Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Begin and end your day on the spacious, private porch

Elegantly Restored-Hawthorne Dist-5min to Downtown [#143389] | View Property

Hawthorne
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
From $180/nt - $1100/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (49)

Sort by:
  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Family Travels
    • Date of stay 03/16/14
    • Review Submitted 03/21/14
    My husband, teenage daughter and I absolutely loved staying here for a combination spring break/college visit trip in the Portland area. Everything was immaculate and tastefully done. Joan has furnished and decorated it beautifully, like it's her own home - fabulous kitchen with everything you need to prepare a quick snack or a full sit down dinner - including a big table and plenty of chairs. We felt pampered with comfortable linens, bathrobes, slippers,books, games, and even a washer and dryer. Loved the paint color choices with bright white trim. It really did feel like a home away from home with some familiar Ketchikan artwork on the walls. At the end of a long day, we all commented as we walked up the steps that The Ceceila was such a nice place to return. Sitting out on the porch for morning tea, reading and watching folks bike and walk as the day began was also a treat. We felt safe walking for groceries, eating out and shopping through this delightfully interesting neighborhood. Via car, it was a short distance and easy access to I-5 and downtown too. One consideration for folks with limited mobility... there are about six steps outside to the front door and a full flight of steps to the second story home. Once inside, everything is one one level. If we have another trip to Portland, we will definitely return to The Cecelia!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect place to stay in Portland!

    The perfect place to stay in Portland!

    • Guest D'Ann M. (Tallahassee, FL)
    • Date of stay 03/09/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    Our recent stay at the Cecilia in Portland could not have been better. My husband and I met our daughter in Portland on her spring break. The Cecilia offered a convenient location in the Hawthorne neighborhood of Southeast Portland with easy access to downtown across the Willamette River via the Hawthorne Bridge. The neighborhood was charming and quiet and we felt perfectly safe walking about, exploring the shops, restaurants, pubs, and cafes. Joan has furnished the Cecilia with understated elegance and the comfort of her guests in mind. Everything was extremely clean and well maintained and each thoughtful detail contributed to the most endearing quality of the Cecilia- it is perfectly “Portlandy”! In fact, we hesitate to use the word condominium at all…it is a more like a comfortable home-away-from-home, the perfect place from which to partake of all that Portland has to offer its visitors...and it has a lot! We thank you, Joan, and look forward to our return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location, location and comfort!

    Location, location and comfort!

    • Guest Susan H.
    • Date of stay 03/26/13
    • Review Submitted 03/30/13
    My husband and I recently stayed at the Cecelia. It was lovingly decorated, thoughtful in furnishing and centrally located to everything we wanted to see and do. Close to the bus line, bus #14 will take you up and down Hawthorne, or all the way downtown. Parking was easy and the streets in the neighborhood charming and safe. Would recommend this property to everyone. Joan was available by phone with any questions. Taking a nap on the porch with a cozy blanket was the perfect way to end our busy days. Our first vrbo....others will have a high standard to meet.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!

    • Guest Joy (Concord, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/25/13
    • Review Submitted 03/08/13
    The condo is gorgeous! Very light, bright, cozy, and comfortable. I have been in several vrbo's and I will say that this house paid more attention to detail than any others I have been in. I felt that the furnishings were top notch and after a couple days was sure that a professional decorator had furnished the place. When I spoke with Joan (who was always available and so nice, friendly and accommodating!) she said that she had decorated the condo. This place is defintely within walking distance to some great restaurants and stores. I would definitely stay here again! A real gem!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • christmas in portland

    christmas in portland

    • Guest Laurie P.
    • Date of stay 12/19/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    Our stay at the Cecelia was amazing. We were so comfortable it felt like home. the bedding the kitchen the entire condo lived up to descriptions and so much more. It was so great to sit around the table share a meal with our adult daughters and play board games. It was great to sit in the living room and watch Christmas DVDs that Joan had left out. the place was decorated for Christmas, it was sweet to see my girls walk in and see gifts under the tree. The coffee shops, boutiques in the are (all walking distance ) great. A market right up the way for groceries for the week, convenient and economical. We will defiantly stay they when we visit again. Such an amazing place, such a welcoming owner. thank you.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Outstanding!

