Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Studio,Apt 1 Mile from Manh,$125 a Night,Great Reviews [#148158] | View Property

Other Manhattan Properties
House, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
$125/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (59)

Sort by:
  • Short first time stay in New York City pre-Christmas

    Short first time stay in New York City pre-Christmas

    • Guest Grandma Janet (Templestowe, Australia)
    • Date of stay 12/18/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/14
    What a lovely apartment to stay in for a few days on our first trip to New York City. The apartment is absolutely spotless and contains everything that would be provided in a four-star hotel room. It was very convenient to transport to take us into the heart of Manhattan and the local delis were a great source of quick and cheap meals. Leon and his wife were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again next time we visit New York. It was great to have a quiet place to return to in the evening after shopping and sightseeing. WIFI and cable TV excellent.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Excelent place to stay

    Excelent place to stay

    • Guest kiazack (Madrid)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/14/13
    Very comfortable aparment to stay for a short or long trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect place for an extending stay

    Perfect place for an extending stay

    • Guest Martha A.
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/02/13
    This apartment was perfect for our extended stay in the Bronx area. We were four adults and glad we didn’t find ourselves on top of each other since the apartment had ample square footage. Apartment was as described and we all slept very comfortably in our queen beds (one firm, one plush). Apartment was clean and stocked with toiletries and a few other essentials. Leon was a very polite and professional and very attentive to our needs. We greatly appreciated his availability since our visit was for a specific purpose. We found 24-hr public transportation conveniently blocks away from the apartment. The BX41 (one block down the street) took us to the Hub where we caught the 2 and 5 train. Coming back from the Hub, the BX41 leaves you directly in front of the apartment. Three blocks away we caught the BX6 which left us directly in front of Yankee Stadium for an evening game. We also decided to rent a car for a couple of days and found that free parking was not difficult to find right in front of the apartment. Nearby we found a supermarket, delis, restaurants and a Laundromat that we visited a couple of times during our stay. The neighborhood is okay and we had many late nights (1-2 am) but never did we feel worrisome walking to and from the Hub. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would stay here again. Thank you Leon for being a gracious host!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Very Clean and Comfortable Stay in the Bronx

    Very Clean and Comfortable Stay in the Bronx

    • Guest Valerie D.
    • Date of stay 08/08/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    My two teenagers and I spent 6 nights in this apt. The descriptions you have read are accurate. We walked to and from the subway station daily and walked from the apt to a daytime Yankees game. It was warm so ran the A/C and overhead fan all night which blocked out street noise. Passed the Met Market each evening on way home from touring and found all the groceries for our needs (Continental breakfasts - did not cook but apt was well equipted.) Felt safe in the neighborhood - we weren't out after dark. Had pizza delivered on night..there were lots of menus left from former guests to choose from. Only thing lacking was a table lamp for both the small dining table and bedside table for reading in the evening. (Teens liked watching Netflicks and Yankee games televised.) It would have been nice to have some instructions for checkout - we left trashed bagged up but could have easily taken it outside. I would recommend this apt to anyone with older children or adults.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Midwesterners

    Midwesterners

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    We were looking for a reasonable priced property in/close to the heart of NYC and we came upon this place. Working with Leon was quick and easy no problems at all. He helped us gather our bags off the busy street and then he parked our car in the locked parking spot. The apartment was very clean, good sized and fully stocked. He showed us around the apt, how to work the tv (it had everything) and visited with us shortly about how to get around. We did walk to a day Yankees game but chose not to walk around at night. We didn't use any additional transportation as we cut our stay short. Upon leaving we met his wife who also was very pleasant and helpful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great place for the money

