Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Salem Surf Sanctuary- Fabulous Beach Cottage Just Steps to the Beach

You sent a message to this manager.

Salem Surf Spot! - Private Deck Offers Ocean View, A Hammock, Amazing Hot Tub, Gas Grill and a Spot to Shower off the Sand!

Salem Surf Spot! - Private Deck Offers Ocean View, A Hammock, Amazing Hot Tub, Gas Grill and a Spot to Shower off the Sand! BBQ - Enjoy the BBQ on the deck! Hot Tub and BBQ - Relax in your hot tub and have a BBQ at the same time. Living Room to Deck - The Sleeper Sofa has a great view of the Flat Screen TV, and many of the excellent framed photography in this well-decorated unit. Step right out onto your deck with the hammock, hot tub, and oceanview! Living Room to Kitchen and Dining Room Breakfast Bar and Dining Area - The dining room table folds against the wall to tuck out of the way when not in use. This beach house is bright and spacious. Dining Room Cozy Kitchen with All the Comforts of Home Mission Beach Sunset Beach View from the Deck - Look out to the ocean to check out wave conditions. Private Deck with Deluxe Hot Tub! Parking Just a short walk over to the sand! Full Bathroom Sunshiny Surf Sanctuary! - Bright and cheery rooms await you in your beach bungalow. This sofa lays flat for a full size sleeper. Living Room to Deck - Hanging wetsuit not included;).

This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

Calendar

Last updated: 04/24/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:3-5 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Mission Beach cottage description

This property is available year-round.
You can make an online reservation now or call us for assistance. We offer a 3 night minimum Sept to May. One week minimum for summer season Sat to Sat and also over the Holidays - we do make some exceptions in Early June and late August. Holidays have one week minimum but at times we can work around this so please call! We do not accommodate arrivals on a holiday at this time. Please call to verify current RATES. We will do our best to have the up to date rate displayed but there will be times that our rates may not be current. SBR

Relax, you're on the beach! Enjoy time with your loved ones in this cozy beach cottage, just steps away from Mission Beach's famous Boardwalk. Watch sunsets every day, and relax in the jacuzzi at night. Salem Surf Sanctuary is the prime location for surfers, writers and ocean lovers alike.

It's private, it's an original stand alone home (rare on the beach), it has a big parking spot for SUVs, surf and classic art on Mango and yellow walls giving that well lit outside beach feel all day, 8-10 incredible tropical plants surround the private deck with its bamboo fence, Mid Century decor, wood flooring and speakers in all rooms including the bathroom so you can jam to your favorite music.

The cottage includes: a full size kitchen with refrigerator, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster oven and blender. There is a barbeque on the deck. Wi-Fi ready!




What brings you to San Diego? Sun, sand and surf you say? Then you just found your beach house! This wonderful cottage is 45 steps to the sand and offers an ocean view from the beautiful redwood deck. The deck has stylish bamboo fencing that can be folded down for a more open feel with oceanview, or folded up for a private experience. Turn up the hot tub, sit back and relax while whipping up dinner on the gas grill.



The living room is sunshiny and bright with state of the art TV and audio, bring the iPod and enjoy the surround sound emitting from the speakers throughout the house. There is even a speaker in the bathroom so you can rock out while soaking in bubbles! Beautiful hardwood floors and mid-century furniture make this beach house a dream to come home to. Two 'click clack' sofas lay flat for a full size sleeper in the living room. The kitchen is efficient and well equipped, dishwasher, gas stove, blender and toaster oven. This beach house is available year round and it sleeps up to 4 adults.


Full bathroom off the living room is convenient from the master bedroom and the living room. It even has a tub for you to relax in. You will love the decor in this house!


The master has a skylight and king size bed, desk area with wireless internet and cordless phone- if you MUST work- you are well equipped. Washer and dryer included too.


Parking space suits a larger car or SUV as it is an exterior space next to the house. The Salem Surf Sanctuary is beautifully located, steps away from bike and boogie board rental, The Mission Cafe and Saska's steak and sushi is a block away. Everything you need is steps away from your beach house. Bring your suit and your board, kick the sand off your feet, shower on the deck and settle in to the 4 person hot tub or relax on the hammock.


Daily, weekly and monthly rates offered.

