Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Historic Brick Exterior with French Doors

Truman Annex - Foundry Townhouse - One of a Kind! [#159305] | View Property

Truman Annex
Townhome, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4)
From $2350 per week
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (39)

Sort by:
  • Quiet & private yet close.

    Quiet & private yet close.

    • Guest Kurt G.
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    We (2 couples) stayed in this beautiful home for the Super Boat Races. It is situated in a very quiet, private and peaceful area yet still a short distance to some of the best parts of Key West. The separate bedroom areas are perfect to allow for privacy while still having a very comfortable and well equipped kitchen, dining room and living room downstairs. The pool is a short walk from the property, small yet quite adequate since it is limited to only a few units for use. Great place for 2 couples or a small family to stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comfortable home in a quiet yet close location

    Comfortable home in a quiet yet close location

    • Guest Kurt G.
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    We (2 couples) stayed in this beautiful home for the Super Boat Races. It is situated in a very quiet, private and peaceful area yet still a short distance to some of the best parts of Key West. The separate bedroom areas are perfect to allow for privacy while still having a very comfortable and well equipped kitchen, dining room and living room downstairs. The pool is a short walk from the property, small yet quite adequate since it is limited to only a few units for use. Great place for 2 couples or a small family to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best in Key West!

    The best in Key West!

    • Guest Carmelita P.
    • Date of stay 10/26/13
    • Review Submitted 11/16/13
    I fell in love with this property from the photos on VRBO and was familiar with the location so chose it right away. As great as the pictures are, they don't do justice to this amazing property. The charm of the old foundry building and the history associated with it make it a special place but this particular townhome has to be the very best in the complex. It's private, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Because of the split bedroom layout, it's a perfect unit for two couples who want some together time but some alone time as well. The courtyard is a great place to enjoy morning coffee and the sounds of the island. It's a short walk to everything you'll want to do in Key West. The only time the car moved all week was for a drive up the Keys one day. The owner is very particular about this property and for good reason! I will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to others who are looking for something special and are willing to care for it as they would their own home.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Condo, Great Layout!

    Great Condo, Great Layout!

    • Guest Randy S.
    • Date of stay 10/19/13
    • Review Submitted 10/27/13
    Beautiful condo, great location, you won't find anything better. This unit is unique with the split design and separated bedrooms. Everyone get's their own bathroom. Area is nice and quite. The condo is very well equiped and in perfect shape. The owners take care of their property and it shows. We hope to stay again here again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Simply Exquisite!

    Simply Exquisite!

    • Guest Glenn and Nancy (Southern Pines, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/16/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    What a wonderful vacation in the perfect spot at Key West! The location is exactly where one would want to be. Everything is within walking distance from the condo. Park your vehicle and go on foot! Convenience is an understatement....walk to the grocery, hot spots, the wharf, Fort Zachary Beach, and most everywhere of interest in Old Town. It doesn't get any better. Also, the Truman Annex is a gated community with beautifully landscaped yards everywhere. The flora is beyond belief...just loved it! Plus, the Little White House is literally next door! As far as the condo goes, WOW! The furnishings were well kept, and the rooms were beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything needed. This place was absolutely perfect for 2 couples. One of the things enjoyed the most was the privacy and quietness. The bedrooms were on opposite sides of the central staircase. Once up the first set of stairs, you turned either right or left to another group of stairs to your own private area. This allowed each couple to have more privacy because you could not see or hear the other couple. You had your own private world in a comfortable setting. Sleep was dreamy after a full day of excursions in a comfortable bed. It just doesn't get any better. Fort Zachary Beach is a hop, skip, and a jump from the condo. This beach is the best on the island if you are looking for a beach with shelters, lots of parking, trees for shade, picnicking, bathrooms, a small restaurant, and (of course) swimming and sunning. The beach is rocky, so water shoes are recommended. My husband and I have been coming to KW for 6 years now. We have never been disappointed with our stays; however, I will have to say that THIS location and condo are the BEST we have EVER experienced. We will return to this wonderful location. It was "simple exquisite"! Well done Rosemary!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Doug

