Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Palatalik, side entrance

Palatalik: Beautiful Lakeside House with Volcano Views [#144778] | View Property

Santa Cruz La Laguna
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Wonderfull vacation

    Wonderfull vacation

    • Guest Ron S.
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/08/13
    We had a 5 week stay in Guatemala of which 1 week at Palatalik. This was outstanding. What a view when you wake up in the morning and open the curtains from the masters bedroom. Also from kitchen, livingroom and upper bedroom you can watch this view. A beutifull garden very well maintained and a helpfull and kind caretaker Pablo when you speak Spanish he can be of great value for your questions. Leave the outerlights off outside during the night. We forgot once and the dogs of the neighbours kept on barking the whole night. The information given from the owner after making a reservation is very helpfull, all is correct and can make you choose what you want to do. We enjoyed very much with the 8 of us differing of age in between 12 and 51 years. Great and wonderfull time. Ron & Eva, The Netherlands

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise on Lake Atitlán

    Paradise on Lake Atitlán

    • Guest Junxuj (NYC)
    • Date of stay 07/14/13
    • Review Submitted 07/20/13
    In decades of visits to Atitlán, this was without a doubt the most relaxing time we've spent on the lake. The house is lovely and very comfortable, arguably even better than the photos. The stunning views from almost every room are breathtaking. Swimming off the dock was a highlight for adults and children, as was the charming walk to Santa Cruz. We look forward to returning for a longer visit.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very nice house

    Very nice house

    • Guest Lily (Guatemala City)
    • Date of stay 06/21/13
    • Review Submitted 06/27/13
    The house is nice and clean. The garden is beautiful with different plants, flowers, and fruit trees. The view from the kitchen is fabulous. Additionally, you may find yoga classes, kayaking, and rock climbing within a few minutes walking distance from the house. We really enjoyed it.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice House

    Nice House

    • Guest P.G. (United States)
    • Date of stay 02/28/13
    • Review Submitted 04/14/13
    On arrival we walked up the beautiful landscaped garden and found other renters in the house. It turns out that Debra had made a mistake & double booked the house for one night, so we had to quickly find our own lodging. The house was as described, cozy & pleasant. After we returned home we spent a week sending e-mails back & forth trying to get our money refunded for the night we weren’t able to stay in the house.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful lake view!

    Beautiful lake view!

    • Guest Jim (Florida, USA)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 08/12/12
    This unique house sits high above the lake just past Santa Cruz. The garden leading up to the house is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The views from the decks are spectacular. There are plenty of amenities to this house. Even during a rainy day we sat in the kitchen and played board games we found in the house. It was great to have a washer and dryer to dry our clothes after being on the lake in a boat and getting wet. Only caution is to watch out for the spiders and scorpions. Don't go barefoot. The mornings are best as the lake is calm and a good time to go swimming off the dock. We found an information book that was filled with lots of suggestions for things to do. See Lee a few doors down who rents kayaks. he also does lake tours that will pick you up at the dock in front of the house. Very nice place to get away from it all!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you had a good trip!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Wonderful house, clean, welcoming, spacious

    Wonderful house, clean, welcoming, spacious

    • Guest Fran P.
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/26/12
    This house and property were even nicer than advertised. The house was beautiful, spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The grounds were a beautiful tropical garden with banana, avocado, and lime trees set on a hillside next to Lake Atitlan. There were many activities readily available in the immediate vicinity and more than we had time to do in the larger lake region. We particularly liked kayaking, swimming, hiking, visiting the nearby town for shopping, and taking a tour of the Nature Reserve where we tried zip lining. The views were spectacular throughout the region. The owner provided plenty of information about the house and the area, including restaurants, attractions, and activities. Our three generation family of 4 had a wonderful time and felt we received full value for our expenditure. I recommend a stay of at least one week. Two weeks would be even better.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Loved the colors!

    Loved the colors!

    • Guest Glenn C.
    • Date of stay 06/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/21/12
    What a cheerful house with the walls painted in bright primary colors. Nothing drab here! Our 11-year-old, when leaving for the last time, said "Goodby, House" while watching it disappear from sight as the boat drove away. We have only good memories. Thanks, Debra.

