Santa Barbara Beach Getaway - 2 Blocks to Beach & Town
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:3-5 nights
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
West Beach condo description
The Beach Getaway resides in a historical turn of the century building and retains the charm of the days gone by. My husband and I spent a year working with craftsmen and designers to create a unique vacation rental reflecting the style of the early 1900's and Santa Barbara. The hand cast plaster gives it both a romantic and European feeling. And the 10-foot ceilings, Waterford fireplace, hard wood and limestone floors all add to its ambiance. You will not find a comparable vacation rental for the price - quality, amenities & location. Compare our 2 bedroom/2bath Beach Getaway to the hotels at the beach and you will find that it is less than the price of single hotel room.
Both bedrooms offer queen feather beds. One bedroom offers a king bed and desk with wireless high speed internet access. The other bedroom offers a king bed with garden and courtyard views.
Each bedroom is complimented with a full bath. The bathrooms are immaculate - all new with limestone floors, granite countertops and French tiles.
The sparkling new & open kitchen has hardwood floors and granite counter tops with a cook top range, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. Its granite counter tops include a dining area for 5.
The warm & cozy living room has wood floors, Waterford fireplace, and couch with full pullout bed, TV, DVD and stereo.
Enjoy the views, through the glass French door, to the large private courtyard and potted flowers. The courtyard has an Italian fountain and green shrubbery that can be enjoyed on chaise lounges and wrought iron dining table and chairs.
A large gas grill has also been provided for enjoyment of our local flavors.
The Beach Getaway is a rare high quality vacation destination in the heart of Santa Barbara! Enjoy all the comforts and privacy of a home for less than the price of a hotel.
- On floor 1
- 800 sq. ft.
- 1 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Housekeeper Optional
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Not Allowed
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5, Beds for 4-5
Bathrooms: 2 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker:
- Pantry Items:
- Dining Area Seats:
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Child's Highchair
- Dishes & Utensils
- Fitness Room / Equipment:
- Gas Fireplace:
- Towels Provided:
- Washing Machine
- Linens Provided
- Unmatched IN SANTA BARBARA for the location, quality and price!, Wireless High Speed Internet access, Private reserved parking, Private courtyard with Italian fountains, chaise lounges & Gas grill, Waterford Fireplace, Washer/Dryer, DVD and phone CD and stereo, stove, 2 queen beds and full size pull out sofa, 2 full baths, linens provided, Lovingly restored turn of the century building, Antiques imported from Europe and dating to the late 1800's, Steps to Beach, Stearns Wharf & downtown. ALL FOR LESS THAN THE PRICE OF A SINGLE HOTEL ROOM....moreless
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Outdoor Grill Gas
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
- Lawn / Garden
- Tourist Attractions
- Rock Climbing
- Fitness Center
- Medical Services
- Basketball Court
- Water Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Roller Blading
- Pier Fishing
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Mountain Biking
- Mountain Climbing
- Equestrian Events
- Deepsea Fishing
- Massage Therapist
- Live Theater
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Botanical Garden
- Winery Tours
- Scenic Drives
- Outlet Shopping
- Whale Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Gambling Casinos
- Bird Watching
- Check in time is 11 AM. Check out time is 4 PM. There are 700+ vacation rentals in the 'Santa Barbara Area'. Vacation rentals pricing follow the same trend as real estate pricing - location, location. The farther out you go out of Santa Barbara, the less expensive the real estate and the better the vacation rental pricing. We are located in the best area of Santa Barbara - the Historic West Beach Area - 2 blocks to the Beach and downtown Santa Barbara, yet not on a commercial thoroughfare, not next to the railroad tracks or not adjacent a highway. And we offer private reserved parking. In addition to location, look at our property and compare amenities and pricing. We are unmatched....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
Santa Barbara Beach house getaway
Santa Barbara Beach house getaway
We went for a 4day holiday and to be with our friends getting married. We are 4women and we totally enjoyed the place. A really cute 2bed 2bath space and we'll thot out for the space available.THe patio space is large and private, the beds are comfortable and the place was super clean! The location is easily walkable to the ocean, shops a cute neighborhood bar,grocery and the Liquor store! Melanie and Todd were very responsive and everything was as promisedWe would certainly seek it out again if ever we are lucky enough to visit the area again.