    Doug

    • Guest Doug (Tallmadge, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 05/04/13
    • Review Submitted 05/20/13
    A great place to stay. A couple of blocks away from Duval St and yet we could come back to the Annex and be in a quiet area. The townhouse was very clean and well taken care of. You just can't ask for a better location or a cleaner place to stay. The houses in the area are beautiful and it was very enjoyable just walking around and enjoying the neighborhood. Just a couple of blocks from the ocean too. You won't go wrong staying here.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect location Perfect house

    Perfect location Perfect house

    • Guest Marsha (Terre Haute Indiana)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 04/28/13
    My husband and I stayed a week in this townhouse. The pictures and description of this home is right on. Maybe even better. The location is the best in Key West. Close to anything you would need .Duval street is steps away, but far enough that you have peace and quiet. We walked or bicycled everywhere we wanted to go. The furnishings are exceptional and the decor is fabulous. Sleeping was not a problem, as the mattress and bedding are very comfortable. Even the towels are new and fluffy. I am very picky where I stay, we will definitely stay here again. We cannot wait to return. Rosemary was very easy to work with and promptly addressed any questions I had.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Break Trip

    Spring Break Trip

    • Guest Diana D.
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/07/13
    Our Spring Break 2013 trip was planned over a year in advance with Rosemary and did not disappoint! The condo is perfectly located to Duval Street, Mallory Square and the marina which means we could walk to most everything. We did have a car which came in handy for some of our excursions and even rented an electric car for the day which was great fun. Liked the floor plan of the condo, perfect for 2 couples, offering some space and privacy in the sleeping and bathroom areas. We had everything we needed to enjoy happy hour on the patio, prepare meals and relax in the Key West sun. Rosemary and her property management team made this a thoroughly enjoyable experience which I would highly recommend!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Key West 2013

    Key West 2013

    • Guest dmm & gbm (Lansdale, PA)
    • Date of stay 02/02/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/13
    This was our 2nd trip to Key West & our 1st time renting this townhome. Before we arrived the owner made everything simple, painless & was a real pleasure to work with. This beautiful home is very clean, tastefully decorated and has everything you need. The location is within walking distance of so much - Mallory Square, Fort Zachary State Park, Duval St, Fausto's grocery store & many restaurants. No car is needed.The neighborhood is pretty & very peaceful. This is the perfect home base for a Key West vacation. We had a wonderful time & can't wait to return Key West and this lovely home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Birthday trip

    Birthday trip

    • Guest MJR & LLC (Royal Oak, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 01/12/13
    • Review Submitted 01/22/13
    We were very happy with this vacation. Rosemary responded to our inquiry immediately, and we were ready to go in just a few days. The condo is very comfortable and beautiful. The location is perfect walking distance to many activities, and yet had a quiet peaceful atmosphere. The property managers were waiting for us on arrival and walked us through the amenities. We can't wait to visit here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location, Location, Location

    Location, Location, Location

    • Guest Jack R. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/23/13
    My wife and I have traveled to Key West many times over the years and I must admit this is one of the nicest and best located places we have stayed. Rosemary was a pleasure to work with and everything was right on target. Patty and Jim do an excellent job greeting and Jim even gave us a ride to the airport upon departure. We prepare most of our meals so we rented a car for the first day in order to shop for groceries, after that everything was within walking distance or a bike ride. Great place and would defiantly stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Foundry

    Foundry

    • Guest jo (Dover, DE USA)
    • Date of stay 12/05/12
    • Review Submitted 12/22/12
    Stayed here twice in 2012 for a total of 4 weeks. Excellent location and easy to get into the town. Works well for two couples. Quiet outdoor space with a grill for cooking the local fish.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Secluded, quiet location

