Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kitchen/Dining area love seat sitting area not shown

Spacious in-Town Apartment with Private Veranda [#132099] | View Property

Bar Harbor
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$299/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Amazing island and cozy place to land....

    Amazing island and cozy place to land....

    • Guest katherine k.
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/22/13
    Great upstairs apartment in Bar harbor. Very convenient and the bed was sooooooo...comfortable. Mo and Scott were very helpful and hospitable. We hiked and biked the old carriage trails and the weather was great. Everything worked in the apt and it was well equipped.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • In-town find

    In-town find

    • Guest Melissa F. (Where do you live?)
    • Date of stay 09/12/13
    • Review Submitted 09/18/13
    Thank you, Mo and Scott! We are a family of 4 plus a grandfather. This apartment is not only in an *excellent* location (RIGHT in the center of Bar Harbor), it is also far more spacious than we could have hoped for. A generous 2 bedroom with room for all. Quiet at night and everyone slept well. Both children and all three adults successfully took naps when desired, so it was quiet during the day, too. The apartment is well-stocked with pack 'n plays, extra blankets, extra towels, what looked like an air mattress, and all sorts of things to make your stay more homey. We loved the deck and the big kitchen. Living room is huge. Also, the place was safe for our two young children. We had a great stay. One other note worth mentioning - Mo and Scott were very helpful when needed, but also very appropriately non-intrusive. We also appreciated that they did not require a lot of upfront paperwork to be signed and sent back and forth and did not charge ANY hidden costs. What you see is really what you get here, and they make it easy for you. We were very grateful to them.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment in Bar Harbor

    Great Apartment in Bar Harbor

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/11/13
    • Review Submitted 06/28/13
    We stayed in this Bar Harbor apartment during our vacation with our two children (ages 20 months and 3 months). The location of the apartment was fantastic for exploring Bar Harbor on foot! We were able to walk to the grocery store, shops and many restaurants. Our toddler really enjoyed playing in the park across the street from the apartment. The path down next to the harbor is not to be missed! We were also very thankful to be close to Acadia for multiple shorter hikes during the day. The apartment is spacious and very nicely appointed. With two kids, we cooked many of our meals and the kitchen was well stocked for cooking. The owners also provided two pack and plays and a high chair for our use, which we really appreciated. There was even a nice area downstairs that we could store our stroller. Mo and Scott were great hosts and we enjoyed talking with them during our stay. We would recommend this apartment to others traveling to Bar Harbor.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bar Harbor

    Bar Harbor

    • Guest Beau (Belchertown,MA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/12
    • Review Submitted 10/15/12
    Location,location,location. This is the best location to stay in Bar Harbor. You are right downtown close to everything.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Location

    Wonderful Location

    • Guest Jenn (Autos, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/24/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    Right in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Super convenient to restaurants, shops, and Acadia. We appreciated having a high chair and Pack n play available for our little one.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A pleasant part of a great vacation

    A pleasant part of a great vacation

    • Guest NJMonster (Maplewood, NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/16/12
    • Review Submitted 08/30/12
    Overall, I was very pleased with the stay ... Pluses - GREAT location with plenty of space for 4+. Minuses - The front door lock was pretty pesky and the noise was pretty bad from a neighbor having a party till 1AM (the bars weren't too loud). Parking is NOT an issue ... spaces are available by 9PM in front and you can easily park a couple hundred feet away. We didn't cook cause there are so many great places to eat in the area - Cafe This Way, Side Street Cafe, Red Sky (Southwest Harbor) and Town Hill Bistro (Town Hill). The Independent, across the green is a great little coffee spot for your morning and afternoon jolt. And, I can't forget Morning Glory ... very nice bakery. We really enjoyed the outdoor offerings of Acadia and the apartment was a pleasant part of a great vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lots of Room & Amenities in a Fantastic Central Location

    Lots of Room & Amenities in a Fantastic Central Location

    • Guest Mike (Bozeman, MT)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    My family of four had a wonderful 5-night stay in this spacious and comfortable apartment in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. The apartment is very well appointed with a full kitchen, A/C in both bedrooms, and satellite TV (with NESN). The owners, Scott and Mo, were attentive and low-key at the same time, not to mention very generous with their local knowledge. Other things we liked: Comfy beds, High-quality sheets and linens, Secure, lightning-fast wi-fi, Great selection of reading material, Shorter minimum stay than most (and with no cleaning fee, so we were happy to pitch in with the few small requests at checkout) Finally, parking was never a problem, either mid-day or overnight. In mid-August, there was always a spot available at any hour, within reasonable distance (i.e., a couple blocks at most). In short, a terrific base from which to spend some time in Bar Harbor. We hope to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Location Downtown Bar Harbor

    Great Location Downtown Bar Harbor

    • Guest Bev & Al (Dallas, Tx. USA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 08/11/12
    If you are looking for location and able to walk around town this is the place. Parking is interesting during the day but not impossible. Unit is clean and very spacious. Mo and Scott are very nice and accomodating. Only draw back is a flight of stairs but the location is well worth it especially during the busy summer season. Have lunch at Down East Deli Excellant!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great time!

