Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Your home away from home in Playa Grande. ENJOY!

Congratulations! You Have Found Your Perfect Family Vacation Rental! Book Now! [#153279] | View Property

Playa Grande
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 9-10)
$115 - $195/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • First Time/Forever Fans

    First Time/Forever Fans

    • Guest Yvonne D. (New York)
    • Date of stay 02/15/14
    • Review Submitted 02/26/14
    This was our first time in Costa Rica. We enjoyed every minute of our relaxing vacation and found it hard to leave. The home was inviting and staff from the surf shop were so friendly and very helpful. Marcos was so friendly and asked us everyday what we were going to do and gave us suggestions that made our stay even more enjoyable. Thank you Marcos! The home is very comfortable and has everything we needed. The porch provided many star gazing opportunities and a wonderful breakfast setting. The shooting stars, howling monkeys, local bird species singing and a cool breeze made it so relaxing. When the wind died down we could hear the ocean. The thing we embraced was the Pure Vida life. Walking the beach every day at least twice and exploring the surrounding area was fantastic. We ventured to many beaches and thoroughly enjoyed having our own vehicle. The roads were good (sometimes adventurous) and we found that people drove carefully, unlike our Dominican Republic experience. The local restaurants each had their own unique style but all of them had wonderful wait staff and very good food. Huerto's Pizza is exceptional and Eric at Rip Jack Inn restaurant was one of our favorite waiters. The food is always amazing. Try the hot garlic shrimp. We wish we didn't wait for the last night to try it. Take time to talk to people and you will find them to be a likable and inviting community. Ian, Corryne and their boy Finnegan were all so charming and easy going. We thank you so much for providing a home in the middle of paradise. We enjoyed it and needed the time a way. We look forward to making Costa Rica our future vacation destination for years to come. We want to share it with everyone. God bless you all at Frijoles Loco!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing week!

    Amazing week!

    • Guest Suzy (Charlottesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 08/11/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    Book it now...we loved our time in Playa Grande but it was where we stayed and the people that made the trip over the top awesome. Our kids, 11, 9 and 7 thought they were in heaven with the beach down the street, the pool out back and the kindest most genuinely lovely people at the surf shop to talk with whenever they needed a friend. There are not enough kind words to describe Corynne and Ian and we are counting the days to our next visit. This was our first trip with the kids to Costa Rica and Corynne made everything from car rentals to where to eat very easy. Our hearts were very sad to leave our lovely new home and our new friends. Every day was a new adventure and you will not be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazingly Beautiful...An All time favourite vacation!

    Amazingly Beautiful...An All time favourite vacation!

