Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Evening Lights Transform the Villa

Villa Encantadora Ultra Luxury Oceanview Home [#142755ha] | View Property

Playa Hermosa
- 4 BR, 4 BA, Sleeps 10.

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Dream Vacation

    Dream Vacation

    • Guest Wendy (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/29/10
    • Review Submitted 08/07/10
    .My husband and I, along with 4 close friends, just returned from our trip to Costa Rica. I only wish we could have stayed another week. The Villa is absolutely beautiful. It sits high on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We sat on the veranda and watched the birds and butterflies and listened to the ocean waves in the distance. At night we were mesmerized by the most gorgeous sunsets that you can imagine. The home had everything we needed and more. We packed some frozen meat in our suitcase and since Houston is only a 3 hour flight it was still frozen on arrival. We cooked almost every evening meal on the outdoor gas grill that has a full kitchen. I did learn the day before departing that you can buy fresh fish and shrimp on the beach. Next time we will take advantage. Most restaurants on the beaches have delicious, fresh seafood. The maid, Yevette, was wonderful and cleaned and did laundry, including our clothes, upon request. I really appreciated the concierge, Tim, giving us our privacy but always available when we needed something. I would, definitely recommend using Mountain Outdoor Adventures for private tours. Rafael and Julio took us on several private tours. They were extremely knowledgeable and lots of fun. They felt like a part of the group rather than our guides. We took a boat ride from the beach with Captain Al. He took us to a white, sandy beach where we collected shell and snorkeled. He was a real character. The people of Costa Rica are so warm and friendly. I never felt unsafe. By the way, my husband is very hard to please and he loved everything about the Villa Encantadora. When we return to Costa Rica it will be our home away from home. PURA VIDA!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Playa Hermosa Paradise

    Playa Hermosa Paradise

    • Guest Jeff (Southlake, TX, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/23/09
    • Review Submitted 06/08/09
    We stayed at Villa Encantadora with 9 people. including family and friends. This is the second time we've stayed at this home, the first being in 2007. As before, Beachfront Properties took great care of us. Gus is a very conscientious, dependable concierge and Elsy took great care of things around the house. We had been to the house before so we called Gus from the car rental office and he met us at the house with the keys. He had even brought cold beer to greet us with. The house is beautiful and well-furnished and maintained. Our favorite activity was lounging around the beautiful infinity pool. We also enjoyed the beach at Playa Hermosa, surfing in Tamarindo and the Congo Trail canopy tour. We knew of many restaurants from our previous trip so we made sure to visit our favorites, Ginger and La Finisterra. We also ate at Villa del Sueno, Hotel Velero, Papagayo Seafood (in Playa del Cocos) and Aqua Sport. However, the best meal we ate was the lunch that Elsy prepared for us. We also ate homemade guacamole and margaritas every evening as we watched the sunset. This house is perfect great for large groups and all ages. We had ages ranging from 18 months to 53 years and everyone had plenty to do. I highly recommend, Playa Hermosa, Beachfront Properties and Villa Encantadora.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Fantastic Experience

    Fantastic Experience

    • Guest Al from Chicago (Chicago area)
    • Date of stay 04/03/09
    • Review Submitted 04/23/09
    Our family had a wonderful stay at Villa Encantadora. After a busy week in La Fortuna and Monteverde, VE provided a relaxing end to our Costa Rican adventure. The views, infinity pool, and outdoor spaces were spectacular. Slide open all of the glass doors which line the back of the house, plug in your iPod, grab a cool drink, and hang out in the pool. It was so beautiful at VE, it was hard to leave to go to the beach. Our favorite time was late afternoon/early evening enjoying the sunsets. We had three excellent meals out (Ginger, Cafe de Playa, and at Villa del Sueno) but we also enjoyed a couple of great dinners at home after stocking up at the very nice AutoMercado in Playa del Coco. The beautiful home was very nicely furnished and comfortably spacious for our family of five. Villa Encantadora exceeded our expectations and will happily recommend it to friends.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • perfection

