Close to Town- 4th Night Free!!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets allowed:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
The Big Bear Cabin is an 80+ year-old log cabin located conveniently close to Downtown Gatlinburg, within one mile of the new Ripley's Aquarium and situated on a very private wooded lot. A recent renovation of the one bedroom cabin includes such amenities as new central heat/air, inside whirlpool bath, large outside spa, pool table, air hockey table, two televisions, VCR, DVD player, fully furnished kitchen, leather furniture, queen-sized log bed, two sleeper futon sofas and gas log fireplace.
Keywords: Log Cabin
- Vacation Rental
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Considered
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, Beds for 6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Air Conditioning
- Gas Fireplace
- Linens Provided
- Parking Off Street
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Air Hockey
- Pool Table
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Hot Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Sight Seeing
- Live Theater
- Theme Parks
- Miniature Golf
- Horseback Riding
- Wildlife Viewing
ReviewsWrite a review
On a good note, the cabin is in a great location. It sits right before the main strip of shops. You don't have to fight the Gatlinburg traffic if you are headed to Pigeon Forge. And the living room and sun room are very spacious. It was clean but could have use a dusting in corners and shelves. Now for the not so good. The major problem was that the picture of the bedroom on this site is not the bedroom at the cabin. It was so small that the bed was pushed into the corner and was only a foot away from the the wall on the other side and that is without a head board or foot board. I'm a tad bit claustrophobic, so due to it smallness and stuffiness (because the AC vent wasn't working properly) we ended up putting our two small kids on the bed sideways and my husband and I spent a whole week on a futon in the living room. For the price, I would have appreciated a bed. Another concern is that the kitchen is really not stocked well. We had one metal spatchula and two wooden spoons to cook with. There were no hot pads at all, so our two kitchen hand towels were pulling double duty. And if the cabin sleeps 6, then there should really be more than 3 cereal spoons. We had to bend the griddle back straight just to get it to sit level on the stove and the handle on in spun around 360 degrees. It just seems like a cabin that the owners themselves never use. We were really disappointed in the hot tub. We checked the water the day we got there and it left a really bad odor on your arm. We called the number provided and the service call was great. They showed up the next day, drained and refilled it, but I guess the smell is just permanent because even after the cleaning, your hand came away with a bad odor, so we just took advantage of the jetted tub instead. On that note, the porch lights really need to be checked in between each rental. The only light on the top level that worked was the motion one. Not real good since the drive is so narrow and steep. If the hot tub was usable, we would have been in the complete dark unless you want to wave your arms around constantly. And since we were greeted by a large brown bear walking up from the lower deck after he enjoyed a dinner on our trash one evening when we were walking out the front door, we would have really liked a light we could leave on so we could see when we left and arrived back home. (A word to the wise, don't use the trash can provided outside, walk your trash to the dumpster.)
- Guest Kerri B.
- Date of stay 07/02/12
- Review Submitted 07/21/12
Well the location is amazing and secluded...what we wanted. There was plenty of room for two of us and our dog. The bathroom was clean and new and the kitchen was good to cook in and keep all the food we brought...however, the grill in the picture was not there for us to grill. The hot tub was not clean the porch on the first floor has not been swept in a long time...it took me an hour to clean it just so we could sit there...the living room was dirty so I cleaned everything...the sheets smelled sour and the bed had a hole in the middle which we rolled into all night long for three nights...most of the light outside did not work and there was no light bulb replacement and the tv in the bed room never got a signal...we came to get away and spend most of our time in the cabin but ended up spending most of the time in town....I love the scenery but thought the cabin would at least look like the pictures....oh well good weekend anyway
- Guest Bloomtide
- Date of stay 05/17/12
- Review Submitted 05/20/12
Recommended for: Pet owners.
My family and I really enjoyed the cabin! Great location! Walking distance to Gatlinburg! Just be really for a work out on the way back to the cabin. We had a blast playing air hockey! Playing pool was fun! but when we were looking for the pool sticks and saw both pool sticks that were pretty bad damage and there wasn't any replacement of the broken pool sticks..So my husband had somehow made one pool stick useable to play.So it had worked out for us to play pool! They were very helpful in answering our questions and just having great service! We had a Great time and didn't want to leave The Big Bear Cabin!
- Guest MC
- Date of stay 03/30/12
- Review Submitted 04/04/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, pet owners, romantic getaway, families with young children, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Smokies!!
Authentic Log Cabin!!
Authentic Log Cabin!!
When we go to Gatlinburg, we look for privacy, scenery, and "the log cabin experience". After looking at the pictures, we felt that this cabin looked like the real deal. During booking the agent told us a little of the history of the cabin and we were expectant that this was what we were looking for. The cabin was very easy to find and walking distance to town, if you can trek back up the mountain. This is an older cabin, so if you are looking for luxury, this is not the cabin for you. But it fit us and our "4-legged child" just fine and we will definitely be back!! BTW - Be sure to look for the heart shaped rock in the chimney!
- Guest pcd
- Date of stay 07/04/11
- Review Submitted 08/01/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very glad that you enjoyed your Smoky Mountain vacation and hope to see you again soon!!
amenities were problematic
amenities were problematic
We experienced the following problems: 1. The glass roof leaked upstairs and through the wall to downstairs. The carpet upstairs was stained from previous leaks and smelled offensively. The downstairs bedroom had standing water after a heavy rain. 2. The kitchen sink leaked with signs underneath of previous leaks. Fixed on Sunday. 3. The dishwasher leaked all over the kitchen floor. Plumber fixed this on the third day of our stay. 4. The vacuum cleaner motor ran but did not pick up dirt on carpet or floors. Replaced on third or fourth day. Also mop, bucket and broom were provided for us to clean the main level floors which were dirty. 5. The downstairs bedroom with the lower bunk creaked with every movement so was unusable. 6. There was a used band aid in the upstairs front bedroom bed. 7.There was trash behind the door of the upstairs bedroom with the bunk beds. 8. Moving the oven racks resulted in greasy dirty hands. 9. There were no kitchen linens in the 'fully equipped kitchen." The maintenance people were contacted frequently and responded accordingly to what was within their scope of service. We did not use the hot tube, the outside grill, or fireplace. The location was ideal.
- Guest Joan
- Date of stay 06/18/11
- Review Submitted 06/27/11
Owner response: This cabin is no longer in our rental program.
$495/3 nts. $635/4 nts. Call for special rates 5 nights or more 4th night free with 3 paid nights Call for additional information & specials
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Sorry this information is not available. Please contact the owner/manager for more information.
- Primary: (256) 442-3141(Alabama, USA)
- Secondary: Toll Free: (800) 693-7810
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Driveway view of Big Bear Cabin
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2002.
Date last modified - Tuesday, May 21, 2013