    Great place for the money

    • Guest CD (Springfield, OH USA)
    • Date of stay 06/02/13
    • Review Submitted 06/08/13
    This apartment in the Bronx was a great deal for the money. I’ll try to break down my review by describing the owners, the apartment, then the neighborhood. First of all, Leon and his wife are the nicest people you would want to rent from. Leon wasn’t there when we arrived, but his wife was and she was ready with the keys and let us into the apartment and took the time to explain everything about the apartment and how to get around the city. Leon came home later and helped me move my car (in a heavy rainstorm) to the free space he mentioned. They genuinely seemed to be trustworthy and I would not hesitate to rent from them. As far as the apartment is concerned, it was exactly as described. It’s about the size of a medium size hotel room. The place was clean and had dishes, linens, and everything you would need for the week. As other reviewers mentioned, there was some street noise, but it wasn’t enough to keep me up at night. In fact, the beds were comfortable and I got a good night’s rest. As mentioned earlier, there was free off street parking behind a locked gate for the car for the week. If you have a car, I would highly recommend parking it for the week and taking public transportation. It’s worth it. If you do this, realize that you won’t have immediate access to use your car whenever you want it. However, I was able to get it out with no problems when ready to leave. As far as the neighborhood, it was OK. There were stores and delis nearby as described, and a Met Foodmarket 2-3 blocks away that I went to for groceries. We didn’t go to any of the local restaurants or stores. The subway was 10 blocks (a 10 minute walk) away and a Metro North train was about 3-4 blocks away (maybe 5-10 minutes away). The 41 bus was used to come home a couple of nights. Two other nights, we walked from the subway, once at 11:30 and another after 9:00. We were never approached or threatened at all, but the farther away you got from the apartment, the more the neighborhood seemed run down. Probably much better than a lot of New York neighborhoods, but run down in comparison to what we’re used to in the Midwest. There seems to be regular police patrols in the area, in addition to a nearby fire station, so I think that offsets the "rundown” feel of the neighborhood. All in all, I would stay here again if I had the same budget. Leon and his wife are great, and once you get used to the subway, you can get to anywhere in New York in reasonable time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Affordable, clean apartment close to Manhattan - perfect for 4 people!

    Affordable, clean apartment close to Manhattan - perfect for 4 people!

    • Guest Cyndi R. (Wakefield)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    This past weekend, my sister and I took my niece and a friend to NY to celebrate her 16th birthday. We opted to stay slightly outside of Manhattan to save some money (for shopping!). We found this little gem in the Bronx walking distance to a train that takes you right into Time Square. The walk was about 10 minutes and the train ride was another 10-15 minutes. The neighborhood was safe for an evening walk from the train (even for those late nights after shows/dinner). The owner was the perfect host - accommodating our early arrival and graciously opening the door late at night when we couldn't get in (I had trouble with the key and didn't wiggle it enough). The owner was very approachable and communicative. Prior to arrival, he answered all of my random questions about the apartment's amenities and location. The apartment was clean and stocked with toiletries and household supplies. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • NYC as it is

    NYC as it is

    • Guest Rosiep (Las Vegas NV)
    • Date of stay 05/16/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    I must say that the place was very nice and clean. The listing was accurate regarding the location and the owner was very helpfull answering all my questions. I did not visit any nearby activities, attractions or restaurant, but if you want to feel the real new york city heart beat, this is the place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Homebase

    Perfect Homebase

    • Guest Connie L.
    • Date of stay 05/08/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    This South Bronx apartment was perfect for our week in NYC. We walked to the Metro and rode the #2 to anywhere we wanted to go. When we got home late, we hopped on the #41 bus and it dropped us right in front of our door. After a busy day of site seeing, living in a neighborhood of ordinary people going about their day to day business was a welcome relief. The apartment was small and simple, but clean and adequate for all of our needs. There is a nice grocery store just down the street and a couple of deli/convenience stores close by. Leon was kind, helpful, easy to reach, and quick to respond.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • my review

    my review

    • Guest Juergen R.
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/26/13
    The location was found as described on the website, located in a safe and good environment. It was well equipped with all items necessary for a nice stay, including kitchen, bedroom and bath. The only issue that was found a bit weak that there was no chance to darken the windows and to reduce the noise from the street in front of the property. Altogether a nice stay und good location for a one-week stay in NYC.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Last Minute Birthday Get-Away

    Last Minute Birthday Get-Away

    • Guest Sunflower (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/26/13
    • Review Submitted 04/30/13
    The apartment was originally selected and Leon was very personable and assuring that the stay would be exactly what I was looking for in my weekend get-away. It was walking distance to the main train stop, but we were able to figure out the bus/transfer situation by the next morning. The apartment was better than the last 2 Manhattan hotels I stayed in for 3 times the price. We didn't hang out in the Bronx, but we were all over the city and it didn't take too long to get anywhere. The beds were very comfortable!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Pleasant stay

    Pleasant stay

    • Guest Bob (South Pasadena California)
    • Date of stay 04/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/15/13
    After reading the reviews we decided to book this place. After knowing exactly where it was in the Bronx , I was still apprehensive especially when my daughter who lives in New York told me that it is a rough area. But it turned out to be a really pleasant stay. The listing description were accurate, the property very clean and well- maintained. With 3 children we felt safe. The bus stop was nearby that tAkes us to the subway. You can walk 2 blocks to a 24 hour store/ deli for great and cheap hot sandwiches and burgers. We would definitely recommend this property to everyone. Thanks again to the owner for a wonderful stay.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Girls Weekend in The City!