    Secluded, quiet location

    • Guest Debra (TN)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 08/18/12
    Very pretty inside and out. Private and quiet but close to all of the shops in old town. I recommend if you want to go to a larger grocery store rent a car. The cab ride one way will be $15-$20 and the small groceries down town are more expensive. We got a car and drove up the Keys one day and it was beautiful and found some good restaurants along the way. This unit has its own covered parking spot which was very nice and convenient. Very clean and very well stocked. We had a great time! Thanks Rosemary!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Two Tarpon Fishermen and their Wives

    Two Tarpon Fishermen and their Wives

    • Guest Linda (Roseville California)
    • Date of stay 06/11/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    We've been coming to Key West for several years now and this was by far the best place we've stayed. The location can't be beat, the property was as described (very clean) and it looks just like the pictures depict. It's ideal for two couples due to the way the two bedroom suites are separated at the top of the staircase. We also found the property management people to be very helpful. Our luggage didn't arrive with us so we had a bit of a delay in checking in but the person meeting us with the keys was very understanding and didn't seem to mind waiting for us. We would definitely recommend this property. It's really ideal for someone who is particular about cleanliness and wants to be in a quiet complex.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW!!! :)

    WOW!!! :)

    • Guest Jeff G.
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    I know it was said before but Location, Location, Location!! Walk to everything. There is no need for a car because you would only be driving 2 blocks to EVERYTHING..( Duval, Beaches, Mallory Square, just to name a few). All the amenities to enjoy a relaxing trip for 2 couples. We did not eat at home (vacation) but everything was there if you like to BBQ etc. We were there during the singer songwriter festival so we had great times every night listening to music over a few cocktails and dinner. I hope to visit again! Condo was beautiful and clean. If you like things neat and clean then you will not be disappointed in this rental. Thanks again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Friends in paradise!

    Friends in paradise!

    • Guest Happy (Berks County, PA)
    • Date of stay 04/21/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    We are 2-55+ couples, this was our second time to this property and hopefully not our last-that says it all! The owners and the property managers are wonderful to work with and the added perk of airport pick up can't be beat! The house is wonderfully maintained and clean. Since our last trip 2 years ago, new furniture, an outside deck and new french doors have been added, everything was beautiful. The location can not be beat-only steps from The Little White House and a block to Mallory Square! This is the perfect condo for 2 couples since there are 2 private and equal bedroom suites with private bathrooms. Thanks to everybody who made our stay great!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Weekly renter

    Weekly renter

    • Guest awill (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    Fabulous location, comfortable and easy walk to the best of Key West. The property is very well maintained and clean, just as shown. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a mature and sophisticated Key West experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Location, location, location....

    Location, location, location....

    • Guest Shawna (Vincennes, Indiana )
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    This is the fifth trip to Key West for my Husband and I. We were delighted when my brother and his now wife joined us to celebrate their nuptials (this was their first trip). The condo was perfect for two couples with comfortable, spacious spaces for the four of us. The bedrooms were separated by a staircase and provided privacy. The location of the condo is unsurpassed. Conveniently located and yet a private sanctuary. We are looking forward to a return visit to this home. Thank you Rosemary!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spacious, Private Split Bedrooms, Well Furnished, All Amenities and Location, Location, Location!!

    Spacious, Private Split Bedrooms, Well Furnished, All Amenities and Location, Location, Location!!

    • Guest Donna S. (Macon, GA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/19/11
    We just got back from a week's stay in our beloved Key West. We had the pleasure of living in this lovely condo. We loved it...what's not to love I mean. It is spacious, has two private split bedrooms with each having its own bathroom and ceiling fans in both. The furnishings are comfortable and inviting. There are all the amenities anyone would need including wi-fi, flat screen TV and TVs in both bedrooms. The location leaves no room for improvement - right in the heart of the action on Duval Street and Mallory Square. Last but not least, the owners were very accommodating, nice to deal with and want your stay to be a good and memorable one. Would we stay here again...yes, yes we would. : )

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Roomy, Nice Decor, Amenities & Location!