- Guest Dana T. (Ogden Utah)
- Date of stay 11/14/13
- Review Submitted 11/19/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Wow! Can I move in?
Wow! Can I move in?
What a great find! We booked last minute after another reservation fell through, and we felt so lucky once we arrived. The building is grand and historic, but the unit was modern inside with updated baths and kitchen. It was spotless and beautifully appointed. Everything was clearly thought out and perfect. Lovely bed linens. Great outdoor seating area. Little touches like a full spice rack, shampoo & conditioner and even fresh sponges under the sink. The kitchen is nicely set up and we enjoyed chatting and cooking together. The location couldn't be better. I stayed here with my sister and niece and we enjoyed walking to the beach and to State Street. You could even walk from the train station if you didn't want to drive to Santa Barbara - you wouldn't need a car once you got here. But the off-street parking was much appreciated. Melanie was very professional and a gracious hostess. We hope to return next year!
- Guest Nancy M.
- Date of stay 10/25/13
- Review Submitted 10/28/13
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Requiring some TLC
Requiring some TLC
The location was great but the accommodation is requiring some updating and managing by the owners as it is neglected. Unfortunately, the reviews on site are 2011/12 with the exception of one earlier this year. Had I noticed this I would possibly have not booked. We arrived to a dishwasher full of dirty pots and, as a previous holidaymaker had said in a note to the owners, the dishwasher is exceptionally noisy and requires a service. The couch was threadbare and soiled and the bathroom required a good clean to get to areas collecting dirt such as the shower head and the groove in between the shower screen. The second bedroom had just one single wardrobe with no drawers in the room at all which meant that my husband and self had to live out of our suitcases for 6 days which was so frustrating as we had to climb over the cases to get into bed - the room was so small. Outside the two sun loungers were dirty and soiled and one was broken. We didn't complain whilst we were there much to my regret as we didn't want to upset our friends who were with us and wanted to avoid any confrontation. We have stayed in many a vacation home in the US and this is by far the most disappointed we have been. This property is by no means luxury as stated in the write up.
- Guest Janet (Leeds, UK)
- Date of stay 09/25/13
- Review Submitted 10/12/13
Owner response: I believe this guest has us mixed up with another property as they refer to only having 1 review this year and advertising as "luxury", both of which do not apply to us. The Beach Getaway has 14 reviews, 11 of which are 5 Star & 3 were posted in 2013. We even have a 5 star review from a guest that followed this guests' review? With regard to the comment on "luxury", we do not advertise "luxury" anywhere on the site. We never heard from this guest and do not recognize their name or date of stay. We encourage guests to read all of our reviews as they note that the property is clean, well maintained, nicely furnished, in a good location, etc.... We have been in business for 10+ years and could not survive if the property was as this guest described. In these 10 years we have never received a review like this, in any of our 16 properties, and the proof is self evident in comparison to other reviews. The Beach Getaway is unmatched in location, quality and price. It is not a "luxury" offering and is not priced as such - anyone that looks at Santa Barbara pricing can see this. However, there is nothing like it when compared to its A+ location, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms (1 king & 1 queen), full kitchen, small living room area with fireplace and TV, large private courtyard, private parking, quality interior & amenities for the price - without exception. Most 1BR/1BA hotels and vacation rentals are priced higher and yet the Beach Getaway offers so much more. The Beach Getaway is as advertised, and although not overly large with 750 square feet, it is clean, well maintained, with lots of amenities and in a great location. We own, manage and maintain all of our properties and have earned the 11 Five Star reviews posted for this property. We have also earned a reputation that brings us repeat business year after year. Please check our reviews and our competition and let us earn your business.
