as our family grows. This is a must stay property!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Even better than expected!

    Even better than expected!

    • Guest Natalie (Biloxi)
    • Date of stay 04/14/11
    • Review Submitted 04/20/11
    You will love this place. The living area is large, clean and modern. It is obvious that the owners take a lot of pride in how the house is kept. The dock came in very handy, and we spent a lot of time on the many decks and outdoor living areas. I have stayed many places in Destin and this was definitely one of my favorites.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • FANATASTIC HOUSE AND GREAT RENTERS

    FANATASTIC HOUSE AND GREAT RENTERS

    • Guest SpringBreak Family Style (Tallahassee)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    The house was more beautiful in person. The home is very well stocked for everything we needed to cook for a large group. We took a group of 28 and there was plenty of room. The screen in porch was very spacious for 28 people to have dinner and dance. Most of us stayed up all night sitting on the deck overlooking the water. Will stay there again P Howard

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Three stays!

    Three stays!

    • Guest Mary C. (Valley Center, KS)
    • Date of stay 07/26/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    We have stayed in the upper apartment for three years in a row. We brought our boat with us also on these visits. Could not have stayed at a better place. There is plenty of parking for cars and the boat trailer too. The landscaping is beautiful. Having your boat in the "backyard" is very convenient for going fishing or scuba diving. The street is quiet. You are actually having your vacation in a quiet neighborhood!! The walk to the beach is just minutes away. I do highly recommend this vacation dreamhouse for families, couples, really for just about everybody. Thank you for three great Destin vacations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]