    Roomy, Nice Decor, Amenities & Location!

    • Guest Donna S. (Macon, GA)
    • Date of stay 11/05/11
    • Review Submitted 11/19/11
    We just got back from a week's stay in our beloved Key West. We had the pleasure of living in this lovely condo. We loved it...what's not to love I mean. It is spacious, has two private split bedrooms with each having its own bathroom and ceiling fans in both. The furnishings are comfortable and inviting. There are all the amenities anyone would need including wi-fi, flat screen TV and TVs in both bedrooms. The location leaves no room for improvement - right in the heart of the action on Duval Street and Mallory Square. Last but not least, the owners were very accommodating, nice to deal with and they want your stay to be a good and memorable one. Would we stay here again...yes, yes we would. : )

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Yes, it was one of a kind!!!

    Yes, it was one of a kind!!!

    • Guest Vera M. (Springfield, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    We could not have had a better experience with booking this LOVELY property from Rosemary, who was VERY accomodating the dates that we needed the property, as well as the property manager who made special arrangements to let us in early on our arrival date and let our friends who left later on departure date leave their luggage inside the unit so they wouldn't have to pay for storage until they had to leave for the airport. The townhome itself was immaculately kept, and very comfortable in accomodating four people. The location is exellent... close enough to the action on Duval to walk everywhere, but far enough away to allow for a quiet night's sleep! We befriended a beautiful rooster who came to greet us each morning and was rewarded with treats!! Having a covered parking space was great. The pool was very close by. Rosemary was very expedient in response to any emails which were sent from the time of booking throughout checkout, and our deposit was refunded within a few days of our checkout. We DEFINITELY recommend this property, and hope to stay there again on our future visits to our favorite destination.. Key West!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • It truly was one of a kind!

    It truly was one of a kind!

    • Guest Vera M. (Springfield, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/11
    • Review Submitted 11/14/11
    We could not have had a better experience with booking this LOVELY property from Rosemary, who was VERY accomodating the dates that we needed the property, as well as the property manager who made special arrangements to let us in early on our arrival date and let our friends who left later on departure date leave their luggage inside the unit so they wouldn't have to pay for storage until they had to leave for the airport. The townhome itself was immaculately kept, and very comfortable in accomodating four people. The location is exellent... close enough to the action on Duval to walk everywhere, but far enough away to allow for a quiet night's sleep! We befriended a beautiful rooster who came to greet us each morning and was rewarded with treats!! Having a covered parking space was great. The pool was very close by. Rosemary was very expedient in response to any emails which were sent from the time of booking throughout checkout, and our deposit was refunded within a few days of our checkout. We DEFINITELY recommend this property, and hope to stay there again on our future visits to our favorite destination.. Key West!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a Terrific Experience!

    What a Terrific Experience!

    • Guest T (Bonita Springs, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/29/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    We just completed our vacation at this beautiful property and it could not have been better. The location is absolutely perfect...being in Truman Annex is far enough away from the action that you can actually have a quiet vacation and get a good night's sleep yet when you want to go to the action its merely a few steps to Mallory Square. The property is charming and beautiful with a historical feel and the communications with the owner and property manager were flawless. We would definately recommend to anyone looking for a nice stay in Key West and we will be returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a Terrific Experience!

    What a Terrific Experience!

    • Guest T (Bonita Springs, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/29/11
    • Review Submitted 06/14/11
    We just completed our vacation at this beautiful property and it could not have been better. The location is absolutely perfect...being in Truman Annex is far enough away from the action that you can actually have a quiet vacation and get a good night's sleep yet when you want to go to the action its merely a few steps to Mallory Square. The property is charming and beautiful with a historical feel and the communications with the owner and property manager were flawless. We would definately recommend to anyone looking for a nice stay in Key West and we will be returning.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great townhome!

