Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Yard and back of house

The Art Cottage - Only Half Mile from Downtown [#148060] | View Property

Nevada City
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 3)
$125 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (45)

Sort by:
  • Fun house for a girl's weekend.

    Fun house for a girl's weekend.

    • Guest Anni (Pacifica, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    I stayed at the art cottage last weekend with my girlfriends. We really enjoyed exploring Nevada City (such a cute town) and it was great to come back to a beautiful, comfortable home. It was nice having two bathrooms and we definitely made use of the kitchen. The outdoor space was very peaceful. There were special touches all over the house and it was a very inspiring place. Connie made booking easy and was very accommodating. We had such a great time we hope to made it a yearly trip!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a magical place...

    What a magical place...

    • Guest Zack D.
    • Date of stay 09/07/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    This cottage is simply put; magical. Everywhere you look there are beautiful creative details to the home. From the pressed flowers and feathers in the painted walls of the bathroom, to the tasteful artwork on the walls. My sweetheart and I arranged a romantic getaway weekend to Nevada City (one of the most romantic towns in California) and this home was a fantastic part of the experience. Connie was very kind and accommodating and the booking was easy and flexible. I highly recommend this wonderful vacation home. Book it!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This is the coolest place I've ever been.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This is the coolest place I've ever been.

    • Guest Rita
    • Date of stay 08/22/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Thank you!!!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thank you!!!

    • Guest Arial
    • Date of stay 08/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    We loved your house of beauty and creativity and enjoyed all the colors, shapes and art. A magical place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a wonderful cottage!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a wonderful cottage!

    • Guest Kathy
    • Date of stay 08/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    So beautifully decorated. We definitely want to return and spend more time. Thank you for this experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wedding weekend

    Wedding weekend

    • Guest durango guest (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/24/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    We had a great weekend at the art cottage! My husband, myself, my 8 week old infant, and sister stayed for a long weekend while attending a wedding in Nevada City! The art cottage was clean and well located, and bigger than I expected! With three adults and a baby we had plenty of room. We really enjoyed the decor and the back yard as well. The only reason I wouldn't give it an "excellent" rating is that we were charged a higher rate because of the "third" adult staying there...I thought it was a little strange to advertise a 2 bedroom then charge more if the second bedroom is in use? This has never happened to me in the past with VRBO, more what I would expect from a hotel. Also there was a little note on the counter when we arrived-thought it would be a description of the area or something but it was only outlining how to keep the place clean, the dishes must be washed, etc. There was a similar note in the grill outlining how you must clean after each use. I felt a little scolded. Otherwise it was a great place in a beautiful location- would definitely stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Sitting on the deck

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Sitting on the deck

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/22/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    Loved the morning, sitting on the deck sipping coffee with the one I love, listening to West montgomery. What could be nicer?

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Lovely

    • Guest Eugene & Martin
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    Lovely, lovely and convenient and rejuvenating respite.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Colorful

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Colorful

    • Guest Ben & Marci, Penryn, CA
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    We enjoyed our night away. Loved the colors of the cottage. Thank you for sharing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • No more drab hotels

    Guest comment entered by owner

    No more drab hotels

    • Guest Lynn & Gary from the Big Island
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    We enjoyed the art, color, textures, design and details everywhere. Obviously completing the cottage was a long project filled with love and exceitment. It has so many aspects with comfort and convenience. After out stay we'll dread drab hotels.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wedding stay

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Wedding stay

    • Guest Maryann & Bryan
    • Date of stay 06/08/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    This was the prefect headquarters to our wedding party. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you for creating an awesome little cottage

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Relaxing

    • Guest Hiro
    • Date of stay 06/07/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    Thank you for a relaxing time, we love this place. We'll be back again

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love the artwork

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Love the artwork

    • Guest Ann & Bob
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    A great place to stay and have a place of our own and have friends visit as well. So easy to live in and use. Thanks. Love all the artwork too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bamboo garden

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Bamboo garden

    • Guest Ben & Tamara
    • Date of stay 05/29/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    We enjoyed visiting with family on the back deck. Loved the bamboo in the garden. A nice relaxing visit from the Florida heat. Can't wait to come back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love it

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Love it

    • Guest from Germany
    • Date of stay 05/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    We loved the house and there's so much to see in the area.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Living in the art

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Living in the art

    • Guest Suzanne, Peggy & Sandra
    • Date of stay 05/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    Here for our friends 50th birthday celebration....loved it! The music, the art and the wonderful town to explore. The sense of living in the art was awesome and we loved it!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Get inspired

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Get inspired

    • Guest Katherine
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    After a busy week of working at a Preservation Conference, I couldn't wait to "come home" to The Art Cottage. What a wonderful place to decompress and get inspired. Thank you for sharing your creativity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful country

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful country

    • Guest Karen & Scott
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful county and hope to return soon despite the deluge of rain, some snow and freezing temperatures.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Get inspired