    Girls Weekend in The City!

    • Guest Brook C.
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/13/13
    We've been to the city a few times and have usually stayed in a hotel in NJ to avoid the pricey Manahattan hotels. But staying at this place in the Bronx was perfect. The apartment was clean, well stocked, and in a great location. The pictures give an accurate snapshot of the space and furnishings. We arrived late on Friday night but there were plenty of nearby convenience stores that were within walking distance for us to grab some sandwiches and staples for the weekend. The subway is about 10 blocks from the apartment, which is about a 10 minute walk but with all the work being done on the subways that stop has been temporarily closed on the weekends - however, there were buses running into the city and to other subway stations in the Bronx which made it just as convenient and easy to get in and out of the Bronx and Manhattan any time of day. Parking was on the street, Leon was leaving for work and was nice enough to give us his space but there were other spaces available nearby - so, parking wouldn't have been an issue. Leon was great, like I said he was leaving for work, but he took the time to show us around, have us check to make sure the apartment was up to my expectations/standards, and point out the nearby grocery stores/shops and safe places to park to avoid getting a ticket if we decided to move our car. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone planning to visit the city - if you are a Yankees fan this would be the place to stay when you want to catch a game! Thanks Leon for a great weekend :)

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Just Visiting

    Just Visiting

    • Guest Kenya H.
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    The studio matches the pictures exactly. It was clean and conveniently located. There's a parking garage around the corner and limited street parking. Yankee stadium is walking distance, but it is at least a 10 to 15 minute walk and I do not suggest it during the cold weather months. I would suggest that the partially used items in the apartment be discarded between visitors and the entry instructions be sent via e-mail as per the confirmation e-mail says. There was a half full bottle of juice in the fridge and half used soaps and shampoos in bathroom. My suggestion would be to purchase travel size and single serve items to accomodate guests who need to use these things.Of course there is a store located on the corner so guests can purchase thier own items if needed. Although, I did not recieve the cleaning fee discount as promised, I was not charged an extra full night for an early morning arrival. Leon and his wife are very hospitable and nice people. I would recommend this property to friends and relatives.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Owner response: First off let me start by thanking you for staying at my vacation rental and you was happy with your overall stay and are willing to make recommendation. I will like to respond to your review in order 1) Limited street parking is true on the streets. That's why I offer free parking to all guest who are not moving their cars daily in my backyard. 2) Yankee stadium is 7 blocks from the house how fast you get there would depend on how fast you walk 15 minutes to walk 7 block is a bit excessive unless your walking really really slow. 3) Yes its true New York City in winter is a cold place some days colder than others. The weather, I am not sure I can change even though I would like to sometimes :) 4)The cleaning lady throws out everything after each guest I am unsure how that happened, soaps are very cheap and I buy them by the dozens so each guest can have a new one. I don't like travel size soaps so I give people regular size soaps, a new one for each guest. The half of orange juice I spoke to the cleaning lady and she said it was an accident it wasn't removed but the refrigerator was cleaned. 5) Yes I promised not to charge you the $75 cleaning fee but you arrived at 2:00am that day. I had two choices charge you $125 for the extra night or charge you $75 cleaning fee. I choose the lesser of the two amounts and did not charge you for the extra night. In all I am happy for all guest reviews it shows that all reviews are honest and made by actual guest and they are not tampered with in anyway. I will always work hard at trying to have a better place for each new guest on arrival this work is never done.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Highly recommend this property

    Highly recommend this property

    • Guest BORIS J.
    • Date of stay 12/29/12
    • Review Submitted 01/05/13
    The apartment was very clean and spacious. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner Leon and there was a bouquet of red roses on the table. Leon was very helpful and accomodating. The apartment is only a few blocks from the subway station and getting to Manhattan takes only 15-20 min.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Location & hospitality!

    Great Location & hospitality!

    • Guest Kristin s.
    • Date of stay 12/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/04/13
    As others said, this location is great. Walk to Subway to get you anywhere in NY! Owner was responsive to all of our needs. Accomodations were clean and we had everything we needed. Appreciate being able to stay far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but glad we could get there when we needed to. THanks, Leon for everything! We will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place minutes from Manhattan!

