Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Spacious comfortable living area leading on to conservatory and kitchen

A Unique Cottage, Doolin Breathtaking Ocean & Burren Views [#152132] | View Property

Doolin
Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-8)
€56 - €121/nt Euros
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (60)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful stay at the Wildberry Cottage

    Wonderful stay at the Wildberry Cottage

    • Guest J Benz B.
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/14/13
    We had a lovely stay at the nearby sister-property, the Wildberry Cottage. The property was very clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for our week long stay. The owners were the perfect hosts and had excellent suggestions for our stay in Doolin. This was the perfect home base for our vacation. I'd recommend the cottage in an instant and look forward to coming back soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful cottage and gracious hosts

    Wonderful cottage and gracious hosts

    • Guest Helen & Kevin (South Salem, NY, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 01/10/14
    We so enjoyed our visit to Doolin, and this incredible cottage. Our days were spent exploring the Cliffs of Moher, walking the Burren and sampling delicacies at the Roadhouse Restaurant, as well as other establishments in town. The sunset views were incredible. Frank and Marian were gracious and welcoming. It was a nice treat to be welcomed with homemade scones and jam. We hope to visit sometime again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Stunning Views- Fabulous Owners!

    Stunning Views- Fabulous Owners!

    • Guest Lisa (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    We absolutely can't say enough positive things about this wonderful cottage and its owners Frank and Marian! Within an hour of arriving, the cottage felt like home to us. Marian's hospitality (and her fabulous scones!) made us feel at home immediately. The pictures of the cottage do not do this place justice. The views out our front window (of the ocean, the Burren, and the Aran Islands, and the Cliffs of Moher) alone were worth our long journey to Ireland. We loved the sunrises and sunsets so much that it made leaving the cottage for a day outing very tough! The accommodations were comfortable and clean and the cottage had everything we needed for our 3 week stay. Thank you Marian and Frank for your wonderful welcoming way. You made our trip one that we will cherish for a lifetime and you made it one that makes us want to come back again next year! Thank you again for everything! You're the best!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We Loved Fuschia Cottage and Doolin

    We Loved Fuschia Cottage and Doolin

    • Guest Leah (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 07/06/13
    • Review Submitted 08/02/13
    We loved Doolin and our stay at Fuschia Cottage. Its a lovely home and is well located to see beaches, cliffs, islands, forests and the sunsets where stunning and our son loved feeding horses and donkeys on our walks. Its easy to get to the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher and also into town by bike, taxi or car. We highly recommend Fuschia Cottage and Marian and and Frank have a really great restaurant Roadford House in Doolin where we had a wonderful and sophisticated meal.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Awesome Piece of Heaven

    Awesome Piece of Heaven

    • Guest Lorenz Family (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 05/18/13
    • Review Submitted 06/04/13
    My family of 6 from NC and Mass stayed at the cottage the week of the 18th and had an amazing time and sunshine everyday. The house is beautiful, we loved the old fashioned stove and the views are incredible. The cottage immediately makes you feel at home. We used this as our base to travel to the Burren, Cliffs, Galway, Cork and Bunratty castle. The pubs in town are wonderful and we bought a CD from a band at McDermott's Pub. Awesome memories and pics! Frank and Marian are as nice as can be. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful cottage, wonderful people!

    Wonderful cottage, wonderful people!

    • Guest rcook1097 (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/12/13
    • Review Submitted 05/22/13
    My husband and I rented this cottage with another couple. It was everything we had expected and more. The views, even on a gloomy day are glorious. It was quiet and relaxing. In fact I had the best night sleep I've had in weeks! Even more impressive than the accommodations were our hosts Marian and Frank (and Beans). Throughout our stay Marian was easily accesible and gave us extremely helpful pointers for our travels throughout Ireland. Both so these follis know the area like the back of their hand and were no shy about sharing the details! I went even mention the great meal we had at the Roadfork Inn, I may have to travel back just to have the crime brûlée for dessert. If you have narrowed your accomadations down to a handful, this is the place to pick, you will not be disappointed"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Simply Spectacular!!

    Simply Spectacular!!