Property Type

  • 900 sq. ft.
  • Cottage

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Suitability

      • Pets Not Allowed
      • Non Smoking Only

      Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Beds for 2-4

      • ...moreless

      • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) More comfortable than a futon but similar as it unfolds to be flat. Located in the living room....moreless

      Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

      Kitchen & Dining

      • Toaster
      • Microwave
      • Dishwasher
      • Refrigerator
      • Dishes & Utensils
      • Coffee Maker

      Amenities

      • Washing Machine
      • Linens Provided

      Entertainment

          • Satellite / Cable

          Communications

              • Internet

              Pool & Spa

                  • Hot Tub

                  Outdoor Features

                  • Deck / Patio
                  • Outdoor Grill

                  Location & View

                      • Beach View:

                        Literally 10 steps to the beach!...moreless

                      Activities

                      • Swimming
                      • Kayaking
                      • Sailing
                      • Tennis
                      • Racquetball
                      • Parasailing
                      • Hot Air Ballooning
                      • Basketball Court
                      • Cycling
                      • Surfing
                      • Mountain Biking
                      • Jet Skiing
                      • Hiking
                      • Golf
                      • Fishing
                      • Water Skiing
                      • Wind-Surfing
                      • Zoo
                      • Restaurants
                      • Horseshoes
                      • Health/Beauty Spa
                      • Theme Parks
                      • Museums
                      • Live Theater
                      • Cinemas
                      • Antiquing
                      • Fitness Center
                      • Sight Seeing
                      • ATM/Bank
                      • Groceries
                      • Miniature Golf
                      • Boating
                      • Shopping
                      • Shelling

                      Other Activities

                          • Located in world famous Mission Beach. Sun, sand and surf abound! Bike on the boardwalk! Belmont Park with the Giant Dipper Roller Coaster is a little more than a mile away. 15 minutes to downtown San Diego and the airport. 5 minutes to Sea World. SD Zoo is 15 minutes away and the wild animal park and Lego Land are just over 30 minutes away....moreless
                           

                          Reviews

                          Write a review
                          • Hidden Gem!

                            Hidden Gem!

                            • Guest Amy (Wisconsin Rapids, WI)
                            • Date of stay 01/17/14
                            • Review Submitted 02/14/14
                            Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This vacation rental was amazing and perfect for myself and my significant other. The hot tub and hammock outside are something you can't find at many other properties and really make your vacation relaxing. The house itself was cute and accommodating. You can still hear the ocean from inside the bedroom at night which is amazing. I was tentative at first because I thought I wanted something right on Ocean Front Walk; but after staying here I would return in a heartbeat. You don't get as much noise and traffic as you do on the main strip and you can still see a little bit of the ocean from the backyard. Thanks Daphne for letting me enjoy you're hidden gem, it was amazing!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Cute House.

                            Cute House.

                            • Guest Lisa S. (Phoenix, az)
                            • Date of stay 10/25/13
                            • Review Submitted 11/19/13
                            Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Cute House. Great Location, Will definitely return. The Jacuzzi stopped working while we were there. We understand things like this happen. The rental company and the owner of the house were very responsive, tried to get things working ASAP and did compensate us when it was not going to be fixed during our stay....our 5 year said that Larry (the owner) is going to teach her to surf when she comes back...this is not confirmed but he was very sweet to our kids when he was there working on the Jacuzzi. Those fold out beds were pretty uncomfortable. Previous reviews did not lie. I did know what I was getting into so I still rated the overall satisfaction a 5 Manager responded on 11/11/2013: Thank you for staying with us and I am so sorry the jacuzzi stopped working. We look forward to your next visit and Yes Larry will teach your kids how to Surf! He is a great guy and his Surf Shop is really cool. I hope you made it over there to check things out! See you soon. Daphinne

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Awesome place to stay in Mission Beach

                            Awesome place to stay in Mission Beach

                            • Guest A guest from Toronto (Toronto, Ontario)
                            • Date of stay 10/11/13
                            • Review Submitted 11/04/13
                            Rating Details: I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Love this place, would have been awesome if all the jets on the hot tub were working. The staff at Sandy Beach was amazing and took care of all of my needs. Would definitely recommend this place and I will be staying here again for sure!! Manager responded on 10/21/2013: Thank you for staying with us and for reporting one of the jets not working! We hope to have you back really soon. Sandy Beach Rentals

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • 2 year anniversary

                            2 year anniversary

                            • Guest Marlon M. (Alpharetta, ga)
                            • Date of stay 09/15/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/11/13
                            Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Wife and I are from Georgia and had known eachother for 12 years or so before we started dating. I was living in San Diego at the time and we spent tons on her traveling back and forth. I now have moved back to Atlanta, gotten married, etc. so to come back and have such a great place to stay on the beach was both breath taking and heart warming. Life is Good!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • best beach house!

