Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Sequoia Park View House Set Right on the Kaweah River's Edge

You sent a message to this manager.

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/13/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:2-3 nights
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Three Rivers house description

The Sequoia Park View House is set right on the Kaweah River, two miles from the entrance to Sequoia National Park. The spectacular views from all rooms stretch from the main fork of the Kaweah River all the way to the tops of Morro Rock and the snow capped Alta Peak in Sequoia National Park. Even the Three Rivers natives say, 'WOW, WHAT A VIEW!' when they first walk through the front door.

We do accept reservations for a two night stay during the summer and holiday season at the standard rate of $400 per night.

We now provide free long distance calling within the U.S. via our land line phone, because the service of some cell phone providers for our area is poor.

There are two bedrooms with queen beds in each and a double sized futon in the lower river room, which has a wall of windows from the floor to the vaulted ceiling 18 feet above. The upper river room shares the same vaulted ceiling and overlooks the lower river room. It has a TV/DVD/VCR and stereo, ceiling fan, and dining table and chairs. It opens into the kitchen area, which is equipped with ceiling fan, dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, oven/range, and all the necessary dishes, glasswares, and cooking utensils.

The lower river room opens onto the covered upper deck, which includes a ceiling fan and the outside dining table and chairs. A lower deck is seven steps down from there and is perched over gigantic boulders on the edge of the river.

The master bedroom also has a TV/DVD/VCR, a vaulted ceiling with ceiling fan, and adjoins the spacious master bath/dressing area. The hallway bathroom has a tub and shower with a Sequoia Park view as well.

There is a gas barbeque grill on the lanai, and up a walkway you will find our horseshoe pit area and expansive views of the foothills and mountains. The house is privately situated on one and two/thirds acres at the end of a 400' paved driveway. There is satellite TV reception and a land line phone for local and free long distance calling in the U.S. This 2,100 square foot house was built in 1994 and has central air conditioning and heating

You will find sitting on the river deck so mesmerizing and relaxing that it will be hard to pull yourself away to enjoy all that Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks and the Three Rivers area has to offer.

NO SMOKING IS ALLOWED IN THE HOUSE!

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL OR PART OF THE $500 RESERVATION/SECURITY DEPOSIT WILL NOT BE REFUNDED IF THE HOUSE HAS BEEN SMOKED IN OR LEFT IN AN UNUSUALLY DIRTY CONDITION OR IF THERE ARE ANY DAMAGES TO THE HOUSE OR PROPERTY.

Keywords: House

Property Type

  • 2100 sq. ft.
  • House

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

          • Pets Not Allowed
          • Non Smoking Only
          • Children Welcome
          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters

          Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 4-6

          Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Dining Area Seats:

            0...moreless

          • Oven
          • Freezer
          • Pantry Items
          • Toaster
          • Coffee Maker
          • Kitchen
          • Microwave
          • Refrigerator
          • Dishwasher
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Catering Available

          Amenities

          • Towels Provided
          • Fireplace
          • Heating
          • Parking
          • Linens Provided
          • Gas Fireplace
          • Parking Off Street
          • Air Conditioning

          Entertainment

          • Satellite / Cable:

            (2)...moreless

          • Television
          • DVD Player
          • Books
          • Video Library
          • VCR
          • CD Player
          • Stereo

          Communications

              • Telephone:

                Free local and long distance calls in the U.S....moreless

              Outdoor Features

              • Outdoor Grill
              • Lanai / Gazebo
              • Balcony
              • Wood Deck
              • Outdoor Grill Gas
              • Porch / Veranda

              Theme

              • Away From It All
              • Family

              Location & View

              • Waterfront
              • Mountain View

              Activities

              • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
              • Paragliding
              • Mountaineering
              • Mountain Climbing
              • Freshwater Fishing
              • Equestrian Events
              • Skiing
              • Snorkeling
              • Fly Fishing
              • Cycling
              • Jet Skiing
              • Golf Privileges Optional
              • Water Tubing
              • Whitewater Rafting
              • Cross Country Skiing
              • Rock Climbing
              • Golf
              • Wind-Surfing
              • Fishing
              • Spelunking
              • Hiking
              • Mountain Biking
              • Sailing
              • Water Skiing
              • Rafting
              • Kayaking
              • Swimming
              • Sight Seeing
              • Waterfalls
              • Recreation Center
              • Boating
              • Horseshoes
              • Shopping
              • Forests
              • Library
              • Churches
              • Restaurants
              • Caves
              • Museums
              • Marina
              • Wildlife Viewing
              • ATM/Bank
              • Walking
              • Scenic Drives
              • Medical Services
              • Massage Therapist
              • Groceries
              • Bird Watching
              • Paddle Boating
              • Gambling Casinos
              • Antiquing
              • Sledding
              • Horseback Riding
              • Eco Tourism

