Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Ski In/Ski Out Log Home - Schuss Mountain / Shanty Creek

You sent a message to this owner.

Summer from ski hill below

Summer from ski hill below Private hottub Winter scene from ski hill just below home Ski-in / Ski-out Winter Wonderland Dining Room and part of Kitchen viewed from the Great Room Master Bedroom Main floor Queen Log Bedroom Living Room & Fireplace Futons in the large loft area Gourmet Kitchen from Dining Room Dining room with views of the ski hill

Calendar

Last updated: 04/16/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3 nights
  • Internet:No
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Bellaire house description

Ski-in ski-out slopeside 'Schoonhoven' Log Home on Schuss Mountain's Chicken's Choice ski run. FIREPLACE. HOT TUB. FIRE PIT. Considered the nicest home in the resort!

HURRY - We book up way in advance!

SPRING & FALL SPECIAL: Receive two free nights with your paid two night stay; longer bookings will receive one night free for each paid night!

DECEMBER AND MARCH SPECIAL!! SNOW GUARANTEE! SPECIAL PRICING!
Free night(s) on your next visit if Schuss Mountain is closed due to lack of snow in December or March (not likely to happen; but why take a chance with some other home when we'll guarantee your trip?). Book now to take advantage of the less-crowded early and late ski seasons, AND PAY DISCOUNTED SUMMER/SPRING/FALL RATES!

Our home is located directly on Schuss Mountain within minuets of Shanty Creek’s world class Legend golf course and the Cedar River’s Tom Weiskopf designed course. Mother Nature can be very kind and dump lots of snow on the drive and local roads. This is truly ski-in, ski-out; during the ski season 4WD is HIGHLY recommended, if not required.

Three story, luxury log home built on a private, wooded hillside located directly on Schuss Mountain within the Shanty Creek Resort; only minutes from either The Summit or Cedar River Villages. The home has four bedrooms, a huge loft, and three-and-a-half baths, easily accommodating 16 people. Enjoy the huge upper level master suite with 2-person Jacuzzi tub.

Both the main level (two bedrooms and 1 & 1/2 baths) and the upper level master and loft sleep 6 each. The amazing lower level with 10 foot ceilings and knotty pine walls sleeps 8 in one bedroom, living room with futon and two sleeper couches, small second kitchen, and bath with Jacuzzi tub. The separate levels make this the perfect lodging for two or three families. The open floorplan on the main level with vaulted living room, and natural wood fireplace creates a warm and comfortable space for gathering. Relax after golfing or skiing in our private six-person hot tub below the large wrap-around deck overlooking the Chicken’s Choice ski run.

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Non Smoking Only
          • Pets Not Allowed

          Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18, Beds for 16-18

          Bathrooms: 3.5 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Microwave
          • Cooking Utensils
          • Refrigerator
          • Kitchen
          • Dishwasher

          Amenities

          • Linens Provided
          • Gas Fireplace
          • Air Conditioning
          • Washing Machine
          • Clothes Dryer

          Other Amenities

              • SAT TV with TiVo, VCR/DVD, Two Jetted Tubs in Baths, No Pets

              Entertainment

              • CD Player
              • Stereo

              Pool & Spa

                  • Hot Tub

                  Outdoor Features

                      • Outdoor Grill

                      Location & View

                      • Ski-In:

                        Ski right into our home - hot tub, fire pit, enjoy!...moreless

                      • Ski-Out:

                        Ski to the Yellow Lift right from our home...moreless

                      • Mountain View:

                        Schuss Mountain - Chicken's Choice Ski Run...moreless

                      • Resort:

                        Shanty Creek / Schuss Mountain...moreless

                      • Golf Course View

                      Car

                          • Recommended

                          Activities

                          • Wind-Surfing
                          • Water Skiing
                          • Golf
                          • Hunting
                          • Skiing
                          • Hiking
                          • Jet Skiing
                          • Fishing
                          • Sailing
                          • Cycling
                          • Boating
                          • Wildlife Viewing
                          • Shelling
                          • Sight Seeing
                          • Sledding
                          • Swimming
                          • Tennis
                          • Snowmobiling
                          • Fitness Center
                          • Cross Country Skiing

                          Other Activities

                              • Enjoy downhill skiing on Schuss Mountain, golf the Legend, the Bear, the Cedar River course, or your favorite Northern Michigan golf resort, Swim outdoors during ski season at Schuss Mountain's pool, Soak in the 6-person hot tub after a tough day on the links or the snow, Ride snowmobiles all the way to the UP, Or just curl up with a good book in front of the fire...moreless
                               

                              Reviews

                              Write a review
                              • Great trip, great house!