    • Guest Denise (Calgary, AB)
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    When my husband and I decided Costa Rica was the place we wanted to bring our sons (ages 1 and 4) for our spring vacation, we weren't sure about where to go or where to stay- there were so many choices! After researching about the different places in Costa Rica, we soon realized that Playa Grande was the place for us. We aren't really into the super touristy areas. We wanted a relaxing family vacation, where my husband could walk to the beach to surf daily and a place where our boys could play. A must for us was also an outdoor pool where our boys could play and swim. I can't believe how incredibly lucky we were to find Corynne and Ian's place. These people are amazing. From the initial inquiries (Corynne was always so quick to respond and so accommodating from the start), to trying to book flights, considering car rentals etc., Corynne was better than any travel agent we could have found. She helped answer any questions I had (which were many). The personal touches and genuine kindness made our stay one of the BEST vacations we ever had. Corynne and her beautiful son, Finn, even met us personally at the airport to bring us to the apartment! Both Ian and Corynne were there to answer questions and just help make our stay more comfortable. It is always hard traveling so far with kids (with the amount of things we would have to pack for a two week stay.) Corynne and Ian had everything and more. They provided us with cart that carried our kids and beach things to and from the beach each day (such a short distance but with all of our stuff, this cart was an amazingly easy way to transport things). They had pool toys, a booster seat everything we needed and more! We basically took advantage of just about everything these kind people had to offer. We had massages just downstairs, surf lessons, a private cook to cook our dinner and even a babysitter to spend time with our sons so that my husband and I could have an afternoon to ourselves! There were so many friendly, kind people. From the people in the community to the staff in the shop, everyone was amazing. The people in the shop made us feel so comfortable and helped us whenever they could. This is a place I know my family and I will return to. Anyone would be considered incredibly lucky to have the opportunity to visit this amazing spot in paradise and stay at this amazing apartment.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Ty (USA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/20/13
    Our family (2 adults and 2 boys ages 8 & 5) stayed here for 6 nights, but we wish we could have stayed for 6 weeks. The place was perfect for us. It was exactly what we were looking for. In fact, we had another place booked in Quepos for the remainder of our trip. We soon realized it was not the place we wanted to end our trip, so we got lucky and found this place last minute. Corynne and Ian are great hosts. Their son was about the same age as our youngest, which made our stay even better. The town of Playa Grande is a somewhat hidden treasure. Surfers know about it, but I don't think it has caught on with the tourist crowd. Tamarindo is where most tourists go and it only separated by a river from Playa Grande. This was perfect for us. We don't really enjoy being mobbed by vendors and being treated like a tourist everywhere we go. Playa Grande gave us a place where we could get to know the town and the characters and especially the restaurants. Although there are not as many options to eat as a place like Tamarindo, they make up for it with the quality you get at several restaurants. If you're looking for a place that surrounds you with tourists and the beaches are packed, I would recommend going elsewhere. If you're looking for a beach that provides wiggle room, excellent waves for surfing or boogie boarding, good eats, relaxed vibe and a little off the beaten path. this has it. I am not a surfer, but I surfed 4 times in 6 days and had one of the best times of my life in the water. I came back to our place with a huge grin on my face after surfing. I was able to get two lessons from Frijoles Locos (the surf shop located downstairs and owned by Corynne and Ian who also live onsite) and it was the best money I spent on this vacation. As a nice bonus, they offer massages too. My lady received what she called the best massage of her life (Corynne was the massage therapist) and she has had many massages. There's more to say, but I'll keep it short. Thank you for everything and I wish you guys continued success. Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • "Great Place"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "Great Place"

    • Guest Ryan and family
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    I spent two nights in late January and was worth the money. I travelled with my wife, mom in law and 2 kids. The 2 room apartment was extremely clean,comfortable, and quite big for the 5 of us. The kitchen had everything we needed and the huge balcony and swimming area was a real bonus. It was a 2 minute walk to a local food store and Tico restaurant. Another great thing was it was 2 minutes from the surf break. Corynne promptly returned all emails and made our stay really pleasant, she was really great to deal with. We spent almost 2 weeks in Costa Rica and when I asked what his favorite part of the trip was it was sleeping in the pirate bed in Playa Grande, mine was head high barrels in Playa Grande.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 3rd time here in 12 months!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    3rd time here in 12 months!

    • Guest Andrew and Maxine
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    This is the 3rd time i have been to playa grande in the last year. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing place to unwind and enjoy the sights and sounds of a beautiful tropical destination. Ian and Corynne could not be more welcoming and friendly and are always around to help with anything you may need. From a fish order, directly from the fisherman, to which board to rent for the day/week/month they will always do their best to accommodate and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The beach is beautiful and even during high season basically empty. The surf is epic and has a great range of size for beginners to advanced surfers. I will continue to go back to grande and frijoles locos surf shop for years to come. In fact i am counting the days till i return again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Family Vacation~

    Wonderful Family Vacation~

    • Guest Mary (Bozeman Montana)
    • Date of stay 12/25/12
    • Review Submitted 01/10/13
    Our family of 4 (2 kids aged 9 and 11) just returned from the vacation of a life time staying at Frijoles Locos. The description and photos completely accurate. The condo, property, and pool was clean, welcoming, well supplied, comfortable, secure, and easily accessible. Perfect size for 4 people, unbelievable bang for your buck. The advice and help we got with transfers, groceries, and other activities was invaluable and completely as represented and expected. Any emails to Frijoles Locos were answered promptly. It was a 5 minute walk or 2 minute bike ride to the the main beach accesses and several restaurants. We loved the resident bats, and Loca the chocolate lab. Enjoyed the iguana next door and the Howler monkeys that are up bright and early. The surf shop, that is below, is modern and has an incredible array of product. It hums with activity but in no way gets in the way of your privacy or detracts from the experience of your stay. Our family took 4 group surf lessons during our stay. The instructors were organized, professional, and actually taught us to surf! The massage from the spa was so amazing that I had trouble standing up when it was done. The owners of the shop and condo are genuinely welcoming and friendly. Even though they are your neighbors (i.e. they live in the other half of the building) they have this uncanny ability to know when to visit and when to give your your space. The entire staff is fantastic, more than fantastic...much more than fantastic. If it were just the location, property, and amenities our experience would have been great. It is the "family" of Frijoles Locos that made our trip more than great but one of the most memorable we have ever had.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Surf Vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Great Family Surf Vacation

