Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Cottage

The Cottage at Shepherdstown [#147702] | View Property

Shepherdstown
4 Bedroom/1 Bathroom, sleeps 7
$150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Excellent location, great little house!

    Excellent location, great little house!

    • Guest Eitan G.
    • Date of stay 09/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/23/13
    Fantastic location, just a few minutes walking distance from downtown restaurants, shops, parks, and hiking/biking along the Potomac River. House was clean, cozy, and comfortable, filled with everything we needed to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. Kitchen was especially well-appointed. With five adults sharing a single bathroom, some coordination was needed, but it wasn't a problem and we never felt crowded. Owner was a pleasure to deal with, extremely responsive and accommodating.

    Owner response: Thank you Eitan. We loved having you and look forward to seeing you in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stepping back in time

    Stepping back in time

    • Guest Chagrinites (Chagrin Falls, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 11/28/12
    The good points about the house include the following: great location to town and tow path, nice fenced yard for doggie, plenty of linens and towels, well stocked kitchen, and the owner was friendly and responsive . Some cons are as follows : small and tight, way too much stuff like pillows, books, and nick nacks, mustiness that comes with an old house, dining table in front room had only room for three. I would not recommend this place for more than three people (we had six and having one bathroom put us behind schedule most days) nor to anyone who has allergies or asthma, too musty. Otherwise the area is fabulous for history,and biking etc.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners.

    Owner response: Don, So glad you and your family enjoyed our wonderful town. I make it a priority to always discuss the accomodations with parties of 5 or more, (as we did at length) to make sure that the sleeping arrangements are satisfactory for everyone. With the addition of the 6th person to your party, it appears that it was a bit tight for you! The beauty of vacation rentals is that no two are alike, and it is important to match your rental with your own personal expectations. I believe my pictures online are accurate, and show all the pillows, books and decorative pieces in detail, including the dining table (which can seat 6 when pulled out from the window), We advertise ourelves as a cottage, and most people find my home cozy and comfortable, and enjoy the wide variety of books and memorabilia. I think it is all a matter of what you are comfortable with, and wish you all the best in future vacation renting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Wonderful Thanksgiving weekend

    Wonderful Thanksgiving weekend

    • Guest Eliot (Washington DC)
    • Date of stay 11/24/11
    • Review Submitted 12/02/11
    The location of the Cottage can't be beat if you are interested in taking advantage of downtown Shepherdstown. The house is charming and fully stocked with everything you could need. And the owners made us feel very welcome. Little extras made a big difference-- for example, there were lots of good quality towels, there is a dishwasher and disposal which makes cooking and cleaning up easy, and the gas grill is a top-of-the-line Weber. Would definitely go back.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • The Cottage was Awesome!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The Cottage was Awesome!

    • Guest Peter Lewis
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    Me, my brother, and our parents stayed for 3 days on Memorial day weekend. The Cottage 's rooms were so cool! I LOVED the dollhouse upstairs; I took lots of pictures. It was cozy and perfect weather. Walking around Shepherdstown's main street was so fun; the food was great!. The swings were wonderful, especially when it was raining! We saw Antietam and had a great time. It felt good to come home to the little house after a long day. (Guest, age 12-13)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Heat Wave! But the AC Works!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Heat Wave! But the AC Works!

    • Guest Patricia Barter
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 06/01/11
    We enjoyed our three-night stay at the Cottage, having everything we needed - and more. Loved looking at all the books and mementos from places. What a convenient location too. Tell people about O'Hurley's, especially the Thursday evening jam session - open to all 7-10 pm. Thank you for your generosity and obvious kindness.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely Cottage!

    Lovely Cottage!

    • Guest Julie (Alexandria, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 08/30/10
    We came to Shepherdstown for a bridal party get-together last weekend and stayed at The Cottage. It was a truly lovely night. There was plenty of room for all 7 of us, and we were able to walk right downtown to the restaurants (5 minutes away). The pantry was well-stocked and, though we brought our own food, the kitchen had everything we could have possibly needed, from cheese knives to serving trays and bowls to wine glasses. One of the bedrooms has an absolutely amazing dollhouse appointed with the cutest miniature furniture - we had lots of fun looking at it! The fenced backyard with ample seating is perfect for chatting under the stars at night, and there is a little playground adjacent to the church next door that would be great for families with children. I couldn't have asked for anything more, and the owner was so nice and accommodating even when we showed up an hour early for check-in hoping to get our cake out of the hot car. I would absolutely stay here again and I highly recommend the Cottage.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Why stay at a hotel?

    Why stay at a hotel?

    • Guest shodan2000 (Charleston, WV)
    • Date of stay 07/30/10
    • Review Submitted 08/03/10
    Stayed at The Cottage during our visit to the Contemporary American Theater Festival. The location is ideal, everything is within walking distance, and the owners have thought of everything - from the stocked kitchen pantry to the pet food and water bowls! Wish we could have stayed longer

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Why stay at a hotel?