    Owner response: So glad your family enjoyed the visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely beautiful and comfortable property

    Absolutely beautiful and comfortable property

    • Guest Gillermo (Tucson, AZ USA)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    Our family vacation at Palatalik was the best ever. The home is spacious, very well furnished and located on one of the most beautiful lakes in the Americas. I will continue for years to recall the spectacular views from most rooms in the house. The grounds are maintained to perfection. The family we engaged to do our cooking were charming, efficient and loving. Great Value!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Bill, So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Hope all of the knitting went well, too! Best wishes, Debra

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Dreamy getaway

    Dreamy getaway

    • Guest Wynne G. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/10/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Palatalik. The home was larger and with even more architectural appeal than we expected, clean and full of bright light. The large kitchen with knock-out views of the lake and two volcanoes was perfect for us to spend much of our time cooking, eating and gazing out at the view. We enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor showers in the home, and found it so easy to walk along the low trail toward Santa Cruz or the high trail toward Jaibalito straight from the property. Typically when we travel, we are out and about exploring the nearby natural and cultural treats. There are plenty of these types of things to do from Palatalik, but we found the place so relaxing that we stayed in the house on a few occasions just reading a book or identifying the colorful birds that sang to us most of the day. (Thank you for including a bird guide on the bookshelf!) Thanks to the owners for creating a little slice of paradise!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect for a peaceful get-away

    Perfect for a peaceful get-away

    • Guest Marcia (Guatemala City)
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 01/03/12
    We were looking for a peaceful get-away and this house is perfect. We loved waking up every morning to views of the volcano and the house had all the amenities we could use. We went out to lunch every day (the reviews included in the information booklet were very helpful) and stayed in for dinner. It was a perfect combination. Pablo was wonderful and the neighbors are very nice. Be aware that the water level of the lake has risen significantly in the last few months so the path to Santa Cruz is more of an obstacle course than a leisurely walk. Since we live in Guatemala City we plan to come back as often as we can!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet, great views, easy access, walking distance to several restaurants

    Quiet, great views, easy access, walking distance to several restaurants

    • Guest Marc S. (Harvard, MA US)
    • Date of stay 11/26/11
    • Review Submitted 12/13/11
    A perfect location. A 10-minute boat ride from Pana (for provisions, services, tons of restaurants), yet away from any noise (no roads nearby). Very close to several excellent restaurants: Isla Verde for wonderful food and drinks, Casa Del Mundo and Volcano Lodge for dinners, and Ven Aca for cocktails and gourmet lunches. Beautiful boat ride to other towns, or take the "camino" (path) behind the house that the locals to walk between villages. The house is wonderfully equipped with everything you'll need to transform the bounty purchased from the local indigenous markets into fantastic fruit smoothies and meals. Or have Rosalia charm you while she makes wonderful meals for you. We arrived to see her smiling face preparing two fantastic meals (with tons left over for three more days) for less than US$10/person. Can't beat it. House is extremely comfortable and equipped to high standards. A washing machine and drier complements the luxury. Sit out on one of three patios, or watch the life of the lake pass from the dock. Fantastic master bedroom with en-suite bath and showers. Second and third sleeping areas share a nice bath with a fun (and private) outdoor shower. We stayed twice and hope to return again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Thanks, Debra

    Thanks, Debra

    • Guest Ian T. (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    Hi Debra Just wanted to thank you personally for allowing us to rent your fabulous home Casa Palatalik. We had a great time and your home was more than pictures could convey. Lake Atitlan trully has to be one of the world's most beautiful spots. Armand, Pablo and Juana were very helpful and attended to all our needs plus! Thanks again for some great memories,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • House in Paradice