    perfection

    • Guest Mom of 3 girlies (Barrington, IL )
    • Date of stay 02/11/09
    • Review Submitted 03/09/09
    We stayed in this Villa in Feb 2009. We are a family with 3 young children and we traveled to Costa Rica with another family with 2 children. Villa Encantadora is stunning and well appointed; it accomodated our two families perfectly because there were 2 bedrooms in one part of the house and a 2 bedrooms + TV room in another part of the house. The property description was accurate and was more elegant in real life than I anticipated from the pictures. It was definitely clean and well taken care of. Both the owner and concierge provided great customer service before the vacation as we were planning our trip and during it. The pool was perfect... beautiful (especially at sunset) and the depth & temperature with a wide expanse of steps going into the water was easy for us and our kids. The property is located in the back (top of the hill) of a gated community so we felt very safe the whole time we were there. Our favorite excursion was to hire someone to take us by boat to a private (no road access) beach and our favorite restaurant was Ginger's. I have already recommended this property to friends and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. We can't wait to vacation in Costa Rica again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Enchanted

    Enchanted

    • Guest Judy & Steve (Laurel, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 09/12/08
    • Review Submitted 11/13/08
    My husband and I traveled to Playa Hermosa after a week of hiking through the Costa Rican rain forests. Villa Encantadora was our last stop and far exceeded our expectations. The view of the Pacific Ocean, which can be seen from most rooms, was spectacular. Each evening, we enjoyed drinks on the porch or swam in the Infiniti pool while the sun set. This became a tradition. Inside, there is a large, modern kitchen with comfortable seating for meals. The entire house is spotless, and handsomely equipped, giving guests the feeling of being pampered. We slept well and most bedrooms enjoy the privacy of their own bathrooms. The evidence of nature abounds from the sounds and sightings of howler monkeys to exotic birds attracted by the plantings near the house. The house is located in a gated community. The beach is within walking distance. Nearby towns are easily accessible by car and offer a wide selection of reasonably priced restaurants with a variety of ethnic cuisines. Our day trips included an unforgettable boat trip to the nearby islands (visible from the house) allowing exploration of caves on shore and underwater reefs rich with exotic fish, sea urchins, and living shells. In general, the weather was good for the end of summer/early fall, though we did experience the zip lines in the rain (one day)! By the time we had reached the house, our clothes had dried. Our week was much too short and would strongly recommend a two week stay. It’s a great house for family get-togethers, multiple couples, or girlfriend getaways. The house is large enough for privacy yet has many cozy areas for smaller gatherings. Villa Encantadora is on our list for a return vacation – as soon as we can getaway! Pura Vida! Judy & Steve

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • What a Beautiful Interlude!

    What a Beautiful Interlude!

    • Guest PaulGregory (Carbondale, Illinois, U.S.)
    • Date of stay 08/26/08
    • Review Submitted 11/12/08
    My wife and I were privileged to stay in this great villa with its extraordinary views and assorted amenities. I'm not given to waxing eloquent about most things, but must admit everything about Villa Encantadora was the best -- the furnishings, the attention to detail -- everything was provided to making our stay luxurious and comfortable. We were able to enjoy restaurants, bars, sports, beaches, or to be as private as we wanted to be, which was mainly our reason for this getaway. Would we come here again? You bet!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great House, Use the safe

    Great House, Use the safe

    • Guest Chris & Kristen (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/04/08
    • Review Submitted 07/18/08
    Overall, we had a great stay. We did get broken into and had our computer and various other electronics stolen, but other than that, it was nice. After having several thousands of dollars stolen in the break-in, we got the keys to the walk-in safe. I would suggest getting those keys upon your arrival and lock up anything of value, especially electronics. I'm glad we stayed two weeks, because the first week the house ran out of water each day for several hours. The second week, they apparently fixed the problem and we had no more water issues. The house is beautiful. The view was great. Elsi, the housekeeper was wonderful and cooked breakfast daily for us. If you want to arrange any tours, I would do it immediately upon your arrival so that you get to do all you want. The Tahini Boat cruise and the Papagayo Zip Lining were far and away the two best things we did. Tamarindo surfing was also nice. Restaurants: La Finesterra and Ginger's were our 2 favorite restaurants.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Manager response: It is true about the break in. In 3 yearrs of renting this is the first and we hope the only time this happens. The keys to the safe are available to all renters. We are so sorry that this took place but very happy that Chris and Kristen otherwise enjoyed their trip and most important loved the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/08/08
    WOW! Having just returned from our visit in Playa Hermosa at the Villa Encantadora, we can only hope that it is always occupied. The photos posted for the villa don't even come close to the actual beauty, privacy, and quality of this Villa's true offering. Elsy even helped us cook the "guyo pinto" typical Costa Rican dish. Gus had great activity suggestions, especially The Tahini Catamaran snorkel & sunset sail with dinner. It was just fabulous! The transaction with the rental property was efficient and accurate. We highly recommend this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Adair Arlen Finds a Writer's Paradise

