Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Welcome to Casa de Colores.

Architecturally Distinguished Casa on Water's Edge [#150207] | View Property

Akumal
Villa, 5 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 5.5 Baths (Sleeps 10-12)
$2,275 - $6,475/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (27)

Sort by:
  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Cathie (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 10/08/13
    Casa de Colores is hands down an excellent place to vacation! Akumal is a small village with several wonderful little restaurants preparing excellent food. We took a few day trips but would ave been perfectly happy hanging around the pool and enjoying the little village and all it has to offer. Casa de Colores is well known for its great location, at the end of the road in Akumal, very private, and for its funky eclectic decor. This house is perfect for large groups or families. I can't think of ANYTHING this house was missing and it even came with recipes for the owner's award winning guacamole! The large kitchen and living area are great for entertaining and family get togethers. Access to the Yal-Ku Lagoons is very easy, just down the road and into the cool clear water of Yal-Ku where you can snorkel with the fish all day long. This house is truly one-of-a-kind and lends itself very well to people just 'hanging out' together and having a great time! The caretakers, do an excellent job. They are very charming and will take excellent care of you. They are also available to prepare meals for an additional fee, which we highly recommend you try. They do a great job! Casa de Colores offers many amenities including gorgeous and unique swimming pool with plenty of seating and towels. There is an outdoor shower for rinsing off after snorkeling in the lagoon and rinsing your gear.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • LOVED staying at the beautiful Casa de Colores!

    LOVED staying at the beautiful Casa de Colores!

    • Guest Shelly (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/22/13
    My friends and I had a wonderful time soaking in the sun at Casa de Colores. I would highly recommend this beautiful home with its fabulous location to everyone. All rooms in the house are open & spacious. A great location on the water with beautiful snorkeling just down the lane. I can't wait to return next year!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome Trip

    Awesome Trip

    • Guest Shelly (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 09/21/13
    The house was incredible, the caretakers made sure we were comfortable, the location was awesome - the perfect vacation home. We loved the furnishings, the ac in all the rooms, the spacious kitchen and living area, the pool, the lanai overlooking the beach and sharing a big cup of coffee. It was incredibly relaxing and the guides provided by the owners gave us everything we needed to plan our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect.

    Perfect.

    • Guest PG (Toronto, Ontario, Cananda)
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/21/13
    The house was spacious, full of color, had every amenity one could ask for (especially in the kitchen), and was in a great location. The pool was great for the kids. We had 12 people (8 adults and 4 children) staying there for 1 week and I could always find privacy when needed or enough lounge space for everyone to sit together comfortably. It was ideal.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Vacation

    Perfect Vacation

    • Guest JD (Wisconsin, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/11/13
    • Review Submitted 01/24/13
    My family and friends stayed at Casa De Colores in January of 2013. Every detail was perfect from the great house amenities to the staff to the ocean view from the house. We had 11 people which was no problem for the house and casita. The town of Akumal was a decent jog, but with the availability of bikes, golf carts and cars anyone can find a way into town and beyond. I will be back. Thank you for the perfect house in the perfect location.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Cynthia (San Francisco CA)
    • Date of stay 01/01/13
    • Review Submitted 01/09/13
    Staying at Casa de Colores is an unimaginable delight! The location is perfect - close enough to the central town area to enjoy shops and the restaurants but sufficiently away to have privacy and tranquility. Situated right on the point, the view of the beautiful turquoise sea couldn't be better. When the sun got too hot on the front of the house, it was so easy to move to the back of the house for a dip in the pool or to sit beneath a thatched umbrella. Or stroll to the lagoon minutes away (like swimming in a fabulous tropical aquarium). The house is well designed for groups. I was traveling with four others and we found it easy to be together or to individually find a quiet spot to read, take a siesta or just gaze at all the pleasing visuals. Really nice flow to the property, inside and out. For pure R&R or for a super comfortable base to explore Akumal and the surrounding areas, I don't think I could have chosen a better spot. Bottom line - two thumbs up!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • it doesnt get better than this!!

    it doesnt get better than this!!