    Outstanding!

    • Guest Jeff (Glen Gardner, NJ)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    Our stay at the Cecilia exceeded our expectations. The flat was well furnished and well maintained and the kitchen was well stocked with every item necessary for serious cooking. It truly felt like home! We plan on returning next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • All around amazing!

    All around amazing!

    • Guest Jayne (Fort Collins, CO)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    Everything is very accurate in the description, and this was truly such a wonderful place to stay. Great location, beautiful decor, comfortable beds, she even provides robes and slippers. We didn't want to leave!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hawthorne Neighborhood Gem - Cecilia

    Hawthorne Neighborhood Gem - Cecilia

    • Guest Russ B. (Tampa, FL/ U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 07/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/06/12
    We were so pleased with our stay at the Cecilia that we would absolutely stay there on future visits to Portland! We all commented that of all of the dozens of places we had stayed in the U.S. and Europe, it was by far the nicest apartment and best-appointed property we had seen! The kitchen was truly nicer than ours at home, the décor was perfect, and the amenities were quite generous and substantial! The art work as well was very tasteful and well-chosen. We also loved the location as it put us close to all of the great restaurants and food trucks in the Hawthorne but also close to downtown and other attractions. It was a great stay and we wish that we had more than one week. Next time we visit Portland (we plan to move to Seattle in a few years) we will be sure to stay at the Cecilia!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Superb Cecilia!

    The Superb Cecilia!

    • Guest Robyn (North Vancouver, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/05/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    We stayed in The Cecilia for 5 days and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The accommodation was first-class with no detail overlooked. The condo was very, very comfortable and from the minute we walked in, it felt like home. The porch is a great space for reading or lounging at any time of day. Bus stop into Portland is only a block away and then a 5 minute ride to downtown. Hawthorne/Belmont neighbourhood is funky and interesting. We enjoyed exploring and eating at a number of cafes and restaurants close by. All in all, a fabulous location in Portland with absolutely everything you need for a peaceful, comfortable vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Arizona travelers

    Arizona travelers

    • Guest Lisa (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 06/13/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    This is a fabulous VRBO rental. Joan was easy to work with, on top of all details, and welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect - you can walk to a food cart pod and a beautiful local neighborhood called the "Ladd's Addition", among other things. The house is gorgeous and every detail you will need has been attended to. If you cook, the kitchen is very well appointed. Has a great porch to sit on in evenings. I highly recommend the Cecilia house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A true home away from home

    A true home away from home

    • Guest Debbie (Torrance California)
    • Date of stay 05/01/12
    • Review Submitted 05/14/12
    Property: Elegantly Restored-Hawthorne Dist-5min to Downtown Title: A true home away from home! Review: We recently spent a few days in one of my favorite cities....Portland. This was a girlfriend get away trip. We usually stay in the Pearl but decided on trying a different neighborhood. We were thrilled with our choice. The Cecelia is a great place to stay. It is charming, comfortable & very clean. The apartment has it all. Joan, the owner has a great eye for detail. As much as we enjoyed the inside, the covered porch was our favorite spot. You just want it to rain! There are lots of places nearby where you can eat, drink & shop. The food truck pod a couple of short blocks away is a must. It's also easy to get downtown either by bus or by walking. We did both. The Cecelia is a gem! Joan, it was a pleasure to meet you! Thank you, Your new friends, Debbie & Alicia

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, clean, comfortable, and convenient