                                Great trip, great house!

                                • Guest Chrisy (Columbus, OH)
                                • Date of stay 02/26/12
                                • Review Submitted 03/05/12
                                This house is a great find! I had never experienced ski in/ski out before and now wouldn't want anything less! It was so convenient and less stressful than packing everyone AND all the equipment in the SUV each day. The house is beautifully maintained and was clean and ready for our arrival. We were already talking about a return trip before we even left. Don't change a thing!

                                Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers.

                                Owner response: Thanks for the compliments. I'm glad you had a good time. I know just how you feel about the ski-in / ski-out feature or our home... when I travel with the family I'm forced into renting the same in CO, UT, etc. because once you've experienced the convenience of slopeside lodging nothing else will do! Thanks for being our guest. Rick

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                              • had a GREAT time!!

                                had a GREAT time!!

                                • Guest Robert B.
                                • Date of stay 01/10/14
                                • Review Submitted 03/05/14
                                Had 12 adults up for the weekend.....and the house was PERFECT! The ski in, ski out is a wonderful feature. Hot tub was used every day to relax. Main floor was very conducive to the food and football that we enjoyed after a day of skiing and hiking. Would go back in a heartbeat. Plan to have the same crew up next year for the second annual trip! Thanks Rick.

                                Recommended for: Families with teenagers.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                              • Very disappointed!

                                Very disappointed!

                                • Guest Rhonda G.
                                • Date of stay 07/29/13
                                • Review Submitted 08/12/13
                                This is a beautiful house in a beautiful area. The house was very well stocked and comfortable. We did have some issues. Check in time was supposed to be 6 p.m. The cleaners were still there way after 6. The hottub was dirty and smelled funky. Overall, the house needed general maintenance. Ceiling fans were caked with dirt, deck was badly in need of attention as well as the deck chairs. The biggest complaint our group had was the misreprestation of the tennis & pools. You had to drive over to The Summit to use these....15 min. drive. We were not happy with this. Had we known ahead of time, we would have looked for a different place to stay for our week.

                                Owner response: I'm not sure who this gal Rhonda is; however, the people to whom I rented during the time she was at our home sent me an email advising me of some general maintenance items that needed attention. The tone of the email was very courteous, starting with "We are enjoying our stay in your beautiful home. I wanted to point out some items that are missing or in need of repair" and ending with "You have a beautiful home and we sure would like to come back again another time." In my opinion, that is the best way to handle small maintenance items... not putting up a review here. I'm surprised to hear that our cleaners were not done by 6pm. Jerry & Julie, the guest that actually rented our home, did not reach out to me about this. We have a 3000 square foot home and it takes every bit of the time between guests (noon to 6pm) to fully clean the home. The hot tub is an issue of maintenance - our cleaning crew cleans and disinfects the tub after every guest. However, if a guest does not add the necessary chemicals after their use or if they use the tub without showering it can get dirty very quickly (100 plus degree water does that). As to the fans being dirty - they are 20' up in the air and are cleaned as often as possible. As I live 3.5 hours from my resort home, it is very helpful when guests tell us that there is an issue so that we can we respond to it. As soon as I'm done replying to this comment I'll be calling my handyman / deep cleaner to get him out to my home with his extension ladder to clean the fans. Lastly, we're located in the Shanty Creek Resort. The Resort Amenities are available to all our guests - and are variable based on the time of year, general maintenance schedules, etc. The Summit is a part of the Shanty Creek Resort and is about 10 min from our home. The overall resort is comprised of three villages - Schuss Village, The Summit, and Cedar River. As an individual homeowner I can't control which resort amenities are open on which dates... so we strongly encourage all our guests to touch base with the resort directly prior to their trips if some particular amenities are very important to them.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/3

                              • Best Choice in Shanty Creek.

                                Best Choice in Shanty Creek.