              Other Activities

                  • Three Rivers and Sequoia National Park offer visitors a wide variety of activities. Three Rivers hosts the annual JAZZAFAIR in April as well as Team Roping and Rodeo events. It is also the summer home of the Colburn Conservatory of L.A.. Presently, a concert series periodically offers performances by the school's classical musicians throughout the year. Local artists provide opportunities to see and purchase their work on the First Saturday Tour event. Kaweah River and Kaweah Lake offer water recreation activities of all types depending on the time of the year. Of course, Sequoia National Park, the second oldest national park, provides the opportunity to see the world's largest trees and, along with adjoining Kings Canyon National Park, the awe inspiring vistas inherent in these two national parks. Guided nature walks and snow shoe treks are provided by the national park rangers. Hiking and cross country skiing in the park are other favorite activities. Other Activities: Sequoia National Park, kayaking,wildlife viewing, rock climbing, horseshoes, shopping, boating...moreless
                   

                  Reviews

                  Write a review
                  • Peaceful getaway, highly recommended!

                    Peaceful getaway, highly recommended!

                    • Guest AS
                    • Date of stay 12/26/13
                    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
                    The house is in a great location and is itself a beauty. The photos don't do the place justice. The house is spacious, comfortable, and has a beautiful view of mountains and the river. It was also very easy to go into Sequoia National Park for a day hike. Kitchen and bedrooms were well stocked. Our group was only 6 but there was plenty of space for 8 people or more provided you bring extra sleeping gear. Owner and property manager make the transaction very smooth and easy. Highly recommended for an escape into nature. We had a pleasant time and would likely not hesitate to come back here.

                    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Beautiful House

                    Beautiful House

                    • Guest JEE (Los Angeles)
                    • Date of stay 08/30/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/10/13
                    Staying at this property for our Labor day weekend was a great choice. All of our family members had a fantastic time. We loved the sound of running water and how it's so close to the house. We could just simply walk down and play in water. Loved the lay out of the house with high ceiling and it's cleanness. The house was very well maintained and equipped. We will definitely come back!

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Best Family Vacation in a Decade

                    Best Family Vacation in a Decade

                    • Guest Anonymous
                    • Date of stay 08/06/13
                    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
                    A fabulous place to relax and jump off to Sequoia National Park. The property owner and manager were easy to work with. If you are going to spend the money on a vacation rental, the 3 most important rules of real estate should apply. This rental lives up to those rules, as well as being a spacious place to get away and relax. Our family had a great time. Our daughter rated it as topping our Hawaiian family vacation of years ago. So lets review the 3 basic real estate rules and how they apply. #1 Location: proximity and convenience. This home is close to the park entrance, easy to find from the main road, and close to a town with 2 gas stations, restaurants, and a market. #2 Location: privacy and comfort. The home is down a slight hill or knoll from the main road, which shields the house from any road noise. It's right on the river bank. Private but not secluded. The water passing over the rocks in the river generate a more even and pleasing white noise than ocean waves. The home has a spacious, open concept design for the master suite and the main living area. This makes it easy to prepare meals, or enjoy the views. #3 Location: The views. The river side of the house has 8 oversized picture windows on a two story exposure that provides a priceless view of Moro Rock and the Keweah River. On the day of our arrival, we relaxed at the house, explored the river in the afternoon, and had a nice simple dinner on the patio. The Char-Broil Patio Caddie propane grill was clean and easy to use. Our family plan was to bring food for the first few days from home in a cooler. After dinner we packed a lunch for the next day in the park and went to bed early to take advantage of daylight in the park. We awoke the next day shortly after daylight. Everyone had a good sleep on the firm beds. We got up, showered, and made the traditional big american breakfast. We cleaned up, packed our lunch in the car, and set off for the park just before 8 AM. The advantage here is that the roads are basically empty. Most of the other visitors are either sleeping in, or driving from points further away. We got in the park and up the road to the visitors center in time to get a same day reservation for the Crystal Cave tour, which gave us plenty of time to stop along the road for pics and enjoy the morning views. It was a breeze driving in and out of the park for daily activities. I am looking forward to returning in the fall with the wife for a more romantic retreat.