    Relaxing, clean, comfortable, and convenient

    • Guest owltraveler (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    From a leisurely breakfast to Easter dinner with fresh local fish to many restful nights, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cecelia. The public transportation in Portland is efficient and easy, and the Cecelia is located within two blocks of two main bus lines. We never felt the need for a car (even getting two and from the airport). Three grocery stores are located via a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride. Restaurants (many that are gluten free), bars, and coffee shops are ample near by. And downtown (where Powell's and the Chinese Garden are a must) is just a short bus ride away. When we needed downtime, the condo was a relaxing place to be, especially the porch. The mattress and bedding are better than at a hotel. I wish I could take this condo with me wherever I travel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Delightfully romantic, but perfect for family gatherings too

    Delightfully romantic, but perfect for family gatherings too

    • Guest Carol (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 02/06/12
    • Review Submitted 02/21/12
    We stayed at the Cecilia for 10 days recently, and loved every minute of it. The location is superb, just a block off Hawthorn with its cafes and shops, and a short hop to downtown via bus or car. Our first few days were for the two of us alone; the Cecilia felt like a romantic hideaway. We slept well thanks to the quiet location of our bedroom and comfortable bed. Then the family arrived, and it became a lovely gathering place, well suited for meals together thanks to the excellent kitchen facilities, and large enough for a birthday party for 20 or so guests. I would stay there again and also recommend it to friends and family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 2nd stay at the Ceceilia

    2nd stay at the Ceceilia

    • Guest Happy Traveler (Santa Fe, NM)
    • Date of stay 01/20/12
    • Review Submitted 02/02/12
    It is our home away from home. We stayed at this lovely flat for several weeks in the fall. This time the weather was cool and rainy, but our stay was warm and wonderful. We will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for choosing the Cecilia as your "home away from home". We are always pleased when the Cecilia is selected and then doubly pleased when guests return again and again as a number of folks do. We thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Could not have been more conveniently located

    Could not have been more conveniently located

    • Guest Ruth P.
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 01/07/12
    This condo was even nicer than it appears in the site photos. I felt completely at home from the moment of arrival. Everything was spotless and prepared to provide a comfortable, spacious, upscale backdrop for a great week's stay in a fantastic city. In spite of rainy weather, the neighborhood was delightfully walkable, with an abundance of interesting shops and restaurants nearby. One caution about this rental: several amenities (such as the bathtub) are better suited for somewhat taller people. Highly recommended!

    Owner response: Thank you for your kind words! I too love the neighborhood as well as the Cecilia itself. The bathtub is considered a soaking tub so it is an inch or two inches higher than your usual tub. It makes for a lovely bath for those who enjoy soaking. I hope that you are able to return soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nancy Miller

    Nancy Miller

    • Guest Nancy (New Jersey)
    • Date of stay 12/22/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    This was our second time at the Cecilia and it's beginning to feel like our home away from home when we visit our son from New Jersey. The kitchen was great for cooking for the holiday and is stocked with all of the gadgets and pans needed to make great meals. There is plenty of room and we utilized a good deal of it! The entire place if beautifully decorated! We rented a car and there was always a parking spot near the building. Our favorite surprise this time was a small food cart area on Hawthorne and 12th that made to-die-for-pizza!!! Our son walked down when we got in (after midnight) and got us a bite to eat! We ate the most fantastic food from Dick's on Belmont to the Portland City Grill! We love Portland and the Cecilia works great for us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for returning to the Cecilia and thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad that the Cecilia again exceeded your expectations and was able to make your holiday special. I'll look forward to your next trip!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Portland Condo

