Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front view of cottage, porch with glider

La Dolce Vita 'the Sweet Life' [#147201] | View Property

Ashland
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
$1,400 - $4,000/mo US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Stay at La Dolce Vita

    Wonderful Stay at La Dolce Vita

    • Guest Cathy (Victoria, BC)
    • Date of stay 07/30/13
    • Review Submitted 08/03/13
    We had 4 great nights at this very nicely appointed cottage. It had everything we needed was nicely decorated and very private. The walk downhill to the Shakespeare festival took only about 10 - 15 minutes. JoAnn was a great host and went out of her way to take us to the airport when our shuttle didn't show up. I would highly recommend this rental and Ashland - a great spot! Things to do other than the theatre festival might be a wine tour (Applegate and Rogue Valleys); self-guided walking tour available from the front desk of the Ashland Springs Hotel; Lithia park

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming, comfortable, convenient

    Charming, comfortable, convenient

    • Guest Trish3465 (Ashland)
    • Date of stay 10/09/11
    • Review Submitted 06/12/12
    Last fall my company relocated its headquarters to Ashland. Not having time to find a new permanent place, I decided to rent a furnished vacation cottage and came across this wonderful property and decided to rent it sight unseen. A little nervous on my arrival I was pleasantly surprised that It was everything (and more) than I hoped for. It is in a wonderful and quiet neighborhood with fantastic views and literally a 5-7 minute walk from downtown. If you venture down the road you can make a loop by Lithia park or further up the hill, you can find wonderful trails to hike. It is comfortably furnished and well appointed in the decor and amenities. The owners/hosts are friendly, attentive to your needs and welcoming, but also very respectful of your privacy. The peaceful setting and wonderful sunrises were a treat every single day. I loved sitting on the front porch with my coffee watching as deer wandered through the yard and listening to the the birds chirp in the trees. I enjoyed my stay so much. I know there are a lot of places in Ashland to choose from, but I feel this place and spot in one of the best. You will love it. It is a special place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ideal Cottage For Two

    Ideal Cottage For Two

    • Guest Kathy (Fresno, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/20/11
    • Review Submitted 06/27/11
    My husband and I decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary in Ashland and chose this property. We were delighted to find it exactly as represented in its listing/photos. It was private, immaculate, cosy and conveniently located. The outside deck was delightful for our dinners, equipped with a gas barbecue. The owners, Jo Ann and Russ, were very helpful in answering all our questions. Jo Ann is an amazing fabric artist, whose work is on display at the lovely Ashland Arts Center. The Ashland Shakespeare Festival is a short distance down the hill, where we enjoyed great theater. We tasted wines, rode bicycles on the Greenway, visited nearby historic Jacksonville and explored the wonderful shops on Main Street. Our first time in this area, and we were thoroughly captivated. We can highly recommend Pasta Piatti for lunches and dinners. We were impressed with Zoey's All Natural Ice Cream: try the Oregon Trail ice cream...it's the best! This property has it all and was a wonderful place to come home to after our daily adventures. Kitchen is fully functional, bathroom is BEAUTIFUL with a washer/dryer, lots of windows and light, books and movies made available by the owners. I enjoyed reading my Kindle in the window seat and seeing the deer nearby. Thanks, Jo Ann and Russ, for helping make our time in Ashland so enjoyable!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful month at La Dolce Vita

    Beautiful month at La Dolce Vita

    • Guest Kae (Claremont, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/02/11
    • Review Submitted 05/02/11
    I stayed at LDV for the month of April. I came for the Ashland Independent Film Festival, the Shakespeare Plays, and to just be in a beautiful town for a month. I have grown to love Ashland over the years of coming here each year and LDV made my long stay very comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. This cottage is ideal for 1 or 2 people and comfortable and cozy. It was cold and rainy most of the time so being indoors at this charming place was great. While sitting in the living room looking out the windows, I felt I was in a tree house because I could see all the beautiful trees against the skies. The house every modern and convenient amenities that one could ever need for a short or long stay. In addition, Joanne and Russ were very accommodating and hospitable and I appreciated it since I was there so long. I hope I will be able to return next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly Sweet!!!

    Truly Sweet!!!

