Helman House-Three Blocks from the Oregon Shakespeare Festival
You sent a message to this manager.
- Minimum stay:2 nights
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Ashland house description
Helman Guest House is a charming early 1900s two bedroom home that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from Ashland's Plaza, restaurants, and world-renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival theater complex.
The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, is appointed with a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the master bathroom with a large walk-in shower. The home's second bathroom is also on the ground floor, and contains a vintage claw-foot bathtub and shower combination.
The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with lots of natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Roll-away beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties.
The house has a very cozy living/dining area, a fully equipped kitchen, and a charming breakfast nook. It has an old-fashioned covered front porch with a table and chairs, as well as full laundry facilities. The house is very comfortable and easy to settle into for a pleasurable stay in Ashland.
The two studio units, across the courtyard from the main house, can each sleep up to three people. Each unit has a private bathroom, Studio A with a bathtub and shower combination, and Studio B with a large walk-in shower. Each studio has a queen-size bed and a daybed, cable television, private telephone, and dining table. Each unit's kitchenette is equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge, toaster, and coffeemaker. Sheets, towels, cookware, and tableware are all provided.
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Non Smoking Only:
- Children Welcome:
- Pets Not Allowed:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Events Allowed
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 5-6
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Dining Area Seats:
- Cooking Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Linens Provided
- Iron & Board
- Parking Off Street
- Air Conditioning
- Hair Dryer
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Towels Provided
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Broadband Access
- Tourist Attractions
Location & View
- Car Not Necessary
- Mountain Climbing
- Ice Skating
- Freshwater Fishing
- Hunting Small Game
- Medical Services
- Fly Fishing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Cross Country Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Rock Climbing
- Mountain Biking
- Massage Therapist
- Bird Watching
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Live Theater
- Outlet Shopping
- Eco Tourism
- Winery Tours
- Fitness Center
- Scenic Drives
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- World class Shakespeare and other live theatre February through November, Ashland Film Festival in April, First Friday Art Gallery walk every month, Wine Tasting and Tours, Live music venues, Local bookstores, galleries, and boutiques, Southern Oregon University, Dinner theaters, Yoga and exercise classes on a drop-in basis, Lithia Park's extensive hiking/biking trails, Mount Ashland ski area just 15 minutes from town, historic Jacksonville and Britt music Festival (20 miles from Ashland), Ashland Co-op (one of the largest natural/organic food co-ops on the West Coast),fishing and rafting on the scenic Rogue River, and many other seasonal activities. ...moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
Early summer 2012, Our stay at the Helman House
Early summer 2012, Our stay at the Helman House
The good news is this has a great location. The bad news is that I strongly feel that for the condition of the house, the price is 25% to 30% too high. We paid for the "in season" rates, and I was overall, quite disappointed. The kitchen is very 'make-shift'. Only 3 drawers in the kitchen, and all of them open about 6" because the refrigerator is in the way. The cabinets (lower only) are bare, unfinished wood, with no cabinets on the top but instead, open shelving. Beyond rustic to the point of having a dirty feel to it. NO DISHWASHER. honestly, the kitchen needs to be replaced completely for what they are charging. Stained carpet, old sofas that feel like they've been there since the 80's (so sprung, hard to get off the couch), along with heavy oak 80's style furniture for breakfast room. Other furniture are "antiques" that just feel old and dingey. A few basic channels on the TV. From the outside, the house is charming and turn of the century, but inside is not good. Please update or lower prices. The master bedroom is nice and has a good bed (would prefer doors on the closet rather than curtains). But everything in the house else needs a facelift. No door on the upstairs bedroom so kids couldn't sleep in. Had to come downstairs to use their bathroom off the kitchen. There is a round "skylight" in their ceiling that was falling out. Lastly, they came into the house while we were out because the modem was out. No call or warning. I had money and jewelry out and I was upset that they had made no attempt to contact me before entering the house. I would not stay here again.
- Guest wendy (Atlanta)
- Date of stay 05/27/12
- Review Submitted 06/11/12
Everything we needed
Everything we needed
3 adults stayed here in July of this year for 8 days. We were concerned after reading the last review but our experience was very different! Many of that person's points are accurate. For instance, the kitchen IS very small and not very well laid-out; storage is almost non-existent. The stove was fine though, and there was a good assortment of pans, knives, glasses, cutlery etc. (If you plan to cook, be prepared to bring ALL your ingredients because no food-stuffs are left in the kitchen.) The comments about the condition of the house didn't really apply, though. Yes, it's an old house but it's been renovated. The carpets seemed in good condition and the refrigerator was great. Maybe these were replaced, I don't know. The furniture wasn't new but I wouldn't call it ratty either. Comfortable was a word that came to mind. The bath with the claw-foot tub IS a little spare but the one off the master bedroom is quite comfortable. The beds were very nice. A word of caution about the upstairs room; there's a double (or queen) bed and a twin bed but no privacy. Also the window mounted A/C up there ran full-time to keep the space tolerably cool. The master bedroom was very nice though, with a king bed and ceiling fan plus good airflow through several windows. It has a very generous closet too. We enjoyed being able to park off the street and sitting on the tiny front porch in the late afternoons was delightful. This house is truly close to downtown -- we walked almost everywhere! I'd stay here again and I'd recommend it to a small group or family with 3 or fewer kids.