    • Guest Claire and Randall
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    We just returned from a great stay at the apartment above Frijoles Locos. We stayed all week with our 15 year old son. We surfed everyday with help from Ian. He was a patient instructor with great tips to help us all surf better. He was a master at finding the right break at the right time each day. Corryne was the best hostess helping us with everything from airport pick up, restaurants, bike rentals, spa services, etc....just anything to make our stay comfortable. Rob was also terrific as the resident "foodie" getting us hooked on granola bars from PGI. We really had a great time and came home totally relaxed yet exhausted from surfing everyday. PERFECT holiday!! Can't wait to go back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • No Better Place to Stay in Playa Grande (especially with a 1-year-old;)

    No Better Place to Stay in Playa Grande (especially with a 1-year-old;)

    • Guest Seija (CT)
    • Date of stay 03/26/12
    • Review Submitted 04/17/12
    Staying in Playa Grande over Tamarindo was by far the best decision we made during our Guanacaste adventure! And staying with Corynne, Ian and Finnigan at Frijoles Locos was the best choice we made while staying there! The apartment was PERFECT for the three of us (with our 1-year-old) and had everything we needed. They were even able to supply us with a Pack N Play AND a "high chair" (which made our travels that much easier) and when we arrived she had everything already set up! When Corynne saw that we only had a cheap umbrella stroller with us (due to airline rules) she cleaned off her old jogging stroller and lent it to us for the whole stay. She also was able to locate a reliable and trustworthy babysitter for us so that we could go out to dinner one night with out the little one! They definitely went above and beyond when taking care of us and they are full of lots of useful information and recommendations! The kitchen was very well appointed, the bathrooms had HOT water (something we didn't have during our last trip to Costa) and the A/C units kept the apartment at a perfect temperature during a very HOT stay! Although it isn't beachfront (I don't think there's anything in Playa Grande that is) the walk to the beach was peaceful and only about 3 minutes. Our three favorite restaurants were Rip Jack's, Mar Bar and The Great Waltinis, all of which were recommended by Corynne and her staff! We will definitely be revisiting Frijoles Locos in the very near future! Thanks again, Corynne and Ian!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • You could not find a better place....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    You could not find a better place....

    • Guest Min and Lynn
    • Date of stay 03/23/12
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    We are a family of 4 with a 12 y/o boy and 11 y/o girl. All of us love to be active on vacations and truly love the beach. We have a wide range of interests and by no means require luxury or pampering on our vacations. That being said, we truly appreciate people, places and things of high quality and tend to gravitate toward those. This past March, we had a family vacation in Playa Grande, Costa Rica. This is the third year in a row that we have visited CR for Spring break, having stayed in different areas each time. (Malpais and Peninsula Papagayo (Four Seasons)) By far, this was our favorite trip to CR! We planned a 10 day vacation and decided to split it up between 5 days in PG and 5 days at the JW Marriott, Guanacaste. On the recommendation of a good friend who is a serious surfer, we decided to stay at Frijoles Locos for the surf part. We expected that after several days of learning to surf and experience the local culture we would be more than ready for some luxury at the JW Marriott. As it turned out, the first 5 days of the trip were by far the better part and we found ourselves wanting to go back to the beauty, authenticity and peace of Playa Grande and Frijoles Locos. At Frijoles Locos we stayed in the 2 bedroom condo attached to the back of the surf shop. The condo has ample room for a family of four with all modern amenities (AC, WiFi, kitchen with appliances etc.) There is a nice pool in the back to cool off as well. Based on the rate it's an incredible value and a great place to stay for a family. The best part of staying there were the people who own the business (Corynne and Ian) and our surf instructor Rob from North Carolina. Corynne and Ian are incredible hosts and welcomed our family as if we had known them for many years. Rob was a great surf instructor and worked hard, with great patience, to help us all become better surfers. We had such a great time with all of them that we all went out to dinner together on our last night at a great spot called the Garden Grille. Awesome food and super friendly service. Speaking of food, the local restaurants at PG are some of the best spots for authentic CR dining we've experienced and frankly serve some of the tastiest, healthy and fresh food we have ever had. We plan to return for our next surf vacation and cannot say enough good things about our stay at Frijoles Locos and PG. Thanks Corynne, Ian and Rob for a great experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Personal concierge on premises