    Great place minutes from Manhattan!

    • Guest Anne (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 12/08/12
    • Review Submitted 12/23/12
    Place was great! Everything we needed was there. Very safe place. Even coming back from the subway after midnight, I never felt I wasn't safe. Definitely will go back when I go back to New York City. Will recommend to friends also. Leon was great. He even texted a few days into the stay to check on me since I hadn't asked any questions the first few days of my stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • GREAT STAY

    GREAT STAY

    • Guest LAURA (O'FALLON / MO)
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    Great place to stay. Plenty of room and very clean. Leon and his wife were very helpful with any questions we had. Close to subway and bus stop. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • dvanterpool

    dvanterpool

    • Guest Dav (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/31/12
    I had the pleasure of staying here for my uncle's funeral. It was short notice and I needed a place to stay ASAP with my wife and child. A friend of mine referred me to Leon's apartment rental knowing my situation. It was better than I expected. The apartment was very clean and in an ideal location. Leon was very helpful and the rental had everything that one could need. I would definitely recommend this rental, it is clean, economical, good service and in an ideal location. Thank you Leon for having us on such short notice.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • NYC trip

    NYC trip

    • Guest Paula (Anaheim, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 10/20/12
    Apartment was just like advertised. Very clean and cozy. Leon and his wife are very friendly and helpful. Subway entrance is at least 10 blocks from apartment so wear good comfy shoes. Thanks Leon! Had a great time in NYC!!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best Kept Secret!

    Best Kept Secret!

    • Guest Leigh R (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/03/12
    • Review Submitted 10/18/12
    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this studio apartment in the Bronx. The subway is a short walk from the apartment, and there is a bus stop right in front of the residence. Leon, the owner, was extremely easy to work with; he was helpful, accessible, and hospitable. The apartment is immaculate, and it made all the difference in the world to have the amenities of home, rather than having to go out for every meal, or having to supply my own linens. The neighborhood is relatively quiet, and it is safe to walk around at any time. There were some nights my partner and I didn't get back from our night out until well after midnight, and we felt completely comfortable walking from the subway to the apartment. The next time I visit the city Leon's place will be my first choice to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place in the Boogie Down Bronx!

    Great Place in the Boogie Down Bronx!

    • Guest Leigh R (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/03/12
    • Review Submitted 10/16/12
    First, let me say that the pictures on the internet do not do the apartment justice; it's actually pretty spacious, and very comfortable, not to mention, it was immaculate! Leon, the owner could not have been easier to work with. He always made himself accessible, and was an extremely gracious host, willing to assist us in any way possible. He even let us store our things in the apartment on the day of departure until we had to leave for the airport which wasn't until 7:00 pm. Most places would have charged an extra day for such a service, but Leon was happy to do it for us. The neighborhood is safe, and fairly quiet. The apartment is a short walk to the subway station, and there is also a bus stop right outside of the building. The next time I return to New York, I hope Leon's place will be available to rent, because it will definitely be my first choice!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Carolina Girls- Labor Day weekend getaway

    Carolina Girls- Labor Day weekend getaway

    • Guest Carolina Girls (NC)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    My friend and I stayed in Leon's apartment for 5 days over the long labor day weekend. The apt. was exactly as described when we arrived. Leon was very friendly and helpful with directions. We had tickets to see Wicked in the city the night we arrived and he was so nice to take us to the subway so we could get there quickly! There was plenty of shampoo and misc. toiletries, and pretty much everything you could need there. It was pretty easy to get around too once we figured it out, the subway is a pretty long walk but really easy to catch bus to and from. I would recommend this rental to anyone that wants to see NYC on a budget.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Carolina Girls

    Carolina Girls

    • Guest Carolina Girls (NC)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    We enjoyed our stay at this property. It was exactly as described and very clean. Leon met us on our arrival and even took us to the subway so we could make it to the city in time for our 8pm show ( Wicked- I highly recommend it). Leon was so sweet to check on us to make sure we found our way later on! Unless you really love to walk you will need to catch the 41 bus to the subway then take the 2 train in to the city, you can get to pretty much anywhere you want to go in Manhattan on this train, we took it to Time Square, Lower Manhattan (911/Memorial), and Central Park. The bus stops are very close in proximity each way. The apartment is in very safe area, and convenient to grocery store and places to eat. No need to bring shampoo, or shower stuff as there is plenty in the apt. Just bring comfortable shoes and you will be good to go!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Toured Manhatten on a budget!

