Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View the cruise ships in the bay from the lanai

In Town Ocean View Condo-Walk to the Beach, Shops, Restaurants and Bars! [#138065] | View Property

Kailua Bay Resort
Condominium - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 6)
$135 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Cozy, Quiet & walk to EVERYTHING!

    Cozy, Quiet & walk to EVERYTHING!

    • Guest Don (Sioux City, IA)
    • Date of stay 03/28/14
    • Review Submitted 04/02/14
    This was our first trip to Hawaii. Hawaii was never on our bucket list and was made possible after a business trip brought us there. Since we had some available vacation time, we booked some extra days through Erika to stay at their condo. We were concerned Hawaii would be expensive. Where we stayed, it was NOT EXPENSIVE. The accomodations were exactly as described. The owners provided everything we could ask for, and there is so much to do within walking distance we couldn't believe it. "Quinns almost by the Sea" has the very best Fish & Chips I have ever had. HIGHLY recommend that and I'm not a big fish eater. We were told that "The Kona Inn" has the very best Mai Tai's and they did not disappoint. A little expensive, but very strong and tasty. We were told never have 3 of them. "Huggos" was a hoot. The public pier and beach are easily within walking distance. So if you want to fish, snorkel, or paddleboard it's all avaialbe to you. The water is crystal clear, you can see fish and turtles for free just by looking over the piers edge, but consider renting a paddle board because you can't believe what you'll see. If you rent a car, you are only minutes from the airport and then you have access to the ENTIRE island. Prior to going, we never thought we'd want to come back, NOW, it IS on our bucket list to someday return with our children. If you want to stay in, you won't believe how peaceful the condo is.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure having you, thanks for renting from me!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location was very close to all sites of Kona.

    Location was very close to all sites of Kona.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 02/16/14
    Property was as shown in promo photos. Condo was neat and clean. Could use more cooking dishes, ie: baking dishes, as we ate the majority of our breakfasts and mid day meals at the condo when at home. Majority of dinners were eaten out. The lanai could use a sunshade as floor got very hot after 10 AM and would keep unit cooler during hotter part of day. A rental vehicle is necessary to do any large shopping, ie: Costco or Safeway

    Owner response: Thank you for your suggestions. I will add some more baking dishes, and I have been planning on putting a sunshade out on the lanai. Thank you for renting from me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great condo, great location.

    Great condo, great location.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/19/13
    • Review Submitted 01/03/14
    The condo was clean, well stocked and in a great location. Erika was easily reached when we had a question and very helpful. It is on the third floor without an elevator which was fine for our family. We definitely would stay here again.

    Owner response: It was a pleasure having you. Look forward to next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great, safe place to stay if traveling on a budget

    Great, safe place to stay if traveling on a budget

    • Guest Chelsea W. (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 10/20/13
    • Review Submitted 11/12/13
    Just got back from a 12 night stay in Kona. I stayed in this condo and would definitely agree that the listing description is accurate, the pictures are current, and the location is awesome! The owner was easy to contact during my stay if I had any questions, and I honestly can't think of any real complaints. This place is a great choice if your on a budget, it's a safe and extremely convenient location. I can't wait to go back!

    Owner response: It was a pleasure having you as a guest and I look forward to next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved it, Again.

    Loved it, Again.

    • Guest James & Linda (Boise, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    This is our 3rd time staying here and we loved it once again. Excellent location, perfect set up with everything we needed. Erika was awesome as usual. We couldn't ask for much more. And there were plenty of towels.

    Owner response: Thanks James, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Again, Awesome

    Again, Awesome

    • Guest James & Linda (Boise, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/24/13
    This is our 3rd time staying here and we loved it once again. Excellent location, perfect set up with everything we needed. Erika was awesome as usual. We couldn't ask for much more. And there were plenty of towels.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Convenient, clean and well equipped.

    Convenient, clean and well equipped.