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Get inspired

    • Guest Katherine
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 06/19/13
    After a busy week of working at a Preservation Conference, I couldn't wait to "come home" to The Art Cottage. What a wonderful place to decompress and get inspired. Thank you for sharing your creativity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lucille & John
    • Date of stay 04/25/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    This place has great ju ju: restorative, relaxing, regenerating, invigorating.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Thomas
    • Date of stay 03/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    So much more than we imagined - a perfect place - comfortable and we loved the decor, art and colors. we hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Natalie & Douglas, Marin County
    • Date of stay 03/07/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    We couldn't have asked for a ;more peaceful and relaxing stay. All the extra touches are just delightful: the convenience of booking, the location. I just can't say enough about it, it's simply wonderful. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Melissa, David & Cooper
    • Date of stay 02/14/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    The Art Cottage was a beautiful relaxing way to spend Valentine's ay and Mardi Gras. We had a blast. Everything was perfect.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gloria & Burt, Sacramentno
    • Date of stay 02/11/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    Thank you for providing such a beautiful place to stay. We came to Nevada CIty to meet with some artists and this was a perfect place for that. Wonderful art! Wonderful colors! The kitchen is fabulous too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest J
    • Date of stay 02/06/10
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    Thank you for the wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. What an inspirational place to fine your creative muse1 All the comforts of home in a lovely setting.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Karen
    • Date of stay 12/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    Our family spent the Christmas holidays here and we had a wonderful, joyous time. The cottage is comfortable and a happy place to be. You have inspired us to go home and fill the house with wonderful surprises!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Debbie, Reno
    • Date of stay 06/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    Such a charming, adorable, comfortable cottage. Loved spending time here after each day at the Yuba IRver. I hope to return in the fall.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Bryants
    • Date of stay 05/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    We found the cottage to have everything we needed for a much needed weekend away from the Bay Area. Loved the porch and the garden too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Carol & Melissa
    • Date of stay 04/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    A jewel, inside and out. We will definitely be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kenneth & Kiyena from Sweden
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/10
    This place really hit the spot for us to come and recharge.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Juliana & Carl Greenhalgh
    • Date of stay 10/27/08
    • Review Submitted 10/26/08
    Perfect is the word to describe our say in your Art Cottage. We were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary and my 46th birthday and we most likely will make this a tradition. We will be talking about this experience for some time. Thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris & Angela
    • Date of stay 10/19/08
    • Review Submitted 10/18/08
    Absolutely beautiful house! Wonderful attention to detail in every room. We were constantly finding new things to look at and point out to each other. We have loved being here and will definitely be back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest F,D, J & D
    • Date of stay 09/17/08
    • Review Submitted 09/16/08
    Beautiful cozy cottage. Very unique with lots of personality. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Emily & friends:The Bachelorettes
    • Date of stay 06/22/08
    • Review Submitted 06/21/08
    Wow! We love this place! So unique and fabulous. We had a wonderful time and an awesome bachelorette weekend get-away. Thanks for sharing your space and wine with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jan Rogers
    • Date of stay 06/18/08
    • Review Submitted 06/17/08
    This is the coolest place we have ever stayed!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Pat Call
    • Date of stay 06/11/08
    • Review Submitted 06/10/08
    What a lovely, enchanted cottage. It's like a fairy land! Everything is alive and beautiful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Phyllis Elliott& Dave Kinsel
    • Date of stay 05/27/08
    • Review Submitted 05/26/08
    What a wonderful home. This was the most relaxed visit we've had in 10 years of sojourning to this area to visit our daughter and family. Thank you! Thank you! The garden was so enjoyable. Every detail was lovely. Color, color, color. I was a happy woman.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jodi Selene & John Mortimer
    • Date of stay 04/22/08
    • Review Submitted 04/21/08
    We stayed here for three weeks while waiting for our house to be renovated. This was such a delightful and charming place to be. the colorful and whimsical art is so much fun! So inspiring! I love the master bathroom! Thank you for your creativity.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amanda & Bruce
    • Date of stay 04/03/08
    • Review Submitted 04/02/08
    What a beautiful house and garden! Your master bath walls are positively luminous. We were here long enough to enjoy your art books too.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Suzanne & Robert
    • Date of stay 03/30/08
    • Review Submitted 03/29/08
    This was spacious, colorful and comfortable. We've stayed at B&Bs up here; this is a lot more fun and versatile.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jennifer & Christy
    • Date of stay 01/02/08
    • Review Submitted 01/01/08
    The cottage was everything we hope for and more. Thanks so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Stacey & Andy
    • Date of stay 11/25/07
    • Review Submitted 11/24/07
    We love the peace and quiet. What an amazing space you have created. Thanks for sharing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Eda
    • Date of stay 11/04/07
    • Review Submitted 11/03/07
    Thank you! It's great to be surrounded by such a vibrant collection of color, art and creative space. I'll be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mary & family
    • Date of stay 10/27/07
    • Review Submitted 10/26/07
    We really enjoyed our stay at the lovely art cottage. We hope to return again and will certainly recommend this house to our friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/09/07
    • Review Submitted 10/09/07
    What a great idea and a lovely home. Will be contacting an artist friend to see if they want to share accomidation for a month.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]