    Toured Manhatten on a budget!

    • Guest Cathy (California)
    • Date of stay 08/27/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    We stayed 3 comfortable nights in this clean, safe, inexpensive studio apartment that was situated close to rail so as to allow us to see major NY attractions including Staten Island, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Wall Street, etc. Best to breakfast is at Perry's Diner near the police precint before catching a train that is within walking distance. Not only was the owner friendly, other tenants went out of their way to greet us and act friendly. Photos accurately depict the accomodations and this may be a reassuring stop for sight seers like us who are not familiar with New York and are traveling on a budget.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A+

    A+

    • Guest ROCcity (Rochester, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/22/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    The location was convenient to drive to and is within walking distance of Yankee Stadium. This is a very residential area, most certainly not the NYC most tourists think of but it was a nice break from the hustle and bustle that is Manhattan. We stayed here for just two nights and would certainly stay again. The apartment was very clean and comfortable, and amenities were provided such as shampoo, bathrobes, cookware, dishes, the list goes on and on. The owner was also extremely accommodating. He was always just a text message away and was eager to help us with parking, finding restaurants in the area, and directing us to nearby stores. The only suggestion would be to put up blinds or thicker curtains so that the nearby streetlight isn't shining in to the room while you're trying to sleep (there are presently window coverings but they're light). Overall I have great things to say about both the apartment and the owner and would undoubtedly stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • FIRST TIME IN NY CITY

    FIRST TIME IN NY CITY

    • Guest VIRGINIA AND ALEXIS (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
    • Date of stay 08/15/12
    • Review Submitted 08/21/12
    It was the first time in NY City and it could not be better than staying in this apartment. I went to NYC with my mother and my niece. We had a wondeful time. Taking the bus and the train from this apartment was very easy. We bought several passes $2.25 each way and the bus ride was included in the pass. The bus stop is just a couple of blocks away from the apartment and then we hopped in the train. What you see in the photos is exactly what you will get in this apartment. The owners were very helpful and the apartment was inmaculated clean. My mother is a senior citizen and she was not able to eat in restaurants all the time so the kitchen was very helpful. She was able to cook her simple meals and the bathroom was also very clean and spotless. I really appreciate it. We all love staying in this apartment. I highly recommend it. We all should take good care of the property when we visit so the next person can enjoy the ammenities of the unit. It was a good experience!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Bronx

    Bronx

    • Guest Nia C. (Andover, Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/20/12
    this property worked well for us. it is very clean and safe. Leon was there when we needed anything. we stayed here for three weeks and went into Manhattan everyday on the subway. I would recommend this to anyone that needs a long stay in New York.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Excellent!!!

    Excellent!!!

    • Guest plilly (ky)
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/22/12
    my friends are very good time in new york. leon very helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay in this apartment my next visit to new york.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Staying in the South Bronx

    Staying in the South Bronx

    • Guest Uncle Duke (Fresno)
    • Date of stay 07/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/19/12
    The owners are welcoming and very helpful. They were very concerned that we were happy there. We had a leak in a suit case and the owner (at midnight when we arrived) helped us. Finding a few beers in the refrigerator when we arrived (late at night, very tired and stressed) was really nice. As for being helpful, whenever I called with a question and they responded right away. Photos do reflect what is there. The apartment is clean, well maintained and the airconditioning worked. The neighborhood is friendly. We needed a laundry and the place we were referred to near by was also friendly. Getting to the subway is a short walk and it's easy getting any where down town. The only draw back to the location for us was trying to get a cab back from the theater district Times Sq. area after 10:00 p.m. to the apartment. Cabs would say they didn't know how to get back to the apartment but just didn't want to go. and if you do find a cab the charge is about $30.00 plus tip. We didn't want to take the subway back late at night.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great savings, but bit of a hike into the city

    Great savings, but bit of a hike into the city

    • Guest Lorrie (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 07/04/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    Leon was great - acommodating, informative, friendly and always there if you needed something. The subway is only about 1/2 mile down the road and there is a bus that will take you to the subway if you don't want to walk. 1/2 mile doesn't seem like a lot, but add that in to the amount of walking you will be doing during your trip. I know we probably walked 6 + miles each day, so that 1/2 mile getting back to the apartment was pretty challenging by the end of the week. The photos taken represent the appearance of the apartment. The property was clean, and there were plenty of towels and extra linens in the closet. We brought a queen-size blow up mattress (my daughter is a kicker and it's impossible to sleep in the same bed!) and it fit in the room... but with just enough space. The clock in the kitchen on the wall wasn't working, and the calendar in the living area was from 2011... time doesn't exist on vacation ;) I would recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay for a short visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home Away from Home - Yankees Stadium

