Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
180 degree views of Lanikai Bay

Lanikai Ocean View - 180 Degree Ocean Views [#145412] | View Property

Lanikai
2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6 - king bed, queen bed, queen futon and full futon
$345 - $450/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Happy Canucks

    Happy Canucks

    • Guest Bill B.
    • Date of stay 01/09/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    This was the most outstanding property we visited in Hawaii. It was extremely well maintained and supplied with everything you could need for your vacation. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The view from the deck across the entire front is amazing. The 5 of us were very comfortable and highly recommend this property. It will be our first stop when we return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect stay!

    Perfect stay!

    • Guest Marjan S.
    • Date of stay 10/16/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    This was our second time to Lanikai/Kailua area and we absolutely loved this rental! Amazing views and the accomodations were more than perfect! We were walking distance to the beach and to a great hike (The Pillbox). I didn't think we would use the hot tub but it felt nice to get in there while it showered one afternoon. The bedrooms were very large and clean and Lois was very easy to work with! My only recommendation is that you rent a car with four wheel drive to get up and out of the driveway. You almost need a SUV ish kind of car in Hawaii anyway, but it helped when backing in and out of the driveway. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing Stay in Lanikai!

    Amazing Stay in Lanikai!

    • Guest sphill1tx (Fort Worth, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    This was our first visit to Hawaii for our family of 4 (10 and 14 year old daughters) - and we had an amazing stay in this home. It was well equipped, spacious, clean, and provided the most amazing outdoor space and view. The beach is a short walk and beach towels, chairs, and mats were provided. The kitchen was fully stocked, the hot tub was a wonderful way to relax after a day of sightseeing. We loved staying in this part of the island. Traveling to all of our day trips was easy from here. Grocery stores, restaurants, etc. were close by. The owner was wonderful to work with. We would not hesitate staying here on our next trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • We can't wait to stay here again!

    We can't wait to stay here again!

    • Guest SRW (Seattle Washington)
    • Date of stay 04/22/13
    • Review Submitted 05/07/13
    We love Oahu. We love Kailua and Lanikai. In the past 10 years we have visited Hawaii 5 times and 4 of those times have been to Kailua/Lanikai. This part of the island is just amazing and Lanikai Ocean View is the perfect house, in the perfect location with the most amazing view that you almost can't get anywhere else in the area! The house has a full kitchen and a wonderfully spacious bathroom. (the shower is wonderful!) The bedrooms are lovely and the beds are quite comfortable. But the most amazing thing about this house is the huge deck off the livingroom and the small private deck off the main bedroom. The photo you see on the website is not doctored or enhanced in anyway, that is the actual view!! We traveled as a party of 5 (our almost elderly mother and our 2 teens) and everyone had ample space to move around and find their favorite spots in the house to hang out after a long fun filled day at the beach or a drive around the island...or one of the many hikes in the area. We can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Most Relaxing Vacation, Ever!

    Most Relaxing Vacation, Ever!

    • Guest Miro (Bloomfield, NJ)
    • Date of stay 09/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/28/12
    Stayed at Lanikai Ocean View with my wife and our two little kids plus a friend. The house is very spacious, open, and comfortable. Four our 1 yr old and 4 yr old, the home is very child friendly. All the amenities are provided as listed in the description. The views are so epic and relaxing that each day it was difficult to leave the house to do other activities. I was on the lanai early every morning, Kona coffee in hand, to watch the incredible sunrise over the Mokulua islands. Some mornings I hiked up the quick but steep trail to the pill box for an even grander sunrise experience. We made some fantastic meals using fresh local ingredients from the nearby Foodland grocery. Some nights after putting the kids to bed, us adults fired up the hot tub for a perfect finish to a great day. The walk to the beach is quick and easy even with little kids and beach equipment. If you wanted this kind of space with, these views at a hotel, you'd be paying somewhere in the $1000/night range. LOV, is an incredible value. Thank you Lois for the best vacation, ever! We'll be back to stay here for future vacations.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Incredible View

    Incredible View

    • Guest Richelle K. (Manheim, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 02/24/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    Imagine waking up every day to the view above ... it is breathtaking! Almost made you want to enjoy the day on the wrap-around porch or in the saltwater hot tub instead of touring Oahu! Lois was an amazing hostess. She alerted us to the whales frolicking and even brought us binoculars. The house has a very open floor plan and is extremely clean and well appointed. Within walking distance to the beach and convenient for touring the entire island. We enjoyed snorkeling at Hanauma Bay, Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head, Giovannis Shrimp Truck, Buzz's Restaurant, etc... We highly recommend this home :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Thank you

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you

    • Guest Kelly
    • Date of stay 08/30/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    Thank you Lois for opening up your wonderful Lanikai home to us. Everything was perfect! The view was amazing, the home was clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was easy to get around in (with the great view), and the hot tub was an added bonus! Waking up to that beautiful sun rising is a memory that will be with me forever. Lois, you were the perfect hostess. I appreciate your hospitality.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Our family had a great stay !!