- Guest Jewel (Reno NV)
- Date of stay 07/08/11
- Review Submitted 07/20/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, romantic getaway, families with teenagers.
Two couples stayed here in August, 2010. We loved the location of the house and that it had spaces where we could go if we didn't feel like sleeping (without disturbing anyone else!). We were close to everything Ashland had to offer and that was the best part! The breakfast nook was cute and that is the only room that looks exactly like the pictures. However, other than that, the pictures do not accurately display the worn condition of things. For example, the carpeting seemed cheap and the furniture was quite dated and worn-looking. Everything looks and feels second-hand in this house. I would not describe the kitchen as fully stocked. In addition, the kitchen is difficult to cook in. There are no cabinets, just some shelves with a few dishes and plates, and the design makes it impossible for more than one person to be in there at a time. There is no dishwasher and no counter space near the sink, for that matter. Also, both bathrooms are on the main floor, which makes things inconvenient for the people staying upstairs. The bathroom with the clawfoot tub is also the laundry area with a washer and dryer. There is no counterspace for toiletries in this bathroom, either. The ensuite bathroom for the king bedroom, on the main floor, while spacious, is long overdue for a remodel. It has a wood toilet seat, a very-dated tile shower and a sink with no countertop or storage space. The old dresser behind the sink can be used for storage, but it's looking pretty worn as well. The property was nice on the outside and the porch was pleasant for relaxing. We had one major problem: the refrigerator froze food the entire time we were there. We lost a lot of money on food we brought with us as well as food we purchased and we were never able to make the fridge the proper temperature no matter how we adjusted it! An A/C vent did not work when we checked in and the owner came and said it would have to wait several days til she could get a repairperson here to fix it. Fortunately, the weather turned cool the next day and we no longer needed it, but we would have been really unhappy if the weather had stayed in the 100's and we could not cool down the bedroom!
- Guest Kessay (Northern California)
- Date of stay 08/25/10
- Review Submitted 02/11/11
Recommended for: Tourists without a car.
Manager response: We always appreciate reviews from our guests and take seriously and consider all comments. Many guests find the atmosphere of our mid-1900 style home charming. We try to ensure comfort as well. Our policy is to repair or replace all appliances, to fix plumbing and the electrical and heating systems as soon as problems are brought to our attention. We are planning a spring refurbishing this April. and hope you will vist and enjoy our bright, new look.
A beautiful and quiet place to stay. A short walk to downtown. Close to several great breakfast locations, a movie theatre and an excellent Co-Op market. My two daughters had a great time in the upstairs bedroom. My father-in-law came with us and stayed in the studio apartment across the courtyard which was very convenient.
- Guest Edward Kilham (North Vancouver, BC)
- Date of stay 05/04/08
- Review Submitted 05/04/08
My family and I stayed at the Helman House and found it to be so comfortable and homey. I especially loved the bathtub! Kudos for the cleanliness!
- Guest Angie45 (redding, ca)
- Date of stay 04/21/08
- Review Submitted 04/21/08
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
Nov 1 - May 14
2 night min stay
May 15 - Oct 31
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED INSIDE ANY OF OUR PROPERTIES. Anyone who violates this policy will be charged a $250.00 smoke damage fee.
Sorry, we do not allow pets at our Helman Guest House location.
A deposit of one night's rate is required to confirm each reservation. The deposit is fully refundable if notice of cancellation is given at least twenty days prior to the scheduled arrival date.
Balance of the reservation is due upon arrival/check-in.
Additional Fees and Taxes:
Rates are subject to a 10% Room Tax.
A $50.00 cleaning fee will be added to each reservation and is due upon arrival/check-in.
This manager accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the manager for more information.
- Nearest Airport: Rogue Valley International-Medford (MFR) at 15 Miles
- Nearest Motorway: I-5 at 0.5 Miles
- Nearest Barpub: Black Sheep at 0.5 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Mount Ashland at 8 Miles
Year Purchased: 2006
- Primary: (866) 261-9733
- Secondary: (541) 482-2246 (Oregon, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
King bed master bedroom
Upstairs bedroom with queen and twin
Claw foot tub
Large king bed master bedroom
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2007.
Date last modified - Sunday, November 24, 2013