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                  • July 2013 stay

                    July 2013 stay

                    • Guest Sue (Redondo Beach, CA)
                    • Date of stay 07/21/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
                    Initially we tried to stay right in the national park but thankfully all the cabins were rented. Since we didn't realize the temperatures would be over 100 degrees we really appreciated being in a home with air conditioning. The pictures do not do this house justice. It was nicer than we expected and very relaxing as every window has a spectacular view. I would have been happy just staying in the home and cooling off in the river, but since we were only 2 miles from the park we made several trips. After seeing numerous tarantulas in the park we were even happier to be able to sleep safely in a beautiful home. We would definitely rent this home again and wouldn't hesitated recommending this home to our family and friends.

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Great location and beautiful view of river and National Park

                    Great location and beautiful view of river and National Park

                    • Guest Mary (Santa Clarita, California)
                    • Date of stay 07/14/13
                    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
                    We spent 4 nights at this home and we had a wonderful time. The description of the property and the photos are very accurate. The property manager was very helpful and answered all our questions quickly when we were making our reservations. When we arrived everything was very clean and well maintained. Also when we arrived there was a heat wave but the AC was on and the house was nice and cool and comfortable. The property manager showed us around and oriented us to everything we needed to know. The views in the front rooms of Morro Rock, Sequoia National Park and the river are spectacular. The entrance to the National Park is only 2-3 miles away. The master bedroom and bathroom are huge. The highway is up at the top of the long driveway but you cannot ever hear any noise from the road. My husband and son really enjoyed playing horseshoes every evening after we returned from our trips to the National Parks or renting a boat for swimming on the lake. After we left our deposit was returned in the mail by the owner very quickly in 2-3 days. After we returned home the owner emailed us and he was very receptive any suggestions we had.

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Fantastic House in an Amazing Location

                    Fantastic House in an Amazing Location

                    • Guest Dr. Dave (Huntsville, AL USA)
                    • Date of stay 06/17/13
                    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
                    Absolutely loved the house and its location. We didn't want to leave! We thoroughly enjoyed Sequoia National Park but the highlight was staying in this house. Super clean and neat with all amenities provided (even coffee!). Extremely quiet with beautiful Kaweah River just off the back patio.

                    Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • Wonderful stay

                    Wonderful stay

                    • Guest Anonymous
                    • Date of stay 06/14/13
                    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
                    We spent a weekend at the house and we wish we could have stayed longer! The location is absolutely stunning -- the double-height windows overlooking the creek are simply amazing. The creek itself is wonderfully relaxing, its murmur accompanying the days and evenings. The house is very nicely appointed, and very confortable (6 adults and 2 babies). The master bedroom is particularly nice, with en suite bathroom and cloakroom. The kitchen is fully equipped and the outdoor patio with BBQ really great. The only (very minor) hiccup was that apparently the BBQ requires charcoal briquettes to work properly -- it seems that the gas burner is there just to fire up the charcoal. We didn't have any charcoal so we used the burner only, which worked but was a bit sub-optimal. So it would be great to have some charcoal provided. The owner and managers were very responsive and very nicely accommodated our request for a late checkout. Overall a GREAT STAY, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place very highly indeed.

                    Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.

                    Manager response: Thanks Roberto for your very nice comments. We are happy to hear you had a very good experience. Regarding the BBQ grill, it is not a charcoal grill. It is a propane grill and charcoal should not be used with it. Due to the high risk of fire danger, especially during the dry summer season, we can not have and do not allow charcoal type grills. Thanks again for staying at our house. Kind Regards, Tom

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Lovely

                    Lovely

                    • Guest Brad (Beaverton, Michigan)
                    • Date of stay 06/07/13
                    • Review Submitted 06/17/13
                    It would be hard to find a cleaner, more peaceful place to stay. If you like bugs do not go here, because they are hard to find. It takes about 10 minutes to get used to the noise of the river and the occasional hummingbird fights. The kitchen has ample supplies of cooking stuff, but yet are not crammed full of useless items. It took us 20 hours to get to this wonderful home, and on arrival the property manager was helpful and quick. The master bedroom is not pictured here, but it should be because it is fabulous. The entire house has the "spacious" feeling. I should know because I was there for a week with my wife, 2 daughters, and my mother-in-law. I Did not want to leave, and if it were possible I would give it a 6th star rating. Brad, Amy Michigan

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                  • Breathtaking views, friendly staff... Best deatown

                    Breathtaking views, friendly staff... Best deatown

                    • Guest Amar S.
                    • Date of stay 05/16/13
                    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
                    The house, the location and the people involved were all amazing. We had the most wonderful time and are already planning a second trip. The home is amazing in person. The pictures on the web do little justice. The river was beautiful and views from the house were breathtaking. I've looked into several locations near by and this by far is the best deal in town.