    • Guest timmy (Lyme, CT)
    • Date of stay 10/29/12
    • Review Submitted 12/03/12
    We rented Fuschia Cottage for 13 days with a group that consisted of myself and my husband, my brother and his wife and their 25 year old son. We were enthralled from the time we first saw the place. Set high on a hill with spectacular views of the Atlantic and the Aran Islands as well as a castle in the backyard and cows looking into the kitchen window, who could ask for more? The house was as clean as a whistle and very well equipped with four bedrooms, two baths, a conservatory with a massage chair, full kitchen, laundry, satellite TV etc. Frank and Marion were ever so gracious and available to answer any questions we had. They even provided a "house" cell phone for which we could buy local minutes and not have to spend $1 a minute to use our foreign cell phones. WiFI was also available with a "fill up" charge at the local store. I personally LOVED cooking on the big old "Aga-style" stove but there was also a gas cooktop for the less adventurous. There was also a nice selection of staples in the kitchen cupboards. I cannot convey how much we loved this house and what an incredible value it was. I'm thinking of moving there!!! :-))

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Breathtaking Views

    Breathtaking Views

    • Guest Laura & Simon (Tofino, BC Canada)
    • Date of stay 10/02/12
    • Review Submitted 02/06/13
    We stayed at Fuschia cottage for 10 days in October. We arrived on a dark and stormy night and was greeted by a beautiful cheese tray and bottle of wine as well as fresh scones for the morning. Upon further exploration of the cottage we found it to be neat as a pin and very well-equipped. The following morning we were greeted by post card views of the rolling green hills, the Burren, Aran Islands and the brooding Atlantic. Each morning we enjoyed our coffee in the sun room, taking in the view and ended our day the same way enjoying the amazing sunsets. Evenings were spent in front of a roaring peat fire with a glass of whiskey and a good book. This property is a fantastic base to explore the rugged west coast of this magical country. We enjoyed the live music at the nearby pubs in Doolin and a special dinner out at The Roadford Restaurant is a must! A huge thank for your kindness and hospitality. We can't wait for our return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Magical holiday

    Magical holiday

    • Guest Judy (Thornton, Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 09/01/12
    • Review Submitted 10/11/12
    My husband and I spent the first two weeks of September at this amazing cottage. It was comfortable and welcoming after a day of hiking or just exploring the region. We loved how it was tucked away on a little used laneway with hiking trails nearby. Everything was perfect. Once my husband got the hang of using the stove in the kitchen he quite liked it. Dinner at Roadford house was also exceptional. It is a vacation we will never forget along with all the friendly folk and awesome pubs and local music. Thanks Marian and Frank..... oh, and Beans too! Hope to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Dream vacation

    Dream vacation

    • Guest AJ (Bend Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 09/11/12
    I will not be able to describe how wonderful Fuschia Cottage or how amazing Frank and Marion were as hosts. It surpassed even what we had imagined it to be before we took the trip. Frank and Marion were so gracious and helpful and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We didn't know what to expect with my husband being handicapped, but we were welcomed with open arms from Frank and Marion and from everyone we met in Doolin. Our kids, my husband and myself, loved everything about our trip and would highly recommend staying at the Fuschia cottage. We can't wait to return!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful views in a comfortable Irish cottage! Unforgettable experience!

    Beautiful views in a comfortable Irish cottage! Unforgettable experience!

    • Guest CJ (Potomac, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 06/02/12
    • Review Submitted 07/03/12
    We truly enjoyed our 1-week stay at Fuschia Cottage and would whole-heartedly recommend this home to family, friends or anyone looking for a truly Irish experience in County Clare! To awaken to the views of sea, cliffs, islands and the Burren hills is a pleasure that we found nearly indescribable. The weather was poor for much of our stay, but even in the rain & wind the beauty of this location is inescapable. We enjoyed every single moment of our stay: whether snuggled-up in the cozy living room with a blazing peat fire and dinner cooking on the stove or sitting out on the front patio watching the sun set over the sea and cliffs with a little sip of Irish whiskey in our glasses! It was sheer relaxation and a week of comfort and serenity! The Cottage itself is exactly as pictured and described. Comfortable, clean, well-stocked and perfect for a family or group of friends. Everything we needed, all in working order, great place to spend time and good location for seeing the west coast by car. In addition to the restful beauty of the place, we also enjoyed our typical visits to the Doolin pubs to hear the traditional music and enjoy a bit of craic, just a short drive down the road. Be sure to have a meal or two at the restaurant run by the owner of Fuschia Cottage. He is an amazing chef who prepares meals that far outshine anything else we had in our visits to Ireland. We visited Galway, Fenore, Ballyvaughan,Inisheer island and all the sites in-between. This is an ideal location to see the west coast by car--just remember to stay left. As always, the owners are the consummate hosts: whatever we needed or wanted was quickly and gladly provided. If you've ever dreamed of visiting Ireland away from the cities and tourist traps we would strongly encourage you to book Fuschia Cottage. You couldn't possibly be disappointed!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The best place ever!