    Great time!

    • Guest Kathryn (Birmingham, AL)
    • Date of stay 05/15/12
    • Review Submitted 05/27/12
    We really enjoyed our stay in Bar Harbor - you really can't get much better on location than this apartment! Central to everything and conveniently stocked with maps and info on the area. Clean and lots of space! Plenty to do within walking distance and just a short drive from Acadia National Park. You will not be sorry you stayed here!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect spot with lots of room, ideal for a family looking to be in the most convenient spot in town

    Perfect spot with lots of room, ideal for a family looking to be in the most convenient spot in town

    • Guest Matt (Dedham, MA)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/06/11
    You won't find a spot better than this in town. This location sits right across the street from the Village Green and above the shops. It is clean and spacious and has two bedrooms and a huge family room plus a nice dining room and open air kitchen with high ceilings. It also has a nice deck to sit out and overlook the downtown. When you walk downstairs, you are right on main street within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The parking is no problem either, with a few streets down allowing for free on street parking or grabbing a spot in front for a few hours. You will not beat the rate here by far from any local hotels or inns. Mo and Scott are very friendly and so are their friends that work in the shop, helping you with whatever you need throuhgout the day since they are always a step away right downstairs in the Pottery Shop. Acadia gates are in either direction about 5 minutes driving distance plus there is a bus station across the street to all points on the island. The only annoyance people may find is the noise level from the neighboring restaurants in the evening, since the noise does carry and with windows open in the summer, it can get a bit loud. But once you turn the air conditions on, it drowns it out. I highly recommend staying in this spot and we will definelty be back to visit and reserve this place again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Bar Harbor vacation spot

    Perfect Bar Harbor vacation spot

    • Guest Susan (Merrick, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/26/10
    Just back from a two week vacation, including a 4 day stay in Bar Harbor. This apartment right in the heart of the town on the village green was perfect in every way. We walked everywhere in town, and it was only a short drive to Acadia and all the others points of interest. Mo and Scott couldn't have been more helpful and gracious. The apartment was roomy and very comfortable, and it was great to have the option to eat in when we wanted. Would recommend this rental to anyone coming to Bar Harbor!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly what we were looking for

    Exactly what we were looking for

    • Guest Joe&Amy (Aldan, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/16/10
    • Review Submitted 08/22/10
    We wanted a place to stay that was close to the park, but walking distance for things in town, and we were looking just to stay Monday through Friday. This place was perfect! First of all, Mo responded to my inquiry within 20 minutes and within 24 hours had provided me with all of the info I needed to make a decision. We paid by checks and she always sent an e-mail to let me know they had been received. As for the apartment...the park shuttle bus stop is literally across the street and the apartment itself is located in the heart of everything. Mo and Scott are incredibly friendly and have provided a great list of things in the area (helpful when we wanted to make a grocery store run). The parking can be a little tight, but we found a spot just two blocks up near the library and didn't have to move our car until we left. The apartment is spacious, comfortable, clean and bright. There's a full kitchen, so stock up for breakfast, pack yourself a lunch for the park and then either walk to a restaurant for dinner or stay in one night and cook for yourself. We enjoyed dinner on the deck while listening to live music from over in the park. Mo provided us with great directions for our trip home (to try and avoid some traffic) and was very gracious about the fact that we inadvertently left with one of the sets of keys in our pocket. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mo and Scott's place to anyone traveling to Bar Harbor, and in fact, talked with someone the night we got home who wanted to plan a trip and told them about this place. If we head back to Acadia, I would absolutely want to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Place to Stay in Bar Harbor

    Great Place to Stay in Bar Harbor

    • Guest Kerry (Bernardsville, NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/09/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/10
    Five of us stayed in this apartment during the highest of the high season in Maine- early August. The apartment is clean, roomy, and perfectly located to experience downtown life in BH. We sat on the porch and watched all the goings on in the town green. Upon our arrival, we watched a bald eagle soar directly over our heads, presumably also enjoying the hubbub. Parking was never a problem- the shuttle into the park picks up right across the street, and the price is certainly right. Mo was very nice and accommodating. The only negative to this apartment is the noise from the Irish pub downstairs. The best way to deal with it is probably to get up and go have a pint! I highly recommend this home away from home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Feels Like Home