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    We only stayed a few nights at the end of our vacation. We appreciated being in town with all amenties available. The unit is very open and was perfect for two couples. Don't bring a huge suitcase because you'll never get it up the three flights of stairs! The view from the the lanai, however, was worth the climb. We enjoyed the local restaurants, Splashes and "On the Rocks" for both food and great views of the Ocean. It was convenient to our tour of the Kona Coast: Place of Refuge, painted church and a viewpoint of Captain Cook's monument, as well as Kona coffee tasting. It was a good ending to a great trip.

    Owner response: I'm glad you had enjoyed my condo, and you were a pleasure to rent to. Mahalo, Erika

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Convenient location & sufficient

    Convenient location & sufficient

    • Guest HawaiiHonu (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/28/13
    • Review Submitted 02/07/13
    Pros: Excellent location--at the beginning of the strip in Kona that you can easily walk to, easy access to Sack N Save supermarket & other stores behind the condo. Spacious & has most that you need. Washer & dryer. Lanai, pool, & own parking space. Beach gear! Responsive owner w/good communication. A few fixable cons while we were there: low temperature & water pressure in showers, not enough bath towels for 5. Not a problem for us--there are stairs to climb to reach the condo. Other than that, the condo was fine & met what we needed at a reasonable rate.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and the condo. I'm sorry you didn't feel that there were enough bath towels. Maybe you didn't see the stack of them under the sink, but I thought 18 towels for two nights would be sufficient. The water pressure is out of my control since it is a condominium complex. However, it's a great place to be in paradise.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Kona Condo

    Kona Condo

    • Guest Jbeautexas (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/09/13
    • Review Submitted 01/27/13
    Great place, great owner.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Jeff, it was great having you stay in my place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Kailua Bay Resort 2 BR Condo

    Fantastic Kailua Bay Resort 2 BR Condo

    • Guest Tom and Sue (Minneapolis)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    We had a great time in Kona and this condo was the perfect retreat for our vacation, Kailua Bay Resort is within easy walking distance of Alii Drive, Kailua Bay, and the Kona shops. It was also close to all the Ironman activity taking place during the pre-race week. The condo is very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed for our vacation. It was a pleasure working with the owners and I would not hesitate to come back on our next visit to the Big Island. Tom and Sue - Minneapolis

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Kailua Bay Resort

    Kailua Bay Resort

    • Guest Des (Tewantin, Qld, Australia)
    • Date of stay 08/21/12
    • Review Submitted 09/23/12
    I wanted to stay in the centre of Kailua Kona but not stay in a hotel and so the Kailua Bay resort seemed ideal and it was. Our activities were based mainly at the beach of the King Kam so this was only a few minutes walk away, The details about the condo were accurate and the place was clean with plenty of towels and linen for five of us to be comfortable. For the price this was very good value and I would recommend to friends and relatives should they want to go to Kona. There are so many places to visit and things to do boredom is not an option. The only thing I found surprising and it seems as if all the condos are like this, is that the air con. unit is at floor level. Everywhere else I have lived the aircons have been located up high so the cold air drops into the room and circulates more effectively. As a result on a warm night it could get a bit draughty in bed next to the aircon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home

    Home away from home

    • Guest Milahpie (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 09/16/11
    This Condo was such an amazing find! Such a beautiful, quant, and comfortable condo in the heart of downtown, close to local restaraunts, and shopping. This condo was incredibly clean, and had all the basic necessities for a comfortable stay. Also a great open loft design, and ceiling fans kept the place cool during warm days! Additionally Erika was incredibly gracious and accommodating. Absolutly worth looking staying at! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Month in Kona!

    A Month in Kona!