    The best place ever!

    • Guest Carolyn (Hamlin, NY USA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/12
    • Review Submitted 06/02/12
    Fuschia Cottage was immaculate, spacious, and homey with the most breathtaking views and warmest Irish hospitality from the owners. Wouldn't want to return to anywhere else in Ireland!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • The perfect choice in Doolin

    The perfect choice in Doolin

    • Guest Barbara & Matt (Advance, NC U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 06/17/12
    The Fuschia Cottage is a warm and cozy retreat with everything that you need for a relaxing getaway. The views are sensational and the home is as clean and comfortable as it appears in the pictures posted on the website. The proprietors, Marian and Frank, are such kind, funny, and hard-working people. It was a joy to meet them and we miss them already. Marian was incredibly patient with my various questions about the area. Be sure to experience Frank's delicious cooking at the nearby Roadford House Restaurant! Can't wait to return to Fuschia Cottage someday!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A dream cottage in a spectacular location

    A dream cottage in a spectacular location

    • Guest Deb A.
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/17/12
    Fuschia Cottage was everything we'd hoped for and more. The owners were friendly, helpful, and charming. We had to force ourselves to leave the cottage to sightsee because it was so wonderful to sit in the conservatory, watching the light change over the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands, and the Burren. The kitchen was perfect - a pleasure to make meals here. We would highly recommend the cottage and hope to return again and again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An Amazing View From A Lovely Cottage!

    An Amazing View From A Lovely Cottage!

    • Guest Angela S. (DuBois, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/07/12
    The cottage was spacious, clean, and comfortable. It has a traditional ambience with all the modern comforts! I could see the Burren on my right and the Cliffs to my left and the ocean view was absolutely breathtaking. Frank and Marian are fantastic hosts, always available to answer any question and they went the extra mile to make sure i had a wonderful stay. It was the trip of my life and I look forward to another visit!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Relaxing Getaway

    Very Relaxing Getaway

    • Guest M & M (New York)
    • Date of stay 01/15/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    We spent a week in the cottage in January. This truly is a wonderful location to get some peace and quiet. The home was warm ... even in winter. The view is simply spectacular - a great location to explore the West of Ireland. Frank was a wonderul host. He had the house prepped and the fire on before we arrived. Then he came back with some fresh scones and jam! I would highly recommend this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Dream Vacation

    Dream Vacation

    • Guest Meghan nd Matt (Spokane, WA United States)
    • Date of stay 10/03/11
    • Review Submitted 02/11/12
    Our stay at the Fushcia Cottage was ideal. Frank and Marian were the best hosts we could have asked for. We stayed for 2 weeks in October and felt at home. On the morning we arrived, Marian had fresh scones and jam waiting for us. The cottage was warm and prepped for us.The views from the cottage were picture perfect. It was the best place to wake up in Ireland! We can't wait to go back.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fuschia Cottage - A great vacation home

    Fuschia Cottage - A great vacation home

    • Guest Paul and Betsy (Vestal, New York, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/23/12
    If you're looking for the perfect Irish vacation home, look no further than Fuschia Cottage. We stayed for 3 weeks in Sept. 2011 and loved every minute.Our family and friends joined us at different times and were super impressed with the cottage and location. It lived up to and exceeded the description on the web site. The cottage is well built, spacious, immaculate and comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped and the views are breath taking. We even had the ruins of a 13th century castle practically in our back yard. Our hosts, Frank and Marian were gracious, helpful and always available. The scones on arrival were a welcome treat. Our only disappointment was that we weren't allowed to take their dog "Beans" home with us. We loved our time at Fuschia Cottage and hope to be back in the near future. PS. Don't miss dinner at the Roadford House restaurant.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Expectations Surpassed!