    Charming Portland Condo

    • Guest judy r. (atlanta, ga)
    • Date of stay 11/22/11
    • Review Submitted 12/04/11
    My family and I enjoyed our 2011 Thanksgiving celebration at the Ceclia. The photos, while beautiful, don't convey how absolutely spendid this property actually is. We arrived on a rainy Portland afternoon to be greeted by a representative of the owner, who showed us around and explained how everything worked. (The owner would have done this herself but was out of town.) Every detail for your visit has been thought thru, everything you could possibly need has been provided; spices, candles, cleaning and laundry supplies, tools, lightbulbs . . . even umbrellas. The kitchen is huge with lots of work space and all of the necessary equipment to cook gourmet meals. Five of us worked on T'giving dinner in the kitchen at the same time! Knowing we were celebrating T'giving, the owner left us an assortment of lovely table linens and a leaf for the dining table. The home is open and spacious, gorgeously decorated like something out of a Pottery Barn catalogue, with lots of windows and a feeling of privacy. Views out the windows were beautiful as the property is surrounded by trees (golden at this time of year.) The condo is on the second floor so it is not disability friendly. The living space is enhanced by a covered private deck facing west that was usable even in November. The bedrooms are spacious with lots of closet space. My daughter commented that her bed slept like a fluffy marshmellow. I wish the unit had two bathrooms but the one bathroom is large and fully equipped with blowdryer and loads of towels. The condo is in a quiet Portland neighborhood with plenty of off street parking, sidewalks and grocery stores nearby. It is an easy drive over the Hawthorn Bridge to get to downtown Portland. The location of the property was accurately noted on the website and the owner provided detailed directions and a summary of how everything worked; trash, recycling, etc. Obviously Portland has so much to offer in the way of sightseeing so I won't go into that in this review. A car is a necessity to enjoy all the area has to offer though. We ate most of our meals at the condo but found a fabulous local restaurant called the Farm Cafe (resaonably priced) that I would highly recommend. My only minor recommendation to the owner would be to install a rheostat for the dining room light in order to lower the brightness of the fixture for dining. Overall, I give the Cecilia my highest rating. I would definitely recommend this property and will visit again myself.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. And most importantly, thank you for spending your family holiday at the Cecilia. I always find it hard to describe how special the Cecilia is. Besides the amenities there is just a special feeling that I always get when I am there. I expect that it has something to do with the wonderful guests that have been there! I look forward to your next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Super Satisfied Couple

    Super Satisfied Couple

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/06/11
    As personal owners of a VRBO, frequent users of VRBO lodging; the word pictures we would choose to depict this sweet condo are: Enchanting, refreshing, tasteful, discerning, generous, more than hoped for. The experience was like being welcomed into the home of a most beloved friend. Every detail attended to. Your personal comfort, joy of space & spirit considered throughout the home. Thank You the stay was definitely memorable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Janna S.
    • Date of stay 07/05/11
    • Review Submitted 07/12/11
    We enjoyed our stay so much.....this place is so thoughtful and perfect I hope we can stay here again. Everything we wanted, thought we wanted, didn't know we wanted or needed was at our fingertips! Tasteful and comfortable decor with a charming sunny porch...you have created a perfect home away from home for travelers to Portland. It was as if we were family visiting in your home! I loved being on the second floor...up with the trees and a nice private feeling. Everything was convenient. Cafes and restaurants were within walking distance in any direction. Parking was never a problem Portland is a wonderful city and your condo made it even better. We used the location as a base to visit the beach, Willamette Valley wineries, Columbia River Gorge and of course all the great Portland neighborhoods and city. We have rented condo's before in other cities and this one by far was the most complete and extreemly well thought out!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you, Janna. I hope that you are able to return to Portland and the Cecilia soon. We will be ready to welcome you back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Cecilia was far better than we ever could have hoped for...Joan you really outdid yourself.

    The Cecilia was far better than we ever could have hoped for...Joan you really outdid yourself.

    • Guest maggie H. (Las Cruces, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 07/01/11
    Attention to detail is what impressed us. Every little need you have on vacations was thought out and taken care of...even beautiful flowers to greet you as you walk in. The location could not be improved upon. The Hawthorn District has so much to offer. This particular condo is in the ideal area for fun and entertainment. If you want to explore Portland...this is the place. Easy access to shopping, local bakeries, retaurants catering to all tastes, parks, downtown, and outside of the city whether along the columbia river hwy or even the coast. From the first inquiry regarding this condo to the final day of departure, Joan made herself available to answer any questions and ensure that we were happy and satisfied. This was our first visit to Portland. Because we were staying at the Cecilia we were able to get around the entire area quite easily...whether into Portland proper or to the outings at Mt. Hood and the trail of the waterfalls. It always felt like home when we returned. We thank you Joan from the bottom of our collective hearts...truly wonderful. We know this is just a condo but you made it a home. Well done! We will return to Portland because our stay was so enjoyable and we will definetely look forward to being at the Cecilia once again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! I love the Cecilia too... for all of the reasons that you stated. An extra bonus at my end is getting to meet great people like you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Barbara and Marc,Florida PanHandle, April 2011