                                • Guest George R (Chicago)
                                • Date of stay 01/14/11
                                • Review Submitted 01/24/11
                                Location, Location, Location. You cannot beat a ski in/ski out house of any kind but this one goes above and beyond. This luxury log cabin is amazing and provides more than the comforts of home. Heated floors, modern kitchen, a great fireplace, what more could you expect? What's more is the fire pit and outdoor hot tub in the yard! Amazing house. Any premium you pay in price compared to other non slope slide rentals is easily recovered by never having to go into the ski lodge for meals, refreshments, or warm ups of any kind. Rent it, you'll never regret it.

                                Recommended for: Romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                              • Great Ski Home

                                Great Ski Home

                                • Guest Ski Bum MI (Birmingham, MI USA)
                                • Date of stay 12/19/08
                                • Review Submitted 09/01/09
                                This was the best ski home we have ever rented. As it's located directly on the ski hill the non-skiers in our group could hang out in the hot tub, on the large deck, or at the fire pit and watch the skiers schuss by on Chicken's Choice ski run. The open layout was great for our extended family group. Not the least expensive option... but certainly the BEST home we've ever rented.

                                Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

                                Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

                               
                              Rental basis: Per property
                              Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                              Summer
                              Apr 7 - Nov 26, 2014
                              3 night min stay
                              $495 $695
                              Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun
                              $2,995
                              Ski Season
                              Nov 27 - Mar 28, 2015
                              3 night min stay
                              $595 $895
                              Thu, Fri, Sat, Sun
                              $3,995
                              My Standard Rate
                              3 night min stay
                              $595 $695
                              Thu, Fri, Sat
                              $2,995

                              Additional information about rental rates

                              Fees:

                              • Tax Rate 6%

                              Notes:

                              50% to reserve your dates. Final payment three weeks prior to your visit.


                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                              Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                              Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                              Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                               

                              Calendar

                              Last updated: 04/16/2014
                              Check availability
                              23 Available
                              21 Unavailable
                              22 Today
                              23 Selected dates
                               

                              Location

                              • Nearest Airport: Traverse City at 40 Miles
                              • Nearest Beach: Bellaire at 8 Miles
                              • Nearest Barpub: Short's Micro Brewery at 6 Miles
                              • Nearest Ski: Schuss Mountain at Bellaire
                              • Nearest Golf: Schuss Mountain / Cedar River / Legend at 0.2 Miles
                              • Nearest Restaurant: LuLu's at 6 Miles
                               

                              Owner info

                              Year Purchased: 2002

                              About the owner: Rick manages some great resort rental properties. By day I'm a business development executive in the factory and building automation industry and autosports fan, racer, and instructor.

                              Why the Owner Chose Bellaire:
                              Location, Location, Location... our Schoonhoven home sits DIRECTLY on the ski hill and very close to all the golf, hiking, biking, and more.

                              The Unique Benefits at this House:
                              Ski right into the front yard, kick off the skis, sit by the fire, soak in the hot tub, dry off, put skis back on... and repeat!


                              Contact us

                              Speaks: english

                              Links to more information:

                               

                              Photos

                              • Summer from ski hill below

                                Summer from ski hill below

                              • Winter scene from ski hill just below home

                                Winter scene from ski hill just below home

                              • Dining Room and part of Kitchen viewed from the Great Room

                                Dining Room and part of Kitchen viewed from the Great Room

                              • Main floor Queen Log Bedroom

                                Main floor Queen Log Bedroom

                              • Futons in the large loft area

                                Futons in the large loft area

                              • Private hottub

                                Private hottub

                              • Ski-in / Ski-out Winter Wonderland

                                Ski-in / Ski-out Winter Wonderland

                              • Master Bedroom

                                Master Bedroom

                              • Living Room & Fireplace

                                Living Room & Fireplace

                              • Gourmet Kitchen from Dining Room

                                Gourmet Kitchen from Dining Room

                              • Dining room with views of the ski hill

                                Dining room with views of the ski hill

                              VRBO #15528

                              There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                              This listing was first published here in 2002.

                              Date last modified - Monday, April 07, 2014

                              $495 - $895 per night (USD)
                              5

                              4 Bedroom / 3.5 Bathroom
                              Sleeps 18

                              View calendar: Updated 04/16/14
                              Minimum stay: 3 nights
                              Dates are unavailable
                              Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                              This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                              Get an instant quote
                              Owner
                              Email owner

                              +1 2482025104
                              2482025104

                              Speaks: english
                              Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                              Add vacation protection services to your booking

                              Three services to protect your trip:

                              Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                              Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                              Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                              Get it now

                              advertisement