    • Guest Karen (Millburn, NJ)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    What an amazing way to spend the holidays with family! The house is spectacular and the 9 of us had plenty of space to be together or be apart! The kitchen has everything you need and the view from the front of the house took our breath away every day we were there. We rented golf carts to get around which the teenagers loved! They went snorkeling and to grab ice cream at the local shops. We enjoyed the restaurants in Akumal and even explored the pueblo which was fantastic too. Gotta get some of that chicken they make in the steel drum grills. The taste is sooo yummy! I hope we can get back to this amazing house again some day!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Clean, New, Well Equipped, Luxurious accommodations!

    Clean, New, Well Equipped, Luxurious accommodations!

    • Guest From Sunny Florida (Orlando,Fl)
    • Date of stay 10/13/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    We have visited Akumal 8 times now and this is our first stay at Casa De Colores. We were thrilled with the house. A beautiful decor, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, and refreshing pool made our stay really enjoyable. Zuma and Gabriel, the caretakers, were lovely and worked very hard to keep the house and grounds in top condition. We normally rent a condo in a small complex nearby, but we are now spoiled by the privacy afforded by a home. Thank you for making your home available for others to enjoy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks, Christine. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our home so much. Please come visit us again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Magical vacation!

    Magical vacation!

    • Guest Sharon (Madison, WI)
    • Date of stay 01/07/12
    • Review Submitted 01/22/12
    We had such a magical time in Akumal and a big part of that was staying in Casa de Colores -- such a wonderful place. Monica was very helpful. Gaby (gardener and more!) and Zulma (maid and cook!!) made the whole experience even better. We had them cook on Thursday and it is my favorite moment of our trip. I would highly recommend to other guests having them cook a meal earlier in the week -- the leftovers are just as good as the meal. The snorkeling was great (barracuda, skate, eel, tons of fish, squid, sea turtles). La Buena Vida was our favorite bar and lobster at LaLunita was excellent. Having the golf cart was fun. Casa de Colores exceeded our expectations and every couple felt that they had the best room.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you, Sharon. We're glad you had such a good time. ~Shelly, Eddie, Nancy and Susan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The perfect getaway!

    The perfect getaway!

    • Guest Holly (Winnetka, IL)
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 12/25/11
    Our small party of five (two adults, three kids aged 8, 6 and 4) totally enjoyed our stay at Casa de Colores! Every detail was perfect - the rooms so comfortable, more than enough space to spread out (even for a much larger party), wonderful views, the staff were lovely, the house was well stocked and Akumal, especially the quiet north end of the road, is a gem. We hated to head home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • We Had An Awesome "Girls Week" Getaway

    We Had An Awesome "Girls Week" Getaway

    • Guest Jackie (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 08/24/11
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    I had a wonderful time at Casa de Colores in August 2011. The house is absolutely beautiful and perfect. It is exactly as described on these pages. It is spotless, clean and sparkling. Having the daily clean up from the local friendly man and wife couple who take care of the house made it like having 5-star hotel room maid and pool service. Everything is in the house that you could every need and I cannot think of single detail that has been overlooked or that I would change. Akumal is a delightful, peaceful town. It is a great place to get away from the traditional tourist destinations and really experience the generous heart of Mexico's people and the local culture. And there is no shortage of unique things to do and amazing places to visit in the nearby vicinity. Thank you for the opportunity to provide this feedback.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • What a fabulous house!

    What a fabulous house!

    • Guest Ann (Belize, Central America)
    • Date of stay 04/21/11
    • Review Submitted 05/22/11
    Our large group which including 6 adults and 6 kids had an amazing stay over Easter weekend. The entire house is so perfectly thought out, we left wishing for nothing. It was spacious enough to accommodate everyone very comfortably without feeling overcrowded and the beds were heaven, a perfect balance of comfort and support. The kids spent their time swimming in the pool, exploring the tide pools right behind the house, playing a variety of games that came with the house or playing in the sand at the nearby beach. Although we made sure to choose a house with air conditioning, we found every room in the house is so well ventilated that air conditioning was completely unnecessary. You will not be diappointed in any way with this home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful house for amazing vacations !

    Beautiful house for amazing vacations !