    Our family had a great stay !!

    • Guest christine f.
    • Date of stay 08/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    We stayed in August 2011 for 9 nights. The house was excellent - just as advertized on the website. Kitchen was fully stocked with all the appliances you might need. We are a family a 5 ; 2 adults and 3 children (ages 8, 6, and 3). It was great that there was a bed for each child. The drive way is steep, and the road is also on a steep hill - but being on the hill was wonderful - the ocean breeze was non-stop. The beach is about a 5 - 10 minute walk (with the kids). Beach was great for the kids - the waves were calm and there were reefs right off the beach for snorkeling !! The house is stocked with boogie boards, beach toys, chairs, coolers, etc... We also rented a double kayak in Kailua and kayaked out to the bird santuary island (would highly recommend this). The Lanikai loop has a bike lane for walking or jogging (or biking). Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely go back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great Vacation

    Great Vacation

    • Guest Brooklyn (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 04/17/11
    • Review Submitted 05/03/11
    We had a great time there! There were 5 of us staying and there was plenty of space for all of us! The beds are comfortable and the place is very clean. The view in the morning is amazing and it is such a close walk to the beach and also an amazing hike! Lois is also very helpful with anything you may need like directions or household supplies. Just watch out, the driveway is steep!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Awesome kitchen!

    Awesome kitchen!

    • Guest samazing (Seattle, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/09/11
    The house is great - huge, airy, beautiful, amazing wraparound porch with heavenly views - but the part I didn't expect was the roomy and well-equipped kitchen. We love to cook and managed to turn out 2-3 gourmet meals every day we stayed. I definitely felt right at home! Relaxing in the salt water hot tub afterwards... also nice!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Jewel in Lanikai

    Jewel in Lanikai

    • Guest Natalia (San Francisco Bay Area, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 12/10/10
    We stayed at the property for three nights over Thanksgiving holidays. I wish we could have stayed longer! The house was impeccable, it had everything that's listed in the description and more! The views from every room are breathtaking. This house made our vacation even more memorable and we hope to return for a longer stay. Thank you Lois for accomodating us and making our stay so perfect! Natalia

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • So great I hate to share!!

    So great I hate to share!!

    • Guest Worthfamily5 (IOWA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    We had the most amazing week with our three children at this home away from home!! Lois, our host, was amazing!! She was always available even at a moments notice when we needed help thanks to some pesky jellyfish...which in hindsight.....the mosquitos in Iowa are a million times worse!! This Lanikai home will always be my "Happy Place" and I will spend every day trying to make my way back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great 4 Day Stay

    Great 4 Day Stay

    • Guest travelgirl (manhattan beach, ca)
    • Date of stay 09/16/10
    • Review Submitted 09/28/10
    My fiance and I spent 4 days here this month and had a wonderful time. The house has unbelievable views and is still in close proximity to the beach (easily walkable). The master bed is very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped and the hot tub is an added luxury. The owner of the house was so helpful in setting up our arrangements and although she wasn't there during our visit, she had her sister walk us through everything very comprehensively. It is the perfect escape to relax and to feel like a local. There are several good restaurants nearby, as well as activities like kayaking and snorkeling. Really, there is something for everyone! We would definitely recommend this place and hope to visit again soon.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Family Reunion/Wedding Hawaii July 2010

    Family Reunion/Wedding Hawaii July 2010

    • Guest Mom and young daughters (Las Vegas)
    • Date of stay 07/20/10
    • Review Submitted 07/28/10
    I stayed in this house with my children as well as my sister and her husband for a family reunion/wedding in July 2010. We were there for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The house is so open and airy that even on a hot day, the ocean breeze kept the house at a comfortable temperature. The rest of our family members had other houses in Lanakai, but they were down the hill from us and felt much more stuffy in their homes. The view from the porch is like a postcard. All the appliances, floors, and counter tops were top of the line and the owner really takes great pride in keeping the place looking brand new!! We hope you will enjoy it as much as we did. (A Family from Las Vegas, NV and a couple from Kansas City, MO)

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Can not find better !

    Can not find better !