    • Guest Marianne (Anacortes, Washington)
    • Date of stay 02/25/11
    • Review Submitted 02/28/11
    Don't let this gem pass you by: rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, wonderful floor plan, generous size kitchen and living room, with amazing views in a beautiful neighborhood. Your hosts, Russ and Jo Ann, are gracious and generous. We enjoyed being close to the campus of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, and enjoyed the short walk to see the shows and explore the shops and restaurants downtown. We had a blast and this beautiful cottage is truly sweet!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A jewel in Ashland

    A jewel in Ashland

    • Guest Dan and Georgia (Ukiah, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/12/10
    My wife and I recently spent 3 days at La Dolce Vita and found it charming, comfortable and quiet. All amenities are provided and the property is immaculate. The cottage is in a lovely section of Ashland and close to the town center. We enjoyed our time there very much, far more than would have been possible at any hotel. Russ and JoAnn are wonderful hosts and always there if you need them. We hope to return to La Dolce Vita and Ashland soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly the sweet life

    Truly the sweet life

    • Guest peacekim (Laguna Niguel, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/26/10
    This property is beautiful and comfortable. So much better than a hotel room. Clean, fresh, close to town. The owners were gracious hosts sharing their piece of the world with others. I highly recommend this charming cottage for anyone planning on visiting the Ashland area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Access to hiking trails and downtown, views of the hills and valley

    Access to hiking trails and downtown, views of the hills and valley

    • Guest ramblin' gal (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 07/07/10
    • Review Submitted 07/22/10
    Just loved this place, quiet, pretty, everything is so new and clean. A proper kitchen for cooking real meals! Hiking in all directions, just a few (3?) blocks to everything. The couple who own this place are next door, but it's totally private. They are there for you if anything goes wrong or you need any help. Can't believe what a great value this is (they have AC and large screen TV). I liked sitting on the front porch having breakfast each morning, then lacing up the hiking boots (get a hiking map from the Information kiosk in town) for a few miles, then home for a shower and wander into town for a play, a dinner, just a wander. We did the farmer's market on Saturday and shopped at the Co-op on First Street for great sandwiches. Thanks Russ - you're the best!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Convenient and Quiet

    Comfortable and Convenient and Quiet

    • Guest Paul (Alaska)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/16/10
    This pretty little cottage is just as nice as the photos in the website. Located just above downtown Ashland and the Shakespeare Festival, it is remarkaby quiet and free of traffic noise. It is in a lovely neighborhood of older homes with large old trees and beautiful gardens. The cottage is well maintained and is like-new inside and out thanks to the friendly and helpful owners Russ and Jo Ann. It is perfect for couples or single travelers seeking a peaceful escape. This cottage will be our first choice the next time we come to Ashland.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly recommended. We'll be back!

    Highly recommended. We'll be back!

    • Guest Bruce & Myra (Camas, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/10
    • Review Submitted 06/21/10
    My wife and I are vacation rental fans and we generally avoid hotels except for overnight stays. This property ranks as one of our favorites. It is like new, because it is new construction. There are no hints of cigarettes, cologne, or dryer sheets. The condition of the house, appliances and furnishings are near immaculate and well maintained. The all tile shower is very generously sized for a cottage. The front porch and the side patio offer a welcome choice of outdoor seating depending on the time of day and temperature. The side patio offers a peek-a-boo view of hills in the distance. The hilly streets provide brisk exercise if you chose to walk to town instead of drive. The owner couple seemed to be quality people and both were truly a delight to deal with. We would unhesitatingly recommend this property to friends and family interested in an Ashland stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very clean, Very new and Very comfortable!

    Very clean, Very new and Very comfortable!

    • Guest Lucy V. (San Jose, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/11/10
    This was our second stay at La Dolce Vita and won't be our last! Gorgeous views with well appointed amenities - this cottage has it all. We enjoyed a peaceful weekend in a comfortable bed with good quality bedding. The kitchen is well equipped and the furnishings are very tasteful. Within walking distance of downtown was a big plus for us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Jill Bailey (-)
    • Date of stay 12/14/09
    • Review Submitted 12/14/09
    Before I stepped foot into La Dolce Vita, I knew I'd enjoy my stay: Russ and Joann were gracious and accommodating from the very first conversation, and the pictures advertised painted the exact picture of what to expect. My hunch was right. The cottage is exquisite - neat and luxuriously casual (Ashland's style) - and its location is nestled ideally blocks above Ashland's best restaurants and shops, and blocks away from the city's beloved Lithia Park. And the view...morning or evening, La Dolce Vita's view of southern Oregon's foothills is serene and reassuring. White-tailed deer are daily sources of entertainment here, and the cottage's fireplace offers the final touch of cozy to this getaway. You'd be lucky to stay - enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Dan & Charlotte (-)
    • Date of stay 11/01/09
    • Review Submitted 11/01/09
    We had a wonderful stay here for the month. The home was perfect; cozy, warm (with it's fireplace:), well-appointed, ideal for a couple (young or old). Within a few days we were referring to our rental as our "home". Russ and JoAnn were very gracious hosts. Location was great; wonderful views, walking-distance to downtown, walking/hiking/running just out the front door. Without a doubt we would rent here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Russ5 (Los Gatos, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 07/25/09
    We had an excellent stay at La Dolce Vita - perfect for a couple's getaway. We were within walking distance to plays, restaurants, yet in a quiet neighborhood. We took advantage of the great mountain biking in the Ashland Watershed, just up hill. The place is in perfect condition, and we highly recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest John Evered (-)
    • Date of stay 07/07/09
    • Review Submitted 07/07/09
    Great place to stay -- perfect walking distance from the plays, quiet neighborhood, and the cottage itself was really comfortable. The Manzones were gracious and checked to make sure everything was going well. Highest recommendation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Pauline T. (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/11/09
    • Review Submitted 06/11/09
    The moment I walked into this stunning cottage, I knew I was in for a heavenly treat. I was VERY sad to leave when my 2-month stay ended, as everything about this place supported my need for a deep rest and relaxation--My experience at the cottage was many times beyond my initial expectation and I would love to return for another visit. A secret for future visitors: I wouldn't call this a cottage but more of a mini-chalet! Everything is extremely tastefully appointed, from the lovely furniture you see in the photos to the stunning stone shower place. La Dolce Vita is located in one of the best locations in town within a very easy, walking distance access (4 blocks or so) to the sweet downtown area with shops and theatre-- but also 2 blocks from a tremendous set of walking trails parallel to the most energy-filled park in the nation-- Lithia Park. The view is spectacular from the windows and even though the cottage is conveniently in town, it feels like you are nestled in a secluded location. I also really appreciated Russ and Jo Ann. The owners are lovely people and very courteous of my needs, not to mention that you can feel the loving attention they give to the cottage. Any one who gets to stay here is lucky, believe me. -- Pauline T.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great home for 5 months.