    • Guest MCLC (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    Hi Nancy, quick e-mail to thank you again for your wonderful house. We had an amazing week and we did really appreciate your house, we all really like the way you decorated it and everything was well done with a lot of good taste ! All the best and make sure I will recommend your place to my friends,

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Fabulous home and location for a relaxed vacation

    Fabulous home and location for a relaxed vacation

    • Guest Chris (Rapid City, SD, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/11
    Our bookclub of 25 years celebrated our anniversary at Casa de Colores in January. The accommodations for 5 couples was perfect. With 5 bedrooms and 5.5 baths, three living spaces (although we spent all of our indoor time together in the spacious living/dining area) and open physical and visual access to the pool area and rocky shore was beyond perfect. I was in contact with the owner for almost a year and she was great to work with. The staff was friendly and helpful and the home and grounds are immaculately maintained. Akumal is such a far cry from the glitzy, mega-resorts around Cancun. It is laid-back, comfortable, very casual yet boasts great restaurants- most on the beach under palapas- fun shops, minutes drives to two world-class Mayan temples (Talum and Coba,) snorkeling with turtles in Akumal Bay (15 minute walk,) snorkeling with schools of brilliantly colored fish in Yal Ku Lagoon (5 minute walk.) We had a marvelous week and will be returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Location for Off-Site Meeting

    Great Location for Off-Site Meeting

    • Guest Sara (Albuquerque, NM)
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 09/12/10
    Date of Stay: 08/14/10 - 08/21/10 This is a wonderful location for an off-site meeting. The area in and around Akumal is so friendly and inviting, and this home is inspiring to say the least. The owners take great pride in keeping the house and grounds in perfect condition. I plan to return to Casa de Colores, and I would recommend it to any group looking for a meeting place in an enviroment with so much natural beauty.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spring Break 2010

    Spring Break 2010

    • Guest Houlihan (Louisville,KY)
    • Date of stay 04/03/10
    • Review Submitted 05/17/10
    Wonderful Place. So rustic and romantic and perfect for our family. Took our children 9 & 11 for Spring Break along with another family & their 3 children. It was the perfect size home. Did not need the Casita. Everyone had such a wonderful time. We rented golf carts and only left the village once for Sian Kan tour. We had a cook(David Plancencia) come 3 nights and explored the local restaurants the others. Snorkeling was great(lagoon close by) as well as Lo Ha Beach(turtles would swim right next to you) My ONLY complaint was the rough roadway through the village but that's rustic for you! Would recommend to couples or families.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We Loved Casa de Colores!

    We Loved Casa de Colores!

    • Guest Nancy/SF (San Francisco, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/06/10
    • Review Submitted 04/08/10
    We Loved Casa De Colores. There were 4 in our group and we all had our own private suite! The house is very light and is beautifully appointed just like the photos. The lagoon 1/2 blk away, has fantastic snorkling and very protected. We found the house staff to be very helpful and the house was perfectly clean. It was the perfect place to escape our cold winter. There were several wonderful restaurants in Akumal and everyone was very happy with the variety. The house comes with a book detailing activities and places to see. Highly recommended