    Feels Like Home

    • Guest Jon (Winchester, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/27/10
    • Review Submitted 08/04/10
    There's not enough room here to include all the reasons why this apt. is such a great place to stay. I can almost promise you won't find another rental overlooking Village Green. So close to everything you can almost see it all from the LR. We really enjoyed opening the windows a listening to the band playing in the park on Monday and Thursday evening. The owners are wonderful and are always willing to offer a suggestion on places to go and things to do. The apartment is very spacious with plenty of room to spread out. The kitchen provides ample counter space for preparing meals if you get tired of eating at the multitude of restaurants within a 5 minute walk. The deck is perfect to sit, relax and people watch. Parking in Bar Harbor is an issue anywhere near town. That is the tradeoff for being so close to the action. I occasionally had to circle around the block a few times before something came open but it normally didn't take very long. Here are some tips I learned, however, consider this a disclaimer as I am not responsible if anything following ends up being inaccurate. 2hr parking on the street between 10-6. With a 2hr limit, you're safe until noon every day. I found the meter maid would normally come by around the half hour every 2 hours (10:30, 12:30, etc.). Tires are marked at the top and opposite on the street. These line up the next time she comes by, you're in violation ($15 ticket). However, move your vehicle 12-15 inches either way and the lines no longer match up :-). Her last trip by should be around 4:30 so after that you should be free and clear since the restrictions are not in place after 6pm. IMPORTANT: Tickets are not issued to vehicles displaying handicap tags. This directly from the dispatcher at the police station. If you are inadvertently issued a parking ticket, take it to the station and it will be discarded. Lastly, concerning noise (from the irish pub). This was a complete NON-issue. We were in the apt. for 7 nights and there was only 1 instance (Fri night) of noise which lasted all of 3-4 minutes when the bar closed at 1am. The only reason my wife heard it was because she had fallen asleep in the LR with the window open. We were NEVER inconvenienced by excessive noise. This coming from someone that was concerned before we arrived so don't be. Places we recommend to eat: Poorboys Seafood Gourmet Hot Spot (great burgers and wings) Route 66 Fish House Grill (AUCE Snow Crab Legs all day Saturday $20)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location, location!

    Location, location!

    • Guest Family from the DC area (McLean, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 08/19/10
    We highly recommend this great apartment in the heart of Bar Harbor. The location could not be better, as it is right on the Village Green. It was such a central location for me and my husband and our two kids. It is within an easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, movie theatre, harbor - everything that Bar Harbor has to offer. It is also a very short drive to Acadia, where there is great hiking. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and have a pottery shop right downstairs. The apartment was clean and had all of the ammenities that one could ever need. We have recommended it to several friends already, and hope to return soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location, Location, Location!

    Location, Location, Location!

    • Guest Loretta H. (Nottingham, MD)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    We stayed here a day after 4th of July and spent 4 nights in this place. It was perfect for my 9 y/o son and me. The location was superb as it was within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, activities (like the whale watching tour), movie theater, etc in Bar Harbor, ME. You could also catch the Island Explorer bus to Acadia from that location if you wanted to! The apartment was spacious enough for a family of 4-6 people as the living room and dining room were pretty big areas. There were double/queen size beds in the 2 bedrooms. For just the two of us, we had a LOT of space! Initially, when we got there, I was apprehensive about the parking situation since there was no parking lot at this apartment but I quickly found out how easy parking was on the side streets and such! A tip for any of you thinking of staying here, if in the summer months, keep the A/C running so you don't hear the noise from the Irish pub next door. They did get kind of loud BUT I had turned off the A/C then. As soon as I turned the A/C back on, it was perfect! We also felt VERY safe in this location! And yes, for the price...it can't be beat...I have already recommended this place to two friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great In-Town Rental

    Great In-Town Rental

    • Guest Bar Harbor Visitor (Groveland MA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    Our family of four recently stayed here and found it to be perfect. The property is clean, spacious, and in a superb location. The owners, who own a pottery shop on the first floor, were a great resource for island activities and very family friendly. We'll certainly be returning!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy, comfortable, convenient

    Cozy, comfortable, convenient

    • Guest Donna (Granby, Massachusetts)
    • Date of stay 10/09/09
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    We stayed at this lovely apartment over the shops for a long fall weekend. The porch overlooks the Common! Location doesn't GET better than this!! Walked to restaurants, bars, shops, ice-cream parlors, the whale watch, and more. EVEN BETTER, walk out the front door and hop on the Island's FREE shuttle bus that will take you to the many delights of this Island: hiking, biking, tide pool explorations, beach combing, whale watch (the best we've EVER been on). Wild blueberries, lobster, clams...Laurie & Howard were wonderful and helpful. The apartment had everything we needed. My husband now knows that if I need my soul to be fed, we head to Acadia. My family says: "cozy, comfortable, and convenient." Can't WAIT to go back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]