    Adair Arlen Finds a Writer's Paradise

    • Guest Adair Arlen (Lacombe, Louisiana, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/08/08
    • Review Submitted 11/12/08
    As a writer, words cannot adequately express the thrill of the wonderfully pleasant experience Villa Encantadora has to offer, from the elegantly furnished, spacious rooms themselves to the quiet charm of the gardens. My husband loved the golf course(s), which he found to be all he'd hoped for and, of course, the beaches are superb. The owners have provided a spectacular villa replete with stunning views. It goes without saying that this property is clean and well-maintained. And, of course, I plan to feature Villa Encantadora in a book I'm presently writing; my hero deserves to find a relaxing holiday in an exquisite location.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Holly B. (Denver, Co.)
    • Date of stay 11/01/07
    • Review Submitted 11/25/07
    The house was great, we had 4 kids and they took over the top floor. It was perfect. Guss and Elsy were wonderful as well and very helpful.Thanks so much for helping to make such a great vacation!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Steve Smith (Orlando, Fl)
    • Date of stay 09/01/07
    • Review Submitted 09/09/07
    Our stay at Villa Encantadora from 9/1/07 to 9/8/07 can only be described as one of the best vacations I have ever been on. Gus and Elsy were amazing at making sure that everything was taken care of for us. Gus arranged ATV tours, catamaran booze cruises, and several other incredible activities. My favorite part of this villa was sitting on the back porch enjoying a cocktail, watching the sun go down. I recommend this property to anyone. This will not be my last time staying at Villa Encantadora. Steve Smith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Villa Encantadora

    Villa Encantadora

    • Guest JeanKfamily (Blauvelt, New York)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/24/07
    wonderful house whose beauty can't even be captured in the photos! Thanks to Jeff for finding our 11 person family such a warm atmosphere with comfort, comfort and comfort. We met Tim our last day, and were so jealous - he enjoys the home for most of the year I believe. Manager and concierge Gus, hooked us up with the connections we needed to tour the country. The maid, Elsie, was sweet. At our request, she cooked an authentic tico meal, which was delicious. From children (8, 10 and 10), teens (15, 17), adults (40's) all through grandparents (71 and 72) truly a home for all. We'd love to return one day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Roger Owen (Not Specified)
    • Date of stay 07/01/07
    • Review Submitted 07/04/07
    My family and I stayed at Villa Encantadora the last week of June 2007. The house and view are beautiful. We enjoyed our time there greatly and can't wait to return. The Beachfront staff was great throughout the entire process and were always available via phone as needed. Gus came up a couple times to check on us and the housekeeper was accomodating of our requests. There were 8 of us total and the house was plenty big for a few more. My neice spent alot of time in the pool as did the rest of the family. We will have great lasting memories forever of this trip. Thanks Beach Front The Owen Family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jessica Gutierrez (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/01/07
    • Review Submitted 06/06/07
    What an amazing experience! The Villa Encantadora was more than we expected. And the service was 5 stars! Anything we needed was just a phone call away. Its so nice to be able to go away and know youre in good hands. The view from that house is priceless! We sang to the sun every afternoon right before sunset! I cant wait to go back next year, and I wont go with anyone else than Beachfront Properties, Im sold! Our whole experience is due to the service provided by the team of Beachfront. Thank you so much for all your hard work and for taking such good care of me and my family! See ya next year!! Gutierrez-Lopez Family Miami/New York