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Daniela3 (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 01/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    Casa de Colores was amazing! It is bigger than what the pictures portray and it is extremely clean and excellently well kept. The people who clean and maintain it are very helpful and super nice. The house also has a telescope which was great to use in the upstairs terrace on a clear night. Also, the owners are very resourceful and helpful when processing payments and return of deposit. Also, they provided additional information of Akumal in general, which came very handy. I feel in love with the place and I without any doubts I would come again to this house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Beverly Johnston (Calgary, Alberta Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/20/10
    • Review Submitted 01/20/10
    My family stayed at Casa de Colores at the end of November 2009 and I can say this has been the best holiday we have ever had. It was perfect for our 2 small grandbabies - 3 and 6 months - we didn't have to worry about other people sharing the pool - they had it all to themselves and could splash to their hearts content. The staff was unbelievable - they saw to our every needs even before we thought we needed it - Shelly was extremely accomodating and answered all of my 100 questions that I had. We had the opportunity to do the grocery order prior and it was the best thing - everything was waiting for us when we arrived and all we had to do was crack open a bottle of wine - sit back around the pool and relax!!! - there will be no question that we will be returning as soon as possible - I do find it hard to share this little gem with everyone because I am afraid that once they spend sometime there, there will be no room for us - WOW!!!! sums it all up....Johnston's, Pireau and Luft families.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Sirkka Svanoe (Saugerties, NY)
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/10
    I stayed at Casa de Colores over winter break with my husband, daugher, two nieces, sister, brother- in-law, mother and stepfather. The house met and exceeded all expectations. The layout of the house is so simple and elegant it gained the praise of my architect stepfather which is no small feat! We barely felt the need to leave, it was so comfortable for all the age ranges. These guys have truely thought of everything, from the largest to the smallest detail. They had my kids favorite dvd's, star gazing guides, cookbooks from which I made a fabulous Pasole Stew for xmas dinner, places for peace and quiet, places for racous laughter and togetherness. I have to say it was one of our favorite family vacations and Casa de Colores was a huge part of it. Muchas, muchas gracias!!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Amy Kindrick (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/09
    • Review Submitted 06/30/09
    Casa de Colores is an exquisite gem in a spectacular setting. I can't imagine a more perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. I recommend a stay here without a moment of hesitation (and I'm an experienced and very picky traveler)!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dolly Patterson (Ridgefield, CT)
    • Date of stay 03/07/09
    • Review Submitted 03/07/09
    Casa De Colores is perfect! No really, perfect! We had the pleasure of staying in this fabulous house in February. The house is beautifully appointed, all of the details have been attended to. The property manager, housekeeper and gardener were all delightful. Gorgeously situated on the rocky coastline of Akumal, each room provides you with a different vista and feeling. Don't pass up staying in paradise in what is one of the most beautiful homes in Akumal!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Christine Clogg (Indianola, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 09/13/08
    • Review Submitted 09/13/08
    This is paradise. There is no other way to describe the beauty and serenity of staying at CasadeColores and Akumal, Mexico. Everything a person would want or need is there plus more. The setting is one I revisit many times in my mind. Beautiful ocean, clear skies, clean air, very few people, gorgeous beaches, lagoon right around the corner to snorkel in for hours, best food and drinks, Mayan culture to experience, home with plenty of rooms to provide privacy and comfort for all and perfect weather. I recommend CasadeColores to everyone. There isn't anything to not love about it. Please experience what we did. Richard and Christine Clogg

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jim, Sandi, & Melanie (Santa Rosa, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/28/08
    • Review Submitted 07/28/08
    Our family had a magical vacation at Casa de Colores! The house is beautifully appointed, with care given to every detail that makes for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The views from the 3 master bedrooms and downstairs living/dining/great room were of breaking surf. The privacy of the location was wonderful, whether we were dining al fresco facing the ocean, lounging with a good book on the balcony, or taking a refreshing dip in the pool. We snorkeled, took walks on the beach in the cool mornings and balmy evenings, and even witnessed some turtles up close. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and our 14 year old was never bored. The exquisite accommodations complimented by the natural beauty and charming village of Akumal were an unbeatable combination. We are already making plans to return to Casa de Colores next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Debra v. (utah)
    • Date of stay 04/13/08
    • Review Submitted 04/13/08
    Beautiful modern luxury home.Owners are very accomadating, Manager speaks english and is a great help! We gave him our shopping list and it was all there upon our arrival, a great time saver!Comfy beds and nice linens.Very nice addition to the akumal community!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Andersons2 (Seattle, Washington)
    • Date of stay 04/08/08
    • Review Submitted 04/08/08
    What a relaxing week in an exquisite villa, right out of the pages of "Architectural Digest". Every detail, from the gorgeous tiled pool to the sparkling modern design, is perfection! Gorgeous views and an ideal location in the sleepy town of Akumal!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Allyson Plihal (Silver Spring, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 01/07/08
    • Review Submitted 01/07/08
    Our family had an amazing stay at Casa de Colores over winter break. There was plenty of room for all to be together or for time apart. Grammy had the casita to herself, so could get the quiet time when needed. Everyone enjoyed snorkeling at the lagoon (5 minutes from the house), lounging at the beach in town(quick drive or bike ride)and hanging out by the pool (steps from the front door!) The ocean breeze kept us cool, and the kids loved the nature they found (hermit crabs, iguanas, pelicans.)Our favorite day trip to S'ian Kan nature preserve included Mayan ruins and a float in a natural canal. We can't wait to go back to Casa de Colores!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]