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                  • IDEAL IN MANY WAYS, NOT SO MUCH IN OTHERS.......

                    IDEAL IN MANY WAYS, NOT SO MUCH IN OTHERS.......

                    • Guest D. J. D. (SAPPHIRE, NC)
                    • Date of stay 05/02/13
                    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
                    First, the good news........This home has a spectacular location. It sits directly on a fast water stretch of the Kaweah River in an extraordinarily beautiful setting of trees, shrubs, and natural rocks. The views from the home are equally spectacular.........Sequoia Park's Moro Rock and Alta Mountain can be seen in the distance, as well as beautiful foothills typical of the Three Rivers area. And although the property sits conveniently on highway 198 only two miles from Sequoia National Park's south entrance, the home is located over a hill and traffic noise is not noticeable. Deer ambled through the grounds one evening, and quail were numerous. And to top all of this off, The property manager, Derek, was exceptionally attentive and helpful.....a real asset to the owner and to us as renters. However, we found several things that concerned us during our stay..........some things to be aware of, and some that could and/or should be remedied. -Cell phones (We have Verizon) do not work here. -The home does not provide long distance........you must have a calling card. -Internet is not provided. -Only basic Dish channels are provided. -The TVs are very small (by today's standards) -The spectacular views were marred by very dirty windows. -The exterior of the home was in need of cleaning..........if not painting. -The interior paint was showing wear. -Landscaping at the front of the house was in need of care...mulch, etc. -None of the homes drawers or cabinets have pulls......consequently the drawers/cabinets are sticky/dirty where folks have to grab them to open. -The refrigerator had an obviously old sign that read, "ice maker broken". -When the air conditioning fan was placed on "on" at the thermostat, nothing happened..........the fan did not come on. -Though the bedrooms are spacious, there are only queen beds. For many folks perhaps the above concerns will not be of consequence. We are admittedly fussy. But we feel that for hundreds of dollars a day, everything in such a luxury rental should be top notch. Would we go back, and would we recommend this home to others.........absolutely! But we would hope some improvements would be made which could easily make any stay even more enjoyable!

                    Manager response: Due to the limit of 2,500 characters in this response, I am unable to respond fully. First, it should be noted that this guest called about 11 am on the day he wanted to rent the house. He came and inspected the house and others in 3-Rivers. He chose our house. I appreciate the feedback on the cabinet doors, and I have talked to the cleaning person about being more vigilant in cleaning these. We do plan on putting pulls on them for that very reason. And we do need to get the ice maker repaired. I also appreciate the positive comments. It is reassuring to hear the property manager did a wonderful job, but that is no surprise to me. What is surprising are some of his other concerns, starting with the comment on the a/c fan not coming on. He made no mention of this in his 12 day stay. The fan is very quiet and the a/c unit was replaced last summer and has been working fine. If the a/c was not working properly, he wouldn't have been able to tolerate it since we had days with temps about 100 degrees during his stay. Regarding the dirty windows and the exterior of the house: these were gross exaggerations. I was at the house shortly after his stay, and although they were not perfectly clean, they were far from "very dirty". We normally wait until after the rainy season to clean the exterior of the windows. This is usually around the first 2 weeks of May, the time this unscheduled guest appeared and wanted to rent the house. If he had said something about the windows and the cabinet doors, we would have had them cleaned while he was there. Regarding the landscaping, he failed to mention that we had the gardner there a few days after his arrival to do weed whacking, and spruce up the area in the front of the house. Regarding his other concerns on internet, long distance & cell phone receptivity, he was made aware of this by the listing and by me and the property manager. Same is true about the size of the beds and the TVs. If he had expressed his concerns during his 12 day stay, we could have addressed them and then perhaps come closer to the perfect experience that he felt was warranted by what he paid. I hope prospective renters will take the time to read the other reviews. Of the 22 reviews submitted directly by guests, including one before his stay and one right after, his is the only one less than 5 stars. I believe that this is indirect testimony to his own self characterization of being "admittedly fussy".