                            best beach house!

                            • Guest Eric M. (5) (Phoenix, AZ)
                            • Date of stay 07/27/13
                            • Review Submitted 08/21/13
                            Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: this was our 3rd or fourth time to this property and we love it.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Surf Shack Summer 2013

                            Surf Shack Summer 2013

                            • Guest Paul J. (Suprize, AZS)
                            • Date of stay 07/20/13
                            • Review Submitted 08/13/13
                            Rating Details: I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Our experience so far has been wonderful. We look forward to returning in 2014 Manager responded on 8/4/2013: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Amazing Family Vacation

                            Amazing Family Vacation

                            • Guest A guest from Surprise (Surprise, AZ)
                            • Date of stay 06/22/13
                            • Review Submitted 07/16/13
                            Rating Details: I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This beach cottage was perfect for our family of four. The couches were very comfortable for our children and much more comfortable than a pull out sofa. The bamboo fence made it very private on the patio when enjoying the hammock and hot tub. The location was also wonderful and even provided views of the ocean from the patio. The only request I would make is that new utensils be purchased for guests to use instead of plastic. Other than that, however; the place was perfect for our family. Manager responded on 7/10/2013: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip. I am not aware that there are only plastic utensils in this property? We should have normal utensils. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I will make sure that it is as it should be. We look forward to your next visit. Daphinne

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Salem Surf Shack Review

                            Salem Surf Shack Review

                            • Guest A guest from Berkeley (Berkeley, CA)
                            • Date of stay 05/03/13
                            • Review Submitted 05/23/13
                            Rating Details: I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was very clean. The property manager was adequately helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: The property was in a great location, just steps from the boardwalk and the beach. The highlight of the property was the wonderful deck space for hanging out enjoying the SD weather. The disappointing part of the property was that it was advertised as sleeping 4 adults. The (1) bedroom with a queen size bed was great; large and comfortable. However, the 2 futons were absolutely beyond uncomfortable and I wouldn't ever want to subject someone, especially an adult to sleeping on them. In addition, there weren't a sufficient amount of pillows and blankets for (4) adults especially when it was pouring and cold (although unusual for SD weather). I expressed these concerns to the property management and they mentioned they would take it into consideration for the next guests. Manager responded on 5/9/2013: Thank you for staying with us. We also appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you did not have enough blankets or pillows to be comfortable. There should have been one there for the bed, and 1 for each sofa. If you had contacted our office during your visit, we would have been more than happy to bring some over for you. We only offer the property for 4 guests so we offer 4 pillows~ 1 per guest. We have also just replaced the one futon sleeper that had a damaged arm rest. I do agree that sofa sleepers are not the most comfortable for sleeping. We have not had any complaints prior to your visit so we are looking into it at this time. We do hope to have you back in the future. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Nice time at 716 Salem

                            Nice time at 716 Salem

                            • Guest Paul H. (Longmont, CO)
                            • Date of stay 04/03/13
                            • Review Submitted 04/30/13
                            Rating Details: I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Just a few steps from the beach, enough to be away from all the traffic on the boardwalk. Tho an older house, the hot tub and sheltered patio were especially appreciated. Needs brighter light bulbs tho. Bike rental just steps away. We'd go back again. Management was very helpful, tho they didn't have the current code for the WiFi, which created frustration for 2 days. Updated now.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Birthday Getaway

                            Birthday Getaway

                            • Guest Barbara H. (San Diego, Ca)
                            • Date of stay 11/11/12
                            • Review Submitted 04/30/13
                            Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: I stayed at this property as a single woman and felt very safe and secure. The facilites and amenities were just as described online, No Suprises! The house is located right inbetween Mission and Pacific Beach. I rode a bike pretty much everywhere or walked and drove very little. I am a local San Diegan and was just looking for a relaxing staycation. The Jacuzzi was great :-) Another nice feature was the surround sound system throughout the home. I love listening to music in the shower, on the patio, while cooking and it was a nice unexpected bonus. Manager responded on 12/13/2012: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit! We look forward to your next one. Thank you for choosing Sandy Beach Rentals!~