    Great home for 5 months.

    • Guest Bet-z (St. Louis)
    • Date of stay 01/10/09
    • Review Submitted 06/06/10
    I stayed in the cottage from January through May while I worked at OSF. It was cozy, comfortable, and even better than my own home. The owners are very helpful and great to work with. Everything went quite well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/30/08
    • Review Submitted 11/30/08
    My wife and I wanted to get a flavor of what beautiful Ashland had to offer. We wanted to stay in an area that was walking distance to town and all that it had to offer. A 5 minute walk down the hill to the town center and the Shakespeare Festival became a welcomed journey at the end of the day. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. Russ and Joann were the perfect hosts, and went overboard to make our stay comfortable. Very private and comfortable with a beautiful view of Ashland and the adjacent valley from the front porch was an excellent place to relax from the days activities. We stayed for 5 weeks and would recommend without reservation this lovely little home away from home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Darrell B.
    • Date of stay 08/22/08
    • Review Submitted 08/21/08
    What an amazing place to be! Thank you so much for creating this haven. We love it so and can't wait to come back. Thank you for being such terrific hosts.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Joe and Lorraine
    • Date of stay 08/22/08
    • Review Submitted 08/21/08
    A lovely oasis in the mountains of Ashland. Your hospitality was healing for us. We truly were able to realx in this quiet, comfortable home. Every wish we had for comforts of home were filled. Thank you for creating this. We felt "sheltered." We would recommend and definitely come back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Lauren Devereaux (-)
    • Date of stay 08/20/08
    • Review Submitted 08/20/08
    This is the sweetest vacation rental! It may be a one bedroom cottage but it is not short on space. It's a perfectly cozy house with wonderful views of Ashland, and if you're up for it a short walk into downtown. We had a great time and will definitely check for availablity next time we visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest roger C1 (nashville)
    • Date of stay 08/04/08
    • Review Submitted 08/04/08
    Like my own private mountain villa...peaceful, incredible views..every amenity that I needed. Russ and Joann were like little elves appearing when I needed them and gone when I didn't. Stayed in other houses in Ashland... none of them compared to this.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/11/08
    • Review Submitted 04/11/08
    Our best ever vacation rental! We truly felt 'at home' in your lovely, peaceful, comfortable haven. Everything was perfect and we did, indeed, enjoy La Dolce Vita. You were most attentive, accommodating hosts and we greatly look forward to a return visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/26/08
    • Review Submitted 03/26/08
    What a charming house ! Beautiful accomodations, gracious hosts, and the plays of Shakespeare ! Couldn't ask for more, and can't wait to come back ! Thank you for a wonderful visit !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest lmmiller101 (-)
    • Date of stay 02/24/08
    • Review Submitted 02/24/08
    We really enjoyed our stay. It was comfortable, warm, very clean, in a great location. We'll definitely stay again and would highly recommend the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Brandie 1 (Santa Rosa, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/22/08
    • Review Submitted 02/22/08
    The home was beautiful and super cozy. Views were amazing and we were there to experience Ashland however we never wanted to leave the house! Will definitely be back. Also, owner's were very accommodating...we didn't arrive until 11:00pm and they greeted us warmly upon arrival. Thank you!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]