    • Guest Lana V (ID)
    • Date of stay 09/03/09
    • Review Submitted 11/02/09
    This place made us to feel like we were in our own home. it is way better than expected. We stayed in September and enjoyed every single minute in this comfortable home. Lois is so nice to deal with as a business and as a person. I highly recommend it to anybody who wants excellent vacation with no worry about your security deposits or misrepresentation of the place. Lois's house is way better than you expect to see. Thank you, Lois !

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Melissa C. (CA)
    • Date of stay 07/27/09
    • Review Submitted 08/05/09
    The house is almost too perfect.....we didn't do as much as we had planned because we enjoyed the house so much. Beautiful view from the lanai. Relaxing spa and excellent ambiance. Lois stocked the house with everything that we needed during our stay. It was very hard to leave this beautiful home in Lanikai. We are already planning our next trip back!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • all about the view!

    all about the view!

    • Guest Kristi M (Naperville, IL )
    • Date of stay 04/25/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Just return from a week stay at this property. The views are amazing. The pictures on the web site don't even begin to show just how spectacular the veiws really are. We were a group of five who found this house clean, comfortable and spacious. The walk to Lanikai Beach is only a short few minutes away. The house sits atop a steep hill and driveway so keep that in mind if you have health or mobility issues. What a wonderful vacation with lots of privacy and all the comforts of home. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Great!!

    Just Great!!

    • Guest eiji77 (Nara, Japan)
    • Date of stay 02/06/09
    • Review Submitted 02/16/09
    We had a really wonderful time in Lanikai Ocean View. Very nice view ,high sense interior and Lois is really kind. This is the first time for my parents to stay in vacation rental house. And they've loved it so much!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • perfect vacation!

    perfect vacation!

    • Guest lisaanddylan (Cincinnati, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 02/09/09
    my family and i stayed at the lanikai ocean view rental in february 2009 and could not have been more pleased....the house was beautiful and the views were STUNNING!!! perfect for a couple or two with children...lois was very gracious and the house had everything you could think of....the pics on the website don't do it justice....i definitely recommend this house and was so happy to have stayed here as opposed to the city....it's windy on this side of the island, but a relief from the sun and heat....the town is great with really good restaurants nearby...beaches are breathtaking here and lanikai beach isn't too crowded...perfect for relaxing and close enough to everything that you'd want to visit....can't wait to come back in a few years when our daughter is a little older...thanks so much lois and curtis!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • peaceful and relaxing

    peaceful and relaxing

    • Guest Bruce from OZ (Australia)
    • Date of stay 01/10/09
    • Review Submitted 01/21/09
    staying on the windward side of the island was an excellent choice away from the hustle & bustle of the busier tourist areas. If you want excitement , shopping , plenty of crowds then stay in Wakiki . If you want a peaceful tranquil environment then Lanikai is the place to be. You are only a 45 min bus ride or 30min car ride from wakiki if you need your fix of shopping or people watching . The views are to die for , the hosts very accommodating, and the house very comfortable.There is a bus stop at the bottom of the street for those without a car or a pleasant 20 min stroll to the nearest shop. The beach at lanikai is only a short 5 min walk and was almost deserted during the week. Highly recommended

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful View

    Beautiful View

    • Guest 5 Okies (Edmond, Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 08/02/08
    • Review Submitted 09/30/08
    We stayed at the Lanikai home and just had an awesome experience. What a fantastic view. The owner helped us any time we needed it. We had a great time using their Kayaks to paddle to the beautiful Mok islands. The hot tub is excellent and the house is very comfortable and spacious. 5 of us stayed there with plenty of room. The only thing I would change is having a second bathroom or shower, but that is all I would suggest. Plus, if you don't want to deal with the hustle and bustle and be on the most beautiful side of the Island, this is the place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Home with Many Stunning Views