    Home Away from Home - Yankees Stadium

    • Guest Lisa B. (Pittston, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/08/12
    We travel to NYC a few times during baseball season due to loving the Yankees (Stadium is a ten minute walk away). Usually we stay on the Jersey side and take the train into the city. We will never do that again after finding this rental. This rental is extremely affordable (cost less for two nights than what it would have for a hotel in the City). The subway is just a few short blocks away and we never felt unsafe in the neighborhood. We were in Times Square in 20 minutes. Bus stop is right in front of the apartment. The apartment was spotless and all amenities were provided. We traveled as a group of four (two adults-two teens) and were happy to be able to come back to the comfort of the apartment after a long day of touring NYC. As a family on a budget, we appreciated the ability to cook dinner each night we were there. There is a full grocery store a few blocks away. The owner, Leon, came to the apartment to introduce himself and asked if we needed anything while we were there, but he didn't leave anything to be needed. The apartment was well stocked. My son appreciated being able to surf the internet from the TV and that Leon provided a WIFI password. When making a trip to the Bronx for the Yankees, we will always see if Leon's apartment is available. Thanks for making it affordable and easy!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great first visit

    great first visit

    • Guest Heather H (Nortwood, NH)
    • Date of stay 06/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/29/12
    This was our first visit to NYC. We were on a very tight budget and that along with the reviews is why we picked this apartment. We were a little worried about the area but we never had a problem walking to and from the subway. Leon helped us manage the subway and was very nice to deal with. The aparment was clean and we had lots of towels (great because their was 4 of us girls). Our teenage daughters loved the tv set up with the WiFi. If we ever visit NYC again we will consider this apartment.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wise Family

    Wise Family

    • Guest William (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 06/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    We stayed in the apartment on June 22 thru 24 (Friday thur Sunday). The rental was just like the pictures showed. The apartment was very very clean. The parking on the street was very easy. The neighborhood had a lot of small shop for food or other needs. The neighborhood was alittle loud at night but not anough to keep you awake. We did not use to subway because on the weekends repairs were being made. We tryed to bus system but it very slow. So we take a taxi from the apartment to time square for the cost of $23.00. The checkin is very easy (very flexable with the time). We would stay in rental unit on the next visit to NYC.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • NYC Trip - 5th to 7th July

    NYC Trip - 5th to 7th July

    • Guest From Asia (Singapore)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 06/27/12
    Our family of 4 stayed in the above property. The property was as described. It was clean and well maintained. Leon made us feel at home and was there to meet us when we arrived. Generally our stay in the property and NYC was very pleasant. We did not eat in the nearby vicinity but did buy some groceries from the convenience stall nearby. The property was also very convenient to the public transport. All in all we enjoyed ourselves. Thanks Leon for letting us stay. The unfortunate event that somewhat 'spoilt' our stay was the parking ticket (for parking during the time when street cleaning took place). We arrived home late and had to park one block away. It was our fault but the signs were not clear - at least for us as visitors from Singapore.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Glad I Chose This One !

    Glad I Chose This One !

    • Guest Jared S. (Vacaville, CA )
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/09/12
    The studio apartment is exactly how described with everything I needed. Easy transportation option for getting in and out of Manhattan. Leon is a dream to work with and is very accommodating with any needs that might arise making the entire transaction a breeze !!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Pleasant stay in New York

    A Pleasant stay in New York

    • Guest Lisa (Iowa)
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/12
    Leon went to every effort to make sure the apartment was ready and welcoming when we arrived. The beds were quite comfy, the kitchen featured a healthy array of equipment, and there were even fresh flowers on the table. In fact, it rather resembled a nice hotel. Getting around was super-easy, since it turned out the bus stop was right in front of the apartment, and the Metro station itself only 10 blocks away (bonus: transfers between the two are free). There was some noise from the street, but not nearly as much as I would have guessed at night in New York, and it never kept us up. We had a very good time during our stay, and would most certainly stay here again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good Place to Stay

    Good Place to Stay

    • Guest Kait (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 11/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/30/11
    My husband and I went to NYC over the Thanksgiving weekend. Transportation to and from the Airport (Newark) was easy and the subway was close and convenient. We were able to go to Manhattan to shop and sightsee during the day, come back to the apartment to freshen up, then head back for a night out. Would definitely recommend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Nice place, excellent for baseball fans....