    Great townhome!

    • Guest lisa (St. Augustine, FL)
    • Date of stay 05/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/11/11
    We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful townhome. Great neighborhood and home has tons of character. Everything we needed and then some...very clean and well maintained. Would stay there again!! Really great for two couples.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Rhode Island

    Rhode Island

    • Guest Rhode Island (Rhode Island)
    • Date of stay 02/26/11
    • Review Submitted 03/21/11
    Extremely attractive property located in the middle of Key West. Townhouse is as described. Very nice accommodations, perfect for two couples. Owner wants to insure that you enjoy your stay. Good communication, both e-mail and phone calls. We experienced no problems with the property or with the stay in Key West. The beach is within walking distance as is Mallory Square. Rented bicycles so we could visit other parts of the island. Two big thumbs up for this townhouse. Would definitely rent again at a future date.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Excellent Quiet Location !!!!

    Excellent Quiet Location !!!!

    • Guest Ohio Couple (NW Ohio)
    • Date of stay 10/23/10
    • Review Submitted 12/16/10
    This was our 15th vacation in Key West. Having stayed in different places in different sections of KW, this has to the best we have found so far. The location is within easy walking distance to the main area of Old Town which is of course the main reason most of us go to KW in the first place. The quietness was the pleasant surprise, both from the old thick brick walls of the townhouse itself and from the lack of the commercial & tourist traffic which is common everywhere else there. We shared the townhouse with another couple and the split layout of the upstairs bedrooms on either side of the stairway also added to peace and quiet. We could not even hear them come and go. Everything you could want, except food & drink of course, is there for a perfect get away. There is even a covered carport if you drive down. The owner, Rosemary, and the local property manager, Gina, are also both very friendly and helpful if you have any questions about KW. The property is well maintained, clean and modern. We will be going back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • LinMD

    LinMD

    • Guest LinMD (Poolesville,MD USA)
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/15/10
    I am writing as a returning guest to this wonderful townhome in the beautiful and private Truman Annex. The home itself is a perfect set up for me and my traveling friend. The place has two master bedrooms with attached bathrooms. The downstairs has a lovely and comfortable sitting room with a convenient half bath on the ground floor. The dining area and kitchen is extremely functional. I found most of my waking time at the house was spent with a glass of wine sitting outside on the very private patio- quite lovely! There is acess to a pool; however, I walked to the beach every day! Speaking of walking, the location is perfect walking distance to anywhere you might want to go- from Mallory Square to many great restaurant choices. In the evenings, you can relax to a secure and quiet night's sleep, as the Annex only allows access to people with keys after dark. The owner, Rosemary, is a delightful person. I look forward to my return trip to the Foundry Townhome in beautiful Key West!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Truman Annex Townhouse

    Truman Annex Townhouse

    • Guest LinMD (Poolesville,MD USA)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    Truman Annex is a lovely, quiet community. We loved the location. The townhouse is well-furnished and a great location for walking to town and to the beach. The owner was very personable and willing to give recommendations to restaurants. I would definitely rent there again!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Fantasy Fest