    House in Paradice

    • Guest Ian T. (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 11/06/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    We recently had the priveledge of renting Casa Palatalik for a vacation at Lake Atitlan. Wow! The home exceded our expectations from the moment we stepped off the launcha. Flowers and plants of every color greet you as you walk up to the house and Pablo will even carry your bags up. The house was more beutiful than pictures can convey and immaculately kept. The owner made the rental very easy and the onsite rep took care of anything we needed. With three terraces and volcano and lake views from almost every room I would highly recommend this home to anyone. Don't miss breakfast at Casa de Mundo a 20 minute walk along a path that keeps opening on to spectalular vistas.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Herwing Family

    The Herwing Family

    • Guest Karin H. (Donna, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/05/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    We rented this house for my in laws so we were 9 adults and 2 children. It was nice to have the whole family sitting together and enjoy the walk to Jaibalito. The house was very equipped with all you can need to cook, games, great atmosphere to read, and relax. The whole family loved our stayed at Palatalik and if we can we would go back. Thanks

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kelly, LA
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/10/11
    Thank you SO much with ALL of your help.  We had the best time and just LOVED Lake Atitlan and Palatalik.  Santos hauled us around many places and was very kind and most helpful.  Pablo was great too.  We met Lee over at the Kayak rentals and he showed and told us so much we wouldn't have found on our own.  As far as the house, we had 6 people and never came close to running out of anything we needed...utensils and other amenities we plenitful.  I even got to watch North by Northwest for the first time and loved it!  Thanks again for everything and if I ever get the priveledge of visiting Lake Atitlan again, I hope it's at Palatalik.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • 3 generations, ages 5 to 69

    3 generations, ages 5 to 69

    • Guest Stewart (Bend, Oregon- US)
    • Date of stay 02/19/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    We left our hearts at Paltalik in February of 2010. For the family, any ages, seeking peace, serenity, vistas, culture, health, adventure and friendly people, Lake Atitlan is perfect. The trip from Central Oregon is long and tiresome. Our journey was nearly 24 hours from door to door! The return on investment is absolutely worth it. A few things to know: 1- The lanchas are inexpensive... about 15q per person. Only once did someone try to get more. The reality of it is: 15q is about 2.00 per person to take a water taxi from Panajachel to the house. So what if you pay 3.00. In the US, this would cost 10.00. 2- Every person we met was sincerely kind and helpful. Tip well, their wages are low and tipping goes a long way. Whats a good tip? You decide, but with prices as low as they are there, we were tipping twice what we would in the US. 3- No one ever felt any sort of danger while at the house or near Santa Cruz. Its a good idea to stay in groups though... especially in Panajachel. Once cant be too safe. 4-absolutely got to Chichicastenango for market days. Its a walk back in time. 5- the vendors will lie to you about items that are ancient.... even while they remove the stickers from the bottom of figurines that say "hecho en Mexico" (made in Mexico). 6- Yes, we all got ill. Wash your veggies in distilled water. Wash your hands. Dont take ice in your drinks. All the basics you have heard apply. 7- see number 6 and DONT let it impact your decision. You frequent restaurants in developed nations employing teenagers with worse hygiene than at Atitlan. This trip has countless, priceless memories for our family. This is not a hotel vacation that could be in any-town-Mexico with a pool and lots of squeaky clean, inauthentic humans tending to your every whim. These are real people, in the most magical place in the Americas. Paltalik is beautiful, fully appointed with everything a family could possibly need and the comforts a hedonist would require. The beds are comfortable, the colors are vibrant, the kitchen is well supplied with the tools a chef expects. Swimming from the dock at sunrise or sunset is essential. The water is still in the morning, a bit choppy afternoon but always warm and embracing. We will return to Paltalik soon, not to collect our hearts, but leave our souls at Lago Atitlan. Salud

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 22/22

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lorrie, PA
    • Date of stay 04/05/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/11
    "We had a fabulous time. The house is just such a convenient location. Zip lining was great but I can honestly say I was NEVER so terrified in my entire life. What a thrill! Many thanks for a great time."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Laurie, KY
    • Date of stay 03/24/09
    • Review Submitted 01/10/11
    "We had a fantastic trip to Guatemala! We loved Palatalik and Lake Atitlan and had many many fun adventures."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]