    Nice place, excellent for baseball fans....

    • Guest JR (PANAMA)
    • Date of stay 09/23/11
    • Review Submitted 09/28/11
    We visited New York the weekend of 23 to 25 September. The property is exactly as seen in the photos, comfortable, fully equipped kitchen and very clean. The air conditioning works well and the neighborhood is quiet, especially at night. Yankee Stadium is about 7 blocks walking, there is a bus station in front of the property and a subway station about 10 minutes walking. The owner is a gentleman, always willing to help in any way. We had a great weekend, recommend the property with confidence.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • loved it!

    loved it!

    • Guest Christy (Salt Lake City, Utah)
    • Date of stay 09/10/11
    • Review Submitted 09/16/11
    my sisters, mom and I stayed here 9/10-9/12 and it was such a great choice. Can I just say Leon is amazing? I was a little nervous about being in NY and not knowing anything about the subway, and he really made it easy for us. The apartment is nice, comfy beds, had everything we needed and more. We walked from the subway to the apartment but there is a bus as well that stops right out front. Leon always responded to calls, emails and texts and that was really great. I will call him again next time I go to NY to see if his place is available.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Accessible, clean and safe place to call home

    Accessible, clean and safe place to call home

    • Guest Fe (San franciso california)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/10/11
    Throw in the fact that Leon is such a great host and our stay in New York was such a blast. Since it's not right smack in the middle of touristy areas, it is a quiet place to go home to and a lot cheaper overall. Laundry facilities and well-stocked grocery store are are but a couple of blocks away. There are also 24-hour restaurants nearby that make going home hungry at 2:00 am not a problem.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great deal! Great landlord!

    Great deal! Great landlord!

    • Guest Bea (Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/01/11
    • Review Submitted 08/02/11
    This is a spacious studio apartment, with all the amenities, very clean and exactly like the pictures. I stayed there last year for an 4 week internship and was so satisfied I came back again this year! Includes free wi-fi, cable TV and DVD/sound system, a full kitchen and full bathroom, a living/dining area in addition to the 2 queen sized beds. (So 4 people can sleep very comfortably, and there's a big couch too) It is very convenient for short term stays and you get way more value than staying at a hotel in Manhattan! - and it is even cheaper than a nearby 2 or 3 star hotel in the Bronx.. A busy shopping area is only blocks away with all the stores, groceries, and services you may need. But if you prefer shopping and hanging out in Manhattan, it's very easy to get there. There are many buses steps away and subway lines 2, 5, 4, B, D, that can take you to the east side and the west side of the city in about 20 minutes, are all at walking distance but also reachable by a 5 minute bus ride if you don't want to walk. Same goes the Yankee stadium. Knowing some might be unsure of safety in the area, I have to say that I am a young female who used public transportation and never felt unsafe even walking from the bus stops at night. If you really don't want to take the subway and walk after a late night in the city, a cab ride from midtown will be under $20. Definitely worth it for all the money you are saving by staying here! And last but not least, Leon, the landlord, and his family, are extremely nice and accommodating, and will be your neighbors so very easily reachable if you have any questions or requests.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • No regrets--would stay again

    No regrets--would stay again

    • Guest Eddie (New Orleans, LA)
    • Date of stay 06/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/19/11
    The apartment is a great value....in a very safe neighborhood. We walked from the subway and Yankee Stadium many nights around 1am without any trouble. The subway is about a half a mile....Yankee Stadium a little further. It is a little far from MidTown/Times Square...but you're catching the express trains so it's not so bad....figure 10 min walk....20 min subway ride. The wifi worked great...a huge plus! The place was clean and quiet. A non stick skillet would go a far way. No real complaints. The ac couldn't really keep up on the hottest days. If you're staying for more than a few days, this apartment is really hard to beat......if you're staying for three days or less......staying closer to the action might make more sense as 'running back to the room' for something can easily mean an hour in your day. But I enjoyed the neighborhood and the comfort of the apartment and would recommend it to a friend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay.

    Great place to stay.