    Beautiful Home with Many Stunning Views

    • Guest lanikai (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/20/08
    • Review Submitted 07/09/08
    My boyfriend, sister, mother, and I recently returned from our trip to Oahu. We surprised our mother with a trip to Hawaii for her 60th birthday, and was it a trip to remember! I could not have been more pleased with the Lanikai Ocean View home we stayed in! We chose this house mainly due to its location and the photographs shown on the listing. We were delighted to find that this property is so beautiful, that no picture could truly represent how stunning the views are from the deck. The owner, Lois, was super! She made herself available for questions and offered some great recommendations of places to go and things to see. The house was extremely clean and nicely decorated. There is no clutter in this home. The master bedroom is spacious, along with a nice open kitchen/ living area. The second bedroom is small, but you will not be spending much time indoors in such a beautiful place. We left all the doors open 24 hours a day to enjoy the ocean breeze as it swept through the house. The neighborhood is quiet, relaxing, and very safe. It is a quick 5-7 minute walk to the most gorgeous clean beach I have ever been to! I would highly recommend this home without reservation. Some highlights from our trip include: Scuba Diving with Oahu Dive Center- I was extremely pleased with this dive company and felt Randy, the dive master, truly cared for others safety. Mary the shop owner was great; the entire staff was very friendly. Surf lessons with Hawaiian Fire- A bunch of handsome firemen and women on surfboards, what more could you ask for! We very much enjoyed our hike up Diamond Head, although it is very crowded and I suggest you do it early in the morning. Our visit to Pearl Harbor and USS Bowfin was perfectly timed. Others say to get there really early to avoid lines. Be prepared, you will wait no matter what time of the day it is. We went to a Lu'au at Paradise Cove. It is pricey; we got the up-graded package to have a plated meal vs. going to the buffet. The food was terrible, when I say bad I mean really bad, although we enjoyed the show immensely. The hike behind the property to the WWII bunkers is moderate in difficulty and the payoff when you get to the top is well worth the hike. Again, do this early in the morning. Our last nigh in Oahu we ate at Roy's in Hawaii 'Kai. The food and service was impeccable! The short ribs and butterfish are to dye for! I would recommend you most definitely put this restaurant on your list of places to eat.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Chris R. (Orange County, CA.)
    • Date of stay 06/01/08
    • Review Submitted 06/19/08
    Paradise. Great place to stay! Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but only a 25 minute ride from Honolulu Int'l airport. The house is nicely appointed and perfect for the beach. Nice open floor plan with plenty of windward exposure to take full advantage of the cooling trade winds. The views were incredible, picture postcard material. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. the house is only a short 5 minute walk from Lanikai Beach. My 31/2 and 7 year old girls loved the beach, no surf there, nice and calm. Lois and Curtis are excellent hosts. Lois is a wealth of info on local activities and a great reference on where to go and where to eat. Lois was able to loan us some boogie boards for the girls to use. The spa is a welcome retreat afetr a day at the beach. We felt very much at home in the house. Would definitely stay here again. Recommend visiting Hawaii Snow for shave ice. Ask Lois where it is. We have made great family memories at Lanikai Ocean View. Book the house, you won't be dissappointed. Thanks for a great stay, Lucy, Olivia, Chris and Nino Ruscitto

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great location to discover Oahu!

    Great location to discover Oahu!

    • Guest Northwesterner (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 04/30/08
    • Review Submitted 05/21/08
    We had a great time at this rental property. The location was as described and the property was clean and well maintained on our arrival. Lois, the owner, met us there and was very helpful during our stay. The kitchen and living room were spacious and comfortable but the deck and jacuzzi were definitely the high points. The views are unreal in the morning as you watch the sun rise over the Mokulua Islands. Our kids loved the jacuzzi and didn't want to get out. The kitchen had everything you need (toaster, microwave/conventional oven, refrigerator, and dishes). The house itself sits up on a hill so it's a somewhat of steep walk up the driveway from the main street but that was part of this place's appeal. Parking was challenging but doable if you want to park next to the house or you can just park at the bottom of the driveway on the street. You're about a 10 minute walk to Lanikai beach which is far superior to Waikiki and the town of Kailua is about a 10 minute drive so you can fill up the kitchen with stuff or go out to eat (lots of the chain places you're used to on the mainland but also some great local places). The single bathroom was not a problem for us (5 adults, 2 kids). There's also a fun hike up the hill right behind the house to some old world war II bunkers. Overall if you're looking for a great house with amazing views and access to a great beach and a quaint small town without the chaos of Honolulu (40 minutes away), check this place out!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 03/26/08
    It's a MUST place to stay in Oahu. Lois is great to work with - really wants to make your stay PERFECT (and Perfect it is). The house (more like a HOME) far exceeded my expectations. Forget Waikiki! The VIEW is truly BREATHTAKING. We visit our son frequently in Lanikai and never imagined the view from "up above." HEAVENLY! I even put Lois in my cell phone.....we will be back. MAHALO, Lois, from Carole and Jim (and our 84-year old friend, Betty)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/08
    • Review Submitted 01/15/08
    Great home! Spectacular view and a short walk to the beach. We love Lanikai and wanted to spend part of a family vacation there with our two sons (16 and 20). The house was perfect for leisurely mornings if one person was up early to read and others were sleeping, and great for nights with TV, games, a spacious living room. Everything in the home was perfect; nice furnishings, breathtaking view, and Kailua is only a few minutes drive away. We'd stay here again with or without our kids. nice place for a romantic week if you can get away without your children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Jonathan Mentzos (Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/11/07
    Thanks for the awesome place to stay. What an incredible view! We had a great time here with our family and we're already planning on coming back next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]