    Barbara and Marc,Florida PanHandle, April 2011

    • Guest Barbara and Marc (Tallahassee, FL)
    • Date of stay 04/20/11
    • Review Submitted 04/30/11
    Pictures don't due this unit justice. It has all of the amenities of home and more. The minute you step inside you feel like you are home......great location, clean, comfortable in every way. Owner left no stone unturned, even personally delivered a bag of coffee for the next morning. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. This was our first VRBO. Joan has set the "gold standard" for any future rentals we might try. Great job!!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spacious, gleaming, polished, perfect!

    Spacious, gleaming, polished, perfect!

    • Guest Layne (Salem, OR)
    • Date of stay 01/01/11
    • Review Submitted 01/13/11
    We've treated ourselves to this beautiful lodging twice in just over two years: once, for a week in August and again the first week in January. Summer or winter, the Cecilia easily meets or beats any accommodation we've enjoyed in 19 years of travel, including great places in Seattle, Chicago, New York, Boston, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Canada, Italy, Mexico, and many wonderful points in between. The web site's description of The Cecila and Portland are entirely true and precise. Mattresses are firm, linens luxurious; windows are large and many; all rooms are spacious and perfectly furnished; neighbors are quiet and polite; Portland's best shopping, dining, and delights are within easy walks or drives. The Cecilia has our greatest appreciation and highest recommendation. We'll be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Emily and Ed
    • Date of stay 11/14/10
    • Review Submitted 12/23/10
    A week in the Cecilia seeing our children and their friends. What a wonderful place you have here. Every need was met-even a pencil sharpener! Thanks for making this such a great visit! We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest from Cincinatti
    • Date of stay 10/20/10
    • Review Submitted 12/23/10
    We always enjoy our stay at "Cecilia". Your kind hospitality and excellent amenities are appreciated. Truly a home away from home. Many thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Pleasant Accomodations !

    Pleasant Accomodations !

    • Guest RWF (Cincinnati, OH)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 12/16/10
    This rental property closely aligns with the photo images provided and the amenities were accurately described. This property was well maintained and functional to expectations. The owner was very easy to communicate with and provided all the necessary information to facilitate our stay and meet our requirements. This property is easily accessible to downtown Portland, inumerable activities and restaurants. The location of this property is convenient and meets our needs within the Portland Area.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Exactly as the pictures show!!

    Exactly as the pictures show!!

    • Guest Beezy (Lodi)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 10/09/10
    This is a lovely condo in the heart of the Hawthorne District. We have rented many condos over the years and none have the amenities that this one provides. Joan's attention to details is amazing from the robes to the completely stocked kitchen. You will need nothing more to enjoy your stay in this condo! And the owner, Joan, is a sweetheart. She met us at the condo and showed us everything to make our stay more comfortable. If you are used to staying in the NW district, the Pearl or downtown, this may be a bit of a culture shock for you. It's what we termed the funky-doo district. The houses are not particularly well groomed and parking was a bit of a chore. Most of the stores are retro or, let's say, funky. Overall it's worth a stay to experience something new and the condo and Joan make it worth it!! * Just a note: The people downstairs smoke a lot so you can't keep the windows and doors open as the smoke wafts in. There are stairs to the apartment that are quite steep if you have limitations or restrictions.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Elegance Extraordinaire