    Personal concierge on premises

    • Guest Nor CA girl (Ukiah)
    • Date of stay 12/05/11
    • Review Submitted 12/14/11
    We had a wonderful time at Frijoles Locos. The 2 bedroom apartment was perfect for the 4 of us and the proximity to Tamarindo was convenient without out being too close. There is nothing commercialized about Playa Grande. The restaurants are fair to excellent. Our favorites were El Huerto and the Garden Grill. By far the best part of our vacation was getting to know Corynne and Ian, the owners. They live adjacent to the property and their surf shop is located downstairs from the apartment. They were full of information about where to go and who to do business with. It was like having a friend in Costa Rica. As first time visitors, it was a blessing to have them as our personal concierge. We recommend this property to anyone who is interested in surfing, sightseeing or just enjoying the Pura Vida.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Spot in Playa Grande!

    Best Spot in Playa Grande!

    • Guest Gfkais (Santa Monica, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/21/11
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    I visited for a week and couldn't have had a better experience at Frijoles Locos apartments. The apartments were modern with tons of room and extremely clean. It was very quiet at night and you have beautiful views of the hills and landscape of Playa Grande. The pool is cleaned once a day and the property is is maintained in perfect condition. The surf shop has everything you need, honestly you can not pack one thing for this vacation and get everything you need from the shop. Ian and Corryne know the area and surrounding beaches better than anyone and are extremely helpful. It is only a 1 minute walk to the best restaurant in Playa Grande, Kike's, where you can get a traditional meal for around $5. I strongly recommend staying at Frijoles Locos whether you are a family on vacation or surfer trying to find the best waves. It is a 5 star place for a very affordable price, they will make sure your vacation/stay in Playa Grande is the best experience possible.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Baby moon - Pura Vida

    Baby moon - Pura Vida

    • Guest Griff (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 12/04/10
    • Review Submitted 12/27/10
    What an amazing place, fully self contained apartment with spa and surf shop. I could not think of a better set up for people to experience, literally everything is right there at your finger tips, including the hospitable, warm and helpful owners. We had an amazing time and would thoroughly recommend this as a vacation destination and accommodation option.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • DH

    DH

    • Guest Doris (Ormond Beach)
    • Date of stay 08/19/10
    • Review Submitted 09/06/10
    What a wonderful and relaxing getaway!! Absolutley the greatest hospitality from the owners, from suggesting sights to go see, setting up our fishing charters, right down to setting up our car rental and shuttles to and from the airport. It made it so easy to start relaxing and unwinding right away! We can't wait to go back!! We would recommend this property to everybody!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you Doris, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We also look forward to having you back here in our little paradise!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Apartment!

    Great Apartment!

    • Guest Brandon (Princeton, WV)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/20/10
    Great 2bdr. apartment nicely furnished within walking distance from the main break at Playa Grande! The owners helped set us up with a boat trip to Ollie's Point and Witches Rock as well as a rental car. They were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. This apartment is very reasonably priced and we had an amazing time staying here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: We really enjoy arranging the 'fun stuff' for our guests, from surfing trips, to volcano visits, zip-lining, horseback riding, sunset sailing, special cooking classes, in-house local cooking and so much more! We are always happy to hear that our guests have had a great time, and welcome any suggestions on how to make your stay the best it can be!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Frijoles Locos, Playa Grande

    Frijoles Locos, Playa Grande

    • Guest pj (ormond bch)
    • Date of stay 03/26/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this wonderful apartment! The apartment was beautifully decorated and within walking distance of the beach. The surf shop downstairs has everything you need to enjoy a day at the beach. The owners were helpful in setting up whatever excursions we wanted to try (fishing, bike riding, surfing, etc). Can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Owner response: Thank you PJ for your comments. They will certainly help future renters in making their decision to rent our place. We look forward to making more vacations great for our guests...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]