    Great Expectations Surpassed!

    • Guest Helen Murphy (Dublin, Ireland)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 02/06/12
    We couldn't have wished for a nicer home to spend a weeks holiday. It is by far the best vrbo we have rented and we have travelled far and wide with our family. How wonderful and proud the owners should be. On arrival, the views took take your breath away, the Atlantic is such a magnificent backdrop, no matter what the weather. We explored the area and discovered it had much to offer, the Aillwee Caves, Burren Birds of Prey (not to be missed), beautiful beaches and the 7th wonder of the world the Cliffs of Moher and if you're looking for love, try Lisdoonvarna, don't forget to check out the Burren Smokehouse in Lisdoonvarna. We will definitely be back. The Murphy family, Dublin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection!

    Perfection!

    • Guest Fi and Greg (Western Australia)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    This place, its space, its views, its location, its owners, its locale ... is fabulous: warm, comfortable, spacious, fully self-contained, magnifico views and walks and people. Tis now lodged permanently in my heart as the perfect getaway. I want to come back and stay a year, write a novel, learn to speak with an Irish brogue, soak it in. Thankyou dear Frankie and Marion!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cottage was our 'Irish Dream'!

    Cottage was our 'Irish Dream'!

    • Guest Barbara & John (Del Mar, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/04/11
    • Review Submitted 07/11/11
    Perfect cottage rental - location pushed it 'over-the-top'! Close to Doolin and all attractions of the area, yet peaceful out of town position with views of Atlantic (Irish Sea), Aran Isls, Galway Bay, the Burren, farms, cottages, fields of flowers & and beautiful cows. Quality abounds inside with traditional decor, top quality furnishings from linens to local artist paintings and pottery, cozy lounge with a peat fireplace, a lovely conservatory, modern kitchen with all amenities, including a real 'Stanley', proper serving pieces and stemware. Cottage is perfect for all size groups and ages. Owners, the Sheedys, are excellent caretakers of their cottage and guests and are most pleasants hosts. Dine at their Roadford House Restaurant for inventive, high end 'farm to table' menu and extensive wine list. We highly recommend Fushia Cottage, Roadford House, Frank and Marian Sheedy to all - top marks! We shall return! Thanks for the hospitality!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 10 **** QUALITY, LOCATION and HOSPITALITY ****

    10 **** QUALITY, LOCATION and HOSPITALITY ****

    • Guest Nadine and Bob (NY! NY USA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/30/11
    With the many accommodation choices available in this area, we feel so fortunate to have chosen Fuchsia Cottage as our ' home ' for the week we spent in Co. Clare, in May, 2011. It was, in fact, so inviting, that we were sometimes tempted to just stay 'home' instead of running about every minute. Marian and Frank were more like hosts and friends than landlords. Always available, always delightful and always ready to solve any all problems. To us, they truly represented the kind of hospitality one hears about and hopes to discover in rural Ireland... The cottage is not only immaculate, but is filled with personal touches, charming decor and modern conveniences. Perched over the sea on a gentile hill top, the views could not be more stunning. The short drive into Doolin was just perfect for picking up light grocery items and enjoying traditional Irish music, each night, at the 3 famous local Pubs. The location was excellent for being able to easily travel to so many places and return to the cottage at night.....The Burren, The Cliffs of Moher, The Aran Islands, Lisdoonvarna, Ballyvaughn, Ennis, Ennistymon, Kilfonara, numerous caves, Kilfenora, Neolithic ruins, Galway, Lachnich ....and the list goes on. Being fortunate enough to have traveled to many places around the world, we realize, in retrospect, how unimportant and unmemorable many accommodations have been. The opposite is true in the case of Fuchsia Cottage...and, of course, of Marian and Frank. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a real, country Irish experience. It is so spacious that we would love to return with some of our family members, for a longer stay....and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Nadine and Bob New York City, NY May, 2011