    Elegance Extraordinaire

    • Guest hick (philadelphia, pa)
    • Date of stay 09/25/10
    • Review Submitted 10/15/10
    Staying at Cecilia House for four nights in September was an experience my husband, children, and I enjoyed so so much. Every detail of the apartment was perfect from the paintings on the wall to the wooden ducks that adorned the floors. We walked around the first day and night as if visiting an art museum commenting on this beautiful room or that awesome well-stocked kitchen or the wonderful private deck that provides outside nourishment before one even leaves the house. And the owner, Joan, is as awesome as the place she rents. She is friendly and helpful and has lived in beautiful places! And she was kind enough to find my son's house in Portland and return the water bottle that I had forgotten! And,last but not least, the location is ideal for great places to eat nearby and stores to visit. Walk left on Hawthorne Street and enjoy a 30 minute tour of Portland's fine stores; my son is always talking about the Baghdad Theater where movies are cheap and good.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John, Sally and Nick
    • Date of stay 09/22/10
    • Review Submitted 12/23/10
    The Cecilia is even better than a home away from home--it offers more comforts than home and none of the cares! We are so grateful for your hospitality and hope to come back many times!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amy, Bob and Sandy
    • Date of stay 09/15/10
    • Review Submitted 12/23/10
    We had a lovely visit. The Cecilia is beautiful, thoughtfully furnished and so conveniently located. We had many pleasant walks around this part of the city. We especially loved your beautifully appointed kitchen. Thank you for your hospitality!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Portland Get-Away