Wow! Wonderful front garden with roses, alstromeria, Calla lilies and a well groomed lawn! the unit is nicely furnished with a well-stocked kitchen - even a great supply of spices/herbs and olive oil. Dishes/pots and pans, a d fine selection of wine glasses. The adjacent patio was a good place to play cards, read or have appetizers. What impressed me the most was the overall level of cleanliness! Things just sparkled! We had a fine stay - good sized condo for two couples. I highly recommend this beach getaway! It is well within walking distance of the beach and a wharf.
- Guest Lagene (Bloomington, MN)
- Date of stay 04/27/13
- Review Submitted 05/08/13
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
This is such a wonderful condo. Melanie did a superb job renovating this unit and others in the building! The interior design is so practical for the space. The interior decor is fresh and comforting from the tiled showers to the bedding. The kitchen has everything you need (loved the seating) and the patio is perfect for outdoor gatherings. You can walk to the beach or to State street everyday! We had a perfect Christmas. Thank you again!
- Guest Christmas retreat (Scottsdale, AZ)
- Date of stay 12/22/12
- Review Submitted 01/23/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children.
Lovely Private Courtyard
Lovely Private Courtyard
I arrived as a guest of a friend who had rented the condo for us for 4 nights in mid-September. A cozy condo with a lovely private courtyard. Two nice sized bedrooms and two bathrooms. Convenient to downtown and the beach. I think if we had chosen to come to Santa Barbara in the summer rather than at the start of school (college), we would've enjoyed a quiet, relaxing time. Unfortunately, college students were making a lot of noise well into the night. The condo faces the street which is very busy in the early morning hours with loud trucks. Sounds carried loudly in this quaint neighborhood and the sounds from trucks and people in the early morning hours echoed into the condo as we had to leave our windows open since there was no air conditioning. For late risers, this was a problem. We understand we stayed during an unusually hot time of the year but without air conditioning, sleeping was difficult. I loved the condo itself, but had issues with the noise that carried loudly throughout the neighborhood well into the night and early morning. If we had been able to close the windows, this wouldn't have been much of an issue for me, but we had to leave them open since there is no air conditioning.
- Guest Monalee (Denver, CO)
- Date of stay 09/12/12
- Review Submitted 09/22/12
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers.
Owner response: We very much appreciate guest responses as they help us realize our goal - we ARE UNMATCHED in location, quality and price. Of the 10 other reviews posted, 9 are rated 5 stars. This review is consistent with our 5 star reveiws in that the reviewer states he "loves the property". Unfortunately our guest was disappointed because we do not have air conditioning and this is correct. We do not advertise air conditioning and we don't have it as it is not needed in Santa Barbara, particularly for properties close to the beach. This is the market place standard for properties in Santa Barbara as the average monthly temperature in Santa Barbara ranges from 65 to 75 throughout the year and we rarely break the 80's. However there are a few rare days that are hot as our guest noted. So the good news about this review is that it points out to our future guests that we do not have air conditioning. We want our guests to be happy, even if that means they do not stay with us. The overwhelming majority of our guests return, as they understand the value of our property in Santa Barbara. We would not have been in business for the past 10+ years if it were not for our customer base and their loyalty. We hope to earn your business and encourage you to compare our property, our location, our amenities and our price to our competition.
Great Stay in Santa Barbara
Great Stay in Santa Barbara
Spent a week in Santa Barbara at this condo. Great location. Very nice condo. Enjoyed our stay at Melanie's place. It was close to the beach and to many good restaurants. Weather was perfect, condo was great. Will be back soon!
- Guest Jim (Colorado Springs)
- Date of stay 09/01/12
- Review Submitted 09/20/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.
September 2011 visit
September 2011 visit
Melanie was a wonderful hostess and the condo was as represented in the photos and description. Additionally, her recommendations for places to eat and things to do were excellent and made the stay effortless. If you choose to stay here (and I strongly recommend it) you will find yourself within walking distance to both the beach and also State street where all the action is. There is a electric shuttle that travels up and down State so park your car in your reserved spot (a plus) and enjoy. September is a great month to visit as weather is still great and crowds are down.