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Tracey Collins (Port Orange, Florida)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/30/07
    My first trip to Costa Rica. Upon arriving I realized that I was not in Kansas anymore!....Wow, what a beautiful experience. My vacation was enhanced with the opportunity to stay at Villa Enchantadora, for the entire week of March 2-9-07. This home is exquisite!... The view of the Pacific Ocean from the Infinity pool is tranquil. The thought in detail, given to the layout and design of this home are awardable. You must experience it for yourself to really appreciate the awesome splendor of Villa Enchantadora. Pura Vida!!!.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Marie_HAC80584 (Lewes, Delaware)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/25/07
    At some point, I had no idea what day it was. I only knew that I had to make a decision - hang out by the pool over looking the Pacific Ocean or venture into town or visit Rincon or go sailing and snorkeling or head for the beach. Happy to say, we did it all - but at a leisurely pace that was consistent with the culture and lifestyle of this charming and lovely area of Costa Rica. There is something truly magical about lounging in the pool, listening to the beautiful birds, and taking in the vistas that wrap around this exquisite villa. (I'm not much of a shopper, but I really enjoyed Coco - a small town about 15 minutes by car. Great pottery and leather goods and - believe it or not - the best Pizza south of New York City.) Villa Encantadora lives up to its name and then some. What a week!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Christy Allensworth (North Canton, OH)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/24/07
    Absolutely beautiful location and view. Accomodations were fabulous and any activity that we wanted to be organized was taken care of immediately. One of my best vacations.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jean_HAC79113 (Not Specified)
    • Date of stay 03/01/07
    • Review Submitted 03/12/07
    Villa Encantadora - what a fabulous house!! The view, the pool, the house design and the wonderful support staff made our stay from February 21-March 01, 2007 superb. We were a group of 10 women that found this a perfect rental property for a large group. 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms easily accomadated our large group. Amenities of a stereo system, TV room, outdoor kitchen, cell phone all a bonus. This is a property and rental group that we all highly recommend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Chris Lucci (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 09/01/06
    • Review Submitted 09/12/06
    Not only did Costa Rica shock us...so did Villa Encantadora (AKA the Enchanting House) This villa has everythong you could want: An infinity pool that makes you feel like you could reach over and grab the Pacific Ocean. A master bedroom with panoramic views you will never forget. A fully equiped kitchen and cook who knew how to please. She even took care of our laundry and made sure we felt at home...she kept reminding us that Villa Encantadora was just that...our home away from home! In addition to a first rate rental property, Beachfront Rentals made sure we did not miss out on the true Costa Rican vacation experience. They arranged the following for us: Scuba Diving Deep Sea / Off-Shore Fishing Trips A Car& Driver Canopy Tour Volcano Tour Shopping Horse Back Riding (On the Beach) Dinner Reservations Last but not least...Golf at the Four Seasons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) In short, congrats for discovering Costa Rica..and do yourself a favor. Let Villa Encantadora complete the experience for you. Pura Vida ( you WILL know what that means) Enjoy, The Lucci Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Marv ine Michael (Clifton, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/01/06
    • Review Submitted 08/27/06
    What I had hoped for before arriving at Villa Encantadora couldn't begin to compare with what a magnificent vacation home it is! In addition to a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, VE's location, architecture and furnishings put it over and above the top of any rental we have seen. The relaxing infinity pool which seems as though it drops off into the ocean makes going to the beach not a top priority. The beach at Playa Hermosa, however, is definitely a must.. good shopping, drinking and eating! I can recommend Villa Encantadora without exception as the most elegant home in which we have stayed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Wallace Family (Charleston, WV)
    • Date of stay 07/01/06
    • Review Submitted 07/29/06
    Villa Encantadora is the perfect vacation experience! Beachfront Rentals provided our family of 6 with the most amazing home. The view alone was enough to make us never want to return to the states! We never missed a sunset because each one was priceless! The rooms were spacious and beautiful, the kitchen well-equipped and the beds were very comfortable. Renting Villa Encantadora was simple and the staff assisted us with many helpful tips on getting the most out of our vacation to Costa Rica. The canopy tour was so much fun! Playa Hermosa is a tranquil town with a lovely beach and great food. We can’t say enough about Villa Encantadora or Beachfront. We are already planning our next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]