    The Perfect Portland Get-Away

    • Guest Holly & Roy (Nashville, TN)
    • Date of stay 09/14/10
    • Review Submitted 09/19/10
    We spent a week in this lovely home that is perfectly appointed leaving the renter nothing to be desired or needed. The kitchen is not only nicely stocked with spices, quality cooking items, gourmet appliances. The house is decorated to perfection, as well. The location is central to everything -- with a number of restaurants, bars, coffee shops, adorable shops, etc. This neighborhood is also a wonderful place to walk and to enjoy the early 1900's architecture. I spent mornings with coffee on the front porch, breakfast at the sunny table and evenings on the comfy sofa with a glass of wine. The neighbors were lovely and the neighborhood quiet. Add to that a lovely owner and you truly have the perfect get-away in Portland. The only caution is that although all rooms are located on one level; the flat is on the second floor. Although that made it difficult for our elderly friend who stayed with us the first night, I was a bit glad I didn't know about the stairs -- otherwise, we wouldn't have stayed at this lovely home. We rent through VRBO 3-5 times a year and this is one of our top 3 places to stay. We won't stay anywhere else in Portland, if we can help it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest tina
    • Date of stay 08/31/10
    • Review Submitted 10/03/10
    Email from Tina: We so thoroughly enjoyed our time in Portland this summer. Staying in your condo was like a dream. I kept telling my husband I felt like we were playing house! We could walk and get coffee. Walk and get dinner. The city living was really exciting. I could never have imagined that the condo would be as lovely as it was. After years of traveling I always expect to be a little let down. The Cecilia exceeded our expectations! It was charming, clean, bright , and wonderfully equipped. I want to move to a condo just as lovely someday. The sooner the better! Thanks for all your kindness,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Debbie and Bill
    • Date of stay 02/28/10
    • Review Submitted 02/27/10
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: What a beautiful place--we felt right at home while visiting our daughter. Your attention to detail is amazing--everything was so luxurious. It was delightful to experience spring-like weather after a record-breaking snow amount (4 major storms!)in the East. Thank you for your hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Carol and Bill; Colleen and Hanna
    • Date of stay 12/28/09
    • Review Submitted 12/27/09
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: Our 2nd Christmas here at the Cecilia was just as wonderful as the 1st in 2007! What a great kitchen--we gave it quite a workout--Christmas Eve dinner, Christmas Day brunch, another dinner on Christmas. There wasn't a single tool we couldn't find, not a single plate, glass or cup that wasn't right at hand. We could easily stay another week, but we must return to Santa Barbara and New York. We can only hope to return again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marcia and Jack
    • Date of stay 10/29/09
    • Review Submitted 10/28/09
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: we've enjoyed every minute of our stay, and much of that is due to the cozy, comfy "home" you've created for us here. Your apartment is beautiful and so luxuriously and thoughtfully appointed. We surely hope to return soon. Also--great books, great DVD collection and great spice selection, not to mention a really fast internet connection.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marion and Dick
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/27/09
    From the Cecilia Guest Book: We have loved staying here! The apartment is tastefully and thoughtfully done; we couldn't have been more comfortable, or more at home. We are already thinking about our next visit. By the way, we have been renting apartments when we travel for many years, both in the US and abroad. This one ranks among our absolute favorites! Many thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Kay11 (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 08/08/09
    • Review Submitted 08/08/09
    We had a great stay at The Cecilia in summer 2009. Wonderfully spacious (two adults and one teenager), tasteful and restful decor (the photos are accurate), full of amenities. It was great to buy food at the Saturday Farmers' Market and prepare it the well-equipped kitchen, and have coffee on the porch. Immaculately clean. Owner is very easy to deal with (and left many guides to restaurants and activities around Portland), and manager is in same building. So much more comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable than staying in a hotel.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Patty, Dennis, Pat and Terry
    • Date of stay 06/23/09
    • Review Submitted 06/22/09
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: Our friends flew from Tokyo and we flew from Maryland....met at the Cecilia. The weather was near perfect. We loved the decor of the Cecilia (furniture, artwork, excellent kitchen). For some of us this was our first visit to Portland. We are now spoiled when it comes to a place to stay. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jose and Elizabeth
    • Date of stay 05/18/09
    • Review Submitted 05/17/09
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: Oh, how lucky we are to have the use of this wonderful place and then walk through a luscious neighborhood to spend precious time with Frankie, our first granddaughter in Mulberry Lane! Everything here was perfect. My favorite machine--the coffee maker-- woke me up to the special aroma of the unique coffees of the region (Portland loves its coffees!), and the weather conspired to render everything perfect. The chairs in the apartment invited you to good reading, and the light brightened your days. Thank you so much for this wonderful stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Judy M. (Battle Creek, MI)
    • Date of stay 10/29/08
    • Review Submitted 10/29/08
    Our daughter and her family live in Portland and we usually visit at least twice a year. We were so glad we found the Cecilia. It was so comfortable and we felt so at home. We have always stayed at a bed and breakfast, which we have always loved, but we felt at home at the Cecilia and hope to stay there every time we come out. It was a wonderful treat.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jane23 (Mt. Vernon, WA)
    • Date of stay 09/07/08
    • Review Submitted 09/07/08
    The Cecilia is an amazing, quiet and tastefully decorated get-away in a fun part of the city. The owner thought of every comfort including lovely dishes and art on the walls. The bed was so comfortable. I had such a relaxing time and hope to go back soon. Thanks. J. Halsey, Mt. Vernon, WA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/04/08
    • Review Submitted 09/04/08
    I recently stayed at The Cecelia for a long weekend in Portland, and couldn't have been happier with everything. Besides being a beautiful home, and perfectly decorated, it was in a wonderful part of town, close to shops restaurants and everything you could want. Perfect if you want to stay somewhere and not have to get in your car once. Everything is a short walk away. I was there with 3 other people, and we felt so at home in every way. So much better than a bed and breakfast where we would've just had a bedroom. It really was great to be able to lounge around the living room and kitchen, not to mention the huge porch! In our short stay, we really settled in and felt so comfortable. Anything you could need or want is supplied, Scrabble included! The porch is beautiful and makes a great place to relax after a day of running around the city. We wanted to stay longer, or move in! And of course, one of my main concerns when I'm picking a place to stay is cleanliness, and the Cecelia was impeccable! If I'm ever in Portland again, I just hope it's available for me!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ross
    • Date of stay 08/10/08
    • Review Submitted 08/09/08
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: The Cecilia is now part of my long-time love affair with Portland. As soon as I walked in I was totally relaxed. Excellent sleep on a good bed, sweet lounging on the deck, open windows on a warm summer evening, easy walk to good places to eat. Ten days here ended too soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Judy Bryan (Chapel Hill, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/07/08
    • Review Submitted 06/07/08
    The Cecilia will be our home away from home for years to come with our beautiful Grandbaby,"Ellery" just a couple of blocks away. The Cecilia is serene,beautiful,and in a great location. We enjoy walking through the neighborhood to have breakfast,a nice dinner,and checking out all the little shops. Joan and Erin take such care of the home and their guest! We are planning a visit in September! Judy and Andrew Bryan Chapel Hill, NC