    Why stay at a hotel?

    • Guest shodan2000 (Charleston, WV)
    • Date of stay 07/30/10
    • Review Submitted 08/03/10
    Stayed at The Cottage during our visit to the Contemporary American Theater Festival. The location is ideal, everything is within walking distance, and the owners have thought of everything - from the stocked kitchen pantry to the pet food and water bowls! Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Fourth of July!

    Great Fourth of July!

    • Guest Christine (Sterling, VA)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    The Shepardstown Cottage was charming, comfortable and clean! We spent the 4th of July weekend with our 3 dogs, they loved the fully fenced in yard...we enjoyed sitting under the umbrella watching them run. The house was so clean and the owner certainly has the hospitality touch. Everything you needed was provided! Each room had it's own personality and charm. The weather was very hot, but the whole cottage was very cool and comfortable. We will definitly be back!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We were charmed

    We were charmed

    • Guest Maia (Miami, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/20/10
    • Review Submitted 06/25/10
    From the beautiful decor to the well-stocked pantry we were completely charmed. The photos do not do it justice. It is an older home so the spaces are smaller but it was clean, comfortable and cozy. We found it very well maintained. We walked to dinner at a Thai restaurant in Shepherdstown one night and cooked a wonderful meal the next, talking together outside under the stars until late. We were 5 adults (3 young, 2 not-so) and everyone felt comfortable. We were able to do some white-water kayaking near-by and visit Antietam and Harper's Ferry. The grocery store was close by, too. We would definitely recommend the Cottage as a place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming town, spotlessly clean well appointed cottage!

    Charming town, spotlessly clean well appointed cottage!

    • Guest Jean Van Dyke (Silver Spring)
    • Date of stay 06/16/10
    • Review Submitted 06/20/10
    Our family of four plus small dog enjoyed Shepherdstown. The C & O canal is easy access from cottage with bikes making for 4 days of fantastic biking. Easy walking distance to restaurants, movie, shops (rented one bike) and exploring historic architecture. Can't wait to return, owner has made every effort for hospitable visit in her lovely home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sheperdstown Cottage

    Sheperdstown Cottage

    • Guest fcforce (Telford, PA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    My husband and I stayed here for a few days with our two small dogs, who were very welcome at the cottage (they had a great time!). Easy walk into town, which was quaint and low key. Loved the fenced yard, and the overall charm of the cottage. I would easily recommend it to others. It's a great alternative to a hotel, which always lack that "special something". Nieltje was a very gracious hostess, and made sure we were very comfortable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Sheperhstown Cottage

    Sheperhstown Cottage

    • Guest fcforce (Telford, PA)
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    My husband and I stayed here for a few days with our two small dogs, who were very welcome at the cottage (they had a great time!). Easy walk into town, which was quaint and low key. Loved the fenced yard, and the overall charm of the cottage. I would easily recommend it to others. It's a great alternative to a hotel, which always lack that "special something". Nieltje was a very gracious hostess, and made sure we were very comfortable.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Joanne S. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/03/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our winter holiday stay in The Cottage at Shepherdstown, West Virginia. The house is perfectly situated to enjoy walks through town without using the car. Lots of nice shops and restaurants are an easy stroll away. We were allowed to bring our pets, which made our vacation so much nicer. The yard is fenced in front and back. The cottage is cozy and well furnished with everything we needed and more. The beds are SO comfortable, we slept very well. We look forward to visiting again in the spring or summer and would recommend this cottage highly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • I hate to let this secret out...

    I hate to let this secret out...

    • Guest ShepUMom (Boston)
    • Date of stay 07/16/09
    • Review Submitted 07/22/09
    We had a wonderful stay at this charming, well-appointed, lovely decorated cottage and are already booked for several more stays. The location in easy walking distance to all the college, shops and wonderful restaurants of Shepherdstown was great, and despite being on the 'main road' (by small-town standards) the house was VERY quiet. The owner has very thoughtfully provided many touches that make the stay very comfortable. Kudos to the housekeeping staff as it was immaculate upon arrival and well stocked with everything needed. We hated to leave and can't wait to come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Tony P. (Weiton, WV)
    • Date of stay 07/03/09
    • Review Submitted 07/03/09
    My family, wife and twin 14 year old daughters enjoyed the cottage. We were close to Antietam and Harpers Ferry. The twins went shopping at Shepherdstown on their own. Saw Shepherd College. This hoise is comfortable and kitchen is well stocked. Recommend highly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/01/08
    • Review Submitted 10/01/08
    Good location in downtown Shepherdstown. Large house with multiple rooms. Updated bathroom and kitchen. Internet access. Would stay there again. Steve A.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]