                    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

                   
                  Rental basis: Per property
                  Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                  Summer
                  May 1 - Oct 31, 2014
                  3 night min stay
                  $350
                  $2,200
                  My Standard Rate
                  2 night min stay
                  $400
                  $2,200

                  Additional information about rental rates

                  Fees:

                  • Refundable Damage Deposit $500
                  • Cleaning Fee $100
                  • Tax Rate 10%

                  Notes:

                  Our rates are based on length of stay, the longer the stay, the lower the rate.

                  $400 per night for a two night stay. (2 nights = $800)

                  $350 per night for a three, four, or five night stay (3 nights = $1,050, 4 nights = $1,400, 5 nights = $1,750)

                  $325 per night for a six night stay (6 nights = $1,950)

                  Weekly rate = $2,200.

                  There is an additional non-refundable cleaning fee of $100 per stay

                  The separate security/reservation deposit of $500 is due at time of reservation. The full rental fee, tax, & cleaning fee is due at my home address three weeks before your reserved arrival date. The separate security deposit is fully refundable as long as the house, its contents, and the property are not damaged or left unusually dirty.


                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                  Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                  Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                  Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                   

                  Calendar

                  Last updated: 04/13/2014
                  Check availability
                  23 Available
                  21 Unavailable
                  22 Today
                  23 Selected dates
                   

                  Location

                  This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

                   

                  Manager info


                  Contact us

                  Speaks: english

                   

                  Photos

                  • View of House from River

                    View of House from River

                  • Down to Lower River Room

                    Down to Lower River Room

                  • Whitewater rafters sliding by the lower river room area

                    Whitewater rafters sliding by the lower river room area

                  • View of Whitewater Rafters from lower river room

                    View of Whitewater Rafters from lower river room

                  • Snow covered Moro Rock & Alta Peak

                    Snow covered Moro Rock & Alta Peak

                  • Upper River Room (P.O.V. from Kitchen area)

                    Upper River Room (P.O.V. from Kitchen area)

                  • Master Bathroom Dressing Area

                    Master Bathroom Dressing Area

                  • Second Bedroom

                    Second Bedroom

                  • Lower River Deck

                    Lower River Deck

                  • Frequent visitors to our property

                    Frequent visitors to our property

                  • Sunset on Moro Rock & Alta Peak as seen from our house

                    Sunset on Moro Rock & Alta Peak as seen from our house

                  • Sequoia Park View House with Alta Peak in the background.

                    Sequoia Park View House with Alta Peak in the background.

                  • The upper river room and kitchen area

                    The upper river room and kitchen area

                  • Lower River Room

                    Lower River Room

                  • Book Corner of Lower River Room

                    Book Corner of Lower River Room

                  • View of Moro Rock & Alta Peak from Upper River Room

                    View of Moro Rock & Alta Peak from Upper River Room

                  • Lower River Room's Futon

                    Lower River Room's Futon

                  • Master Bedroom

                    Master Bedroom

                  • Another view of Dressing Area of Master Bathroom

                    Another view of Dressing Area of Master Bathroom

                  • Guest Bathroom has a view of Alta Peak & Sequoia National Park

                    Guest Bathroom has a view of Alta Peak & Sequoia National Park

                  • Picture yourself sitting here at sunrise or on a moonlit night looking up river

                    Picture yourself sitting here at sunrise or on a moonlit night looking up river

                  • Kaweah River as it empties into Kaweah Lake, seen as you approach Three Rivers

                    Kaweah River as it empties into Kaweah Lake, seen as you approach Three Rivers

                  • Entrance to Sequoia National Park is just two miles from our house

                    Entrance to Sequoia National Park is just two miles from our house

                  VRBO #133783

                  There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                  This listing was first published here in 2007.

                  Date last modified - Wednesday, April 09, 2014

                  $350 - $400 per night (USD)
                  30

                  2 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom
                  Sleeps 6

                  View calendar: Updated 04/13/14
                  Minimum stay: 2-3 nights
                  Dates are unavailable
                  Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                  This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                  Get an instant quote
                  Email manager

                  +1 310-988-9901
                  Call between 11 am and 11 pm eastern time

                  Speaks: english
                  Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                  Add vacation protection services to your booking

                  Three services to protect your trip:

                  Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                  Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                  Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                  Get it now