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Brian Clare
    • Date of stay 05/12/08
    • Review Submitted 05/11/08
    Copied from The Cecilia Guestbook: A week in the Cecilia has been a wonderful start to my new life in Portland! Very relaxing space to unwind at the end of the day, especially the great porch! I was able to walk to my new job and also look at potential future places to live (although it will be tough leaving the Cecilia!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Debbie and Ken Parker
    • Date of stay 02/24/08
    • Review Submitted 02/23/08
    From The Cecilia Guestbook: The Cecilia was a perfect respite for our family get-away to Portland and surrounding environs. Ideally situated and exquisitely furnished, it felt like home from the moment we arrived. Thanks to you and Erin for your attention to the details which made it easy for us to settle in. Fortunately, we had terrific weather during our stay, allowing us to do quite a bit of exploring in and around Portland. The cuisine in the surrounding Hawthorne neighborhood was a highlight--we especially enjoyed the Thai restaurant just a block away. Looking forward to future visits to Portland with The Cecilia as our home base.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jack Schmidt (Ponte Vedra Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 02/16/08
    • Review Submitted 02/16/08
    Our 2 daughters live in Portland with their husbands and we are expectant grandparents. So we wanted a "home away from home" so we could thoroughly enjoy our long visits to Portland. We have found the Cecilia to be ideal. We are close to downtown and close to great restaurants and family. We really appreciate the detail Joan has given to everything in the condo from real comfortable beds and linens to a complete and very large kitchen. The second floor setting gives us a great view of the neighborhood and, on clear days, downtown! There is a nice porch to enjoy cool mornings and evenings, living and dining areas for spreading out and reading or watching TV, Period hardwood floor and accent mouldings...everything you would want in a beautifully redone 1910 building. We are booked again for a 3-week stay in the spring and will always book the Cecilia when traveling to Portland!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Arnerich Family
    • Date of stay 12/27/07
    • Review Submitted 12/26/07
    From The Cecilia Guestbook: The Cecilia is indeed a very special place. We have enjoyed our stay more than I can possibly express. The decor is really striking--all the furnishings, everything in the kitchen, the bedrooms, bath towels, robes, slippers, it was all just very, very tastefully done. But warm and homey at the same time. We all feel that we were lucky to find a "home away from home". Especially at Christmas!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kate Vikstrom
    • Date of stay 07/04/07
    • Review Submitted 07/03/07
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: The Cecilia couldn’t be more beautiful and welcoming – and user friendly! It’s been the perfect location for my exploration of Portland. It truly is an amazing city – and you can just tell that the people here love living here. Life is good!Much love and greatfulness for your hospitality, Kate

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest May Pat & Bob Whaley
    • Date of stay 05/19/07
    • Review Submitted 05/18/07
    From the Cecilia Guestbook: What a delightful surprise we had seeing the “Cecilia” for the first time. An oasis in the city, beautifully furnished with attention to every detail. We walked to the Hawthorne District, had a great dinner at the Bridgeport Ale House, and found a few buttons at the bead store on the walk back. It rained a bit as we arrived “home” and we sat on the porch and enjoyed the sounds – the train (we both were reminded of our childhoods in Pennsylvania) and the rain. Now, on to British Columbia! Thanks for great hospitality and a lovely stopover in Portland.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]