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                           
                          Rental basis: Per property
                          Rental rates quoted in: $
                          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                          Seasonal Min
                          Mar 1 - May 31, 2014
                          3 night min stay
                          $240
                          $1,385 $3,435
                          Seasonal Max
                          Mar 1 - May 31, 2014
                          3 night min stay
                          $344
                          $1,885 $3,435
                          Seasonal Min
                          Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2014
                          5 night min stay
                          $426
                          $1,885 $7,635
                          Seasonal Max
                          Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2014
                          5 night min stay
                          $526
                          $1,885 $7,635

                          Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency ($) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the manager / advertiser.


                          Additional information about rental rates:

                          Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

                          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                          Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                           

                          Calendar

                          Last updated: 04/24/2014
                          Check availability
                          23 Available
                          21 Unavailable
                          22 Today
                          23 Selected dates
                           

                          Location

                          This owner has opted not to share the exact location of their property.

                           

                          Manager info

                          The Unique Benefits at this Cottage:
                          Sit in the jacuzzi and gaze at the stars nightly!


                          Contact us

                          Speaks: english

                           

                          Photos

                          • Salem Surf Spot! - Private Deck Offers Ocean View, A Hammock, Amazing Hot Tub, Gas Grill and a Spot to Shower off the Sand!

                            Salem Surf Spot! - Private Deck Offers Ocean View, A Hammock, Amazing Hot Tub, Gas Grill and a Spot to Shower off the Sand!

                          • Hot Tub and BBQ - Relax in your hot tub and have a BBQ at the same time.

                            Hot Tub and BBQ - Relax in your hot tub and have a BBQ at the same time.

                          • Living Room to Kitchen and Dining Room

                            Living Room to Kitchen and Dining Room

                          • Dining Room

                            Dining Room

                          • Cozy Kitchen with All the Comforts of Home

                            Cozy Kitchen with All the Comforts of Home

                          • Beach View from the Deck - Look out to the ocean to check out wave conditions.

                            Beach View from the Deck - Look out to the ocean to check out wave conditions.

                          • Parking

                            Parking

                          • Just a short walk over to the sand!

                            Just a short walk over to the sand!

                          • Sunshiny Surf Sanctuary! - Bright and cheery rooms await you in your beach bungalow. This sofa lays flat for a full size sleeper.

                            Sunshiny Surf Sanctuary! - Bright and cheery rooms await you in your beach bungalow. This sofa lays flat for a full size sleeper.

                          • BBQ - Enjoy the BBQ on the deck!

                            BBQ - Enjoy the BBQ on the deck!

                          • Living Room to Deck - The Sleeper Sofa has a great view of the Flat Screen TV, and many of the excellent framed photography in this well-decorated unit. Step right out onto your deck with the hammock, hot tub, and oceanview!

                            Living Room to Deck - The Sleeper Sofa has a great view of the Flat Screen TV, and many of the excellent framed photography in this well-decorated unit. Step right out onto your deck with the hammock, hot tub, and oceanview!

                          • Breakfast Bar and Dining Area - The dining room table folds against the wall to tuck out of the way when not in use. This beach house is bright and spacious.

                            Breakfast Bar and Dining Area - The dining room table folds against the wall to tuck out of the way when not in use. This beach house is bright and spacious.

                          • Mission Beach Sunset

                            Mission Beach Sunset

                          • Private Deck with Deluxe Hot Tub!

                            Private Deck with Deluxe Hot Tub!

                          • Full Bathroom

                            Full Bathroom

                          • Living Room to Deck - Hanging wetsuit not included;).

                            Living Room to Deck - Hanging wetsuit not included;).

                          VRBO #159109

                          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                          This listing was first published here in 2007.

                          Date last modified - Thursday, April 24, 2014

                          $240 - $526 per night
                          56

                          1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
                          Sleeps 4

                          View calendar: Updated 04/24/14
                          Manager
                          Email manager

                          +1 858 488-7100

                          Speaks: english
                          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                          Add vacation protection services to your booking

                          Three services to protect your trip:

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                          Get it now