    Fantastic Fantasy Fest

    • Guest TG & Miso (Tampa, Florida)
    • Date of stay 10/26/09
    • Review Submitted 11/10/09
    My girlfriend and I have been to Key West several times and just love the laid back atmosphere. Came for Fantasy Fest for the first time and enjoyed a whole new aspect of the Keys. This townhouse was perfect. Close to Duval and all the action but far enough away for a quiet retreat. It is beautifully appointed, luxurious and clean. Truman Annex is the pearl of Key West and this townhome is a pearl in itself. We will be back and we will stay here again. If you come, stay here, get the nachos at Rum Barrel, Dinner or lunch at Carolines and La Te Da. Party at Irish Kevins, Hogs Breath and of course Sloppy Joes!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Beth and David (Bailey, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 08/28/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    This year was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to do something really special! A friend suggested using VRBO and we knew our destination was going to be Key West. We chose the home for its location and its appeal. Truman Annex is a wonderful gated community with beautiful homes and gorgeous natural gardens. The home is beautiful with the brick exterior/interior, tile floors down and carpet upstairs. The patio, which is surrounded by palms and other natural plants provide a private place to sit and enjoy dinner and drinks or coffee in the morning! Furnishings are very comfortable and it really was home for us and our two daughters for a most magical week! The staircase to the bedrooms split at the top to give guests a bedroom and bath on either side of the upper level. A half bath on the lower level as well was very convenient. There really was no need for a car as you can walk to Mallory Square for Sunset, Fort Zachary for the beach; and Duvall Street with its restaurants and shopping is only a couple of blocks away. We hope to return to Key West soon and would not hesitate to stay in the same home. The owner was fabulous to work with as well as the property manager. This is truly the place to be in Key West!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • An Anniversary to Remember!

    An Anniversary to Remember!

    • Guest Beth and David (Bailey, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/28/09
    This year was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to do something really special! A friend suggested using VRBO and we knew our destination was going to be Key West. We chose the home for its location and its appeal. Truman Annex is a wonderful gated community with beautiful homes and gorgeous natural gardens. The home is beautiful with the brick exterior/interior, tile floors down and carpet upstairs. The patio, which is surrounded by palms and other natural plants provide a private place to sit and enjoy dinner and drinks or coffee in the morning! Furnishings are very comfortable and it really was home for us and our two daughters for a most magical week! The staircase to the bedrooms split at the top to give guests a bedroom and bath on either side of the upper level. A half bath on the lower level as well was very convenient. There really was no need for a car as you can walk to Mallory Square for Sunset, Fort Zachary for the beach; and Duvall Street with its restaurants and shopping is only a couple of blocks away. We hope to return to Key West soon and would not hesitate to stay in the same home. The owner was fabulous to work with as well as the property manager. This is truly the place to be in Key West!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 15/15

  • Life is Beautiful in the Keys

    Life is Beautiful in the Keys

    • Guest ASPIRE TO BE A FUTURE BEACH BUM (TERRY)
    • Date of stay 06/07/09
    • Review Submitted 06/16/09
    Let me start out by stating that this trip was the best time that I have ever had on vacation. I would love to move to Key West & become a beach bum. The owner, Rosemary could not have been more helpful.She emailed often to make suggestions of things to do & see when I was getting ready to leave. She had me so excited about going before I even left. The home was great. We could not have asked for anything better. Walking distance to just about anything we wanted to do. I really appreciated Rosemary opening her beautiful home to me & my family. The food was great there & we never left hungry from any place. Thanks so much for everything Rosemary. You were great! I also appreciate Gina helping us out while we were there. I highly recommend this home to anyone wanting a great place to stay in a great city.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Just Right

    Just Right

    • Guest What Next? (kentucky)
    • Date of stay 04/18/09
    • Review Submitted 05/12/09
    We stayed in this townhouse in April 2009, and were very pleased. The location is perfect: it is within easy walking distance of just about anything, but there was no issue with noise or privacy. We could not have been more comfortable, and will look forward to staying again soon. Especially helpful is the ride from the airport to the townhome upon arrival. We appreciated working with the owners and propery manager, who were wonderfully responsive to our needs and willing to work with us in any way possible to enhance our stay. We made some fun friends, who we plan to stay in touch with -- and hopefully meet back in key west one day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest jack boorstein
    • Date of stay 03/10/09
    • Review Submitted 03/09/09
    My friends and I chose this Foundry unit for our week vacation getaway, and could not have been more pleased with the property. It is located within a gated community right off Mallory Square and Duval St (and within walking distance to all of the restaurants, bars, shopping in downtown Key West). We rented bikes for sightseeing and to travel to the nearby beaches. The townhouse itself was very clean, spacious, beautifully decorated and contained all of the comforts of a home away from home. The two french doors in the front of the house opened up onto the private patio, where we spent much time sitting around drinking marguaritas. The patio is surrounded by landscaped foliage which provided privacy against the neighbors and walkways. There is a shared, heated pool, which was somewhat small but never seemed to get crowded (probably because the beach is so close by). From the time I made the reservations months in advance through our vacation stay, Rosemary (the owner) was always eager to answer questions and provide suggestions favorite restaurants, bars etc. In addition, the property manager provided us with pick-up and drop-off service to the airport, which saved us cab fare. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!! You won't be disappointed!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A GREAT Key West Exerience!