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our stay at Fuschia Cottage

    Our stay at Fuschia Cottage

    • Guest Kansasgirl (Grantville, KS, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/23/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    My husband and I stayed at Fuschia Cottage in Feb/March 2011 and absolutely fell in the love with it! It is a lovely, comfortable home with plenty of room, gorgeous views in every direction, and Marian and Frank are very gracious (and helpful!) hosts. They helped us with getting a flat tire fixed, learning how to operate an oil stove (a new experience) and plumbing (which is quite different from U.S.), came by to check on us and make sure we had everything we needed and to see if we had any questions. The location is really stunning, with the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and the Burren all visible from your front window! I would most certainly recommend Fuschia Cottage for your next trip to western Ireland!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spectacular Views over Land and Sea!

    Spectacular Views over Land and Sea!

    • Guest Mary (Atlanta, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 11/13/10
    • Review Submitted 06/13/11
    The pictures of Fuschia Cottage don't do it justice. We were completely entranced by the stunning views out over the Aran Islands, the rocky shore of the Burren with crashing white water, the beginnings of the Cliffs of Moher to the south, and the Bens of Galway to the north, not to mention the fields of grazing sheep in the foreground. The home itself was lovely, clean and very well equipped. Frank and Marian were most hospitable, leaving us a cell phone to use, plus wood and peat for the fire. Imagine, our own peat fire! There is a lovely sunroom with sea views, and a cozy living room. The kitchen was great, plenty of gear and two stoves. The location was very nice for touring Clare. The town of Doolin with its traditional music pubs and ferry access to the Aran Islands, is a couple of miles away. Easy access to the Cliffs of Moher, Ailwee Caves, the Neolithic sites of the Burren and good grocery shopping in the town of Ennystimon. I could not recommend this place more highly. We were there last November, and despite two days of some rather rough weather, we enjoyed every minute. I can't wait to return. Oh, and did I mention the amazingly beautiful sunsets and fabulous cloud formations.....?

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best find in Ireland

    Best find in Ireland

    • Guest Irish Rover (Sugar Grove,North Carolina,USA)
    • Date of stay 10/09/10
    • Review Submitted 11/06/10
    We have been to the Clare area several times and Fushia Cottage was our best find ever.The view of the sea, Aran Islands and the Burren were spectacular from the sunroom.Each room of the house was so clean and tastefully decorated with lovely wood beams and floors. The kitchen is furnished with all cooking needs and fresh baked scones were given to us upon our arrival.Marion is very helpful in providing information,even where to shop and buy groceries.The beds are very comfortable and the area quiet but easily accessible to Doolin and the music.We hope to visit here again and highly recommend this cottage and the owners.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • Gorgeous, clean and welcoming home!

    Gorgeous, clean and welcoming home!

    • Guest Jennifer and John (Kennebunkport, Maine United States)
    • Date of stay 07/17/10
    • Review Submitted 09/24/10
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Fuschia cottage immensely in July 2010. We felt a part of the real Irish landscape at our very own -- and very fine - home. Close to The Cliffs of Mohr (One can see them from the house) and The Burren (A stunning viewing spot is only minutes away), with uninterrupted sea views and bucolic surroundings. The cottage is warm, clean, romantic and bright. We loved it. Doolin is a great little town. We bought beautiful paintings by Morrison, a talented local artist whose work is in the cottage as well, listened nightly to the jigs and reels at any of the nearby pubs, took a ferry out to the Islands and enjoyed the boutiques in town. It was a grand time. This is not the place from which to "tour all of Ireland" as it is almost an hour to a major road. It is a wonderful place from which to explore County Clare and nearby Galway and all they have to offer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fuschia Cottage -- 6 stars out of 5!

    Fuschia Cottage -- 6 stars out of 5!