- Guest sweetpea (Litchfield Park, AZ)
- Date of stay 09/11/11
- Review Submitted 10/05/11
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, romantic getaway.
I had a last minute idea to take my wife and daughter up for fiesta weekend. It is so hard to find a place during this weekend and to hard to find someone who can put a rental together on such short notice. The owners were so prompt,polite, and welcoming. We enjoyed this perfect little get away near the beach and could not have been happier to have stayed in such a well done updated clean place. We Enjoy the jacuzzi bath the comfortable bedding the kitchen and personal balcony. The owners will have us back to for our next trip to santa barbara. Thank you
- Guest E (Studio city)
- Date of stay 08/04/11
- Review Submitted 08/07/11
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, families with young children, sightseeing.
Can't wait to return to the Beach Getaway!
Can't wait to return to the Beach Getaway!
My wife and I just returned home from our stay at the Beach Getaway and could not be happier with the accommodations! The condo was beautiful, and the private courtyard allowed us to unwind after we put our 10 month old son to sleep. Todd and Melanie were great and had a high chair and pack and play set up for us upon arrival. The location was perfect and we were just a few minute walk from the beach and State Street. We are already looking forward to return next July!
- Guest Andrew B.
- Date of stay 07/03/11
- Review Submitted 07/14/11
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, girls getaway, pet owners, age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Mar 1 - Apr 5, 2014
3 night min stay
|Summer High Season
May 24 - Sep 6, 2014
5 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
3 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Higher rates apply for Holidays and Graduation weeks.
Inquire for monthly rates which depend on length of stay and season.
Maximum occupancy up to 5.
50% of the rent, tax, cleaning fee & damage security deposit are required to confirm a reservation with the remaining 50% due 30 days before check-in.
Standard method of payment is checks and direct deposits at any Bank of America Branch.
Credit card payment via PayPal and bank wire transfers are also accepted but in these cases the 4% PayPal fee & $25/wire transfer fee are applied.
Cancellation policy - the amount of deposit received is subject to loss, excluding the damage security deposit, unless re-rented for that time period
- Cleaning Fee: $135
- Tax Rate 12%
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Santa Barbara Airport at 15 Miles
Year Purchased: 2003
About the owner: My husband and I own and manage our property which enables us to give attention to detail and to our guests. We work hard to retain our 40% repeat business and it shows in the warmth, cleaniness and quality of our property.
Why the Owner Chose West Beach:
This is truly the way to enjoy Santa Barbara. We are walking distance to all - the beach, harbor, public pool, Stearns Wharf and the main street downtown (State Street) that hosts the best restaurants, shops and theaters. We also offer rare private reserved parking, enabling you to park you car freely. Why waste time in traffic or looking for parking as parking in Santa Barbara can be a challenge and the highways do experience significant traffic delays. We are located in a residential area, not a commercial thorough fare or next to the rail road tracks or highway. We also offer a large private courtyard with Italian fountain, chaise lounges table and chairs and gas grill, that enable you to relax and enjoy the sun, or cook you local favorites on our gas grill. You will not find a comparable vacation rental when comparing location, quality and price!
- Primary: + (805) 689-8994 Ask for Melanie (California, USA)
- Secondary: + (714) 394-5667 Ask for Todd (California, USA)
Relax in a private courtyard, with trickling fountain, 2 blks to beach & town
Fully equipped kitchen with granite, immaculately clean & new
Sweet dreams in a King Size French Antique Rosewood Bed
Historic - A winning combination of location, quality and price!
Walk to the beach and enjoy our restaraunts with your feet in the sand
Be IN Santa Barbara from sunrise to sunset
Grill local favorites at your private encassed courtyard
Warm and cozy living room with glass door to private courtyard
Leave your car and parking worries behind - with RARE private parking
The most desirable location in Santa Barbara -Historic West Beach
Leave your car and worries behind - walk to the farmers market
Walk to the harbor and take a sunrise or sunset cruise
Park your car and leave your worries behind-walk to downtown and City wine tour
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2002.
Date last modified - Tuesday, November 19, 2013