    • Guest Tammy (Snow Hill, NC)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    My family and I stayed at Leon and his family's apartment recently and we were so pleased. The apartment was exactly as it appeared in the pictures. It was clean and very comfortable. We were concerned about safety no matter where we stayed but Leon assured us this was a safe neighborhood and we agree. We had no problems at all. The subway is about a ten minute walk and easy to use ( I even figured it and I am from a small one horse town!). If you don't feel like walking to the subway you can take a bus that will let you off right at the entrance of the subway and then drop you off back at the apartment at night. Leon and his wife were very accessible and answered any questions that we had very promptly. My daughter fell in love with the mattress on her bed and even looked to see what kind it was because she wants one like it when she gets home. The neighbors were friendly and very amiable. While we were there my phone charger stopped working and I was unable to call home. I went to give Leon my husband's cell phone number so he could reach me if he needed to. He had an extra charger that fit my phone and he let me borrow it for the remainder of my trip. You do not get that kind of personal service at a hotel (at least not one that I could afford). I would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Studio Accomodation

    Excellent Studio Accomodation

    • Guest Oby J. (Cape Town,South Africa)
    • Date of stay 05/08/11
    • Review Submitted 05/30/11
    I stayed at the apartment from 8-22 May 2011 and loved every moment.The apartment was very neat and the decor fantastic.You really do not need a car as there is a bus stop a few metres from the property and the subway, a mere 5 mins walk.There was an abundance of shops around so doing my grocery was no hazzles. I had no problems commuting in and out of Manhattan even at very odd hours as it is a very safe area.The owner, a very genial and personable young man, lives in an apartment in the same block and was very helpful throughout my stay.I definitely will love to stay there on my next visit to New York!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very good place to stay!

    Very good place to stay!

    • Guest Breanna (Vancouver, Canada )
    • Date of stay 12/28/10
    • Review Submitted 01/04/11
    My husband and I stayed there from Dec 28/10 to Jan 2/11. Very close walk to subway, about 5 mins and another 15 mins on subway to Times Square! So quite easy to get around. We were coming back at night between 11 pm and 1 am each night and found no problems. Felt quite safe at all times! We didn't eat anywhere near there as we were in Times Square most of the time. The Room was very clean and comfortable. Leon was very nice! We didn't see much of him or the tenants but since it was so easy to get around, really didn't need them much. Listing photos are exactly what you get. I would recommend this apartment. It's perfect for what we needed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I had a great experience!!!! The owner is GREAT!

    I had a great experience!!!! The owner is GREAT!

    • Guest Dena (Jonesville, VA )
    • Date of stay 10/14/10
    • Review Submitted 11/02/10
    I stayed at this property Oct 14- Oct 17, 2010 and I must say I was VERY pleased! Leon is soooo helpful and nice, everything that you need is right there in the apartment, and if you need anything information or directions he is just a call away to help, that meant alot to us. We had never stayed in that part of NY before so it was very helpful, Leon would check on us ask if we were finding everything ok and I really appreciated that and if hope to go there again someday and I would stay there and recommend it to anyone! It was vas very clean and comfortable! THANKS LEON!!!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice apartment

    Nice apartment

    • Guest vir (Québec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/25/10
    • Review Submitted 08/04/10
    The apartment is a nice place to stay for few days, 10 minutes walk to the subway and shops for food around. It is very clean, with a kitchen when you can cook all you want after a great day in manhattan. The photos reflects the rental's apparence and all the descriptions too. The owners are very friendly and helpfull if you need some help.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very good place !

    Very good place !

    • Guest Marseille (Marseille ,Franc)
    • Date of stay 07/02/10
    • Review Submitted 07/15/10
    This apartment is perfect : clean ,cosy and close to the subway ! The owners are very nice and helpful and the neighborhood quite calm and safe :-) The price is interesting for such a good place !! :-)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Host!

    Wonderful Host!

    • Guest WJ10 (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/04/10
    • Review Submitted 06/10/10
    The place was exactly the way it was listed in the photos. The place was roomy for 3 of us and could have easily accommodated four of us. The location was close to grocery stores and Leon even picked us up from the airport and toured us around the neighborhood. There are several shops within walking distance for any necessity. The location is not far from the subway (an easy walk) on a couple of occasions we took taxis which were plentiful and inexpensive. The property was well taken care of, clean, and had everything we needed for our short stay. Leon even checked on us the next couple days to make sure that we found everything ok and that we were finding our way around.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next