    • Guest Patti & Paul (Portland, Maine USA)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    We have just returned from an absolutely delightful two-week stay at Fuschia Cottage. There is only one thing wrong with this cottage -- it is so comfortable and the views from it of the burren, Galway Bay, the Aran Islands, and the Cliffs of Moher are so spectacular that you may never want to leave and visit the many other points of interest that are within easy walking and driving distance. The Sheedys, Marian and Frank, were the most friendly and accommodating hosts we could have hoped for (unfortunately their children were still in school, so we didn't get the chance to meet them.) We miss them and Fuschia Cottage already and can't wait until we can return -- which we definitely will!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect place to end our trip

    Perfect place to end our trip

    • Guest Melrose55 (Melrose Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 06/23/10
    This was our first trip to Ireland and I wanted to end the trip in a place we could relax. Wildberry cottage was perfect in every way. Marion and Frank were wonderful hosts and the cottage had everything we needed, except the ability to give us more time there. I hope to go back again, as does my family. The sunsets are beyond words and the Irish people are just wonderful as was the food

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest C Boudreaux (Lafayette, LA)
    • Date of stay 03/05/10
    • Review Submitted 03/05/10
    WOW!! What an amazing cottage!! The views are amazing, the cottage is spacious and very nice. The owners are very accommodating and helpful. Ireland is a wonderful country to visit, a GPS is a must when driving the country.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Dave81 (Meols, Wirral)
    • Date of stay 01/26/10
    • Review Submitted 01/26/10
    Hi, we stayed a few years ago, by far the best cottage we have ever had. We were later unable to find it via the original travel company, but kept looking and have found it again! Will be contacting the owners to book again for next Summer, can't wait. The views are stunning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest John and Janet Murray (Richmond, VA)
    • Date of stay 09/18/09
    • Review Submitted 09/18/09
    Fuschia Cottage-Ballinalacken-County Clare, IrelandWe have stayed at Fuschia Cottage in Ballinalacken, County Clare, four times in the past few years for periods between one and two weeks. Each time we have enjoyed our stay immensely. The Cottage is spacious, clean, well appointed, and convenient to the towns of Doolin, Lisdoonvarna, and Ennistymon for supplies, pubs, several excellent restaurants, and other needs for self catering, and is about an hour’s drive from Shannon Airport. There is even a wholesale fishmonger in Doolin where a wide variety of fresh seafood is available. The Cottage is owned by Frank and Marian Sheedy who are very nice people and available to help with various situations which may arise during self catering. They even helped us purchase free range eggs for making our breakfast.The Cottage is large and comfortable and has a fabulous view of Galway Bay and the Aran Islands with Connemara and the Cliffs of Moher in the distance. The sunsets over Galway Bay viewed from the Cottage’s sunroom are magnificent and a photographer’s delight.We strongly recommend a stay with the Sheedys in County Clare. Janet and John MurrayRichmond, Va