    • Guest Allison R. (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/15/11
    • Review Submitted 08/07/11
    My family and I had the good fortune of staying in Kona for a whole month! We rented this condo and were very comfortable and happy there. The condo is very well located to the town, stores, and the ocean front. We had a rental car for the month and used it DAILY. We drove to the beaches further north (frankly, the best and most beautiful beaches), as well as around the island. I would not recommend going without a car. There is too much to see and do to be limited to what you can walk to from the condo. Erica was very helpful and responsive to our questions and needs. She gets 5 stars for being so accommodating! The condo is a two story, with the top floor being an open mater bedroom. There isn't much privacy once you walk up the stairs. We didn't have a problem with that, but it's good to know what he layout is like. The beds were very comfortable. Dining on the patio was great - we ate all our meals outside, even when it was raining. The condo has some books, videos, some beach chairs and mats, towels, boogie boards, and coolers. We had just about everything we needed. And with Walmart, Target, Costco, and Kmart close by, we lacked for nothing. The kitchen is very small, but very adequate. I made many, many meals in this kitchen. You'll have pretty much everything you need to cook anything from pancakes to stir fry, to salads, to mixed drinks, and a cake for dessert. If you want an affordable condo, with all the basic comforts of home, you can't find a better deal! Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • As Advertised!

    As Advertised!

    • Guest Cliff (Northampton, MA)
    • Date of stay 01/12/11
    • Review Submitted 01/28/11
    Can't say enough about the rental experience. Erika was responsive, attentive and made us feel truly welcome. The condo's location is primo. Short walk to everything from dinner, swimming, views, booze and groceries. It's clean and comfortable and the beds were great. We're already planning next year's trip from the frigid Norhteast and will most likely return to this condo (unless too many people read this review and book it before we do!).

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Clean, Comfortable and Convenient

    Clean, Comfortable and Convenient

    • Guest James & Linda (Boise, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 10/15/10
    • Review Submitted 11/19/10
    We have stayed in this condo twice now and will continue on our yearly trip. It is always clean, has everything you need and is within walking distance or pretty much everything. Grocery, beach, town, bars, restaurants. The neighbors are nice too. They layout is great for good privacy for multiple couples. Can't wait for next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Relaxing, Warm and Friendly Condo in Kailua-Kona

    Relaxing, Warm and Friendly Condo in Kailua-Kona

    • Guest Jerstewart (Kona, HI)
    • Date of stay 06/05/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    This condo was so warm and cozy. I felt right at home in the relaxing and friendly environment it provided. The condo is absolutely immaculate. It's just a few steps to downtown, the beach and the local shopping center. All of the neighbors are very friendly and I would definitely stay here again without a doubt! I highly recommend this unit for anyone wanting a relaxing stay in Kona. Aloha

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • clean and well keep apt.

    clean and well keep apt.

    • Guest Spodrina (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 10/28/08
    • Review Submitted 11/27/08
    This apt. was very clean and well taken care of, it was everything that it was advertised to be. This apt was owned by a privet party who we meet and she was very polite and helpful to us.. We would be happy to stay in this apt again next time we are in Kona. Neal

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • LOVED IT ! ! ! Don't pass this one up!

    LOVED IT ! ! ! Don't pass this one up!

    • Guest New to Hawaii (now a happy resident of Kailua Kona)
    • Date of stay 07/17/08
    • Review Submitted 11/29/08
    The only thing we didn't like was having to leave! We picked this condo for a temporary stay (two and a half months) when we first moved to Hawaii from the mainland, and if it hadn't already been booked up, we would have stayed indefinitley. The condo has everyting you could need, Just bring your toothbrush, flip flops, and swm shorts/bikinis. And it really is walking distance to everything in town. Perfect for dinner and drinks without worrying about driving or getting a taxi. You will not find a better rental for less money . . . we have tried, believe me. In fact, while living here and looking for a permanent long term rental, we viewed plenty of other places that were slightly more money but weren't half as nice. It's on the top (third) floor, so has great views with no one being able to look in - we never closed the curtains. The only drawback we can see though is the stairs, this could be a problem for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs. So bear that in mind. Yes, it's not the Hilton - but if you could afford the Hilton or wanted the Hilton, you probably wouldn't be looking at this kind of rental in the first place. It is clean, comfortable, and a great home away from home. The owners are fantastic, and always contactable should you need anything or have any questions. We loved it, and would happily recommend this rental to friends and family . . . or anyone for that matter!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]