    A GREAT Key West Exerience!

    • Guest Mato (United States)
    • Date of stay 03/08/09
    • Review Submitted 03/18/09
    We (two couples) spent the first week of March, 2009 in this Townhome. Both couples are ex-Key West residents and we KNOW Key West, and are very familiar with the Truman Annex properties. The location of the Foundary complex is IDEAL in that it is located a very short walking distance from downtown Key West, and the Key West waterfront. The is no need to even have a rental car to thoroughly enjoy participating in the "Key West Lifestyle". The Townhome itself is very nicely decorated/furnished/equipped and it provided a very comfortable accomodation with its two separate bedroom/bath suites. And although it is only a few blocks from the Key West "action", there was never any offending noise from either the Key West crowd, or the adjoining properties. We will look forward to our return, and we will encourage all of our friends who plan to go to Key West to try to stay in this Townhome - if it is available.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/17/09
    We (two couples) stayed in this Townhome the first week of March, 2009. Both couples owned homes previously in Key West, and we KNOW Key West! The Truman Annex has the nicest properties in town, and The Foundry is one of the nicest properties in The Annex. It is located a short walking distance to the Key West Waterfront and downtown Key West. One does not even need a rental car - just take a cab from the airport. The Townhome itself is very nicely decorated, comfortable, and is ideal in terms of having two totally separate upstairs guest suites with private baths. We will be anxious to return one day, and we would highly recommend this property to all of our friends. If it's available for YOUR dates, don't hesitate to rent it. You'll love it!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Place in Great Location

    Wonderful Place in Great Location

    • Guest jb_philadelphia (philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 03/08/09
    My friends and I chose the Foundry for our week vacation getaway, and could not have been more pleased with the property. It is located within a gated community right off of Mallory Square and Duval St (and within walking distance to all of the restaurants, bars and shopping in downtown Key West). We rented bikes for sightseeing and to travel to the nearby beaches. The townhouse itself was very clean, speacious, beautifully decorated and contained all of the comforts of a home away from home. The two french doors in the front of the house opened up onto the private patio, where we spent much time sitting around drinking marguaritas. The patio is surrounded by landscaped foilage which provided privacy against the neighbors and walkways. There is a shared heated pool, which was somewhat small but never seemed to get crowded (probably because the beach is so close by). From the time I made the reservations months in advance through our vacation stay, Rosemary (the owner) was always eager to answer questions and provide suggestions favorite restaurants, bars, etc. In addition, the property manager provided us with pick-up and drop-off service to the airport, which saved us on cab fare. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!! You won't be disappointed.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect Week

    Perfect Week

    • Guest Cliff & Anne (Cumberland RI USA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/08
    • Review Submitted 02/08/10
    This location is ideal for a very relaxing, fun vacation. The property was clean and well cared for. It was just far enough from Duval St. so there was no noise, but close enough that we could walk to any of the attractions. Rosemary(the owner) was more than helpful with information for the area, and Gina (the manager) was very friendly and helpful. There was plenty of room and privacy for the four of us and we all agreed that, when we go again, this is where we want to stay. It was just perfect!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]