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

    • Guest Holly P. Mendes (Riverside, RI)
    • Date of stay 08/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/25/09
    It was magical! When we drove up, we felt like we were home. The accommodations were fabulous-very well furnished with a well equip kitchen. The location was perfect, close to the pubs and shopping. The view was breath-taking. Each morning was filled with beautiful views in all directions, and the sunsets were like NOTHING we had ever seen before. Frankie and Marion were the perfect hosts. I can't wait to return!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Barbara Cottingham (Newtown, CT)
    • Date of stay 06/11/09
    • Review Submitted 06/11/09
    From the moment we walked in the door of Fuschia Cottage we knew our vacation was charmed. The cottage was gracious and accommodating for our whole family, and the views constantly took our breath away. We found the cottage to be ideally located for exploring the west coast of Ireland. We hope to return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Emily Rogers (Ft. Worth, Texas)
    • Date of stay 05/21/09
    • Review Submitted 05/21/09
    WOW! We have rented houses from VRBO all over the world. I have to admit I have never seen a view like this one. The pictures do not do it justice at all. This cottage is amazing! The owners were so wonderful and treated us like family. The house is so clean you could eat off the floor and did I mention to view? The cliffs of moher, aran islands, connemara. We drank a bottle of wine every night while we watched the sunset. It was the best part of our vacation. We will certainly be back. Thank you so much!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Sarah61 (Vermont)
    • Date of stay 05/20/09
    • Review Submitted 05/20/09
    It was a pleasure to stay in Fuschia Cottage for a few weeks this spring! Don’t let the word “cottage” put you off – this one has all the comforts of home including a dishwasher, central heating, and very comfortable beds. The setting is quiet with a spectacular view of the Atlantic, the Aran Islands and Galway Bay. We liked walking on the quiet roads nearby, and took many pictures of the sheep and cows in the neighbors’ fields, and the sunsets. With all this, it’s still only minutes to town and the Irish music Doolin is famous for. We’ll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Cathy Pruiksma (Greer, SC)
    • Date of stay 01/09/09
    • Review Submitted 01/09/09
    We had the good fortune of a wonderful week at Fuschia Cottage. The cottage is charming, and was a perfect home away from home during our enchanted stay in Doolin. Frankie and Marian are wonderful hosts, making sure all needs and wants are taken care of. Doolin has so much to offer with day trips around the area, and the pubs at night came alive with Irish song. We can't wait to return to Doolin!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Marilyn and Roger Ayer (Chrisney, Indiana)
    • Date of stay 10/09/08
    • Review Submitted 10/09/08
    Fuscia Cottage, Doolin, Ireland left us with a profound yearning for all things Irish. We had a wonderful time at the cottage and driving around to many of the small villages near Doolin. The landscapes are breath taking, the food is great and the people are delightful. Frankie and Marian were great hosts and fun to talk and be with. Give your self a once in a lifetime trip to Ireland. We did and we want to go back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Sid and Fran Friedman (Owings Mills, Md)
    • Date of stay 08/20/08
    • Review Submitted 08/20/08
    Almost hate to write this! Stayed two weeks, loved it all. I'm afraid word about this place will get out and we won't get our preferred dates again. The home is very comfortable, its set-up is great for families or several couples.(bedrooms up and down) The location is spectacular, secluded yet close to Doolin. Unbelievable views, and hosts Frankie and Marian go above and beyond to help with anything. Can't say enough good things.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Beverly A. (USA)
    • Date of stay 06/26/08
    • Review Submitted 06/26/08
    A friend and I stayed at Whitethorn Lodge, right up the street from Fuschia and owned by the same lovely couple. Every aspect of the house was absolutely perfect - beautiful, incredible views, fully equipped, lovely furniture. I can say only wonderful things about the house and the owners. And... Doolin is great too - the music in the pubs each night was terrific.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Valerie7 (Willow Park TX)
    • Date of stay 05/28/08
    • Review Submitted 05/28/08
    We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Ireland and spent one week in Fushcia Cottage. Wonderful place to stay and perfect for exploring everything in the area during the day and sitting and enjoying the music in the pubs at night. Fuschia Cottage is located in an ideal spot. Valerie, Roanoke Virginia USA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Murray
    • Date of stay 05/26/07
    • Review Submitted 05/25/07
    Our 4th stay at Fuschia cottage. Wonderful. We love the cottage and the Roadford House Restaurant. We enjoy Doolin and the rest of Clare and look forward to our return next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Browns
    • Date of stay 05/20/07
    • Review Submitted 05/19/07
    Great views, centralized location, romantic, very memorable moments for us !!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest John and Jane
    • Date of stay 05/02/07
    • Review Submitted 05/01/07
    For peace and quiet and getting away from it all this is the place. Fab views

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Strickleton
    • Date of stay 03/20/07
    • Review Submitted 03/19/07
    An absolutely beautiful cottage, views fantastic. Dont want to leave will have to come back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Weaver
    • Date of stay 02/24/07
    • Review Submitted 02/23/07
    We loved having coffee in the sunroom every morning and watching the ocean. Its better than home!! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Monica Brady
    • Date of stay 12/11/06
    • Review Submitted 12/10/06
    I love this place. We weathered a severe storm - it was awesome. I will come back again and again I love it here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Reardon,Beers, Connelly
    • Date of stay 10/15/06
    • Review Submitted 10/14/06
    For the past 30 years we've had the good fortune to travel and visit around Irealnd. We have found no finer place to stay than Fuschia cottage.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lindberg
    • Date of stay 09/18/06
    • Review Submitted 09/17/06
    A place to return to

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jirak
    • Date of stay 08/13/06
    • Review Submitted 08/12/06
    I turned 60 while I was here and couldn't think of a better place to do it. Loved everything about this place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Gormley
    • Date of stay 06/17/06
    • Review Submitted 06/16/06
    The views, the music, the Burren, the beach, a good pint, jigsawpuzzles, great food, the lovely peace in this beautiful place.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next